The cries of Sabahans (2)

Don’t neglect Sabah, please

by Another Doctor

I refer to the Malaysiakini article Kota Marudu needs more than wireless Internet.

I read Dr Hams letter and cannot help but agree with many of his observations. I worked in Sabah for over seven years as a house officer and medical officer.

After my housemanship, I was sent to Ranau to serve in the district hospital. What Dr Hams described in Kota Marudu is not something isolated to that district alone in Sabah. It is an often repeated story in the whole of Sabah.

My first introduction to the poverty in Sabah came during my first months there, when a sweet 70- year-old lady from Kota Marudu was sent to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital with deep jaundice. She lived alone in a small village off Kota Marudu and noticed the jaundice about a month before.

She had no money for the taxi fare and so waited a month to sell off her chickens to have enough money to pay RM50 for the transport to Kota Marudu Hospital. She had to walk two miles to get to the road to get to the taxi.

Having been born, bred and educated in Peninsular Malaysia, I was shocked. When she arrived, she was septic and had a gallstone lodged in her common bile duct. The stone was duly removed but she was found to have a heart problem that required a pacemaker.

We arranged for her to get a permanent pacemaker but she refused. When I pressed her for her reason, she told me that she couldn’t afford to buy batteries for the pacemaker, having sold off her chickens. Once I explained to her that the batteries would last for years and we would provide them, she agreed to the pacemaker.

Ranau town itself has roads and is on the main highway between Sandakan and Kota Kinabalu. It developed primarily as a result of the Mamut Copper Mines in the district. However, highway in this context means a two lane road with frequent landslides and potholes, with a two-hour drive to Kota Kinabalu.

Outside Ranau, transportation becomes a problem as tarred roads disappear to become gravel or crudely marked logging trails.

Anyone who has worked in Sabah would have the same stories to tell, of extreme poverty and poor transportation. During my 2 years in Ranau, I’ve heard and seen it all, patients with cerebral malaria, a condition unheard of in Peninsular Malaysia, coming in after 48 hours to the hospital from places like Kaingaran and Karagasan, with relatives having to push the ‘pirate taxi’ through the mud, spending RM50 on fare during the monsoon season, the equivalent of 2 months income, this too when petrol was only around RM1.20 a litre in Ranau. Patients having to delay treatment for life threatening conditions because a bridge washed away along the trail (I won’t even call it a road) to Tambunan.

Emergency surgery such as caesarean sections, appendectomies and even ectopic pregnancies had to be performed in our little district hospitals by Medical Officers with little more than 4 months housemanship experience. Medical emergencies such as myocardial infarctions, which in Peninsular Malaysia would be managed in a Coronary Care Unit setting, had to be managed in the district hospital level.

I’m grateful however, that my staff in that hospital were the best I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with and were dedicated enough to want to make a difference in their patients’ lives. But poor transportation does not only affect the access to healthcare. Having no roads to be able to transport their agricultural produce for sale means that these people are stuck in a never ending cycle of poverty. At most, some of them get RM20 to RM50 by selling their produce to middlemen to be sold at the monthly tamu or market at prices that are perhaps only 10 percent of the value of the goods.

These innocent people are also preyed upon by traveling cloth merchants, mostly foreigners, who offer them ‘easy payment schemes’ to buy cloth for clothes, and when they cannot pay for the cloth and the interest accumulates, they end up having to marry their daughters to these men, who often have wives back home in Pakistan.

One of the cases I could never forget was of the family who came to Ranau Hospital just as I was leaving, a family who had failed crops, were hungry and unable to get food. The father collected some toad eggs and fed them to the whole family in a desperate attempt to stave off hunger. When they arrived at our little emergency room, one of the children were dead and two passed away within 10 minutes of arrival in our casualty unit due to poisoning.

Education is a problem in parts of Sabah outside major towns like Kota Kinabalu at the moment. Many children would be lucky to be able to get to a school or even afford to get to one. Most of my patients outside Ranau were lucky to even have a primary school education and a vast number of women marry in their teens.

