The 2008 Olympics opens in Beijing today but for Malaysia, we are obsessed with scaling a new Olympian height of national trauma and international infamy – the strangulation of what is left of the rule of law in Malaysia after two decades of judicial darkness in the continued political persecution of Anwar Ibrahim in the Sodomy II prosecution.
Thanks to this special Malaysian official obsession with sodomy, Malaysia was big news in seven continents when Anwar Ibrahim was charged under Section 377B of the Penal Code for sodomising his 23-year-old male aide, Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan.
Furthermore, Anwar’s Sodomy II trial and tribulation will be kept alive in the international stage because of the disgraceful, dishonourable and ignoble circumstances and motivation of the prosecution to the extent that the Foreign Minister, Datuk Seri Dr. Rais Yatim has made a most unusual and extraordinary decision to organize a series of information sessions by the Foreign Ministry overseas on Anwar’s Sodomy II “to give a true picture so there will be no misconceptions that can hurt Malaysia’s image”.
What is this “true picture” that Rais is going to tell the world in a series of information sessions overseas?
Will this be the same “true picture” that the Information Ministry will be telling Malaysians in the country, and particularly during the Permatang Pauh by-election from August 16-26?
Will this “true picture” include the following:
1. That the Cabinet had usurped the constitutional powers of the Attorney-General’s Chambers on its sole prosecution discretionary powers?
When Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said yesterday that Saiful is not being charged because he is the complainant and the key witness in the sodomy case against Anwar, he has arrogated to himself the role and sole discretionary power of Attorney-General under Article 145(3) “to institute, conduct or discontinue any proceedings for an offence”.
It was also an admission that the Home Minister had been involved if not usurped the Attorney-General in the decision-making process resulting in the Sodomy II prosecution of Anwar – which is clearly an unlawful and unconstitutional usurpation of the powers of the Attorney-General!
The question is who else in the Cabinet had been involved in the decision on Anwar’s Sodomy II prosecution? The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak?
2. That Saiful had sought “justice” (to use the word used repeatedly by the Prime Minister) as a victim of sodomy rape by Anwar but in the charge yesterday, Anwar was accused of consensual sodomy under Section 377B instead of Section 377C (sodomy rape) under the Penal Code?
Only on Wednesday, Abdullah said:
“Another person looking for justice is the victim. You seem to forget Saiful. You think Anwar is more important.
“This is an issue of law. Somebody feels that he needs justice and he makes a report to the police. And the police, therefore, have a duty to conduct investigations, to question him, to invite others to assist in the investigations.
“If there is nothing, no evidence whatsoever, drop the charge. Drop the whole thing, the investigation. Don’t do it. If there is evidence to charge, they have to charge. You can’t stop them from doing that. They have to think of Saiful.”
Clearly, the police have found that there is no evidence to support Saiful’s allegation that he is the “victim” who is entitled to “justice” and “police protection”.
Was the police “thinking” of Saiful to accord him “justice” when it decided to charge Anwar for consensual sodomy under Section 377B?
Would Saiful be charged with lodging a false report of sodomy rape?
Abdullah had said that he had been informed by Hamid “about the police decision to charge Anwar” (NST 7.8.08) - an involuntary and unconscious admission that the decision to charge Anwar was that of the police rather than that of the Attorney-General’s Chambers.
Another travesty of justice and the rule of law when the Constitution and the law are very clear – that the police has no business to decide on prosecutions as they merely conduct criminal investigations while the Attorney-General decides on whether to prosecute!
3. That Pusrawi Hospital doctor, Dr Mohamed Osman Abdul Hamid, who examined Saiful just hours before he lodged a police report of sodomy against Anwar on June 28 stood by his findings in a statutory declaration that there was no evidence of sodomy?
And Malaysia’s system of justice has been reduced to a flurry of statutory declarations with those making them being forced to flee abroad for the safety of themselves and their family, including the case of private investigator Bala Subramaniam over his two Statutory Declarations within 24 hours completely contradicting each other with explosive revelations involving the Deputy Prime Minister in the murder of Mongolian Altantunya Shaariibuu?
