Kg Buah Pala: Offer ends tomorrow

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:38 pm

Let the bulldozers come in. Throw them all out! When LGE was trying to understand the problem they hammer him. When LGE try to make things happen they hammer him. When LGE cut deals for them they never say TQ and want LGE to do suicidal acts. Throw them all out!

2. #2 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:41 pm

As a people’s govenment, the Penang government is acting and governing in the people’s interest.

Hence, all decisions shall be seen to be fair and acceptable to the people.

Should the people still feel not happy, it should sit down with them and trash out any problem however minute so that everybody is leaving the table not dissatisfied.

This must be the modus operandi of PR to get more support to make the country a better place to live in.

3. #3 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:44 pm

Tanjong … last time they scream 23 home owners … now they scream 41 families! Throw them all out I say … let them live by the roadside. These people are taking advantage, unreasonable. Typical squatters in Penang, so so typical. In KL … DBKL will come and tear it all down because all the homes are illegal, no approved plans. That is the way.

Giving them a RM300K house and they say too small. What the heck do they want?

4. #4 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:45 pm

The people must also on the look out for any Umnoputra or MIC agent and expose them.

Judging from what the Utusan publishes, one can easily come to the conclusion that Umnoputras and the Utusans will stop at nothing to get the PR down, even at the cost of sowing hatred !

People must realise the evils exist and must unite to fight them!

5. #5 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:50 pm

PR government is a people’s government.

Hence it must be seen to be one.

PR has to be very humble and tolerant with the people however unreasonable is the latter.

PR must love the rakyat as its own children. This is the cardinal principle of a good and wise government .

6. #6 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 9:52 pm

The ancient addage is relevant:

Those who get the hearts of the people get to rule the country.

This is the mother of all principles.

7. #7 by yhsiew on Thursday, 6 August 2009 - 11:29 pm

Well done Guan Eng!!

Expose those who try to run down the PR government. Let people see their true colors.

8. #8 by JY on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 1:20 am

Ya….Throw them all out! Too greedy.
    Investors will all run away!!!

Guan Eng, MIC is definitely behind all this…..Don’t let MIC & the villagers run down PR. Don’t worry, village population small only. Don’t let them threaten you. The public at large know you are having a hard time and we know what is actually happening!!!!

9. #9 by House Victim on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 1:38 am

1. Will and Can LGE and the Penang Government do the same for other Squatters in Penang? Even the building cost for such Double Story could be around 100,000 (excluding the cost of land).

2. Can we account the matter as follows?
    a) The accountable loss of the Government (due to under price) = 50million.
    b) The Gross asset that can be created from 490unts of Condo from 240k-290k, say 250k each = 122.5million.
    Taking the average cost of building of each as 100K, total 49million. So profit around 65-70 million after deducting that to the Squatters and the “cost” of land.

Surely the 23 families will say thanks. And, surely will the Developer!!

But, should all other Penangites say the same?

10. #10 by SpeakUp on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 1:57 am

JY … not MIC behind this, please … its the villagers themselves. They are greedy. Also, ill advised about their rights. Look at their spokesperson, still demanding LGE take action against the developer.

11. #11 by Jaswant on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 2:19 am

Pls don’t forget to visit my blog
    http://limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 4:09 am

I suggest one way for the Penang authorities to prevent another flare-up is to keep those houses offered as compensation in trust for those who refuse.
    Since the developer is going to tear down all the houses anyway, some of those being manipulated may come to their senses once they realise they are not going to get anything at all.
    I am not sure of the legal ramifications but say after another 3 months and still they are “keras”, the state government can rent out the houses and earn some income. The houses will be granted to them at the end of any lease period.

13. #13 by ekompute on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 5:39 am

If the sales agreement was signed by Koh Tsu Koon, DAP should invite Koh Tsu Koon to Kampung Buah Palat to explain to the people that it was he or his state government that signed the agreement. Throw the ball back at the BN component party. If Koh Tsu Koon dare not come, that is his business. As least the people knows. Fact is one thing, feelings is another. Hang the signatures of the sales agreement all over Kampung Buah Palat. That is a better strategy.

14. #14 by k1980 on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 8:49 am

//last time they scream 23 home owners … now they scream 41 families! //

Some of those cattle-rustlers of “Low Chapparal” claim there are up to 4 families staying in a household. So they are are demanding 4 double-storey houses in replacement for their hut….4 X RM300,000 = RM1.2 million!

Wonder if the 300,000 refugees in Sri Lanka’s detention camps would also get double-storey houses from Rajapakse’s govt :Sigh: The greed of man

15. #15 by sheriff singh on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 10:32 am

“…we shall fight for our homes, cattle, chickens and goats,
    we shall fight with growing confidence and growing strength in the air,
    we shall defend our village, whatever the cost may be,
    we shall fight for our heritage, culture and way of life,
    we shall fight the developers and their bulldozers,
    we shall fight them on the beaches,
    we shall fight them on their landing grounds,
    we shall fight them in the fields and in the streets,
    we shall fight them in the hills, in the courts and in city hall;
    we shall never surrender…”

“Oh, give me a home,
    Where our buffaloes can roam
    Where our goats and our chickens can play,
    Where seldom is heard,
    A discouraging word,
    And our skies are not cloudy ev’ry day.

