Wake up – we are all Malaysians!

[The following piece was emailed to me. I do not know who is the writer. But it should be a wake-up call indeed for all Malaysians if Malaysia is to stand up and stop being overtaken and left behind by one nation after another. Kit]

This is our wake up call!!!

Indonesia is one of the world’s richest countries in terms of natural resources. God has blessed Indonesia with gold, uranium, copper, oil, timber, beaches, seas and other wealth. The land is fertile with abundant rain. Stick a twig into the ground and it grows into a tree. Yet Indonesians sleep in the streets. Food is expensive. The average Indonesian eats some rice, tempe,tauhu and may be some vegetables for breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday. An average Nasi Padang meal for four persons in a single star Indonesian restaurant can cost RM60.00 (160,000 Rupiah). This is way beyond the income of the average Joko or Ketut in Indonesia.

Why is this so? The answer is because the ruling elites in Indonesia do not care about the people. They have pillaged the country. They craft policies that only serve to keep the elites in power and the wealthly. The same thing is happening in Malaysia. There are also millions of Indonesians who go to school and university but do not learn skills that can help them survive in the real world. They are very poor in European languages like English or Dutch. All their education is in Indonesian. So they cannot keep up with the latest developments and technologies. They cannot compete. They remain poor.

The children of the elite are sent overseas for their education. An average Indonesian university graduate cannot bring world class skills to his employers. He or she therefore earns a pittance. This is happening in Malaysia. Bumiputra university graduates only strike it rich if they get Government jobs where they do not do much work but earn a good salary with a pension. In the private sector they may not get a job or earn only a pittance. That is why 100,000 graduates remain unemployed in Malaysia.

Bumiputra university graduates are turning up for interviews as taxi drivers and shop assistants. What about those who flunk out after SPM? They become Mat Rempits (Motorcycle Racers ). Last Saturday I saw another Mat Rempit get killed at the road races in Shah Alam (near Section 7).

In Malaysia, just like in Indonesia, food is getting very expensive. But the wages and salaries of the people, especially the Malays, is not keeping up with the increase in prices. Instead of developing the competitive ability of the people,the Government has been using the failed NEP to provide subsidies and dish out money on a plate. Everything is subsidised, even cooking oil, flour, rice, sugar, fuel, etc. The Government has been providing these subsidies so that the people will keep voting for the ruling party. So it has never been to the Government’s advantage to make the Malays independent. A Malay who is independent of the Government may not vote for the BN. It is therefore better to keep feeding with subsidies.. So, for the past 50 years, everything has been subsidised.

But now with 27million people in the country of which more than half are Malays, subsidies are getting more expensive. There is also much much more thievery and wastage by the elites in Malaysia. But there is no bottomless well full of money. Everything has its limits. The money will soon run out. Without the subsidies for cooking oil, sugar, flour and petrol, how are the people, especially the Malays, going to survive? Already university graduates cannot find jobs or compete in the private sector. What happens when the oil money runs out? What happens when (not if, but when) the Government cannot simply spend billions of oil money to sustain its voting base any longer? That is when we may see people sleeping in the streets, just like in Indonesia. If that happens this country will go up in flames. We will all be consumed.

In Indonesia, the Government has not mobilised its hundreds of millions of people (over 250 million Indonesians) with the competitive skills to grow enough food for themselves. Hence food is expensive. They do not even have simple survival skills like coming to work on time, organising themselves to do simple tasks, maintaining good hygiene and cleanliness and so on. They are poorly read and not informed about many things that are going on around the world. Their Government has failed in all these aspects. Hence the average Indonesian remains poor.

The same thing has happened in Malaysia. Our young people, especially the Malays, do not possess basic survival skills. We are not talking about competitive skills but just basic survival skills. The Government is not serious about giving them useful competitive skills either. The Mat Rempits are being glorified by the politicians as saviours of the nation (Mat Cemerlang). Correction. they are drug users, gang rapists, snatch thieves and street fighters.

