“Malaysians want fundamental change, and they want it now!”

Statement by Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah
September 23, 2008

I write this as a Malaysian, as someone who, over forty seven years of political life, has had the privilege of playing some small part in the formation our country, the building of its institutions, and our achievement of a degree of economic sufficiency. I write out of deep concern about the present state of our country.

In the lives of nations as of individuals, there come moments of profound possibility, when the potential for self-transcendence and for self-destruction are simultaneously present.

As before some critical examination in our youth, we come to the daunting realization that we hold our future in our hands, when how we will fare many years hence, and whether we shall flourish or languish, will depend on how we conduct ourselves now, in this small window of time.

We are in a political impasse that threatens to metastasize into a Constitutional crisis. Political crises come and go, but the present crisis might well be the beginning of a cascade of failures leading to long-term instability and destruction.

1. Our impasse occurs at a time of heightened economic, political and security challenges. The global economy faces the prospect of a meltdown on a scale last seen in the Great Depression of the last century. As a trading nation, we are strongly exposed to its effects. Meanwhile, while we seem to have slept, the global economy is undergoing an epic transformation that we must either adapt to or are marginalized by.

2. This year’s ground-shifting General Election result signaled a public sentiment that cannot be ignored. Malaysians want fundamental change, and they want it now, whether from within the ruling coalition or from outside it. The Malaysian demographic has changed dramatically over the last fifty years. We have seen the birth of a more sophisticated, demanding electorate that has rightly lost patience with incompetence and dishonesty.

3. The grievances of Sabah and Sarawak, which found only partial expression in the General Elections, remain unaddressed. This risks the very integrity of our Federation.

4. Misunderstandings over race and religion are ripe for political exploitation, with potentially disastrous consequences.

Post election promises notwithstanding however, the government now commands even less confidence than it did post March 8.

The public is in near despair over the prospects for change from within the ruling party. Rather than share the public’s sense of urgency, our present office-holders have redoubled efforts to frustrate renewal, cut off reform, and silence criticism. These efforts only underscore the weakness of the administration and its will to change.

We can no longer deny that in its present form, and under present leadership, the government, led by the party to which I have given my life, is now structurally and inherently incapable of providing the direction and confidence that the country needs, whether over the long or short term. The indications are there for all to see:

1. The government has been unable to respond to the economic crisis with even a basic plan of action. Business confidence has plummeted as capital flees the country. Our economic policy remains as uncoordinated and directionless as it has been in since the beginning of this administration.

2. The recommendations of two Royal Commissions of Inquiry have been ignored or watered down into insignificance.

3. In this context, Umno’s constitutional provision for the renewal of its leadership by triennial elections might have been expected to provide some hope of renewal. Instead of embracing this opportunity, however, the leadership of the party has retreated into the fantasy world of a “transition plan” which rides roughshod over the party’s constitution and the rights of its members. This risible attempt to treat public office and party trust as a private bequest between two individuals, one of whom wishes to hold office beyond his democratic mandate and the other to ascend without one, and the continuing effort to force feed the country with this notion, fools no one. Instead, and against background of rampant money politics, it kills the public’s hope of national renewal via Umno. Behind the babble about a “transition plan” the Prime Minister continues to be subverted by members of his own cabinet and subjected to thinly cloaked power plays to force his resignation.

This resort to a “transition plan” betrays a disturbing failure to grasp the meaning and purpose of public office. In the more mature society into which we aspire to grow, persons who demonstrate and moreover propagate such disregard for constitutional and democratic process would long ago have been disqualified from public life, let alone from national leadership. The news appears not to have sunk in that the public rejects leaders who shun the open light of democratic contest in favour of staged plays and backroom plots.

Given Umno’s core role in national politics, this is a dangerous state of affairs. Meanwhile the Opposition has made undeniable gains in the number of parliamentarians it commands. Beyond the hype and inflation, and regardless of whether Pakatan Rakyat now has “the numbers” to command a majority, what we cannot doubt is that support for the governing majority continues to erode, and that this erosion continues so long as there is no hope of real change in the type of leadership Umno provides. There is now a credible threat that the present government may at some time fall by a vote of no confidence, or by some otherwise constitutionally legitimate demonstration of parliamentary majority. After fifty-one years of rule by a single party, this is not a possibility that is well understood. It is justifiably viewed with trepidation. Neither sheer denial on the one hand, or inflated claims on the other, help the situation.

To all appearances, we are beginning to lose grip of the rule of law. The use of the Internal Security Act and of Sedition Laws to target particular individuals further erodes the credibility of the government. Our actions exacerbate rather than calm the fear that stokes civil and racial strife. In the present context of a leadership struggle within Umno and against a strong Opposition it is impossible to dispel the notion that these extreme measures are calculated to maintain certain individuals in power rather than to address verifiable threats to national security. Nothing does more to undermine the legitimacy of a government than plainly unjust acts. The ridiculous justifications given for some of these detentions has further undermined public confidence that the awesome powers of state are in safe hands.

We cannot afford to allow these disturbing trends to play out their destructive course while we suffer a de facto leadership vacuum, and while the rule of law is uncertain and the Constitution not upheld.

Against this background I appeal to all parties to come together in humility, beyond party politics, to hold an honest discussion, in the spirit of shared citizenship and with the gravest attitude of common responsibility towards a long-suffering rakyat, about what is happening to our country and how we might agree together on a peaceful way beyond our impasse. We need to come together to find unity and direction out of this dangerous situation. In doing so, we might turn our crisis into an opportunity and renew our unity and sense of direction as Malaysia.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:29 pm

There will be NO change in this land as long as umNO remains as the government

2. #2 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:37 pm

Dear Tengku R.H.,

I wish that you could garner the required nominations to mount a serious challenge to the two current “love-birds” who thinks that the party is their own property.

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:41 pm

Ok lah, good and stateman-like speech!

Since you appeal to all parties to come together in humility, beyond party politics, I think it is opportune time that you should start talking to, and may be even plan together with Anwar and Pakatan Rakyat’s leaders on how to address the nation’s crisis and problems outlined in your speech.

4. #4 by Jong on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:45 pm

Ha, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, isn’t he John McCain’s age? Who is his ‘running-mate’, it’ll be interesting to know?

Sarah Palin is just a ‘heartbeat’ away from the American presidency, so will be Tengku Razaleigh’s. Don’t the rakyat need to know?

5. #5 by highhand on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:46 pm

doubt will he ever get the nomination votes……kah kah kah

6. #6 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:49 pm

Yes, we want change. Umnoputras step down and dissolve Umno.

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:51 pm

Here’s one potential target for defection of some clout and ability.

8. #8 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:53 pm

“critical examination in our youth, we come to the daunting realization that we hold our future in our hands”
    ===================================

Yup, a fire starts from a sparks! “YOUTH WING LEADER KERISMAN” as He thought Malaysia Politic should be his Family Dynasty…

Taunting “Ketuanan” keris waving broadcast on national TV station. Inspired demons like Ahmad Ismail today. Yes this is our Future in holds!

9. #9 by abunsui on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:55 pm

As long as Political Party base on RACE such as UMNO, MCA and MIC still exist, there is no way we can avoid RACIST sentiment.

These parties will put in their policies : RACE first!!!! It may not be spelled in their constitutions but knowing that the party NAMED under RACE, will automatically focusing their members’ MIND, HEART, SOUL and STRENGTH to their race first. NOT the Rakyat of all races who are poor, marginalized and need help.

