IGP’s statistical sleight-of-hand to explain away worsening crime index

Malaysians are shocked that the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan is deadly serious with his ridiculous ploy to explain away the worsening crime index with a statistical sleight-of-hand by claiming that it is purely a problem of misperception by Malaysians, tourists and investors.

What is outrageous is that the Cabinet and the National Economic Council could be browbeaten so easily by the IGP on Tuesday to accept such a ridiculous ploy, to the extent that this has been adopted as the official policy position as to be publicly enunciated by the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak two days ago.

Musa has claimed that figures show that Malaysia is a relatively safe country with 772 crimes for every 100,000 residents in the country. This ratio compares favourably with Hong Kong where there are 1,166 cases for every 100,000 residents; Japan 1,569 cases and Australia 4,470 cases.

Taken as a whole, the statistics showed that only Singapore with 704 cases per 100,000 residents had a safer environment.

It is a reflection of the intellectual inadequacy and poverty of the Cabinet Ministers and National Economic Council members that they could be so easily bamboozled by the IGP with suspect statistics and data.

The statistics given by the IGP to show that Malaysia is safer than Japan and Hong Kong are most misleading and unacceptable, as different definitions are used as to render a proper comparison quite useless.

What is needed is a proper comparison of the crime statistics for the three countries.

For instance, homicide per 100,000 population is 1.09 cases in Japan, 0.26 cases in Hong Kong but 2.12 in Malaysia; while rape per 100,000 population is 1.62 in Japan, 1.54 in Hong Kong while in Malaysia it is 11.47. For robbery per 100,000 population, it is 4.78 for Japan, 17.56 for Hong Kong while 90.49 for Malaysia.

With these shocking statistics about violent crimes for the three countries, how could the IGP be so irresponsible as to mislead the Cabinet and the National Economic Council to believe that Malaysia is safer than Japan and Hong Kong?

If the Cabinet Ministers and National Economic Council members can so easily buy the bluff of the IGP, I challenge them to walk the streets of Johore Bahru and Kuala Lumpur for a day without protection – when they would have no qualms about safety in walking the streets of Tokyo and Hong Kong without protection for a day!

I call on all BN and PR MPs to take a common stand in Parliament tomorrow to reject Musa Hassan’s ridiculous ploy to explain away the worsening crime index with a statistical sleight-of-hand by claiming that it is purely a problem of misperception and to demand full police accountability, responsibility and transparency for the galloping crime situation in the country where Malaysians, tourists and investors have lost their fundamental right to be free from crime and the fear of crime.

1. #1 by bentoh on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 11:54 am

Last paragraph… BN and PR MPs, not PK… ;)

2. #2 by monsterball on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 11:59 am

Anything spoken by UMNO people are taken as..gospel truths.
    Anyone challenging the figures given by IGP …is given the deaf ears.
    Any UMNO brave member dare to mix like a true Malaysian is sacked without appeals allowed.
    I recalled 30 years ago…before Mahathir..so many oppositions mix with each other….with no one being sacked.
    UMNO is saying..you are with me..or against me…no but…if.. or why.
    UMNO is for or against….just as I keep telling the commentators…be for or against and not to be …agree to disagree….in commenting.
    We must stand united….to vote these buggers out for good.
    May IGP be 100% correct….or thousands of innocent victims..will curse him forever.

3. #3 by The Enforcer on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 12:00 pm

Greatest joke of the day!
    Maybe he just wants to ‘shiok sendiri’ otherwise he’ll be deemed as INCOMPETENT which he is! ( but very competent with the ISA act)
    Uncle YB Lim, please make him explain where the heck the figures are obtained from. He can’t fool the RAKYAT!

4. #4 by hadi on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 12:02 pm

I am so surprise and bewildered how could one easily swallowed the statistic that was presented. Knowingly that you need to know the background of the figure presented and of how was the data gathering conducted. Even the person presenting the statistic, his credibility is questionable.
    Wow! YB Kit, didn’t know that Malaysians MPs from both divide are stupid and idiotic. Or else PR MPS might put it straight to the minister’s face that if he wants to cheat don’t do it to the rakyat but he can bluff Bik mama at home. Despicable liar.