Instead of launching an international campaign to defend the indefensible, Rais should remember his trenchant, valid and legitimate criticisms of gross abuses of executive power in his book “Freedom under Executive Power”, pluck up courage at the next Cabinet meeting to demand the dropping of the Sodomy II charge and further persecution of Anwar for the sake of the good name and international reputation of the country.
If Rais dare to stand up and sound the alarm in the Cabinet, there may be other Ministers – from Umno, MCA, MIC and other BN component parties? – who might also find sufficient courage to speak up against the continued assaults of the integrity of the system of justice and national institutions in Malaysia after the March 8 “political tsunami”!

#1 by hbk2 on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 10:02 am
How can they even use the word rape? Logically thinking, how would it have been possible that a physically stronger young man like Saiful could have left his goal post wide open without any attempt to save himself against his alleged attacker who is not as physically strong as himself?
Why the sudden need to obtain justice for Saiful, who has indulged in the alleged act which is “consensual” any way (if it happened at all)? No urgent justice for Altantuyaa whose body was blown up by C4 supplied by the military? What about the girl who was raped INSIDE the police station itself? Why no special mention on the headlines everyday?
We Malaysians are tired of seeing sodomy on the news headlines everyday. The police could do better by setting task forces to go all out to look for Sharlinie, not creating road blocks out of paranoia. And the PM should concentrate on other things, don’t just be thinking of Saiful and justice for his anus.
#2 by StevePCH on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 10:34 am
Olympic …. aiya, Malaysia sure can do better than China, ie if we have not spent so much of “innocent” corrupt money on projects like PKFTZ costing billions.
I believe Rais will not call on dropping of the case as he wants to uphold his post more than anything else.
He wont be goin rounding diplomats to “argue , justify and clarify” BN’s action against DSAI and rule of law in Malaysia.
He should also clarify the reasons why Dr. Chua and partner not charge in court for flouting 377b !
It’s clearly double standard but ultimately it’s going to be a double edge sword against BN
#3 by StevePCH on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 10:44 am
the real tanah melayu is in Sumatra. There are much more Melayu there than Malaysia.
that’s why SHA can claim he is more Melayu than many of us.
I do not want to challenge the rights of Malay in our motherland but as brothers ( as many of us call each other ), I too feel that I deserved to be called “MALAYsian of chinese ancestry” literary being at least the 4th to fifth generations on this land !!!
some more 10 generations.
SHA is just the 2nd generation here.
#4 by Kasim Amat on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 12:51 pm
Our Foreign Minister, Datuk Seri Dr. Rais Yatim is doing the thing he is supposed to do and he has the duty to let other countries understand what the government is doing and the fairness and transparency that the police has shown during the investigation stage. The West is taking an opportunity to downplay our reputation so that they can gain World’s attention. Please do not fall into the trap of the West.
Yes, I have watched a bit on the opening ceremony of the Olympics last night and I would say that I am not that impressed. Several friends of mine and I think that Beijing still has a lot to learn from Malaysia in how Malaysia organised the 1998 Common Wealth Games. It is no doubt that the opening ceremony of the Common Wealth Games in 1998 is much spectacular than yesterday’s one. However, we are confident that Beijing will improve it along the way and show us they have the ability to organise such an event.
#5 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 12:52 pm
The ‘sodomy II against DSAI’ is the contribution and the service of the BN government to the people of Malaysia, and the whole country of people the laughing stock of the world.
What is this government doing anyway? One let down after another.
#6 by ALLAN THAM on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 12:55 pm
let us ask ourselves few soul probing questions.
Why it that a need to explain to world on the charge? Only if the sodomy charge has been based on our law and proper and professional investigations have been done by the police. And should all law and procedures have been follow why it that a need to explain then? Why majority of the people in Malaysia do not believe in the sodomy charge? Why they are so many conflicting reports on the web indicate this charge has been political conspiracy?
Now the fact that a senior cabinet minister find there is a need to explain to the world speak volume on this faulty charge, otherwise why it a need to do so?