By ABOLISHING these THREE big brothers (Parties) together with draconian law such as ISA, it will be easier for next Government to promote unity among the multiple races of Rakyat.

10. #10 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:05 pm

Any Tom, Dick and Hairy can write a statement like that. Walk the talks Ku Li, or else just shut up.

11. #11 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:13 pm

“playing some small part in the formation our country, the building of its institutions”

AND………………………..”Operasi Lalang” NO? o_0”

12. #12 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

Jeffrey Says:

Today at 13: 51.23 (23 minutes ago)
    Here’s one potential target for defection of some clout and ability.

Jeffrey, we must not forget the history of Semangat 46. I remember in the late 1980’s and the 1990 election how S46 was so dead-set serious against Mahathir and the UMNO Baru. What happens after that? Razaleigh led them back to UMNO. He may have the clout and ability but does he have the integrity? He has proven that he cannot be depended on. Uncle Kit should be able to tell us better.

13. #13 by wesuffer on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

enough la….malaysia want change. but lets change in next GE la.
    according the GE result clearly BN vote is still higher than opposition.
    opposition should work harder to make sure retain the 5 state and more state for next GE and majorities in parliment
    stop saying crossover.
    4 years not long. want to change the new adminstration of 5 state is not enough, so please dont waste time on other thing. anwar,lim, awang pls
    concerntrate monitoring all state leader to make sure the 5 state adminstration is better than previous one.

14. #14 by Puppy-Power on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:33 pm

TR,

just read “Faith of my Fathers” by McCain.

or “Audacity of Hope” by Obama lah.

then you can pretend to be a PM Hopeful.

otherwise, spare us your BS.

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:35 pm

True but could defectors of the sorts from Sabah and Sarawak promise greater integrity?

16. #16 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:35 pm

Isn’t this the guy who keeps harping on Malay unity and protecting Malay rights…

17. #17 by LBJ on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:39 pm

If we stop and think with our head and not other parts of the body, this is a wise statement. We must find a way that will not lead to strife and conflict to move the country and society forward.
    Tengku Razaleigh has suggested a good way. I think he has the
    status and respect to get al parties to sit down and talk. Those who have the interest of the country at heart wil ldo that. Those who are only interested in their own interest will disagree.

Tengku Razaeigh should make the first move.

18. #18 by cheng on on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:01 pm

Those who wan to wait til ge13, & ask PR to concentrate on 5 states, do not know how Fed govt can frustrate state govt. State govt in Msia had very little power, if wait til ge13, & bn win again in ge 13, then Msia can look forward to join Myanmar by 2017

19. #19 by digard on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:07 pm

Well written, Razaleigh!
    You are right, and some in here are wrong: Even with Anwar taking over (I very much hope so!), we will lack stability. In an advanced democracy, the concept of a ‘grand coalition’ could be the way out. Alas, we still seem to prefer our parochial ways.
    Yes, to me it could be a good solution to transcend the artificial limits of parties, races, and institute a government of a large majority. Then, come GE 13, the electorate will know which parties have served the rakyat and vote wisely. Until then, we can experience a slow but steady progress.

Razaleigh, walk the talk! Offer yourself and those with you (please, spare us Mahathir, though) to join into a coalition for the better of Malaysia. No party-hopping, simply thrash out a plan tp bring everyone together who is sincerely interested in the better for Malaysia, across party lines. With Anwar and you at the top, I guess the majority of the Malaysians will be quite happy, and prefer you any day compared to Badawi and Najib.
    I know, you’ve been an UMNO person for 47 years. Oh, no, wait! There was a Semangat 46. Do it again, give it another try! Do what is needed for the country.
    If what you write is your true conviction, you have to do it: you have to value our country higher than the loyalty to UMNO!

20. #20 by bentoh on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:14 pm

Since there’s no sign of Anwar taking over the government…

Ku Li for PMship! :)

21. #21 by joshua81 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:19 pm

YB Lim, i’m so relieved that the High Court of Sarawak has dismissed the petition to declare election result for Bandar Kuching void. This shows that money can’t always buy result and success. YB Chong was democratically elected by the people of Bandar Kuching. To the bastards who bankrolled the petitioner, please be patient and wait until the next General Election! Dirty tactics won’t always work!

22. #22 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:20 pm

Jeffrey Says:

Today at 14: 35.27 (18 seconds ago)
    True but could defectors of the sorts from Sabah and Sarawak promise greater integrity?

Jeffrey, my thoughts and beliefs have always been that we should not accept defectors and depend on them to form the government.

My stand has always been that PR should just focus on doing an excellent job in the governance of the 5 states they have now and go for Federal Government only in the next GE.

But if PR have enough numbers to pass a no-confidence vote or take over Federal Government, in view of the extreme urgency and danger to the people and nation caused by an ineffective flip-flop and corrupt government, I am ready to concede to some frogging but with the condition that an early GE be called quickly thereafter. The end justifies the means especially if it means the decimation or the end of the UMNO. I know I sound a little wishy-washy here and may not be consistent in my stand but this is an example of a hard decision that has to be made when the choice is between two evils or wrongs. Use the strength of the frogs and defeat UMNO or allow UMNO to continue messing us up for another 4 years when we now have a chance of toppling them?

Before nomination day of the new GE, we should be able to separate the wheat from the chaff and move on in the best way we can.

I have always been thinking – PKR was borned which later gave birth to PR. Who f..k who to conceive PKR? It was Mahathir and his UMNO who f…k Anwar so bad that PKR was conceived. Then from PKR gave birth to the PKR. In terms of biology or using a biology analogy, PKR and hence PR would still inherit some genes from the father, even if this is a case of rape or non-consensual sex!! Hopefully, only the good genes are inherited from the rogue father.

As I have said elsewhere, it would take another generation or two for Malaysia to be rid of corruption and be at par with Singapore. I am trying to be disparaging – only that “cleansing”, from the point of view basing on the biology analogy, would take some time. Even if there is nothing “genetic”, habits are also a tough nut to crack. But we need for a start is the resolve and determination. Within our present national context, we really have no other choice except the PR.

Cheers!!

23. #23 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:27 pm

Sorry, typing error. Should read “Then PKR gave birth to PR” somewhere in the middle of the 5th paragraph.

24. #24 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:28 pm

/// HB Lim Says:
    Today at 15: 20.26 (5 minutes ago)
    Jeffrey, my thoughts and beliefs have always been that we should not accept defectors and depend on them to form the government. ///

HB – absolutely agree. Why didn’t Malaysia learn from Singapore? They banned defections many years ago when the PAP almost lost the right to government when a bunch of MPs went across the floor to form the Barisan Socialis. Since then, the law has been amended so that any MP who switches party automatically loses his/her seat.

25. #25 by titik on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:38 pm

Has anyone guess what happen to Malaysia politics today if Ku Li instead of Tun Dr Money was elected as our PM than? This is a question not a statement.

26. #26 by wanderer on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:41 pm

Ku Li, since you will fail in your effort to make changes staying in UMNO, would it not be better, to contribute your services to the nation from outside. Your neutral thoughts and comments will be more acceptable…you may even regain your credibility and respect from the rakyat. As it stands now, you are, in between the devil and the deep blue sea…a voice in the wilderness.

27. #27 by taiking on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:42 pm

How true. How true.