5. #5 by ipohMali on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 12:06 pm

another “denial syndrome” attack.
    ohh.. maybe he too excited read the statistic belongs to “crime solved”…

6. #6 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 12:11 pm

What can one say about an IGP that just discovered he has a Mat Rempit problem when all and sundry has been yelling from the treetops about the problem for several years. And this same IGP as recent as a few days ago is still harping about the 60,000 new recruits required – a figure that was thrown up 5 years ago during IGP Bakri’s time when the Royal Commission of police misconduct was set up. This means he either has his head buried in the sand or he does not have a clue what he is doing.

And with his misleading briefing to the Cabinet and National Economic Council, it is a case of the one eyed man leading the blind. And the Cabinet and Economic Council is eagerly to swallowing this twisted statistic because the IGP is telling them what they want to hear, which is the crime situation is under control and they can spew this same rubbish to interested parties and investors.

Ask the IGP and the Cabinet to send their female family members to walk around JB with their handbags for a week. Better still do it in the late evening or at night. And just to drive the point home, three days ago, a young sales assistant was killed at a bus stop in Taman Perling that is a short distance away from the spot where a female shop assistant was also killed a few years ago and which prompted the signature campaign to improve the security situation in JB. While the IGP is still working on his 60,000 new recruits, the criminals are still running rampant.

7. #7 by mm on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 12:11 pm

Anyone interest about how Malaya Constitution prepare.

Here it is the Reid Commission Federation of Malaya Constitution Report

http://www.digitalibrary.my/dmdocuments/malaysiakini/223_report%20of%20federation%20of%20malaya%20constitutional%20commission%20%201957.pdf

8. #8 by AhPek on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 12:26 pm

Musa’s claim of 772 crimes per 100,000 residents as compared with Singapore’s
    statistic’s of 704crimes per 100,000 is certainly impressive,and it would definitely put Malaysia as one of the safest place on earth for Hong kong,Japan
    and Australia cannot come any near to Malaysia according to the statistics.But if you ask the ordinary Joe in the street many would have sob stories to tell,either of their own experience or their friends or relatives.Musa has even questioned the perceptions of tourists and investors.
    Musa,there is only one thing and that is the reason public,tourists and the investors have about safety in Malaysia can only come from their own personal experience as well as those close to them.What is worse is that those painting from your police statistics can only mean 2 things:
    (a) The figures provided are doctored.

(b) Many many cases of crime go unreported.
    Why they go unreported? Is it due to the fact that the public has lost confidence in your police for they feel there is not much use and a complete waste of time in reporting since nothing is done.
    The public perception is that the police is very corrupt,and if you are acting as an IGP should you would be all too glad to accept IPCMC.Why is it not implemented?
    All these are very damaging to the police for the public to have such an image of their police,and no top police boss would stay still not having a go in trying to turnaround the public’s perception and improve the image.But you what did you do—-deny,deny,deny plus throw in as many justifications it is not so.
    YOU ARE SIMPLY AN AMAZING BIG POLICE CHIEFonly to be found in BOLEHLAND!!

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 12:40 pm

Is there an index for money politics? We accuse each other of money politics daily but nothing is done.

If ever there is such an index, we will beat everyone hands down, and under the table. You know what I mean.

10. #10 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:00 pm

So it’s not only Pok Loh who failed statistics in university, there’s also the IGP.

There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics. The statement refers to the persuasive power of numbers, the use of statistics to bolster weak arguments, and the tendency of people to disparage statistics that do not support their positions.

11. #11 by yellowkingdom on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:04 pm

Yes, raise the point in Parliament. Let’s hold the IGP accountable for his ridiculous statements and statistics aimed to mislead others. I do not feel our streets are safe. I have to pay RM60 for neighbourhood security on top of the taxes I pay every year to the govt. What do I get? The chief honcho spewing lies to cover his ineptness and poor policing strategies. Enough is enough! Implement the IPCMC!

12. #12 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:11 pm

Of course the IGP can mislead his audience by his set of statistics.His audience are those flanked by bodyguards and fully protected wherever they go.So these people are not like ordinary folks like us.They may believe his figures but men in the street will scoff it off as mere lies.

13. #13 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:34 pm

Please do ask this Musa guy to let his primary school children walk to school everyday like the kids in Japan. Get his wife to walk alone at night like everybody can in Japan, Hong Kong and Singapore. Ask him to put his gun and badge away and walk around at night in KL and JB.
    I have been staying in Japan for 2 years and travel overseas very often. I can say that there is no other country where primary school children can walk alone unattended to school everyday and not be harmed.

