End the NEP in the universities as the first step to restore a world-class university system

Malaysia is losing out in the unrelenting battle for international competitiveness among nations, with Malaysian universities even losing out to Southeast Asian universities in Thailand, Indonesia and Philippines and to universities in Africa and South America – something completely unthinkable in the first three decades of our nationhood.

For the second consecutive year, Malaysia had fallen completely out of the list of the world’s Top 200 Universities this year in the 2008 Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) – Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings.

The national shame of Malaysia falling completely out of the list of the world’s Top 200 Universities this year in the 2008 Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) – Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings is being compounded by the ignominy of Malaysian universities losing out not only to top universities in Singapore, China, Japan, Hong Kong, Taiwan and South Korea but also to other South East Asian nations like Thailand, Indonesia and Philippines, as well to those in Africa and South America – like the University of Cape Town (No. 179 in 2008 THES-QS ranking), the University of Sao Paulo (Brazil No. 196) ) and the University of Buenos Aires (Argentina No. 197).

For the second consecutive year, there is not only not a single university in the 2008 THES-QS Top 200 Universities list, there is also not a single university in the separate ranking of Top 100 Universities for five subject areas – Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities; Life Sciences and Biomedicine; and Technology.

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) and Universiti Malaya (UM) were in the 2006 Ranking, placed No. 185 and 192 respectively. UKM plunged to 309 last year and improved to 250 this year while UM fell to 246 last year improving slightly to 230 this year – but both remain outside the Top 200 Universities ranking.

The government named Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) as the Apex University but it has a dismal international rankings after being included once in the Top 200 Universities list – No. 111 in 2004, No. 326 in 2005, 277 in 2006, No. 307 in 2007 and No. 313 in 2008.

It is both sad and pathetic that our Apex University, the USM, at No. 313 ranking, is not only left far behind in South East Asia by Singapore (National University of Singapore No. 30 and Nanyang Technological University No. 77) but also by Thailand (Chulalongkorn University No. 166), Indonesia (University of Indonesia No. 287) and the Philippines (Ateneo de Manila University No. 254 and University of the Philippines No. 276).

Until last year, Malaysian universities were all ranked well ahead of the Indonesian universities, but in the 2008 THES-QS World Top Universities ranking, Indonesian universities are catching up with Malaysian universities in leaps and bounds.

The performance of Malaysian universities in the 2008 THES-QS Top 100 lists for the five subject areas are even more dismal, with not a single university making into the five lists for two years consecutively although Malaysia secured four of these 500 prestigious slots in 2006 – University of Malaya was ranked 49 in Social Sciences and 95 in Natural Sciences, UKM was placed No. 62 in Natural Sciences, and University Sains Malaysia placed No. 96 for Life Sciences and Biomedicine.

After being placed in four of the 500 slots in the five Top 100 Universities for the five subjects in 2006, Malaysian universities has been conspicuously missing from all the five listings of Top 100 Universities for the five categories for the past two years.

There are over 30 “elite of elite” universities, which are not only ranked in the Top 200 Universities list, but also ranked in every one of the five Top 100 subject list.

Universities in the Asia-Pacific region which are in this exclusive “elite of elites” list include six in Australia, two in China, one each in Japan, Hong Kong, Singapore and South Korea. Why is Malaysia not in this “elite of elites” listing and when will Malaysia have a university which will have all-round excellence as to be included in this list?

Malaysians have not been told the real and true reasons for the shocking performance of Malaysian universities in the THES-QS Top 200 Universities ranking. Malaysian universities have been consistent in increasingly deplorable results in world rankings, whether the THES-QS, Shanghai Jiao Tong University World’s Best 500 Universities or the Newsweek’s Top 100 Global Universities.

If the government is serious in wanting to create a world-class university system, it must end the New Economic Policy (NEP) in the universities and fully restore the policy of meritocracy and academic excellence coupled with social need to provide university education opportunities to economically-backward Malaysians regardless of race.

It is the NEP policy and mentality which caused University of Malaya to fall 200 rankings behind University of Singapore in less than four decades as both universities had started on the same footing some 50 years ago. University of Malaya is ranked No. 230 as compared to the 30th ranking for National University of Singapore.

If Malaysia is to get back to the trail of world-class academic excellence, all universities should be allowed to enroll the most qualified students, employ the most competent professors and researchers with competitive remunerations and restore a culture of academic excellence and freedom.

For a start, the Higher Education Minister must ask the Cabinet to end the present fraudulent meritocracy using both STPM and matriculation by having a common university entrance examination.

This is the recommendation of the World Bank study on “Malaysia and the Knowledge Economy: Building a World-Class Higher Education System” submitted to the government in March last year.

Let the Higher Education Minister, Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin tell Parliament and the nation what action his ministry has taken on the recommendations of the World Bank study to bring about the institutional changes without which there is no way for Malaysian universities to return to world-class university status.

(Speech in Parliament on the Ministry of Higher Education in the 2009 Budget debate on Wednesday, 3rd December 2008)

1. #1 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:10 am

How many universities are there in Malaysia today? There were three the last time I counted.

2. #2 by Kathy on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:17 am

Undergrad, are u sure there are only there? Thought we lost all the universities already.

3. #3 by -ec- on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:37 am

is it too easy to score As (be it 16As, 18As, 20As etc.) nowadays in out public education? that is quite rare in my time. but these students go on to the universities (1) that make them unemployed upon graduation and (2) make our universities less competitive in the region (and lower the quality of tertiary education). is this something wrong? is the ministry of education trying to give a public perception to the general public that our education is getting better and better, our students are getting smarter and smarter?

is the appointment of APEX university another product of ‘manipulating’ public perception? i wonder.

whoever that are educating our students are not doing their job properly! they become the products of poor policies and poor quality of the educators. we have to hold the ministry of education and the ministry of higher education responsible. no doubt.

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:41 am

Those days we were proud to be referred to as “university students” and members of the public looked up to us. We lined up the streets in protest of both domestic and foreign policies of the UMNO led government, fighting off tear gas cannisters and red helmeted men in blue with batons and shields as their leader toyed with his bell on top of his armoured vehicle.

What happened since? Today university students have become a docile lot incapable of rational and independent thinking.

University of Malaya once the pride of the country has fallen off the charts.