When an efficient Policewoman called Nooriyah Anvar was appointed Chief of Traffic Police she went after the Mat Rempits with a vengeance. Does anyone remember her? She confiscated their bikes on the spot. But soon the Mat Rempits called their political muscle and Nooriyah Anvar was kicked out. To date she holds the record of being the shortest serving Traffic Police Chief in Malaysia. She has been replaced by Senior Asst Comm (II) Datuk Hamza Taib.

So the Government is not serious about improving the position of the Malays. It serves the Barisan Nasional Government to keep the Malays down and out. Then the Malays can go to the Government for crumbs. This way the ruling elites get to keep the whole loaf to themselves. Go and visit Indonesia. This is what is happening over there. It is happening over here too.

Does Malaysia have a problem? yes the Malays are not happy, the Chinese are not happy and the Indians are not happy. They spoke out at the March 2008 polls and hope things will change for the better, now they have some oppositions who promised change. The Malays are being duped by their corrupted leaders by using the religion, the Chinese and Indians are being marginalised by the ruling elites. Let us all Malaysians wake up and fight the corrupt system for the benefit of everyone. Let us all unite and stand together and change the system for once and for all.

We are not Malays, Chinese or Indians, we are Malaysians. Malaysians May End Up Sleeping in the Street like its neighbours.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 7:16 pm

kebelakangan ini disebabkan oleh penamaan calon pemimpin umno kelihatan ramai pemimpin umno yang mukanya keluar tv, mak datuk daging kat leher depa cukup sihat.ibarat kata terlebih dari cukup makan.isa dari N9 yang dah lama tak dengar cerita ; mat taib dengan wangnya yang berbillion di australia ; muhyiddin dari johor dengan ceritanya makannya semasa jadi mb apatah lagi sekarang ;ramai lagi lah…ahmad ismail pun wah wah wah daging dekat leher dia…bukan main sihat, itu baru pemimpin bahagian…. cukup sihat depa

2. #2 by katdog on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 9:00 pm

To Rose Fashion and bclee,
    I did not ask any question. I am merely adding another perspective to this article. I am not directly disputing the contents of the article. Yes, we all know the UMNO elites have intentionally or unintentionally stifled Malay progress for their own political agendas… corrupt government yadda yadda yadda. Yes i understand the whole point of the article.

I merely want to point out that, while this article focuses mainly on the Malays, the chinese and indians should be reminded that their elites in MCA/MIC perpetrated exactly the same things as their cohorts in UMNO. (worst, unlike the uneducated kampung malays, the well educated non-Malays participated knowing full well that they were endorsing a corrupt and decadent government)

Another note, NEP gives preferential treatment to Malays not subsidies. Please again be reminded, subsidies are enjoyed by ALL Malaysians not just Malays.

In fact, one of the main reasons that the chinese voted against BN because the reduction of petrol subsidies caused financial burdens to them. So who are the ones being spoon fed subsidies? Does DAP have any plans for weaning the people of Malaysia off subsidies? Not as far as i can see at the moment.

3. #3 by Lim Koo on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 1:32 am

Bystander says: “english education/medium of instruction is the only way forward. forget nationlism. otherwise this nation will go to the dogs if the people like tdm want to remain recalcitrant and still insist on having bahasa malaysia as medium of instruction based on malay nationalism. lets revert to the era of 60s/70s when the diversity of cultures and integration flourished.”

With the objective of emulating the success of Japan, BM was first adopted as a medium of instruction in accordance with the Look East Policy.

Notwithstanding the fact that proficiency in English is an all-important competitive edge, there is nothing wrong with BM as a language per se. Only that the approach was probably wrong.

In Japan, textbooks are translated from sources written in English into Japanese by researchers and scholars of the respective fields.

To address the current dilemma faced by our institutions of higher learning, it is time policymakers look squarely into ensuring that textbooks are translated into BM not by “language experts”, but by those for which the subject matters are their fortes.

