The voters of Permatang Pauh have a historic opportunity to create a mini-political tsunami in the impending by-election with far-reaching impact to the national political landscape far exceeding the fate of an individual or a constituency.
The stakes involved in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not just about an individual and a constituency but the future of the Malaysian people and nation.
The issue in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not whether Pakatan Rakyat leader and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim can win but whether he can achieve a thumping and landslide victory with a majority bigger than the 13,388-vote majority won by PKR President Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail in the March 8, 2008 general election.
If Anwar can win the Permatang Pauh by-election with an even greater majority won by Azizah five months ago, despite an even more massive onslaught by the whole weight of the Barisan Nasional juggernaut, it would have a special import in shaping the development of the Malaysian political landscape.
If the voters of Permatang Pauh can speak up on behalf of the people of Malaysia to express their disgust at the worsening political, economic and nation-building crisis in the past five months and send a clear and unmistakable message to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on the continuing loss of national confidence at his failure to learn the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami’, then the Permatang Pauh by-election will assume a far-reaching national importance and not be about an individual or a constituency.
DAP is fully committed to ensure that the Permatang Pauh by-election can create a mini-political tsunami with far-reaching implications to the healthy democratic development of Malaysia.
I call on all Malaysian organisations and individuals to unite behind the banner of Pakatan Rakyat to ensure that Anwar not only wins the by-election but with an even greater majority of 13,388 votes won by Azizah on March 8 to make the Permatang Pauh by-election the most historic and important by-election in Malaysian history.
(Speech at the conference of Perak DAP State leaders, MPs, State Excos, State Assembly members and local councillors in Lumut on Sunday, 3rd August 2008 at 9 am)

#1 by AhPek on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:39 pm
Whether they will resign en masse or has to be forced out when PR comes in to take over the reigns of government is currently of no concern for the ordinary Joe Public.What i think he wants is to see the removal of BN from Putra Jaya soonest possible and certainly not wait till the next general election.For this reason I see merits in undergrad 2′s suggestion in offering them an opportunity to cross over to avoid prosecution.That way it may trigger enough cross-oversto effect a change of government at probably a much earlier stage than the 13th GE.Thus it is worth serious consideration.
#2 by Cinapek on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:41 pm
The biggest danger PKR needs to watch out for is voter complacency.
With the general consensus that DSAI would be a shoo-in for the byelection, many PKR voters might not bother to turn up to vote thinking their man would win anyway. It could backfire if too many PKR voters stay away. Pakatan should drive this message across to the voters clearly and work out their butts off on polling day to make sure each and every possible voter is accounted for and arrange for them to go to the polling booth.
You can bet UMNO will be coming at DSAI with vengeance and will leave no stone unturned to topple him.
#3 by Vidya Young on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 4:10 pm
Kassim Amat – “Anwar may win the by-election but he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do. UMNO will never fall!”
I know very little about Malaysian policitics or the law but I am as passionate about my country as the next man/woman. However, have a very horrible picture in my mind – after Anwar wins in PP, what if the Bodohwi government arrest and jail him after the by-elections? Does not that mean that Pakatan Rakyat would have lost 2 MPs i.e. DSAI as well as Datuk Seri Wan Azizah? Can someone please help me understand the situation.
#4 by Richardqed on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 4:33 pm
“Sebenarnya masalah ini boleh dielakkan jika sekiranya pihak yang bertanggungjawab berhati-hati dalam memastikan apa yang telah dibaiki itu sudah teguh dan tidak akan berlaku lagi sebarang keretakan atau kerosakan dalam masa yang singkat,” kata Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi pada perhimpunan bulanan Jabatan Perdana Menteri (JPM) hari ini.” — from malaysiakini website.
Another typical BN statement — stupid, vague, empty, meaningless, and achieves nothing. All talk and no action (and most importantly, no one has to take responsibility). So, who is this “pihak yang bertanggungjawab” he is talking about? You can bet he wants to be as vague as possible about that.
He should be questioning his own the Works Ministry. If the ministry had bothered to make sure to verify that the faults were correctly rectified, then this would not happen. But I don’t think the joker is talking about the ministry. Blaming contractors as usual? He talks about reform and changes, but the new Works Minister does not bother to check on the shoddy work done under Semi-Value and AAB does not tick him off? Whether the former minister is at fault or the new one is, both of them reported to AAB, and no action was taken. AAB has to take the blame.
#5 by boilingmad on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 4:45 pm
If what ‘yhsiew’ says is true about the police wanting to push a new law, then this is where true Malaysian unity will be critical. We must ALL (irrespective of race) join in to demonstrate that we are against this act. I don’t know how this can be done, but is there’s someone here with legal knowledge to advise? Will a petition signed by millions of rakyat (again I don’t know how this can be achieved) here asking for international help or intervention be valid or gain anything? Because in desperation, BN (or should I say UMNO) will stoop beyond hell or sell their soulds to the devil (if they haven’t already done so) to stop Anwar from winning.
