Hishammuddin should explain why Education Ministry condoning the racist and unprintable slurs of a history teacher

The New Straits Times today carried the following report:

Racial abuse teacher gets ‘a better deal’

By : V. Shankar Ganesh

BANTING: It obviously pays to hurl racial abuse at students, going by what happened to the teacher who did so at a school here.

The 35-year-old history teacher from SM Telok Panglima Garang was not only transferred to a smart school but to one located nearer her house.

To add insult to injury, no disciplinary action was taken against her.

It is understood that her letter of transfer stated that she was being transferred due to concerns for her security and not because she had committed an offence.

Several parents and non-governmental rganizations gathered in front of the school yesterday demanding an explanation from the headmaster for letting her off with just a slap on the wrist.

However, the headmaster refused to meet them, saying the matter was no longer related to the school since the teacher had been transferred.

Coalition of Indian NGOs secretary G. Gunaraj said the transfer showed the teacher had got away scot-free.

”In fact, she even got a better deal. She is now in a better school and one that is nearer to her house.”

He said this set a dangerous precedent as others may think they too can get away scot-free uttering racial slurs.

He said the Education Ministry should be serious in tackling the issue as what the teacher had done could affect racial harmony.

This is the latest episode which is marring the 51st Merdeka Anniversary celebrations in less than three weeks time, highlighting the many failures in nation-building despite the government budgeting tens of millions of ringgit for this occasion.

The Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein should explain to Parliament, the nation and the voters of Permatang Pauh why the Education Ministry is condoning the unforgivable misbehaviour of a history teacher who repeatedly made racist, derogatory and even unprintable slurs against Indian students and the Indian community in class.

By giving the delinquent teacher a “better deal” for her disgraceful misbehaviour, the Education Ministry is sending out a wrong and completely unacceptable message to all teachers as well as making a total mockery of the legitimate protests of the parents and the Coalition of Malaysians Indian NGOs who had protested against the teacher’s misconduct.

Or is Hishammuddin just unfit to demand that teachers should be exemplary model Malaysians to the new generation of students rising above race and religion when he himself has failed so miserably on this score with his three “keris-wielding” episodes at the Umno Youth general assemblies, showing utter insensitivity to the sensitivities of a plural Malaysian society and which is acknowledged by UMNO and Barisan Nasional leaders as a major cause for the Barisan Nasional defeats in the March general election and “political tsunami”?

———————-
My Facebook supporters page.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:40 pm

Severe punishment is not the only solution in correcting the problem. It is most important to get this teacher realises the problem, and say sorry to the society. It should act as a lesson to the society. I suggest her to come out and talk to the public. We don’t need another single victim, afterall the kids have been the victims.

2. #2 by bra888 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:26 pm

That teacher should be prosecuted for hate crime.

3. #3 by antiracist on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:33 pm

bila cikgu ambil tindakan bukan sekadar untuk mendidik tetapi untuk melahirkan anak bangsa Malaysia yang berjaya. tidak ada guru yang sengaja mendenda anak muridnya untuk menyakitinya. Masalah disiplin sekarang terlalu kompleks. Masalah disiplin makin menjadi-jadi disebabkan ibu bapa yang membabi-buta memerahi guru dan pihak sekolah walapun anaknya yang salah SEBAB anak saya adalah yang terbaik di dunia. Budaya inilah yang menjadikan pelajar makin melampau. di SJKC bila pelajar didenda OK tapi bila sek. keb atau SMK tak boleh. Apa dasar ni ?

4. #4 by anna brella on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 8:52 am

I see Hishamuddin Onn as a Malay supremacist/racist from his cheap keris-waving antics.

The racist teacher is merely reflecting Hishamuddin Onn’s example, and possibly apeing his behaviour to serve a personal ulterior motive as well.

The unfortunate students are the real victims who are caught in the trap of what is clearly accepted and tolerated institutionalised racism in the state education system and as this case suggests, they may be prone to being bullied by racist adults who are entrusted to be their educative teachers and mentors.

So how can the pot justify calling the kettle black?

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon

5. #5 by vvick on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 8:52 am

If she gets on transfer then the non malay students should boycot .The should demonstrate in front of their principle’s office. This will make the racist teacher shame and soon resign as being teacher anywhere!