4. #4 by musterpoolrao on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:18 am

TRUE…please dont identify ur self….these rogues dont care about truth ..they just care to shut out the truth….they have ISA ….looking at the last 50 over years….ALL those born before and around independence time are better educated…well knowledged… well rounded… in mid 70s education system was changed and thats when disaster struck….but who got hit most…the poor malays who were made to believe that english would lead them to western culture…hippy culture…its a shame …well my dear friends…the very people who changed the policy were all english educated….they send their children to study english…they are all in western countries…. or ….they send to educate their loved ones in INTERNATIONAL SCHOOLS IN MALAYSIA… THEY DONT BELIEVE THE LOCAL SCHOOLS…THAT THEY PROPAGATE TO YOU AND OUR KIDS…….they just want their loved ones ot be ready to take over the positions after them…look around…if you are in denial mode …good luck…but take a good look at the ones helming the nation… and their loved ones and their siblings…..do u feel short changed….these very education system was the doing of the leaders you and me were blindly supporting and following these many years….such a pathetic situation we are in…JUST LOOK AT MIC.. MCA.. AND UMNO.. ALMOST ALL OF THEM who LEAD and have LEAD and intend to LEAD…have a hand in…u name it …they have been in it…they all go scott free…the education system here is sickkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk… u dont need to really DO well but u will get a seat in the U…. its as good as getting lesen tembak…yeah malaysia bolih….semua bolih….but whats the repercussion…ITS A FAILURE…

RECENT INCREASE IN FUEL PRICE…..LETS CHECK WHO BENEFITTED AND WHO ARE THE LOOSERS….

YES THE GOVERNMENT… SAVED ON CERTAIN PERCENTAGE CUTTING DOWN SUBSIDY… ask your self ….did your pay increase….this is for wage earners..(makan gaji) NO!!! NO!! NO!!… but did your expenses increase….20% …30% wellll…sebelum naik harga minyak…sudah lah tak cukup wang untuk belanja….now with this increase… most would end up borrowing…GOVERNMENT SUGGESTION…AAAAAAAAALONNNNNGGGG!!!!!!

NOW….JUST LOOK AT THE RETAILERS… THE WHOLE SELLERS OR MANUFACTURERS AND PRODUCERS…..DO U THINK THEY HAVE LOST ANY…..INFACT …TO THEM THE GOVERNMENT INCREASE…I INCREASE…THE MORE THE MERRIER…THE GOVERNMENT INCREASE 50 CENTS ….1 ITEM !!….THE ABOVE CROCODILES INCREASE EVERY COMMODITY….CONSUMABLES…AND EVERY DAMN THING… NOW WHERE IS THE RATIONAL/// yang kaya …lagi kaya..yang miskin…telungkup lah…….. SIAPA YANG KENA TERUK SEKALI….U AND ME …ORANG YANG MAKAN GAJI…..MINISTER // MENTERI///…NO WORRY …SEMUA GRATIS….SO WHY BOTHER….WHO CARES….APA!!! TAK ADA MAKAN!!! …APA ITU….BELUM PERNAH DENGAR!!!!!////…

Raya…open house.. kasi makan gratis …buka puasa…kasi bubur…..duit raya….. they are just pulling wool over your eyes…

LOOK AT THE BIGGER PICTURE…

EDUCATION …EDUCATION…EDUCATION…. ITS BETTER U KNOW 10 LANGUAGES AND BE COMPETITIVE THAN BEING FOOLED….

MALAYSIAN POLITICS….. IT REALLY STINKS….. NOW ITS ……………………//CONSPIRASI M..&..M //

MOTHER OF ALL ILLS….WILL GUIDE …THE LEADERS OF THE NATION…

5. #5 by iggy on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:49 am

This article I must point out, besides the usual malaysian bit, disgusts me with it’s over emphasis on Malays.
    Seriously, you digust me.

6. #6 by iggy on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:49 am

This article I must point out, besides the usual malaysian bit, disgusts me with it’s over emphasis on Malays.
    Seriously, you disgust me.

7. #7 by isahbiazhar on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 6:48 am

We did not learn for 50 years and now we are no better.We will not learn and when the nation is destroyed there wont be anyone to learn.