The writings can now be seen even on the inside of indah water’s sewer pipes. As with everywhere else, such writings always appear on walls, first, and move elsewhere, subsequently. But umno missed them completely.

I suppose, Razeleigh must have picked the writings up from somewhere between the walls and the inside of sewer pipes.

And if he didnt write them down for umno’s benefit, I am afraid the rest of umno might even not realise the existence of those writings. This is a real possibility because a sewer line always ends in a filtration cum treatment system.

28. #28 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:45 pm

The sincerity and consistency shown by Tengku is both commendable and laudable. But how and when his intention could be translated into reality is still a question.

Is Tengku willing to be seen working together with just any political party outside of BN? Indeed Malaysia belongs to all Malaysians, irrespective of their political and ideological allegiance. So, it only makes sense that everyone should be involved in matters of concern to all.

Gone should be the days when opposing political parties be seen and regarded as enemies and foes in the literal sense of the words.
    It should only be difference of opinions and approaches which could be debated and weighed and contemplated, with the better options chosen at the end of talks and discussions. Wonder when such times would come to life in this country of ours. Seems like self and vested interest and importance are in the way of true progress and development of the country. Sad day for Malaysia indeed.

29. #29 by mauriyaII on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:46 pm

A well-written political rhetoric by a glib UMNO politician.

If only Ku Li could convince the UMNO warlords that the ‘love birds’ are taking the country to the cleaners by their evil desire to cling on to power, then there might be a change in the UMNO makeup during the December UMNO elections.

By looks of it Ku Li may not be able to garner enough endorsement to challenge the incumbent. Under such a scenario how is it possible to rejuvenate a party that is in for an imminent implosion.

If Ku Li really cares for this country’s future, he should seriously think of convening a meeting of all MPs from West and East Malaysia to try and chart a course of action to stop the country’s economy and socital structure from retrogressing any further.

As a first step he should engineer the cross-over of as many UMNO MPs to Pakatan Rakyat and present the list to DSAI so as to show his earnestness in seeing the country from going down the drain under the leadership of the ‘love birds’.

There is no future for the country with the present mindset and psyche of the UMNOputras who are obsessed with thier fuedalistic ketuanan bigotry.

30. #30 by tiger88 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:13 pm

He sounded like in opposition. BUT no, he is speaking from his heart and as a solid Malaysian leader. An intellect, far from the present bunch. He deserves to be the president and the PM if Anwar is in trouble.

31. #31 by k1980 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:19 pm

Koo Lee should leave umno now and form Semangat 2008, just as he left to form Semangat 47 a dozen yeras ago

32. #32 by black crow on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:21 pm

THE WIND OF CHANGE IS BLOWING ACROSS THE GLOBE AND NOTHING CAN STOPPED IT. READ OUR LIPS CAREFULLY TENGKU WE WANT A C.H.A.N.G.E IN THE GOVERMENT AFTER 50 YEARS OF ABUSIVE RAPE ON THE RAKYAT. BN WILL BE HISTORY!

33. #33 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:21 pm

“My stand has always been that PR should just focus on doing an excellent job in the governance of the 5 states they have now and go for Federal Government only in the next GE.” – HB Lim

Fact, BN won’t let PR focus on doing an excellent job. An excellent job also includes taking over the government, if PR don’t, they lose, no job!

34. #34 by Lim Koo on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:42 pm

Dear Ku Li,

In the history of ancient China, Jiangtaigong became the Prime Minister at age 80.

Highest tribute goes to your semangat to serve the nation. Keep fit and observe a rejuvenating regimen.

Apart from Tongkat Ahli, try Ginseng or Lingzhi.

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:44 pm

HB Lim,

Going forward from your genetic analogy, Anwar/PKR, currently playing a leading role within PR, has likely inherited some of UMNO’s genes and pass them on to the body politic of Pakatan Rakyat. To say that genes inherited and passed on are likely the positive ones and not negative may be a trifle san’guine (in light of Anwar’s prevarication to see the King and a cloud of suspicion hovering around the streadfastness of his “would-be” defectors from East Malaysia, which in turn may or may not account for his prevarication). Further more, there are complications as PR has to accommodate PAS’s theocratic ambitions, so Anwar rushed to see Nik Aziz & Hadi to ameliorate the latter’s concern that PAS MPs (read PAS’s agenda) might be marginalised in the newly PKR led govt.

Notwithstanding that, the prevailing sentiments of many people is that if BN/UMNO is morally bankrupt, then any alternative to it, whether promising or not, is anyway worth the risk.

The hope is that the new group PR will at least be a “notch” if not several notches better than old group BN because the new group could displace the old only by reason of the rakyat’s support, so to this extent, the Rakyat’s expectations and demands have to be catered for, prior to disillusionment setting in, in the longer run.

The present PM is determined to stay on. However Anwar is also determined like Najib to be PM after Pak Lah is ushered off the stage. Ku Li also want to be PM and comes out with this wonderful speech that Malaysians want change and want them now. Muhyiddin Yasin/Rais are wondering who to ally with. Mahathir wants to protect his legacy from Pak Lah and Anwar’s taking over, so he also thinks of who to support. At this moment, we’re all on uncharted waters, a lot of thrashing of water around and no clear drift where it will lead to. ….

The problem of Anwar’s take over plan is that his numbers are likely made from untrust-worthy Sabah & Sarwak’s kataks whose commitment wavers or they impose conditions like “you form the govt first then only I join or something ridiculous along these lines, making the whole equation ‘chicken or egg’, which could explain why Anwar is still pussyfooting around.

Frankly if one says that these kataks are crossing over the PR for principles and not monetary considerations and positions, I will not believe that. Which is the probelm from stability point of view because if Anwar can pay, so can UMNO/BN – maybe even better and more, since they have 50 years dominion over the national assets of the country! :)

36. #36 by pakmang on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:46 pm

The article written is very impressive and convincing. It would be much more better if KU LI & gangs could comence to take up action asap rather than just like us talking the issue in the Coffee shop everyday!

37. #37 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:48 pm

Say what you like about his sincerity or lack thereof and record, I think that Ku Li’s speech is good, with well chosen words to depict the dilemmas and problems of the nation. :)

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:55 pm

Today we also take Anwar’s words for what they say. We do not delve into history of his days and speeches in ABIM or UMNO. Same goes for Zaid – and rightly Ku Li.

Ambition and thirst for power/importance can make a man turn bad as well good. It is our role as rakyat to keep them from turning bad but if they do, then kick them out. There’s nothing more you could do. So perhaps there is sense to measure what the contents of the message rather than the history of the messenger or our reading of his character or repute based on track record. Sure the latter is almost quite an infallible guide but then desire/ambition may change a person from bad to not so bad and perhaps even good (as vice versa may also the case) depending how one wields the carrot and stick in his face….

39. #39 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:59 pm

Jeffrey, the speech per se is admittedly good and very well written. Most Malaysians can feel the exasperation that is conveyed.

40. #40 by Loh on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:06 pm

Ku Li will also be constrained by his party UMNO should he rise up to be the Deputy in BN government. He cannot be at he top because it is most unlikely that he would get the 58 nominations, and AAB plus Najib would not let him have his way. He might be Najib’s deputy, but then there are Muhyiddin, and Kerismuddin along the way.

There is no way Ku Li would return to government through UMNO. But he can be one of the many deputies if Anwar becomes the PM. He should talk to his own supporters. Bring 30 over to Pakatan, and AAB will have to agree that he does not have the number to support him anymore. The crisis is over, and he can contribute his ideas to the new government.

