RPK: Anwar, Kit Siang and Hadi should quit

The Star
Tuesday February 10, 2009

PORT KLANG: Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin has called for the resignations of three senior Opposition leaders for the loss of the Perak Pakatan Rakyat government to Barisan Nasional.

Pakatan de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang and PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang should resign and accept collective responsibility for the loss, he said at a Chap Goh Mei celebration at the Kuan Soon temple grounds in Pandamaran here.

When asked whether it was a leadership crisis, he said it was just bad leadership, with bad decisions and the three senior politicians were out of touch with the people on the ground.

“It is time for them to stop the blame game. Move aside and give the position to the younger generation that are more able.”

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 1:48 pm

RPK has had big issues with the mainstream press for such a long time, so why would he want to be quoted by the STAR ? I’d believe it if it appears under MT’s No Holds Barred column.

2. #2 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:01 pm

I think RPK can keep his mouth shut because he is not the right person to talk about this. Or ask him to come forward as a full-time politician first. Let’s look at Kedah’s Arumugan:

Tolong beritahu kepada kerajaan Kedah bahawa V Arumugan hendaklah diberi ganjaran setimpal diatas moral tinggi yang beliau tunjukkan. Penghargaan khas hendaklah disediakan, mungkin biasiswa untuk semua anak-anaknya, elaun pencen yang mencukupi untuk seisi keluarga dan berikan sahaja untuk dia sebiji rumah agar hidupnya aman tidak tertekan. Orang macam Arumugam hendaklah dihargai sebenar-benarnya. Dia telah berjasa kepada Pakatan Rakyat! Dia telah menyelamatkan Pakatan Rakyat.

Thks Arumugam! You are “The true hero of Pakatan Rakyat (better then Anwar?)”

3. #3 by garfunky on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:10 pm

Wait..hang on…He said that??
    After throwing his support behind PKR?

I too, do not believe it if quoted from The Star.
    A call to accept responsibility for the loss is one thing, but to quit?

Who does he have in mind as “the younger generation that are a bit more able”? Naaaah thats not like RPK at all….maybe…

4. #4 by bennylohstocks on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:14 pm

5. #5 by k1980 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:18 pm

Speculation is rife that four more state assemblymen from Pakatan Rakyat (PR) parties are ready to defect to the Barisan Nasional (BN).

The four names being cited in various text message exchanges are Keshvinder Singh (DAP) from Malim Nawar, A. Siva Subramanium (DAP) from Buntong and S. Kesavan (PKR) from Hutan Melintang and Tai Sing Ng (PKR) from Kuala Sepetang.

6. #6 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:24 pm

Even if the Star’s report on RPK’s statement is a false truth, there are certain legitimate reasons for a request on the partial withdrawal of the three big heads from the battlefield frontline. The reasons are

1) Age
    Pakatan Rakyat needs some second line echelon to come to the fore front now because PR’s leaders must be at least able to outbeat Najib in terms of younger age and lesser senile than Najib.

2) Mentor
    We need the senior PR leaders to stay at the back of the second line echelon so that the “old birds” can spend more time on writing and contributing ideas that may be useful to the reconciliation of the party ideologies based on common goals. The “old birds” shall serve as a mentor like the role which Deng Xiao Peng or Lee Kuan Yew played at their old age!

3) Successors
    It is time to train up the successors early from now on since by year 2012 or much earlier when the next General Election is going to be held, the three big heads may be too old to shake their hands with each and every supporters on the street then!

7. #7 by albert308 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:26 pm

Beware of those news reported in the mainstream newspaper.
    I observed that The Star news headed by Wong Chun Wai is propagated againts Pakatan. Karpal comments was firstly quoted by The Star online, and then the piece spread like hot cake by mainstream media, Wong Chun Wai blog is among the earliest reporting. This running dog tactic must be watched closely.
    Be calm, stay united Pakatan.

8. #8 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:29 pm

Not to worry our RPK has been over worked, but what he say may be true but i believe he was not dead serious want the three heads roll at one go.

Any way the three heads are still needed at this moments until the war is won.

But please be more receptive to what RPK has to say. He is like CHO GE KONG MING, the most famous war strategist during the Three Kingdom time in Chinese history.

It is wise to believe and use what he has to offer.

9. #9 by albert308 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:34 pm

The frustrations is normal. After all, Pakatan just lost Perak state which is an important state.
    There is still long battle ahead!
    Pakatan will prevail.

10. #10 by albert308 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:36 pm

Mainstream media is all out to split Pakatan.
    Lets stand united for coming 2 by-elections!

11. #11 by democrate on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:38 pm

A group of Umno Stooges being paid by C4 to demo and threatened Karpal outside his office,
    They have reported to police but they want Karpal to appologise
    These rascals do not have culture but only stir up thier own emotion easily when they r paid.
    Since the case already being reported to police why they still demand for
    appology ? Cultureless bandicts make no sense.

12. #12 by chaanakyan on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:46 pm

You guys still rely on the MSM ? Go and verify that in Malaysis-today-net. if RPK got something to say, he should be writing it point blank in his “No Holds Barred”. Am yet to read anything of that sort.
    Its better to advise Karpal to keep his trap shut.Got any problem? Discuss within four walls. Don’t try to be a hero and screw up what is left.
    Anwar might have made a bad decision,but if not for him,there wouldn’t have been any PR.Any doubts on that? He is the only link which is able to keep both DAP & PAS together.

If DAP was was against Part Hopping why didn’t you guys make a stand similar to your stand against HUDUD?
    So, the DAP stand is, if it benefits, then we stand by it & Enjoy the fruits, if it goes against, then we will victimize Anwar..

Good Luck To all The Dirty Politicians.. Cheers ..

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 2:57 pm

Until RPK expressly repudiates what The Star reported, it is, at this moment, very possible he said it for 2 reasons: (1) though Maintream Media could skew & spin, fabricating something important like this (that can easily be checked and refuted) out of entirely nothing is also not that likely; (2) The Star Report has been uplifted to RPK’s Website Malaysia Today.net under column “Latest Updates” without contradiction and repudiation, so far.

Under “No Holds Barred” in Malaysia Today.net under the title “What More To Say” [Saturday, 07 February 2009 15:32], RPK commented about the Perak State govt loss in these terms (I quote):

“As you can see, I have already said what I wanted to say. There is nothing more I can add about an event that is already a fait accompli. Nasi sudah jadi bubur, as the Malays would say.

About a week ago, a few of us sat down to discuss the impending collapse of the Perak government. It was suggested we speak to the Pakatan Rakyat leaders, which we did. Our recommendation was that they dissolve the Perak State Assembly and hold fresh state elections while Pakatan Rakyat still has the majority in the Assembly. Once Pakatan Rakyat has lost that majority it will be too late. No way will the Sultan agree to the request to dissolve the Perak State Assembly once you no longer command the majority in the Assembly.

But the Pakatan Rakyat leaders would not listen. They still have things under control, they remarked. We did not think so and we told them this. But who are we to ‘teach grandmothers how to suck eggs’, as Malaysians would say? If we are so smart then how come they, and not us, are the party leaders. We would be sitting in their chairs, instead, if we are cleverer than them. Politicians do not think much of you if you do not hold any party positions. They only respect those who hold positions in political parties and government, not those outside mainstream politics.

Everyone is an expert on hindsight. Only good leaders have foresight. And our leaders lack just that, foresight. They are very clever when it comes to reacting to situations. But they know nothing about pre-empting. Why react, especially when it is too late? You must be able to pre-empt before it is too late to do anything. This is what our leaders lack, the skill to pre-empt.” (Unquote).

This is an indication of the drift of his thoughts on this matter.

14. #14 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:02 pm

where is the news? made by Star???

15. #15 by frontbench on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:08 pm

Read between the lines — RPK’s target is probably Anwar. Hadi Awang and Kit Siang’s names are thrown in to mask his call.

16. #16 by limkamput on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:08 pm

The first question we ought to ask is why Sdr Lim would want to reproduce (something detrimental) that was printed in the Star? Is it because it is true? Is it because it is so ridiculous that Sdr Lim just want to create some satire? Or is it because Sdr Lim just wants to test the views of bloggers here? I think it is no point for me to speculate further since I don’t know what the exact reason was.

