SAPP bombshell – a second political tsunami in next few days?

Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) has dropped a bombshell when its president Yong Teck Lee announced that its two MPs, Dr. Chua Soon Bui (Tawau) and Eric Majimbun (Sepanggar) would move a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi when Parliament resumes on Monday.

But will the bombshell land in Parliament on Monday?

With the ruling coalition commanding unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority in the 11 general elections since Merdeka in 1957 until the recent political tsunami of the March 2008 general election, there had never been any no confidence motion against the Prime Minister in Malaysian parliamentary history.

The Parliamentary Standing Orders do not have special provision for a no confidence motion.

In the circumstances, a no confidence motion may be regarded as an ordinary motion under Standing Order 27 which requires notice of 14 days to be given – making it impossible for such a no confidence motion to be tabled on Monday, June 23, 2008 as the earliest would be July 2 if the no confidence motion is submitted today.

Standing Order 18 which allows an MP to move a motion to adjourn the House to discuss a definite matter of urgent public importance will be inappropriate and unhelpful as it only allows one hour debate on the specified issue without any vote being taken at the end of the debate.

The only way for a no confidence motion to be tabled and debated on Monday is for the Speaker ito treat it as a substantive and extraordinary motion which should take precedence and priority over all parliamentary business which does not need to comply with the requisite 14-day notice and publishing it as the first item of parliamentary business after Question Time in the Parliamentary Order of Business on Monday.

In doing so, however, the Speaker is likely be in direct loggerheads with the government of the day and must be prepared to pay the consequences of such decision.

I see little possibility of SAPP’s No Confidence Motion against Abdullah as Prime Minister being tabled and debated on Monday unless there is a second political tsunami in the next few days, with waves of support from other Barisan Nasional MPs from Sabah, Sarawak and Peninsula Malaysia making it a credible parliamentary move.

Whether the SAPP no confidence motion is tabled and debated in Parliament on Monday, its very announcement has set off political shock waves in the country confirming the longstanding, widespread and deepseated discontent of the people of Sabah at their unfair treatment by Umno leaders, whether at Federal or State level.

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:43 pm

OK, OK, Kasim, we can allow KJ to propose a patented umbrella to be retrofitted to the gas thrusters in the event of rain. We can give him exclusive.

2. #2 by gundam on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:48 pm

im insulting curry, not oxford.

then how come u r insulting our intelligence here?

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:52 pm

what curry ? Monkey curry or chicken curry ?

4. #4 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:57 pm

Saudara Kasim, agreed gomen should cut down deficit, but is increasing fuel price by more than 40 % the only way ??
    Gomen want us to pay market price for fuel, then, why we cannot pay market price for imported cars, WTF, need this AP thing for?? besides so many tol, excise duties , taxes etc??

5. #5 by gundam on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 5:03 pm

curry kerbau

6. #6 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 5:37 pm

Kassim Amat,
    Govt should disclose all the incomes and expenditures to the finest details for all Malaysian to see if there’s nothing to hide !!! In today’s world, transparent is the key !!! Once I have all these information, I will side with the govt if there’s really no money left, but it is the BN govt own doing that resulted in all these problems for Malaysia in the first place!!! Time to change BN govt and let others who are more competent to handle the resources and money of our beloved country!!! HABIS CERITA !!!

7. #7 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 5:51 pm

Kasim Amat:

When rumours started flying about a Sabah party trying to defect, what did your boss the Sleepy Head do ? He sent threw UMNO “heavyweights” to Sabah to find out who, why and how much. The three heavyweights were: (1) a person implicated in the “Korek, korek, korek” judicial scandal (2) a person who lost RM 12 billion of the nation’s reserves speculating on foreign exchange and (3) the nation’s richest unemployed.

They found out who, but they could not agree on how much. They didn’t know how to answer the “why”, so perhaps you can answer point by point the 14 issues raised by SAPP. Boleh ? Or you need time to consult your UMNO masters ?

8. #8 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 5:52 pm

sorry, typo line 3: should be “…three UMNO heavyweights…”

9. #9 by lopez on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 6:03 pm

OX FOOT, at my father’s expense and my future

that 5% is oxcart size in all of the others who did not go oxfoot, but have to allow nkp and the comes back and tells us what to do.

Is your mother a female ,,,btw whay you married the zzzzzhead daughter, he gave you the nod accidentally or what

Stop clowning around at other peoples backside expense.

10. #10 by lchk on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 6:57 pm

Kasim amat@ killer @ realword is a big joke – first he yaks about having tiered pricing for malays and non-malays and now he sings praises about the AP system and KJ.

