2007 Malaysian Population = 27.17 million

Estimated Population in Malaysia for2007 – 27.17 million (93% citizens; 7% non-citizens)

Malaysian citizens comprise

Bumiputera – 66.4%
Chinese – 24.9%
Indians – 7.5%
Others – 1.3%

“All states register the same trend, i.e. bumiputera being the biggest group except for Penang with bumiputera and Chinese almost at par i.e. 44.2 per cent and 44.8 respectively .

Selangor registers the highest population, i.e. 4.96 million (18.3%) followed by Johore 3.24 million (11.9%) and Sabah 3.06 million (11.3%). States with less than one million population are Negri Sembilan (0.98 million), Malacca (0.74 million), Perlis (0.23 million) and Federal Territory Labuan (0.09 million).

(From Parliament Q & A)

1. #1 by setuju on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 8:47 pm

Dear Mr LKS,
    I just came back from Penang yesterday and I am wondering why the Toll on the way to Butterwort still operate?

2. #2 by ch on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 8:55 pm

Dear All,

We have been impressed by certain quarter over and over again that DAP is overwhelmingly dependent on Chinese support to win election seats. As much as many would want to deny but the fact remains that DAP has always been contesting in Chinese majority constituents despite it championing the rights of all Malaysian. With the numbers presented and the Chinese are dwindling in population, I would like put forward a question to the leadership of DAP as to the reinvention the party has in view of this troubling scenario. I strongly believe that the leadership of DAP has made some soul-searching on this matter but never had the opportune of having them debated.

While the recent election has demonstrated to all and sundry that voters voted across race and religion but the dreaded fact remains i.e. BN, particularly UMNO has yet to show the willingness to surrender racial politics despite the writing on the wall. I believe UMNO would not quite easily give up its trace of upmanship over the rest of BN’s component parties.

It is also particularly important for the leadership of DAP to spell out its ideas of overcoming this demography trend and all fellow bloggers to debate or discuss so as to determine if the ideas could run its course and stand the test of time.

3. #3 by donplaypuks on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 9:02 pm

Dear LKS

The introduction of ‘Bumiputra’ in the census classification is a sure sign of a racist BN Govt.

Technically, Indian & Chinese, can be said to be races, when really they mean Peoples.

But a Bumiputra can mean Malay, as well as Kadazandusun, Bajau, Iban, Murut & Melanau, Portuguese, Dutch most of whom are not Muslim or Malay, or A Pakistani or Middle East guy married to a Malay lady and even some Indian Muslims who have got themselves classified as Bumiputra in with the conspitorial ‘blind eye’ of the IC Dept.

75%of the population in Sarawak & Sabah are native Aboriginal & Chinsese by race. The majority of them are Christiians, Buddhists atr practice animism. The east Malaysian native aborigines are not even Malays because our Constitution says a person who is non-Muslim cannot be a Malay!! Astonishing isn’t it? Aboriginal non-Muslim Malays are not Malays!

They objective of having a category called Bumiputra in the National Census is a DISHONEST one. It is to pull the wool over our eyes.

It is to give the false impression that Malays constitute 2/3 of the population of Malaysia.

But if you take out the non-Muslim East Malaysians, Portuguese, Dutch, Indian Muslims and others who have sneaked into this category, the real % of Malay Bumiputra is likely to be no more than 50%. At the time of independence in 1957, the breakdown was about 45% Malay, 45% Chinese and 10% Indians and others.

We are also told that in East Malaysia many Filipina & Indonesians have been issued MyKads under another conspiracy called ‘Project M.’ Are their numbers included in these statistics?

So, I say to LKS. Please get the Government to give us the real UNMASSAGED census figures as follows:

1. Malays
    2. Chinese
    3. Indians
    4. Kadazandusun
    5. Iban
    6. Murut
    7. Bajau
    8. Melanau
    8. Naturalised Indonesians
    9. ‘Naturalised’ Filipina
    10. Others
    11. Illegals

Then we can judge for ourselves the truthfulness of the statistics.

I reiterate. Bumiputra is not a race by any definition in this world!!

4. #4 by miketan142 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 9:09 pm

Perhaps the government can provide the breakdown of immigrants getting citizenship during the last 20 years and also the number of permanent resident in the country. What is the criteria for immigrants to be offer citizenship?