Anyway I think it is a good strategy. The leadership must learn to face difficult issues in the open. Not washing dirty linen in public is an eastern concept which is essentially trying to hide inadequacy, misdeeds or incompetency. One of the hallmarks of good leadership is to be able to confront and explain protracted issues in the open. BN tried to hide and muzzle others all the time. But we know, don’t we? We can survive this, let the debate begins.

17. #17 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:12 pm

PAKATAN leaders should not quit. perak issue is cause by Najib.
    pakatan cant control najib to using millions to approach assembly
    who not know, najib is power crazy man.
    pakatan have to work hard in this 4 years. to keep rakyat more confident on pakatan goverment in next GE .

18. #18 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:14 pm

SEE, THOSE TWO FROG. TODAT COURT POSTPONE THE TRIAL HEARING IN JUNE.(EXPECTED)
    WHEN JUNE IS CAME, THEN POSTPONE TILL NEXT YEAR AND NEXT YEAR..

19. #19 by sani on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:15 pm

YB

New blood, new ideas?

20. #20 by chanjoe on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:24 pm

Perak was not lost…it was snatched away (deleted) with the aid of the morons kataks. Pakatan never lost Perak….the govt is still intact and everyone knows its still the govt of the day until actiona is done to either on a vote of no confidence in the state assembly or a dissolution.

Non of the 2 actions were done (deleted)

So the issue of DSAI, Hadi & LKS resign does not hold any water. Those that should resign should be Najlis, Zamry (deleted)

Further more….its never the Malaysian culture to resign due to so and so reasons. If this is Malaysian culture, then Najlis, Botak Hamid, IGP and lots of other Bn guys/gals should have resigned long long ago.

So lets concentrate our combined energy to safeguard the people’s trust and hold steadfast to their trust to face greater battles in the 3 coming By-Elections in Sabah, Perak & Kedah. This trust and support should be hold solid for the GE 13 when Bn is finally really thrown out and PR will rule this country.

Finally, my plea to Karpal to stay quiet and we are behind him but please dont speak at the wrong time and not at this time.

21. #21 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:27 pm

With three court cases hanging over his head, can we blame him for trying to hunt with the hounds and run with the hares.
    In short he is saying Pakatan must be disbanded and BN be allowed to rule till eternity.

22. #22 by bentoh on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:40 pm

Uncle Kit,

I’m in support of Karpal Singh, and to some degree, RPK.

Pakatan has formed for 9 months plus… No registration attempted, the secretariat still poorly functioned and no governing foundation was layed…

No shadow cabinet, not even shadow committee… How do you expect people to learn, know, and love their reps, when it seems like every single national matter is championed by the DAP parliamentary leader only? I know it has got to do with your never-grow-tired stamina, and I know some other leaders around the world such as current US house speaker do this similarly… But this is not healthy…

Why can’t one call for suing the Sultan? Why the DAP leaders are trying to distance themselves with its own chairperson? Why can’t the DAP leadership as well as the PR leadership take Karpal Singh’s word which is constructive even though fiery SERIOUSLY, and do something instead of hiding their heads inside the sand like an ostrich, and do absolutely nothing about it?

FACE it, it’s the failed leadership, be it in PR or in DAP, that directly or indirectly brought the Perak government down!

Like some observers pointed out, the DAP is now trying to make its own party chairman like a plaque and run away from him, even worse, not helping to defend him from the ridiculous claims of “royal contempt”… This is extremely unfortunate consider how the party chairperson has been upholding the party principle in no endorsement of the kataks, and making sure the country is a country of LAW, a country that governed supremely by the constitution…

Many of the DAP leaders on the other hand, have been giving silent nods towards the frogs, which is supposed to be against the party principle, and the principle that you, Kit, have been upholding for more than 30 years until just one year ago! The endorsement of the frogging Anwar has fired back right now, and instead of apologizing to the party members, the party leadership decided to distance themselves AWAY from the person who never say YES to the FROGS…

Go back to the principle, go back to the people, I seriously hope that the DAP, which is a party that I found genuine interest in, could learn from the mistake and come back stronger and better… instead of hiding itself inside the sands doing NOTHING…

23. #23 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:40 pm

That’s why Karpal frus. Now you understand? When you don’t listen, when you hesitate, when you don’t consult, you kena kow-kow.

Where are the new blood in PR?

When you have low class, poorly educated, inexperienced and unprincipled candidates and representatives, you must expect them to create problems for you.

When offered a “down payment” of RM 5 million to take away immediately (out of RM 30 million), how do you think they will react? Will they still stay loyal to you? Wait another month and you will see fireworks.

24. #24 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:47 pm

Like I said we are only 5 minutes into a crucial 90 minutes football match. SO WHAT someone, anyone from our team has let in a silly goal. We don’t panic sticken & flare up right away in the open field getting at each other’s throat, kicking each other’s butts before the watchfull eyes of millions right????

Come on there are still 85 more minutes for us to many goals to win the match. Perhaps this initial set back is good for the team that everyone will be more focused. The team can improve on better ways to stop people from hopping until formal anti hopping law is in place.

Stop the blame game & lets go and get at the opponent!
    Yes TOGETHER, change we can!

25. #25 by PSM on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:49 pm

RPK does not read the Star or any of these bloody BN controlled MSM.
    He does no acknowledge them, do you think he will talk to them? Until RPK comes out & makes an official statement, I would not believe any of these bloody BN controlled MSM!

26. #26 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:50 pm

STOP THE INTERNAL BLAME GAME AND MOVE ON!!!!!!

27. #27 by Thinking Two on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 3:51 pm

Keep postponing until you forgetlah and unitl GE 13 lah!!!!!!!

If quilty of bribe, then there will be another two buy-election!!!!

28. #28 by sightseeing on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:10 pm

For those who call for the resignations of three senior opposition leaders for the loss of the Perak government to BN, I have a simple question for you.

Question: Do you believe that there was no corruption involved in the defection of the 4 Pakatan ADUN to BN?

If you believe in your heart that there was no corruption involved in the defection, you are right in calling for the resignations of the three senior opposition leaders to take responsibility for their failure in leadership.

On the other hand if you believe that the defection is caused by corruption, then your call for the resignations of the three opposition leaders is your show of support for corrupt political prostitutes.

29. #29 by walao on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:13 pm

Lim and Anwar Should not resign. In fact no one should resign from PKR. People who wrote this should ask BN leaders to resign instead as last year they lost so many seats to PKR.

I believe this is just a wake up call to all PKR members and all the malaysian. Next coming GE, we must work together and bring those money and power politicians down.

30. #30 by somaris on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:26 pm

Dear all people
    Lim and Anwar should not resign. We need them to be our HERO.
    Dont give up. its nomal to have misunderstand in the party.
    All you have to do is work hard and work as a TEAM.
    Now there s a work to be done. Get all ur PEOPLE to win PERAK back.
    Lets all help PKR. Go all out. TEll the people say NO to BN UMNO.

31. #31 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:33 pm

Come on the three leaders are not that old except Nik Aziz.In China, the late Deng Xiao Peng was in power until he retired at almost 90.Moreover the Pakatan is still fighting hard to wrest power from Barisan and they have not even headed the central government yet.Now we still need them for their charisma and experience.Just ponder at this juncture who else can replace the trio.I think RPK has rashly jumped into this controversial conclusion.

32. #32 by chanjoe on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:37 pm

YES!!! No need to resign. No such need to resign! There are so many more battles out there to fight and here we are facing calls asking for resignations.

The calls should be to consolidate and not to break up. Rakyat wants PR to rule the country come GE 13 and meanwhile…we have to be on the guard for more kataks strategy to pull down PR state govts. Why dont we look at the big picture instead of pouring out individualistic comments like Karpal and RPK? What didfference are you compared to Katak Hee? Just becuz of some minor issues want to quit after being elevated to such high positions.

Both of you are enjoying high respects from the people and please do not destroy it like his Highness did to himself. Everyine is watching and we need both your strong cooperation and strength to face the corrupted Najlis gang.

