Shocked and hurt by Karpal’s statement – let the party resolve any differences internally

I am shocked and hurt by DAP National Chairman Sdr. Karpal Singh’s statement yesterday.

Malaysians are scandalized that instead of uniting Malaysians to face the worst global economic crisis for eighty years, the Prime Minister-in-waiting Datuk Seri Najib Razak had done the opposite – frittering away further public confidence in engendering greater national discord by engineering the Perak political crisis in the illegal and unconstitutional grab for power, resulting in the constitutional crisis of two Mentris Besar in Perak.

Perakians are outraged. Malaysians are outraged. The world looks on in disbelief at the political insensitivity and indifference of the Prime Minister-in-waiting on the imperative to restore public confidence at this critical stage of the nation by giving top priority to uniting Malaysians, by actively creating not only a Perak but national political crisis.

The national economic crisis and the latest political crisis caused by Najib’s coup de’tat must be the topmost concern for all Malaysians.

Let the DAP resolve any differences internally as they should not be allowed to deflect efforts to resolve both the grave economic and political crisis confronting Malaysians.

1. #1 by ALLAN THAM on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:23 pm

No time to quarrel. put aside all differences now. Give all our support to PR to shown our unity at Bukit Gantang. Teach BN the real lesson.

Please consolidate our support NOW.

2. #2 by Mr Smith on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:31 pm

MP for Bt Gantang, Perak gave his life to prove a point that what Perak people want. One life to prove UMNO is rejected by the people. May God give him eternal life in heaven. Amen.

3. #4 by Outcasts on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:34 pm

AGREE with Allan!!

Heard there is another by-election (state) in Bukit Selambau, Kedah.

The only way to win is to unite and fight against the draconian BN and the only way to lose is to continue the fight among yourself within PR.

4. #5 by lee wee tak_ on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:36 pm

case for Karpal:

1) he has been consistent on DAY 1 on party hopping
    2) I prefer PR style – allow people to argue among themselves compared to BN style, one voice only and dissent not entertained

case against Karpal
    1) smart lawyer, lousy politician – BN screaming themselves hoarse trying to discredit PR and not many people trust MSM anymore then Karpal with a few words did more than a year’s worth of Utusan Malaysia and NST could do

Please-lah, if a salesman is pissed with the MD would he go around bad mouth the company and the MD while doing his sales call?

2) Without Anwar, DAP would not have been accepted on such a large scale by non-traditional DAP voters, telling Anwar to bugger off now is like telling the main chef of the restaurant to pack his bag

The true test of any man and woman is their reaction and action in times of adversity. I am sure there are smart and strong will people in PR to weather this.

Turn a disadvantage into advantage. The power grab is hell of a rallying call for the next GE and Mr Karpal, a politician’s rice bowl rests on making friends and influencing people…

I might agree with your principle but Nizar, the person who lost most, exhibited more restrain and courage and dignity at present time

5. #6 by ahluck on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:44 pm

MP Bt Gantang ialah seperti Nabi Isa bagi nyawa nya untuk selamatkan rakyat. Dengan ini Sultan Perak akan tahu kehendak rakyat.
    Gaduhan PKR ialah seperti Suami Isteri. Orang luar seperti BN jangan campur tangan.

6. #7 by sheriff singh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:57 pm

You are shocked by Karpal’s outburst?

You ignored him both indoors and outdoors as if he’s not there, not important.

He’s had enough. He just might take 3 MPs out with him.

So go and pow-wow with him and bring him some oranges, bananas and sweetmeats. Pronto!!

7. #8 by I Malaysian on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:59 pm

Unlike many others Karpal has always been a person who stands by his own principle and views. Because of this it’s very difficult for him to be good politician. We have seen this over the years. However, he is one of the few good leaders around and an asset to DAP and Malaysians. Let YB Lim and other seniors sit with him to clarify issues. I’m sure Karpal knows too well how important it is to end the perpetuation of UMNO and the only person who can lead the war is Anwar Ibrahim!

8. #9 by chanjoe on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:05 pm

This is about the Jelapang Katak :

“Ketua Wanita DAP Kebangsaan, Chong Eng dalam ucapan ringkas sempena ceramah perdana di Dewan Jawatankuasa Kemajuan dan Keselamatan Kampung (JKKK) Permatang Buluh semalam berkata keinginan Hee terhadap jawatan tertentu membolehkan dirinya dipergunakan oleh kuncu-kuncu BN yang senantiasa menanti saat untuk menumbangkan kerajaan pilihan rakyat pada pilihanraya umum ke 12 lalu.

“Beliau beberapa kali mendesak saya selaku Ketua Wanita DAP untuk bersuara pada Kerajaan Pakatan Rakyat di Perak agar menamakanya sebagai Exco tapi saya kata sabar kerana ada orang yang lebih layak memegang forfolio tersebut.

“Bagi saya sudah cukup beliau dilantik sebagai Timbalan Speaker yang juga bertaraf exco yang mempunyai banyak kelebihan berbanding Adun biasa lagipun jawatan yang disandang merupakan sejarah negara apabila wanita pertama dilantik sebagai Adun ke jawatan Timbalan Speaker,” kata Chong Eng yang juga Ahli Parlimen Bukit Mertajam.

9. #10 by veddy.lum74 on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:14 pm

sorry ,it’s defend,not defence.

10. #11 by despin on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:29 pm

Karpal has been consistent on anti-hopping from Day 1. The rest of us, seduced by the scent of power, conveniently ignored him. While we may not agree with him asking Anwar to step down but do you not agree that Anwar deserves a big kick on his backside for being arrogant and naive? Why can’t we do it the proper democratic way by focussing on winning one by-election at a time until the big one in GE13? I believe the momentum is still on our side as long as we can preserve our moral high ground. Otherwise the rakyat is going to think that we are just a bunch of power-crazy politicians that are no different than Najib and gang.

11. #12 by putraimpian on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:30 pm

salam tuan,

sebagai anak kelahiran perak pohon tuan calonkan dan sampaikan pesanan ini kepada pimpinan pas, saya calonkan YAB Nizar sebagai calon MP Bukit gantang.

Harap tolong sampaikan. TK

12. #13 by orang_cina on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:39 pm

PR is for Rakyat! Rakyat wants changes!
    BN has been holding power for so long, and destroy the country. They splitted our multi-racial community!

Anwar is just doing Rakyat a favor, that is to play in BN’s game. Lompat parti for principle and for money is 2 different issues.

Karpal, let go Anwar for the moment. Most important is to make sure Pakatan can lead the country. Confront him only after he becomes PM

13. #14 by freehand68 on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:41 pm

i agree with despin. DAP should be firm and decisive and consistent. I advise DAP try not to adopt wait and see stance and play with wording. Yes is yes and no is no. Make it simple. We rakyat have been sick of BN and we don want PR follow suit. I strongly not agree to anwar 916 plot. It make me sick and only create chao and difficulty to ordinary malaysian. everyone is watching what PR and BN doing. I trust karpal is a man with principal else he wont lash out PR leaders in such a voluptive manners. I cant imagine what would happen to PR if karpal pull out from DAP. It’s a super tsunami to DAPand PR. Do something Kit

14. #15 by jds on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:49 pm

Dear Sdr. Lim Kit Siang,

Before I comment on this post, I would like to tell you that I hold you and Sdr. Karpal Singh in high esteem. I visit your web site nearly every day for as long as it has been up and (mostly) I agree with the things you say. This time however I have to disagree.

… let the party resolve any differences internally

Isn’t this usually UMNO’s line every time they are faced with a potentially embarrassing problem within Barisan Nasional? What is it with political parties and their preoccupation with wanting to discuss things internally? Maybe it is time we should be trashing things out more in the open like this. As a regular person, I am happy that PR politicians are stating their differences and opinions openly and giving everybody an opportunity to debate (and resolve) the issues.

When other (minor) component parties in the Barisan Nasional are forced to discuss things internally by UMNO, in other words, simply tolerate and accept what UMNO decides and does, we call them all sorts of names. “Running dogs-lah”, “Cowards-lah” and what-have-you. But isn’t this precisely why they have become so irrelevant today? But when DAP leaders (or Sdr. Karpal Singh) decides to object or question certain things that are progressing within Pakatan Rakyat, we quickly ask them to shut up! What, are you so focused on the prize that you (you, as in DAP) don’t care who you have to silence to get there? Isn’t this exactly what MCA/MIC started doing 50 years ago? Always compromising and nodding their heads stupidly behind closed doors, all in the name of party solidarity. They are today completely toothless and useless because they are so used to towing the line for the last 50 years!

Are we so set in our ways that nobody dares to do things differently in this country? Malaysians are getting wiser and more mature everyday, you know! So please, let’s allow him some space to say his piece.

Frankly, I like it when DAP/PAS/PKR are regularly bringing up issues out in the open like this. It tells me that there is always someone looking out for the rest of us. When it is too quiet, and when everybody within the group is only agreeing, smiling, shaking hands and blindly shouting “Saya sokong!” at every opportunity, I get worried.

Finally, thank you for fighting the good fight. U da man! :)

15. #16 by FY Lim on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:53 pm

I hope commonsense will prevail when LKS , LGE and Karpal Singh discuss this issue internally. Afterall, there must be give and take and this is the basis of any negotiation/discussion.

DAP is what it is today because of the PR coalition and DAP by itself can never win the Penang state govt by itself. This is a fact.
    It is due to the wider coalition with PAS and PKR that DAP can smell and touch the CM’s post and having senior exco members in other Pakatan ruled especially Selangor and other states.

In fact the PR coalition is becoming a reality of forming the Federal government and with the momentum being generated this is not a dream anymore.

Whatever, people will say, DSAI is a credible leader and had become wiser with time and we had seen that he had changed a lot to become a better leader. Only the BN controlled mainstream media is trying to protray DSAI otherwise.

Anyway, the rakyat will not played into BN’s hands anymore. Using threats , kidnapping , corruption and offer of positions to lure legally instituted lawmakers to their side is a trademark of BN and UMNO. MCA , Gerakan , MIC and PBS are just pawns for them.
    They are using tactics of dividing the rakyat playing PR against monarchy using racial and religious cards as it suits them and threats of of another 1969 incident.

The BN does not desrve our support.

16. #17 by yhsiew on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:56 pm

Karpal Singh should understand that immediately after tsunami 308, the country went through a period of greatest upheaval (possibly second only to that of May 13, 1969). UMNO lawmakers/assemblymen were deeply embroiled in bitter quarrels and finger-pointing and the incumbent government had lost its sense of direction. Even Ku Li commented that the country was like a ship drifting in the vast sea without a captain. It was certainly a worrying scenario for many Malaysians who needed to raise family and put food on the table.

Under such circumstances, it was only rational that somebody from the Opposition, Anwar, took over the wheel as soon as possible before the ship sank! Anwar should not be blamed for supporting defection of politicians in a difficult time like this.

I personally do not support defection; not only that it robs people of their democratic choice of leaders/representatives, but it is also a game in which the financially weak party is bullied and marginalized.

As a by-election is coming up in Perak (Pas MP for Bukit Gantang Roslan Shaharum died suddenly of a suspected heart attack), we will see how the people of Perak react to BN’s underhand tactic in engineering the recent defection of PR representatives.

17. #18 by lhslhv on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:58 pm

The problem with the current situation in Perak is with the 3 RP ADUNs.

Why blame DS Anwar? He is not perfect but DS Anwar does not abandon us half way. The 3 PR ADUNS did.

Whatever motive one may have, a traitor is a traitor. Period.

Hee will be remembered in Perak history like Qing Hui who beheaded General Yue Fei and his son during the Song dynasty.

18. #19 by ALLAN THAM on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:11 pm

Malaysian always need to confirm matter as confirm is not enough and it has been double confirm that Jelapang jump ship was simply she want a Camry from the people. It was pity that DAP has this cheap politician.

19. #20 by Tonberry on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:17 pm

..by engineering the Perak political crisis in the illegal and unconstitutional grab for power…

Abdul Razak, together with Harun Taib engineered May 13, to grab power in Bolehland, and now his son repeated his father’s act in one of industrialised state in Bolehland. Like father like son, this country is in deep sh*t! We are Myanmar in the making.