8. #8 by Godfather on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 7:06 am

The greatest danger in the coming years is the return of Mahathirism and all its associated ills. Look at the potential team of Najis, Muhyiddin and Mukhriz. Cronyism and nepotism will reign supreme, and all on the back of the unbridled use of the ISA, the Sedition Act and the Official Secrets Act.

We will have to boot the thieves out in 2012-2013, but can the country survive till then ?

9. #9 by Thinking Two on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:14 am

That’s why the minister intends to change the subject to Bahasa Malaysia so that every one of you know nothing about the world but instead, they are sending their children to private school, International school and Oversea for study. The ministers also don’t want to learn Bahasa Malaysia. At the end of the day, they tell you that do you know how to speak and write English?

With this, they will tell you go to catch fish and they will be in the air cond office watching TV and in the afternoon, playing golf.

Not only the PM is sleeping and You too.

10. #10 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:48 am

/// counsel888 Says:
    But for Indonesians to be truly free, they have to also be freed from the yoke of colonial and foreign agents in their Chinese communities, many of the 11 million or so who have aided and abbetted all and sundry from the Japanese in world war 2 to the Dutch and the Americans and yes Singapore in their exploitation of 200 million people they collectively see as inferior and subservient in advancement of their own causes and interests. ///

counsel888, I was hoping that your counsel would be wise. What you said generally has merits, except for the paragraph above.

This is the typical witch-hunt and looking for scapegoat that follows the independence of many third world countries. Demonize the colonial masters. Pin all the blame on them.

For Malaysia and Indonesia to truly progress, they must, once and for all, get rid of this blame game. The irony and heartache is that both Malaysia and Indonesia are blessed with so much natural resources. The real culprit is corruption and the siphoning of huge amount of resources and wealth by those in power. And then blaming it on those who actually carry out the economic activities – the minorities. This game of blaming has been honed to a fine art by Dr Mahathir in his 22 years of administration. To distract and detract from the mess at home due to rampant corruption, TDM will point the fingers at the American, Jews, Soros, Britain, the West, and Singapore. All the bogeymen outside the country – anyone and anything except himself is to be blame.

And counsel888, I see you are falling into the same trap and blaming those who are the ones actually adding value to the economy and country.

So, you think getting rid of the yokes of colonial and “foreign agents” will free Indonesia (and Malaysia?) How long has Indonesia and Malaysia being independent? Still blaming the colonial masters all these decades?

I would have thought that history will be a very good guide. North Korea is fiercely independent and beholden to none. It even dared to thumb its nose at Uncle Sam. Likewise, Cuba has hold out against the might of the US. Close to home, Myanmar is truly on its own and has shed its colonial shackles long, long ago. Idi Amin has gotten rid of the colonial masters and the Asians (Indians in particular) and where does it lead Uganda to? Robert Mugabe has also gotten rid of all the colonial masters. Who is he going to blame next?

counsel888 – I hope wise counsel will prevail. Let’s look at really what ails Indonesia and Malaysia, and take steps to correct those mistakes and excesses, instead of taking the easy way out and blaming others. To me, the real culprits are corruption and the nasty habit of blaming everyone else for one’s failures.

11. #11 by riversandlakes on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 12:57 pm

The day all Malaysians wake up that we are all Malaysians with each to his own very unique aspirations and dreams, that will be the final day of racism-based politics as Barang Naik and UMNO is today.

12. #12 by rainbowseahorse on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:02 pm

Chiakchua wrote: “…Wake up please all Malaysians, especially Sarawakian and Sabahan, change the government so that we could give our Malay fellow countrymen the real ‘fishing’ skill!”..