Please refrain from speaking out unnecessary comments uncalled for.

Where is the unity from you which we have the honour of having during GE 12?

33. #33 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:41 pm

Sorry my mistake Pas President Abdul Hadi instead of Nik Aziz and Abdul Hadi is even younger than the latter.

34. #34 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:50 pm

We should focus and pump our anger at the three traitors until they perish.Whack them hard and curse them until they land themselves in TR,a place for the mentally sick people in Perak.

35. #35 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:52 pm

RPK is a very direct and straightforward guy. Just like Karpal Singh. I think he is also fed up with the internal issues hounding PR.

There is nothing wrong calling for older generation to step down. Just like what Sdr LKS did many years ago when you relinquished your position as the secretary General of DAP. However, Rakyat is the ones not letting you go.

We want you.

unlike the goons in BN. Taking turns to grab power.

YB Karpal Singh’s in a bit of trouble now that he is directly threatened by UMNO Youth. It amount’s to criminal intimidation right ?

I really would suggest the PR to form a working committee to iron out the major differences.

It also appear that among DAP leaders, you need to communicate more. You miscommunication, differences of major opinions are making you an open target.

You are asking for trouble by not communicating well with your members. this goes especially amongst the MP and Assemblyman.
    You are not potraying yourself as unified.
    in Selangor … you have issues like Teng Vs Charles
    in Perak … Fong Po Kuan vs Nga/Ngeh

Don’t be polarised like MCA and UMNO. None of the PR members can afford to be polarised.

Quitting at this time will only give an upper hand and much needed boost to BN. It’s like Hee Yit Foong and the three stooges betraying Malaysians .

HIDUP DEMOKRASI , HIDUP MALAYSIA , HIDUP PR !!!!

36. #36 by shambles on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 4:55 pm

STOP the blame game. SH*T happens…..Its not the fact that we have fallen…its how we pick ourselves up afterwards. DAP, PKR and PAS should be stronger NOW than ever.

Shut up and move on!!! Focus on the by elections, Focus on Sarawak, Focus on GE13. We can do it!!

37. #37 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:01 pm

Karpal Singh’s remark is contagious.
    Imagine RPK saying that.
    LKS and those two…have been vigorously protesting against UMNO..the day he was detained under ISA.
    This full moon or the shocking event in Perak…..or the decision made by the Sultan….have a great after effect….that even great men….break into pieces.
    Perhaps they are speaking like so….before UMNO utters the same thing. So it is somewhat shouting UMNO’s foul mouths………hahahahahahahaha

38. #38 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:03 pm

Justified or not the suggestion by RPK for the three leaders to resign, but the three parties should view the issue of succession seriously. PAS and DAP needed Anwar to form Pakatan; is there a replacement for Anwar?

39. #39 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:04 pm

I mean….SHUTTING… UMNO’s foul mouths…not shouting.

40. #40 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:10 pm

If anything I think Camry Hee is the biggest let down. She was nurtured & groomed in the DAP family for 20 YEARS! It will be insane to think there is no up & down in a family of different minds. Arguments are expected. But to call it a quit as independent one can still understand but to leap over in support of an opposing party (BN) which she had fought against in all her 20 years with DAP is UNACCEPTABLE.

20 years in a family working towards a common goal is a long time.
    Just the night before she showed up with Najib & gangs, Ngeh was still saying they are in touch with her and she was still with Pakatan. Who would have thought she would do such an ungrateful thing to DAP & her constituency. Greed for money? Power? fame?

41. #41 by sightseeing on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:14 pm

So many of you on this blog seemed to have been blindsided by the corrupt acts of BN headed by Najib. The collapse of Pakatan government is not about failed leadership of Pakaktan, it is the outcome of corruption. Unless you are blaming the oppositions leaders for their failure to stop the corruption scheme hatched by Najib. Even if the DAP leaders saw corruption coming, do you expect them to have the power to stop it?

Wake up, the corruption scheme is as obvious as your nose on your face. Why are you pointing fingers at the opposition leaders? Why don’t you call for the resignations of Najib who has disgraced the country by openly practising corruption? Why don’t you call for the resignations of the commissioners of MACC? Do you expect DAP leaders to possess supersonic eyes capable of reading the corrupt mind of Hee, the political prostitute who is wiling to sell herself for a Toyota Camry?

42. #42 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:15 pm

Camry Hee was too cunning & has caught EVERYONE by surprise.
    So, please stop blaming any Pakatan leader & ask any Pakatan leader to take responsibility to resign.

Lets pull our socks up & move on bravely united & strengthen with one heart & one goal – the Federal government.

TOGETHER, we can do it!

43. #43 by democrate on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:15 pm

HELLO !
    WHAT RESIGN,
    No one is perfect in this world,to me PR has done nothing wrong it is BN that mischievous to stir up the drama.
    PR must be steady to encounter and look forward for the by election and the next GE,
    do not forget if i m not wrong PR had grabbed 54% OF THE TOTAL votes on 308 election. Mana ada kalah !
    all of you should know The BN stooges has been creating thousand of mistakes and sorry to the rakyat, Do they resign ? do they?
    Please do not fall onto BN traps
    at this hr of time lets support all PR Adun and MPs and no one has to be blamed U may be cheated but u have learned a lesson.

44. #44 by yeeyuket on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:29 pm

Try to get evidence for buying of Assemblymen by BN. Any party with slim majority face the risk of collapse. UMNO has used money and blackmail methods to achieve its goal successfully. Even the Sultan was the target. Karpal is a liability to PK and should step down as DAP chairman. Please remember Anwar has managed to lead opposition to win 5 States. DAP and PAS in the past was unable to do so.

45. #45 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:40 pm

Resigning won’t do any good. This is no time for PR to be rocked by any resignations of big guns, whoever that may be.

However, the main point must be taken: that these 3 leaders must at least take a real hard look at themselves, and ask themselves HOW ON EARTH did they allow themselves to be outmanipulated by Najis? Although Najis is playing dirty as usual, PR must ALWAYS expected the worst case and be one step ahead of him, which they were not in the Perak defections.

– they did not suspect the Bota as a trojan horse.
    – they did not ever dream that the ruler would take BN’s side.
    – they did not imagine that b@stard Hee would be their undoing until it was too late.
    – they forgot that they are fighting against all odds since everyone else is siding with BN, including the ruler, the state secretary, the police, the FRU, the EC, the so-called anti-corruption agency.

YB Kit, although you are to be respected for sticking to your principles, your EQ is almost as low as that of Karpal’s. You almost fell into the ruler’s trap when he wanted a Pas MB for Perak after 0308. That was clearly something meant to create disharmony amongst PR.

You and the other PR leaders would do well to ALWAYS BEAR IN MIND that: Whatever decisions PR makes, whatever internal squabbles you want to make (which is normal for any party), you better ensure that the final result will be that BN is defeated and wiped from the face of this earth.

We do not want to go back to the days when there was no alternative to BN.

46. #46 by yeeyuket on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:41 pm

DAP may want to consider removing Karpal as a chairman because he admitted that he no longer has any influence in the party. His remark was contradicted with the senior members of the party.

47. #47 by pastaman on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:44 pm

I really feel that PR should get their act together, FORM A SHADOW GOVERNMENT IMMEDIATELY to stabilise and add permanence to the consolidation. Make it a legitimate and purposeful opposition. No use ding dong here and there, argue this argue that, sack this feller, sue this guy, what the hell are you doing?

48. #48 by kcb on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:00 pm

It is RPK who is out of touch with the people on the ground and not the senior Pakatan leaders.

RPK should just shut up or stand for election and take active part in politics.

Talk is cheap and easy!!!
    Get involved and show us your stuff???

49. #49 by wanderer on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:02 pm

The PR alliance, should just move on, put their entire effort to retain the two seat in the coming by-elections with a bigger majority, to rub off the gloss of BN. If the house tumbled with just one ‘defeat’ because of the blame game among the leaders, then, they don’t deserve to rule.
    Calling the three seasoned opposition leaders to resign now is inappropriate and unreasonable. Though the generals are not required at the frontline, their presence will give the troopers the moral support to win a war.
    Old men have the wisdom, young men have the guts!

