Speaking the truth is sedition and criminal defamation in Najib’s Malaysia

ASP Norazizi bin Saad took a statement from me following a police report lodged by Chief Inspector Pang Meng Tuck, CID, Seberang Perai Tengah Police, on 25th May 2009 that my Penanti ceramah speech at Guar Perahu, Kubang Semang on Sunday night (24th May) was sedition and criminal defamation against the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

In my speech, I had blamed Najib as being responsible for Perak political and constitutional crisis because of an unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab, resulting in the expansion of the crisis of confidence, with one national institution after another, such as the Police, Election Commission, MACC, civil service, judiciary compromising their credibility and legitimacy as they just serve Najib’s political agenda.

In Najib’s Malaysia, speaking the truth has become sedition and criminal defamation. Darkness is descending on Malaysia. Malaysians must not be cowed.

What is shocking is that this police report against me for sedition and criminal defamation did not come from some members of the public, but by the Police itself. Insp. Pang’s report was on the directive of senior police officers, ASP Subramaniam Sanaassy and ACP Nasir Salleh.

(continue at Are there enough courts and prisons?)

1. #1 by donplaypuks on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 2:53 pm

Lately there have been several such cases of police officers loadging reports of sedition, criminal defamation etc. I think RPK’s trial is one of them.

DAP’s legal experts should mount a Constitutionla challenge.

Can the Police lodge and investigate their own reports? Surely their job is prevention and investigation and not playing the role of complainant as well in their professional capacity.

Sedition is supposed to be relevant wher the PEOPLE may be incited to overthrow the Govt. The Police should act on the reports lodged by citizens.

Whatever it is, DAP, PKR and PAS should challenge this all the way to the Fed Court. Elected MP’s are the watchdogs for the PEOPLE.

Their voices should not be stifled by a regime hell bent on introducing Stanism and Maoism in our land! The scurillous actions of the Police shows that they are showing political bias where the majority of the PEOPLE are not bothered or offended by political speeches

2. #2 by my1anthony on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 3:01 pm

A new version of “NOTRE DAME” story is showing in our country, and this story is not written by Victor Hugo, it is by the people of Malaysia.

3. #3 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 3:02 pm

Police should be apolitical. If such reports are to be made, it should be made by Najib or his political cohorts.

The PDRM should focus the people that pay their salary by combating murders, robbers, rapists, thieves and what not

Not wasting my money making reports against political opponents taking swipes at each other during by-election campaigning where of course we expect some heated words are exchanged (but no actual physical figthing!)

4. #4 by frankyapp on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 3:06 pm

“Speaking the truth is sedition and criminal defamation in Najib’s Malaysia”. Yeap YB LIM,you are absolutely correct.Don’t you realise why PKFZ report was not telling the whole truth by PWA ?.Even some judges were afraid of speaking the truth,don’t you know now.Remember the C4 case,the well trained smart police officers were also afraid to tell the truth.Poor souls,so afraid to speak the truth but not afraid to face death.What’s an ironical joke .What a shame as malaysians are a kind of a liar.How on earth,NR who wants to be the people’s prime minister can make us look like a liar.Well I think he is a desparate man and that’s why he implemented a desperate lie plan in motion.The truth will prevail and when it comes,he’s a death duck.

5. #5 by k1980 on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 3:24 pm

The allegation that YB LKS is seditious in condemning bijan needs to be put to a referendum to the rakyat. Start with the voters in Penanti and ask them if YB LKS was seditious in his ceramah at Guar Perahu, Kubang Semang on Sunday night

6. #6 by sean on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 3:47 pm

It is high time all good police officers whether retired or current ones must come up and strongly condemn this act by the current police leadership.Bring back the good officers (retired ones as well) for the sake of our country.

7. #7 by sean on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 3:54 pm

POLICE = Protection Of Lives In Civil Emergency

or POLICE = Protection Of Leaches In Corrupt Enclaves

8. #8 by k1980 on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 4:00 pm

They may next plant a live bullet in YB Lim’s pocket and then charge him with possession of dangerous weapons under the isa. If they could successfully plant a toilet plunger named Saiful in Anwar’s headquarters, who dare say they won’t resort to this?

9. #9 by DAP man on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 4:07 pm

Police should wear a T-Shirt with the words “Kami sokong UMNO -dulu, sekarang dan selama-lamanya”.
    Just come out and admit you are working for UMNO.
    Anwar has made even more fun of Najib. Why did they go after him?

