The Empire Strikes Back…

This morning, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the editor of the news portal Malaysia Today, was summoned to the Kuala Lumpur magistrate’s court to be charged with sedition in connection with his recent posting on Altantunya Shaariibuu murder case , “Let’s send the Altantunya murderers to hell”.

Last Friday, the Police Cybercrimes Division sent a squad to his house in Sungai Buloh and confiscated his laptop and CPU in connection with police investigations under the Sedition Act 1948 for incitement and also because he “commented on a case before the court made its decision”.

Any offence in the latter category would fall under “contempt of court” to be dealt with by the presiding judge for the Altantunya murder case. When and why did it become an offence under the Sedition Act?

The police and prosecution action, coming immediately after the denial by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak through his press secretary of having anything to do with the murder of Altantunya Shaariibuu, smacks of an orchestrated response to Raja Petra’s blog – and must be deplored in the strongest possible terms.

Is this the beginning of a crackdown and the latest example of “The Empire Strikes Back” – the Barisan Nasional strikes back in retaliation of the March 8 “political tsunami” which swept away the Barisan Nasional’s two-thirds parliamentary majority and power in five states?

In Malacca, the police acted in excessive force in arresting the DAP MP for Kota Melaka, Sim Tong Hin and two DAP Malacca Assemblyman, Goh Leong San (Kesidang) and Lim Jak Wong (Bachang), on May Day when they had responded to public concerns about the danger posed to residents and schoolchildren around Tun Tuah secondary school posed by metal rods protruding from the base of an abandoned telecommunication pole in Bachang, Malacca. Lim was handcuffed and was assaulted and kicked by the Ketua Polis Daerah Melaka Tengah.

What crime had the three DAP elected representatives committed when they were acting to protect the safety of the public, particularly school-children, to justify the police to treat them as common criminals, even handcuffing, assaulting and kicking an elected State Assemblyman?

If property rights are infringed, then this should be a subject for civil litigation and not for police abuse of power and violation of human rights.

Clearly, the Malacca police was acting under the directive of the Malacca Chief Minister and Umno Vice President, Mohd Ali Rustam, in retaliation for the March 8 “political tsunami”, gravely undermining public confidence in the independence, impartiality, neutrality and professionalism of the police and the civil service.

Last Tuesday, officers from the Johore State Religious Department and the police gatecrashed into the Johore Baru Moral Uplifting Society, without warrant, to forcibly remove a script picture depicting the Islamic faith as the Society was set up in reverence and respect for five religions, the others being Buddhism, Taoism, Christianity and Confucianism. The Johore Baru Moral Uplifting Scoeity had been in existence for some 50 years and there had been no complaint whatsoever against it. There are over a hundred Moral Uplifting Societies in the country not to mention its world-wide connections. The religious enforcement officers also threatened to repeat such action in one Moral Uplifting Society after another in the state, with the Society in Muar as the next target.

Although such abuse of power and insensitivity was subsequently countermanded by the Johore Mentri Besar after a nation-wide uproar, what is the message of such “Little Napoleon” rampages – especially as no disciplinary action is contemplated against the enforcement officers or those higher-up in the Johore State Government and Exco responsible for the policy decision to launch such raids?

(Speech [1] in Parliament on the Royal Address on Tuesday, 6th May 2008 )

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 6:47 pm

I am sorry about the efficiency of police. If it is at the order of a politician, they act right away. If it is for the benefit of the people, the police hardly act on anything. In other words, the policemen have not been doing the kind of works they are supposed to do. This kind of police is for an undeveloped country. We are very disappointed for the images painted by the royal police.

2. #2 by roylim on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 7:09 pm

Dear YB Lim,

I would like to appeal to you amd all the PR MPs and PR Assemblymen to start the initiative to free because they are the frontline elected to represent the RAKYAT.

I appeal that all of them gather to seek an audience with the Yang DiPertuan Agong to either ask for an unconditional release of RPK or to charge him immediately on whatever charges.
    They must not bow down until the Palace agrees to an audience and agrees to lay a hand.