20. #21 by lcclck on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:29 pm

Dear YB LKS,

Please go and meet up between you and KS(Karpal Singh). This is not the time to write and write while the fire is spreading. you and KS has the common KS, and KS is really getting mad. His style is he will be really mad the more youw rite and write.
    He is your long long lasting commrade, please do not let the elusive power fools you!!
    Today is the Chap Goh Mei, get KS to have a nice catch up dinner with you and your precious son the YAB LGE now.
    You will regret most when this KS go beserk!!
    Not worth any of your continuous struggles for the elusive dreams, just accept that the time will come when you are to wait, and may not even possible within next 25 years from now that a real formidable opposition could be ready for BN unless you could really CHANGE too!!
    Review your steps you had followed DSAI.
    Think twice before you write about KS, he is really MAD now!!!

God bless you!!

21. #22 by limkamput on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:33 pm

LGE,
    I am glad that Karpal Singh was willing to sacrifice his popularity and bring into open some of the fundamental policy issues confronting DAP and PR. I think we don’t have to feel lousy about it. If not for Karpal Singh, I think some of these issues can never get discussed. This is the era of openness and I believe DAP and PR can survive this debate.

You said and I quote, “The Pakatan Rakyat leadership has clearly endorsed a position that no individual party policy can be PR policy unless it is fully approved unanimously by all three parties. DAP’s position on hudud and Islamic state is crystal clear and regardless of whatever support for both hudud and the establishment of an Islamic State, whether from PAS or PKR, this will not be PR policy as long as DAP does not agree to.”

Now this is my questions: if we have PKR and DAP elected representatives who are willing to “trade” to bring the downfall of PR’s government in Perak, may I know what is there to prevent them from doing the same thing when the fundamental issues of hudud and Islamic state are being considered in the Federal Parliament in the future? What assurance can you give there will be no future hee hee hee?

Second, you wrote and I quote, “Similarly DAP’s leadership has been consistently urging the government to enact an anti-hopping law even before the Perak crisis, and we have expressed support of our 28 MPs.”

This is what you said but your Chairman seems to think otherwise and I believe justifiably so. Honestly did DAP tacitly support hopping before the present fiasco.

Please don’t think of short term gains and sacrifice our beloved principles. We come this far precisely because BN can’t hold on to principles and ethics. If we behave like them before we gain power, I doubt we will be any difference after we gain power.

22. #23 by mycroft on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:33 pm

# despin Says:
    February 9th, 2009 at 14: 29.43

Why can’t we do it the proper democratic way by focussing on winning one by-election at a time until the big one in GE13? I believe the momentum is still on our side as long as we can preserve our moral high ground.

You shouldn’t say things like this. It smacks of sensibility and principles, and we all know that such terms have no application in Malaysian politics.

23. #24 by StevePCH on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:36 pm

It is reported that the PAS MP for Bkt Gantang passed away.

Changkat Jering falls under Bukit Gantang. Sdr LKS, please pull you act together. THIS is the place to show that rakyat support PR.
    Finger poiting is wasting PR’s resources.
    That’s what BN wants.

Sdr, don’t be so stupid and drag into this.

YB Karpal is right but lashing out openly is his way. Straigthen up your stance.

If you say NO to hopping then be it. FLIP FLOPPING like AAB is what RAKYAT h ate !!!

It’s true. DON’T let us H ATE PAKATAN like how we are dis gusted with BN.

24. #25 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:37 pm

I think Karpal and you should sit down and talk. Dialogue

He did hammer hard on the hudud recently, but that was not the most important issue in that by-election. As a results, MCA and others picked up the issue. I think he talked about it at the wrong timing.

About the defection, he has also made his point very clear from the beginning. He said that is unethical. People are entitled to have a different view or opinion. In this case, he would not come to a similar conclusion as you. What should you people do?

Sit down and talk…. Hopefully the difference will be resolved

25. #26 by StevePCH on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:44 pm

THIS is the chance for PAKATAN to come together.
    Tell Malaysia you are “one” or “NONE”.

My prayers to the family of the late YB Hj. Roslan Sharum.

Tried to copy the link for Malaysian Insider but still under Moderation.

Sdr LKS ….. as Perakian I had respected the Sultan’s decision but with so much reservation to his wisdom in the manner it’s handled.

KETUANAN MELAYU is NOT the same as KESETIAAN KEPADA RAJA DAN NEGARA !!!

It is the duty of PAKATAN to uphold the Constitution and in this case ENLIGTHEN the ” highly respected ” Sultan of Perak !!!
    Win Bukit Gantang and Thrash Barisan !!!

Say NO TO HOPPING.

What is wrong with being steadfast !!! ??? Make a common stance. Don’t let DSAI’s poison get into DAP and PAKATAN.

26. #27 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:49 pm

The out-burst by the Chairman of DAP appeared so amateurish! BN gonna replay that tape hundreds of time! He may have HIS principles but a lawyer cum politician cannot be a saint!! Period. Are you realistic enough to understand the REAL politics of this country? Have you consulted all your colleagues of what you planned to burst out?
    Such out-bursts have happened so often and what are the out-comes to the Opposition? Zero impact! I believe PR should ride on its strength with those younger voters who are in their thinking mood. For that matter, all political parties, henceforth will have to learn to handle the younger voters.
    Such out-bursts will not benefit PR for the moment. As for DAI, we all know that without his participation during the last GE, PR could not have had been so sensational! Let’s be practical, ex-DAP Hee with all her years had decided to call it quit. Her underlining reason might appear obvious to the general public but is money the sole reason for her action? DAP has to go to the bottom to find out the real reason for her action.
    All the finger pointing at BN does not really serve any purpose, they mean to stay put! The issue is: how are you going to stop them as much as they plan to stop you at all costs. Their tactic has immediate gain but would it serve them in the coming GE?
    For once, I think MB Nizar has really gone into the feeling and the mind of the people in Perak. BN will find it real tough to change that image or even totally change the course he had steered.
    Maybe. all those strong supporters at this site should consider offering themselves at the next GE? And for heaven sake, keep your principles!

27. #28 by shah pinang on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:50 pm

Mr Smith Says:
    February 9th, 2009 at 13: 31.06

MP for Bt Gantang, Perak gave his life to prove a point that what Perak people want. One life to prove UMNO is rejected by the people. May God give him eternal life in heaven. Amen.
    ————————————————————————
    According to Roslan’s daughter Fatimah, 21, the whole family had been in Cameron Highlands for a family outing over the weekend when her father received a call on Sunday evening.

He was summoned to a meeting at the home of former Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, who has refused Sultan Azlan Shah’s call for him to step down.

“He was there until 1.30 in the morning, and left home at 10am,” Fatimah said.
    ——————————————————————
    Our thoughts and memories are with Roslan Shaharum’s family. He stayed loyal to the cause and worked tirelessly till his last breath.
    May Allah bless his soul.Ameen.

For rakyat’s sake, please put behind all your differences and ‘fight’ for a better Malaysia! Get behind PAS/Pakatan candidate for Bkt Gantang!(or wherever it maybe)- Show those ‘fouled’ katak ADUNs and BN pirates the power of the people, by the people, for the people.

“A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    John F. Kennedy

*YB Lim and YB Guan Eng, your restrained but firm statement on the Pakatan/DAP ‘crisis’ was timely and reassuring.-Thank you.

28. #29 by sightseeing on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:51 pm

Uncle Karpal Singh,

Please don’t give BN an opportunity to destroy PR. You know better than anyone else that BN is corrupt and rotten beyond redemption. Have you forgotten operation lalang when you and many DAP leaders were victims of ISA abuses? For the sake of the future of all Malaysians, DAP, PK and PAS must work together to replace BN . As Chairman of the party you have the responsibility to abide by decisions made by majority of the CEC of DAP. Anwar has his own fault and make some mistakes but at this critical point of time he is the only person who can command the support of people from all races in fighting a political war against the mighty and ruthless BN. Recently, you have been leading a campaign to have the corrupt UMNO’s Chief Justice replaced. No way, as long as BN is in power. The only is to replace BN government first.

29. #30 by vsp on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:51 pm

karpal singh,dont tell me you have principle,especially you are a damn good lawyer! – veddy

——

I totally agree with your insight, veddy. Karpal is indeed an good lawyer and he has earned millions because a good lawyer is able to exploit the grey areas in the law and succeed in getting his client go off scot-free even if he knows that his client is a great liar. Every lawyer does it; if not he would be doing ambulance chasing instead. Does Karpal congratulate himself for being a highly principled lawyer every time he wins a case? What about if his client is a big crook and he is set free to create havoc to society again?

But in law, sometimes side-issues cannot be relevant unlike in politics where side-issues can always make or break a political party. In this case I think Karpal is a bit hypocritical.

In the political arena the BN is a political colossus and nothing seems to work against them. Just after the 2008 electoral tsunami, the Pakatan was a very vulnerable fledging coalition. The BN in Selangor and Perak was trying to topple the Pakatan governments and they nearly succeeded. This was confirmed by none other than the Prime Minister, Abdullah Badawi. If not for the people’s support for Pakatan it would be a foregone conclusion. Just as in law there are very few grey areas where the chink in the BN armour can be exposed. Anwar found one in the hopping law and he decided to exploit it just to stave off the BN wolves. Remember, the people were supportive of Anwar’s plan even though it stinks. This is better than to tolerate the BN continued existence of arrogance and lawlessness. Wheareas Anwar promised that once the federal government is in Pakatan’s hands the mandate will be decided through snap election. And he shouted it on the rooftop for the whole world to hear. He even went through the constitutional route of no confidence in Parliament but it was buried by BN brute force. Contrast this with BN’s coup of the Perak state government: they stole the state government by stealth and corruption with the cooperation of the royal house, and without going back to the people to decide.

If Karpal can so good in rationalisation in his law practice, he would be equally good in politics. But unfortunately Karpal is from a bygone era where gutter politics is the norm and sadly he is not able to wean himself off from this.

30. #31 by dawsheng on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:06 pm

“Every lawyer does it; if not he would be doing ambulance chasing instead.” – vsp

I beg to differ. I have personal lawyer friends who did exactly the opposite of what you said a good lawyer would do. Yep, some of them are chasing ambulance.

31. #32 by StevePCH on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:08 pm

kudos to PERAK DAP !!!

Supporting DS Nizar as candidate for Bkt Gantang is brilliant !!!

GO PAKATAN !!! He is the best candidate.

BN should ask Najib to resign as Kuantan MP and contest in Bukit Gantang !!!

Najib should stake the claim of having the rakyat’s support this way if he has got any B***s !!!

32. #33 by dawsheng on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:09 pm

“But in law, sometimes side-issues cannot be relevant unlike in politics where side-issues can always make or break a political party. In this case I think Karpal is a bit hypocritical.” – vsp

You are asking us to close one eye.

33. #34 by somaris on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:13 pm

Dear all PKR,DAP,PAS,
    Its not the time to fight or pin point each other mistake. NOW is the time to get together and show to the people u all can work into one team to be STRONGER. Thats wht BN UMNO dont want to see. I do hope KAPAL and ANWAR sit down and work as team.
    NOW there s A lot of thing need to work hard to get back PERAK..
    im not good in ENGLISH but i love my new MB NIZAR. you are the MB of PERAK.
    We will get Perak soon . so as malay say SABAR and use all u can to win the people heart. we all will be with you.
    Our condolence to the family of mp bukit gantang. May god bless you.
    Now here are another work for u to go to the people and get working to get back Perak.
    To all people of PERAK say NO NO NO to BN UMNO.WE love PKR thats what we want. GOD BLESS.
    FROM IRELAND

34. #35 by sani on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:16 pm

YB

YB Karpal Singh has vaild points. Don’t lose a good man. We need fearless – “with his head screwed on well” kind of leaders.

He had contributed so much to country, encourage him to continue doing so. He is a great Social Democrat. The Party needs a Chairman like him.

35. #36 by bystander on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:24 pm

there is a silver lining in this perak crisis. najib is the beginning of the end of umno. he just signed umno death warrant

36. #37 by ALLAN THAM on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:30 pm

Stop all quarrel and resolve amicably.