It was very unfortunate that those other partners in BN still remain to be silent and keep to themselves and dare not to say anything and keep subversive to the big brother of UMNO.
Why spend tax payer moneys overseas to tell the world Malaysia justify this sodomy charge? This is simply insulting to all Malaysian and BN has keep tikam the rakyat from behind and after which rob the people money and waste it unnecessary projects, such this of embarking time and money to explain the charge.
The final analysis is like it or not BN will have to go and another party or coaliation, such as Pakatan Rakyat has to take over for a complete change to be possible. Only then there is hope for a better government
#7 by ktteokt on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 1:23 pm
AAB is covered with too much shit that he dared not appear at the Olympic Games in Beijing for its opening ceremony in fear of being bombarded with questions he cannot answer. Even the President of the United States was there with his wife for the opening ceremony, so why not AAB?
#8 by StevePCH on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 1:41 pm
Kasim , Beijing learning from Malaysia 98 commonwealth ? …. pity u lah. we are no where near. I was at the Bt Jalil Stadium and there is nothing so wonderful about it.
I dont think Malaysia would be able to copy what Beijing did last nite. Choreograph ? sorry la.
Anyway, Malaysia is not ready at all to organise an event at such big scale like Olympic. We could not even organise our traffic nowadays with the BN’s obsession with Anwar.
We would probably make it if PR take over the feds and channel the money to right projects. not white elephants and cracking highways
#9 by cto on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 2:56 pm
Kasim Amat Says:
Yesterday at 18: 05.25
Please do not make jokes on the leaders of our country anymore.
———————-
Why so serious? – Joker, “Dark Knight”.
The truth of the matter is that most of the readers here are not joking. They are expressing their utter disgust.
#10 by Old.observer on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 3:41 pm
I agree with Jeffrey QC.
This is obviously SELECTIVE PROSECUTION.
It’s obvious that if the charge relates to both Oral and Anal Sex, then, there would be many millions of such “criminals” in Malaysia.
Statistically, Malaysia has a total population of nearly 27 million people. Approximately 63% of them, or 17 million are in the age 15-64. Let’s assume 80% of this number are sexually active at some stage in their life. Various sex surveys have shown that something like 90% or higher of sexually active adults engaged in either oral sex and/or anal sex. This suggests that 17 million x 80% x 90% = 12 million are potential criminals.
And based on Jeffrey QC’s claim that only men are the criminals, this suggests that there are probably 50% x 12 million = 6 million criminals running around in this country!
Assuming each of these sexually active people engages in such act at a very conservative rate of 1 per month (I’m sure the average act is much higher than this), this suggests that 6 million x 12 = 72 million criminal acts are being conducted every year.
In the last 10 years, there should be 72 million x 10 = 720 million of such criminal activity! 720 Million!
Over the last 10 years, I have heard of 2 cases being prosecuted, out of a potential of 720 million “crimes”.
They both happened to be Anwar.
Does anybody dare to tell the international world that this is 2 prosecutions out of a possible 720 million “criminal action” is “random”?
I think DSAI does have a case, when he says it is “selective prosecution” is it not?
I don’t know about you, but the prosecution team – if they still have sense of common sense left – should immediately drop this case!
Old Observer.
#11 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 4:47 pm
When Rais Y meets C Rice, he asks her: Have you taken rice? And she replies: No, but I like to chew Rais to pieces for telling blatant lies and acting unscrupulously.
#12 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 4:52 pm
Maybe Malaysia will stage the 2020 Summer Olympics and Malaysia too would like to showcase its history during the opening ceremony, just like China did last night. Malaysia would then get 2020 performers to show that Malaysia is the epicentre of corruption and sodomy under BN.
#13 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 4:55 pm
There are a few cases but they are not “consensual” but forced anal or oral rape under 377C almost invariably part of a package of multiple other offences committed at same time such as abduction, normal rape, causing hurt and robery together. Where the act was voluntarily participated by the girl, (where her parents lodged reports) it is not consensual in legal sense because the girls were underaged deemed incapable of granting consent. Consensual between adults above age of consent (without aggravated circumstances of other offences) – first time I am hearing it!