5. #5 by donplaypuks on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 9:13 pm

I would also like to see a similar State by State breakdown/ classification before the Govt can claim that Bumiputras constituted the majority in all States except Penang.

If tomorrow we were to change the Constitution to include Indains & Chinese as Bumiputra, then the Govt will claim that 95% of the populace is Bumiputra, i.e. implying Malay.

Two can play at this game of spin-semantics!!

6. #6 by novice101 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 9:14 pm

Puan Rahmah, our sympathies and thoughts go out to you!

7. #7 by cemerlang on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 9:40 pm

This is one of the disadvantages of family planning.

8. #8 by Better Future on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:12 pm

Why should our current so call government for all Malaysian still insist of separate us by race? My fren in Thailand and relative in Hong Kong already long long time ago classified me as Malay but how can I ever consider myself a Malay when the government treat me a Malaysian bone chinese as CHINESE. VERY SAD hope Pakatan Rakyat will give a chance for change in future.

9. #9 by Anak_Penang on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:24 pm

Is the statistics reliable ? Are the numbers get audited ? Yaa, I agree with “Better Future”, my relatives in HK also call me ‘Ma Lai Zhai’ , but yet can’t get 5% discount when buying a house :) Alternatively, how about calling myself Global Malaysian ??

10. #10 by devilmaster on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:39 pm

7% non-citizens in Bolehland.
    7.5% Indians citizens population in Bolehland.

So, this confirmed the myth that foreigners are more than the Indians in this country :)

11. #11 by assamlaksa on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:04 pm

Not only in HK, even in US Malaysian chinese are called “Ma Lai Yan” in cantonese or “Ma Lai Ren” in mandarin which mean “Malay people”

In HK and elsewhere in the world, Malaysian Chinese are not recognised as Chinese but as “Malay”. Yet in Malaysia, Malaysia Chinese is have to play second fiddle to the so-called “Bumiputra”. Looks like Malaysian Chinese do not belong to anywhere.

12. #12 by alaneth on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:11 pm

Statistical fact :
    By the current birthrate, In 2020, Chinese population is estimated to dwindle to 15%, in 2030 it would be <10%, in 2040, I dare not say; in 2060……

But in Singapore, there are many many Chinese Nationals becoming PRs & citizens. Chinese population in S’pore remains at around 75%.

13. #13 by mybangsamalaysia on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:28 pm

I was born in Malaysia without a choice. Then I was classified as non bumiputra and a less previlege citizen. The bumiputra especially the UMNO Malay with their ke-tuan-an Melayu, called it fairness with no _ _ malu_ _. I am very worry for my next generation. However, i am glad that Pakatan Rakyat is getting stronger every minutes. Keep it up, dont let us down YB.

14. #14 by insecticide on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:21 am

Someone should check Kg. Acheh in Sg. Buloh where thousands of foreigner with I/C stays there. They could be bumiputra too!

15. #15 by 7even Sins on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:55 am

Finally, at least, a reputatable Singapore TV channel has gotten it right that Malaysian citizens comprise of :

Malay 50%
    Bumiputera 10%
    Chinese 25%
    Indians 8%
    Others 7%

Any statistics that produced by our gomen must be digested seriously with a big pinch of salt and acid test as the reliablity are always in question. They are merely used to suit UMNO political agenda and nothing else…!!! So pethathic…!!!

16. #16 by miketan142 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:18 am

Raja Petra Kamarudin @ RPK has been ordered to surrender himself at Jalan Duta magistrate court at 9:30AM tomorrow, Tuesday 6th May. ” RPK is expected to be charged for sedition “

17. #17 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:35 am

If those groups could go around exploiting innocent Malays and palaces with non Malay issues and ketuanan Melayu very soon non Malays in Malaysia could be faced with unexpected difficulties especially with declining non-Malays in Malaysia.

18. #18 by kerishamuddinitis on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:18 am

There’s a simple reason why BN/UMNO will not stop their racist politics – they are banking on Malays to grow in numbers whether through natural birth or by immmigration to swell the support base for their racist, exclusive Malays only (and by that is meant ANYONE who is MUSLIM and chooses to call himself a Malay, like so many mamaks and other ‘original peoples’ today) elitist club that dishes out Ketuanan Melayu for lunch at every gathering.

And in 2050, UMNO will reign supreme because based on current population growth trends, Malays (Melayu, Melayu celup, wannabe Melayu) will make up 80% while Chinese will be no more than 10% with Indians and the rest making up the balance 10%.