Consolidate our supports and fight the corrupt until the end.

The battle has just set.

We will win hand down and show BN what it mean the POWER OF THE PEOPLE is.

“POWER COME FROM THE PEOPLE, FROM PEOPLE THE POWER GO”

We shall all stand as ONE and give all our undivided support to PR.

37. #38 by monsterball on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:31 pm

In the Trenggannu by-election….Karpal Singh try cornering Hadi Awang on hudud law matter…making it difficult for PR to function as one. Fortunately…voters ignored him.
    In Parliament….he has found ways and means to keep getting suspended…makan gaji buta…whenever he can get it.
    Now he is on headline again …asking Anwar to step down as PR leader.
    DAP responded…supporting Anwar..as leader.
    Lets see where is Karpal going to hide his face.
    Anwar was reporting and predicting.
    Najib was scheming and bribing.
    If Karpal cannot differentiate..he is a useless lawyer.
    How can Karpal accused Anwar for what is happening in Perak.
    Just look at that UMNO man….resigned from UMNO…join PR…..then resign….went back to UMNO.
    Will Karpal blame Anwar for that?
    Is that not a planned tricky matter..to fool Anwar?
    Karpal is never a good politician. Hot headed and talk talk talk….with no substances..doing nothing…..and making unnecessary problems for PR.
    He is hungry for attention.
    He gets elected under DAP…because he is a lawyer ……fighting for the poor and helpless….and through that process..he also became a very rich and famous lawyer….being a DAP politician.
    Being the Chairman of DAP….he is making a nuisance of himself.
    Is he testing the patience of DAP or trying to get attention?
    PAS have Hadi Awang. DAP have Karpal. Both are the black sheep of their respective party.
    I hope Karpal have the decency to apologise to Anwar or resign from DAP..
    He is not contributing to unity.

38. #39 by ALLAN THAM on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:40 pm

Today we lost our Silver state to the CORRUPT who steal.

Tomorrow we shall win Bt Gantang and shown the thief what POWER OF PEOPLE mean.

We shall stand as ONE regardless DAP, PAS or PKR.

As we are people who believe in Justice and condemn CORRUPTION.

We are the one, We are the one who will bring brightness to our beloved land, MALAYSIA

39. #40 by voice on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:44 pm

If Pakatan Rakyat breaks off, we are back to the time where UMNO rule without limits again, I really don’t want it to happen, I still love Malaysia, PR leaders, please hold a meeting to resolve the internal problems effectively, as you all know the UMNO controlled media will spin off the issues even bigger, pity to the rakyat afterall, and also about a news report that Hee will reveal the “truths” about what happen in DAP, she even said Choong Eng of BM is two-faced, the incident which caused the death of the PAS MP Roslan is creating a by-election in Bukit Gantang here, which is the parlimentary area of Changkat Jering, PR must stay united to win, the rakyat is watching closely, don’t let us down.
    And please end the drama of power struggle, we are facing a catastrophic economic crisis.

40. #41 by voice on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:52 pm

DAP must also reform, by making it a multi-racial party, PR must search for a way to stay strong, become stronger, with a correct principle.

41. #42 by Godfather on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:53 pm

If the basic tenet of not washing dirty linen in public cannot be followed by a politician as experienced as Karpal Singh, then is there really hope for PR ? Is there really hope for change ?

42. #43 by StevePCH on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:15 pm

It’s alway hilarious to hear Kera talking nonsense.
    Stripp Citizenship ?

The you will need to strip Malaysia nearly half of it’s citizen.

Now, challenging PR supporter to come forward and fight …. not learn any lesson at all from Kerismudin. NOW it’s KerisKERA !!!
    He is a BIG F**L
    PR should report the incident to police for being Seditious !!!

Then again, with PDRM tontos guarding Kera, he’s just show off.

43. #44 by JACK NG on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:20 pm

It is not the good time pinpoint who is take the responsible. no matter Anwar, Uncle Lim father and sons or Karpal Singh, we should face the next ELECTION in Perak on this coming 2 months. Let’s BN to see what is the mean of “POWER OF RAKYAT”….. IF WE ARE FAIL, DONT GIVE UP, TRY AGAIN!

IN CHINESE, “gold is not scare fire since they are real” (please let me know if my transit is wrong).

the moral of story is that, if u are really ablility and capability. dont worry other people (BN’s cash flow), cause we (RAKYAT) support PR always!!!

44. #45 by dawsheng on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:35 pm

“If the basic tenet of not washing dirty linen in public cannot be followed by a politician…” – Godfather

That’s BN’s basic tenet.

45. #46 by chanjoe on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:42 pm

The Chinese saying :”One case not finished…another case came up”

Before we can sit down to catch our breath…Karpal have to bark up the wrong side…..now there is this byelection in Bukit Gantang and then some happenings in Kedah….when are all these going to stop?

So this OX is a very busy and running OX.

No matter how you look at it, Karpal should not say such things at this time…seems he like to get himslef involved in controversials…and each time everyone is fighting a war jointly…he will come out with some unwarranted statements giving bullets to BN. So waht he is a clean and straight lawyer? You must know when to speak and when not to speak. LKS, I salute you for coming out with this statement and this shows you have the guts to tell Karpal he is not welcomed to say such things at this time.

Bravo…onwards to Bukit Gantang and more….

46. #47 by adoionline on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:54 pm

Karpal’s outburst against his own team members is painful to see, all the more so because the man is so well loved & respected. Anwar & Guan Eng’s individual responses have been civil, reconciliatory & well-modulated. End of the day, these little crises within the Pakatan family are reassuring in that they reveal the HUMAN side of our political leaders – and so long as we retain our humanity, and our humility and willingness to live and learn, we are still ahead of the Juggernaut of Ruthless Ambition.

Antares

47. #48 by depressman on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:59 pm

All party members should discuss & resolve differences internally. Simply make any comments or give statements to the press or public will only give a bad impression on the party and give BN excuse to attack PR. This is the biggest mistake that PR keep on doing since the March 08 GE. I wish to see unity among the PR members (especially DAP members).

48. #49 by Evenmind on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:04 pm

At least there is somebody in Malaysia who has balls , who dares challenge even the Sultan who did not do the right thing after the reported defections, yeah man of stieel , keep up the rhethoric , and ampuntuanku , saya durhaka sebab tuanku tidak sikap adil. for god sake , get a life , this is 21st century, respect is earned not demanded , nobody is above the law, of course karpal is angry , being the tiger of jelutong., i care less for those hiding under the skirts , paying politics UMNO style , F off

49. #50 by chanjoe on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:07 pm

Actually such happenings are not confined to PR…as BN have theirs too …like the pandatang Ahmad. Guess there are many who try to be heros.

However, Karpal is already someone great and by making such unwarranted statements..he is putting himself into the same position as the sultan….

Hope he will stay quiet for now.

50. #51 by lee wee tak_ on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:07 pm

“Karpal’s outburst against his own team members is painful to see,”

so it Koh Tsu Koon’s elegant silence as the Gerakan President when his picture is torn by 1 screaming, yelling UMNO ordinary member last year following the Bukit Bendera incident. I still remember his mouth and teeth, a real colgate moment.

51. #52 by lee wee tak_ on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:08 pm

“it” = “was”, typo

52. #53 by Blue.kinetic on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:09 pm

Dear Kit
    according to Malaysia Insider, 4 more suspected may defect to BNi Perak. 2 are from DAP. Name provided were Keshvinder Singh (DAP) from Malim Nawar, A. Siva Subramanium (DAP)from Buntong The other 2 from PKR.

If this continue, how we , people has confident in voting for PR? Beware of those opportunist or hungry of power/money, like Hee.

We can’t keep dissapointing by those unfaithful ADUN or MP.

53. #54 by gofortruth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:18 pm

While Karpal has shocked everyone by scoring an own goal and Perak is now Pakatan 0 – BN 2, just read from The Malaysian Insider that 3 or 4 more Pakatan ADUNs to defect to BN. Sigh!

54. #55 by chengho on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:05 pm

Karpal have 1 choice to redeem his honor and integrity either Karpal leave Dap and join BN or Dap leave Anwar and join Najib..

55. #56 by StevePCH on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:15 pm

chengho from Tj R*****tan kah ? bad equation lar. terbalik oredi.
    i think you got no choice but go back to your century dear Laksamana

56. #57 by drngsc on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:17 pm

Hi Kit n Guan Eng,

I would say again, Karpal Singh must show a good example and maintain party discipline, especially in these difficult times. He may have a good point about “party hopping ” but there is a time and place to speak your mind. Certain, not to the mass media, at this point in time. If he cannot control his tongue, maybe DAP should thank him for all his past services and make him an adviser in Indian affairs, or grant him a long medical leave?. Surely, we do not need a loose cannon, not at these times. Can someone speak to him.

57. #58 by Thomas Lee on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:17 pm

Karpal Singh the Tiger of Jelutong is right in standing firm on his principles but he is definitely wrong in not expressing his personal reservation in private to the other party leaders and sorting out the differences with them.

His outburst and public declaration of differences with Kit and Guan Eng over Anwar is certainly an unwarranted political suicidal move for a party at a time of crisis.

Of course, there are no two human beings who have no difference in opinion or views, but the time calls for the fundamental principle of agreeing to disagree so that big things could be achieved together.

Now is not the right time to cause any split in the DAP. It is time to unite to fight a common enemy, not fighting each other.

I have known Karpal for years and have great respect for him but I must say that his street-fighter way is not the type of political strategy for times such as this.

I do plead with Karpal to restrain his emotion and anger and approach issues with a clear mind, a calm manner and a co-operative spirit.

The kangaroo politics of those advocating defection to gain power is certainly questionable but strange situation calls for strange strategy.

The current law prevents one for standing for election for five years if one were to resign his seat on the ground that he has lost faith in the party that fielded him for election.

The best way to work around such a situation is for the elected representatives to vote with the opposite side in Parliament or the state assembly and cause himself to be sacked from the party, hence freeing himself to seek new alliance.

That, in principle, is not defection or jumping ship par see.

The main thing is to work for a fair and just election system where, unless one is an independent candidate, the elected reprsentative must be made accountable and answerable to the party that fielded him for an election, and will be made legally liable for protecting the seat won in the party’s name and must resign the seat if he is no longer a member in benefit of the party.

From a logical perspective, it should even now be assumed by the courts that a candidate wins a seat on behalf of the party since it is the party symbol that appears on the ballot paper, not his personal image. It is also common knowkedge that many people vote for the party and not the candidate par see.

Hence, the moral and ethical thing, and even the legal implication, is for one to give up the seat if he quits the party.

Perhaps, a statutory sworn declaration should be appended to the nomination form, making it bidding on the elected representative to resign or have his seat declared vacant if he switches party mid-way in the term. This will be fair to all parties.
    (see my proposal in a previous posting below).

=========================

LIM KIT SIANG blog
    Wednesday 4the February 2009

Thomas Lee says ….

There is a time when people of principles must speak out in righteous anger. Now is such a time.

The treacherous betrayal of any elected reprsentative by defecting to another party is something very sad, shocking and shameful.

Such a person has no moral principle and intergrity as he or he gives the unkindest cut to the party that has groomed him or her, nominated him or her for the election, supported his or her election campaign.

Such a scum, an offscouring of humanity and a person without moral values and principles, a pariah to boot, has betrayed those who gave him or her their votes at the election and is not worthy of any respect, honour or dignity.

The betrayal simply reflects the dark side of such a person who definitely lacks moral values, having no self-respect, personal intergrity, honesty, accountability and, above all, no god-fearing conscience.

Such a person is shameless, has no sense of human dignity, and it is well that his or true colour is exposed by the disloyal, traitorous and perfidious defection.

Perhaps, it is time we should demand that certain measures be taken to ensure that a candidate selected and nominated for an election be made to:

(1) Make a sworn declaration which will be printed out as part of a personal election manifesto (see sample below),

(2) Declare his or her personal and family assets publicly in the printed election literature,

(3) Register with the Election Commission (EC) the sworn delcaration, together with a signed personal letter authorising the EC to declare his or her seat vacant in the event he or she resigns from the party that has fielded him or her to stand for election. This should be done when his or her nomination for contest has been accepted by the EC.