3. #3 by roylim on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 7:10 pm

Sorry typo error.
    It should read as ‘to start the initiative to free Raja Petra’

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 7:22 pm

“Lim was handcuffed and was assaulted and kicked by the Ketua Polis Daerah Melaka Tengah.”

Where is the respect for the elected representatives of the Rakyat? Where is the justification for such brutish behaviour? Do we not know that there is even an unwritten code of conduct for animals, yes, even animals? Shouldn’t we expect the police force to do better?

5. #5 by hennesy on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 7:23 pm

This is the reason why the people have voted against BN because everyone knows the PDRM is under the directive of the main governing political party & federal government. We have to ask ourselves, can we still depend on this police force to protect, safeguard our constitution and maintain law & order, to uphold justice & to serve the citizens of Malaysia? Or are they just another bunch of men & women who holds a gun, wears a uniform & receives a steady monthly paycheque. There are many crimes out there that needs their attention, many cyber crimes committed by hackers, thiefs, stealing & cheating innocent netizens. Kuala Lumpur has also been describe as a Zombie City. What has our cyber crime police been doing? Dunno.
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/4/17/nation/20962465&sec=nation

6. #6 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 7:31 pm

Kit,
    Agree with me not The only way to stop all these abuses is for Anwar to get BN MPs to cross over to Pakatan to form a new government.
    I hope DAP will not object to this because of “its along held principles’.
    For a larger good, allow Anwar to form the government.
    Only then we can bring this plunderers to book.
    They have not learned anything from the March 8 tsunami.
    The interests and future of the country far exceeds the party’s principles!

7. #7 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 7:52 pm

YB LIM KIT SIANG.

Greatest appreciation to you to be at duta court yesterday morning.

Thank you for keeping your mobile on even at latehours to post the night before he was charged.

Tears flowed when RPK was charged and remain in the dock, but emotions were suppressed for we believe that ONE DAY tears of joy will flow when the government will be beholden to the raayat.

AND TO THE MPS FROM DAP, PKR AND PAS, the mini parliament scenerio at the duta court canteen, will be remembered. For teh tarik was breakfast and lunch.

8. #8 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:10 pm

It was sad and unfortunate that these people still refuse to take note of the people wish. They still used all those high handed tactic to put fear on people. They just act like gangsters.

9. #9 by catharsis on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:14 pm

THE PROGRESS OF SOME CASES are so slow……………YOU KNOW THE REASON WHY………………….AND THE PROGRESS OF SOME CASES ARE AT LIGHTNING SPEED………….BY NOW YOU SHOULD ALREADY KNOW WHY…………………………..NOW DO YOU KNOW WHY WE HAVE THE BIGGEST COURT COMPLEX IN THE ENTIREEEEEEEE WORLD………………..

BECAUSE THE PROGRESS OF THOSE SPECIAL CASES ARE SO SLOW

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:16 pm

“Any offence in the latter category would fall under “contempt of court” to be dealt with by the presiding judge for the Altantunya murder case. When and why did it become an offence under the Sedition Act?”

Because the man who made comments sub judice would still be left standing and free to do more of the same? That hauling him in by the presiding judge to face contempt charges would put him away perhaps for six months when they need to put him away for two years?

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:21 pm

“If property rights are infringed, then this should be a subject for civil litigation and not for police abuse of power and violation of human rights” Kit

It is called abuse of prosecutorial powers.

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:34 pm

“Last Tuesday, officers from the Johore State Religious Department and the police gatecrashed into the Johore Baru Moral Uplifting Society, without warrant, to forcibly remove a script picture depicting the Islamic faith as the Society was set up in reverence and respect for five religions, the others being Buddhism, Taoism, Christianity and Confucianism.” Kit

First, what is so objectionable about the “Islamic script picture” – whatever that may be? Secondly, are they saying that “moral uplifting” is the exclusive role of the moral police set up by the religious department? What about the weight lifting that accompanies aerobic classes that end with the Lord’s prayer? Is it not moral uplifting with weights?

13. #13 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:38 pm

If I am defamed by someone, the best and the most effective way for me to take is to sue the one who defames me for libel or slander.