5. #5 by Evenmind on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:41 am

The rot is gonna get even worse ,not to worry, as race base politics is set to dominate this country forever, they don’t care two hoods about the rankings , all they care is to dupe the malays that they are supreme , never mind the education level , for the selected ones would continue to make money out of the ruse of NEP., cos tey the rest of the citizens are idiots.

6. #6 by delon85 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:47 am

The ministries arent bothered to maintain the system that is currently in place, let alone change them for better. This issue has gone on for years and no one is listening. Did the previous MHE did anything to improve on the rankings? How about the current MHE? I bet you they will say that the rankings are biased and a whole lot of other nonsense. Or it’s hard to improve and whole lot of other unreasonable excuse. It’s yesterday once again.

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:47 am

Those days only 1 in every 3 university students is a Malay.

8. #8 by chengho on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:51 am

WE want a balance student not only for their A’s and spending time at the library and wearing thick glasses but also their achievement in sport , club,union,culture,debate and other healthy extra coco activities. all these activities will inculcate creativity and maturity.
    Today very seldom we hear varsity sport carnival , varsity musical festival , cultural show,etc not to mention inter varsity games,etc.
    We do not want to produce robot ( even how clever is the robot ) we want our university to produce great future generation and future leaders.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:56 am

Those days the top student in the class had only a couple of As and Bs to show and he or she would move on to get a Colombo Plan scholarship and one may end up being a Rhodes scholar. Today we talk about more As than you have fingers.

Does that mean our students are today many times more intelligent than those who came before them??

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:07 am

Those days our examination scripts were corrected overseas by University of Cambridge, Local Examinations Syndicate in collaboration with University of Singapore and University of Malaya. For GCE or Form Five our scripts were corrected by University of Cambridge and Local Examinations Syndicate.

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:10 am

So what the f@*k happened??

12. #12 by xaviers on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:19 am

Knowing our dear fellas… they will be comparing with the ones below us. Proclaiming that Malaysian Uni’s are better than them.

We all know ..that nothing will change.. so rejoice we are getting a bigger number next year.

13. #13 by lee wee tak_ on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:27 am

they just booted out a lady honcho in MU that put some fight in it.

can’t even tolerate a fellow Malay who insisted on hard work, high standard etc (?)

I gather in this impression from reading her interview in one of the Chinese press (maybe that’s why MM want to stop vernacular schools?)

our university is critical to produce brains that will continue to write in, listen & subscribe to MSM so I do not see a reason for the current power holders to change as this sits nicely with their strategic posturing.

Elementary, my dear Watson.

I am proud to say that I don’t have a degree

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:33 am

At this point, I am not even sure that ending the NEP would really push up up the rank of Top 50 anymore. In fact I am pretty sure. There are so many universities now trying to improve and govt pouring resources into it especially in China, Eastern Europe, India and Middle East. Its not the tortoise chasing hare BUT a thousand hare, antelopes, cheetahs… Just staying in the top 50 will be challenge for those in it now.. We are also stretching our little resources over too many institutions…

Frankly the boat has already sailed…

15. #15 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:04 am

The avalanche of “As” is due Grade inflation. No, more like grade manipulation to ensure that students from a certain “towering race” are able to make the cut.

In the past, only the exceptional top decile or fewer are able to score As. Now, if you arrive at the exam centre, you will be given 20 marks. If you spell your name/index number correctly on the exam paper, you will be given 20 marks. Write the date correctly and you will get another 20 marks. There you go – you have already passed the exam. And if you can string a few sentences in half-way decent, almost decipherable English, you will score an A.

16. #16 by oedipus on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:05 am

dear guys, never underestimate the ability of our young ones. one thing for sure malaysia is bleesed is her ability to produce talents from all walks of life, from all races and economic divide!

but first we have to stop the brain drain by allowing capable minds and talents to stay and nurture them in malaysia… colour blind.

that is the first step to regain some lost ground!

17. #17 by trublumsian on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:17 am

so bumno wants to abolish vernacular schools? guess they’re wising up to the fact that these schools r what’s keeping the oppressed equipped to survive outside of nep’s protectionism policies n making the bummis look bad. did mamak jr. say the high ed institutions should be one system for all too? no he didn’t. so there u go, skepticism says it is a ploy to lower non-bumis’ standards by the laggards and shut them out at the university entrance using BOTH nep n (de)meritocracy.

18. #18 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:21 am

If we look at so many things that have gone wrong today…it is the total sum of all results …with roots planted long before Dollah became PM…but are … intensified during his premiership.
    This shows Mahathir does not care about our country at all…except to steal and show off in the world politics.
    He was the only PM…who traveled to almost all the countries in the world…..spending lavishing …tax payer money.
    Since he never deny he was a Dictator for 22 years…how strange for him to deny not controlling the Police and Judicial Depts. What type of Dictator was he?
    Universities…crime rates….floods….poverty….electrical power failures….looting at government stores…police..taxis…public transport….country side roads…just to name a few….all down down down.
    Whenever I read all these bad news….I wonder how Mahathir can put out a blog with him smiling…and still instigating…still twisting and turning like a snake…with no shame ..or one bit of guilty feelings at all…….living like a retired King……..not like previous ex PM…humble and not well off….depending on monthly government funds..to get along.
    TAR never steal country money!! He gave it all..with his own..to give us freedom..and few rich friends….especially Lim Goh Thong… ever willing to make sure he is financially OK….that’s how he lived and died.
    Right now Mahathir is alive….and he should know…he is the worst PM….we ever had.
    When one never wake up to the truths…at such an old age…than ex Judge..Ian Chin.. is right.
    He is a devil.

19. #19 by trublumsian on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:27 am

which is funnier? there is a huge class of ignorant americas who can’t fill out a mcdonald’s job application or the fact that they think malaysians live in straw huts??

20. #20 by trublumsian on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:27 am

..americans

21. #21 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:39 am

Go to his blog…talking about Zaid Ibrahim….and totally forgotten his promise to reveal all UMNO crooks.
    Anything….he likes…he will say…the rumours are right…Zaid is an agent from opposition party.
    There are hundreds and hundreds of accusations and rumors about him…all are wrong??
    What a low class sick man he is.
    Zaid Ibrahim….in his very short time…in politics….have gain much more respect and being recognized as one hell of a brave man….to reward Tun Salleh and 4 others…sacked by Mahathir…putting to rest….what was Mahathir…as PM….the biggest corrupted …ruthless …cruel…and cunning creature.
    Now..the final….sickening result … thousands of UMNO members…talk and perform work …copying his style.
    Most are no more employed in commercial firm…except still in Govt.

