Ordeal of foreign spouses in Malaysia

Letters

by B.R.

It is almost unimaginable the daily trauma that is faced by them, some of them are born overseas but were unable to get registered at the Malaysian high commission or embassy within the stipulated time. They are faced with daily trauma, which includes inability to attend local schools, universities, long waits at immigration to get a visa, when in actual fact they are Malaysians.

I, for one, am a spouse of a Malaysian citizen and 15 years down the line, I am accorded worse treatment than an illegal for at least illegals, after a while, do get amnesty, not spouses. There are many of us here, for 12-20 years still on a dependent pass or on an employment pass and still waiting for years and even decades, not for citizenship but for a mere Permanent Resident status.

Foreign spouses find life in Malaysia really difficult because of inadequate measures for good governance. The laws, if any, are so grey that it varies in interpretation from immigration officer to officer.

Many of us even have to resort to merely doing volunteer service, though it is a necessity to be an income earner. Some of us lucky ones manage to get an employment pass on the spouse visa but not many employers are prepared to employ a foreign spouse due to the tedious paperwork. Only employers with a paid up capital of over RM200K can employ us. Many even exploit us and pay some measly sum as token salary. When we wish to change jobs, there is a cooling off period to cool our heels for six months. Life in Malaysia is near traumatic for us and here’s more..

This is not ‘Ripley’s Believe it or Not’ but it is faster to get an employment pass for a domestic maid than for a foreign spouse in Malaysia! Similar is the case for extensions of our visa, long waits that stretch from hours to days though yes, we are the spouses of Malaysian citizens.
We have to pay double charges at government hospitals even when we are delivering Malaysian citizens. We have to pay fees as foreigners to study in a public university. Even a visit to KLCC’s Aquaria would require us to pay tourist rates while the rest of our family pays differently even though we are more Malaysian than most Malaysians.

We have to carry our passports wherever we go but students, foreign workers and (if I am not mistaken) even domestic maids get an I-card. A foreign spouse housewife cannot even open an account in some of the Malaysian banks, we cannot deposit money through the ATM because our bank account is called an external account – such is the poor treatment for foreign spouses of Malaysian citizens.

Oh wait, we forgot to mention the yearly visits to the Immigration Department – in fact, it is a joke of sorts amongst spouses, that the ‘Immigration Department is our Second Home programme’! Long waits, irrespective of infants in our hands and some have to travel from various states to Putrajaya just to get a spouse visa.

By the way, we have to be accompanied by our spouses to the Immigration Department when the submission is being done and this process can take up to 6-7 hours. More often for submission and approval, it takes several visits, never mind that the spouse has just given a declaration that we are still married in front of a commissioner for oaths.

Why are we so neglected? We take care of our Malaysian families, the future Malaysian generations, yet we are a forgotten segment of Malaysian society.

Husbands of Malaysian women have it even worse and we understand that Chinese spouses from China are not even allowed to apply for PR status. Many Malaysians with foreign spouses have left the country in sheer frustration. Many of us are highly-educated and are professionals, and we cannot even get jobs here, so why would we undergo so much hardship for so many years? Only for our families. So stop treating us like criminals.

The home affairs minister is the only approving authority for PR, and only a few approvals are given per month – is this a fair deal when there are a few thousand still waiting? Something is very wrong in the system then. We also know that priority is given for those applying for the more lucrative ‘Malaysia My Second Home’ programme.

So now it boils down to the fact that only money talks. If in Sabah and Sarawak, foreigners have easily been given MyKads, why can’t this be done for foreign spouses?

In this is a global environment, where travel is so much easier and national boundaries are getting more seamless, the Home Ministry and Immigration should be looking into its policies and engage themselves with practises that reflect good governance. It is only appropriate that spouses of Malaysians should be given fair status and that there be rational rules and regulations.

I have not touched on what happens in cases where there is separation or divorce. Do the children have to relocate to the non-Malaysian parent’s home country because that parent’s visa in Malaysia will not get extended?

What needs immediate attention is the immigration law itself for foreign spouses of Malaysian citizens. Today in countries such as UK, the US, Australia and nearer home in Singapore, no more than two years of living together is required to secure PR status – marriage is not even a necessity in these countries.