14. #14 by lopez on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:05 pm

I wonder when would a statement be released by the governing authorities.
    It must be a lesson to be taught and learnt.

15. #15 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:08 pm

All this happened when the rakyat chose the wrong people to run the country, ……..

such as ‘ correct…correct…correct’ fixation of judiciary system posts,

….The police and court used to protect self interest-not the juctice and order of law

16. #16 by deekay on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:13 pm

If there’s an Empire Strikes Back, then we will have a Return of the Jedi. The People will prevail.

17. #17 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:15 pm

Dear undergrad2.

Thank you for your improved comments on rpk. your initial posting on rpk calling him careless and surrounded by lawyers ill advising him was not quite fair a remark,unless you know who is raja petra .

Man like raja petra certainly is aware of his responsibilities towards his families. lLkewise Yb lim and Yab lim guan eng, who were all detained before. that included rpk. and if only arm chair critic from usa, where you know that the short arms of malaysian law cannot reach you. i hope you please show some respect to raja petra.

i had high respect for you. unfortunately, i was unable to post any comments yesterday. and i am prepared to post you US 1500.00 for your trip to Malaysia if you give me your account number. i mean it.

if all man/ women are like you, than forget about the political will to change. i know you are very learned, but rpk has done what pakatan raayat could not have done- being apolitical. and i am just glad that the mps from dap/pas/pkr were there for moral and legal support.

and for your information. rpk rejected posting bail despite lawyers advise. you think he cannot afford rm5000.00 ? you think, we who gather there could not raise rm5000.00?

a trial within a trial will be most interesting my learned undergrad2.

18. #18 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:36 pm

Dear undergrad 2.

Good night to you from Malaysia.

ym raja petra has refused to even see marina lee abdullah , his wife. refused food. do you know why ?

wake up please Malaysians. sacrifice made.

19. #19 by miketan142 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:44 pm

RPK got his respects and big following because of being apolitical and his bruising style of blogging without fear or favour. He raise the hope of ordinary people irrespective of race and religion. Could he be the messiah for a ‘bangsa malaysia’ and ‘ketuanan rakyat’ ?
    His call for ‘hanging the chinese’ was taken out of context.

20. #20 by drmaharajahrk on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:44 pm

get the BN MP’s to cross over and get Anwar Ibrahim to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia.

It may not look right but we cant wait till 2013 for change. Pakatan should dissolve parliament within one year and call for fresh free and fair elections.

You guys will win hands down !

21. #21 by drmaharajahrk on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:45 pm

Raja Petra Kamaruddin = Mahathma Gandhi of Malaysia

22. #22 by lopez on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:50 pm

I think the lesson here is to be an obedient person when to sit, when to shit
    And who is the subject teacher….
    He must trying very hard on his job, maybe being promise of an increment or promotion
    but reputation is so bad, how to get respected , even if he help an elderly to cross the street, would be in suspect.

23. #23 by limkamput on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:56 pm

Adam, very well said.

Just a quick question, being unfamiliar with law. When a police office abuse his/her power by resorting to physical abuse as highlighted in the case involving Kota Melaka MP, can the aggrieved party file civil suit against the police officer personally and also the government for damage since making reports against police seems so futile to me?

24. #24 by Killer on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 10:12 pm

drmaharajahrk Says:

Today at 21: 45.17 (26 minutes ago)
    Raja Petra Kamaruddin = Mahathma Gandhi of Malaysia

Sure this is a typo error right ?

25. #25 by Killer on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 10:19 pm

From NST :

“What makes you think I don’t have proof? What makes you think I don’t have documents?

“If I do submit the proof behind my writing, they will arrest me under the OSA. You think I’m stupid?” he asked the assembled journalists.

Well, RPK certainly sending mixed (or confused) message here. First he refused to provide evidence so that he won’t be charged under OSA and then he refused to post bill and chose to go to jail.

Since he declared his intention to wage war on the BN govt and be a hero, why not disclose the documents and go to jail like a real hero rather than a sounding like a third rate actor from a “Drama Swasta” ?

26. #26 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 10:46 pm

I really felt sick and nuseatic to see such morons behaving like this is a NAZI Malaysia that they can do what thay like to get rid of their rivals….