One thought comes to mind when Musa presents such statistics. I will not say that it is all untrue if it is really based on the statistics that the police have in their possession.
    1) Try calling 999 and you will see how efficient the police are in responding to emergency call. If they dont pick up your call, it will not be filed as a crime.
    2) When the police do go to your place, they make fun of you, laugh at you, ask you to “settle” or what crap, then it will not be filed as a report. end of story.
    3) Where do you see police in our country? Fighting crime? spray chemical laced water at the people? Block roads? Give out saman which can “settle”? Catch people for ISA? How to have high crime statistics if there is no action taken?

I am seriously thinking of moving my parents out of Malaysia to live in a much safer country. No point staying where you may get killed so easily and the police just come, crack a few jokes and go back to their kuih in the office.

14. #14 by AhPek on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:48 pm

But who would believe you,you hasn’t got any proof.But IGP,he carries statistics that says that Malaysia is one of the safest place on this planet! He got to be right cos he is big police chief.You only carry tales of what Joe Public,touriste and investors say.

15. #15 by hennesy on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 2:30 pm

Dun look so far away in Japan & Hong Kong. Just visit our neighbor, Singapore. Notice ladies & old citizens walking the streets in the late evening? Some alone reading their newspapers, magazines & books quietly in blissful ignorance of the surroundings? How did they come to that level of confidence?

I challenge the IGP to don a casual wear, leave his pistol at the office & try walk about anywhere in Klang, KL City or JB. Maybe bring his wife or daughter along, MAKE sure they accessorize themselves with a handbag each! After that, I will take his word on the report is true.

16. #16 by mata_kucing on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 2:39 pm

The difference here is that in the countries mentioned, crimes are reported and handled professionally by the police. In Malaysia, people just don’t bother to report knowing that the police will either do nothing or couldn’t do anything. I know of at least three cases including in our neighbourhood including a relative who had been victims of snatch thieves and none bother to report the case. Saying that our crime rate is lower than countries like Australia and Japan is pure nonsense. Those who have lived in these countries will attest to it. The IGP is too involved in politics to notice our crime rate.

17. #17 by bentoh on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 3:11 pm

I think Uncle Kit should give credit to his junior parliamentarian and party colleague for the analysis… ;)

http://tonypua.blogspot.com/2008/12/crime-is-all-perception.html

But then we know anything published here is by default a press statement, Tony Pua’s not… ;)

18. #18 by Loh on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 3:31 pm

///For instance, homicide per 100,000 population is 1.09 cases in Japan, 0.26 cases in Hong Kong but 2.12 in Malaysia; while rape per 100,000 population is 1.62 in Japan, 1.54 in Hong Kong while in Malaysia it is 11.47. For robbery per 100,000 population, it is 4.78 for Japan, 17.56 for Hong Kong while 90.49 for Malaysia.///

Robbery, rape and murder are serious crimes that would force people off the street. For these categories, the comparison is 104 per 100,000 for Malaysia, 19.36 for Hong Kong, and 7.5 for Japan. The ratios are 13.8 to 2.5 to 1, or serious crimes in Malaysia are 14 times that of Japan, 5.5 times that of Hong Kong per unit population.

///Musa has claimed that figures show that Malaysia is a relatively safe country with 772 crimes for every 100,000 residents in the country. This ratio compares favourably with Hong Kong where there are 1,166 cases for every 100,000 residents; Japan 1,569 cases and Australia 4,470 cases.///

Apart from the serious crimes, the comparison of incidence of minor offences for the three countries is 668, 1147, 1561 per 100,000 for Malaysia, Hong Kong and Japan correspondingly. The numbers for the remaining minor crimes are higher for Japan and Hong Kong beg the question of what the figures relate to. Could the number include traffic offences in Hong Kong and Japan? Or are criminals in Malaysia specialized in serious crimes?

The rampant occurrences of crimes in Malaysia over time have made Malaysians lost their confidence in the ability of police to solve crimes, and they have resigned not to report such incidences when they have occurred. We have also heard reports that police stations have refused to record incidences of snatch thieveries declaring that the police cannot be expected to arrest the perpetrators. There was also a case about house break-in where one shop keeper reported it to a nearby police station. He has since been receiving police investigators who wanted to learn more about the event, claiming that investigation was in progress. The shop keeper was asked to show appreciation after each visit, and he regrets having made that police report. The low figures of crimes in Malaysia is a result of under reporting caused both by victims having learned the lessons, or victims not able to get the events reported. As for Hong Kong and Japan, ratio of minor crimes compared to serious crimes are so high compared to Malaysia that we have to believe either that criminals in the different countries have different psychology make up or the figures do not relate to the same things.