41. #41 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:08 pm

TRH fooled us once when he left Umno to form Semangat 46, joined forces with opposition parties against BN, and then subsequently dissolved Semangat 46 and returned to Umno Baru.

Talk is cheap. Does he have credibility? Can we trust him?

If TRH were genuinely concerned with the state of the nation, then he should quit Umno and join one of the opposition parties to liberate the nation from Umno and BN. Time for actual actions, not talk.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

42. #42 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:21 pm

And what’s good such an eloquence in a political statement when, though stirring to Opposition supporters here, is entirely lost to the people who count most to Ku Li, ie. the rank & file delegates and power brokers of his party, who cannot understand either the thrust or nuance of his statement due to poor English??? :)

43. #43 by max2811 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:33 pm

Some politicians harp on racial issues and try to be champions for their own race. Out of the blue, TRH is talking sense. But he being an UMNO man surprises me.

I don’t trust him! Maybe he is trying out a new image and putting things into perspective in believing himself to be PM in-waiting. I would never trust or believe any UMNO leader. Look at Ahmad(deleted)Ismail.

I’m disappointed DSAI’s programme is actually propaganda. I guess we are back to square one. I hope DAP will continue to be vocal about equal rights, human rights, accountability, corruption and tranparency.

44. #44 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:35 pm

The Rakyat are the weilder of the carrot and stick and by judicious weilding can change a leader or a political party. It means that we have to keep the option open that UMNO may be forced or persuaded to change and reform to please the weilder and stay in power. Should we therefore take a longer view of things and not force drastic changes in the shortest possible time and in the hurried process wreak national havoc? I am beginning to think that for the sake of the country and the Rakyat, PR should retreat and not press on with the change of government plan and focus on the governance of the 5 PR states and a step-by-step democratisation of the nation through effective opposition. But then again, I wish I can be definite with my stand and thoughts which tend to prevaricate. And right in front of me now is a table calendar with has Oscar Wilde reminding me that “the man who sees both sides of the question is a man who sees nothing at all”. Sigh…

45. #45 by shadow on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:46 pm

If BN stays on till next GE then I prefer KU LI to be the next PM. He’ll make a better leader for the Malaysians than the others.

46. #46 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:51 pm

Ku Li, like you, many of us millions of Malaysians are deeply disappointed and disillusioned with UMNO and BN.

For a start, why don’t you quit UMNO like Tun M. But go one up on Tun, join Pakatan Rakyat and help bring meaningful change.

UMNO and BN is a koyak coalition. There is just no hope anymore. It’s just too late. The trains have alkl left the stations.

BTW, these figures:
    “The Department of Statistics revised downwards the inflation figure for July to 8.3 per cent.

It said the cost of food and non-alcoholic drinks rose 11.7 per cent in August compared to a year ago. The high inflation is already hurting consumers with many Malaysians cutting down on their food bill. ”

Does any one from the statistics department ever go to market?

47. #47 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:55 pm

TRH says –

“Against this background I appeal to all parties to come together in humility, beyond party politics, to hold an honest discussion, in the spirit of shared citizenship and with the gravest attitude of common responsibility towards a long-suffering rakyat, about what is happening to our country and how we might agree together on a peaceful way beyond our impasse. We need to come together to find unity and direction out of this dangerous situation. In doing so, we might turn our crisis into an opportunity and renew our unity and sense of direction as Malaysia.”

How does he propose that we come together in the spirit of shared citizenship and hold an honest discussion and agree on a peaceful way beyond our impasse and turn this crisis into opportunity? Where do we start, how do we start this national dialogue? The first requisite is a spirit of shared citizenship. Has UMNO that spirit of sharing? The other prerequiste is to come together in humility? Again, has UMNO that humility?

48. #48 by yapchee on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:02 pm

there is a old chinese saying ‘ to move a mountain is more easy than to change a man’s attitude ”

as long as UMNO veterans are in power and there will be no change. that is their attitude now – malaysia belongs to UMNO and UMNO is the founder of malaysia ! without UMNO there is no malaysia as of today!

UMNO do not belive in history or study for that matter?
    look at today happenings and yet they are studborn for change, so do you think they will change?

all talks is pointless now. change will eventually come is only we do not know what price we all have to pay? let us all wait and see!

49. #49 by melurian on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:13 pm

i don understand this: “The grievances of Sabah and Sarawak, which found only partial expression in the General Elections, remain unaddressed. This risks the very integrity of our Federation”…

i thot they are very happy, very content to have aab as pm and bn as gov so they pangkah them in ge12. one cannot say they’re not happy with aab, the kepala batas ppl voted him, the rakyat gave him mandate, the agong elected him….. very difficult to understand sometimes…

50. #50 by melurian on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:17 pm

“If TRH were genuinely concerned with the state of the nation, then he should quit Umno and join one of the opposition parties to liberate the nation from Umno and BN. Time for actual actions, not talk”

he did try once lar, and it failed evidently, and he learned the lesson. best is reformed internally via umno/bn…….. some ppl din understand his wisdom….

51. #51 by bumi-non-malay on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:37 pm

Ku Li the BEST thing you can do for Malaysia RIGHT Now is to bring your 20 Malay MP from UMNO to Join DAP. YOu will be given the PM ship for 1 term (5 years), then Anwar (5 Years)…and so on.

That is if you serious for a Better Malaysia. Apart from that You have been my Greatest dissapointment since I supported you mati-matian during Semangat 46. You have only one chance to redeem yourself and that is to Join DAP.

Don’t waste out time with false hope make the MOVE TOMORROW!!

Sooner or later we will OBLITERATE UMNO-BN…like it or not!!

52. #52 by Old.observer on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:46 pm

HB Lim Says:

Today at 15: 20.26 (3 hours ago)

“… my thoughts and beliefs have always been that we should not accept defectors and depend on them to form the government.

My stand has always been that PR should just focus on doing an excellent job in the governance of the 5 states they have now and go for Federal Government only in the next GE …”

I noticed that this view – that PR should just focus on governing over the next 5 years until the next GE – has been repeated a number of times in this blog and has not really been challenged.

I question if this is the only way how a more mature democratic nation works.

Central on this question is whether the PM tenure should be a fixed tenure over the 5 year period until the next GE?

My own personal belief is that it is not. The PM position should NOT be a fixed tenure for the next 5 years.

Why?

For many reasons, one of which is that 5 years is simply too long a time if the PM immediately turns for the worse, or lied to Rakyat since the time of the General Election for example. In our Constitution, our PM needs to and should command the majority’s confidence AT ALL TIMES if he wishes to remain PM.

In many more mature democratic countries, their MPs have the ability to “cross the floor” i.e. vote based on their conscience.

If a PM and his party has done a poor job after the previous GE, Rakyat should not need to wait until 5 years is over, before giving them the boot.

In my opinion, the present Government with all their irresponsibilities (aribtrary ISA detention, sending 50 MPs to Taiwan, inconsistent punishing of Ahmad Ismail, lies to justify detaining Teresa Kok, lip service given to setting up IPCMC, corruptions, irresponsible Budget, mismanagement, wastages, leakages, etc. etc. etc.) – has long ago – lost their moral authority to govern this country.

This Government should have been sacked by Parliament, especially the 222 MPs who were elected by Rakyat.