Killer got found out by his LIES regarding Teresa Kok and ran away with his tail behind his legs. Amongst many lies such as equating a Malaysian standard of living with Singapore’s.

Now he resurfaces as Kasim Amat the UMNO mouthpiece and punchbag of this blog.

11. #11 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 7:45 pm

Well, Ichk, I can only says this, don’t always think you are right. I do not know who is killer or realword. Having fuel prices in Bumi and Non-Bumi and the recent award of AP are all in line with the backbone of Malaysia’s founding policies, NEP. To break down the oil prices in different tiers, this will help the poor to lessen their burden, majority of whom is Malay. Awarding AP to Bumi is to help Bumi company closing up the gap with their Non-Bumi competitors so to ensure a more balanced and fair market environment.

12. #12 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 7:46 pm

Kasim:

Where is my AP for this gas-fired backpack thrusters ?

13. #13 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 7:48 pm

Like I said earlier, you can be my front, my CEO. I just do all the work like every Ali-Baba business for the past 30 years. Hidup NEP !

14. #14 by artemus22 on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 8:36 pm

“One small step for Sabah; one giant leap for the whole Malaysia”.

15. #15 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

The issues of dissatisfaction brought up by Yong is real in Sabah, illegal immigrant, poor development, crimes, poverty ….is relevant and real. Other Sabah leaders from other party had also brought up the same issues to PM but these issues affecting the East Malaysia were brought up time and again by even their UMNO leaders in the States in East Malaysia.

Another 50 years may be needed to address those issues.

16. #16 by BlackEye on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 10:22 pm

This is not about an unpopular politician or a corrupt one or a fringe party within the coalition. This is not about who should have taken the initiative or if there is no ulterior motive behind it or why the party does not instead cross over to the opposition. Even if the motion fails to reach the floor, it is of great symbolic significance.

17. #17 by Jameswong on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 10:50 pm

NEP …!

giving AP to the people around the Orang Atas will not help the majority poor malay, you can call yourself Melayu Baru or whatever but in other eyes, it is a useless person or no better than begger.

getting the reward without sweat, no wonder Malaysia cannot progress.

PR will get rid of this and save billions of RInggit to bring down the petrol price.

Hidup PR !

18. #18 by lchk on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:16 pm

Kasim amat,

No need to yak so much about who you are or are not – we all know you are an UMNO stooge and that’s all that matters.

Teresa Kok really kicked your butt LOL!

19. #19 by blablowbla on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:34 am

we are wasting our time on tis kasim fello,just ignore tis idiot nincompoop,whatever he says is rubbish!

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:42 am

“Do not blame it on non-malays. Non-malays do not have the power to make this happen.” nimcompoop

Yes, only a nincompoop, a government retiree with a cheap title from the government for long service, running a blog which nobody visits and talking to himself under different handles would do this.

21. #21 by limkamput on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:48 am

Undergrad2, as far as i know you are the perverted a** who constantly go after nincompoop for no good reason. When did nincompoop make that statement you quoted above?

You even tried to put him in trouble by posting all the racist comments in his blog, am i right?

Where is Bernadette today? You forgot the password, didn’t you? You are the coward who use different handles to hide your split personality, not nincompoop.

22. #22 by zeferino on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 2:05 am

While we all choose our sides and people like YTL have self interest in mind, ( Why had he not taken the PM’s offer to serve sabah , and not think it inducement ) we Malaysians have so many problems need solving, and the world economy is sick, we should gather around to solve this and then later do the politiking. General Election time is the right time.

23. #23 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:29 pm

DEar Wesuffer,

What did you say? That Selangor going to build a casino should UMNO still rule the state? Do tell me the source of your info. Not that I believe you anyway.

As for Godfather, if UMNO steals from “rakyat” piggy bank, then UMNO would be history long time ago. THe truth is that it made some mistakes. BUt it does delivers. Look around you. Tens of thousands if not hundreds of thousands received scholarships. Petronas is listed as among the biggest organisation in the world.

At least UMNo has the guts to reject anothe slavery in disguise help from IMF. Habislah kalau Anwar has his way.

At least Abdullah is clean. Hew never uses money to win a post. I am not so sure about Anwar . Everybody knows how he won the coveted Deputy President of UMNO post in 1993.

At least our PM does not have the habit of putting his son as the Menteri Besar of Negeri Sembilan. BUt in Penang, of course only Eng Guan is capable to hold the post when DAP won 19 state seats. The Penang DAP chairman was left out.
    Talk about crony.