#6 by FY Lim on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 5:19 pm
Let Permatang Pauh be the watershed in Malaysian political history with the start of the fall of BN into oblivion and the rise of PR as the new Federal govt. Malaysians will see a new generation of political leaders alive to the needs of all Malaysians with all the transparency, efficiency , accountability and competence.
DSAI will lead all Malaysians in their march to Putrajaya.
Malaysians can then hold our heads high among the best in the world and march into the new era with renewed vitality.
The truth will eventually triumphed over lies. The forces of evil cannot and wil not have a place in our Malaysian society.
Syabas to DSAI ; your sacrifice and patience is worth every second you put in.
#7 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 6:00 pm
Thanks to UMNO-PAS talks. MCA, MIC and Gerakan are now embarrassed to “remind” non-Malays voters of Permatang Pauh that voting in PKR will help PAS turn Malaysia into an Islamic country.
#8 by KennyGan on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 7:26 pm
Vidya Young, to answer your question, if DSAI is convicted, he will not lose his seat immediately. There is still the appeal process and he will only lose his seat if he exhausts all appeal.
Due to lack of evidence, the trial will have to be a shameless sham trial which any honest judge will overthrow. The trial judge can of course be handpicked like Augustine Paul who was specially promoted to hear the 1998 case. For appeal judges, I think it is harder for BN to control. There are 3 judges per appeal and 3 appeals possible. Only 2 judges need to agree to overturn a conviction.
A lot will depend on the integrity of the Chief Justice. Let’s hope that if the PM wants to appoint a tainted man as CJ, the King will block it. It has happened before when the King refused Mahathir’s nomination for CJ and had Dzainuddin appointed instead.
#9 by thepriest on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:32 pm
why PE Am used we do not fear Anwar. Why dont he say I do not fear Anwar. having also from Penang should resign and brave enough to face DSAI and PP votes will make sure you lose your deposit,, welcome Najz , krisamuddinand AND saifool…. so that will be so do mee by raayat in this BE.
Ezam called DSAI a traitor. He is truely a TRAITOR why bcos he joined back dens of thieves and arrangont corrupt moron when he aware and knowingly when he left them JUST FOR HIS OWN BENEFITS. A traitor to Umno and a traitor to PKR and now a traitor to the raayat who had voted for PR.
#10 by katdog on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:35 pm
BN is definitely not going to go down without a fight. Expect all sorts of Hanky panky to go on. Everyone in Permatang Pauh needs to vote PKR if not, for sure BN will try something sneaky.
After that, BN can still resort to throwing Anwar into jail and throw away the keys. What happened to M Manoharan the Hindraf leader who ran under the DAP ticket? Still in ISA?
If Anwar misses his 16 Sept dateline, this may scare the ‘kataks’ to lose confidence.
#11 by Vidya Young on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:47 pm
KennyGan, thank you!
Good, since he may not lose the seat but if DSAI is incarcerated while awaiting trial, does that not mean “… he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament” as maliciously put by Kassim Amat?
As a result of which Pakatan Rakyat could lose 2 voices in Parliament?
#12 by js on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:55 pm
Be more optimistic. DSAI will not be charged and he will be our next PM soon.Let’s talk something good for DSAI. The law of attraction!
#13 by thepriest on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:35 pm
REMEMBER 400 FORIEGN INVESTER promised to come inonceDSAI took over the FG. passthis news around..
#14 by mohammadharrisjalil on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:01 pm
Aku berdoa sentiasa agar tiada apa apa helah dari pihak UMNO Barisan Nasional untuk pilihanraya kecil Permatang Pauh kali ini… Sama sama lah kita berdoa…. janganlah tiba tiba isu baru cuba direka oleh pihak Sleepy Pak Lah untuk mengkucar kacirkan situasi dan menggunakan media mereka untuk menyalahkan Pakatan Rakyat. Ayuhlah Bangsa Malaysia!!! Amen….
p/s: Kasim Amat… please do your own blog or just give comment on Racist UMNO Youth Keris Dagger Blog. Shame On You!
#15 by I Malaysian on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:55 pm
Without doubt BN would import its’ entire government machinery in Permatang Pauh. Though we know Anwar could win easily, it must not hamper our efforts to garner huge majority for Anwar. We have to treat this BE a do or die battle of every single right minded Malaysian.
We have to go the extra mile securing every single vote that would determine the future of Malaysians who yearn for good governance in this country.