===========================
    SAMPLE SWORN DECLARATION:
    ===========================

This document acknowledges and confirms that I, _____________________________________,
    MyKad No: __________________,
    hereby declares under oath that:

1. I am a candidate selected and nominated by the Demoncratic Action PartY (DAP) to stand for the general election / by-election on ________________ for the parliamentary / state constiuency of _______________,

2. I am at all time merely standing for the said general election / by-election as an official representatitive of the DAP and am not representing my own individual person.

3. I am therefore required and obligated to vacate the said parliamentary / state seat I won at the said general election / by-election as an official representative of the DAP if I resign or has been sacked as a member of the DAP.

4. This declaration under oath is made by me voluntarily, without any pressure or force from anyone, in the presence of three witnesses, namely

(a)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________),

(b)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________),

and

(c)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________).

5. This declaration under oath constitutes my own personal legal action and obligation as a person with self-respect, honesty, credibility, accountability and integrity, and I will, at all times and under all circumstances, including in a court of law, affirm it without reservation as my free and true conviction.

6. This declaration under oath is duely attested, confirmed,and ratified by my own personal signature and thumbprint to be the true and final testament of my status as merely an official elected representative of the DAP and that I will be legally obilgated, without doubts or questions, to vacate my elected position the moment I cease to be a member in benefit of the DAP.

7. If I ever violate the terms and conditions stated in this sworn declaration, which I accepted and signed without force or pressure, I shall be liable to pay a sum of RM2,000,000 (two million ringgit) to the DAP.

Signed on this day of _________________

and accompanied by my thumbprint

in the prescene of:

Witnesss 1: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

Witnesss 2: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

Witnesss 3: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

================================

LIM KIT SIANG blog
    Thursday 5 Feb 2009

Thomas Lee says …

Judas couldn’t sleep and finally hanged himself in guilt and shame.

That will be the lot of those who betray their people. They will never enjoy peace of mind or happiness the rest of their days until they repent, reform and return to the true path of righterousness.

By the way, may I suggest that the MB Nizar and Ngeh Hoo Ham take the honourable way by returning their datukship as a symbolic gesture of protest if they feel that HRH was wrong in his decision.

I always think it was a big mistake for them to nominate themselves for the datukship just after taking office. It reflects badly on them.

The people who have served for decades and truly deserve such titles are Kit and Karpal but they will not accept such awards as the DAP policy and practice have always been to avoid exposing its leaders to temptation of power and position.

The party stand, I believe, is that only when the leaders are retired they should be given such awards. Ngeh should have nominate Dr Chen Man Hin for the award instead of accepting it himself.

I understand that Ngeh’s datukship was among the reasons some Perak DAP leaders and members were unhappy with.

HeeHeeHee,
    She is not only the first woman to be a deputy speaker, the first polio person to hold such a post, but also, I believe, the first woman to defect.
    She deserves to be listed in the Malaysia Book of Records.
    HeeHeeHee!

58. #59 by mother of three on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:22 pm

We need to teach a good lesson to the frogs that love to do high jump and long jump.So that,other frogs will take it as a good lesson and will totally forget the jumping method.We need to punish the culprit who encourage them to jump as well.If the rumours on Arumugam is true then I think he has made the biggest mistake in his entire life.Well,then “rakyat” could see Malay frog,Chinese frog and Indian frog.At least, now the frogs succesfully achieve the “semangat perpaduan” that all of us fail to achieve.

59. #60 by bolehlandor on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:43 pm

PR must really put its acts together if they wish to try to form the Federal govt. They must also do serious self-analyses of their intentions for wanting to do so. Life & esp power is not so simple.

60. #61 by 7even Sins on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:46 pm

Karpal maybe right on his views and beliefs but it is utmost critical at this juncture, the party needs to stabilize its badly tilted political position and confidence. Harping on his views and beliefs at the wrong timing may possibly cause PR the political future. It is as if the defection is not bad enough but to give another brutal punch on the face. Yeah..even he has made his points to the whole world, can he walk down the aisle with sparkling blue eyes telling people that he is the man of principle and different??? If yes, good luck..!!!

I am a believer and supporter in PR. I believe all of you are the better equipped with experience and seasoned politicians. Do any of you know what is actually toying in each and every opposition MP’s looking at their party and leader being punched and cartoon-like wing-men who can’t put their act together??? Who will have the last laugh…? BN of course.

Why can’t these people just STABILIZE the party first instead of making so many counter-productive talks and press coverage????

Seems like everybody wanna be Tai-Koh in PR…!!! So SILLY..!!!

61. #62 by Saint on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:05 pm

BN has used this outburst to its fullest-but I am sure it is storm in a tea cup and PR will ride over it. Let us not talk too much about it.

62. #63 by gofortruth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:07 pm

The Malaysian Insider –
    By Lee Wei Lian
    KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 9 — Speculation is rife that four more state assemblymen from Pakatan Rakyat (PR) parties are ready to defect to the Barisan Nasional (BN).

The four names being cited in various text message exchanges are Keshvinder Singh (DAP) from Malim Nawar, A. Siva Subramanium (DAP) from Buntong and S. Kesavan (PKR) from Hutan Melintang and Tai Sing Ng (PKR) from Kuala Sepetang.
    ———————–
    Uncle Karpal please stop all the bickering especially now & help put off the fire in your own house.

63. #64 by gofortruth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:15 pm

Now that CAMRY Hee finally got her deal to be sworn in as an exco member tomorrow, she will have 4 more years to blunder the state before she gets voted out into oblivion in GE13. Sigh!

64. #65 by undergrad2 on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:18 pm

“Let the DAP resolve any differences internally as they should not be allowed to deflect efforts to resolve both the grave economic and political crisis confronting Malaysians.” Kit

Although Karpal is unlikely to defect anywhere but to the next world, he should be reduced to the rank of an ordinary member for having spoken out in such a public manner against how his party has chosen to work with a key member of the coalition. Ordinarily someone like that would tender his resignation without being asked to do so as Chairman and remain an ordinary member. Why hasn’t he done so?? Loyalty to principles??

65. #66 by gofortruth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:20 pm

A good open letter to Karpal:-

http://margeemar.blogspot.com/

66. #67 by jt84 on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:27 pm

DAP need to resolve their core differences internally and be focused on speaking up for the Rakyat! I urge YB Karpal to remain calm and professional to the benefit of the people who throws their support and votes behind Pakatan Rakyat. YB Karpal Singh is still relevant to DAP and Pakatan Rakyat and so does YB Lim Kit Siang, YB LGE and DSAI. There is no choice but to stand in unity for the rakyat in the face of oppression.

I personally do not favour in PR to concede in the Perak Constituitional Crisis. To concede is to bury the sovereignty of the people/ democracy. Dissolution of State Assembly and return the power to people of Perak is constituitional and justified. If Pakatan Rakyat are not willing to stand up for the rights on the people, then Pakatan Rakyat might be proven irrelevant. However, if PR decides to concede, PR must provide a full and acceptable explaination in to why it is so.

One of the banner in today’s UMNO/BN Demonstration in Ipoh reads “Derhaka kepada Sultan, derhaka kepada Allah”. This is of grave heretic statement which equates Sultan to Allah. UMNO has lost their sense of morality over power and greed to even the point of dishonouring the name of God. By that banner alone, it violates the very core of where Malaysia is founded and instituted.

PAS might very well be needed to restore the true faith and concept of Islam. Pakatan Rakyat- stand firm for the rakyat which has voted for you in the face of darkness and oppression by UMNO/BN.

Do not create a loop hole and fall into UMNO/BN trap in breaking Pakatan Rakyat apart. Thank you.

67. #68 by mother of three on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:29 pm

Uncle Karpal standpoint on frogs is correct but maybe he should be more careful when giving statement in public.Personally I feel that the born of PR is because of Anwar and God knows what is in his mind.However,none of us could deny that at the current critical moment PR desperately need Anwar.PR still in infant stage.Please treat PR as your own family and you should not expose to other people if you have family problem.Discuss among yourself and just let others know the final conclusion.Other people need not to know the entire process.Do not give chance for BN to manipulate the statement.

68. #69 by PSM on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:36 pm

Bro Kit,

As respected leaders of the DAP & PR, you both should sit down & talk this out.
    I agree that this should be kept internally. Not to hide it from the Rakyat but especially to ensure that the MSM & the BN do not take advantage of the situation.On one hand they quote Karpal extensively to denounce DSAI & then on the other hand they make Police Reports against Karpal.

69. #70 by ablastine on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:06 pm

Karpal should know that some of his advices and statements are ignored by party members because they are not viable or executable or simply not timely. They are just being polite not telling him off directly as he holds the chair to DAP. However, the chair of DAP is an important position because it is part of the power centre and DAP is again becoming increasingly popular and respected. Uncontrolled outburst at the wrong time through the wrong channel really set the party back. This is not the time to show off his clout in the party or illustrate how correct his views were because all will come to nothing if DAP breaks away from the only coalition so far which has any chance of sinking the BN ship. It is already hard enough for the 3 parties in the coalition to work together to handle the resourceful and wily BN without him creating new problems. I sincerely believe that if he cannot keep his outburst within the party, being his character, I suggest he resign from the chair to take a lower profile position. He is still very useful to the coalition and I hope that he will continue to contribute positively to its cause rather than creating new problems for it. I have a feeling most of the senior members in DAP are trying their level best to accomodate him but to act on ridiculous suggestions like leaving the coalition and demanding a strong ally like Anwar to resign is really out of the question and downright STUPID.

70. #71 by ahluck on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:11 pm

uncle kal siah!

i respect you and proud of you for your courage. you are King of all king in Malaysia now! all malaysians talking about you. do what you have to do. i always supported you and always will because you keep your words.

71. #72 by dawsheng on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:14 pm

“There is no split in the party leadership. We can resolve any differences internally,” – Uncle Kit

Anwar screwed up! Losing a state to BN is no laughing matter, Anwar must work hard to regain Karpal’s trust, fast. No two way about it

72. #73 by Jeffrey on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:18 pm

Shannon Teoh (The MalaysiaInsider) report Feb 9 said this:
    “Perak DAP chief Datuk Seri Ngeh Koo Ham “grudgingly said defections were practical as current laws forbid lawmakers from contesting any elections if they quit their seat”.

Ngeh further said, “We support an anti-hopping law, 100 per cent. But if an elected rep says he can no longer stand for his party’s immoral practices, then we invite him to resign from his seat,” he said, insisting DAP would not “entice or promise” anything to those who wanted to defect to its ranks…”

So it is DAP’s position that its Ok to defect or accept to defection provided there is no enticement or promise from the receiving political party to the defector?
    And you’re saying that the other side BN has no qualms to entice and promise isn’t it?

If the above holds true, the DAP/PKR is going to lose this game of defections.

If political kataks or potential political kataks were to hop and cross don’t you think more of them will think of benefit than those who think of principles?

If they think of principles they wouldn’t have joined and got elected under the BN ticket : so if you’re thinking of more BN kataks hopping over to PR, forget it, since as Ngeh said, “DAP would not entice or promise anything to those who wanted to defect to its ranks…”

The opposite however is not true : 4 already hopped in Perak with rumours that another four may be defecting, and that Bn is also targeting Kedah.

The flow in this defection game goes (one way) to BN with no reverse flow to PR precisely because BN offers enticement and benefit that you say you don’t offer anything but principles (trying to reconcile the whole business on a higher moral ground).
    Principles have no real force except when for one is well fed. But PR has postmen, clerk etc who may not be well fed!

So it means once you concede that political defection is Ok in line with Anwar’s thinking (provided no enticement or benefit) it will be a game tit for tat that BN will surely win for reasons stated above.

This is I think why Karpal Singh is making so much noise about Anwar’s defection principle, which Karpal thinks will bring PR down.

It is becuase once defection is conceded as Ok it cannot be reconciled by a qualification that it is morally Ok provided that PR does not use enticement but just offer principles when then other side, does not play by same rules, and offers not principles but material enticement.