The fact that Malaysia needed to have a reform on its police force, and the ACA would wish to model after ICAC proves only that Malaysia is less efficient in crime suppression. It would be against our common sense to expect that Malaysia would have a lower crime rate compared to countries which have a more efficient police force. The IGP would naturally use whatever figures he can lay his hands to inflate his department’s performance. But for a waiting Prime Minister to jump on the figure and to claim that the crime rates in Hong Kong and Japan are higher than in Malaysia, and so less safe than in Malaysia create doubts on his ability to use his common sense. If Malaysia is that safe, there would not be a need for residential housing estates to engage private security guards. That precaution is not even needed in Thailand, and is not needed in Japan. Japanese will tell us that it is safe to walk alone in Tokyo at all hour, but we cannot say the same about Johor Bahru. If Johore Bahru has been safe compared to Hong Kong and Japan, the government during TDM’s reign wouldn’t have needed to organize protest against Singapore for comments on the standard of public safety in that city. Najib is certain that Hong Kong and Japan would not need to react to his statement because he knew that rumours stop at those who have a brain. But he would certainly look sheepish facing leaders from these countries.

19. #19 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 3:49 pm

Yeah, and poverty, too is all perception. The beggars you see are not really poor, they have billions in their bank accounts, more than our ministers have. The poor are only pretending to be poor. They are too stingy to withdraw money from their banks and so prefer to let their hungry children cry to sleep. And death is also a perception– Altantoyo is not dead but happily galloping on her horse in the mongolian steppes.

20. #20 by seage on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 3:50 pm

Hahaha, spot on YB Kit! These jokers always gave excuses that qualifies for the best jokes of the year! I still remember once that crime stats has gone up and the excuse given was that “The actual crime did not increase. The numbers in the stats increased because once, the victim don’t bother to report their case but now the rakyat’s confidence and faith towards the PDRM has increased, thus more ppl actually reporting their case”. I tell you man… I totally pengz + somersault on that excuse HAHAHAHAHAH!

21. #21 by FY Lim on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 3:58 pm

Certainly, the statistics need to be reviewed in the light of realities on the ground and the peoples’ perception of being safe. Unless certain data are deliberately omitted, there is no way that our crime rate is comparable or better than Japan and Hong Kong.

Our police force is only ” bluffing ” themselves and yet the ordinary rakyat had to undergo the pains of being a victim to crime.

The country should not go into a state of denial and giving different reasons for crime incidents which are not congruent at times. At one time our IGP on explaining why the rising crime rate gave insufficient manpower , police vehicles and supporting personnel and even went to explained that in the short term he will try to get retired policemen to fill the vacuum.The PM immediately authorised additional manpower and hardware.

Now our IGP is saying that the crime rate is anything but safe !

Aren’t we hoodwinking ourselves ?

22. #22 by miles on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 4:11 pm

Our authorities are seriously infected by \Denial\ virus, those who are not infected will be sacked.

23. #23 by chris chong on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 4:16 pm

all these BN goons are not busy robbing the rakyat upside down, where do they get the time to read the report in detail.

and somehow i believe some of the crimes are done by our “darest” PDRM themselve.

24. #24 by simon041155 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 4:18 pm

772 crimes for every 100,000 residents in the country? LOL, it seems like a nice, credible figure. Can’t be lower than Singapore, right? And if Singapore reports 204, I bet the IGP’s figure will be 272. After all, who is auditing? He can say any figure he like, right? Only God knows, and he will be accountable to God eventually.

25. #25 by AhPek on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 4:38 pm

Toyol also have some reports to refer to when he announced that Selangor education school system is world class saying something like being as good as if not better than Singapore’s!