22. #22 by truthseeker on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:46 am

Why the NEP in the first place? It is just abusing some others the right to have higher education. Why not have a good education system that benefits all? When will they realize our education standards cannot compete with others? Unfair policies needed to be abolished for the sake of our children. Clutches rights will only degrade those applied to it. Why not settle for equal competition, are they too level to compete? No. They wanted to be dependent rather than to be independent.

23. #23 by taiking on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:50 am

The fund that was meant for our universities went elsewhere. You know. Corridor here. Corridor there. Crystal this. Crystal that. Largest this. Largest that. Tallest this. Tallest that. All those sort of things. By the way what happened to our super-corridor. There the one they say is many media – there the many-media super-corridor thing. Remember? I read somewhere a few years ago. In a magazine. Some mat salleh said it is a many-media super-flop. Is it true? Flopped already ah?

Ai yah back to original topic. Sorry of track. Look! A large chunk of our money almost went to some europeans. Those fella selling something they call U-ro-kop-ter. If our umno government people take bribe hoh then at least some money will come back to malaysia.

Lucky. We have Lim Kit Siang. He made a lot of noise in parliament. Now they kiew-chui. Ha? Dont know kiew-chui ah? Shook-sui loh. Know or not! Cakap mat salleh means Shrink! Getting smaller and smaller. That means pull hand brake. Like that also dont know ah. Beh ta-han.

I think hoh they think big numbers must be good ma. One where got good. Hundred better ma. Three hundred waah lagi more better. You see hoh if I give you one dollar you want or not? If not one dollar but one hundred hoh you take or not? See my meaning? Huh? Last time hoh umno government contract only hundred hundred million. Wah now no billion also dont want touch. Dont waste time. See must think big. If not how to improve?

See i not local grad. I singapore and uk grad. Also speak like that. Local grad ok ma. Alright what? Where got problem local grad.

24. #24 by Jong on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:52 am

“So what the f@*k happened?? ” – undergrad2

It’s the f@*k-ing government, what else! And we desperately need to replaced!

25. #25 by Jong on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:52 am

oops, should read “replace”

26. #26 by AhPek on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:02 am

undergrad 2,
    That’s the trouble with you being too long away from Bolehland.
    Who says no street protest one?Bolehland must do things the ‘boleh’ way according to what that dim-wit Botak says ‘my way’.We have ‘sanctioned’ street protests here in Malaysia.The students from UiTM and all its branches came out in protest against Khalid for having the audacity to suggest admitting 10% of non Malays and with police escort to boot.Even the vice chancellor of the university has asked Khalid to apologise to the students failing which he would institute legal action against him.Can you beat that!!IN BOLEHLAND WE DO ‘BOLEH’ THINGS

27. #27 by melurian on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:22 am

why don u say, end of vernacular skools for world class education system….

28. #28 by AhPek on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:27 am

Building UiTM and operating UiTM is largely funded by non Malay taxpayer’s money. Again, Can you beat that!!!!!

29. #29 by Jan on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:46 am

Our education standard is better than most African countries and we are probably among the best in the muslim world otherwise how do you explain the number of foreign students coming to study here? Our dear leaders hope you don’t compare us with first world countries like Singapore but with fellow third world countries like Zimbabwe. Isn’t that where we belong, Third world.

30. #30 by opine on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:09 am

Come on be serious YB. To build a good university, one must allow for the freedom of thought and creativity. M’sia form of gov’t. limits speach and thought. VC are appointed not b’cos of their caliber but their association with big brother UMNO. In addition, why send your children to such campuses where the VC can bully the students (e.g. UPM VC got involved with condemning chinese student even before fact finding and got away with it. No outcry by parliament or MCA to get rid of such bully). Faculty are poor trained and uncompetitive. If their research demonstrates something contrary to the gov’t views and desires, they are silenced e.g. the wealth equity issue when the debate was going on. One cannot have good institution when you have faculty who fear for their own jobs vs. teaching and telling the truth. Good institutions pursue truth and knowledge together not in separation! I know…I am a faculty, a M’sian, working overseas!

31. #31 by techboy_88 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:21 am

education in msia has manufactured narrow-minded citizens, especially in their perception towards education itself. why so many people who scores so many As in exams through unnecessary rote memorization? in the end, once they enter universities, they are going to repeat the same manner of rote learning and memorization without knowing what are they learning in class and lectures. seriously and very true, our universities nowadays are monopolised by those rote learners who lacks the knowledge of real world and only possess “kiasu” attitudes.

32. #32 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:32 am

“What the f@*k happened?” Undergrad2

Well, the Mamakthir decided to do some social engineering. He said that we need to allocate more places to Malays, so the only way to do that was to kick meritocracy out of the window. To camouflage the disparities in standards, he instituted the matriculation system where students qualifying under matriculation (almost 100 pct Malays in those days) were put on a par with those who qualified under STPM. To quell public disquiet, he then allowed a 10 pct non-Malay enrollment in the matriculation scheme. Those who got GPAs of 3.75 and above became very common, and we must have become the envy of the US system !

The Mamakthir then went a step further. He said the Malays must be given more – a lot more – places in strategic faculties like medicine, dentistry and engineering. Yes, he said that we still had an entry system based on the racial composition of the country, but the non-Malays were totally discriminated in the strategic faculties to the point where full A grades in all subjects were not good enough to enter these strategic faculties. up to 90 pct of the places in these faculties were reserved for one race only.

So today we have doctors and dentists who can only cater for the rural folks. They can’t compete in the real world or they can’t pass the specialist degrees. The non-Malay doctors and dentists go on to be world beaters in places like Mt Elizabeth. They monopolise the specialist fields, and that made the Mamakthir and his UMNO goons even angrier.

Then they created even more universities. UNITAR, Universiti Sains Islam, Universiti Tun Hussein Onn, Universiti KL, Universiti Watcha-Call-It. We must have at least 20 universities today, and none will make it to the Top 200 in the world. Believe me – NONE.