So, what is GE12 loss-lah? They JUST have to survive this, BOUNCE BACK in GE13 and then, because the worst ever is over, coast all the way to 2050, a mere 42 years away. Along the way, their support base will grow bigger and bigger, with ‘Malays’ inching it’s way to 80% in 2050. Afterall, not many Malays can resist Ketuanan Melayu for lunch on a daily basis-lah.

Then, what Opposition? UMNO is KING!

Not unless PR kicks them out NOW!

19. #19 by chiakchua on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:57 am

Yes, the UMNOputras has an agenda in everything they do, including population composition. Because of the racism they practiced, they lump all Bumis in the same group to mislead people thinking that the Malay population is so huge that they can demand for every damn thing; though it is only for the real benefits of the upper UMNO elitist. Please breakdown in details by specific race; not BUMIs and others as Chinese, Indian and others! Regret that I have to give such racist suggestion because UMNOputras initiate it!

20. #20 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:43 am

In the wake of a dwindling Chinese population, DAP should expedite its effort to move away from Chinese-centred politics to ensure the Party’s survival. The era of race-based politics is fast closing judging from what happened in the last general election.

To garner non-Chinese support, DAP must spread its wing deep into the Malay and Indian communities and nominate more non-Chinese to contest in the general election. There is much to gain for the Party to go “truly multi-racial” in a multi-racial country like Malaysia. PKR probably realized the importance of being “multi racial” at an early stage and today it is the most “multi race based” party in the country.

Apart from political activities, organizing social activities among the various races such as Marathon, charity fund raising and community services (e.g. grass cutting) are also ways to portray a multi-racial front to the public and imprint upon them that DAP is not a Chinese-centred Party but relevant to every community (be it Malay or Indian etc) in Malaysia.

21. #21 by localgrad on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:33 am

just to bring up a real case scenario

my friend’s father, a chinese from mainland china, married to his mother, after living in Malaysia for more than 30++ years, STILL CANT GET HIS BLUE IC (CITIZEN IC). While tonnes of indons getting thiers after 3-5 years…. wat the hypocrite gomen, wat is MCA, gerakan and others were doing all this year?

He can speak fluent malay after so many years of livelihood in our land.

22. #22 by wag-the-dog on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:10 pm

Who Is This Towering Malaysian RPK – Background

http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com

23. #23 by isahbiazhar on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 5:24 pm

If we can get the breakdown of wealth owned by the races and their contribution to income tax we will be able to have a better understanding of the country.The future should see just Malaysians statewise and nothing more.

24. #24 by badak on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:52 pm

I got a chiness friend who,s second wife is a MALAY.His kids from his first wife has not converted to Islam.His kids from his second wife are are known as MALAYS and are given bumiputra staters .How can that be.The religious department are now forcing him to convert his kids from his first marriage.

25. #25 by langkah baru on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 8:48 pm

I can tell you all honestly, in sungai buloh inside the kampung is called Indonesia kampung. The are no one single patrol police rounding there, why? I do not know and in kuala langat is also Indonesia territory. Infact, there are many other places in Malaysia having Indonesia territories with original mykad. So where did they get their true Mykad without the birth certificate. Just ask the BN. And that is why the malay majority increasing double or triple each year.

26. #26 by langkah baru on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 8:55 pm

Everybody knows so well but no one dare to question the BN…well yonno lah proof, proof proof…. Actually, at times we can see by thier looks and hear by their slant when talking but and yet they can say they are malaysian with mykad holder. Now I wonder how they can get PR with no proper job, status. I understand that when we intend to get pr we need to fulfill alot of regulation same goes to Malaysia. But why these people can get PR easily????

27. #27 by ipohmalay on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 12:46 am

i think this is the best time to get assimilated. each and all us will equally, evenly. then, whe skould work for it. long live ???!

:-P

28. #28 by taiking on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 10:26 am

donplaypuks gave us a list which I gladly reproduce here:

1. Malays
    2. Chinese
    3. Indians
    4. Kadazandusun
    5. Iban
    6. Murut
    7. Bajau
    8. Melanau
    8. Naturalised Indonesians
    9. ‘Naturalised’ Filipina
    10. Others
    11. Illegals

Against this list I made a comparison with that which was released officially:

Bumiputera – 66.4%
    Chinese – 24.9%
    Indians – 7.5%
    Others – 1.3

I cant fanthom the possibility of grouping those in the first list under 4-9 as chinese.