6. #6 by dbrutal on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 11:48 am

Dear Racist Bloggers,

I think you all are more racist than any of the malays that you have called practising racism. You guys have been making racist slurrs/remarks all this while against the malays eventhough the majority of the malays are not racist and treat you all well as part of their friends.

Anyway, your racist remarks has gone well for the BN’s especially when the ordinary non-partisan malays read your racist remarks. They will surely re-assess their stance for the GE13.

Your racist and un-proffessional remarks will be the dawn of your fall, and the next time will be the hard one for you all since most of us have seen your true colors of racial sentiments deep down inside you.

7. #7 by emgbrl on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:39 pm

Negara Maliangsial ini adalah hak mutlak Khinzir Melayu UMNO sahaja dan pengikut khinzir-khinzir BN yang lain. Semua khinzir Cina & khinzir India boleh dimaki-hamun sesuka-hati sahaja oleh khinzir-khinzir Melayu UMNO seperti GPMS, PEKIDA, PEMBELA sambil diperhatikan sahaja oleh Polis K-9!!! Khinzir-khinzir tersebut mendapat sokongan Ketua-ketua Khinzir PM & DPM yang hanya mewakili Khinzir Melayu sahaja.

Jadi pada Merdeka ini, Khinzir-khinzir Cina & India adalah dilarang sama-sekali menyambut Hari Merdeka atau menaikkan Bendera!!!Hanya Khinzir Melayu UMNO sahaja dan kuncu-kuncunya berhak menyambut Merdeka!!! Kerana ini adalah Negara Khinzir Melayu sahaja dan hak-hak Khinzir Melayu tidak boleh dicabar.Khinzir-khinzir lain boleh duduk diam sahaja !!!

8. #8 by blablowbla on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:51 pm

as wat i mentioned b4,infact,thr r plenty of similar type of racist teachers in every schools!
    when i walk into any sekolah menengah,i feel very uneasy,it gives me a weird type of response,it’s just like these ppl looking at u with jealous eyes,and i discovered tat,most of the HM had successfully turned the schools into mosques!
    and most of the teachers frm certain race,thy could take maternity leaves up to six-long-months!!!!!!(2 month for pre-delivery routine inspections,2 month for real delivery periods,n 2 month for breast feeding!!!);plus the taklimat n the normal holidays for schools,it is only a couple of months tat thy r teaching in classes!!!

9. #9 by blablowbla on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:06 pm

dbrutal:

malays deserved these racist comments bcos thy are the grassroots tat instructed,supporting n seconded the RACIST POLICIES!

regarding the 10% suggested open quota to non-bumi recently,radio- 24 conducted a view by callers,95% callers condemned the offer!it shows how,infact,racist thy r!

my point of view is,if the MARA got the fund frm UMNO,PERSATUAN melayu or BUMI-HIGHWAY sort of companies,i dun mind!BUT,if the fund is frm Gomen,thy cant allocate only to malays!BCOS THE INCOME TAX NOR EPF,THR ARE PLENTY OF NON-MALAY CONTRIBUTORS!!!

YOU ORANG FAHAM TAK?

10. #10 by dr suresh kumar on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:01 pm

dbrutal,

Dont be so brutal with your words.How else the non-malays going to express their feelings of frustrations if the govt is going to continously suppress and oppress the non-bumi citizens all in the name of `ketuanan melayu’?What will be your reaction if you are in the non-bumi shoes? Insted of cursing if, you and the other malay bros and sis’ sympahtize with our predicament,I am very sure most of the commentators here will mellow down.

Put it this way,in a 100m dash race,every competitor should start off at the same level.Since the advent of NEP 38 years ago,bumiputras have been given an advantage to start the 100m race a couple of metres ahead of the non-bumis.With such an advantage one should be able to win the race easily.But here tha bumis are still complaining that the other competitors are still winning the race.Are you going to give excuses like the track was wet for you,or your spikes keep giving way for 38 years or that you could not hear the gun shot of the starter?With such unfair advantage if you cant win the race then who do you want to blame?So how long do you want the other competitors to keep silent?Do you have any time frame to curtail such unfair advantage gifted to you on a silver platter? Or do you want to remain complacent and therefore become uncompetitve through out your life?The ball is in your court.

11. #11 by mauriyaII on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:49 pm

The BN government has been the implementer of racist policies for more than 4 decades and the subtle practisioner of official apartheid under the pretext of uplifting the Malays through the NEP.