Even a child will know who will win in this game when you try to reconcile the irreconcilable.

73. #74 by alaneth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:21 pm

I respect Karpal Singh’s freedom to voice his opinion and his right to do so in the open media. This shows Malaysia has freedom of speech so long sensitive issues are not questioned.

74. #75 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:30 pm

Ha! Ha! the nephew of Mugabe speaks again! asking PAS to join BN!! He wants to lead UMNO Youth but has not learned enough, asking someone to join a fast sinking ship. Even rats [plenty on board] would run away!
    Your brand of racist approach does not seem to end. You may be the son, I bet you will never be able to con Malaysians like your dad did. The younger set is much, much smarter than even you in spite of your dad’s reputation in spinning and rhetorics>

75. #76 by gofortruth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:53 pm

All of us know how dirty BN play. After votes buying still failed at PP & KT, they now found it a lot easier to ADUN buying. Beat that!

Word to encourage PAKATAN :-
    Psalm 18:25-26
    To the faithful you show yourself faithful, to the blameless you show yourself blameless, to the pure you show yourself pure, but to the crooked you show yourself shrewd.

Please stay united & focused,CHANGE will surely come!

76. #77 by mauzaomin on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:03 pm

Undeniably, it hurts. But viewing from another perspective, the members of People Coalition have the freedom and courage to voice out their opinions, unlike BN. I think people just need to look at it objectively.

77. #78 by ahluck on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:07 pm

why UMNO asking PAS to join BN? if there is no much differences then UMNO should should PAS. anak mamak anak mamak juga! grrrrr

78. #79 by dmeo on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:09 pm

When Karpal fights to maintain and clarify the stance that malaysia is a secular state (and a secular state is one in which all races are looked upon as equals) as opposed to an Islamic state , he is labelled as a racist.

When he fights to defend the rights of citizens to take royalty to court on disputable issues, he is accused of committing treason.

When he voices his stance on party hopping, principles of which are supposed to have been imbeded in the DAP ideology he does not even get the support of some of those in his party which had condemnd such actions before the Pakatan was formed.

This is a man whom fights for the right reasons but because of his bluntness (a truly respectable quality) he is seen as an easy scape goat for both the PR and BN whenever they are important issues that nobody wants to face.

To those who think that his timing was not acceptable, would it have been anymore acceptable if he had come out with it in 6 months, or 6 years later? If anything i think his statements were mild and should have been alot harsher.

I am an opposition supporter but i will never support a leader that embraces party hoping one day and codemns it 10 days later when the hops happen against him. It may be constitutional to hop but it is in no way ethical.

To the first comment. Anwar being the leader of the PR is in no way a lone reason for the capture of the five states. Cause if it was PKR would have made a big difference in 2004 as opposed to just winning 1 seat.

Every article ive read that is against him has always been based on opinion rather that fact which is sickening because people tend to believe what they read without looking for proof.

Also Karpal Singh is not a millionare lawyer like some of you claim. He has done many cases for free and being a principled man who abides by the law is what makes him successful. Because no one can prove a man who is always right to be wrong.(unless they twist his words like what most media and bloggers who are looking for someone outspoken to pry on do)

Frankly i am quite appalled by the fact that LKS and LGE are willing to sell their principles in order to ‘win’ rather to fight for what they were ‘preaching’ before the convenient formation of the PR.

I dread to think of the day when malaysian politics looses this man cause when he goes, it looks like good principles would leave with him and we;d be left with BN vs BN (PR)

79. #80 by ahluck on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:12 pm

why UMNO asking PAS to join BN? If there is no much differences UMNO should Join PAS. can have big happy family.

80. #81 by sheriff singh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:12 pm

Its a big full moon tonight.

Everyone’s gone crazy, getting missing, resigning…..

What’s next before this night is over?

81. #82 by distantmalay on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:16 pm

this crisis can be a blessing,
    everytime there is a crisis,
    pakatan becomes stronger,

talk it out, thrash it out,
    get to know one another better,
    agree to disagree,
    keep your eyes on the big picture.

82. #83 by cemerlang on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:23 pm

We have to look back in order to get going again. So to which part of history should we go ? Ok. Let’s go back to the BERSIH movement. The Agong and Raja Nazrin helped the rakyat when the situation became tense. Even though Sultan Azlan called for a judicial reform yet he was not all that trusting towards Pakatan Rakyat. Here’s the unspoken catch and a hypotheses.

Prove your worth when you are in power.

Later came the 16th of September’s prophecy. Many people including the politicians were looking forward to a change. In fact, they have been looking forward to a change many moons ago. The change that the federal government would be run by the Pakatan Raykat. The prophecy remains still a prophecy. But this could be the cause of people turning into grasshoppers. They cannot wait. Like they say, if you cannot beat them, join them. Play safe. Be independent but friendly to Barisan Nasional and to the Pakatan Rakyat, how ? Friends become enemies and enemies become friends. So when the situation is ripe and the timing is just nice, all hell broke lose. Two times of audience with Sultan Azlan was enough to make him distrust the Pakatan Rakyat altogether instead of remembering his own request to have a judicial reform which means the law should be respected. Laws are applicable to everyone and therefore everyone in Perak should be given another chance to vote for their Chief Minister. Disregarding the people’s votes is not respecting the people. Respect is to be earned. Datuk Dr Zambri Kadir is a beauty in the eyes of Barisan Nasional but is he too a beauty in the eyes of the people in Perak ? To claim that he is like Obama is like telling tall tales to little kids. Yes there is similarity in terms of the skin colour. But in terms of ethics and morality, Datuk Dr Zambri lose terribly. He did not go through the many rounds of campaigns and state’s elections for the President like Obama. He did not have a public debate like Obama. He is not the minority Malay in a majority other race party like Obama being the minority black in a majority white party. So all odds are stacked against him. But with the ever strong support of Barisan Nasional, he can still claim proudly that he is the Chief Minister of Perak. Beat your chest very hard and tell yourself how true it is.

83. #84 by lakshy on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:36 pm

My condolences to the family of the late MP Roslan Shaharum.

With his passing away, arises the opportunity for the state to make some findings from the electorate.

Since Changkat Jering lies within the Parliamentary seat of Bukit Gantang, I wonder whether a referendum can be included in the ballot slip for that state seat to be run concurrently during this election?

That would permit the eligible voters of Changkat Jering to vote whether they support the “frog-man”–Osman Jailu, or if they wish for fresh elections to be held in that state seat. Its an opportunity for the PR and BN MBs as well as the Sultan and the PM to be to hear the voice of the voters.

84. #85 by lakshy on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:39 pm

Guys, dont be so hard on Hee. I am sure she was threatened. Hence her support for bn is definitely under duress. She did not seem to be a happy person in the news conference when the announcements were made. Remember, this bn govt can stoop to any level to get what it wants. Put yourself in Hee’s position. What if your family were threatened? Ask yourself honestly what would you do? For now, we dont know her reasons. Lets wish her all the best. Voting her out in the next election, may be exactly what she and bn expect or want. So perhaps she wont even be fielded!

The whole thing smells. It all started with Nasaruddin’s hopping over to PKR. This on hindsight was a ploy from bn’s side. The reason being, that they wanted to blame PKR of having started the hopping first. Then they would not eb blamed for movin g Jamaluddin and Osman over (in exchange for making their charges disappear??!) Why else would Nasaruddin be so easily accepted back into bn and umno at that? Why is no disciplinary action even being proposed against him? Who has made a media campaign to demonize Hee so that she faces all the flak and nothing happens to Nasaruddin?

Think about it! The undercurrents here are greater than we realize at first glance.

85. #86 by KennyGan on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:44 pm

Whatever issues Karpal has with Anwar why take it to the BN mainstream press knowing how they will gleefully blow it up? Is this the proper channel to air his grouses? This smacks of the childish antics of a spoilt brat rather than a matured politician. I’ve no argument that Karpal is a man of consistency and integrity but that is not the point! The point is that he went to the enemy and gave them bullets to shoot his family and that is inexcusable no matter what apologist say about his principles.

In politics perception is everything. If Karpal can’t control his loose mouth, then quit being a politician and start his own NGO. Then he can blast whoever and whatever he wants but his position as Chairman of DAP and being unable to control his mouth for the sake of the coalition is a liability to Pakatan Rakyat and a credit to BN.

86. #87 by KennyGan on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:49 pm

lakshy,

please don’t go on a frolic of your own. what evidence do you have that Hee hopped under duress? If you have nothing, don’t fantasize. You do no favours for trying to exonerate a morally reprehensible character who should rightly be condemned and ostracized by society

87. #88 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:50 pm

Even allowing what Karpal said might be worthy of some consideration, one cannot fail to see that the timing and forum chosen for his ‘sudden outburst’ is ill-advised and poorly considered.

There is a season for everything under the sun. Everything else is a lesser evil now as long as the great dragon and evil-inspired UMNO reigns.

Anwar is right about differences of opinion within PR. But which family is not beset with differences of opinions and even strategies. This is as good a time as any for PR to devise people-friendly and honourable long-term solutions to serve the RAkyat.

88. #89 by dmeo on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:53 pm

Coalitions a built based on basic principles. If the leaders in pakatan do not voice their opinions in media be it BN or PR, the it makes the opposition no different from the BN.

Some of you argue that Anwar was not the one who started this. That may be true but he was definately the one who presisted on taking over through crossovers and i am glad that Karpal had the courage to say what he did. It gives us hope that there is still some although very little, credibility left in some (and i want to stress on the word some) of the PR leaders.

89. #90 by Jeffrey on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:13 pm

The BN of course will shrug of the accusation that the Perak political crisis is an illegal and unconstitutional grab for power. It is going to ask in what way the PR’s defections to BN are any less democratic, unconstitutional or illegal as those from BN to PR canvassed by Anwar?

In order to accommodate Anwar’s position on defections, you and DAP have drawn a line that defections from BN to PR are justifiable because they are based on principles and conscience of the defectors leaving BN since PR is not offering enticement or any gratification, the implication being any defections to PR must be based on principles and those to the opposite side BN, enticement or gratification.

The line can theoretically be drawn but hardly provable in practical terms. How do you, for example, prove that the three state representatives – Jamaluddin, Osman and Hee – defected to BN not out of principles but some gratification or inducement?
    Ok you draw attention to the circumstances and argue that they draw the probable inference that it was so. However one must admit that a suspicion, no matter how reasonable, is short of proof to nail a conclusion. Even so, the other side BN could turn around to say that PR is no better than it.

Take the case of Nasarudin whose first crossing was to Anwar touted as a signal for change. Was his 1st crossing to PR based on principles? If so how come he so quickly changed his principles to cross back second time to BN? That also raises the reasonable inference that when PR received Nasarudin in first instance, it was improbable that principles were involved. Principles do not change in matters of days!

My point is once Anwar’s positions on defections were accommodated (to be reconciled as to “morality” by a qualification that it is based on principles), this is a reconciliation that is not provable or convincing. Instead it opens the floodgate for the other side to play the game to its benefit based on two advantages (1) BN has more financial and other resources than PR to supply the requisite enticement/benefit to ‘Kataks’ (that neither PR nor MACC could prove BN supply) and (2) there being presumably more politicians of self interest than principles on both side of the political divide of PR/BN, over time more defections will flow from PR to BN than BN to PR, which effectively means that all the remaining PR controlled states will be subject to this pressure of one way traffic towards BN!

BN will always play this numbers game via defections because the alternative of going to the electorate, whether in by elections or general election, is unfavourable to it at this time. However it is also a game that the odds are all stacked against PR in BN’s favour.

I think Karpal is very unhappy that PR is forced to engage in a game that it cannot neither reject nor play without hypocrisy to win on account of having to accommodate Anwar’s position on defection drummed up since last year. Hence he considers Anwar a liability to PR for this reason that PR will be maneuvered to a losing streak all the way!

Do you think Karpal is wrong? His outburst could have been a result of repeated warnings within closed doors falling on deaf ears, and now he sees a “tsunami” of defections is heading towards PR that it is unaware.