Neither can I imagine them being described as indians.

So they must come under the category of “Others” or “Bumiputras”.

But 1.3% seems rather small if it has to accommodate what in effect could collectively add up to a sizeable number.

So are they “Bumiputras” then?

Are they all “Bumiputras”?

Who is a bumiputra?

Bumiputra has no legal significance. It is only a political terminology of convenience.

I have friends who are malay. They dont introduce themselves as bumiputras. Instead “I am malay” is the expression I often hear.

So forget about the term “bumiputras”.

It is meaningless to people on the street.

29. #29 by Jamesy on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:20 am

Aren’t the Chinese, Indians, Sikhs and others born after 31st August 1957 Bumiputras too?

What about the Orang Asli, Baba & Nyonya who were here long time ago be considered as Bumiputras as well?

Are the Iban, Kadazan and others in Sabah and Sarawak treated as EQUAL bumiputras as the Malays?

Please get the facts right first. All these are nothing but a play of KETUANAN MELAYU!

30. #30 by DAPPKR on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 12:31 pm

well said Jamesy

Ketuanan melayu

facts from them are usually in favor of them to show the dominace of NOTHING.

So just void this so called population count

31. #31 by donplaypuks on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 2:06 pm

Dear LKS

As earlier commented upon me, it is very, very fishy that Indians & Chinese are classified by race, but Malays, Kadazandusun, Iban, Murut, Melanau, Portuguese, Dutch, Indian Muslim etc are lumped together under ‘Bumiputra’ which is not a Race, but a very loose Economic Group.

Furthermore, it is estimated that 25% (750,000) of the population of Sabah comprises illegal Filipina & Indonesians, while another 1-2 million illegals co-exist in Peninsular M’sia. Everyone knows that there are illegal Indonesians Kampungs in several spots in Selangor. Where are they included in the statistics?

In order to give us a true picture, the Statistics Dept must state the basis of population classification and provide the estimates by Peninsular M’sia, Sarawak & Sabah and the combined total & %under the following categories:-

1. Malays
    2. Chinese
    3. Indians
    4. Kadazandusun
    5. Iban
    6. Murut
    7. Bajau
    8. Melanau
    9. Other Aborigines
    10. Naturalised Indonesians
    11. ‘Naturalised’ Filipina
    12. Others
    13. Legal non-citizens e.g. maids or professionals PR’s on work permit
    14. Illegals

A further breakdown by religion can also be provided.

LKS, would you please table a question in Parliament or write to the Minsiter and publish the details?

32. #32 by taiking on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 2:29 pm

Jamesy has a valid point. Arent we all bumiputras!

Since “bumiputra” is only a term of political convenience, and more importantly, not legally defined, it would not be wrong for one to attach a different meaning to it AND APPLY that meaning accordingly.

No laws would be broken if one were to do so.

BN could get away with the use and application of the word bumiputra simply because we all (although complaining and protesting) by and large went along with it and complied.

What would happen if we were to stop doing so.

For the next government form we have to fill in, shall we all regardless of our race, tick the bumiputra box only?

33. #33 by darcwil on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 2:32 pm

everyone’s overanalyzing i see.

bumiputera ka chinese ka indian ka. we’re all malaysians and that’s that! We don’t need a definition of that do we!

34. #34 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 3:04 pm

Why are we still so concerned about which race has the biggest population etc. etc. , as if one race is having bigger population is going to kill off the others or to bring the others down and ironically, at the same time we are talking about Bangsa Malaysia without labelling which race we belong to and global citizen after so long of human history? should we not be happy to know that our country population has increased and it is a blessing from God that our population has increased!!! Just to quote Deng Xio Peng’s famous saying “Dont care whether it is a black or white cat, as long as it can catch hold of the mouse, it is a good cat”!!!
    Time to change!!! Dont care whether he/she is a Malay or Chinese or Indian or Kadazan etc, as long as they can contribute to Malaysia/World well being, they are good human being and should be welcome to Malaysia/World.

35. #35 by konek on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 3:15 pm

It is no secret that Parameswara was an Indian and a Hindu prince until he married a Pasai princess and converted to Islam and adopted the Persian name Iskandar Shah.