Though the special privileges under the NEP was only for 10 years it has been held in abeyance indefinitely by UMNO through their ketuanan mentality. They did not want to analyse why the Malays failed to achieve the parity even after more than 4 decades because the Malays who got more than parity with the other races are only the UMNOputras. Not the ordinary Malays. UMNOputras do not and won’t care for ALL Malays. They have all along been SELECTIVE in every facets of life in Malaysia.

Those Malays like the racist teacher from SM Telok Panglima Garang are the indoctrinated products of the NEP and the ketuanan mindset. They follow their leaders, especially Kerismudin, Najib, KJ, Mohd Ali Rustam and a few others who are fighting for their political survival by using the race and religious card.

That teacher upped the ante by her outlandish behaviour with the prior knowledge that she would be a heroine in the eyes of the racist UMNO and she would be amply rewarded.

Since a precedent has been set, BN has opened the floodgates for such brutish and unpardonable behaviour to occur with regularity in the future.

Hope some resourceful person would put up her photograph in You-Tube so that all internet savvy people would be able to recognize THAT FACE anywhere and avoid her as the PLAGUE that she is.

The education system does not need such EVIL to corrupt pliable minds to create future racists and traumatize innocent ones.

12. #12 by blablowbla on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 10:24 pm

dr.suresh,
    i totally agree with u!
    y not malaysia try to hold olympic,in all the 28 events,the malays n bumis r given priority to start 1 minute earlier!
    mayb,mayb inspite laughed by the whole world,we at least cud get some “GOLD”medals!(in d case of d 100 metre Track N Field,b4 our contestants managed to start,we alredy reaching d finishing line!how wonderfull!!

13. #13 by blablowbla on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 10:30 pm

dun laugh,dun laugh,tis things actually happen in Bolehland everyday!!!
    n,u c how greedy thy r,even the “pengarah-2″(directors) of gomen sectors,getting rm25000-50,000 income monthly,never failed to practise corruption too!rm13,000 dental fees also want to “gasak”!do thy noe wat is “MALU”?

14. #14 by katdog on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 12:18 am

dbrutal,
    What you say is unfortunately very true. Malysia has become racially polarised and i can tell you the truth, the majority of Malaysians are viciously racist, wether Malay or non-Malay.

Here are some comments from racists Malays that i picked up from Dr. M’s blogs:
    Quote 1: Kenapa British tak angkat itu Cina sama India ke UK ? Kalau tu yang terjadi…adakah harapan Samy Vellu jadi menteri kat sana..??

Quote 2: So for those who kept on harping on the social contract, blame your ancestors for what happened…do not blame the existing people for what your ancestors has agreed to

Quote 3: Ingatlah wahai bangsa Melayu ku yang lain2…jangan le sebab budaya lembut, sopan + santun kita ini is being taken advantage by other races.

This is just a taste of the other side of the racism fence. Two wrongs don’t make a right. Racist comments and attitudes from either side are wrong.

We can point them out as racists, but honestly, there is no shame to racism in Malaysia as the government openly practices it. So nothing will happen.

The racism will not end until the people of Malaysia is made to realize, racism is a shameful thing and the government stops encouraging racism with its Ketuanan Melayu.

15. #15 by ttc on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:18 am

ALL supremacists and racists and terrorists are BAD PEOPLE whether they are white, pink, yellow, red, black or blue.

An apple is a fruit but not all fruits are apples. The “apple” is a specific example of the genus flora called “fruit”. And some apples are good and sweet while some are not good and can even have hidden worms inside. But some bad apples do not mean all apples, or even all fruits, are bad. See?

No one single race of people is all racist or all bad; only some people from within that race are. (Why? Duh..?.because they choose to be bad and/or shameless of course!)

Not all Irish “Catholics” and Northern Irish/British “Protestants” were IRA/other terrorists; only some were. But ALL of the BAD Irish and British terrorists were most definitely NOT following the religion or teachings of CHRISTIANITY.

Not all Americans hated Black and othr alien people; but ALL White Ku Klux Klan members did, whether Church-going or not.

So why blame good CHRISTIANITY because of bad, pretend “Christians”?

Similarly, not all Muslims are racists or Al-Qaeda/other terrorists; only some Muslims are. But ALL of the BAD Muslim racists and Al Qaeda/other terrorists are most definitely NOT following the religion or teachings of ISLAM.