90. #91 by alaneth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:15 pm

Quote :
    dmeo Says:
    February 9th, 2009 at 22: 09.14

When Karpal fights to maintain and clarify the stance that malaysia is a secular ……….. Unquote.

dmeo, – a big Kudos & applause for your thoughts. I share the same thoughts as you. Karpal has got the right spirit and fighting for the original cause of the DAP. Unlike others who are just fighting to take over the govt, all DAP members must remember the cause, struggle and objectives of the DAP. Karpal is the only leader I see with the true fighting spirit of the original DAP agenda.

I respect you for your actions Karpal. All the best & may God Bless. At the same time, I also look highly on you Kit Siang & Guan Eng. Let’s go back to the original objectives of DAP, especially when we are talking on matters related to Hudud & righteousness.

91. #92 by KennyGan on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:15 pm

“Coalitions a built based on basic principles. If the leaders in pakatan do not voice their opinions in media be it BN or PR, the it makes the opposition no different from the BN.” – dmeo

So you think politics is the same as boy scouts? I’m afraid you’ll never get anywhere in politics.

Voicing differing opinion can be exploited by your political enemies but Karpal went further than that. He demanded the resignation of the coalition leader and now we have Muhyddin saying “Karpal-Anwar rift shows Pakatan not viable. (MalaysianInsider).

Why am I not surprise?

92. #93 by sheriff singh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:25 pm

Heard this one?

A very senior Indian Politician went to see Samy Vellu yesterday.

Politician : Hello, Samy! My name is Zeebra.

Samy V: Hello, Zeebra. Please sit down.

P: I have just been appointed the new headman here.

S V: Is that so? Well, congratulations!

P: I have come to assure you that I will be the headman for everyone.

S V: That’s great! Are you qualified for the job?

P: Well, I have got a Ph D from Temple University!!

S V (very impressed): Wow! Which kovil (temple)?

+++++

Sorry, boss.

93. #94 by dawsheng on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:31 pm

“The point is that he went to the enemy and gave them bullets to shoot his family and that is inexcusable no matter what apologist say about his principles.” – KennyGan

You took a very draconian view on this matter and it serves no purpose other than condemning Karpal Singh who you think is senile, but Anwar is certainly mute, what are you going to say about him?

94. #95 by ablastine on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:38 pm

Some people think or say as if Anwar is the inventor of this defection. Please he is just a convenient excuse and punching bags for charlatans here who may or may not realise that what Karpal said is exactly what the enemy wanted to hear and happen. If you put matter on prespective, PR loosing Perak temporary is nowhere as destructive as what Karpal is doing to the coalition. He simply advocate a breakup or Anwar resigning. That would spell the demise of a one big dream and dash any hope of Malaysia ever getting up again on its knee to face the world. I can assure you that if PR fails, Malaysia will take less than 20 years to be another Burma and 50 to be a Zimbawee. The BN bastards will continue to rob the country until there is nothing left. What purpose does it serve Karpal to see the coalition breaking up. To make or push a point which only a proportion of people agrees with? To create some attention? To show that he still has the bit of a Jelutong tiger.

I agree with Kenny completely that despite all his past contribution, if he cannot control himself and his outburst it is better he takes up a lower profile position so as not to rock this important PR boat.

95. #96 by vsp on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:45 pm

Let’s look at the bright side. In victory there must always be defeats. In defeats you learn not to repeat the same mistakes again. As the saying goes: every cloud has a sliver lining which means every difficult or sad situation has a comforting or more hopeful aspect even though this may not be immediately apparent.

Here are some of the positives that might come out from this affair:

1) Pakatan will become more cohesive and they cannot take things for granted anymore: never underestimate an evil entity. Leaders will be more wiser, and more suitable candidates will be found to join the ranks. This is unlike in pre-2008 where Pakatan has difficulty attracting people of calibre.

2) The people are getting real mad about the power grab. Definitely Pakatan have the people power whereas the BN will be sloppy since they believe their own invincibility and will not hear the voice of the people. Corruption will be their currency. This is the classic sign of the fall of any empire or kingdom in history.

3) Najib’s credibility is in the dumps. With so many scandals left unresolved, he managed to add more baggages which will finally sink him when he crosses the bridge. If you have the psychic gift you will notice the number “666” on the forehead of Najib. If you don’t understand what this number signifies, refer to the Book of Revelation in the Bible.

4) And finally the RAHMAN oracles which is written in the stars. Najib will be the last emperor of the UMNO empire.

Cheers

96. #97 by japalang_guy on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:47 pm

Do you still remember Sun Yat Sen and Yuan Khai Sek time.Actually that time Japanese army is attacking China and both of Dr Sun and Yuan is fighting internally.If internally they can ally,I don’t think China will lost half of their country to Japan.

I think now,Pakatan Rakyat like Sun Yat Sen and Yuan Khai Sek fighting internally.

I’m not blaming Karpal Singh but I think Mr Lim,you should solve internal problem in advance.

We actually hoping for changes from you all guys,last election is Rakyat no choice to vote and just vote for the opposition.This not because of DAP,Keadilan or PAS is strong.We just need changes here,the only hope we have now.

Please solve internally problem,if not how you going to fight outsider.Kalau rumah sendiri pun tak boleh kawal,macam mana nak kawal di luar rumah yang kian kelam kabut??…

DAP supporter
    http://japalangspeaks.blogspot.com

97. #98 by shambles on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:25 am

We have 2 by elections coming up…one in Perak and another in Kedah…

DAP…lets prepare for it and WIN BIG!!! Show those BN goons that their days are numbered.

GO GO GO !!!

98. #99 by ahluck on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:16 am

Perak Mufti demi allah tolong DIAM dan DOA untuk negeri perak. jangan masuk campur politic.

You are the racist who created havoc at silibin and said indians and chinese control the economy.

you the first trouble maker

99. #100 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:19 am

We are getting a buy election in Perak. But, o dear, the wrong state assemblyman passed on.

100. #101 by dmeo on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:39 am

Dear KennyGan,

Thank you for your criticism. Do your comments suggest that political leaders should conform to the ideologies or beliefs of different parties just for the sake of playing the political game?

The whole point of the PR is to provide Malaysians with a credible alternative. One in which the opinions of all parties within are clear (no matter how conflicting they may be) and one in which no component is greater that the other unlike how the MCA and MIC conform to UMNO.

The DAP has had long term objectives and principles and if someone comes along a challenges those principles i do not expect that party (and i refer to all political parties) to give up what they represent just because it may seem like an easy winning oppurtunity. Whats the point (it seems only go in the direction of turning PR into a new BN)

As for the comments from the BN , it would have happened regardless of if he had or had not made those statements.Thats what politicians do to their opponents. The only difference is the PR is different in the sense that all parties are free to voice what they have to say as opposed to the BN where it seems that one party makes the rules and the others follow (even thou they claim to truly represent the different views of cultures and ethnicities of this country)

101. #102 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:14 am

Mr Lim Guan Eng,

You are an accounting trained professional. Will you please provide us the answers to the following questions:

1) You have allowed Perak DAP to run on their own without your intervention. This is good in the sense that you have given Perak DAP the so-called “Divisional Autonomy”. However, where is your system of “Performance Evaluation” which is required for use as a measurement on how well your fellowmen has fared in Perak political battlefield?
    2) Does your system of “Performance Evaluation” tell you which person shall be held responsible for the current defeat of Pakatan Rakyat in Perak?
    3) Who do you think shall take the responsibility for the defeat if the person is not Anwar?
    4) After the defeat in Perak, did you really do the stock-taking and attempt to find out where and what had really gone wrong with Pakatan Rakyat?
    5) You have been trying to put emphasis on the equal partnership among DAP, PKR and PAS in order to explain off the massive ideological differences among all these three component parties. However, did you manage to list out all the common goals all these three component parties were shared commonly among one another?
    6) What are your COMMON GOALS? Do they include such benefit as providing material betterment to all your State Assembly Representatives and Members of Parliament?
    7) What plans did you have in the past and what recommendations will you make now for purpose of achieving a much better GOAL CONGRUENCE among all the three component parties? And among all DAP’s party members?
    8) Are you going to launch a membership recruitment campaign in order to enhance DAP’s strategic deployment in the resourceful new frontier of Sarawak?
    9) Since you have already had a grab of two thirds majority of the State Assembly seats in Penang under the ticket of Pakatan Rakyat, what consitutional amendment have you proposed insofar for purpose of strengthening Pakatan Rakyat’s reign in Penang State Government?
    10) If you have found it very difficult to ask for development funds to be disbursed by the Ministry of Finance in order for you to finance the infrastructure projects in Penang, have you really focused on the possibilities of creating additional sources of income to your state government?
    11) You have plenty of state rights in relation to lands. What master plan have you formulated to the public in order to encourage the landowners to make fuller utilization of their lands in Penang for wealth creation?
    12) Since industrial lands, commercial lands and residential housing lands will all contract higher land leasehold premium and higher quit rent than the agricultural lands, have you attempted to speed up the process of land title conversion and land delineation in Penang so far?
    13) If you have not tried hard enough to find the money for development within your own scope of administrative powers, why do you want to waste time arguing with the Federal Government on the withholding of the Penang’s share of development funds by the Federal Government?
    What is the point of attempting to ask a tiger to skin itself off in order to clothe you?
    14) As the Chief Minister, you do have some says in giving away the HALAL license to the food catering and food manufacturing industry, do you have plan to develop Penang into a regional hub of HALAL food production for international trade by incorporating some HACCP concept into Penang’s HALAL food production?
    15) Last but not least, do you want to propose a plan which is quite similar to the employee stock option to all Pakatan Rakyat State Assembly Representatives and Members of Parliament in order to peg their monetary reward to the length of their service in the legislatures under the ticket of Pakatan Rakyat? If no, do you have other better plan in order to retain your legislature seat holders?

It seems that to administer the state government like administering a business enterprise is the only viable way for you to ensure the long term survival of Pakatan Rakyat which faces strong competition from Barisan Nasional. I have yet to see that you can really manage the state government like managing a business conglomerate. Beside cost-cutting measure, sometimes you are also required to give reward in consummation to the performance and loyalty of the key staff in the organisation!

I sincerely hope that you will manage to rule the Penang State Government for the next 8 or 9 years. Please get Karpal to help you to prepare some work for proposed constitutional amendment. You can only keep his mouth shut by way of keeping him busy most of the times!

102. #103 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:09 am

Filing a suit against the Sultan is not a smart thing to do. First it’ll be struck off. Secondly, it will open the floodgates to endless litigation – some frivolous. The end result? The end result would be to divide Malaysians into two camps. Constitutionalists and non-Constitutionalists, and Royalists and non-Royalists and when such division also falls along racial lines it will negate the progress so far made in race relations.

Further what is there to stop the Constitution from being amended?

It is a road we must never travel.

103. #104 by just a moment on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:28 am

There are always time and places for all things. Why now honourable Kapal? Whats the take here? Integrity?Morality? C’mon, we been thru this upteen times. I understand some can talk to animals and plants, but we dealing with less formed stuff here!!
    I have the highest respect for Kapal. He’s the best – hands down, ever in Malaysia there is. For a “lawyer!!” that speak volumes already.

But now, we are talking more than just politics, right? Its darn frustration trying to distinguish between What’s nice and What’s right – Right in the sense of operation and procedures and may not be the ultimate Goals, you know?

First thing first, get in the Ring first, before any competition can begin. At the rate this crazy issue of arguing the right size of the Ring and what nonsense padding needed before the fight can begin, is hellaof wasting time. The crowd can wait no more, you dig? Situation and circumstances just do not permit at this moment, period.

Yes, we should not rush into compromising integrity or morality, besides, these thing may take generations to changed, everyone knows it but for heaven sake (Lawyer’s job) get yourself a “case” first before arguing in the court?
    By the way, its not free, like charity work-you understand this. Many citizen are paying the price right now – not what you think and say, its what the other party is doing. So, just don’t make it easier for them? for now?

Thank you.

104. #105 by just a moment on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:34 am

One more thing, can you name one more, just one more person to represent change in this Government? We do not have much opportunity left. YB Lim and Kapal alone is not enough. We have to work together with DSAI. The war is out there!!, not here!!