Why ‘especially” Sarawak & Sabah?? Why not “especially” West Malaysia, since it is the heart & seat of the Federal government?
    I was enjoying and agreeing with you until you hit that nerve, Chiakchu. You, like so many West Malaysians has the tendency to relegate the blame for a poor excuse of a government to us East Malaysians.
    Haven’t you heard your DPM Najib saying Sabah is UMNO’s “fixed deposit”? And do you know what he implies by that daring remark? Najib, like all in Semanjung UMNO, knows that there is simply no more ‘people’s power’ in Sabah. That TDM made damn sure of that in the latter part of the eighties when Sabah PBS (with the encouragement of Tunku Razali) pulled out of the BN. As punishment for pulling out of the BN, TDM first sent UMNO to open up shop in Sabah (even though UMNO had promised not to do that) and issued over 2 million MyKads to Philippine & Indonesian migrants in Sabah with the promise that they will always vote for UMNO or else their MyKad will be withdrawn and confiscated. With Sabahan’s 7 hundred over votes, Sabah will forever be the ‘fixed deposit” for UMNO with dividends of votes to win in every damn election. This situation can only be remedied if, and only if, DSAI can form a new government and who then have the desire and the determination to investigate and to pull back those over 2 millions Mykads from the migrants.

Sarawak is a different kettle of fish altogether. As long as that Taib stays in power, he and his super rich Chinese business partners control the native voters effectively. Money always determines the outcome of election results in Sarawak, plus, most Natives are employed by these super conglomerate companies.

So, the fate our nation, Malaysia, at this point in time does not and cannot rest on Sabah & Sarawak, but in the Federal state of Malaya. Another huge stumbling factor in Sabah & Sarawak is the diverse racial mixture that makes up the populace:

Sabah has 32 ethnic groups, but the federal government of Malaysia officially recognizes only 28 ethnic groups as being indigenous or Bumiputra in Sabah: Kadazan-Dusun, Kadayan, Malay, Kwijau, Murut, Bajau, Illanun, Lotud, Rungus, Tambanuo, Dumpas, Mangka’ak, Suluk, Orang Sungai, Brunei, Bisaya Beaufort, Tidong, Maragang, Orang Cocos, Paitan, Ida’an, Minokok, Rumanau, Chines of mixed parentage, Filipino, Indonesians, Sarawakians, and Serani. Plus,of course, Chinese and Indians.
    The population are distributed in 25 Districts (which in West Malaysia would become States, complete with Sultans and all) of Kota Kinabalu, Kota Belud, Papar, Penampang, Putatan, Ranau, Tuaran, Beaufort, Nabawan, Keningau, Kuala Penyu, Siptang, Tambunan, Tenom, Kota Marudu, Kudat, Pitas, Beluran, Kinabatangan, Sandakan, Tongod, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Semporna, and Tawau.

Sarawak has more than 40 sub-ethnic groups making up of Dayak Iban, Malay, Melanau, Dayak Bidayuh, Dayak Orang Ulu, Dayak Kayan, Dayak Kelabit, Dayak Kenyah, Dayak Penan, and Sebob/Chebob. Plus of course the Chinese & Indians.
    Sarawak population are distributed in 11 Divisions (again which in West Malaysia would become States, complete with Sultans and all) of Bentong, Bintulu, Kapit, Kuching, Limbang, Miri, Mukah, Samarahan, Sarikei, Sibu, and Sri Aman.

Now, will my learned, more sophisticated, and better educated West Malaysian brothers and sisters please tell us simple orang kampong just how we should go about educating & uniting all our people, in our various districts & divisions (the size of your West Malaysian States, yah!.. and many with dirt access roads only), to vote for PKR??

So, please my West Malaysians, first learn something about us, our geography, our cultures, and our diversity before you fire off your volley. Those of us who have access to computers and the internet are supportive of PKR struggles and aspiration. Don’t make us revert back to anti-West Malaysia like we were back before the mid-eighties. Our fate has been effectively sealed by the Federal government with full knowledge and co-operation of our past elected leaders who immediately became corrupted and useless by money & power.

Wake up, we are all Malaysians???
    I don’t think Sabah has slept at all and we never has been fully accepted as Malaysians since joining the Federation of Malaya 35 years and 27days ago. Our people are kept relatively uneducated and very much dependants upon the government. That’s the perfect strategy of any Empire, isn’t it? Keep the populace ignorant and unable to help themselves.