Don’t these people have any families of their own? Must the police go on bullying us Rakyat? Look what happened at Cheras Mahkota? The police were there invited by towkays to look after their interest and used their might to frighten the Rakyat who wanted to exercise their rights…..FRU came in full force…but when UMNO go on demonstrations…they are sleeping in their barracks….

Look how the Police manhandled the people’s representative who is a law maker in Melaka?

They have no compassion for the Rakyat…no respect at all for law makers…so how to expect them to have respect a Raja?

Police are suppose to protect Rakyat and catch all wrong doers but what are they doing? Isnt this sickening??? Yukssss….

27. #27 by harrisonbinhansome on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:20 pm

To my buddy commentator Undergrad2,

You reasoned out –

“Any offence in the latter category would fall under “contempt of court” to be dealt with by the presiding judge for the Altantunya murder case. When and why did it become an offence under the Sedition Act?”—BY KIT

Because the man who made comments sub judice would still be left standing and free to do more of the same? That hauling him in by the presiding judge to face contempt charges would put him away perhaps for six months when they need to put him away for two years?

That was the point. I recalled I was responding to you in previous postings, when our dearest Madame Moderator cooped my commenteries, after the release, the “coffee was already too cold”.

So, the point of Raja Petra’s counter-tactics right now is to replicate what Mahatma Gandhi’s “melodrama” to really incite Malaysians and International communities against the tyranny of the BN Government.(maybe this is real sedition?)

The reasons Raja petra respects no Malaysian laws is simple. Have Malaysian respect the International Universal Declaration of Human Rights Convention since Malaysia is a menber of the United Nations? Absolutely no.

An analogy, would you be complaining to a superior officer having prior knowledge that s/he has business-links with the one you want to complaint? Commonest of common logics, isn’t it?

LKS, Anwar Ibrahim as MPs and the other as an awaiting leader may found it hard to “act” what Raja Petra is doing right now. But Raja Petra, the vigilante kamikaze is the only hope to incite anger against the BN misrule and now is the chance when the late Altantuya Sharibuu was a foreign national and this will be a matter of International interest soon.

YB Lims intrepidity’s in his tirade in Parliament against esp. Najib & sposue must be applauded. And most MPs clearly exhibited that they deservered the people’s confidence in fighting against outright laws, injustices and the Gestapo of Malaysia (Polis RAJA Malaysia).

When I read Raja Petra’s wife’s letter posted in Susan loone’s blog, tears drops as I was reading.

http://sloone.wordpress.com/2008/05/07/jailed-bloggers-wife-speaks-of-her-pain/#comments

Come to my blog lah, Undergrad 2 and Limkamput, I will buy you guys some beers if we manage to meet up.

And to Madame Moderator, since you have to work, I beleive alcohol ain’t good and wll make you tipsy. So skyjuice will be ok lah?

If u still cooped my comments that couldn’t even tickle an ant, I know that you may have already love me even before you meet this handsome hunk coz you wanna keep my sweet words all for yourself. :P

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:27 pm

“Thank you for your improved comments on rpk. your initial posting on rpk calling him careless and surrounded by lawyers ill advising him was not quite fair a remark,unless you know who is raja petra ” ADAM YONG

Respectfully, Adam, there is no difference between my initial posting and my later posting on the subject. Don’t fall for the antics of a reader whose desire to distort comments made so he could contribute to a thread and write on a subject that he knows nothing about is too obvious to go unnoticed. To him, I say there is no shame in not knowing. The shame is in knowing and then misapplying what you know for a purpose unintended by the blogger.

I still feel that RPK courageous as he is, showing courage beyond what lesser mortals like us could hope to show, should have given greater thought to his family. I’m not deriding him for his stand on principles. I used the term ‘reckless disregard’ for the law when describing concern for his personal safety and the welfare of that of his family. He is after all a loving husband to his wife and a loving father to his children. Perhaps I should have chosen my words more carefully and timed my remarks better.