105. #106 by just a moment on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:48 am

O dear, sorry, one last: basic question Mr kapal, which camp are you in? BN or Opposition? I also almost forgot, I hope you don’t. Just start from here, it’ll all be fine?

106. #107 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 7:25 am

When Karpal spoke against Hudud and Anwar’s canvassing of political defections many PR’s supporters and BN’s detractors would criticise, and some would condemn him of either speaking nonsense or otherwise inappropriately and out of line for not observing decorum of resolving issues within PR/DAP’s closed doors.

The main reason for this behaviour is because these critics have pinned all their hopes on PR as a vehicle to rid that which they viscerally hate – the BN – whose very existence they disapprove and whose prospect of continuance of rule after 50 years of depredations is a nightmare.

So PR and Anwar become an epitome of collective hopes through which many place hope and interest in their and the country’s salvation.

Having being elevated to such position PR and Anwar can do no wrong. Or even if they do, these are treated as minor infractions compared to the larger importance of their role : they certainly should not be criticised in the public discourse arena lest such criticisms would somewhat diminish their mystique and undermine the PR’s prospect and objective of displacing the Great Oppressor from power. That is the Great Objective, the preservation of the focus of which, is primary and overrides all objections and criticisms of Anwar/PR, no matter how valid or true are relegated to secondary position!

In such prevailing mindset, any idea or criticism of PR and its icon Anwar, no matter how well founded or valid, and no matter how sincerely articulated by even a stalwart of the DAP struggle like Karpal Singh and no matter how within closed doors, is not listened to, assumes a complexion of criminality and high treason to the extent that it undermines the Great Objective and may be exploited by the Great Oppressor to its benefit.

In contrast, Karpal and those like him characterised as loud mouths, are of a diametrically opposed mind set. They take a more sangfroid stance of speaking aloud what, in their take, is the truth or the principle (leaving aside whether that itself be true or otherwise). This category will put political expedience as secondary to the inexorable course of their reasoing and conclusions, which is primary.

The approaches taken by the first group (the Hope Preservers) and the second group (the Truth Seekers) would never converge, and the twain will never meet, the clash being also inevitable….

To Truth Seekers, the Truth must be said regardless of the outcome because truth is truth, and being so, it is immutable and if it is denied now it will haunt and return with vengence to punish its deniers. In contrast, the Hope Preservers place greater priority to hope than the unvarnished truth because to them what good is the cold truth if it brings no emotional solace and often inflicts pain.

In the clash they will seek to silence, if not discredit or vilify whatever the other category says – not recognising the irony that this is precisely the kind of dictatorial methods that those they hate and detest deploy to protect the vital interest and sanctity of their coalition and how such methods prioritising expedience over principle or the truth have always shown to slid down the slippery slope to corruption and abuse of power.

107. #108 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 7:28 am

Yes I agree that Pakatan should put its house in order if it really wants to win in the next general elections.
    Although dirty tricks are being employed by both sides, most people expect the federal government of the day to hold a higher moral ground.
    I believe that the next GE is now for the Pakatan to lose by their own silly antics. Whether or not Anwar leads the nation in future, PR needs to build up a good team with cohesive leadership and strong integrity.
    Party-hopping is banned in many nations like India as it surely is a major cause of money politics and everyone loses in the process especially the voters and the stability of government.
    I suggest that party-hopping can be allowed but the seat must be vacated.
    The person who hops can recontest the same seat under a different party but with some conditions.
    This returns the ultimate power back to the people.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/02/malaysiakini-and-putting-end-to-money.html

108. #109 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 7:37 am

onlooker, beside land, States actually have not much power in creating ‘other projects’ especially those involving foreign investments. Moreover, those projects initiated by BN are all tied-up with little escape clauses unless Karpal has the time and the ability to untie them. Just look at the PLUS agreement, Sybas agreement!
    It has been even suggested to the Selangor Gomen to by-pass those tolled roads, it appears that PR wouldn’t even comment on it. And based on its response, I believe it is no go.
    Of course, LGE can seek Federal’s aids, well they will with-hold them wherever possible. This is politics and we are certainly down the list of practising good democracy!
    Karpal’s outburst will certainly cause plenty of fallouts! And BN is delighted!

109. #110 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 8:07 am

Following my preceding posting, I observe that in any Internet chat and news or blog groups, the Hope Seekers will employ the following psyops (psychological warfare operations) to suppress/discredit those whose comments, no matter how valid, are inconvenient or even deemed subversive to the Common Cause and Hope of ending the Great Oppressor’s tenure of hegemony:

1. Hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil – as regards the Opposition. This is necessary for “unity” of Opposition supporters.

2. Use Straw man tactic – selectively choose a weak element in the Truth Seeker’s argument, amplify disproportionately its weakness to discredit the general thrust of his position.

3. Side-track opponent with name calling and ridicule branding him repeatedly with unsavoury titles and names. This “attack the messenger ploy” will make others of like mind shrink from support out of fear of gaining the same label, and hence dealing with real issues is avoided.

4. Hit and Run: make a brief attack, scamper off before a defence can be made or simply ignore any answer or defence.

5. Impute the other side has hidden personal agenda or other bias. This avoids discussing issues and forces the accuser on the defensive.

6. Invoke authority. Claim for yourself or associate yourself with authority (I know Anwar, I know Daim etc) and present your argument with enough particulars to illustrate you are “one who knows”, and simply say it isn’t so without discussing issues or demonstrating concretely why or citing sources.

7. Play Dumb. No matter what evidence or logical argument is offered, avoid discussing issues with denial they have any credibility, make any sense, provide any proof, contain or make a point, have logic, or support a conclusion. Example: “what you say is nonsense. You are illogical. Your facts are distorted – of course without showing how.

8. rabble rouse emotions and get support to chase the chief logician Lee Wang Yen away because his very presence & comments might expose all disinformation tactics…

Of course I could go and on, but this will suffice to highlight what lengths including psyops some people are prepared to go to stifle contrary/impartial views or even the truth to preserve their hopes and emotional balance…..

110. #111 by abdul on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 8:28 am

BN has been acting undemocratically and trying very hard to get back their places even to the extent of committing crimes..They bribed some idiots and traitor of perak and now using gangsterism to get Kedah’s reps.Arumugam..This is their true identity..for those who still believe that BN is for everyone, yes its right, its for all corrupted, criminals, gangsters , racist, and power greedy…BN would never bring unity to our country…We have been witnessing that for years, how they are screwing too many…Pls say no to BN otherwise we have to lose our dignity..BN will screw our futute..Pls vote PR for unity and good future…Hidup Pakatan Rakyat…

111. #112 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 8:35 am

What concern me even more is the fact, this whole thing is being played out in the press and blogosphere. How can senior leaders of DAP be so uncommunicative? Can’t you, LGE, Anwar and Karpal conference call on your cell phone and settle such ideals vs practicalities issue?

On the old days of Alliance, Tan Siew Sin, Tunku and Sambanathan could just go for golf, cocktails or a round of pokers and these issues of ideals vs practicality would be done with. It seems to me that the more we progress the worst off relationships are.

Whay can’t you just go to Karpal and ask him 1) If you want to replace Anwar, who? 2) If you did not want to agree to hopping suggested by PKR, what do you suggest to them to keep momentum going?

Doing all these in public says a lot for the emotional infantilism of old men and women in DAP.

112. #113 by singma on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:24 am

RPK’s turn now to ask Anwar, Kit Siang and Hadi to resign.

Seriously need to do internal soul searching!!!!!

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/2/10/nation/3231343&sec=nation

Tuesday February 10, 2009
    RPK: Anwar, Kit Siang and Hadi should quit

PORT KLANG: Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin has called for the resignations of three senior Opposition leaders for the loss of the Perak Pakatan Rakyat government to Barisan Nasional.

Pakatan de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang and PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang should resign and accept collective responsibility for the loss, he said at a Chap Goh Mei celebration at the Kuan Soon temple grounds in Pandamaran here.

When asked whether it was a leadership crisis, he said it was just bad leadership, with bad decisions and the three senior politicians were out of touch with the people on the ground.

“It is time for them to stop the blame game. Move aside and give the position to the younger generation that are more able.”

113. #114 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:38 am

hmmm…..

ARREST WARRANT for Osman Jailu ….. kah kah kah ….

wa caya sama lu !!! also coincidently, both facing corruption charges are SICK ?
    This drama is truly spinning out of tiltle …..
    Conspiracy of the C4 Gang.

1) UTK used C4 to blow up Mongolian Lady
    2) PI Bala disappear with 2 contradicting statuotory declaration
    3) Baginda as expected, released
    4) UMNO ADUN hop in
    5) Archvillian come into picture again
    6) 3 ADUN “disappear”
    7) 4 ADUN hop over
    8) Silver state turn into chaos
    9) Kedah ADUN disappear , reappear , resign , disappear
    10) Bkt Gantang MP passed away
    11) 2 frog ADUN sick and could not attend court. arrest warrant issued for 1 .

wow. i cannot take it anymore. this drama is just too unreal. have to change director/archvillian.

114. #115 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:50 am

The lost of Perak is not the end of PR.

As long as our Malaysian electorate is matured enough to differentiate what is right and what is wrong, there is alway hope to regain the control of Perak and even the Federal Government.

Malaysia is not like Zimbabwe. Malaysians’s educational level is much higher than Zimbabwe. Even though UMNO is playing foul, how long can they last if the rakyat is wise? We are a democratic country, the people is still the boss and not the other way round. Malaysian has grown up. A lot of the older hardcore supporter of UMNO will be gone by the 13th GE.

Don’t hope that UMNO can change. Statistically, the chance for a criminal to change to better is very slim in deed!

Just keep the spirit alive until the next GE whether we like it or not.

115. #116 by ablastine on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:57 am

Thank you Godfather for the summary on what Jeffrey has written so far. I never really got the time to read his lengthy discourse and half the time doesn’t know what he is talking about because of my low IQ and poor command of the English language. I suggest to Jeffrey that when he write next it would be great if he can give a summary at the end so that lesser mortals like myself can understand what he is writing.

116. #117 by Rocky on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:01 am

time to put aside differences and if any discuss internally. Anwar resign will not do anything and lets face it, we still need Anwar. we as the rakyat, not you DAP or PAS folks. Anwar’s leadership is accepted by many, not Karpal etc.

117. #118 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:47 am

What a relief…….PR didn’t form the Government in the last GE…Malaysians finally witnessed that they couldn’t even solve their internal problem/differences….How are they going to serve efficiently as the Government?

However, it seems like that they have never realised this fact at all and blame others for their own incompetence!!!!!! Finally and most importantly the generous BN leaders are there to save the people from having to go through hardship…Moving forward, lets focus on Selangor and Kedah…..It is high time for BN to restore the glory

118. #119 by lcclck on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:59 am

dear YB,

I copied this report and I hope it made sense now.

Dear YB LKS, in this modern time, you have a mobile phone, you could also just drive over, fly over, jump over, and also just be kind to each other, and sort this mess out first, and be more mature than speaking something and give the media spaces to the major media houses which are owned by BN, and you will be subjecting to many half truth reportings, and messing around will not help. Open mouth with only what you said oculd be useful and helpful to your commrades, or else, best to speak nothing. I was taught to speak about others provided what I spoke about could be helpful to the people I mentioned in my ocntext, that made me a likeable person, and sensible, and I trust Karpal Singh had lack of such wisdom to speak loudly to the journalists, and still what he spoke about was really hurtful because he meant well for you too. I felt his sincerity to see an old friend like you to be int he traps of elusive pursuit of get the pwoer fast scheme promoted by DSAI, he could no longer hold his common senses and spoke so hurriedly, and it served no good for him and no good for you too. But please be calm, and write about this blog will not be helpful to sort things out too. Two of you add up the ages of you both is more than 100 years old!! Be calm, and be humble!! I pray for you both and pray in the name of Lord Jesus Christ that you both will be able to reconcile, and reconcile fast!! Malaysians LOVE you and please love each other truly– Love is patient, love is kind, and love is not keeping the records of your wrongs, ,,,,,,,,

Peter Leow copied this report for you to appreicate:-

“Karpal willing to talk

Email to friend Print article

GEORGE TOWN: DAP national chairman Karpal Singh said yesterday he stood by his call for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to step down as Pakatan Rakyat leader.