33. #33 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:33 am

Better still, Al-Azhar University in Cairo has now stopped accepting Malaysian students, because they found that the students we send there are sub-par.

Does UMNO understand that the world is flat ?

34. #34 by k1980 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:42 am

Malaysia must learn from how Pakistan became a failed state
    Pakistan, now considered by some as the “most dangerous place on earth” was until the late 1960s a beautiful mosaic of diverse populations where people of different faiths, casts and creeds lived together peacefully.

Few remember that Pakistan’s first foreign minister, Zafarullah Khan, was a Qadiani, as was the only Pakistani Nobel laureate, physics professor Dr. Abdus Salam. Qadianis comprise a sect declared non-Muslim in Pakistan’s constitution in the late 1970s. And unbeknownst to many, Pakistan’s first Law Minister, Jogindar Nath Mandal, was Hindu.

No one at the time of Pakistan’s founding objected to a Hindu interpreting and implementing the laws of the first state established in the name of Islam. Unfortunately, however, these early indicators of lasting co-existence, cohesion and equality have eroded and Pakistan’s mosaic has become divided.

Recent sectarian strife in Pakistan can be traced to the use of religion by President General Zia ul Haq as a tool for regime legitimisation in the 1980s. His attempt to create an Islamic polity within Pakistan was a bid to gain legitimacy with the religious right, but instead divided the nation along religious lines.

http://asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1588&Itemid=180

35. #35 by 7even Sins on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:46 am

Garbage in, Garbage out..!

It is national shame indeed but I doubt those UMNOMORONS know what shame is and how to write it..! What they do best is to continue to live in denial and compare our U’s to those lousy U’s of the world and claim that we are not doing so bad after all and as usual.

When putting donkeys to run our country, this is the end result. The younger generations will be the betting chips.

36. #36 by chui lim on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:47 am

LKS’s impassioned call to enroll students and employ academic staff based on a policy of meritocracy and not the NEP to restore a culture of academic excellence to our “falling off” Universitiesmay well again fall on the deaf ears of the BN government as it is only sensitive to- the NEP.

Hiring consultants including eminent ones from the World Bank to tell us what anyone in their right mind already knows is not only a misallocation of taxpayers ‘ monies. It is another futile excercise doomed to suffer a foregone fate like so many of the reports and recomendations after recommendations which merely gather dust in the departments of incompetent toadies.

37. #37 by Kelvenho on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 12:01 pm

I agree with LKS’s comment. I also believe that the majority of the
    young educated Malays of today will share the same opinion.
    If the Malays will successful to be admitted to our local U base on
    meritocracy then I believe the private sectors will employ them more
    willingly.

38. #38 by k1980 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 12:39 pm

Why is umno claiming there is no recession? To bolster its position in the Kuala Trengganu by-election?

“We are in a recession now, and the government really has to do something about it,” PSM central committee member and Sungai Siput member of parliament Dr Michael D Jeyakumar told a press conference at the party’s headquarters in Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur.

The government stated on Saturday that Malaysia is likely to escape a recession – defined as negative economic growth for two consecutive quarters – next year, and post 3.5% growth despite the global financial crisis, due to strong consumer demand and public spending.Jeyakumar said “the financial crisis has hit the real economy,” and cited news reports of the impending retrenchment of hundreds of thousands of Malaysian workers within and outside country – 300,000 in Singapore alone – and the reduction or complete stoppage of overtime work in hundreds of factories within Malaysia.

He said in his own state of Perak, he knows of factories that have slashed their operations to four-day working weeks, some operate for only two weeks a month, and others have even closed shop due to the lack of orders.

“The sale of electronic goods, of hardware especially, such as computers and cars, have dropped,” he added.

39. #39 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 1:06 pm

How to end NEP…when it is this formula that produces..lazy…contented…low IQ Muslims…programmed to depend on UMNO for their survivals?
    This is the false hopes..false futures…false love and care for it’s own kind..to make them feel superior. To make sure Muslims listen to them….they have false titles and stolen wealth….to show ..how successful they are…dressed up like multi millionaires…all these…to brainwashed…simple Muslims..to trust them completely.
    Right thinking Malaysians know….how cruel..these devils in disguises are to their own race………keep saying Malays are not ready yet……on and on….when it is UMNO purposely making them not ready for their selfish dirty politics.
    Actually Malays are ready long ago…through education and self confidence…but UMNO cannot survive..if they are ready.
    Just watch…these few years….the art of how to win votes…..by UMNO hypocrites…banging on the hope..Malaysians are greedy and selfish..to keep voting for them.
    The signs are more goodies to be announced…to make Malaysians happy and contented…so don’t rock the boat…keep voting them in ..to manage the country.
    Anyone thrill by the latest 10sen oil reduction? Are we all not fed up with them….treating Malaysians…..like beggars?
    They take away 78 sen.with one stroke,..and now giving back little by little…when world crude oil prices…keep coming down…much lower than the 78 sen increase.
    They will have so many reasons to tell you why we get back in small installments,…and such a clear and good reason….why 78 sens must be increased.
    Checkout the pattern….and you can only conclude…corruptions behind it all…is he main reason for it all.
    But God is great…to have natural disasters and bad news for Malaysians to see the signs of hell…UMNO is leading Malaysia into.
    EPF lost money is the latest news. EPF money…or own savings ……used to gamble by UMNO…..like in A Casino…as if we do not know …how to gamble it ..ourselves.
    Why can’t they put the funds into simple saving accounts with guaranteed interest….to worldwide banks??
    Any simple smart person can tell you…extra funds….saved with guaranteed interest…….is much better than speculations.
    Now..saying EPF have lost more than 60% …compared to last quarter…all our.. so call profits… all gone!!
    This means..EPF contributors… be prepare for much lower or no bonus from their savings.
    It is as simple as ABC…to understand speculation is gambling.
    UMNO law makers…gamble…drink and be merry.
    The three evils…that sure to kill.
    We are not bankcrupt yet….because …somehow….our country is so rich with natural resources..that UMNO can juggle this and that…..to keep covering up the truths…away from Malaysians.
    Yes…oil is our biggest money earing natural resources.
    It will run dry…..very soon.
    Don’t believe and trust UMNO’s explanations..in every bad news. They never tell you the real reasons .
    Check their characters….their actions….their promises…and if any Malaysia can sincerely say….he/she can trust UMNO..he/she should have his/her head examined.