I did clarify and qualify my comments about the lawyers though – and I’m not referring to the Dream Team which now works pro bono to free him from charges of sedition. I was referring to the possibility of some of his lawyer friends who could be telling him what he wanted to hear and not what he should hear – not just about the sub judice rule. He seems aware of its meaning because he did say in his article that his comments were not sub judice before proceeding to make them. But, as you and I know, declaring comments made are not sub judice does not make them so or not so. There is the Sedition Act 1948 and the judge who interprets the law as it is drafted – and who unfortunately also decides if in fact there has been an offence under Sec. 4 of the Act.

As a lawyer when I read that article, to me there seems to be enough material in there to support a prima facie charge of sedition. – but only a prima facie charge. You should seek also the opinion of a reader like Procol who is reading for his CLP.

The reader I referred to earlier who relishes in distorting comments made gave me more credit than is due (though he didn’t realize it) when he said I gave ideas to the government with my comments. Let’s not look down on prosecutors from the AG’s Chambers who may be reading this blog! They know their stuff but they also know that they don’t decide if in fact there has been an offence under the Act. The court does. Lawyers don’t.

Our Sedition Act 1948, in my humble opinion, is so broadly drafted that to stand any decent chance of ever winning a case on sedition would be to have a trial by jurors – and not by a judge. I believe the government has never lost a sedition case.

29. #29 by harrisonbinhansome on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:32 pm

Undergrad 2,

I have a comments cooped for u, unfortunately, madame Moderator wants it all for herself. Hahaha.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 12:37 am

Handsome,

So I noticed. Perhaps you’re that tall dark and handsome guy she’s looking for! Sorry about the ‘dark’. On this side of the globe, thirteen flying hours away, handsome is always associated with the rich. Only the rich can afford the tan!

31. #31 by cto on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 1:08 am

Killer Says:

Yesterday at 22: 19.13

Since he declared his intention to wage war on the BN govt and be a hero, why not disclose the documents and go to jail like a real hero rather than a sounding like a third rate actor from a “Drama Swasta” ?

——————-

Sounds like you have already determined that he will go to jail regardless of anything. You are only suggesting that he goes to jail as a real hero and not a third rate actor.

Just the person we need to preach about the dangers of political blindness.

32. #32 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:22 am

Dear Undergrad2.

Good Morning from Malaysia.

I appreciate your reply to my posting. As i always have been consistent with you Dear Undergrad2, you are learned and make good comments.

It is not my intention to give history lessons on rpk. but you may read more of his writings (besides) the one that we was charged with to get a wider idea of YM raja Petra.

thank you .

33. #33 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:28 am

Dear Miketan142.

just tell me that you are mt – if you are. and had my pda charged ( battery being charged while in court ). and if you are indeed , thank you.

34. #34 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:37 am

Dear undergrad2.

typo error. should read ‘that HE was charged’.

AND if you read the article on Mr.Nades of the Sun, you will see that even with the “deepest regard” for the Law, have ended up to be hauled up for investigation to find out the sources of information.

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 6:54 am

“However, I simply do not have the same respects but only contempt for people like Anwar, the PAS Mullahs and RPK. These guys displayed no principles whatsoever ..” Killer

Which part of what RPK has been writing deserves your scorn and contempt? His blog as you rightly point out is news and entertainment combined – to me, much like FOX News.

I believe RPK knows many of his writings are seditious or at least borders on the seditious. I believe he knows his comments on any ongoing trial are sub judice despite his declarations that they are not since according to him what he was about to write have been printed by the main stream media. That would be his defense.

From the way he writes on the other issues, RPK seems to believe when push comes to shove he could count on his connection with the palace. How much has this factored into his calculation remains the subject of conjecture by those who do not know him.

36. #36 by miketan142 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 6:57 am

Dear Adam,
    Sorry I am not who you think.
    Anyway I am still a novice in blogging. (since 3/8)
    Unfortunately I don’t live in malaysia otherwise I will be there for RPK. I do admire those who stood up for justice irrespective of race and religion.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 7:18 am

“I hope you please show some respect to Raja Petra. I had high respect for you. unfortunately, I was unable to post any comments yesterday. and I am prepared to post you US 1500.00 for your trip to Malaysia if you give me your account number. I mean it.” ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH

It is not everyday that an affluent individual like yourself is prepared to throw dollars so a stranger like me could make the 9,000 mile trip home! Thank you. God willing and ‘weather permitting I may just take up that offer.