What you have just read is not a work of fiction but the reality of life faced by foreign spouses of Malaysian citizens.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by dr suresh kumar on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 1:27 am

hi katdog,
    we indian and chinese professionals dont want to go to india and china because,these countries have enough high quality professionals.We rather remain in our country of birth and contribute to our motherland which is Malaysia.But Malaysian politicians with their ‘ketuanan melayu’policy reject us.Since 1970 when the NEP was started(if i am not mistaken)till today,they still cannot produce quality local graduates.They are living in denial.
    Countries like Australia,England and other western countries recognize us and give us jobs and the most important thing is that these countries make us feel wanted ,not rejected.
    Look at Singapore for instance.Where were they 30 yrs ago?We were neck to neck with them in terms of ecomomy and even educational standard.Where are we today compared to them?How come,such a small island nation without natural resources,without petrol and even water they have to buy from us,how come they are so far ahead?I was once a strong critic of Singapore as that time i had full confidence in our UMNO putras that they will treat all citizens the same regardless of race in time to come,I even told my wife who had an Australian PR that I am not going to go to Australia as Malaysia is my motherland and i love it here.
    10 years later when my lovely twins were born,my wife had the last laugh at me,because I applied for the AUstralian PR again,this time because of my kids.No way they are going to go through this ‘ketuanan melayu ‘discrimination.Finally i gave in to my wife’s request and I thank the almighty I made a wonderful move eventhough this came 10 years later,as I am proud that I did my best for my country before I was’ made to leave’.We feel very much wanted here today.
    I still hopone day I can retire in my beloved country Malaysia where i see all Malaysians are treated equally regardless of race.GOD BLESS MALAYSIA.

2. #2 by dr suresh kumar on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 2:21 am

Katdog,
    I understand that you are jst quoting what the racist UMNOputras say about ‘balik india and cina’.My comments are directed towards them and all those think a likes too and not directed to you.
    Regards my fellow malaysian.

3. #3 by bernadette on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 6:24 am

i don’t mind balik cina! chinese economy is booming. if they let me stay i’ll be a millionaire in a week.

4. #4 by monsterball on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 8:09 am

bernadette….I am sure they will welcome you to prove you are right.
    Go with all our blessings and see what happen.
    Chances are…..you are a dreamer.
    Unless you are filthy rich and have a proven business to branch out to China…your failing percentage is as high as one… trying to strike it rich with lottery.
    They will let you stay….for sure.
    All you need..is to prove you have the money and the means.
    Buy if you are thinking of starting a
    “health centre” ..with lots of Malaysian sexy girls….sure to strike it rich…but approval will be denied.

5. #5 by crab on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 12:22 pm

The Govenrment really doesnot know how to fully use its human resource available on its shore.

The same thing happens to children of part Malaysian. I had to renew my children’s Social Visit Pass (SVP) every 6 mths until they went to school.

When we first visited Imm Dept, they told us one thing, then after 6 years of SVP renewal, we were told to resubmit the whole set of documents for the PR application.

My wife’s SVP is still on yearly renewal. More than 10 years. Initially you’d be able to get the renewal within the same day. About 3 years ago they made it such that you had come a week later to collect. What a waste of time for us who have to take leave or time off to collect them.

IMM Dept do not follow their Mission Statement policies. For e.g. What they say takes 6 months to approve could take 6 years to approve and that also with constant calling to expedite the applications.

They always SHIOK sendiri sahaje.

The latest that I’m told when I enquired after 10mths since the State Imm Dept had sent the file to Putrajaya for final approval, was that Putrajay is now ONLY processing 2001 PR applications. So it looks like I would have to wait for 6 years more before they look into my wife’s file. In the meantime we sit in limbo. However they are very prompt to remind us that we have to update our change of address because they may call upon us for clarification/interview.

What I don’t understand is how inefficient they are as the State Imm Dept does all the investigation & recommendation (hopefully) & Putrajay have only to process.

Almost all foreign spouses are degree holders who could contribute to the betterment of the nation

With all of their ill thought policies the UMNO govenrment is making Malaysia no better than Malaysia in the 60s.

It’s time that the present Government do something that the nation would benefit AND NOT THAT BENEFITS CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS IN POWER.

6. #6 by leealex24 on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 7:47 pm

It’s time to reform the entire government, maybe the previous election have motivated this change. Forget our apparent progress the past 10 years under Mahathir when until today we don’t even have the courtesy to provide good immigration service to our talented Malaysian professionals. There has been improvement, I must admit but the government has to be more proactive in retaining our bright Malaysian talents and continue to encourage “suitable” foreign talent to grow our economy. I’m a young professional who currently based in Singapore who is also an Australian PR with Malaysian citizenship. I must admit I like Malaysia but if there’s no proactive and progressive actions made by the government, the government can’t blame us young professionals to leave the country.

7. #7 by abangadik on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 7:58 pm

i agree with pamelaoda. make sure u give birth in malaysia. or if not please register your child at the malaysian embassy otherwise the immigration dept. dont give a damn of all your explanations!! PR approval? its a real dream. citizenship for your children? is another wild dream. immigration still find the chick to send u a letter saying your application is being process. application send 15 years ago!! its a sad flight for all of us. renewing the spouse yearly visa is annoying. anyway friends every vote counts. see ya all in ge13!!