40. #40 by frankyapp on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 1:13 pm

Quantity not quality is the core reason why our national universities standard has dropped tremendrously since TDM’s time as PM. He threw away meritocray to fill up all places reserved for malay students in all our national universities at the expence of most qualified and intelligent non-malay students.At the same time the malay supremacy was established to get at all cost no matter what as many malay lecturers,and professors to replace non-malay ones. More and more national universities are established to gather more malay students,totally ingroring meritocracy.Today we find the products of what TDM’s ego of producing massive masses of university malay graduates to over take the non-malay ones.May he suceeded but unfortunately most are un-employable by the private sectors,thus he pushed most of them to the government sectors thus creating a huge over employed staffs by all sectors of the government at the expence of the rakyats’ tax money.I hope this will open the eyes of the present core of UMNO/BN leaders that malay supremacy is counter-productive and has other adversed results as well.

41. #41 by k1980 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 1:47 pm

A survey should be carried out to find the country’s worst PMs auch as the one below (for U.S.)

http://www.usnews.com/usnews/news/worstpresidents/index.htm

42. #42 by homeblogger on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 3:24 pm

Correct. The NEP only encourages the “Jaguh Kampung” attitude. For 51 years, they have become so reliant on the NEP crutches that they have forgotten how to walk on their own two feet.

43. #43 by AhPek on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 4:11 pm

The rankings of World’s Top 200 universites by THES all wrong one, YB?This biased THES has alterior motive behind it….based their parameters from western point of view and against universities from Muslim countries.

But when the stats favour them they quickly make use of it like what our IGP did to tell the world Malaysia is one of the safest country in the world,safer than Japan and also Australia!But he didn’t realise the public will not believe it because they have no faith on the credibility of his police stats like how is police stats from Japan compiled vs Malaysia.Tony Pua has mentioned in his blog that the stats supplid by our police does not include white collar crime,commercial crime and moral crime.Japanese crime in their police stats are mostly larceny ie shop-lifting (75%).If we compare violent crimes the picture changes for crimes like arson, rape,robbery,extortion to indicate Japan is a much safer place than Malaysia.Tony Pua hasn’t even mentioned anything regarding unreported cases,unreported because there is completely no faith in our police that their case will be given serious attention.
    But THES, are they believable? Are these ranking done because THES has ulterior motive?Do they have an agenda?Most people has a good amount of confidence in them.What about UMNOPUTRAS??

44. #44 by AhPek on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 4:12 pm

alterior to read ulterior

45. #45 by AhPek on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 4:20 pm

Whatever figures supplied to make whatever reports these UMNOPUTRAS want to make have to be treated with a pinch of salt.They are more likely to cook those figures to try to paint a rosy picture of their administration.

46. #46 by w2008 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 4:45 pm

We tell again and again, they would not do anythings,

We all need to read the @mm posted document to find out what the non-bumi rights before independent all our ancestor agreed.

Like Rojak mentioned that: “Anybody who desires a better, more equal Malaysia should be doing exactly what LKS is doing and pushing for what your Highnesses wanted 50 years ago: equality for all Malaysians.”

You all go to read the document bring forward to politic you know then you know what rights you have to talk with them.

Without anythings written backing, all non-bumi have no bargain to talk.

This is what we all should do find out what their special position arrangement before independent I guess.

47. #47 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 4:49 pm

How can ANYONE help the rural Malays to improve their standard of education ? All the UMNOputras want is to make a quick buck, so when there is a programme to build rural schools, the UMNOputras try to secure the contracts. They win on the basis of the highest prices but deliver the lowest quality. When there is a programme to equip the schools with computers, they win the contracts to supply at inflated prices, but then walk away without completing the contracts, or supplying substandard equipment that don’t work.

They are so good at deceiving themselves, and to continue to get the support of the rural Malays, they put the blame on others, and they create below par standards so that the rural Malays don’t realise what is happening. Everything is hunky-dory until the competition reaches our shores – and still they blame others on their misfortune.

The den of thieves must be eliminated – no two ways about it.

48. #48 by bobiee on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 5:02 pm

Remember, some ministers and university officials are oblivious and undisturbed by their shameful university ranking worldwide. They claim that the criteria for their ranking do not favour them – implying those who do the appraisal are not up to the standard. Whatever the ranking given by THES and other accredication authorities is immaterial to them. This is the prevailing attitude among authorities in Malaysia. What do you expect from the universities if their officials are unimaginative and unprofessional. They prefer to be listed as the biggest, longest, tallest, thickest by their own standard and not by international standard. This is the real blockage in Malaysia today.

49. #49 by dinotim on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 5:20 pm

Thanks to all of you, I’m ashamed now.

50. #50 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:22 pm

Ending the NEP will only be the first baby steps towards putting things right.

Even after that it will take at least 10 years to become world -class. Hey, Rome was not built in a day; so how can Malaysia-Boleh-lah?

51. #51 by taiking on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:22 pm

Lets work out a simple maths. 300,000 malaysians booted by singaporeans. If for every 3 of them, there is 1 who has purchased a property in say johore and has been paying loan instalments using his singapore earned salary then, technically we would have 100,000 properties in potential danger zone.

Assuming, 10% of them eventually failed to pay. That means 10,000 units.

If on average each of them is worth RM50,000 then the size of the problem would be RM500m.

That is not all. We would have 300,000 sources of income less being taken home from singapore. If each of them on average take home to malaysia RM1,000 a month then we would suffer a monthly loss of RM300m. If the economy cannot provide them all with employment then the loss would expand further.

Of course the computation is simplified. But its just the size of the problem that I want to demonstrate.

52. #52 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:50 pm

plssssssss…..let those idiots keep their double standards with their education system.let them hv their own \people\ be a laughing stock to the world.practically we knw those that come out with degrees barely manage to get a good and stable job.a lot of them are hot dog stall vendors.its a fact but they cudnt face it cause they wont admit anything thats shameful to them.its no big deal nowadays getting to our government universities.nothing for us to be proud of.and if ur talking abt competition…they are nothing compared to our neighbouring countries.they produce nothing but shameless corrupted goons over the past years.and they are so proud of their \ketuanan\ boolsheet thingy.we are living in the millenium…we are the people who wans to move forward with times…but these useless goons are living backwards and always lying to their own people.and they can shout to the world…malaysia boleh…hahahahaha….