10. #10 by gofortruth on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 4:22 pm

This is one of many cunning strategies of BN to try to pit the police against the Rakyat. The police must be told again & again that they are to serve the rakyat and not any single political party. But I suppose top police guys simply can’t help themselves not to serve BN because that will mean no golden handshake “contracts & projects” at their retirement.
    Can someone put a stop to this “golden handshake business” (its more like bribery) for retiring government servant? Don’t they already have handsome retirement pension?????

11. #11 by dawsheng on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 4:23 pm

Whether the police like it or not the BN government has to come down, and I promise you it will, sooner then you thought. We will nail their balls on the wall, all the corrupted cops, this is a promise.

12. #12 by dawsheng on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 4:25 pm

Even if it mean total overhaul of the PDRM, the police left us no choice.

13. #13 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 5:27 pm

14. #14 by taiking on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 5:33 pm

I thought it was the first rule of management – every fault is the fault of the leader. And in umno’s case that leader is none other than najib. Desperation and panic are besieging umno.

15. #15 by yhsiew on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 6:06 pm

If Malaysian police are so obsessed with politics, how can they focus on protecting the lives and property of the rakyat?

Police who are politically inclined should resign and become politicians. They should not ‘hog’ the seat but allow those who are keen on policing to take over their place, so that the lives and property of the rakyat can be protected.

16. #16 by monsterball on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 6:09 pm

Has Malaysia becomes Police State already?
    Wow…..13th election is getting…nearer and nearer and police is helping UMNO to let it be.. further and further….maybe never?
    Professor Langdon read signs from ‘DaVince Code”
    Now he is reading signs from “Angels and Demons”
    Malaysians can read signs too…..and always…the good will triumph over evil.

17. #17 by ktteokt on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 6:27 pm

What is all these compared to the PENDATANG THEORY of Ahmad Ismail!!!!!

18. #18 by ipohMali on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 7:03 pm

i used to say, ‘SH*T-MAN & GANG’ theory is ‘if you know is wrong, you shouldn’t tell others. if you tell others, so you are wrong by informing others and you will be punished for telling others instead of the originator’

19. #19 by Loh on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 7:05 pm

The duties of police officer do not include forming an opinion of political nature, and they should not be the persons who make police report. Police report made by police officer serves to give a biased impression that the report deserves speedy action. It is a misuse of police force to serve the self interest of the police officer who made the report hoping to be rewarded for doing [deleted] errand for political party.

The percentage of Chinese officers in Police is low, and yet we see Chinese Police officer excels in [deleted] activities.

20. #20 by wanderer on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 7:24 pm

Chief Inspector Pang Meng Tuck, CID and his fellow senior officers have jumped into the fast track wagon for professional promotions and… to receive some sweet cookies from Mongolian C4.
    Altantuya is a beautiful name why banned it! Najib tong Rosak, do you know the reason?

21. #21 by Loh on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 8:10 pm

The government has decided to weaken the opposition parties by bogging down their leaders to answering trumped-up charges in court. They do it by having the police to act speedily on reports junior police officers were forced to make under duress. The police are now the tools to UMNO to serving UMNO’s political interests.

We are not blind to note that Saiful’s report to police, after having met Najib the day before to ask for scholarship, was acted upon by the police immediately.

Bala’s statutory declaration made at police station did invite police action to make him retract.

Why did not police make an enquiry based on information provided by Bala’s statutory declaration? Or why did the Police not ask Saiful to retract his statement complaining of sodomy against his will, when the charge subsequently made was sodomy with mutual consent?

Bala has now disappeared. But his report remains, and what have been said in the report should carry more weights since the person risked his disappearance for making statutory declaration.

The police has shown different standards in treating the two cases, and they displayed lack of professionalism in their conduct like open book. Government institution of standing would defend their reputation by ensuring that they do not make stupid mistakes. In the above cases, the police blatantly show that they practice double standards. It is either because they had to take order, or they are part of UMNO and is proud to show that they are biased. In either case, police behaves like established legalised gangster receiving government support in its hooliganism behaviour.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 8:22 pm

Whilst speaking the truth may generally be a defence against a criminal defamation charge – provided one can prove statement true – however ‘truth’ is not recognized as defense in a sedition charge.

23. #23 by ktteokt on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 8:28 pm

What Ahmad Ismail did only warranted a “WARNING” from UMNO but when non-UMNOputras tell the truth, they are hauled up for questioning by the police!!! This is absolute bias and a demonstration of DOUBLE STANDARDS!!!!!!

24. #24 by Loh on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 8:47 pm

If truth is not a defence in a sedition charge, but telling the truth is human nature, or at least a human virtue to be promoted, then sedition is against human nature. It is against rukun negara and should be considered unconstitutional.

If we cannot tell the truth, then we have to lie.