I for one would strongly argue against the continuation of the present Government to govern over the next 5 years. So much unprecedented damages have been observed and done over the last 6 months. We should not tolerate another 4.5 years of these irresponsibilities.

As our Constitution allows for the removal of the present Government in between General Elections, I say … “Let’s do it”. Let’s kick the present Government OUT!

Even if this means the MPs vote in accordance to their conscience as to what is best for Rakyat, even if this means “crossing the floor” and be labelled by Government controlled newspapers as being “katak”, so be it.

Just do what is in the best interest of this nation.

Yes, this seems idealistic, but is the present choice of no change any better?

53. #53 by homeblogger on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 7:02 pm

Okay… so it looks and sound just like another beautifully crafted rhetorical essay. You know we want fundamental change.

Are you THAT fundamental change? Or are you just another BN clone seeing an opportunity to fill your pockets – a vulture waiting to swoop down as the savior of the country and feed on the body of a dying PM?

We now have racist bigots and opportunistic politicians. If we give you a chance, will we have racist politicians and opportunistic bigots?

54. #54 by kutlakut on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 7:06 pm

HB Lim wrote: ‘Jeffrey, my thoughts and beliefs have always been that we should not accept defectors and depend on them to form the government.’

I say, we should allow defection on one solid reason, viz the moral right to pull back from a deal gone bad. The contract of a coalition is NOT one that MUST live for the entire period of 5 years – that would work out to be a sellout of the people if the party realized that the coalition is working against the nation.

Don’t buy the BN talk that once elected, it is a BLANK check. No it is not.

55. #55 by Anti-Monarchy on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 7:13 pm

Ku Li,

Where were you when the following happened?
    1. The arrest and imprisonment of RPK under ISA
    2. The arrest of Teresa Kok under ISA
    3. The arrest of Sin Chew’s reporter Miss Tan
    4. The racial slur uttered by Ahmad Ismail
    5. The arrest of Hindraf 5 under ISA
    ……..
    Talk is cheap. Only UMNO would accept you wholeheartedly.

Cheers

56. #56 by Anti-Monarchy on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 7:14 pm

The following was reported in Star Online:

Wednesday September 24, 2008 MYT 4:02:20 PM
    Anwar drops deadline for govt takeover
    By NURBAITI HAMDAN

KUALA LUMPUR: After a couple of false starts, Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has now ceased to set a deadline for Pakatan Rakyat to take over the government.

“It is not an issue of deadlines anymore. Who could have anticipated that the Prime Minister would refuse to hold an emergency Parliament session when we already have the numbers?” he told reporters at the Jalan Duta court complex on Wednesday after the hearing of his sodomy case.

He claimed this was the first time in the history of a democratic country that a Prime Minister has refused to see an opposition leader.

On Sept 15 at a rally, Anwar claimed the Opposition alliance was on track to take over the government the next day on Sept 16, which Pakatan leaders and supporters had dubbed “916.”

He had said that he had a sufficient number of Members of Parliament (MPs) willing to cross over to the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition, and would be releasing a list of names.

However, at a press conference on Sept 16 itself, Anwar said he would try and meet Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to discuss a peaceful transition of power.

Abdullah declined to meet him, which then led Anwar to ask for an emergency session of Parliament to move a vote of no-confidence against the Prime Minister.

Abdullah again refused to do so. Pakatan leaders now say they would seek an audience with the Yang DiPertuan Agung

57. #57 by drngsc on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 7:57 pm

Sounds like KuLi has seen the light. All of us, and particularly KuLi, must remember ” Evil triumph when good man choose not to be involved “. Many of us are not guilty of the sins of commission ( except the umnoPutras ), but are guilty of the sins of omission. We allow evil to triumph for 51 years. It is time for a change. Looks like an Umno change is the least painful for all of us. That looks virtually impossible, unless Umno has more like KuLi. A change from outside Umno, well it would be costly and painful. God help us Malaysians. We need a change.

58. #58 by melurian on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 8:42 pm

i read news that bijan canceled his trip to us coz things on finance ministry…. donno if he actually wanted to avoid being questioned on isa in u.s and a…

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/90270

59. #59 by cinaUSJ on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 8:54 pm

With due respect, I saluted you Tengku for all that you had expressed but don’t you know that your support within umno are just too minimal for you to; even have a say or act to save us from all this shit. I suggest it will be better if you can join PR. umno are already rotten to to the core!

60. #60 by badak on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 9:25 pm

I was at DSAI court case today. I was taken aback when the PROSECUTION lawyer said “” YANG ARIFF YOUR HANDS ARE TIGHT””
    ????????????

61. #61 by Saint on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 9:38 pm

Dear Tengku,
    Many of us have great respect for you but what the country needs now is not respect but a good statesman. I humbly ask Tengku to ponder into this; and I am borrowing your own words.

1. “Meanwhile, while we seem to have slept, the global economy is undergoing an epic transformation that we must either adapt to or are marginalized by.”

– 50% of our population was marginalized straight forward, while the other 45% “made lame but vicious” so that 5% will survive.
    Were you not part of the 5% who agreed to all this for the last 51 years.

2. “electorate that has rightly lost patience with incompetence and dishonesty.”

Are you asking the rakyat to forget, let them free, forgive and and allow them to rule again. Why did you not speak up before when millions were “walking out in front of your face”

3. The grievances of Sabah and Sarawak, which found only partial expression in the General Elections, remain unaddressed. This risks the very integrity of our Federation.

If your family and you were from Sabah and Sarawak, will you consider yourself a traitor if you feel it is better to get out of Malaysia. Would you agree to treason and gladly accept 20 to 30 years in prison, a gift from UMNO; your party.

4. Misunderstandings over race and religion are ripe for political exploitation, with potentially disastrous consequences.

Was it not your party which ruled Malaysia “without a break” for 51 years. Whom are you blaming now? Yourself as one of the “has had the privilege of playing some small part in the formation our country, the building of its institutions, and our achievement”

YM Tengku – we do not need respectful leaders, but true statesmen – you are “very late”. I have great respect for you but prefer Anwar 100 times over you.

You mean well but after 51 years, we prefer someone new. PAS, DAP, PKR is a much better alternative for Malaysia. UMNO and its slaves – definitely not.

62. #62 by greatstuff on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 9:48 pm

Brilliantly written letter Tunku!
    I hope that you and Anwar can join forces and take over the leadership from the rudderless, clueless, dinosaurs, who have been steering the nation to nowhereland over the past decades!
    Best Wishes and Selamat Hari Raya to you!

63. #63 by limkamput on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 10:32 pm

When we are angry, disappointed, disillusioned, desperate, insecure and hopeless, any one could be our leader, including the donkey, so long as it is not from BN. Heard of replacing one tyrant with another, one corrupted regime with another and one incompetent a** with another equally incompetent a**. This is what many of us here are talking about.

64. #64 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 11:30 pm

I think Razaleigh will have a shocker for the UMNOputeras in December :^)

65. #65 by richmom on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 11:36 pm

Tengku, you feel hot now!
    See which ingredient in the soup melts first…potatoes(brown),cabbage(yellow),black beans…if the cook did not realise the fire has been burning.

66. #66 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 11:36 pm

Ku Li,

There are inexorable, irrevocable laws of nature. Whatsoever a man sows, that shall he reap. So Mlaysia has been sowing wild oats during the tenure of Tun M. It’s only natural that the country is reaping the whirlwinds of discord and ruin.