#16 by pjboy on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 12:28 am
In perspective, whether or not DSAI did or didn’t allegedly do, does not change the fact that BN-UMNO is only interested to make sure DSAI does not get elected to parliament at all cost, even if it means to bankrupt the rakyat-tax-$. This is the attitude of BN-UMNO so long as they get to remain in power, as they know they are weak now – especially losing 5 states. The cash-cow for their personal bank account has been reduced only to Terengganu-Johor-Sabah-Sarawak.
DSAI going into parliament will send shivers down the BN-spine. Having our honourable Wan Azizah stepping down was a noble sacrifice – not for husband or as a loving wife as TDM put it with usual sarcasm – but for COUNTRY! If it were someone else, then this gives room for BN-UMNO to use more slander by saying 3 family members as MP…the rest is self-explanatory. So, DSAI is putting words to action. Not mere rhetoric.
BN-UMNO is also provoking PKR members. Thus, BN-UMNO is ever ready to send in the FRU/PDRM & declare state of emergency with the slightest display of chaos. Abusing the ISA again like ops lallang. BN-UMNO is just waiting for that chance. Do not fall into this trap. Better strategies need to be deployed. With so many brains & think-tanks within the P-R ranks, surely P-R can show voters what P-R is all about & what makes P-R different to BN.
Yes, & the rakyat already knows that BN has over 50 years experience…in sodomising the country & its tax-payers! Highlight all the scandals, all the funds lost in scrupulous tradings, mismanagement of the petronas funds, oil-royalties missing, cracks on MRR2, roller coaster highways, corruption, injustices to locals & foreigners (eg Mongolian girl)…etc etc. There’s 50 years of it.
#17 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 2:17 am
AhPek Says:
Yesterday at 15: 39.01
…..I see merits in undergrad 2’s suggestion in offering them an opportunity to cross over to avoid prosecution.That way it may trigger enough cross-oversto effect a change of government at probably a much earlier stage than the 13th GE.”
If it did cross Anwar’s or Kit’s minds they couldn’t acknowledge it in public because it would be illegal! But it makes a lot of sense. Offer immunity from prosecution in exchange for their loyalty. Cross over now! They are free to leave the country when Pakatan takes over but first return some of the millions they took out of the country.
#18 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 2:53 am
While Anwar was giving his speech, his former assistant turned BRUTUS was accusing his ex-boss in another place. I heard he had more than 2000 audience attended. Is it true?
I’m just curious? Any Penangites with information?
#19 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:36 am
At all cost, BN politicians and their cronies and also civil servants who are used to corrupted practices to enrich themselves MUST not allow BN to collapse and to be out of power.
At all cost, they must keep the goose that lays the golden eggs and they must maintain status quo the inefficient and corrupted practices that enable them to continue to siphon large amount of money into their pockets.
Surely most of us know or have heard how some civil servants bought a certain item from a supplier for, say, RM300, and asked the supplier to bill them, say, RM600 or 1,000. Easy money into their pockets. How many such incidents occur everyday in Malaysia at all levels and involving much higher amounts of money? If at least 1,000 cases per day per state or WP, then we are talking of at least 16,000 corrupted cases per day! The scary fact is that the number is much much higher!!
No wonder with a country name like Malaisie (French), we are stuck in a malaise condition!
#20 by FY Lim on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:51 am
TO ALL VOTERS IN PERMATANG PAUH,
DO NOT TO ALLOW AN UMNO/BN CANDIDATE TO WIN IN PERMATANG PAUH !
WHY ?
HIS PARTY UMNO/BN’s PRESIDENT AND ALSO PM OF MALAYSIA WHO IS A LOCAL PENANGITE DOES NOT EVEN CARE FOR HIS HOME STATE.
HE SAID HE WOULD NOT EVEN GIVE ONE SEN FOR THE SECOND PENANG BRIDGE , PORR AND THE MONORAIL WHICH ARE ALL IN HIS HOME STATE OF PENANG.
HOW SAD LAH .
AT THE SAME TIME HE POURED BILLIONS OF RINGGIT ELSEWHERE.
NOW, THE PM IS KACANG LUPAKAN KULIT. BOLEH KITA TRUST DIA LAGI ?
VOTE WISELY – ALL PENANGITES
#21 by jennifer cheong on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 12:12 pm
Dear YB Lim Kit Siang,
I saw the photo of PKR’s body guard – a few black sheep jahat one beat up a Chinese reporter. it is not fair for some strong jahan men to beat up an innocent reporter who try to cover the news help promoto Dato Sri Anwar ! not fair lah! pls investigate to give us Chinese woman the right – the basic human right! not to be beat by PKR body guard jahan men again! they maybe send by UMNO to turnish and destroy PKR or PR’s good image! thanks.