Declining to post bail as a matter of principle does not make much sense to most of us. What is there to stop his lawyer or his wife or you being his friend to post bail on his behalf? That is all it takes to enable him to walk free! He does not need to give his consent. Don’t tell me he insists on staying in jail even though bail is posted? To be charged for board and lodging would be to add insult to injury!

We all have respect for this man who shows very high integrity – but otherwise it doesn’t make much sense. My sympathy goes to the family.

38. #38 by lew1328 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 8:18 am

The beauty part of Malaysia: We all look like Democracy Country, sound likes democracy but in actual fact, we’re not democracy. What’s a joke from a joker!

39. #39 by lew1328 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 8:22 am

The Malaysian Police must be busy for extra duties instructed by those selfish politicians who govern the country, looks what is happening in RPK “sedition” and Bukit Mahkota road closure case.

No wonder the criminal cases ramp here & there.

40. #40 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 10:17 am

Dear undergrad2.

Though we are miles ( kilometers ) apart, i have never consider you a stranger. As stated, i have always look forward to your posting and of Sir Jeffrey.

I have never met Sir Nelson Mandela, but i have great respect for this International Icon of Hope, Humility and Forgiveness. To celebrate his 90th birthday, according to BBC news, he is raising funds to help those suffering from AIDS in South africa with the theme 46664. The number assigned to him while in prison.

Dear undergrad2, your posting reflects your knowledge and learnings, and for reasons you choose to remain in the United States for pursue of Masters or Doctorates or any other reasons will make Malaysia Proud. I dont have to know you to respect you.

I just hope that you read the articles of YM Raja Petra to know what makes him tick.

As to why, he refused to see even Marina, i am just as concerned. As Marina has informed that she wouldnt want rpk to stay in till October. maybe it has got something to do with his last posting” SUBMISSION TO THE WILL OF GOD”.

thank you.

41. #41 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 10:20 am

dear miketan142.

i share your stand on justice.

regards.

42. #42 by cto on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 11:16 am

Undergrad2 says

From the way he writes on the other issues, RPK seems to believe when push comes to shove he could count on his connection with the palace. How much has this factored into his calculation remains the subject of conjecture by those who do not know him.

Declining to post bail as a matter of principle does not make much sense to most of us. What is there to stop his lawyer or his wife or you being his friend to post bail on his behalf? That is all it takes to enable him to walk free! He does not need to give his consent. Don’t tell me he insists on staying in jail even though bail is posted? To be charged for board and lodging would be to add insult to injury!

—————————————–

There are matters of the heart and there are matters of the brain. Decisions that are made by the heart are not easily explained thru’ cognitive reasoning. Normally they do not make sense despite intellecture prowess.

I for one do not believe that RPK sat down and evaluate the first and second order effects, derive the risk factor, beta, based on the probability that each one of his uncles/cousins/relatives in the high palaces will step in to help him in times of need. It is just simply a decision made from the heart.

One often scorn at such emotional decisions. However I think that the reward for making the correct decision by the heart can be far greater than that computed by logic.

43. #43 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 11:25 am

YB Lim,

It is time to propose to parliament to remove the “Royal” or DIRAJA from the name of the police force for they are a shame to the royal, rakyat & country.

44. #44 by Cinapek on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 2:28 pm

Well it appears the March 8 wake up call for Doozy has not really woken him up.

All over it is business as usual. The overzealous Home Minister/AG/IGP/ triumvirate are back to their old tricks of harassing and intimidating the rakyat, the Little Mullah Napoleons are busy with their anti-every-other-religion antics, corruptions continiung as usual at every levels, etc.etc.

I see an eerie resemblance to the situation just before Ops Lallang in 1987.

45. #45 by Old.observer on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 6:15 pm

Polis Di Raja Malaysia (PDRM) ?

Or

Polis Di UMNO Malaysia (PDUM) ?