53. #53 by lambo on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:58 pm

I have met with people from neighboring countries. In one meeting we compared on education standards. One person mentioned that his country form five standard is lower than Malaysia’s form three. He mentioned that it is dumb down on purpose ie. control. Now that our top university ranking is lower than this country’s. It shows that our government learnt this control technique and doing an excellent job than his government.

54. #54 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:26 pm

YB., of course all fellow Malaysians will continue to feel frustrared over such suicidal poliicy of BN towards their main supporters. How long will it take the Bumis to find out the truth and reality of this policy is the main issue.
    Simply by belittling the Community should not be carried out without a second thought. Our job is to create an awareness among them.To wake them up from this stupor! Of course, the saddest part of it, is not many among their educated class is willing to openly say it.
    With the current down-turn, the truth will be revealed. The issue of local Bumi grads seeking clerical posts isn’t new; it happened over the last 15 years! They lacked confidence so much so that they totally refused to accept job at executive level. Of course, they happily accepted jobs supervised by SPM holders!
    You and I know, with such self-perception, one can’t achieve much in life. Hence, long ago when people complained of ‘artificial’ results at SPM or matriculation levels, one should not be surprised.
    Way back in the midst sixties, such manipulation had already started. Remember the Form Six Entrance examination. We, Maths teachers were asked to read a confidential report from the ministry. The head was too pre-occupiedread we did but we had to tell the head that the report was meant for him only. It indicted that the passing mark for Maths was lowered to 10.25% for them. We all knew that 65% would be a cut-off point for others! So today, what difference would it make? During that time, even Indian students were given certain advantage; hence only the China-kwee were made to give way!
    Thinking about it, it wasn’t too bad because the China-kwees worked alot harder and smarter; just like the Yahudis!!

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 5:41 am

“Then they created even more universities. UNITAR, Universiti Sains Islam, Universiti Tun Hussein Onn, Universiti KL, Universiti Watcha-Call-It.” Godfather

How could you have missed the best of the Kg. Attap league university – University Apa-Nama? Limkamput’s alma mater, remember??

56. #56 by undergrad2 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 5:46 am

“Those who got GPAs of 3.75 and above became very common, and we must have become the envy of the US system !” Godfather

To enter Harvard and Yale you will need a GPA of no less than 3.8 if not 4.0 just to qualify. It does not guarantee admission. This should make Malaysia the envy of the world because many of its graduates are qualified to apply.

57. #57 by simon041155 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 6:57 am

Universities are one of the means to an end, and the end is “economy, economy, economy”, with social harmony being another means to the same end. Universities are institutions to help people develop and open their minds but in Malaysia, the UMNO-appointed Vice-Chancellors encourage racism, racial polarization and not to ask too many questions, especially in regards to society so that UMNO can feel safe with their corrupt practices, pulling wool over these so-called university students’ eyes. Universities in Malaysia are not really universities. They are extensions of high school, shall we call it Form 9-11? In as long as one continues to walk with crutches, don’t ever expect to win in the international arena. Throw away the crutches and I bet you can walk even faster…. unless of course, you are really disabled…. not if you are healthy. Malaysia Boleh, of course, and boleh includes Boleh Kalah!

58. #58 by disapointed86 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 7:20 am

guys….just think in this way..the best malay students will be sent overseas to continue their studies…the one left in the unis’ are of course the mediocre ones…as for the chinese…the top students will most probably going abroad if they are rich or they are lucky enough to get the govt scholarship..nevertheless..the one left in the public universities are combination of some top chinese students, mediocre chinese students and the non-standard malays…they can just hire foreigner instead of sending those students to overseas..let be the VC to be a foreigner..some of you may argue about the credibility of the foreigner..yes i do feel it in a way..but why not let them try because our varsities didnt go anywhere with the gov’s chosen VC for the past 51 years…Btw, 1 student studying in overseas alone will cost RM60,000-100,000 per ANNUM…dpending on the course..its not cheap either…and 1 more thing the MATRICULATION is driving the unis’ down the drain…some of you may ask me WHY?…1) Matriculation got easier access to Varsities…2) Matriculation standard not going any further where there is no public examination
    3) the quota for NON-BUMIs for matriculation is like 2/10(from a fren of mine saying)..4) standard of STPM is much higher than of matriculation & why they are given priority compare to STPM students?…

59. #59 by disapointed86 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 7:23 am

can i have the Keries wielding minister to answer my simple questions??… but true also they need to do this..if not malay students in the varsities will be very few compare to the chinese (non bumis)…

60. #60 by limaho on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 8:06 am

I was back in Malaysia, in August this year, after being away for 25 years. I noticed that most of the local graduates had problem conducting a conversation in English. It was, therefore, not surprising when I spotted an advertisement by a local bank in the local papers for graduate trainees who were preferably trained overseas. I was a product of the Malaysian education system, from primary to university, and I am proud of that system. I wonder if these days Malaysians can have the same pride.

61. #61 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 8:55 am

/// taiking Says:
    Yesterday at 18: 22.43
    Assuming, 10% of them eventually failed to pay. That means 10,000 units.

If on average each of them is worth RM50,000 then the size of the problem would be RM500m. ///

taiking, what problem? The size of the problem is tiny. RM500m is just a tiny drop in UMNO’s ocean – to be precise it is equivalent to only 3.53 Cougar EC725 helicopters.

You got to see things in perspective…. :)

62. #62 by taiking on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 9:26 am

I was once asked by a geordie friend this question: Why are malaysian government scholars so weak academically?. The question no doubt struck me between my eyes and triggered a little gurgle of incoherent noises from my chest, which never quite reach my lips. I was sort of silent and yet not quite silent. There are no simple answers to this question: I thought to myself. And really, at that point I was in no mood to deal with any issue that weigh more than the hydrogen molecule. And I didnt want to spend the next 48 hours with him detailing the scenario that eventually led to him to his observation. Besides, lager aint cheap to poor students like me. And 48 hours of that stuff is way overboard. “Stupid government despatching stupid students”, would have been an appropriate long and short of what I need to say in answer. But that would be an insult to him and his country for extending the acceptance. So I decided to leave the issue with the incoherent gurgle of mine and let him make what he could out of it. My time and effort were spared. His pride preserved. My country’s image not tarnished save for that observation which I avoided, and which he did not pursue. Its the lager. Believe me. Cheers.