There seemed to be no problem telling the truth as I just expressed it during my school days. The school textbooks were quite clear on this – but not today, I am told.

Once again the “insecure” Umno-led government had to wipe out any references to this famous Melaka prince as being Hindu and belonging to the powerful Hindu empire Srivijaya.

So all of a sudden our museums, school textbooks etc, all refer to Parameswara as a malay prince. Umno lying, mind you, is not confined to the mainstream newspapers.

36. #36 by donplaypuks on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 3:30 pm

to jamesy, taiking,darcwil & i_love-m’sia:

You are all right. It is indeed shameful that the M’sian population is still classified by race.

If we are born here and are citizens, then we are all sons of the soil. That’s the theory of it.

Then, we would’nt need a racial break-down of population and we will all belong to Bangsa Malaysia & can embrace the concept of Ketuanan Rakyat.

But, that’s not how it is in the Govt and policies wholly implemented by BN since 1969.

If you are a Chinese or Indian M’sian citizen, your children do not get 10% discount on house purchases or priority in admissions to Universities or Scholarships. But if you are a Chinese or Indian foreigner married to a local Malay (and therefore have become a Muslim), your children can be classified Bumiputra and enjoy Bumiputra privileges!! Is this a fair system?

Little wonder that recently a group of M’sian Indian Muslim made a demand that they be classified as Bumiputra.

My complaint to LKS is that the concept and principle of Bumiputra and the system of entitlement to special privileges by such racial grouping/classification should be completelt demolished. It has no place in any fair society.

Equally, I have not the slightest objection to well thought affirmative action policies and programmes to assist poor and those trapped in lower-income sectors. Everyone else should compete on the basis of Meritocracy.

I’m sure you support me in fighting to eliminate the destructive and divisive Bumiputra policy.

But what we are seeing, especially in the closing of one eye to illegal Indonesian & Filipina illegal immigrants, is a policy that has on overt and dangerous Islamic agenda. That we cannot allow and must fight against.

37. #37 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 3:37 pm

Why Malaysian BN govt. not ashame? only 27 millions of ppl. whereas Singapore is an island slightly bigger than Penang have around 4 millions ppl.

Most Malays family have more than 2 childrens, whereas chinese, or indian are deprived to only have 1. Standard of living is sky rocketing up till the ceiling, who can afford to have more than 1 childrens? Chinese & Indian are hindered the education due to Quota system. Life for them is very difficult, as the Malay govt. don’t provide aide to them, as well as education.

The Malay govt. support all 9 As Malay students, but seldom see them support 9As chinese or indian students.

Some even offer to sponsor 10 A’s Malay scholars to study law in UK. Well, there will not be population boom due to unfair and race based govt.

BN goons shud be ashame of themselves.

38. #38 by sotong on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 3:37 pm

Forget about responsible family planning….race and religion are very important issues to the politicians/leaders.

As a result of our leaders, the people do not trust each other.

39. #39 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 3:41 pm

Malay can have more than 1 wife, mean at least more than 1 child? Whereas Chinese and Indian to them they work very hard unlike Malay govt. servant who “mengantuk” in the office waiting for their paychecks to rain from the sky.

You can see Indian bread seller riding a bicycle, or chinese ice cream ah pek riding a bicycle selling icecream at roadside near school. Where are the Malays in these business? in Malaysia it is hard to find Malay doing it, they rather put up a stall selling burger or nasi lemak, by the way, there are funds readily available for the Malay to set up for easy loan. Where got Chinese or Indian funds available?

40. #40 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 3:44 pm

Siti Nurhaliza is another celebrity example of how Malay family planning. Dato K can marry 1 wife then have children when these childrens has grown he can then divorced the wife, as well as childrens, remarried to younger wife. Well, nothing happen as it is acceptable by religion.

The family who have the most childrens in Malaysia guiness book of record still hold by Malay.

41. #41 by sotong on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 3:48 pm

Simply the classification – Bangsa Asli and Bangsa Asing.

May be another classification for those who are able but have no hesitation to exploit the current system and environment.

42. #42 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 4:01 pm

donplaypuks,

For God said, it is more blessed to give than to receive. I believed you and all those who have given in to the unfair system so far will be blessed much more than the 10% discount etc. etc. . If you believe in the true God, He will definitely see us through regardless of the situation and grow from strength to strength. It is not that we are fighting the war alone, but the true God is also fighting the war but on our side!!!