Atlantuja Shaaribuu has never stepped foot in Malaysia. That is proven by the fact that the immigration records do not contain an entry record on her. But the remains of a dead body confirmed that the DNA was consistent with that of Atlantuja Shaaribuu. So either the DNA was wrong or the immigration record was incomplete.

How can we question the efficiency of the immigration Department? They would even have flies on the record if they choose to. So if flies could not escape, the embarkation card on Atlantuja Shaaribuu should have existed. Maybe she came in as VIP and went through special VIP channel. But all human crossing the border should have a record, and immigration department never fail. Can the record of Atlantuja Shaaribuu be removed subsequent to his entry into Malaysia? But the person who were charged and convicted for murder were special officers tasked to protect the VIPs could not have access to immigration record. The answer, when truth cannot be told or speculated is that the embarkation card went on self destruct.

25. #25 by the reds on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:29 pm

It is no longer PDRM, but PRDM, Polis Raja Di Malaysia!!!

26. #26 by drngsc on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:37 pm

Yes Kit,
    it is true, and unfair, that a police officer and not the public sholud file s complain against you.
    My reading of history tells me that for a revolution to succeed, you must win over most of the middle class and the intelligentsia. looks like the deeper UMNO bias police cannot yet see the need for change. This only means that we have to work harder, for the change to succeed. There is more work ahead. Dont forget, these are UMNO boys.

27. #27 by pohsoonTan on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:38 pm

Apparently, the PDRM seems had nothing better to do nowaday. Leaving all sort of criminal case unresolved, claiming reason that there aren’t enough police officer available, yet we saw day in day out nowaday, with full force of police attending virgil.

Now, they even act as complainant. This seems to coincide with an old proverb in mandarin, “????????”. When Najib himself had not claim that the Lim Kit Siang’s speach is defame him, why those police officer who are supposed to be political neutral came all out to lodge the report for defamation?

If they its their duty to make it justice when there are possibility of defamation, then show us that they are neutral and also lodge the defamation report on BN’s politician. I believe that they will be able to find some of such defamable speeches by those on the power easily too? Aren’t it?

PDRM, please show us the “Rakyat” that you are neutral and not leaned toward those walk in the corridor of power.

Apart from all this, can somebody advised on whether it is not an abused of power for a police officer to direct their subordinate to lodge such a report?

28. #28 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:50 pm

YB Kit,
    The Police will not be able to prove their sedition charge on you in court!

By right, Najib as the party head of Barisan Nasional and the party president of Umno should have the power to give instruction to Zambry and get Zambry to give advice to the Sultan of Perak for dissolution of Perak State Legislative Assembly in order to clean up the mess in Perak fiasco. By continuing to procrastinate and not giving any instruction to Zambry for making a request to the Sultan for dissolving the State Legislative Assembly, Najib has done the greatest disservice to the Perakian people! Therefore you were not wrong when you accused Najib as the biggest trouble-maker who was supposed to be held responsible for Perak fiasco.

Those police officers who wanted to take you to court were just the apple polishers of Najib. They just tried to harrass you by making you waste time during court hearing attendance. Most likely, your sedition charge would be kept delayed and delayed due to pending for actual commencement of trial hearings. This is BN leader’s grandfather’s tactic for waging the war of attrition against the political enemy.

Please don’t be worry. Many right thinking people of Malaysia will always uphold you in prayers so that you can be saved from the attack by the devil!

29. #29 by limkamput on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:53 pm

Whilst speaking the truth may generally be a defence against a criminal defamation charge – provided one can prove statement true – however ‘truth’ is not recognized as defense in a sedition charge. Jeffrey

Jeffrey, I think your posterior is in your head! I don’t give a damn what constitutes a defense in a sedition charge, got it? You and your mornonic view.

30. #30 by Godfather on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:59 pm

You guys can postulate whatever you want, but the fact is that BN has the PDRM in its right pocket, and the judiciary in its left pocket. This is all that matters. Black can be white and white can be black, and there’s nothing we can do about it until 2013.

Our job now is to highlight every instance of abuse or injustice so that the rakyat can understand the slippery slope that we are all on, and why change is an absolute necessity.

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:51 pm

“Jeffrey, I think your posterior is in your head!” – Lim Kam Put

That is because you always try to get your head up my ass and now think you have finally succeeded that far up to recognise this.

32. #32 by a2a on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:51 pm

Now, this Chief Inspector Pang Meng Tuck, CID, Seberang Perai Tengah Police declared to all Malaysian that he is the enermy of freedom of speech, justice and democracy.

If any Malaysian want freedom of speech, justice and democracy need to apply for his approval else he can lock you up.