#22 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 1:17 pm
Today our Baldie said in his MSM STAR papers that the Permatang election r going to be very EXPENSIVE la. Doesnt that rings a bell?? This will give our rakyat a hint that the BN goons are going all out with their ill gotten gains to get the rakyat to their side. They have billion$$$$ to give.
PK, PAS and DAP officials and supporters got to be on their toes to counter these wealthy goons.
Perhaps, we can tell the rakyat to accept whatever the BN goons offer, but vote for PKR when the time comes. The rakyat did just that during the last GE12. This is what u can called a WIN-WIN situation. Of course for PKR.
#23 by mauriyaII on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 7:04 pm
Najib won’t stand against Anwar. He hasn’t got the guts nor the charisma of a born leader. AAB would not want to be humiliated in his home state.
What about the minister in AAB’s cabinet who got in by the back door? With his track record, he might buy the voters with the money he tried to smuggle into OZland. The PP voters might just take his money, say terima kasih and voter for Anwar.
What are the chances of KJ , the richest sil in the land without a job until recently? Or for that matter, what are the chances for the mamak’s son? One is an oxymoron who needs his fil to feed and clothe him and the other is trying to impress his devilish dad.
UMNO is sure to lose. No doubts about it. Its dismal performance after the 12GE in governing the country and the numerous obstacles it has been putting in the PKR controlled states, it might as well not contest. A walkover might save face and is the best alternative.
Should UMNO insist on contesting against Anwar, then the prudent choice of a candidate is EZAM or SAIFUL.
Rest assured. Both will lose their deposit. UMNO is in for a royal thrashing.
The day Anwar walks into parliament as leader of the PKR, the disgruntled and disillusioned MPs from UMNO, and others from its component parties especially from Sabah/Sarawak will cross over to form a new government and unsher in a new era of intergrity, transparency and accountablity – an ERA OF AWAKENING OF THE RAKYAT.
#24 by dapsupporter8888 on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:10 pm
I quote kassim from another thread:
“… I am tasked to post my comment here …”
Tasked to post his comment here in uncle lim’s blogsite, he said.
So its just a job huh.
How much they pay you? – taiking
RM80?? Just like the amount they paid those UMNOputras for the stupid blardy NEP gathering in Penang when DAP first took over the government??
Eh..eh.. Where is our Kasim Amat friend?? Lost in space kah?? Or too busy posting in other sites? How much you get in total every month, ah, for doing this job?? Or you have no BALLS to post here? Or those UMNO goons have not written the script for you??
#25 by cheng on on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:31 pm
Feel that, Wan Azizah announce it a little late, she should have announced it within 2 weeks from 4 June, 08 (day when petrol naik 78 sen), then Anwar chance is even better ?
#26 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 10:53 pm
Mongolian beauty asked for RM5 million. She got plastic-bombed.
Now the stakes are Putrajaya and the control of the nation’s billions.
No need to use plastic bombs. Like Benigno Ninoy Aquino. One bullet in the head.
Then, emergency rule declared. No people power. No Hindraf. Only dandruff.
#27 by yankeeboy on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 2:31 am
I hope the government would not charge Anwar, this will be bad for Malaysia. It would be worst than Thailand. The foreign press will be upon Malaysia and it won’t surprise me if Anwar gets the Nobel Peace Prize. Anwar will be sent to jail, (since sodomy is not baillable offence)
a whole lot worse than being put under house arrest. The PM must consider Malaysia first and justice second. After all a person is innocent till proven guilty and not the other way around. The burden of proof is on the crown. Foreign Direct Investment has been cold to Malaysia, lets not make it worst. A lot of Malaysians depend on this “investment”, this will hurt all of us. Please think of this Mr. PM. Do you love Malaysia?
#28 by dat2108 on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 7:23 am
Hidup pakatan rakyat!
#29 by boilingmad on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 3:42 pm
Yankeeboy, since when does the PM think of Malaysia first, if at all? Ever since Tun Mamak, most politicians (including MCA, MIC n Gerakan) are all in for the money, even if they be crumbs on the floor (for MCA et al). Running the country was never on the agenda, and they never possessed the qualifications for the task. That’s clear for all to see, even among the blind.
#30 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 3:48 pm
Just to clarify that I posted in this blog out of my own interest and wish. No one pay me to do this and I am not in anyway related to UMNO. Please take note.
#31 by AhPek on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 1:42 pm
Kasim Amat,
You have just not so long ago said that you are tasked to post comments here and also have warned bloggers of consequences your bosses are intending to take for unflattery remarks on them.
Now tell me are you not lying to the teeth like your bosses?