50. #50 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:03 pm

I think RPK has gone coocoo……or maybe so smart…to say these things before any UMNO guy …says it.
    That is the art…….Mahathir is very good at..twisting and turning.
    I really hope RPK is joking.

51. #51 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:07 pm

“Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin has called for the resignations of three senior Opposition leaders for the loss of the Perak Pakatan Rakyat government to Barisan Nasional”.

Sure. Next he’ll be demanding for the Sultan to step down so the Raja Muda could take over or worse! It is alright for RPK to make attention grabbing headlines as he has no party affiliations. Atrocious and irresponsible remarks are what keep him in the center of controversy and he thrives on controversy.

52. #52 by taiking on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:23 pm

I dont find it necessary to panic. I feel that despite what happened, the anti-umno and anti-umnoputras sentiment is still very strong. Its only the MSM that is doing its best to portray a most negative view of the real scenario. Ask yourself these three questions:

1) Do you feel absolutely disgusted by what najib and umno did in perak?

2) Doesnt the perak incident and the way the MSM played it up daily anger you and drive you up the wall?

3) Dont you feel like rushing out to the nearest poll booth and cast your vote against umno and bn rightaway this very moment and tell them they are no longer needed?

I believe we can gain political milege by garnering as much symphatatic support as possible to augment pakatan’s existing strength.

I believe the MSM is doing umno a major disfavour by playing up the issue. It will only highlight how power crazy and unethical najib and umno have been and could be. Blowing the issue daily in the news will harden the support for pakatan and will also blow symphaty towards pakatan.

Its like football. Everything is in a continuous flux. The ball moves non-stop and the players run after the ball without let-up always looking for ways to turn a situation (any situation) into an advantage. Pakatan must get a good hold of the situation and turn it into an advantage.

53. #53 by lizzie on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:24 pm

Hee the ADUN for Jelapang, did what she did, for whatever reasons, becuz she forgot the BIG PICTURE, assuming her grouses were real. Uncle Kit, I think, it does not remove her guilt and bad judgement, however, for the long term good of DAP and Pakatan, the accusation hurled at the Perak leaders shld be looked into. After all, did not Fong Po Kuan also cited that as a cause for her initial decision to pull out of GE12?

While I agree in essence about what Karpal said, but I do not see an alternative for the time being. Moreover, if anwar or whoever made a mistake, well, for the sake of the Pakatan, and more so for the people whom you all want to serve, it is not too humbling for a bit of self examination and change. Isnt our battle cry for GE12 CHANGE?

Moving forward, just bear in mind the BIG PICTURE…..

54. #54 by patriotic1994 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:35 pm

I was there in Port Klang to listen to RPK’s speech. I didn’t get the impression that he actually called the leaders to quit. He did criticize the leadership of PR and end the speech by saying if PR leaders could not get it right, then we (rakyat) will have to take over to show them how to run PR.

55. #55 by fjjs on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:37 pm

Don’t read and accept whatever reported by the BN controlled media too much. If this is reported in MT or we hear it directly from RPK, then believe it. Personally. I doubt this is what RPK said.

Even though BN will rule Perak, this game of deceit will be the last nail to the coffin for BN in the coming GE. I salute the courage, coolness and dignity shown by Datuk Seri Nizar so far in this fiasco. He is a symbol of a true leader.

56. #56 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:39 pm

“One of the hallmarks of good leadership is to be able to confront and explain protracted issues in the open. BN tried to hide and muzzle others all the time. But we know, don’t we? We can survive this, let the debate begins. Limkaput

It is not just a question of leadership style but having open debates in the media, explaining your views and putting ideas to the test etc is just the democratic way of doing things. No country can claim to be a true democracy if it puts a lid on political dissent on the ground that discussion breeds ill will and serves to divide rather than unite. To do that would be putting the country on the proverbial slippery slopes towards an authoritarian form of government. But here’s the deal. Malaysia has never been an open democracy in the western sense of the word but one which swings from being a benevolent form of authoritarianism to a cross between plain old authoritarianism and Islamic fascism if recent trends are any indication.

The issue is simply should the chairman of a member of a loose political coalition seeking to form ( as opposed to running) a government make such controversial statements at all the way he did? Did he consult his party elders before making such statements? Answer. Of course as a citizen of a free country he could make any statement he wants. But he should then step down being chairman because he is at odds with the other party leaders. That would not only be the right thing to do but more important that would unite and save the party – and the coalition.

57. #57 by voice on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 6:52 pm

Can’t you all get what he meant? TheStar reported it without further explaining, he was saying that if Anwar quit, kit siang and hadi also must quit, meaning everyone in PR is responsible.

58. #58 by KennyGan on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 7:04 pm

There is no power in DAP or PKR to stop the defection of Hee, Osman and Jamaluddin. If people have greed in their hearts and lusting for what the other side can give them what can you do? Do you have millions to counter offer? Even if you have, should you? The defection of these 3 has nothing to do with party differences.

So quit asking people to resign for things beyond their control. It’s stupid and infantile.

59. #59 by cyfm on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 7:06 pm

You people don’t fall into Najib’s trap. Now is not the time to pointing finger or who should responsible for the Perak crisis or who should quit.

Why Najib let Nassaruddin to cross over PR and get him back then? This is his strategy that to make you people to blame Anwar and force him step down. Why?? because he scared of Anwar! He scared the 3 parties in PR too united!! He want to break them up!!

The more PR united, the more Najib scared. I wish the leaders in PR understand this.

60. #60 by musyu99 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 7:36 pm

Kadang-kadang RPK ni over jugak… salah Pakatan Leader ka? atau salah darah mulia keturunanh dia? Belah lah lu RPK. You worth nothing…

61. #61 by dmeo on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 8:05 pm

This is not a football game.

Some comments on the lines of keeping to the ultimate goal of ousting BN from the government sicken me.

That may be one of the more important goals but should never be looked upon as the most important.

Whatever happened to DAPs struggle for righteousness and equality?

Now LGE comes out stating that he was at odds with Anwar about party hopping. This statement comes only after tremendous pressure by the public on his principles. When the chairperson states it and questions him publicly he gets shocked and hurt and avoids him.

I have tremendous support for the DAP which seems to be getting less and less everyday however i am still a strong supporter.

Please sort this out LKS . Is it worth giving up 30+ years of struggle for one year in charge? DAP is becoming dilute and oppurtunistic and it hurts me greatly to watch it go down this path.

62. #62 by FY Lim on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 8:15 pm

Dear Saudara RPK,

Whilst I understand your frustration over the loss of the Perak govt, you cannot put the blame squarely on Anwar , Lim Kit Siang and Hadi Awang.

All three members of the opposition were working against a huge and unfriendly system whereby the Police, MCAC , Judiciary , Monarchy , Executive are acting against them.

You have seen and heard that the Kedah PKR Exco V. Arumugam had to resigned after being threatened , coerced and being kept away for sometime from the party communication process . All the police reports were to no avail.

You also know that the 3 assemblymen are not sincere and corrupt to the core and they were always on the lookout for material gains. Even the threat of the Almighty looking over them when they are alive or dead does not deter them from monetary gains.

What more when their party leaders who are more human and engaged them on intelligent reasoning which eventually was to no avail. You can’t forced a horse to drink water when it does’nt want to. Can you blame our honorable Hadi , Lim and Anwar ?

The Federal system was not on their side either. You can make 100 reports on bribery , corruption , threats etc but look what was the Police , MCAC , Election Commission and monarchy response.

In this time of our political development you need seasoned , experienced and principled politicians like them to guide and steer the Pakatan coalition to a Federal elections victory first.

Your aim of getting a corruption-free , clean judiciary and Police and removal of abusive laws in the country will depend on the removal of BN from the Federal govt. and this needs the combined resources of the 3 leaders.

We cannot at this juncture put young and inexperienced politicians who will be ” slaughtered ” and thus putting the PR coalition in disarray.

Do you want to see this happening ?

My dear saudara RPK , please be patient and give give them the time to sort this issue out.

We pray and hope for better things to come.