63. #63 by Loh on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 4:54 pm

///15. Bagi mereka ini generasi akan datang akan kutuk mereka apabila orang Melayu di Malaysia sudah jadi seperti orang Melayu di Singapura di mana mereka menjadi “hamba” kepada kaum-kaum lain. Inilah nasib yang menunggu orang Melayu kerana lebih sedia disogok daripada mempertahan dan memelihara kuasa bangsa.///–TDM 2 December 2008 http://test.chedet.com/che_det/2008/12/mac-2009.html#more

TDM claims that Malay Singaporeans are “hamba” or slaves to other races in Singapore. If Malay Singaporeans who are treated equally in all aspects and who are free to participate equally in all sphere of life in Singapore are slaves to other communities, how should TDM describe non-Malays in Malaysia who face institutionalized discriminations sponsored by the government?

When he was interviewed by Aljazeera TV recently, TDM justified the continuation of NEP because there are still Malay drivers employed by Chinese tycoons, and that there are Malay shoeshine boys hawking on the street. A person befitting his status as a former prime minister would have presented a relevance response whether the Malays had attained the target of NEP, namely 30% in the ownership of equity share capital in corporate sector. TDM’s answer reflects his deep seated racist belief that Malays is superior to non-Malays and they should not serve as drivers to Chinese. Is he different from the Nazis? As though to plan for such justifications, TDM during his reign tacitly agreed to Project M in facilitating the arrival of a million plus foreigners into Sabah, and to become NEWMalays. That demonstrates that UMNO and its leaders were not willing to honour the agreement on the termination of the racist discriminating policies, and he was happy to display such arrogance for the world to see.

TDM wants Malays who can be fooled to believe that Malays in Singapore are backward compared to the so-called Malays in Malaysia. Singaporean Malays are capable of looking after themselves without any life support system, unlike Malays in Malaysia who are said to be still dependent on the government for survival. It is the quality of Malays citizens which were of concern to UMNO leaders who sought the understanding of the leaders of non-Malay communities to provide for special assistance envisaged under Article 153 of the constitution, for a period of 15 years and subject to review. The Malay leaders at Independence would have loved to see the days when Malays here are as capable as Malays in Singapore, and in words of the late Tun Dr. Ismail, they will be willingly forgo the protection under Article 153, out of pride. The current crop of UMNO leaders care not for the pride of Malay community and insisted that NEP should continue. The NEWMalays in power do not really feel the pride of the race which they claim to belong for the benefits that the classification offered, and would like to continue to exploit NEP to their advantage at the expense of the public.

Malays are seen to dominate positions in government services, teaching posts in universities and companies financed by the government. They might be judged to be more successful than Malays in Singapore, collectively. That was made possible because of the political power and it is this aspect which TDM might be thinking that Malays in Malaysia are tuan, and Malays in Singapore are ‘hamba’. But is the dominance of Malays in civil services and universities good for the country? It is true that to those individuals who are under qualified for the jobs in government or universities, their employment bring them benefits. Of the 12,000 university lecturers, some 93 % were Malays. At least a third of them, 4,000 in total are second best, and would not be so employed if not for the racist policies. These 4,000 could have contributed more to the society if they had been absorbed into positions which they can play a better role with their experience and capability. They would not have prevented people who are more suited to handle university teaching and thus benefit the students directly. That is the crux of problems, besides the perverted admission policies which have sent the ranking of local universities into a free fall.

Governments in UK, Singapore, Hong Kong and India for example recruit the best into their civil services. But in Malaysia, there is no guarantee of the quality of its government employees. The government sector since NEP has its peculiar meritocracy process to promote Malays over non-Malays. It has now mastered the art of promoting people through who you know rather than what you know, competing only among Malays. Since the day of negotiated tender initiated by TDM, positions in government service bring to the incumbents pecuniary benefits not unlike what UMNO party positions avail to the politicians. The thousands of important government posts make these families rich. No doubt TDM considers the few thousands Malay civil servants making use of their positions to enrich themselves are the pride of the Malay community. Hence corruption is institutionalized, and is not against the law of the land.

The government claims that NEP has succeeded in creating a large number of Malay middle class families. That is disparaging to the capability of Malays as a race. With or without NEP, the persons who are able to make it to the universities would have arrived. The government could have provided study loans to those who had the aptitude for university educations, and scholarships to outstanding scholars. Those who were not suitable could have been trained at vocational schools and colleges. NEP only served to push through those who were not suitable for tertiary education, like the 60,000 unemployable graduates, and prevented those non-Malays who had the aptitude for university education but could not make it to local universities, and were unable to afford overseas education. How we waste human resources for racist reasons.

It is clear that NEP exerts a huge cost to non-Malays. Do Malays get the benefits without any cost? UMNO claims that NEP is like free lunch. But a comparison between the living standards between Malaysia and Singapore might help to settle whether Malays in Malaysia are better off than Malays in Singapore.

The per capita GDP of Singapore is about five times that of Malaysia. When the price level of the two countries are taken into account, Singaporeans would still have on average three times the purchasing power of Malaysians consuming goods and services in their respective countries. When both Malaysians and Singaporeans are outside their respective countries, Singaporeans would have five times the purchasing power of Malaysians, like the ratio of their per capita GDP to Malaysians.

Singapore has no natural resources other than their location and yet her government has been able to provide an environment for its people to earn 5 times, on per capita basis, the income to Malaysians. Had the natural resources that are available to Malaysia been put to proper use by a government as incorruptible and efficient as Singapore, Malaysia would have generated a per capita level as high as in Singapore if not higher. Malaysians would be five times richer than what we are today. Malaysians have forgone four times its purchasing power because of UMNO racist policies.