26. #26 by madmix on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 4:38 pm

Economy: very resilient and little affected by world turmoil. Very experienced experts handling the situation. Do not worry.
    Crime: very low; even better than Japan, HK and Australia. Do not worry, Malaysia is a very safe country.
    Health: best in the world for handling Haj pilgrims.
    Education: world class. Many awards in international expos.
    Social: Best racial harmony in the world despite the Ketuanan thing.
    Business: Glocal.
    Science and technology: Can send man into space. Many corridors for IT, biotech, tongkat ali..
    Why DAP always like that? our country in safe hands.

27. #27 by hiro on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 5:20 pm

There was a spin in one of the papers today that gave the impression that IGP had a tough time handling questions at the Economic Council meeting. But the end result is for all to see – Najib actually endorses his point of view. What does IGP have on Najib that subvert common sense to a perversion of truth so much like the Animal Farm, I hope one day we’ll find out – probably long after Musa quits as IGP.

28. #28 by madmix on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 5:27 pm

Every thing is hunky dory; see what I mean:

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 3 ? Malaysia is only feeling the minimum impact of the global economic crisis and financial meltdown, Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Kong Cho Ha told the Dewan Negara today.

Reaffirming the country’s economic fundamentals were sound and strong, Kong said Malaysia has not been directly exposed to the full impact of the global financial crisis.

“It is only feeling the pinch indirectly from the minimum impact of the sub-prime mortgage crisis cushioned by the strong domestic economy,” he said when replying to a supplementary question from Senator Maijol Mahap during question time.

He said the country’s national reserves were still strong at 37 per cent of the Gross National Product, a clear indication of the nation’s surplus liquidity that can be financed to generate economic activities.

The country’s banking sector was also stable, with the non-performing loan rate at 2.4 per cent and the risk weighted capital ratio at 12.6 per cent, far above the eight per cent limit of the international standard, he said. ? Bernama

29. #29 by monsterball on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 5:33 pm

madmix….Without DAP… “always like that”..you may not be alive to talk like that too.
    Our country is filthy rich..so money can withstand thunderstorms….not because of UMNO good managements.
    Crime rate…WHO KNOWS!! Except…almost all shops in Subang Jaya SS15…got robbed..burgled…snacked thieves…cars stolen…..thousands of cases……not solved.
    People are dying like flies…except…no proof whether it is health or due to lousy doctors. More and more are diagnosed with high blood pressures and diabetes.
    Our Social outside is very good….as vast majority is not being influenced by UMNO race and religion politics.
    This is our greatest strength to day….that UMNO fears.
    Najib is trying very hard to play..how to agree to disagree.hoping to win votes. Ultras…like Jamaluddin…stick to dirty race politics.
    Business??….Not too bad…those crooks steal and steal..and need to spend and spend..therefore….in the end…some goes back to traders.
    Science and Technology??…Why the terrorist are laughing….leaving us in peace…..hantus….putting man in space.

30. #30 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 5:44 pm

madmix Today at 16: 38.28 (Cont.)

Leaders: The best in the world, and PM failed Statistics 101 in university

Astronaut: Space tourist charges RM8,000 an hour for “lecturing”

Defence: So strong that the terrorists attacked Mumbai instead of KL

Graduates: Cannot string together a sentence in English, so unemployed

31. #31 by voice_70 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 5:54 pm

Such atrocious lies. Must be trying real hard to pull so much wool over our eyes. Still think that the rakyat are stupid!! Some of us lived in those countries that was benchmarked and we still have friends out there who clearly disagree with such foolish statistics.

32. #32 by melurian on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 6:06 pm

u must understand, our rakyat will be strong (and conscious) with all these crimes happened. look at sgpura, many ppl there apathy and kiasu because of so safe. look at hongkong, ppl kena cussed, whacked and even chopped the civilians buat tak tau onli (no one dare to stand up). in japan, an insane use knife chopping ppl and no ppl dar eto stop him. there’s saying with more war, the soldier becomes more efficient. in malaysia, when snatch thief spotted, we got mob work hand-in-hand beat him up.

33. #33 by c730427 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 6:20 pm

Few reasons why many do not want to send their children to government schools.

1.Our general education system and competitive knowledge is weaker than ever. Most of the leaders lack the exposure and caliber to deal with numbers. Their passion to serve the nation and people is questionable.

2. How reliable is our statistics compared to the developed nations. What is the ratio for non reported and reported crimes?