Home, home in our kampong,
    Where our goats and chickens play,
    Where seldom is heard,
    A discouraging word,
    And the skies are not cloudy today.”

16. #16 by a2a on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 10:34 am

You cant help this bunch of greedy and dihonesty people

They are not honest.

17. #17 by wesuffer on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 11:08 am

dealing business with indian is not easy.
    they not make you pengsan is good already.
    23 houses, 41 family.
    now what is permanent load on the land? house right ? they always complain government abordon indian. now give them new terrace house, dont want.want to stay in 200 yrs old squatter.
    they never think thier future children.
    they want his grand children continue staying in village.

18. #18 by wesuffer on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 11:15 am

my business doing business and his customer almost are indian.
    when they buy some stuff.
    they will bargain to my friend example :
    item A – ask discount.
    item B -ask discount
    item C -ask discount

at the end, total sum of item A+ B + C = RM X . total X sum want another discount.

19. #19 by 5xmom on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 12:42 pm

Since so many of you mentioned MIC, maybe you will want to watch the interview we had with MIC on 4 August.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bep8MJkX3yg

20. #20 by SHARVINDD on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 2:49 pm

today morning i was there at kampung buah pala,did hear press conference done by mr sugumaran,they still blaming pr state goverment,what is this!!!!!!.offer given by pr goverment but they are still greedy,what the else they want somemore,but i am very sure that someone doing something behind the curtain,if the resident nego with state goverment directly without any discussion with any 3rd party involve sure they already relocate earlier 1 month ago.who is the culprits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????i am very mush dissapointed with the residents now than before.they are not going to get anything if they still listen to others.we are always with you cm.you do your best.

21. #21 by SpeakUp on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 7:38 pm

Culprits are their own people, they have their so called advisers. People who say are fighting for their rights. People who want to be heroes la … wait and see, soon there will be nothing for the villagers! Serves them right!!!

22. #22 by k1980 on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 8:15 pm

They are waiting for the CM to offer them 41 bungalows the size of Istana Toyol each costing RM24million.

23. #23 by SpeakUp on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 8:32 pm

Bring in the bulldozers! Show them what the law is like …

24. #24 by goldeneye on Friday, 7 August 2009 - 9:37 pm

Public opinion is now turning against the villagers. Soon they may have no bargaining power left, not even political pressure on LGE’s govt. I sympathize with them. They have been instigated by Hindraf and MIC for those people’s selfish political agenda to make as much trouble for the PR govt as possible.

25. #25 by JY on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 12:02 am

5xmom…..thanx for the videoclip.

It is so obvious MIC is trying hard to spin the whole issue & obviously adding salt to the wound!!!

If Samy is sincere in helping the villagers, he don’t have to offer 3.2mil to buy land back from state gov!! Why make life difficult when he can directly buy land elsewhere for the villagers. Right???

And why MIC wants to buy land back from only state gov and not from the Developer??
    Hohoho……obviously fish very smelly la!!!!

26. #26 by JY on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 12:37 am

If the state gov is still controlled by BN, the village would be flattened by now and the villagers would not get a single cent!

MIC youth would not dare to come near the village, and there will be totally no media coverage by the STAR and TV3.

27. #27 by JY on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 12:55 am

The villagers had rejected the double storey house offer. That’s it. If you give them semi-Ds, they will definitely ask for a bungalow….it ends nowhere….

Guan Eng should not bother to help them anymore, since they do not know how to appreciate all the given efforts.

And if the villagers get nothing, they should blame MIC.

The only hope they have is Samy. Most likely, he will help the villagers simply becos he is losing popularity and he has to earn it back.

28. #28 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 8:49 am

Are the villagers being led to believe that Samy would be paying them RM3.2million per household if they continue to demonstrate against CM LGE?

29. #29 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 9:42 am

I think they will need to sleep with their cows and kambings la … stupid people.

30. #30 by penang308 on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 10:45 am

Send in the BULLDOZERS NOW!

31. #31 by Loh on Saturday, 8 August 2009 - 4:00 pm

The lawyer representing the Buah Pala residents claimed that the value of the land worked out to RM 3.5 million for each entitled resident household/ family. He must have worked it out based on the present market value when the land had been sold and approval given for housing development. That would not have been the value of the land under TOL where the resident had no right on their own to sell them. Clearly the lawyer did not want to have the land sold, and now he is working on the value of the land after incorporating the benefit of the land transfer. One certainly cannot have the cake and eat it.

The dispute on the amount of compensation is quite similar to price asked for a dead chicken. The chicken keeper wants the buyer to revive the chicken or pay an exorbitant price.

The residents at Buah Pala have their houses built on TOL, and they do not have individual title to their land. The best they can use it is for housing, and they cannot hope to sell them for redevelopment without getting the land converted into permanent title. They had not done it before it was sold, and they have lost the opportunity even to attempt. So what they can hope for is to have housing needs taken care of, and that should be the basis for computing any compensation.

Now that the Penang State government had arranged for the residents who had a claim to the land to be provided houses to live in, it would be fair for them to ensure that what they get could be equivalent to what they have. To ask for RM 3.5 million is like asking for the dead chicken to be made alive again. It is impossible.