63. #63 by mother of three on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 8:40 pm

At this point of time,three of them important to lead PR.Asking the leaders to resign now is similar as to kill the PR with C4.I think PR have enough problems to tackle at the moment.It is not wise to create leadership crisis.Please tackle Najis before march and everything will back to normal.

64. #64 by Ramesh Laxman on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 8:45 pm

“The brain is the only instrument that can make you articulate a position that you yourself do not believe in.” By the way who said that

65. #65 by Justicewanted on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 8:53 pm

Everyone is pissed off the way BN took over Perak.

RPK has his own mind and can say what ever he wants.

But has he thought that if Anwar, Kit and Hadi resign from PR, who will take over.

If RPK offers to take over the the leadership of PR the I will agree with him. If not just …………

66. #66 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:00 pm

Dear LKS,

My poll on Who do you want to be your next PM and RPK leading with more than 50% here

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2009/01/our-next-pm.html

If RPK can united all the PR faction, may be let him do it and let him participate in this By election as MP

My two cents worth..

Shiok Guy

67. #67 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:01 pm

Only when there are young and capable leaders ready to take over their respective parties and keep PR coalition intact, then only they may resign. Doing it now will definitely spell the end for PK. RPK, these three may be old horses, but they are still winning races.

68. #68 by adoionline on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:10 pm

Best to IGNORE Wong Chun Wai and The Star… and the NST…. and watch DVDs on that plasma TV instead of RTM or TV3! This report stinks of major spin. RPK could have said something expressing his disappointment that Pakatan Rakyat got a bit careless knowing there were signs of Umno creeps moving around quietly in Perak on unwholesome business… but the Star would have blown it up just to weaken our determination to kick BN out. They KNOW we acn do i and are crapping their pants! :-)

Antares

69. #69 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:23 pm

Ramesh Laxman Says:

February 10th, 2009 at 20: 45.40
    “The brain is the only instrument that can make you articulate a position that you yourself do not believe in.” By the way who said that?”

Let me guess. You??

70. #70 by vsp on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:26 pm

How come I don’t see any website of Karpal’s where he can disseminate his views and let readers to comment on it. LKS, Mahathir, Ku Li and many others have their own websites.

All I heard about Karpal’s stand on issues and principles are his tantrums which were always carried by the BN mass media. Come on, Karpal is an intelligent man and he can articulate his views through his own website or others like LKS, MT or Malaysiakini. But why he has to use the enemy’s mass media I simply do not understand? Is he afraid that he cannot defend his views through readers’ comments? Or is it the case of “I tell you, you accept it and don’t question me about it”? By relying on the BN mass media he doesn’t have to defend his views and stand. That I think is very coward of him. Why does he have to be so aloof and imperial and always remain in his ivory tower? Is he behaving like the royalty where only he can proclaim and others cannot comment?

LKS blog not only have friendly posting but also hostile ones. I remember that when the Sultan of Perak refused to accept the MB from the DAP but instead chose Nizar from PAS, LKS was very furious and ordered all DAP MPs to boycott the installation ceremony. Well many of us chastised him for the blunder and he listened. So finally there was a sliver lining in the cloud and surprisingly DAP and PAS was able to work together. But Karpal, the ever stubborn bull threatened to sue the Sultan and the outcome… I don’t know.

We only know that Karpal has two sacred cows: bashing the royalty and rubbishing PAS hudud. These two are are his overriding personal crusades and hell hath no fury like a bull scorned. He will get mad and charge like a raging bull into the china shop and smash everything into smithereens. Nothing can change him on these issues: no compromising even an inch.

If Karpal is the general fighting a war, it would be disastrous. Imagine his troops fighting to win and he countermand them to withdraw through the enemy’s mass media because it is felt that it is unethical to capture the enemy’s foothold. Not only was he not on the ground leading his troops but he gave orders through remote-control. Can any army win a war with such commander?

Come on Karpal, get off your high horse and come down to the ground. Open your own website and share your stand and views for commenting. We don’t need a god that is far removed from the ordinary people!

71. #71 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:29 pm

Sorry guys/gals for a little digression. The following links refers:

# http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/18045-karpal-refuses-to-apologise-still-protests-mounting

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 10 — DAP chairman Karpal Singh said today that he would not apologise to Sultan Azlan Shah of Perak and that he would proceed with his plan to take legal action against the Sultan for allowing the Barisan Nasional (BN) to replace the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) government in the state.

He said it was not against the law to institute the legal action and if it was, he was prepared to be charged in court.

Speaking to reporters at his office here, Karpal said his action could not be deemed an insult to royalty or challenging the Sultan.

“After 1993, the Federal Constitution was amended and a special court was established to deal in matters where royalty and sultans are concerned” he said.

He, however, did not say when he would file his case.

Meanwhile, at Karpal Singh’s office in Jalan Pudu here, some 200 Umno Youth members gathered outside it at 10am to protest the move by the veteran politician and lawyer.

Bukit Bintang Umno Youth head Tengku Azman Tengku Zainal Abidin said it was insolent on the part of Karpal Singh to take such an action and that it did think about the sensitivities of Malaysians who are made up of various races.

In Ipoh, there had been a heavy police and media presence earlier today at the Ipoh High Court in anticipation that Karpal Singh would be instituting legal action against Sultan Azlan Shah.

Some 100 people wearing yellow headbands and carrying placards reading “Daulat Tuanku” (Long Live the Sultan) also turned up to protest the move by Karpal Singh. (the malaysian insider). #

Now, who gave the bunch of UMNO youths the order and authority to harass members of the public?

Why didn’t the police as the arm of the law ( supposedly to ALL MALAYSIANS) rein in on those hoodlums, hooligans and public menace and gangsters from disturbing public peace, creating public disorder and possibly endangering the safety of the people?

The police cannot and must not be condoning or seen to be condoning thuggery and gangsterism in our society. To do so would be contrary to their role as the guardian of law.

The police must be non-partisan at all times and must maintain the highest level of professionalism and transparency expected of them by members of the public.

Is this what the prime minister-in-waiting supports? Threats, arrogance, high-handedness and bully tactics displayed by his own vanguards are not only not discouraged and stopped; UMNO’s leadership’s silence on the hooliganism is indeed deafening while such crude and uncouth behaviour is most deprecating and uncalled for and reflects poorly on themselves.

Hope the Sultan of Perak would not accept such lowly and humiliating way of show of support by those miscreants and those who do not have any respect for the law.

The world is watching every episode of events and happenings that is unfolding in our midst. They shall be the judge and jury in this open court of Malaysian politics and royalty.

Is Malaysia’s contemporary and modern history supposed to be written in that way, one wonders.

72. #72 by ablastine on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:42 pm

Najib must be having a hell of a time watching all the main actors in the opposition camp going for each others throat. If I were him I will rub some more salt on the wound. Instigate Karpal and RPK more, since these two fellas have proven that they cannot tolerate other peoples point of view and must have their way. I almost sure that Karpal and RPK will not be arrested under the ISA anymore because Najib certainly needs all these rare talents to cause an implosion in the opposition camp. Being Najib, I will certainly work on Karpal more now knowing that he is near breaking point making sure that he split up DAP and bring along with him his associates and MP to be independent or better still join BN. I won’t even need to offer him money. All I needed to do is ask the Star to enlightened him as to how unfairly he has been treated by DAP after all his contribution to the cause. How they should have kneel before him for forgiveness and wisedom instead of ignoring him and his just cause. Tell him how DAP has deviated from the cause and how ridiculous it is for them to be in consort with PAS even with HUDUD law dangling all over. Just get Karpal all work up and the rest will fall into place.

73. #73 by distantmalay on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:45 pm

if pakatan breaks down, all those pas, dap and pkr leaders become toothless tigers, useless, tak guna.

What can the individual parties do on their own? Nothing, only make noise in parliament. Noise can change anything ah? What has changed so far?

so what’s the use of these leaders if they cannot unite as pakatan?
    criticizing each other in public (in the name of openness) has its limits.

it seems, BN is destined to rule forever !