33. #33 by siamo on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:55 pm

All this time, we know that the police is acting in favour of the BN. Now, we have a police officer making a report and we are sure that the police is acting on behalf of the BN against the opposition!

We are now certain that the police is not acting in the interest of the rakyat, rather for the BN.

34. #34 by king cobra on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 12:19 am

Loh ,

assuming if someone had deleted the records from the pc system ,

there is always forensic expert to help recover the deleted records , just like deleted emails , experts also have their way to recover it…….

35. #35 by a2a on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 12:40 am

TRUTH is in God side.

LIE is in Devil side.

Which side you want Malaysia to be?

Which side you want your children to live in?

Make the choice in voting day.

Yes, YOU CAN MAKE THE CHOICE FOR YOURSELF AND CHILDREN in your vote.

36. #36 by limkamput on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 1:27 am

That is because you always try to get your head up my ass and now think you have finally succeeded that far up to recognise this. Jeffrey

Truth is not a defence in sedition charges. Oh, i don’t know that. You are so clever. You should quote the relevant sections of Sedition Act to show you are so learned in law.

Sorry i change my mind – your head is at your posterior. You are full of knowledge but no wisdom. I am being generous to say the least.

37. #37 by sean on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 1:28 am

Like i always said….i smell something fishy out there.

Now we know why there are so many “robbers” got shot to death out there.And all of a sudden the PRDM will claim that that poor chap that was shot are also link to 12 and 20 more cases.Semuanya ok….and 20 others cases files will close once and for all.Ain’t that simple.
    Who…knows…..maybe these poor souls were shot to death just to keep their mouth shut so that they may not link anything towards the cops that are all involve all the way up to the top shit.
    It is something like the PRDM vigilante group huh.Shit……never been angrier.
    Apologies to YB LKS for using such a foul words :)

38. #38 by johnnypok on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 2:23 am

Malaysia = “may lie sir” = always lie = no telling the truth

39. #39 by Jason Ng on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 4:18 am

stop mentioning Mongolia and Perak state govt robbery. this keeps giving najib nightmares at night. give that guy some good sleep.

40. #40 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 8:39 am

This only shows how dumb the police is and how Najib, despite boast of being ‘the biggest warlord’ don’t really have full control of his people and apparatus.

They can intimidate and push Sdr. Lim on this issue BUT send him to jail is just sheer stupidity. Sending LKS to jail for this issue when he has fought tiredlessly for decades for a better nation as one of the most constructive opposition leader in the world in a corrupt system, well, is asking for May 13 except it will not be UMNO who started it but the Chinese together with Indians will start, blow it up and end it for everyone…

The stupidity is just so much scarier than the evil here…

41. #41 by Black Arrow on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 9:24 am

Uncle Kit certainly has courage to proclaim the truth. This only goes to show that the powerful people are afraid of the truth and are also afraid of the voters listening to the truth and becoming wiser.

42. #42 by johnnypok on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 3:12 pm

It is like training a dog, and the success depends on the breed and species. If you simply recruit law-enforces without proper screening, this is what you get …. mad dogs all over the place!

43. #43 by Loh on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 3:29 pm

///Who…knows…..maybe these poor souls were shot to death just to keep their mouth shut so that they may not link anything towards the cops that are all involve all the way up to the top shit.///

Interesting. What’s more the relevant cases are all solved.

Police investigate on report made by police, and police decide that the the law as police interpret them should get the person entangled in court. There will then be no opposition leaders, and later no opposition parties at all. TDM said the Chinese supported him. Now I understand better how it is done; we don’t even know what had been stuffed in the ballot boxes before voters drop their votes.

Police says that they perform law enforcement. The actions so far say that Police rule by law and Malaysia is now a practicing police state.

The truth of the matter is there is no such country known as Mongolia; if there is as the argument would go, then they should be an embassy here. It is therefore wrong to say that they ever was a Mongolian beauty entering Malaysia.

A point was made that record deleted by a key stoke on computer still remains there which expert should be able to recover. If the record did not go into self destruct, who did the deletion? And more importantly what was the motive, was it under instruction, and from whom?

44. #44 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 9:10 pm

It doesn’t matter how well any of our civil servants in public institutions are trained. Once they catch the terrible disease najibishittyitis, that poor soul is gone! The victim will be transported to a surrealistic state where reality becomes warped; lies becomes truth, morals twisted, military ordnance become accessible tools to obliterate cockroaches, bribes become laundered commissions, legal becomes illegal and illegal is judged by the court to be legal, people’s will becomes people’s mill to which we are shackled by the very leader’s who promised a new future!

45. #45 by TomThumb on Monday, 1 June 2009 - 4:36 am

what are you talking about kerishumudinitis?? drink too much toddy?