43. #43 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 4:56 pm

So, they wan to hv a bigger percentage of bumi, in years to come, Let see how they can afford to give previleges to a bigger n bigger percentage of population in the coming years!
    & expect a smaller n smaller percentage of population to contribute to the nation (eg, taxes etc). see this equation can works or not?

44. #44 by ch on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:05 pm

Dear All,

Will Malaysian Malaysia be ever possible in Malaysia? One should reconcile with the fact that as much as we would want this to be but the fact remains i.e. the Malays have a deep rooted feeling that they alone are Bumiputera. Many leaders had came and gone but the story line is still the same i.e. The Malays must be given special rights for the benefit of its future generation. Failing which resentment would build up and the end result could be severe ramifications. This kind of statement had been said yesterday, today and will still be said tomorrow. Right before the election in 1999, Suqui, knowing that the incumbent government desperate for Chinese votes, presented a memorandum to the then Prime Minister for his consideration only to be told that they are even worse off than Communist after the election.

If memory serves me correctly, in 1985, Lee Kim Sai remarked that none of the three major racial groups in Malaysia could claim to be more native than the others as many Chinese and Indians are third generation born in this country. However, he aroused considerable feeling among the Malay leadership. Therefore, I believe we should stop playing the old broken records again as it will lead us to nowhere. We can argue till the cow comes home but the fact remains that UMNO is unwilling to change and do away with racial politics.

One Tee Keat came up with the idea of opening MCA membership to non-Chinese but Ka Chuan was quick to turn down his proposal by saying that the party is yet ready for such dimension.

The Ketuanan Rakyat hatched by Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim offers a ray of hope towards creating Bangsa Malaysia but without a proper road map or blue-print on this issue, the road forward can be misty and full with blocks and pot-holes before reaching the destination. It is time for Pakatan Rakyat to come up with this road-map and share them with Malaysians. We have no idea as to how Ketuanan Rakyat can be achieved as many Malays had been lulled into the belief of Ketuanan Melayu and I certainly believe that this couldn’t just change overnight.

I was once told that in a settled and established society, law appears to be the precursor of order. Good law leads to good order. However, one must also realize that without good order the operation of law is impossible. It is therefore, best, if Pakatan Rakyat could sit down together and bore out an order so as to enable new laws be administered.

Someone said that the Sedition Act is an archaic law but can the same be said to so many other Acts in our beloved country? If the answer is yes, then can we have the alternatives be brought up for debate? What happen if Pakatan Rakyat forms the Federal Government? Have they got the shadow cabinet formed up by now? Had they got the alternative Acts in mind should Sedition Act ISA be repealed? Would then the government be stable without these Acts as we embark on the alternatives?

So is back to law and order or is it order first before law?

What do you think?

45. #45 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 3:39 pm

If you are a Bumiputra by the definition of BN govn. and thinking that you are enjoying the benefits of being a Bumiputra, would you ask the govn. to grant the same status to other races e.g. Chinese & Indians ? or to ask the govn. to remove the classification of Bumiputra all together and just be a Malaysian only?

46. #46 by Independent View on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 9:01 pm

We’ve to accept that fact that the Non-Malays are not treated fair ever since the constitution was drafted. The blame has to be put on the elder generation leaders that represented us. Unless the majority people among the Malay community realize that we are all Malaysian and accept us to be fair without naming us Non-Bumi and call us “balik China” or “Balik India”……this country will not move forward. And the more the Malay thinks they need that speacial priviledge the more UMNO politicians get richer, because they succeed their mission. See who lives in the big houses in Shah Alam area nearby the Istana. They are laughing every night sleeping in those big houses.

47. #47 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:08 pm

In Malaysia,

The Malays who scored 9As & above will get full comprehensive scholarship from education dept. What abt. non Malay? the Malay clerk will reject them and said only Malaysian are entitle such grants else the Chinese Penangites who scored more than 9As will not have to give up education to labor for the BN govt. Non Malays are denied the education, their childrens are then forced into prostitution, this happen to poor Malay as well, when these children migrate to find jobs in KL or Johor, they ended up sleeping with strangers.

48. #48 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:10 pm

They’ve so many Bumiputras funds available for them, Curry the Lembu MP is one of the product, who paid his Oxford Bill?