8. #8 by Kathy on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 8:01 pm

It is sad really, to see and hear so many talented and gifted Malaysians leaving Malaysia because the government is not doing anything to pull them back. It is also pitiful to realise that our government is not doing anything to make things easier for foreign spouses of Malaysians to make Malaysia their home.

These are the people who can make Malaysia great in many ways and not only in providing talents in various industry but making us trully a multicultural country.

I used to boast that being a Malaysian I can proudly say that I come from a culturally diverse society that is living peacefully with one and another. Unlike the hostilities that we read about other countries. BUT are we trully united as Malaysians and can we do away with the racial issue that certain quarters would so love to make an issue out of it?

It is time for us to grow up. We should have a good look at our constitution that our forefathers set and not let those government folks tell us what it means. Our forefathers stood together to fight for this nation and it is our time to make sure it still stands for our children and the future generation.

9. #9 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 8:54 pm

I used to feel proud whenever I told foreigner (even those from advance country like (Japan, Australia, NZ etc) that I come from Msia.
    But now, I don’t feel proud anymore, even when I talk to someone from Thailand, Mauritius, Botswana, Turkey etc. Reason, U know lah !
    Msia immig. law on foreign spouse is outdated. I hv 2 friends who rather let their baby daughter / baby son be Vietnamese (follow the mother) than be a Msian non Bumi, non Muslim. Why? they said it is for the kids’ future, Will life in Vietnam better than in Msia (for non bumi) by say 2028. Time will tell.
    Msia will probably wake up too late when others in ASEAN overtake us in development & when petrol run dry !

10. #10 by monsterball on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 9:29 am

USA government maybe the biggest devils on Earth….but just look at their freedom of speeches and rights.
    They live to the every letter of their year 1766… “Declaration of Independence” …up to now.
    Here we amend and amend…to caged all others…ignoring all others…except their own race.
    Mosques don’t talk God stuffs. It is always their race..and how to strengthen it…a subtle way to support race and religion politic…all the way. If not….how come Kelantan and Terengganu are so backward? It is UMNO and PAS….fighting each other….proving how great they are…for their own race and religion..and back in K,.Lumpur…sing a different tune. What terrible hypocrites they are…..yet MCA..MIC..Gerakan ..keep being puppets to UMNO….with no shame…..whatsoever. It’s always votes….votes…votes….how to get them…by UMNO and BN..never sincerely for the country and Malaysians. They are not really Malaysians per xe. They are corrupted opportunists.
    And back to USA….just look and the thousands adopted children…..so easy to adopt and become USA citizens.
    Here..ant foreigner….living in Malaysia…marrying a Malaysia..can keep on dreaming….if you cannot prove…you are somewhat related to Malays.like Indonesia…and their so call…heroes…Arabs.
    Yes…from the start….we hero worship USA…copying their flag…copying all their dress codes…TV games…and copying …how to find and make suckers of everyone…every minute…which US government is good at.
    But in USA..the Americans really hold the power. Therefore…they keep changing the government…like playing yoyo….and for that..Americans are really smart citizens..far far above us in thinking…..how to vote wisely.
    We are just starting to wake up and be smart.
    Hope…we do not fall back to olden ways…being afraid and selfish.
    As for me..who cares!! I never depended on the government anything….all mt life…but I do care and yearn for a real free Nation..calling ourselves……..proudly to the whole world…we are Malaysians..

11. #11 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 11:27 am

Pink dolphin,

This might be a workable solution to get round your problem. How about, you and your husband take up residence in Singapore. If possible, move your family from Malaysia to Singapore as well. If not, it will still be much cheaper for you (and your husband, if he wishes) to commute once in a while, or even monthly from Singapore to Malaysia to visit your family, as compared to once a year to the UK.

I assume you are a non Malay. Frankly, your talent and your husband will be much more appreciated in Singapore than in Malaysia.

Just a thought …

12. #12 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 11:37 am

Dear all,

Are we are being unduly polite here, or being overly politically correct here? Seems like all are barking up the wrong tree and missing the point here.

There is nothing wrong with the immigration law. There is nothing wrong with the enforcement. It is just a race thing. Only Malays and Muslims are wanted in MALAYsia. Period. Scream and cry and tear out your hair all you want. The fact is millions of Indonesians, legal immigrants or otherwise, will become citizens within years. Non-Malay immigrants will be lucky to get PRs in decades and citizenship in generations.