74. #74 by The Enforcer on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:49 pm

Will all the HEADS of PR stop the finger pointing and washing of your dirty linen in public!
    Any disputes must be settled internally and not in a manner where one is seen as wanting to be the ‘hero’!
    We, the RAKYAT, have waited long enough, 52 years!
    The signs are there since 308 and we must not be taken a back because of the lost of a ‘battle’. The ‘war’ has yet to be lost and it’s there to be ‘won’!
    Please remember, ‘UNITY IS STRENGTH’!
    No one is indispensable in this war is he/she opts to stand alone!
    YOU, as the elected reps by the RAKYAT must be GOD fearing man and man of principles, for, it’s only YOU who are accountable for your thoughts and actions on the day of judgement!
    YOU know what the RAKYAT wants and together we’ll strive to achieve them for the betterment of OUR FUTURE GENERATIONS!

75. #75 by distantmalay on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:55 pm

karpal, karpal, why? is it necessary what you’re doing?

you are losing the big picture.
    if pakatan sinks, you’re doing a disservice because we’ll never be in a position to heal the country.

what’s the use of being a noisy opposition? you’ve been doing that for decades already but what has changed? Nothing.

when the kapal selam, all tenggelam.

76. #76 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 9:55 pm

“Now we still need them for their charisma and experience.” (jus legitimum)

True. All three of them have charisma and experience as their valuable assets which help to attract big crowds to the party-organised gatherings. However, by year 2012 the age of YB Kit Siang will be older than 70 years. We cannot expect the personal charisma to continue leading the party forever and ever. Therefore it will be helpful and useful for YB Kit Siang to spend more time in meditating and putting his experience and wisdom into a book which can be later used by all DAP followers as a guideline for the party’s political ideology.

It is no good for YB Kit Siang to keep running high and low trying to attend meeting and gatherings. This kind of life will be too taxing for YB Kit Siang to lead too often. Most his followers want him to take good care of his health and live a long long life so that he may continue to share his wisdom and witty sayings with the people. I don’t mean that YB Kit Siang has to retire completely now. He should slowly relinquish part of his party duties to the successors of younger generation.

Anwar and Hadi Awang may still be too young (both of them were born in 1947) to make the choice of retirement at the moment. However, I just don’t know how both of them are going to think in compassion with the younger generation like Anwar’s daughter, Nurul Izzah because the generation gap is something which is not easy to fill.

The young generation is the future host owner of our nation. If the older generation does not yield in order to pave way for the smooth take-over of the party’s political cause by the younger generation, the party will be bound to run into crisis of the lack of capable heirs sooner or later. Therefore, YB Kit Siang should seriously consider handing over more of his party duties to Guan Eng now.

77. #77 by Steven on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:14 pm

Hey folks, rightly or wrongly, it’s not the right time for RPK to ask for the resignation of the leadership of Pakatan Rakyat. Just because a state is lost (and in a most undemocratic way I should add), you don’t put the blame squarely on the shoulders of these leaders. You have to remember you are up against a most formidable and ruthless regime, which will resort to any dirty tactics to get what they want. If anything, I feel we should all rally and unite behind them more than ever to ensure that BN will be disposed of in the next GE. That should be the ultimate goal of all right-minded Malaysians.
    Also folks, remember what RPK said about the Statutory Declaration he made about the Mongolian lady’s murder? If he was taken to court, he would spill the beans and open up a can of worms to make sure that all would be revealed and that Najis fler will go down with him? Well, let’s see if he really meant what he said and show us what he is made of. I, for one, am not too optimistic that he will do just that but I could be wrong. Let’s wait and see then.

78. #78 by vsp on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:47 pm

RPK:

Come on, because you lose one battle you are going to throw out the generals. Mao Tse Tsung, Ho Chi Minh, Castro all lose many battles before they finally win the war. So you want the young ones to lead? In the first place, pre-2008 Pakatan was not able to attract any good candidates because they were poor, unorganised and not even sure they could win the war on March 2008.

All but one general, Anwar Ibrahim was certain that the mammoth BN can be scalped and sure he was right – the Pakatan took 5 trophies home.

Loose 1 trophy due collusion of the BN, the Election Commission and the Sultan and you start to point fingers. Take a lesson from Ho Chi Minh. He made a lot of mistakes initially, suffered a lot a casualties and his people still believed in him. Ho Chi Minh was quite old before he finally kicked the ugly Americans out. Don’t replace Anwar with Karpal Singh. It would be disastrous. Why don’t you join the command? Pakatan need good commanders, you know?

79. #79 by ablastine on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:48 pm

Yeap tell Uncle Lim that he is too old to lead. Tell Anwar he should take a rest. Tell Hadi to take a hide with his Hudud. Let the young and inexperience take over the coalition because they have the vigor and need to learn so say onlookers.

Learn from who? Najib of course. Najib will eat these young punks for lunch after they help him kill off all their wise leaders. Such a great idea. At the height of the strife when things are starting to turn favourable kill off all the great Generals so that the enemies can again turn the table. Was this written in the Art of War? Sometimes it is not obvious imposter like this stupid cinta…. who can do the most harm but better chamelons like onlookers who will stab you when you are not looking that delivers the fatal blow.

80. #80 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:49 pm

There is no point asking the Seniors to leave when the Juniors are not ready to take over. If this sort of situation could happen to the Seniors, who knows what will happen to the Juniors ? And the way the reporters write about RPK is like as if he is one of the politicians. Pakatan Rakyat has to be in such a position as to be able to match the might of Barisan Nasional.

81. #81 by vsp on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:54 pm

All but one general, Anwar Ibrahim was certain that the mammoth BN can be scalped and sure he was right

——

[correction]

Only one general, Anwar Ibrahim was certain that the mammoth BN can be scalped and sure he was right

82. #82 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 10:57 pm

If Karpal is the general fighting a war, it would be disastrous. Imagine his troops fighting to win and he countermand them to withdraw through the enemy’s mass media because it is felt that it is unethical to capture the enemy’s foothold. Not only was he not on the ground leading his troops but he gave orders through remote-control. Can any army win a war with such commander? – vsp

Can you please be more humble with your comments? How many wars have you won?

83. #83 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:05 pm

“There is no point asking the Seniors to leave when the Juniors are not ready to take over.” – cemerlang

How do you know that even before the Seniors let the Juniors take over. I thought there is no age limits.

84. #84 by justice6 on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:06 pm

1 battle lost.. he must resign la..he must go la.. he must take the blame la. .. this and that.. aiyoo.. come on la.. war is still on going and some of you guys are telling who must resign and to be blamed.. how to fight a war, ie taking over the fed govt. if a battle lost is being treated like a war lost… lost a battle, regroup and replan and counter .. 1 battle lost need to behead all generals? is this the way to fight a war ???

85. #85 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:07 pm

I still cannot believe RPK actually called for yhe resignation of the trio. Surely RPK has the good judgement to see that they are the pillars of PR. OR, has RPK become KPR. I really hope not.

86. #86 by miko on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:27 pm

RPK ! you have been doing fine all along but don’t you forget you are nothing without the people momentum. So is Karpal.
    Lim, Anwar & Hadi are there to represent the people’s momentum and to keep the fire going.
    They are selfless, though not perfect. Yes we need the young ones to fight on but not to eliminate or replace the old ones.
    Perak’s loss will make the people stronger and will fill the heart of people like you and me with “vengeance”
    Let’s keep the fire going to a point of no return, to a point where even hero like you matter no more !
    Don’t lost faith ! man

87. #87 by sjchange on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:39 pm

It is not easy to fight the BRUMNO$’ voodoo $$ politics.

88. #88 by singma on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 11:44 pm

If DAP cannot even stand for its Chairman Karpal Singh, what can we as Rakyat expect from DAP?

Seriously, please do not sweep this under the carpet by brushing off Karpal like that. Believe me, the silent voters are intelligent enough to know DAP weakness.

Conscience must always be clear for long term and sustainability of Rakyat support and confidence in DAP.

Poltical expediency in blindy supporting Anwar will be costly.

89. #89 by daryl on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 12:21 am

April Fool
    You guys still read and quote “The Star” or maybe rename it to “The UMNO Star”. I don’t read those crappy stuff anymore. RPK might rant about it but the above is probably far from true statement.