3. A crime is a crime and we have to look at it seriously regardless how safe we are. Being better than Japan or Singapore does not mean that Police could relax. Such relax attitude will only put them in shame. On the contrary, putting the pressure entirely onto the members of PDRM is unfair because most police department are under either staffs or face budget constrain. Question is, we should ask how much budget is allocated for police patrol compared to the billions intended to spent on choppers and IT system.

34. #34 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 6:30 pm

But NAJIB feels very safe – the guy has so many bodyguards that 2 have been accused of murder most foul.
    There was a break-in in my JB house this morning in Taman Melodies. I was out for about 3.5 hours and they broke the lock bracket of the iron grilles and the alarm had not been activated – that was my fault.
    They did not get much this time as the house is in a mess prior to shifting to a smaller house.
    I called the police and the phone response was better this time compared to a similar incident about 10 years ago.
    The police came to have a look-see and told me to make the report in town.

35. #35 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 6:52 pm

its by-product of ketuanan NEP, bribery, lies….sad but true

36. #36 by BaronV on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 7:41 pm

to say that malaysia has less crime than JAPAN?? Thats the most ridiculous peice of nonsense I have ever heard! There is clearly manipulation of the statistics…and besides statistics often distorts the situation on the ground.

Can the IGP go on record to say directly to the malaysian and Japanese people that Malaysia is safer than Japan? Word for word?! NO WAY! because Japan is universally accepted as one of the SAFEST COUNTRIES ON EARTH. Unlike malaysia where people are scared for their own safety in their own homes and neighbourhoods in broad daylight!

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 8:07 pm

The IGP should walk KL at night with his pants down to see what could happen to him.

38. #38 by Ramesh Laxman on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 8:46 pm

I think that IGP is correct. Drive to all police stations and you will find that the Proton Wajar Police cars are all neatly parked in the compound. There can only be one reason for this- no one calls for them because there is no crime in Kuala Lumpur.

39. #39 by williamtan on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 9:09 pm

I wonder what the Japs and Aussie’s think of Najib’s ‘perception’….. Malaysia safer than Japan!?? LOL. No need stats to know the truth.

40. #40 by williamtan on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 9:21 pm

Malaysia safe? Shall we do a simple survey here? Question : Have you ever personally experience crime before?

Mine is twice. First one happend 10 yeras ago, saw thief broke into my car middle of night, try confronting him and nearly got whacked by helmet….he got away. No report made.

Second time was during Raya this year, again car got broken into, side windscreeen smashed, thief snatched laptop bag (no PC inside)…..4 hrs later, my bag was recovered by petrol station attendant….thief discarded bag upon finding no loot. A police report was made.

My mom was also a victim of snatch thief, no injuries though and my dad was nearly a victim of road rage, the driver pulls out a gun!

How about you people?

41. #41 by monsterball on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 9:37 pm

IGP can walk with pants down…all run away!
    BUSOK BAU…SIAPA NAK ORANG TUA…BULOM BERAK?
    But walk with few pocket full of money…wear Rolex watch…see what happen.
    IGP or no IGP….hungry and desperate people know no laws..no person..nor care what happen to themselves.
    That is why…so important to get rid of poverty.

42. #42 by rubini on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 9:59 pm

I currently work in UK, have worked in Italy, Switzerland & Dubai. Each time i see a policeman in the UK, i feel more assured of my personnel safety. I have no qualm walking in the middle of the night in the UK.

Recently, the UK police solved the murders of 2 person committed 14 & 17 years ago. The police here are well mannered & very professional. If are @ Westminister, there about 4 – 5 policemen to guide the thousands of tourist to the Buckingham Palace.

Each time i see a policeman back home, my mind goes, “How much this guy wants?

43. #43 by son of perpaduan on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:05 pm

This goverment always use figure statistic to give excuse. Shame on you using figure to escape responsibility for those who lost the love one. I hate the traffic police too who always compare the death life lost on their so call road accident during raya death toll countdown. ”Repudiation goverment”

44. #44 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:49 pm

lets bet that the lingam case will conclude with no case to answer

45. #45 by riversandlakes on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:58 pm

Liar, liar, pants on fire.

Shame, shame. The jokers we have to govern over us.

46. #46 by storm62 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:59 pm

YB Lim & readers, sorry out of topic but of interest.