I’ve had 14 year olds delivering babies in Ranau, most of them have never ever stepped foot in a school. The education level is so poor that many women feed their children condensed milk thinking that it’s better than breast milk.But at the heart of it all, these mothers want the best for their children but are not empowered with the knowledge to help them.

Major towns in Sabah have electricity courtesy of the Sabah Electricity Board, but smaller villages have either diesel generators or rely on candles or lamps when night falls. How can children study in these conditions?

Like many doctors in the districts, I had to learn Dusun to communicate better with these patients who could speak little else. Forty five years after the formation of Malaysia, the promise of a better life for these poor Dusun, Murut and Rungus patients in the districts of Sabah is a pipe dream at best.

How can our politicians claim to have brought development to the state and have neglected these poor people, many of whom still wear the cheap t-shirts and caps given free by political parties from many elections ago. How can I claim to be proud of Putrajaya with it’s beautiful bridges and lamp posts and the Petronas twin Towers when our fellow Malaysians in Sabah are so neglected?

The cycle of poverty and illiteracy one sees in the districts in Sabah brings despair to the heart. Eradication of poverty must tackle the real issues of education and transport and not just handouts to poor people.

By all means, declare Sept 16th a public holiday, but remember it in it’s real context, where we made a promise to our brethren in Sabah and Sarawak to treat them as equals in Malaysia, and give them the development they’ve been long denied.

1. #1 by frankyapp on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:00 pm

To all Sabah and Sarawak YBs/MPs I sincerely write and appeal to you guys to seriously consider taking the offer from PR for our sake and our children’s sake . Take this choice.we have suffered 45 years of discrimination,isn’t it enough ?. why must you guys still waiting for ? don’t you realised it’s enough is enough ?. PR especially with DAP as a major partner,what else you guys are worry for ? DAP Has been tested and provened as a relialable and loyal political multi-racial malaysian party. what a great golden choice we have now,please don’t let it goes without a very serious thought. Although YB Annuar has been unkind to us before but he has paid his price being unjustly sent to prison .we now know he is changed person.together with him and our brother or uncle YB Lim Kit Siang and the PR system/machinary,we can make Sabah and Sarawak a better place for us .our children and our children’s children inparticular and Malaysia in general. Let us for once and forever call among ourselves Malaysian.

2. #2 by rainbowseahorse on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:44 pm

I am appalled and amazed that my fellow West Malaysian do not seem to understand why Najib DARE to say Sabah is UMNO’s fixed deposit (FD). Najib knows that Sabah has over 2 million migrant voters who has been issued MyKads by TDM in the eighties. These voters outnumbered Sabahans 2 to 1 and they have, and will continue to, vote UMNO at every election. Effectively, Sabah is UMNO’s Fixed Deposit for MPs.
    This is the truth!

3. #3 by voices on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 5:28 pm

Dear hvpl,

If there is something about local Sabahans (not the many legalised illegals who roam the streets of Sabah esp in town areas), we are forgiving in nature.

We will not forget your wrongdoings ( as a reminder for us lest history repeats itself ) but we are always open.

If W Malaysians do not feel welcome in Sabah because of that immigration ruling (that’s our unquestionable State right under the Malaysia Agreement and Sarawak has similar ruling as ours and remember that we are supposed to be a country of our own then ), then you’ve closed your eyes to what Sabah is all about.

We have had many unpleasant encounters with W Malaysians who came over. Many of whom looked down on the locals, disrespect our local adat not to mention disturbing our girls/women and bringing in a culture alien to Sabah – racism. Even as far back as in the late 1970s.

But we Sabahans are also known for our hospitality (unless you mistook the illegals as Sabahans and many W Malaysians do not know the difference).

I must say, I have many W Malaysians friends who came here to work, fell in love with Sabah and stayed on. And they are welcome. Others who left would always come back for holidays. These people understand our culture and embrace it. If you want to talk about Bangsa Malaysia, Sabah is Bangsa Malaysia for we do not segregate.