90. #90 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 12:46 am

While all the brouhaha goes on, one must not lose sight of the OBJECTIVES and RAISON D’ETRE of the political parties and the meaning of their struggles with relation to the society and the people they purport to represent and serve and the land that they defend.

It must be clear from the very beginning that the very purpose of getting involved in politics, as everyone knows, is to bear the conviction to conscientiously serve the nation and society as guided by the principles expounded by the political party of one’s leaning; and also to observe the laws of the land while dispensing and delivering the services.

As most countries uphold and practise the government by majority rule, the political party with the most number of seats garnered in an election would form the administration to run the country.

Partaking in political activities may seem fun and interesting to the common eyes. However, the responsibilities that follow with positions, especially in the higher levels, may be all-consuming and affect one’s entire life. Thus political participation could be a life-long process which requires conviction, discipline, commitment, belief and a selfless devotion to the stated objectives and aspirations, practical or idealistic.

Hence, for serious political people, politics could well turn out to be a life-long career.

Winning an election is one thing. To form a government and to actually run a state or nation and to fulfil the mandate won is another.

Running a state or nation is not all glamorous, interesting, or fun.
    It more often than not involves solving mundane issues and day-to-day errands and to ensure that the overall and over-riding well-being of the people are well taken of.

So guys, the full participation in politics and the subsequent running of a viable and inclusive government is not for the faint hearted and the the uninitiated.

Serving the people is certainly not a bed of roses and uneasy to handle for it demands the full attention of the administrator. Unless and until one can take all the beatings and demands of the office, one cannot be considered to be cut out for it. Further, one must also be able to face up to criticisms, exhortation, complexities, inconveniences of all magnitudes, sleepless nights, etc, etc.

Pakatan Rakyat must be able to recruit and have an army of believers and willing workers at all levels to serve the state and nation before it could be considered ready to take on the helm of running the country.

It is a mammoth task to be able to run a state effectively and sufficiently to the satisfaction and content of an ever demanding electorate.

The faint hearted and uninitiated certainly cannot be expected to live up to the demands and expectations.

Politics, anyone?

91. #91 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 3:03 am

Two great English football mangers sacked!
    Khairy is a comedian at Susan’s blog.
    Rocky is firing rockets left right and center..all sorts of non stop issues…keep everyone guessing ..is he pro this or that or neutral.
    Kickdefella….loves to be sarcastic..try to say things for everyone…but leaning to favour his race.
    Anwar is as cool as a cucumber.
    Only Patrick Teoh…of “NIAMAH” blog…talk about leaks and cowshit in government buildings.
    Yes….last day of Chinese New Year….bringing out the full moon….for the OX…to plough…gore..as he sees fit.
    Events are showing this OX…is out to kill….hypnotizing Karpal Singh and Rajat Petra as starters..in Malaysia.

92. #92 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 6:03 am

One4All4One,

Looking at the manner UNMO/BN govern the country, there will not be any problem for PR to select enough candidates to govern this country 50 times better. You have disagreement on this??

93. #93 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 6:26 am

Going by the manner the present “half-past-six cabinet” is governing this country, there will not be much problem for PR to select enough candidates to form a better government should it win the next GE. Any disagreement, anyone?? ……….. One4All4ONE can be given one high and important portfolio. I am sincere. No other meaning.

94. #94 by lcclck on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 6:43 am

Dear YB,

Calls for the preparation of the future PR succession plans.

The true intentions for RPK would be that if you all 3 great leaders were to go vanish too, who would be ready to take over??

Are you ready, are you all well prepared??

How about you and BN join efforts to govern Perak??

Never till you are dead!!!

That will be suicidal!!

But not forgetting the PKR is also having enough of old and good bonds between some of the BN and PKR senior members, and for the PKR to return to UMNO, it is not as impossible as for DAP to hop to UMNO/MIC/MCA!!!

What if RPK predicted that Pak Lah last minute invited DSAI back to UMNO???

What if PAS also wanted to govern with UMNO??

All are possible and also near impossible if those compromises made by these 3 leaders could hold well, the possibilities will be also increased or decreased depending on which side of the chees baord are you!!

Life is full of challenges, and surprises are great to experience too!!

For time being, RPK is really a bit of out of mind to propose DSAI, LKS and HADI to resign en bloc, and hope we could have some good glimpse of what PR will emerge truly as a possible alternative to BN!!

Best regards,

95. #95 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 6:46 am

All politicians, like all men, are mortal.

So Anwar, Hadi and LKS must mentor a new generation to finish the good work they began. But for now…there is still work to be done…urgent work that only they can complete at this juncture of history.

So to RPK, I beg to differ.

To Anwar, Hadi & LKS….may GOD be with you as you battle against the devils and satanic forces in BN.

96. #96 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 7:33 am

In Malaysian history how many RPKs are there? He speaks truth to power like no other. Of course his “truth” is often mixed with hearsay. However one can’t deny that he is a unique Malaysian having b@lls of brass. One must remember he speaks for the Malaysian Cause. You find him in ceramahs in campaigning for Pakatan Rakyat in both GE & By Elections. Yet he is not a member of any Opposition Party though he knows all the 3 opposition heads he criticised and probably confers on matters of strategy with 1 or 2 of them quite regularly.

The man is involved deeply in politics but he is not a politician. Asked why not, he said it was in nature of politicians as a class – on both side of divide – to make compromises in pursuit of power, and hence could be corrupt (the word he used was “dirty”) or potentially corruptible, and as he was busy defying the powers-to-be in BN, he would reserve the right to criticise, even condemn, the Opposition if he thought that they were veering from the straight and right path in service of the Malaysian/Rakyat Cause.

In that context, it is probable that he mentioned something to the effect that if the 3 top leaders leaders couldn’t get their act together, they had better give way and get others to take over. Which of course the MSM like The Star would latch on, give it a nuance as if RPK had suddenly become disillusioned with the whole Opposition Cause.

He is busy in court fighting the sedition case. I don’t think he has time to address the ruckus he has generated by The Star’s reporting – yet. He probably thinks the Sedition Case is more important : not so much to save himself but to provide the avenue to highlight and bring forth such evidence that might faster bring down the government than all 3 Opposition parties could do together!

Many people are alarmed at the effects of his statement. They are worried – as usual – that it would harm PR’s cause and promote BN’s survival. They expect dissent on methodology of approach within this side of the camp against the ruling coalition to keep disagreement within closed doors so that dissent might not be capitalised by the other side. Being angered by him, some would say nasty things about him, forgetting that he has put his life – and his family – on the line fighting the Malaysian Cause. Of course, if he cares a damn about what the Powers-to-be could do him, more the reason why he would care less how we criticise or judge him, though too much hate speech against him might make him wonder whether his sacrifices are worth the while.

I’d be the first to say not all things said by this man are right but he has the integrity to speak according to his lights without fear of favour with steady focus on Malaysian Cause which is not necessarily ‘partisan’ for or against PR or BN! And if you talk about ego, well which man who has drive to challenge the existing order and vested interest has weak ego?

Although DAP Chairman Karpal is politician, the similarity between Karpal/RPK is striking in sense that besides both being courageous, they also talk straight, without paying too much weight on political expedience and compromises deemed necessary by true blue politicians to be struck to win political power. I don’t think either man places greater priority on winning power than speaking the unvarnished truth, and letting the chips, good or bad, fall where they fall.

97. #97 by vchi on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 7:46 am

We should wait for RPK’s official comfirmation before making any more judgments.

For all you know, this is another pathetic attempt by the MSM to try to divide Pakatan.

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17907/84/

98. #98 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 8:15 am

You guys should know better than to fall for the cheap tricks of the main stream media.

99. #99 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 8:15 am

Not surpisingly he would engage Gobind Singh Deo – Karpal Singh’s son – to defend him in his Sedition trial. It would be interesting to follow the trial and see what hattrick he would pull using the court as a public forum for his “expose” on how to send Altantuya’s Murderers to Hell!

Opposition Leaders whom he criticised should not have their attention “diverted” by small and side issue of what RPK criticised about them – we all know RPK and his style – no matter how much the other side would want to capitalise and play up this issue.