Our only hope, like yours, lies with DSAI and his new government! Period!

13. #13 by bclee on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 8:13 pm

“In fact, one of the main reasons that the chinese voted against BN because the reduction of petrol subsidies caused financial burdens to them. So who are the ones being spoon fed subsidies?”quote katdog

wrong should say all Malaysian soon will voted against BN.
    we don’t want any subsidies now please BN government adjust the petrol price according to world price.

14. #14 by bclee on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 8:20 pm

when world crude oil price in all time high.
    BN government immediate increased the petrol price up 40%
    now we all Malaysians only want the government to adjust the petrol price to current world price without subsidies immediately.

15. #15 by cemerlang on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:41 pm

People with an attention deficit problem will always want recognition but they will never see the problems others face. Some people in Malaysia went to space, went to the north south poles, went to Mount Everest because they want the rest of the world to respect them like they respect the rich countries. The thing is Malaysia is not terribly rich. In South East Asia, Brunei and Singapore have strong monetary currencies but even in Singapore, some foreign workers already take to the streets to sleep as reported in the t.v. Millions of ringgit is used up to buy attention from others. On one hand, there are people who want to have research orientated minds. On another hand, all sorts of students are admitted into the universities. The people concerned should do a research and find out if Malaysia needs that many universities’ graduates. It is cruel sugar coating a not so clever student and makes him looks nice as a university graduate but brain-wise, there is nothing so prominent. If he does not like studies and he prefers motorbikes, then take him into a vocational school and let him learn how to fix bikes and for sure, he is happier. And if he has a bike shop, then he will think twice whether he wants to rempit or not. At this time, there are so much political conflicts that it is up to each and every Malaysian to decide on what sort of life they should live. Most Malaysians are wide awake. It is some of these powerful people who choose to sleep and dream. Malaysians should wake them up and not let them continue sleep and dream.

16. #16 by maggi mee on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 5:21 am

We will continue to live like this till the day we die, but do we want our children or grandchildren to live in the streets like in Indonesia in times to come?

So, Malaysians, if you love Malaysians,
    why do you all still want to pay tax in this country to fill up the pockets of those in power and later let your children or grandchildren live in the streets and starve? Who is going to help them if everyone is helping their own pockets?
    Think of 50 years ago and 50 years from now.
    Why don’t you all pave a way, relocate your factories, build up a country like Vietnam or anywhere, and instead of employing them here.

At least also, they will be grateful to you and you need not be called “squatters”
    and perhaps one day, all Malaysians who cannot “squat” anymore, will have a home in another country.
    Remember also, not all your children have the intelligence of Einstein and can migrate anywhere,
    And then everyone will live happily ever after that because this is how i see how our future is heading, judging from all events that are here.

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 9:38 am

Just about everyone plays the blame game one way or another. It is human nature. To blame others is a defence mechanism when one cannot deal with one’s own failures and deficiencies.

18. #18 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:24 am

Not quite true that everyone plays the blame game. Take specifically the Asian Financial Crisis. Thailand and Korea stoically took the bitter pills and did not blame others. Malaysia, and to a much much lesser extent, Indonesia, blamed the whole world. I hate to put this down to religion or other common thread. Or maybe it is just one raving politician at work.

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:13 pm

TheWrathOfGrapes,

Thanks for the comments, which, as always, are sensible.

Just continuing the subject discussed a wee longer, I meant a different – the general context – about the blame game. For examples even in politically correct USA, some poiliticians and public opinion moulders & editorial writers have been trying to blame as first cause the US financial crisis on minorities getting subprime mortgages instead of avaricious and reckless mortgage brokers and disreputable lenders…. Or Castro/ the cubans blamed US’s hostilities for everything from short shortages to Havanna Hijacking…

I see you meant in another context, more of govts or leaders like TDM not blaming their spending profligacy and poor political/fiscal and monetary policies for their countries’ economic travails during the Asian Currency Crisis, which I agree.