Although I must say Umno ruined that harmony and like I mentioned earlier, Anwar has a big part in introducing racial politics in Sabah through Umno in 1994. You have seen what racial politics cost you people in W Malaysia and we do not want this manifest in our beloved Sabah.

From here, you can understand why we Sabahans are wary about W Malaysians politics, Tun M, Anwar and their likes.

We Sabahans and Malaysians as a whole, would like to believe that Anwar has refromed and yes, we Sabahans would give any leader a chance for the sake of change and a better Malaysia.

Would you believe it that Sabahans are always for change. Like we did in 1986, 1990 and 1994. If we make demands before we join PR it is because we are doing it for the betterment of Sabah. We had been used, abused and taken for granted by federal leaders and no one should fault us for wanting something that is rightfully ours. You yourself had read our economic situation.

Many of our local political leaders too are at fault for playing along with Tun M and Anwar, Umno/BN who have no real intentions of developing Sabah or care its people’s welfare except to stay in power, enriched themselves and make BN the country’s perpetual govt.

But here again, even you in W Malaysia who are supposed to be more educated, advance and intelligent than us Sabahans cannot change the government of BN and Umno politics. Any political change must first come from W Malaysia. We had tried in Sabah but without the help of you in W Malaysia, its doom.

We can assure you that next general election, BN would have to fight tooth and nail to get locals to vote for them because we Sabahans always remember.

And anytime you need a people who look not upon one’s race or religion and eat on the same table, we are right here in Sabah.

May we achieve what we all dream of.

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 7:02 am

humanly Says:

October 11th, 2008 (3 days ago) at 15: 02.29
    I agree with ctc537 that state govts of Sabah and Sarawak have more executive powers than the other Malayan states.”

That’s stupid! What d’ya mean by “more executive powers”? Why are you talking of Malaya and Malayan states when what you mean is Peninsular M’sia or West Malaysia??

5. #5 by rainbowseahorse on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 11:34 am

“Voices”, I am extremely glad that, finally, another Sabahan is taking up the challenge and take up the task to expound and to enlighten our fellow West Malaysians on the humongous problem of legalized migrants besetting Sabah since the eighties. Quite a number of West Malaysian bloggers seem to be totally ignorant of Sabah (and Sarawak) politics and yet so much to say and advice to give. This resulted in (as some blogger wrote) “mud slinging” between East & West Malaysians and creating animosity among us instead of being united in the face of these very uncertain times.
    Like was mention, most West Malaysians were never aware that we fought and defeated strong despotic State government like United Sabah United Organization (USNO 1963-1975) under the banner of BERJAYA. When BERJAYA metamorphosed into another despotic and corrupt government, Sabahans once more united under the Party Bersatu Sabah (PBS) banner and defeated them in 1985. Enticed by Tunku Razali, PBS pulled out of the BN and Tun M punished Sabah by issuing over 2 million ICs to all migrants in Sabah at that time, and with the help of USNO stalwart Tun Mustapha (who later realized the implication and design of Tun M, left UMNO to fight it unsuccessfully to the day he died) Tun M allowed UMNO into Sabah (which they promised not to do to Sabah & Sarawak) and made all those migrants Bumiputras their members. From that time onwards, with these 2 to 1 voters over real Sabahan voters, the BN won in every general election and effectively became UMNO’s “Fixed Deposit” (as Najib said).
    Without a change of government at the Federal level, Sabah’s fate is sealed and it might take at least two generations (when all migrants accept that Sabah is their permanent home and are assimilated into the social fabric of Sabah society) before any form of true democracy of people’s power can be felt in Sabah once again. But, I strongly believe that our Sabahans, migrants and all, can and will prevail as one united people sometime in the future when once again the cry of “Berjaya” (not for that political party, of course) resounded throughout the “Land below the wind”, and we the people are the ones who vote for who we want and choose those who have our interest at heart. By then, whoever is the Federal government will once more look upon us as a renegade State with the title of “King Maker”. Wonder what the future “Mahathir” will do to punish Sabah then???