This is because the bigger drama is unfolding in RPK’s trial.

It would pay the Opposition leaders whom he criticised to follow the proceedings and the revelations that come from these closely.

They make good political fodder for use that might well bring down or at least drive a wedge within the ruling coalition faster than Anwar’s back firing political defections scheme!

You should keep steady focus on the bigger issue ie this “potential” than be so easily be distracted by smaller issue/red herring of whatever criticisms RPK’s mouth shot out, criticising PR’s leadership.

If Opposition espouses freedom of speech then just let RPK says what he wants to say. No want can stop him anyway.

For the moment one gets distressed and argues that RPK is talking nonsense – in the sense that if all 3 top leaders of PR now resign, the PR’s cause will crumble – one is indirecly vindicating at the same time the truth of what RPK says/criticises about PR’s main weakness: no one has been groomed or identified to carry the Malaysian Cause if for any reason its defacto head Anwar Ibrahim exits the scene!

That makes it pretty simple for the BN to concentrate on this main fault line within the PR’s political plate : attack and make fall Anwar, and PR will come a part.

BN is different : Pak Lah goes, there is Najib, after Najib, there is Muhyiddin, and then Mike Tyson and maybe Ku Li, all lining up.

In the case of PR, who have you got after Anwar? Nobody!

Which means if Anwar exits, falls etc or whatever suffers whatever mishaps, who is going to hold PKR, DAP & PAS together?

Which further means if Anwar is “indispensable” in this sense he will be given a lot of leeway/room/accommodation to do things (which may be wrong or even counterproductive against PR’s longer term interest) and yet no one could do anything.

This is where the PR’s weakness lies; this is where RPK hits!

100. #100 by Loh on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 8:57 am

Sorry, off topic

The police make it difficult for the public to protest against government policies or the implementation thereof. Yet it allows UMNO youth to protest against Karpal Singh, a private citizen. If Karpal Singh has done any wrong, the court would decide, according to proper procedures. For that UMNO youth is free to do their work as allowed by law, or face the consequence.

Have citizens lost their right to public safety and security, free from mob harassment if they are not UMNO Youth members?

101. #101 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 9:05 am

Hey, the point here is Sdr. Lim is printing this article and comment from THE STAR no less. So what is the deal? Is a succession plan in place. Show up BN with a great succession plan for all 3 parties of PR.

Sadly, the second generation lack great oratorical skills of Sdr. Lim and Karpal Singh or Anwar. PAS has less of problem although Husam is no Hadi Awang going by being trapped by KJ last month…

There is a lot of strategic and technocrat skills in the second generation of PR leaders but sadly lacking in oratory and soft-political skills including risk-taking in second generation leaders. In 308 and since, the only really new good speaker was RPK and he is not a member of any party…I believe Gobind Singh won’t be as good as Karpal but at least he does not put his father to shame. LGE frankly is just OK, inspirational more as a personal example rather than the message he sents.

Sadly Sdr. Lim and this is a supportive criticism of you, no one can pick up your batton and run with it…

So what is the plan?

102. #102 by son of perpaduan on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 9:05 am

I strong disagree the call for our three dear leader to resign. Once and for all, go for dissolving parliment and get a fresh mandate from the people of malaysia to decide who next?

103. #103 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 9:08 am

Yep. It is all about the three wise monkeys – see no evil, talk no evil and hear no evil.

104. #104 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 10:48 am

I do not wish to see any of the Pakatan leaders quit. I only hope leaders can be upfront and honest about their party policies.

105. #105 by lhslhv on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 12:29 pm

Is this the mentality of our PR supporters? With a little bit of setback, everybody is going haywire!

The famous Prime Minister, Kong Ming, during the Three Kingdom Period did not give up his pursuit of convincing his revolting warlord to willingly accept Kong Ming’s rule by giving his captor 7 times to prove that he was no better than Kong Ming during the warring period in his kingdom.

Does PR have this kind of patience? Otherwise how can PR be great?

106. #106 by mother of three on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 1:02 pm

“Tom Daschle and Bill Richardson had to withdraw their names from the Obama Cabinet because they were being investigated for tax evasion and alleged misconduct in the award of contracts respectively.President Barack Obama accepted responsibility and said that he screwed up”.
    ==================================================
    We have many similar corrupted leaders here maybe RPK should ask them to resign first.It will be very helpful if he could submit the long list to PM. Will the PM honest enough to be like OBAMA and say that he screwed it up???

Why BN accept the two corrupted frogs or maybe before that I should ask why PR didn’t ask them to resign when they were arrested during the PP election.BPR have a strong evidence against them but why PR was in denial mode?Simple,everyone is just power crazy.

107. #107 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 4:28 pm

It is amusing to see the same people who hail RPK for his ‘no holds barred’ opinions and his anti-establishment views, to now criticise him when he speaks against the incompetence of Pakatan and its senile leadership.

108. #108 by katdog on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 7:26 pm

Ha ha! It’s really funny to see everybody pointing fingers putting blame here and there.

Bottom line is BN got Perak via defections. And i would add highly questionable defections as well. A disgruntled DAP rep. And 2 PKR reps that are charged with corruption.

Let’s get real, NONE of this reps can claim to be jumping to BN in order to better serve the people/voters. All 3 (at best) is jumping for PURELY personal reasons.

One cannot put any specific blame at anything for what has happened in Perak. These 3 jumped for personal reasons and i think it was only a matter of time before it happened.

And i say, it’s better now than later. Let these kataks jump now. If more wants to follow, by all means let them go. We know that many of the elected reps in Perak were actually poor choices because DAP-PR did not have many candidates to field in Mar 08.

I’ve said it before, DAP should take this turn of events as a blessing in disguise to do some house cleaning and do some strengthening to their members and lineup in Perak.

DAP should not play the blame game but instead take a serious long hard look at the problems in Perak, talk to all their reps there and make tough decisions. (I personally wish that Ngeh fellar would resign as a sign of taking responsibility for what happened…but i doubt this useless fellar has the honour and courage to do something like this)

109. #109 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 11 February 2009 - 10:42 pm

Dear Katdog,

There is a saying that 2 wrongs do not make one right. As for collapse of Nizar’s govt in Perak, I agree with Karpal’s assesment on Anwar.

Anwar cant claim high moral ground. So do Uncle Lim, Guan Eng or PAS. All of them are willing partners in the game of enticing MPs ans state assemblymen to join PR. As such, there is no need to blame Najib on this.

So, actually Anwar got PR in the mess due to his greed and impatience( another of his glaring weakness that he does not feel anything in backstabing others). Karpal is right. Anwar, in his mind boggling zealousness to be PM( self appointed) , could not bother to see the trap that he creates for others will eventually trap him.

As for Zak_Hammad, you are spot on. Many here including Uncle Lim are only willing to listen to views that are alligned with theirs. Opposite views are quickly condemned . Those who gave such views are labelled as BN supporters or receiving bribes from UMNO.

The moral of the story is that unethical means to win power will eventually backfire. And it backfired . AS I said earlier, a knife can cut both way. I hope Anwar will learn the lesson. Other politicians too.

110. #110 by katdog on Thursday, 12 February 2009 - 9:22 pm

‘So, actually Anwar got PR in the mess due to his greed and impatience( another of his glaring weakness that he does not feel anything in backstabing others).” – shamshul anuar

What an absolutely incorrect and misguided statement. UMNO-MCA was already working on overthrowing the PR government in Perak since Day 1. Whether or not Anwar was trying to get Katak’s to jump to PR did not have any impact/relation whatsoever on BN trying to get kataks to crossover to their side.

BN was doing it from day 1 even before Anwar announced the attempts at takeover. Heck BN has been doing it for 30+ years. It has happened over and over again in many elections. So don’t make such a silly statement as if the crossover of reps to BN happened ONLY because of Anwar’s actions. There is no relation there at all.

Yes, Anwar cannot take a higher moral ground. BUT Anwar did not cause the PR reps to crossover. BN did this. And BN would have done this even if Anwar did not exist.

It makes you look silly when you draw imaginary conclusions from absolutely unrelated facts.