I still think the only way to break the pattern is to break the mould of UMNO and BN – and begin afresh with PR. Think about this Ku Li. And if u r humble enough, u may want to do something drastic & effective. Leave UMNO like Tun M. That would be the best wake-up call for all those Ketuanan guys who were merely championing their own pockets. Imagine Zakaria Deros – what in tarnation was he doing – championing for which block of Malays, if not his own family and his pocket! That is just 1 case amongst thousands. So, if Ku Li were tyo humbly reflect – you must certainly and calmly respond like a strategic thinker of yr calibre would respond. The UMNO sampan has sprung too many leaks and is beyond anyone’s redemption.

67. #67 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 11:39 pm

Ku Li, you are not young anymore, you are not going to live forever, for once in your life, do the right thing, not stupid things!

68. #68 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 11:59 pm

Yes, “Malaysians do want fundamental change, and they want it now!”(Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah) but it must be a change for the better.

Many Malaysians place their hopes in Pakatan Rakyat (“PR”). We hope the promise of change for the better will not mean a change from communal/racists politics of UMNO/BN to that religious politics of PAS. Otherwise it might be jumping from hot pan to fire.

What is disconcerting is the news report that PAS insists that the formation of PR government has to be backed by a muslim majority among its law makers. See MalaysiaInsider report at this link – http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/9526-pas-still-insists-on-muslim-majority-govt

And that Anwar went to see Nik Aziz and Hadi to assuage their concerns in this respect.

Why should PAS so insist, and what is DAP’s stand on PAS’s position in this respect?

Such a stipulation by PAS would deter BN MPs from East Malaysia from defecting and would spoil Anwar’s ‘Take Overt’ plans.

No wonder Anwar/PR’s plans to topple the government keep on being postponed, from 9/16 to 9/23, and from 9/23 till up to now, continuing…

69. #69 by ramukjarmk on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 12:48 am

Ku Li, as among those who have contributed significantly to the formation of this country which today is perceived as the 47th most corrupt, I admire your energy to want to lead this nation out of its quagmire.

But it is simply not that simple, as you already know. Because it does not involve the complex, as you might not really think so…. It is not immediately about finance, CPI, crime, employment rates, FDI etc…

Sir, it is actually much simpler. It is about the legendary Ali, Ah Chong and Muthu and others who depend on this Beloved Motherland, and dream of being equals.

But at best they are Unequal Equals….

This ‘Unequal-Equal-ity’ is the cancer, which has now spread to all organs. Its now a systemic failure. When a system fails, you cannot fix its part/s. You need to fix the whole, and its ecosystem. And this is best done by designing and implementing a new system, and hopefully within a new-found environment.

There is nothing wrong with this. Parts of the old system can be fixed and still imported into the new. The rest, the majority…. God Bless-lah….

The problem with the Founding Bapaks of My Motherland is that they believe in only one system. Can’t blame them as they, for most of the 51 years, never really experienced a world like ours…. Not that yours was any less in significance, just different. Afterall, you guys fought the Japanese and the British for an independent Malaya.

We now fight the ruling elite for a JUST AND FAIR MALAYSIA! As a Founding Bapak, please be proud that your hardwork is not going to waste.

This is not a force of destruction. This is Malaysia’s new CONSTRUCTION….

Thankfully, we have always had a back-up generator — for 51 years…. amazing but true. This generator has been started without much probems and is now supplying power to the majority of Malaysia’s economic and industrial powerhouses….

Anyone run out of Malaysia yet? Mana ada Ku Li?

Who knows, you might have enough coal-power to become an engine-driver sometime soon. In the case you do, remember, it is not immediately the complex you need to fix, focus on the simple –go for the Unequal Equal.

When in death we are equals, why live to be mortal unequals?

70. #70 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:19 am

Malaysia is not the only country that allows party hopping. We cannot call ourselves a free country and a democracy if we fetter the constitutional right of our MPs to free speech. Party hopping is all about free speech.

71. #71 by ablastine on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:05 am

Dear TRH,

It is fairly obvious that UMNO with all itsracist dinosaurs will never sit together with other political parties to discuss anything. In the first place I doubt they can even recognize the symptomatology of a failing nation which we are manifesting. Over the years only the most racist and the most corrupt can move up the ladder in UMNO. This has distilled a generation of ultra racist and Malay supremacist who believe that everybody in the world owe them a living. It is impossible with talk to such people. It is an exercise in futility.

I would humbly suggest that you join DAP and hop over to PR together with your supporters to strengthen the hand of Anwar. Both of you can share the premiership. I have great hope that the country under the leadership of both of you will spell a better future. Please hurry before the treacherous BN goons put everybody in jail under ISA!

72. #72 by lhslhv on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:44 am

Tengku Razaleighy you had formed Semangat 46 and you almost won your UMNO presidency.

However this is not enough to change UMNO even if you had won.

Corruption was very rampant in China during Chiang Kai Shek’s era. Corruption was wipe out only after Communist took over the governement. China is saved by communist.

In correlation, UMNO is too corrupted beyond any hope to save Malaysia. A complete overhaul by PR is the only option to bring Malaysia to the global arena again. Otherwise we will be like Zimbabwe when the population of the Malays reach 70 million.

Since PR is the only hope right now, why not join PR en bloc with your supporters to save this beautiful country.

Our country is shielded from major natural disasters and blessed with a lot of natural resources , however we are cursed by human disaster which is created by UMNO.

73. #73 by UzMiNoOnist on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 5:33 am

Solution to this impasse…

Form a new group for BN MPs who have lost faith for the two idiotic lovebirds. This party will be the ‘King Maker’.

Kick their ass out ( and some others ) and install a new government. Also to top it up, throw them the ISA book.

74. #74 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 7:34 am

Malaysians may want change but there is a glaring leadership vacumn in which no one particular leader has emerged with the credibility and means to take us across the Rubicon, so to speak….

So far the standard bearer of change – Anwar Inbrahim – with his clarion call for Pakatan Rakyat to topple the government on self imposed dates 16th & 23rd Sept has defaulted in his promise.

Pak Lah has already called his bluff and Anwar has already revealed his ace when speaking to reporters outside the Jalan Duta court complex in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

According to Malaysiakini, “(It is) not an issue of deadlines now,” Anwar back tracked, pinning the blame on Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. Anwar said, “the deadline was Sept 16 – Sept 16 was the date we were ready and we have made it very clear (but) who could anticipate that the prime minister would refuse to discuss (matters) of national importance – who could anticipate (that the) prime minister would refuse calling an emergency (parliament) session when we claim we have the majority”.

This is a poor excuse. In postings in earlier threads I have already explained why a motion and vote of no confidence, whilst Parliament is in session, is only but one of the ways but not the exclusive way to prove that the PM has lost majority in Dewan Rakyat under Article 43 (2)(a) of the Federal Constitution, the alternative way being to see the Yang di Pertuan Agong with all the signed declarations/undertakings of the defectors with the defectors themselves personally present to affirm to the King that they have not changed their stance.

Yet Anwar now contradicted Tian Chua and denied that PR had even written to the King to seek an audience with him and noted that it would be the last option. (Malaysiakini report).

Why the last option if he has the verifiable “numbers”?

That option becomes irrelevant, when Parliament resumes session on 13th September plus another 14 days for the motion of no confidence to be moved – on 28th September, which will be the D-Day for Anwar to prove whether he has the numbers or has been talking cock all the while!