Give up lah. As long as UMNO is in power, you can wait long long. Unless you can change the M in UMNO from Malay to Malaysia (or Malaysian), this will be like Sisyphus pushing up the rock.

13. #13 by sotong on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 8:13 am

i dont mind balik cina – bernadette.

Sounds like if you don’t the way the country is grossly mismanaged and abused, go back to cina or india!!

14. #14 by lupus on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 9:52 am

If you remember, BN release some figures of Malaysia, broken down by race, who have left Malaysia. Take the advice of BN – no matter how you can contribute to the country, you are not wanted. I am a Malaysia who tried to contribute before they had this stupid program to attract overseas Malaysian – I was back and tried to do it without strings attached.

Guess what – after 2 years of getting stuffed around, I left and glad that I did. Overseas countries are benefiting from my expertise and I am getting a rewarding career. My advice, do not go to where you are not wanted. If Malaysia does not want you, leave. If she truly wants you, they will move mountains to get your spouse a PR/citizenship.

15. #15 by yellow on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 4:29 pm

I’m married to an Indonesian chinese. I wont even bother wasting my money applying PR for my wife. The money is better used applying for PR in other countires. I will be leaving this shithole of a country for good.

16. #16 by bernadette on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 8:50 pm

“There is nothing wrong with the immigration law. There is nothing wrong with the enforcement. It is just a race thing. Only Malays and Muslims are wanted in MALAYsia. Period. Scream and cry and tear out your hair all you want. The fact is millions of Indonesians, legal immigrants or otherwise, will become citizens within years.” Wrath of Grapes

if immigration law is enforced then how would millions of “legal immigrants or otherwise” Indonesians then become citizens”??? sure it is a “race thing” – nobody says otherwise.

17. #17 by bernadette on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 8:53 pm

..don’t be clever by half.

18. #18 by pinkdolphin on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 9:00 pm

Dear TheWrathOfGrapes,
    Thank you very much for your kind thought and it is infact a great idea. I must admit that I have never thought of this option and I’m pretty sure it will make ends meet if everything goes right. I was feeling so helpless and failed to think outside the box. I will definitely discuss this option with my husband and with a bit of luck, this will be the direction we are heading to. Btw, you are right, I’m non Malay..

19. #19 by elaineganmaclaine on Tuesday, 3 June 2008 - 9:57 am

Great article, voicing out how we local spouses feel and are furstrated about.
    Recently, after many months trying, my Aust husband has finally gotten his yearly employment pass/ expatriate ID which costs RM250.
    Though it is affordable, we had to go through a tiring process and procedures with JPN regulations and hidden untold paperwork which we felt unecessary.

The tiring situation was written in my blog (under Malaysia category) http://www.elaineganm.wordpress.com

I do hope things will change for good, quickly.

20. #20 by clearwater on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 12:40 pm

pinkdolphin,
    Perhaps I was not sufficiently specific in my comment, but TheWrathOfGrapes [ I like Hemmingway too] has filled you in wrt Singapore as a choice of destination. It is probably the only suitable neighboring country to Malaysia where you can live and work in reasonable comfort. Permanent residence there is a relative breeze, provided you meet their skills requirements. And their Immigration is genuinely helpful.

elaineganm,
    Things have already improved. In 1981, my Singaporean spouse at 8 plus months pregnant was denied her second extension of her 3 month social visit pass and was compelled to leave the country, notwithstanding medical advice she should not travel at this advanced stage of pregnancy. She had to take the train from Penang where I was then posted, to Singapore, take a taxi back across the Causeway, and reboard the train at JB back to Penang. We were real concerned they would not let her enter Malaysia in her pregnant state, hence the taxi [she need not alight to have passport stamped] and not the train. Airlines won’t fly advanced pregnancy women. Twenty seven years later, my wife is on annual social visit pass renewal, not 3 monthly and her PR application has been under processing the last 10 years. Contrast it with her 27 year ‘child’, now a chemical engineer, and a welcome PR in Australia after a wait of 8 months from date of submission. Speaks volumes, does it not, about this country.

21. #21 by moimoi on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 3:01 pm

Besides taking ‘donkey years’ to process the PR application, those foreign spouses who are currently working and contributing to the EPF are also at a losing end! I (also a foreign spouse) has contributed to the EPF for the past 9 years and recently, I found out that non-Malaysain (who are not a PR) are not allow to without their EPF, regardless for what purpose, unless you become discapability or leave Malaysia forever! Now I can only hope that I get the PR before I retire, if not my EPF $$$ is flush down the toilet!

22. #22 by dobro on Tuesday, 10 March 2009 - 10:04 pm

I suggest all the foreign spouses of Malaysians form a group in Facebook to support each other and discuss the possible way to solve the problem.

Comments are closed.