Why then would TDM say that it would be unfortunate for Malays in Malaysia to become Malays of Singapore? In the first place, NEP with its perverted implementation have made Malays believe that they needed only to vote correctly from time to time, their livelihood would be taken care of. The government is their keeper. They cannot be as capable as Singaporean Malays, individually. It is not an issue of whether they choose and wanted to be, but a matter of whether they have the capability to be Singaporean Malays. TDM wanted the racist policies to remain status quo, so that he could continue to rule through his son when his natural life expires. TDM is not able to appreciate the sufferings of the low income level of Malaysians; he considers those sufferings adequately compensated by the pride of having some super rich individuals in the community. More importantly, the success of Singapore reflects his failure and he would naturally wish to mould the mindset of the people to think the worse of Singapore, and thus Malays living there.

At the recent interview with Aljazeera TDM claimed, in response to a question from a viewer whether he should not call himself Indian, that he was Malay. The host of the programme reminded TDM that it was a question of his blood lineage. TDM insisted that he was Malay, and that he followed Malay customs. Malay customs had the cardinal rule to be respectful of the Malay Rulers. The action TDM took in 1992 in amending the constitution and removing the immunity of Rulers proves that he did not follow Malay customs. It would appear that TDM was not concern whether he lived up to be Malay, but he wanted to be known as Malay. He needed the classification as Malay to enjoy the power as PM for 22 years. He wants millions of Malays to enjoy the sense of pride, while he enjoyed the actual power. That explains why TDM chooses to call Malays in Singapore ‘hamba’ to other races because MM Lee Kuan Yew declared that to spare the incumbent the dilemma of being torn from the love of Singapore and the feeling for the Malays across the causeway, a non-Malay should hold the position of the Chief of Armed Forces in Singapore. TDM is trying to underline the importance of a position to the community rather that the importance of the right person carrying out the responsibities of the position.

TDM had his time destroying the country and his sins are well recorded. He now wants his son to continue with the destruction process, and more importantly to make non-Malays NEWMalays to alleviate his pains of not being able to reconnect with his Indian roots. For that he had to destroy those on the path of his son; one happens to be the son-in-law of AAB. Consequently, AAB had to bear the brunt of TDM’s attack. To be sure, the son-in-law of AAB deserves a spank.
    Having utilized public funds for education at Oxford, he should have led the way on how a noble role politics are meant for the country. He chose to claim that Malays in Penang were marginalized when he knew very well that there are outliers to every issue. That started the events that brought AAB down from his power.

TDM is complaining that AAB is campaigning for candidates in UMNO election whom TDM did not support. AAB is less dangerous to the country for doing nothing than TDM and his for whatever they plan, particularly in dividing the country by race. True Malays are dwindling in proportion. But the NEWMalays are seen to be more vocal about ketuanan Melayu. Strange! It is NEP! The followings say it all.

///According to PSM’s Nasir, the implementation of the NEP which focused on one race soon gave currency to the ketuanan Melayu rhetoric. But he says ketuanan Melayu is just a red herring. “Name me one Malay who is a pure Malay. There is virtually none — all Malays are mixed-blood to some degree.”
    Rather, Umno’s outbursts can be seen as the increasingly desperate acts of a party frustrated by its loss of power, he argues. “Umno is frustrated by its losses during the general election, and continues to use race and religion to divert the anger of poor Malays,” adds Nasir.
    “Because as so-called leaders of the Malays, Umno has failed. It has not even been able to help poor Malays and Malay entrepreneurs,” he asserts. Therefore, the ketuanan Melayu rhetoric conveniently redirects the frustration and anger of disenfranchised Malay Malaysians towards other races. Herein lies the danger of Umno’s rhetoric, says Nasir.
    “In times of economic difficulty, the ketuanan Melayu rhetoric will likely give rise to fascist tendencies. When people are feeling the pinch and they are frustrated, you just need to cucuk them and then they’ll meletup. Umno knows this only too well,” he says.

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/15262/84/#jc_writeComment/// Unquote

64. #64 by UncleJason on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 1:44 pm

What can we do to change the local U systems, forget it. Maybe we need another 50 years to change their mindset about ketuanan melayu in this bodohland country. Let start with Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) and get the government’s to support it 100% like UiTM. For a start, we will face lots of backlash from umnoputras. Time will change them. To all malaysian parents, sent your children to UTAR (private U). Currently students completed their studies are top in demand for many privates and MNC company’s simply because of the quality education that is provided. Intake are base on meritocracy. We believe in 3 years times when the main campus in kampar is fully ready, ranking in THES 200 is not a problem. Here we have many straits A students doing their foundations here. currently only a few malay students (i think mix parentage who are islam but not bumi) study here. it is also maybe due to lower requirement for them to enter local U cos the average malay students are sent oversea by the government. Once day UTAR will be the top choice of many malays. Believe me…. Wake Up dude.

65. #65 by messi on Wednesday, 10 December 2008 - 5:49 pm

Well, as we are aware, the lower ranking in our university was due to the double standard entry requirement adopted by the G/BN and keep producing the sub-standard graduate in “quantity” which is unable to complete equally with other races in term of education and business.

Sometime, we feel very pity for those bumi graduate unable to get the employment in private listed company which is fully owned by the Malay because these so called “NEP” business man consider them as “wastage” or “surplus”.

Can anyone foresee the problem if the G/BN keeps producing the sub-standard graduate with the double standard entry requirement:-

(i) G department keep absorbing them because they are unable to complete equally with others thus increase the expenditure every year.(revenue outflow)

(ii) Brain drain due to discrimination on entry requirement to university thus reducing the revenue to the G. (collect less tax to the professional personnel thus reduce the G income)

(iii) Whole country will eventually going backward due to unable to sustain the increasing subsidies for the next 10 years.

(iv) More graduate want the cake sharing to be distributed fairly due to NEP but this sharing only confine to a small group of cronies which will be benefited. To be precise, the loss of five states during the election on 8/3/2008 was due to the this issue and will be the main hurdle face by the BN in future if they continue to produce the sub-standard graduate. If anyone here tell me the loss of election was due to awareness of the Malay then I would like to ask any Malay opposition party the following question:-

“Have you ever heard any Malay opposition party talking about abolishment of NEP”Tongkat”. If the answer is “no” and they want their share by joining other Malay opposition in order to be one of the new cronies.

Anyway, we foresee subsidies will not last forever and when our resources dry up then the correction will take place and the NEP will be abolished automatically due to no income to the G like what had happened in Indonesia.

Just wait for another 10 years to come and see what is going to happen to the new generation of Malay.