Anwar is getting into deep problem because the only thing that stares at him if PR’s plans to topple the govt with defections do not materialise on 28th September is the Sodomy II charges and trial!

Pak Lah on the other hand, in his seeming Forest Gump mode, has emerged better with majority of UMNO’s divisional leaders now supporting his 2010 transition plan with Najib, a plan I must say the incumbent can always change at that material time if for some reasons Najib fails to mitigate the effects of Global Financial Crisis impacting negatively on Malaysia in the period in between.

Pak Lah therefore is being given a reprieve from being immediately evicted. An incumbent always has substantrial powers that the office of PM vests. The question is whether he would wield them to the fullest and how he wields them for his purposes.

As to what his real intentions and purposes are in fighting to stay on, of course, that is the million dollar question. :)

The only thing that can possibly upset his apple cart is for Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and maybe with Muhyiddin Yasin or even Zaid Ibrahim to forge an alliance with Anwar’s PR.

Ku Li’s combination with anyone else, Muhyiddin included, will not be able to challenge the Pak Lah/Najib faction within UMNO. Besides Ku Li knows that UMNO cannot reform to resolve the problems outlined in statement above and its days are likely numbered in the face of rakyat’s changing moods.

75. #75 by fatin on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 8:23 am

in my opinion..teresa,lim kit siang & anwar should be put in the ISA right now..why u guys want to make havoc…?before this malaysia is very peaceful without all this problem..im not from the government site…but we need peace…y all the older make our country “kucar kacir”???

76. #76 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 8:25 am

Me think Muhiyiddin is going to break rank and partner with Razaleigh for the leadership. Its really what he wants. He does not want Badawi to leave before the GA in Dec. The fact of the matter is a Najib administration is bad for him. Unless he does not mind waiting 10-15 years for the Premiership at which time he may or may not get it even. Its really the best thing for him to have the party in the mess and for him to go for the top leadership with Razaleigh in one way or other.

Battle royale in December is set unless Badawi changes his mind. Najib should be the one who want Badawi to leave now or he may not get the premiership at all. From now to Dec, you can be sure Najib operatives are stabbing the Badawi in the back.

77. #77 by ctc537 on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 8:44 am

I remember someone telling me that it was Ku Li who coined the words bumiputras and non-bumiputras way back in the early seventies. How I wish he were to have made the point clear then that those Malaysians irrespective of race who were born after Independence 31 were classified as bumiputras.

78. #78 by taiking on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 10:05 am

Actually, there is nothing we dont already know or have not already said.

After half centuary without challenge, umno became fixed in their ways. And unfortunately for all of us, arrogance crept in and became a permanent fixture in their methods.

Razaleigh is wasting his time in umno. Its no longer the same umno he knew and expect.

Yes I agree with those who suggest he should just leave umno. Join pakatan. Form another party in opposition to umno. Either way, it would be better than staying put.

79. #79 by daryl on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 10:43 am

Ku Li
    Sometmes in order to preserve you have to tear it down. So, is time to move on because BN is not the platform for change. Become our PM but in PR because that is the only way out for Malaysia at this moment. UMNO or BN can be rebuild at a later date because without a successful Malaysia it is uselesss to have a successful UMNO or BN.

80. #80 by lextcs on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 12:01 pm

why anwar must not come to power?
    1. because paul wolfowitz is his buddy and financier
    2. becoz paul wolfowitz sits in the PNAC committee
    3. PNAC stands for project for New American Century
    4. becoz US is try to gain back its imperial influence they have to use certain leaders to hoodwink and overturn govts legally elected by the people
    5. if everything fails, then violence is used to the extend of bombings and chaos….911 is a good example of them killing their own.
    6. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-Vwhzq0qCc&feature=related
    7. beware rakyat malaysia.
    8. he who have ears let him hear.

81. #81 by Old.observer on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:22 pm

Jeffrey,

Thanks for the Malaysian Insider link Yesterday at 23: 59.12 – http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/9526-pas-still-insists-on-muslim-majority-govt;

Personally, I feel the article is written in a somewhat biased manner, so, it has lost some credibility with me.

Notwitstanding that, I suspect (although we don’t know for certain unless there is a nationwide referendum which is unlikely to happen) the majority of Malaysians will want to see a Muslim majority in Parliament at this point in time. I can’t say with the same level of certainty in 20 or 40 years time, but at this point in time, I think Malaysians will want to see a Muslim majority in Parliament, for stability reasons.

So, to me, it’s a lower priority issue, to concede on this, even though I note it is still “racial” in principle. But to me, the more important issue is to immediately eliminate the large number of “wrongs” that are presently happening with the ruling government.

82. #82 by abunsui on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:43 pm

Ku Li,

Jangan cakap tak serupa bikin.

NATO – No Action Talk Only. Similar to MCA and Gerakan.

Say no to ISA – Resign or pull out of BN-UMNO.

83. #83 by k1980 on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:08 pm

Look who are happy now that recession is coming
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/5xmom/2884530036/

84. #84 by bentoh on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:23 pm

abunsui,

Errr… Ku Li is running for his PMship… is this considered NATO? :o

And if Ku Li ended up not living up to expectation… we can always use this article to shoot him down…

Anwar did not live up to our expectation or to his own words… So for now… I pray for Ku Li’s PMship first… :P

85. #85 by cheng on on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:27 pm

Dont think ku li can wait another 10 years, he is 71 now. It is now or never for him !

86. #86 by Old.observer on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:28 pm

Dear Jeffrey,

Naturally, many are dissappointed when 916 didn’t eventuate with a change of government.

Yet in all fairness to DSAI, to lump DSAI together with the present BN leadership (you quote: “glaring leadership vacuum”) because DSAI missed the deadline is a bit dramatic isn’t it?

To me, there is a glaring difference between DSAI missing the self-imposed 916 deadline vs the present administration (imposing ISA suka-suka hati on RPK, on Teresa, on Tan, etc., the present administration sending 50 MPs to Taiwan suka-suka hati, the present administration blatant lying to the public on far too many times, corruptions, etc.)

Both are completely different things.

And bear in mind what Anwar is trying to achieve is not an easy task, and has never been done before in Malaysian history. It’s herculean, and the odds stacked against it (916).

Yet, some would argue it is still dissappointing and I don’t deny that. But that is a fact of life. If there is no deadline, zero chance of leaping. A deadline galvanized people, and the panic responses of the BN government is evidence of this. It was (and maybe still is) the best chance to change. Put it this way – if we could turn back time to 803 – I still think DSAI’s approach to set the a specific deadline is the right approach, even if it carries a high degree of failure. To not set a deadline is to guarantee failure. I actually deeply respect and admire DSAI’s courage to take such a huge reputational risk in order to change Malaysia for the better.

And at the time of penning this, no one can conclusively say that he still doesn’t have the numbers. Politics is fickle – for all we know, this may be a clever and deliberate change of approach, a political gambit to invite Abdullah to wipe off Anwar once and for all by putting the vote of no confidence in the next Parliamentary sitting, and if Abdullah did this, there is still the possibility that the nation could be pleasantly surprised!