So why blame ISLAM for bad, pretend “Muslims”?

I could go on and give some more simple idiot-guides but I’m not going to bother.

BTW, if there are any (duh-type) people out there who think one should blame and defile further a sacred holy religion because of some of its deliberately bad or clueless and ill-informed followers, please get in touch straightaway as a scientific research team over here wants a sample of your brain matter for further research and analysis…….THANKS!

WE SAY YEAH! :)

16. #16 by mauriyaII on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:49 am

Please do not expect the morally bankrupt Indian MIC leaders to condemn the despicable female teacher from Banting.

The very fact they chose to be quiet shows their true colours and they seem to be very COMFORTABLE with all the blatant and offensive racial slurs on the Indians.

Is this how they are called by their UMNO masters? Are the little crumbs that they receive commensurate for their abject slavery to a system that practises systematic apartheid.

Wake up! Don’t behave like the proverbial cat!!

17. #17 by Emily Pratt on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 2:48 pm

Let’s refer to the Ministry of Education Disciplinary Guideline on errant employer.

What is the disciplinary action for an employee that speak racial slur and demeaning words in public towards a particular race?

Now cross reference that with what has been meted out to this particular employee.

Is the disciplinary action in accordance with the established protocol?

EP

18. #18 by emgbrl on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:00 pm

Dear Readers,
    The picture of the alleged racist teacher was posted in a website recently.Please go to the address below.Feel free to distribute her pics to those who need to see it.

http://www.indianmalaysian.com/sound/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=1532

19. #19 by somaris on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 4:47 pm

To all MALAYSIAN,
    Tell all the PARENT”S not to send their CHILDREN to the school which that teacher going to teach.BOICOIT the school by doing that im sure the headmaster and all the people will teach her the lesson.wht a in matured teacher.SHAME SHAME ON U STUIPD TEACHER.
    WE are IN 2008 now move forward.

20. #20 by wasted on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:41 pm

Play around, give backside, no commision, gets blown to bits
    Play backside, go to jail but who gives and who takes?
    Sing a bad song, cannot come back, worldwide issue
    Go against the # Ono, get ISA
    Become the # Ono, get more money No enough, get POWER
    Indians unite, get water blasted and shamed, ISA puts you in jail
    Opposition and rakyat get smarter and wins, public gets traffic jams
    More to come, petroleum goes up, everthing more expensive
    They get more richer each day, says nothing ro worry
    Toll problem, get bloodied and beaten up after that, don’t know who did it
    Media gets censored, shit gets covered
    Bloggers unite, they get summons, go to court sued for defamation or go straight to jail
    Get high position, today work, sleep all day, tomorrow holiday
    Curse the Indians, get transferred for security reasons
    ACA trys to clean, gets bullet
    Our TDC says, come Visit Malaysia, multi cultured, living in harmony, warm and friendly faces in Hot and Sunny Malaysia
    Create racism problems, more will come and never ends
    Ada apa lagi?
    Malaysia BOLEH MANYAK Lagi……….

21. #21 by mauriyaII on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 10:51 am

Is that the real mugshot of the racist female teacher that is posted in http://www.indianmalaysian.com? It doesn’t look feminine at all. There should be other shots of ‘her’ at least from the school magazine.

Where Saravanan, the deputy Federal Territories minister is concerned he is used to taking that type of shit all along. He just can’t afford to lose the position and the perks that comes along with it. He is a first time deputy minister and may be the last time as well if he does not speak up for the Indians.

22. #22 by emgbrl on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 3:21 pm

Dear Readers,
    The History teacher’s name is Cik Rusitah Bt Abu Hassan, B. Ed (Hons), Guru DG 44. Another mug shot of her can be seen using the link below. Please note her mugshot has been removed from the school’s website (SM Teluk Panglima Garang ). Anyone who knows her new school, please alert the parents of the students to be aware of this racist pig-faced teacher!!!

http://72.14.235.104/search?q=cache:wXAIm5M2gHMJ:groups.yahoo.com/group/Indian-Malaysian/message/26465+cik+rusitah&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=4&gl=my

23. #23 by ktteokt on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 10:08 am

It just struck me that why is it that whenever Malays gather together, they must talk about ISLAM? Isn’t there any other topics to talk about? You don’t see Chinese, Indians or other races talking about religion when they meet!

Comments are closed.