Karpal said he was unhappy with what went on in Perak, which resulted in the tripartite alliance losing power in the state.

“I must say the DAP stands to lose the most as we have the most state executive and municipal councillors in the state government.”

He said the PR leaders’ inconsistent stand on party-hopping had caused the disarray in Perak.

On Anwar’s suggestion for a meeting, Karpal said he was prepared to do so.

Asked about the Pakatan’s decision not to file a suit against the Sultan of Perak, Karpal said he would sort that out with Anwar as well.

Anwar on Sunday claimed that Karpal’s outburst was due to two issues — Karpal’s intention to sue the sultan and the decision by two Perak PKR state assemblymen to become independents.

Karpal had on Sunday also called on Anwar to repent as the former deputy prime minister had caused enough trouble for the country.

119. #120 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:13 pm

Raja Petra Kamarudin – like Karpal – breaking positions openly and calling for the resignations of three senior Opposition leaders (Anwar, LKS, Hadi Wang) in acceptance of the loss of the Perak Pakatan Rakyat government to Barisan Nasional is major disconcerting development that latest hit Pakatan Rakyat.

120. #121 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:16 pm

Besides bribing and turn the result upside down…in favour of UMNO….otak tak centre seems to struck few who are shocked by the results.
    It’s full moon today!!
    First attack on Kapal Singh.
    Now Raja Petra calling Anwar..LKS…and Hadi Awang.. to resign…make way for young ones!!!!
    This is going to shock those three…especially Anwar and Lim Kit Siang further.
    He who laugh first will laugh last…and UMNO is laughing…right now.
    They will be crying soon.
    I have full confidence Malaysian voters will deliver a clear majority for change of government.

121. #122 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:35 pm

monsterball:

The story on RPK was only reported in the Star, and we all know who is behind Wong Chun Wai. Let the show-off lawyer write about the doom and gloom on PR. We don’t have to boast about our English to readers here.

122. #123 by Thor on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:35 pm

Lakshy says:
    Guys, dont be so hard on Hee. I am sure she was threatened. Hence her support for bn is definitely under duress.

Lakshy! it a very lame excuse you’ve got there about Hee.
    If that Hee could be easily threatened, then all of the DAP members including Kit Siang and Karpal can be threaten.
    It’s all playing in the mind of each individual.
    She’s tempted by money but not threatened.
    Use your common sense please!

123. #124 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:36 pm

DAP’s acquiescence with Anwar’s (1) accomodating PAS’s Hudud for Muslims only and (2) the canvassing of Kataks cross overs – which I have been accused by you, Godfather, of slamming Anwar all the time as indefensible in principle but which you, Godfather, have consistently tried to bury under the carpet in the interest of so-called PR’s unity is precisely the factor that will unravel the Opposition front when internal stalwart like Karpal now rebels and a Civil Society icon like RPK also takes the position he just did.

And it is only beginning after Perak’s fall to BN : what happens if Kedah falls next?

How long can one deny the truth that if you don’t adhere to timeless principles of what is right and wrong, ignore inconsistencies, and instead prioritise only expedience because of the overarching need to get rid of the Great Oppressor?

By so doing there is always a chance that support from those around (esp Civil Society) for PR will dissipate and PR won’t be able to even get near to the point of getting rid of BN, its first objective.

Today the concept of change means change from status quo of moral bankruptcy ascribed to BN which means the standard flag bearer fighting for change as alternative cannot forfeit its moral capital, standing and trade political expediency for principles of the what is true, right and consistent.

124. #125 by michael13 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:43 pm

There is a saying: “Honesty is the best policy, but be tactful.” In this instance, as a good politician, Karpal needs to be more tactful in his recent statements for the best benefits for both his party and himself.

125. #126 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:51 pm

RPK is now in court: can’t check whether what Wong Chun Wah said was true. However Mainstream would (understandably) ordinarily skew, spin and give a nuance to what is said by the “other” side: but to fabricate something like this out of entirely nothing – that will be the first.

126. #127 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:53 pm

The mainstream press is trying to latch on to every little misstep by PR – and this is the precise reason why disputes within PR should only be discussed behind closed doors. Disputes there will be, but to air them publicly without prior consultation is simply an act of sabotage.

127. #128 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 12:55 pm

Discussing matters behind closed doors isn’t an affront to democracy or transparency. We have to understand the concept of “greater good”.

128. #129 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:26 pm

“And it is only beginning after Perak’s fall to BN : what happens if Kedah falls next?”

Simple. Let it fall. It will demonstrate money-buying on the part of BN – which we all know – but it also demonstrates the inability of PR to put up credible and principled candidates. The next time around, we hope that PR will learn its lesson. If it doesn’t learn a lesson from this, then the PR leadership is useless and needs to be changed. At the time of rough seas, you don’t throw your captain overboard, especially if there’s no substitute on the ship. Right the ship first. Maybe there are mutineers, but what’s left of us must row in the same direction.

129. #130 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:27 pm

Karpal is not wrong in asking for the accountability of the responsible leader. Accountability is the basic essence of the workability of an effective performance evalution system and is also a criterion for measurement against backdrop or improvement of leadership performance! Pakatan Rakyat needs to build up a basic accountability culture in the pursuit of meritocracy in organisational management!

130. #131 by Ling Mazen on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:28 pm

……simply an act of sabotage. Godfather.

I don’t think sabotage is the appropriate word to use, you are inadvertantly flaming LKS to confront Karpal negatively.
    Cool it ,will you. You mean there wasn’t any discussions among them prior to Karpal’s outbursts?
    I know you mean good,but sometimes choice of words would make the situation worse off.
    Maybe Zaid Ibrahim joining one of the parties of the PR coaliation now would be timely and ideal.

131. #132 by grace on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:28 pm

I think we have to resoect Karpal wish. He has the right to speak his mind. As a mature and educated politicians, LKS and Karpal must make up to face the common enemies: BN
    Whatever argument you may have, at the end of the day LKS and Karpal must be able to shake hands.
    Show the BN that you all can tolerated dissenting arguments

132. #133 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:32 pm

“You mean there wasn’t any discussions among them prior to Karpal’s outbursts?” Ling

You mean Kit’s headline of this thread wasn’t truthful ?

133. #134 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:41 pm

Let’s concentrate on the by-elections in Perak and Kedah. Show them what PR is made of. Kit, are you starting a collection for PR or will you be directing contributions to PAS and PKR ?

134. #135 by lcclck on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:49 pm

cool it all sensible supporters of PR. Take accounts of what are voices from the Satans.
    Listen carefully and as you were all trapped by the evil dviations, and disturbances, speak and write wisely.
    Please have mercy for the leaders like LKS + KS, they had enough of noises, enough of stresses, and probably having FUNS too!!
    Of course, as any good old friends, they would be able to sort things out, and those who could have wider shoulders, and bigger hearts, please may we forgive and foget those harsh remarks hurled at each otehrs, and be calm, and be cool, take a deep breath will you, YB LKS and KS, take up your mobile phone, send each other a nice text message:-

Dear Commrade, I seek your pardon and I remain to be your most trsuted friend and commrade till we are separated by the Almighty!!

I believe things could be better, and be clear and be really smart to avoid GET the power too fast!!

Dear YB LKS, really that is what KS is trying to caution you, steer clear from the danger, and just be your sensible self, and stay away from the perils of Big traps as in 1999!!

Watch out please!!!

135. #136 by shambles on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:07 pm

YB LKS, YB Karpal and YB LGE….lets all get along. Kiss and make up!!! Comon, the enemy is charging but we are still bickering amongst ourselves….STOP!!!

Chinese Proverb
    “Take a small step back, the wind and sea will be calm”

Focus ahead..

136. #137 by vsp on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:17 pm

How come I don’t see any website of Karpal’s where he can disseminate his views and let readers to comment on it. LKS, Mahathir, Ku Li and many others have their own websites.

All I heard about Karpal’s stand on issues and principles are his tantrums which were always carried by the BN mass media. Come on, Karpal is an intelligent man and he can articulate his views through his own website or others like LKS, MT or Malaysiakini. But why he has to use the enemy’s mass media I simply do not understand? Is he afraid that he cannot defend his views through readers’ comments? Or is it the case of “I tell you, you accept it and don’t question me about it”? By relying on the BN mass media he doesn’t have to defend his views and stand. That I think is very coward of him. Why does he have to be so aloof and imperial and always remain in his ivory tower? Is he behaving like the royalty where only he can proclaim and others cannot comment?

LKS blog not only have friendly posting but also hostile ones. I remember that when the Sultan of Perak refused to accept the MB from the DAP but instead chose Nizar from PAS, LKS was very furious and ordered all DAP MPs to boycott the installation ceremony. Well many of us chastised him for the blunder and he listened. So finally there was a sliver lining in the cloud and surprisingly DAP and PAS was able to work together. But Karpal, the ever stubborn bull threatened to sue the Sultan and the outcome… I don’t know.

We only know that Karpal has two sacred cows: bashing the royalty and rubbishing PAS hudud. These two are are his overriding personal crusades and hell hath no fury like a bull scorned. He will get mad and charge like a raging bull into the china shop and smash everything into smithereens. Nothing can change him on these issues: no compromising even an inch.

If Karpal is the general fighting a war, it would be disastrous. Imagine his troops fighting to win and he countermand them to withdraw through the enemy’s mass media because it is felt that it is unethical to capture the enemy’s foothold. Not only was he not on the ground leading his troops but he gave orders through remote-control. Can any army win a war with such commander?

Come on Karpal, get off your high horse and come down to the ground. Open your own website and share your stand and views for commenting. We don’t need a god that is far removed from the ordinary people! Maybe the readers can help to mitigate your bull’s disease and make you into a more civilised and gentle tiger as what we did to LKS ten months ago.

137. #138 by suaramamak on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:37 pm

resolve internally??? what ever happen to your talks of transparencies??? its good karpal voice out to the public! do not be like bn, and hide behind your own curtain walls! just look at the comments all over this blog and anwar’s blog… the supporters are not happy and not satisfied with PR progress! how could you have lost your hold on the perak state! how to have confidence in you all?

138. #139 by vsp on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 12:15 am

its good karpal voice out to the public! – suaramamak

——–

Through the BN mass media so that he doesn’t need to be questioned on his stand? Why not on LKS blog, MT or other friendly blogs. At least the readers can understand his reasoning and to comment.

Look at LKS blog: he can take brickbats and he gets feedbacks and he listened. Karpal? hiding behind BN mass media and don’t need to get scalped if he is wrong. Not everybody agrees with him, you know? He behaves as if he’s a god, always remaining in his ivory tower.

You yourself have commented that in LKS and Anwar blogs readers can comment and get angry. Where is Karpal’s blog? So who is hiding? He is getting more admirers and fans from the other side – Muyhiddin, Kerismuddin and Kairy, etc. – than what he is getting from this side. Those newly-acquired fans are hypocrites, they don’t practise the so-called Karpal’s high principles. Even Karpal don’t have any principles: he’s just like the kataks who doesn’t care whether he kill his own party or not.

139. #140 by Josh Marconi on Thursday, 12 February 2009 - 9:15 pm

Don’t let Karpal Singh’s outbursts to change the real debate!
    —————————————————————-

As far i can recall, i have been a die hard supporter of DAP. DAP’s struggle to bring press freedom, justice to all and the right to pursue happiness appeals to me as it is consistent my personal belief system.

True, Karpal Singh could have been more diplomatic instead of appearing to be viewed as an angry man in his effort to spark a crucial public debate about has DAP turned its back on its founding principals in exchange for political gain.

PAS and DAP are strange bed fellows. They have almost complete difference ideological views in governing Malaysia.
    PAS’s belief that Malaysia should be governed by God’s law, is incompatible with DAP’s stand to bring freedom to all Malaysian.

You can image my intense dislike for DAP to join force with PAS in the past general election.

The real debate here is what is DAP’s stand on the issue of Hudud law?