#14 by citizenwatch on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:14 pm
Rais, in an unusual seemingly clever use of words said, “Gore is goring us,” refering to a bull goring with its horns. But not as bad as the BN govt goring us like fried bananas with their subterfuges.
#15 by citizenwatch on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:37 pm
Writing on the wall. Saw this grafitto:
” Saifool claims he plays sudokku (gore me) so well he can do it walking backwards – in a room full of sodomist conspirators – all ready with their tools of their trade”
#16 by citizenwatch on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 5:49 pm
Wrtiting on the wall. Saw this grafitto:
“Now all of you BN people, which part of the word truth you don’t understand?”
#17 by cheng on on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 9:05 pm
Please lah, Encik Kasim,
“I think that Beijing still has a lot to learn from Malaysia in how Malaysia organised the 1998 Common Wealth Games….” Your statement only made a fool of yourself. Msia can’t even get to organize the last Asia Games ! Have you been to Beijing in the last 2 years ?
#18 by yhsiew on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 11:38 pm
KUALA KLAWANG, Aug 9 (Bernama) — Umno has to change for the better otherwise the future of the party is at stake, said its Supreme Council member Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim.
He said he could foresee this as he had been with the party for a long time.
“The first test is the Permatang Pauh parliamentary by-election on Aug 26 and if Umno is weak, we will not be able to defend our foundation.
“What I mean is that Umno has to shine again and we must know our weaknesses. We should not be unduly worried about the clash under whatever circumstances.
“After the contest, we have to come to terms with our views. But this requires energy and thinking,” he told reporters here Saturday.
…….”Some people say it is easier said than done. In politics, it is difficult… more so in a struggle, but we must endure,” he said.
—————————————————————-
It is good to hear such statements made by Rais. I hope he dares take the lead and bring UMNO back on the right path – the path which is just, upright and devoid of corrupt practices.
#19 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 1:23 am
Jeffrey QC says,
“..women including dykes don’t have peni*s……”
I’m shocked!!! Some women do have peni*ses!! This is not a joke! Obviously you’re not a fan of po*rn stars like limkamput is!!
#20 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 4:45 am
Jeffrey,
Please try not to be too graphic in your description. There are kids in the room!
#21 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:38 am
It is not a question of graphic. We should endeavour to be precise. For example an oversized clitoris is not an undersized penis to make dykes punishable under section 377. Otherwise a lot of problems when we’re loose and fast with words to construe them the way we want consistent with our agenda. In blog threads subsequent to this one, the argument put forth by Dawsheng focuses on whether the forum organised by Bar Council was an insult to Muslims or Islam, so the question is what really constitutes “insult”, and whether it is to be determined by the 20 NGOs opposing the forum alone?
#22 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 12:27 pm
undergrad2, you monkey.
You have not explain to me if anal sex is crime, why watching it is not.
#23 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 12:27 pm
..is a crime,
#24 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:23 pm
Trublumsian, using cheap words to attack others who do not hold your view is an act of desperation to force their point-of-view across. The discerning readership of this thread understands well the ground realities and nothing is a black and white as you would like to wish it to be.
It is the Malays who can either make or break the status quo of M’sian politics. Without Malay unity there can never be national unity.
Many comments here of late are reflective of the general rise in anti-Malay and Islamophobic stance taken by non-Muslim minorities, and if they want to compromise national stability for their vested political interests, then be prepared for many more May 13′s!
#25 by Old.observer on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:00 pm
zak_hammaad,
“It is the Malays who can either make or break the status quo of M’sian politics. Without Malay unity there can never be national unity.” — The topic is DSAI sodomy charge 2 … how is this related to this topic? I noticed it is a Malay who is charging a Malay of sodomy, so, what exactly are you trying to say here?
“Many comments here of late are reflective of the general rise in anti-Malay and Islamophobic stance taken by non-Muslim minorities, and if they want to compromise national stability for their vested political interests, then be prepared for many more May 13’s!” — No, I disagree. Despite the 170+ comments here, I have yet to see such comments that would cause a repeat of May 13 here.
Old Observer.