You’d think it’s PDUM .. or Papa DUM or Polis DUMB?

46. #46 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 8:20 pm

“There are matters of the heart and there are matters of the brain”. cto

And how you do in life can be measured by the degree of control you allow one to have over the other. It is one of finding the correct balance.

Rather than be drawn into a discourse on logic and philosophy, suffice it for me to say that some of us score high on emotional intelligence (EQ). But the question I ask is “Should it be at the expense of our IQ” and “Must the two be in inverse relationship to each other”?

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 9:01 pm

ADAM YONG,

Please! I don’t deserve the accolade you’re showering on me. I’m just somebody who feels passionate about issues especially when it involves freedom of speech.

I guess no one feels more than RPK. Some criticize him as being overly passionate about issues to the point of being masochistic. Some would argue that indeed he is. How else, they argue, would you explain someone who insists on sitting on cold slabs in a 12” by 12” confined space, restricting himself to not much more than a diet of stale roti canai when he could be swinging from a hammock, in the cool breeze and under clear blue skies and swaying palm trees somewhere on some exotic island seeping his favorite drink?

But it is his choice. Who are we to question his right to choose? We can only question the wisdom of his choice.

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 10:46 pm

“May 8, 2008 Breaking news Malaysia Today news portal webmaster Raja Petra Kamarudin has agreed to post bail after meeting his wife Marina Lee Abdullah at the Sungai Buloh prison this morning.”

Just the other day, Hillary Clinton was asked what she’d do if Iran were to launch a nuclear attack against Israel? Her answer: “As president of the United States, I’d obliterate Iran (meaning as president of the most powerful country on earth, she’d reduce Iran a country of some 70 million people, men, women and children to nuclear waste land for the acts of their leaders). On the other hand, the other presidential candidate Barack Obama replied he “would use force”.

Reason must triumph over passion.

RPK should take advantage of the justice system that he so scorns which allows him bail so he could walk out a free man to await his trial. Aren’t we all innocent until proven guilty?

49. #49 by cto on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 11:40 pm

undergrad2 Says:

Today at 20: 20.22 (3 hours ago)
    “There are matters of the heart and there are matters of the brain”. cto

Rather than be drawn into a discourse on logic and philosophy, suffice it for me to say that some of us score high on emotional intelligence (EQ). But the question I ask is “Should it be at the expense of our IQ” and “Must the two be in inverse relationship to each other”?

————————

No, not necessarily. The two need not be in inverse relationship and neither are they mutually exclusive.

In the case of RPK, I believe that his decision is ultimately made from the heart in my opinion. This does not mean that he did not think and evaluate before choosing his path.

However to explain, rationalize and quantify his decision based on cognitive reasoning, we will not come to the same conclusion as him. It will not make absolute sense.

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 11:52 pm

“No, not necessarily. The two need not be in inverse relationship and neither are they mutually exclusive.”

Agreed. My questions were rhetorical questions.

51. #51 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 5:44 am

Dear Undergrad2.

Will be at the PJ session court morning 9.45. Marina posted bail ( sure you read somewhere ). I am not too sure other charges will be poured on rpk,but we will decide when we cross the bridge.

hei, i am not someone who cannot differentiate between whats right and wrong , and someone who could be affected by anyone who tries to drive a wedge to divide. if you understand. take care my friend.

52. #52 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:52 am

In Malaysia going to court or jail has been dramatized, and the press & media are benefiting from this.

We don’t have Hollywood like the US, we don’t have Bollywood like the Indian, but we have Politickingwood where all these Politician celebrity earn some fame.

53. #53 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 4:05 pm

“In Malaysia going to court or jail has been dramatized, and the press & media are benefiting from this.”

Welcome to the world of Court TV. It may not be Hollywood but it is a channel over cable TV in the U.S. that allows you more than a glimpse of how justice is administered since many feel the need to see how justice is done and not just done!

I believe Malaysia is nowhere near allowing the public to witness how its legal system works and how justice is administered in such a public manner and over TV, believing that the presence of cameras in court is an unwarranted distraction.

Maybe it is time we relax some of the rules.