6. #6 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 4:01 pm

Please Cry For Me, Sabah.
    We sympathise with Sabahans for their pain & sufferings since 1963.
    We call out for Pakatan Rakyat to touch lives, save souls and bring out salvation & goodness to long suffering Sabahans.

7. #7 by Swarnabumi on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 5:52 pm

The article by Another Doctor on the plight of the simple Sabahan, our fellow Malaysians is a real eye opener. They trusted their MPs innocently and landed in this no hope situation. If we continue to support the present regime under TDM orchestra, all of us shall be living in extreme poverty in the near future. Just imagine while some MPs children are having a gala time with white girlfriends in UK , we have children dying after eating poisonous toad eggs here in Malaysia! And we are to believe we are prosperous ! We the simple Malaysians need to bind together into cooperative foundations in order sustain our future survivals.A corrupted government like ours will slowly wash its hand from fulfilling its responsibility.

8. #8 by sikunsikang on Saturday, 18 October 2008 - 2:54 am

happyhappy Says:
    October 11th, 2008 (6 days ago) at 15: 08.10

haHaha what a good bullshit story…
    with many silly … here to believe this joke…

===================================================

Dear happyhappy,

this is trully NOT a joke. this is a real situation here, in Sabah. Ranau is my hometown & i know that those situations written by Another Doctor is a damn true thing. do come visit us here if you have time, or should i say; IF YOU HAVE THE GUTS to do so.

although we’ve been neglected by the Federal in terms of development or whatsoever, we always welcome our Peninsula friends to Sabah with open hearts. So, do come to Sabah and I’ll be ‘happyhappy’ to bring you ‘jalan-jalan’ & explore many places in Sabah.

For the first few days, it will be in KK city. i’m sure it’ll be an amazing experience when u’re in KK. there’s no doubt about that. but for the next few days, i’ll bring you to my hometown, a place called Ranau. we’ll go to those places (Kaingaran & Karagasan) & you’ll see how true what Another Doctor’s had revealed here..

YOU BERANI KAH?

Come to Sabah la… don’t malu-malu.
    we’ll see who’s telling bullshit. or else, u eat ur own shit..
    hahahaha….. *wink-wink*

9. #9 by observer_T on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 11:03 am

sikunsikang….yaa…betul itu, mari la jemput si hapyhapy datang Ranau….i will be very happy to accept. let him experience the coldness unpolluted enviroment……..
    come la to my hometown Hapyhapy, to BunduTuhan……:-)

10. #10 by sikunsikang on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 7:19 pm

yeehaa…! observer_T..
    bah, satu kampung kita ni tau… hehe..
    bah, nanti kita suruh c hapyhapy beguling dari tnompok smpai sana siba k… then kita tinguk, dia masi hapy or inda. silap ckit trus dia tukar nama. dari “happyhappy” pi “sadsad” hahahaha..

11. #11 by observer_T on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 - 2:09 pm

Swarnabumi Says:
    We the simple Malaysians need to bind together into cooperative foundations in order sustain our future survivals.A corrupted government like ours will slowly wash its hand from fulfilling its responsibility.
    ==================================================
    very true, we need to bind together.
    corrupted gov, will never make any good to the rakyat….

12. #12 by frankyapp on Thursday, 23 October 2008 - 12:54 pm

Swarnabumi,you are absoludely right,these YBs in our government do not care for us the rakyat and have indeed washed their hands from fulfilling their responsibility ,like for example,the illegal immigrants,the issue of the mycard to so-called citizens, the Sabah saham etc,etc. These guys just talk,cheat,steal,rob and rape our state of all it’s resources,and build huge mansion or palaces in the state and overseas,like in australia,UK and even in the US.After having done all these corrupted things,how on earth we still voted them to power in the last general election ? Are we a part of these creedy YBs or do we have to kick them out in the next election. MY answer is to kick them out completely.Well fellow Sabahans,let’s just do it.ok .