That said, a point to think about is why the many amongst our majority population here really look up to that man. He left office and could still disparage the incumbent PM, become king maker and put in his people : after Pak Lah, Mahthirism is set to resurge and continue. He seems to have this ubiquitous and pervasive influence…..

We who don’t like him will say his contribution to the Crisis i9s locking the barn when horses have bolted but his feudal admirers who worship strong – never mind otherwise bad – leaders will, even now, in dynastic fashion give the requisite nominations for UMNO youth post to his son Mukhriz far ahead of Khairy.

In part they appreciate him as Malay nationalist : he dared to defend at whatever the costs their parochial agenda of preserving NEP assets from being opened to fire sale had he taken IMF course otherwise than his Frank Sinatra’s “My Way”.

You know the US has much influence over IMF and even international bodies like UN.

Take case of South Korea and its chaebol problems in context of Asian Currency Crisis then.

It is widely believed – indeed even reported in Asian Wall Street Journal – that IMF prescription had conditionalities favourable to US economics. US was hoping that its trade disputes with South Korea can resolved by massive restructuring of the financial services sector there. US automobile sector was worried by Korean competition. Under the IMF conditionality package, South Korea was obligated to end certain trade practices which the US finds objectionable.

Our case, something like over 85% of our banks was owned by Bumiputra. Then all the crony related privatisation projects and conglomerates, many highly leveraged – if IMP presciptions followed, very susah for these entities, the NEP gains would be reversed and re-transferred to foreigners and other communities.

Mahathir – considered a Malay hero by them – because he won’t allow that to happen at all costs, economics or ‘Noddynomics’!

True, it was to protect cronies and friends and other vested interest but he cleverly had twisted that and, in the view of his constitutency – the basis of his and UMNO’s political support – capital controls and other unorthodox measures were to protect the integrity of NEP and Bumiputra corporate dominance.

Hence they want a strong leader who is prepared to be unorthodox, no matter how authoritarian, not someone who flips flops as recent developments evince, who gives them xenophobic anxiety whether their interest as comminity is safeguarded against others.

20. #20 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:09 pm

/// Our case, something like over 85% of our banks was owned by Bumiputra. Then all the crony related privatisation projects and conglomerates, many highly leveraged – if IMP presciptions followed, very susah for these entities, the NEP gains would be reversed and re-transferred to foreigners and other communities. ///

Yes, Jeff, that paragraph above just about summed up why TDM did it his way and not the IMF way. His cronies and children’s companies will have to be treated equally (and not having first priority) if Malaysia went the IMF route. For this same reason, the negotiations with the US on the FTA will not get very far and will be very convoluted because the US is unlikely to agree to NEP and special treatments for Bumiuptra and non-competitive under-table bids.

The Malays supported TDM because he hoodwinked them into thinking that he is fighting for their rights when in actual fact the goodies only flow to his cronies and the UMNOputras.

21. #21 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:19 pm

Why the Home Minister and not doctors indeed. An easy explanation would be that even if more than 31 ministers cross over to Pakatan Rakyat, those who have fallen can use this DNA bill to frame anyone from Pakatan or who double crossed BN. Since the Home Minister would not be one of those who cross over (I really dont think that he will nor Pakatan will take someone like him in), he is free to use this bill to jail all of Pakatan.

Who says that BN is not cunning. Just that we can see through their cunning after so many years of experience dealing with their bull.

22. #22 by CJ 27 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:09 pm

Who to blame then? In fact there are over millions of people still supporting Barisan Najis in Malaysia. If the majority of people still prefer Barisan Najis to run this country, there is nothing we can do. Believe me in coming years, our people have to go to Thailand, Vietnam or Indonesia as ” kuli ” or maid.

23. #23 by TheHiddenFact on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:03 am

Fuel price has gone up but food and other consumer goods price still remain unchanged although the petrol price has dropped for the third time few months ago.In order for a betterment for all of us , we should open our mouth and give some solution for this issue. Waiting for the prices of other goods will go down as well, otherwise it really makes no difference.

Comments are closed.