87. #87 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:41 pm

Dear Old.observer, Yes, it has also to be weighed against the fact that a self imposed deadline, repeated often enough and relied upon by others including RPK (to his detriment) unfulfilled does little to help DSAI’s credibility or those of his coalition partners acquiescing 9/16 and raises further question whether other promises made by DSAI in exchange for support may likewise be believed and relied upon. :)

88. #88 by homeblogger on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 6:24 pm

No Ku Li… you cannot bring fundamental change. You see, the problem lies with a racist, greedy, fundamentally wrong UMNO. UMNO can’t even deal with the money politics that is rampant in its own backyard and you want to change deep rooted fears and prejudice? Our present PM came in with big talk of reforms. He is being killed by his own because UMNOputras are afraid they will lose their rice bowl built on corruption. If you come in, you will also meet an untimely death politically because UMNO has taught generations of Malays that they are stupid, that they NEED protection, that they CANNOT compete on a playing field, that they deserve special rights simply because of skin color. UMNO has played the race game for 51 years and we are now paying the price for it.

No Ku Li… with all your rhetoric, you can try to bring fundamental change, but UMNO will not change. They will kill their own to protect their right to be corrupt.

The only way is to dismantle the evil regime that is UMNO.

89. #89 by StevePCH on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 10:30 pm

Ku Li is a known opportunist but nevertheless, he speaks a good degree of truth, much better than PL, NTR , No Otak and Co.
    AMeNO is corrupted down to the JKKK level in passing small contracts for repairing drains etc. That’s why the so called “Federal Village Heads” is very important to feed the grassroots.
    With this structure, will Ku Li be able to change the “fundamentals” ? Ameno can never be changed because it’s like a Pyramid marketing system. This system made the whole organisation complacent and out of focus and objectives.

Futhermore, Ku Li had tried to wrest support during the Semangat 46 but rejoined the devil. I doubt Ku Li will be able to garner the neccesary nominations to challange PL, let alone beat him. But he can still dream on.
    He is no where near Zaid ! be gentleman and quit !

90. #90 by wifeejane on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 11:03 pm

Like minded leaders should bury their hatchet and work together for a peaceful solution to our political crises. It is very childish and uncivilised to go for mud slinging, exploiting on racial issue like Ahmad Ismail and his 13 supporters, creating hatred and fear on racial and religion line like our Dr. Khir Toyol or threatening any outspoken citizen with ISA like Syed Hamid Albar. All our god wants us to live peacefully. So please no matter which side you are on come together work out a peaceful solution for the transition so as to be well prepared to face the looming economic recession. Our enemy is globalisation and we should not be fighting amoung ourself along racial lines. We are all citizens of Malaysia and everyone of us has contribute our sweat and blood in the process of nation building. So pls tengku if u firmly believe to this article u have written, walk out of the nutshell like Zaid Ibrahim and concentrate on working together with people of similiar lines of thoughts.

Tengku. Tks for writing this brave & beautiful article, now we are watching Tengku on walk the talk. Don’t jus give lips service only.

91. #91 by lopez on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:48 pm

if lousy losers would want others to govern them, lets sub contract the governing to third parties.
    Let prepare the need statement

Let the people decide who will be in the vendor lists

92. #92 by kerishamuddinitis on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:07 pm

Ku Li, Ku Li jangan main guli-guli. Molotov cocktail at Teresa Kok’s house and you are still appealing from within UMNO? Isn’t it crystal clear that the recent string of developments are designed to provoke the Chinese community? But no, we are not going to the streets, not the way UMNO wants us to. We are NOT taking UMNO’s bait! We will join hands with Pakatan Rakyat, DSAI, RPK, LKS, NA and all other Malaysians who, as you say, want fundamental change and we want it NOW! Then, when we go to the streets, it will be because we want to save this country of ours. And you? You will still be writing your impassioned pleas for all parties to come togther. Do yourself and this country we all love a favour and GET THE HELL OUT OF UMNO! It has become the den of the devil!

93. #93 by whitecoffee on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:46 pm

Remember Team A, Team B ?????? Ku Li, don’t try to make Team C with PKR. You are a failure. It’s time to retire. Too old to flirt man! Sometime back, an old BLOKE started talking nonsense. And then came you. You cannot even be specific in your thoughts. What do you have, and what can you do? Practically nothing and nothing. Don’t try to talk like a fortuner teller.

94. #94 by whattheheckman on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 3:27 pm

While it is agreed without a shadow of doubt that the late P.Patto has contributed much towards malaysians, in particular, to the Indian community, i cannot help mentioning here that the late D.R.Sennivasagam, the founder and the first President of the Peoples Progressive Party with its base in Ipoh was the greatest politician to grace the soil of malaysian politics.
    With due respect to veteran politician like LKS, karpal, Anwar and a number of others, none can match D.R.’s strength to fight for a truly multi racial and multi lingual Malaysia. A great friend and political foe of Tunku, the first PM, DR was and is still considered to be one of the most outstanding lawyer and MP of all time Malaysia.
    With Ipoh municipality under their hands they turned it into perhaps the most efficient municipality in Malaysia. He was considered to be the most fearless MP in Malaysia calling Tunku a buffalo (what do you expect from a buffalo, only dirt and lies he thundered in Parliament) and took the challenge for a fist fight from the late Jaafar Albar MP of Johor Tenggara and father of the present Home Minister. DR rose to prominense after defending a chinese woman from Sg.Siput Perak in a case of assisting the communist activities. The punishment was very severe, perhaps hanging but DR fought nail and tooth and she was spared but nevertheless banished to China. Upon her departure DR bought her either a bicycle or a sewing machine I can recall but Chin Peng in his book mentions that the woman is still living in China. In one famous law suit the then Agriculture Minister lost his case and his job. The minister was represent by a QC from UK while DR was defended by his elder brother SP and a local lawyer.
    DR’s main support was from the chinese without doubt but he fought for all. His untimely death in 1969 while still in his fourties changed a lot for PPP and the general political picture of Kinta Valley. His brother SP.Seenivasagam took PPP to the Barisan and the rest of course is history.
    After a car accident which ledt DR almost paralised, he still went to parliament with the aid of a walking stick, a pathetic sight to see but a brave lion pulling himself along to represent the people of Ipoh in way befitting an elected MP.
    The Coronation Park was renamed after DR. I am not sure if it is still called Taman DR. The present Pakatan Govt should ensure that DR’s contibution to the nation and in particular Ipoh (Ipoh had the lowest assessment rates during DR’s time) should not go unnoticed. Two of Ipoh’s main street,. Hugh Low Street and Brewster Road would renamed after DR and SP but was later over turned.I know the names are somewhere there but do not know which corner of Ipoh does the names DR and SP exist.
    Lots of people knew that the wealth of the Seeenivasagam brothers, known to be one of the wealthest in Ipoh, simply evaporated into his political activities. Even though DR was the first in Malaysia to own a Caddilac Continental, he spent his wealth for a political cause that was close to his heart.
    When he died one of those first to arrive was the late Sultan of Perak and the Tunku. As a mark of respect the chinese in Ipoh closed all shops and stalls and thousands turned up for his funeral.
    It was rumoured that he turned down all state titles saying he is a peoples’ man.
    Malaysia’s Straits Times as it was called then, front lined his death saying FIGHTER OF JUSTICE DIES.
    Can the present Pakatan Govt honour DR in whatever ways it can.
    There was some talk previously in the 70’s to built his statue in front of the Ipoh High Court but it never got off the ground.
    Can the present state govt look into this with Saudara LKS heading the project together with the highly respected MB of Perak.