“ISA hak Melayu”…..must watch the 2nd video!!!

http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/12/02/isa-the-reasoned-arguments-against-and-the-mindless-support-for-its-retention/#comment-33164

47. #47 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 11:20 pm

YB, he made a mistake, actually he wanted to compare with Mamak’s good neighbor: Zimbabwe! At the moment we will still win hand-down!
    One has just to listen to the slogans of Bolehland, we will beat everyone very soon; others are less boleh than us because we slogan more than others!!
    There seems to be only one cure: unless the fundamental mind-set is changed; otherwise there will be no light at the end of this Bolehland tunnel!

48. #48 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 1:34 am

For those who have not made a police report recently, the good news is that the system is computerised and you do not need to go back a few days later to collect the report.
    I reported my house break-in and the people at the station were courteous without the previous “why bother to report? Biasa” attitude.
    After I got the report I was asked to see the Sergaent and after a brief chat he told me to go home as he wanted to see the scene – he came after 30 minutes and took some photos of the damage.
    The poor guy was on medication as he was sick and told me he was on duty as they were short of staff.
    So it’s not fair to blame all policemen as bad.
    It is those who interact with politicians who lose track of their proper duties.

49. #49 by de_Enigma on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 1:50 am

This is a story I heard, it could be rumor so judge wisely :)

This guy’s car is robbed from him, he dialed emergency number and informed the police. In mean time, he managed to get his friends to drive him and chased after the robber. Robber failed to drive out of the traffic, then fled on foot. Police arrived, report is made, car is to be kept by police for investigation purposes. A week later, he finally able to collect back his car (After some kopi – bcos he really need to use the car). Miraculously, the robber managed to take away the car radio and sound system sets.

If the above is true, that can really help explains:
    1. Reason why it seems everyone have came across crime.
    2. The reported case geared down, albeit still increasing.
    3. Why now I dare not take a 5 minutes walk to my favorite mamak stall at night and rather drive so i can stay safe.

50. #50 by disapointed86 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 2:39 am

oh my god..how the hell he managed to utter those words..He is totally out of his mind?? Malaysia is safer compare to HK and Japan? even the blind and deaf know that he is bullsh1tting..if what he said is broadcasted throughout the world..Malaysia will be the laughing stock of the world…he may even enter Guinness book of record as the no.1 cheater cum liar in the world..my god..if he is truely right…oh pls..is he educated anyway?? WORST IGP in the history of Malaysia History…God safe him..:X

51. #51 by chengho on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 4:44 am

Our Police force should act tough like in Singapore , Hong Kong dan Japan no non sense with every sector of community being that government ,opposition ,Ngo,etc.

Anybody come forward for RakanCop programme?
    Review Police payroll ( too low ) you will attract talent if you pay well.

52. #52 by Kathy on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:23 am

This is all in Musa’s perception that Malaysia is safer than Japan, Singapore and Hong Kong. Sorry to say if he got all the statistical information from the reports made, etc., then he is really in deep trouble. There are many crimes that are not reported and worse still, when we go to the police station to make a report, we are told not to since they, the police would not be able to catch the criminals anyway.

Too many excuses and too little manpower to safe guard the citizens of the country.

53. #53 by k1980 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:38 am

Had Altantooya visited Japan, Singapore or Hong Kong instead of KL in 2007, she would still remain in 1 piece today. The same goes for Cannie Ong

54. #54 by taiking on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:14 am

They obviously thought that the same number game economists play can be applied to explain crime rates and index. For sometime I was in Singapore, UK and HK. Never in any of those places do I feel as fearful as I am in KL of being mugged, of being beaten up silly by mat rempits, of being knifed, of being ran over by some god’s foresaken drivers, of being burgled, of being protected by ISA; and now that I hv a family, of being …

Umno has decided to replace a sleepy head with a deceiver.

I invite umnoputras to come to town without their bodyguards on public holidays. Let them be surrounded by tens of thousand of “bumiputra-to-be”s. By the way bumiputras-to-be are also tuans-to-be. Malaysia must be the only country in the world that has imported Tuans.

55. #55 by sizzerpac on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:54 am

Musa could’ve said Malaysia is much safer than indonesia. Although its still a stupid comparison but at least its believable. They shouldn’t have brought in Japan and Hong Kong. And to think that our DPM repeated these statements on press conference. God bless Malaysia. Next they’ll be saying Malaysia’s standard of living is better than Singapore..

56. #56 by AhPek on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 10:45 am

taiking,
    Are you sure he is only a deceiver only and not a m_ _ _ _ _ _ _ .