Bad start for 12th Parliament

Its a bad start for the 12th Parliament, with Parliament setting the bad example of breaking and bending laws and rules to fit the whims and fancies of the Barisan Nasional government, whether during question time or in the first debate on the Royal Address.

Those who have seen the live telecast may want to give their views for the benefit of MPs.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:08 pm

Anyway here you go…

Indonesia seeks lost trillions in Singapore
    By Bill Guerin

JAKARTA – Indonesia and Singapore last Friday sealed a bilateral extradition pact, opening the way for Jakarta to apprehend and try the many wayward business people and bankers who allegedly stole untold billions of dollars’ worth of assets from the country and parked them in Singapore in the wake of the 1997-98 Asian financial crisis.

Successive Indonesian administrations have been stymied in their pursuit of footloose white-collar criminals, many of whom Jakarta

contends have fled and taken refuge in neighboring Singapore. Singapore has long denied the charges and refused to sign the extradition treaty unless Indonesia agreed to a concomitant defense treaty, which will expand on the previous Military Training Area bilateral arrangement that began in 1995 and ran through 2003.

read more at :

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/IE02Ae04.html

2. #2 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:09 pm

lchk…

Read and weep….your paymasters are being shred to pieces…

Sand in Singapore’s Gears
    Tag it:Our Correspondent
    05 March 2007

Indonesia, seeking legal recourse to nab fleeing financiers, uses the world’s cheapest commodity as a weapon

It started with a barge-load of Indonesian sand, or a whole fleet of them, delayed for the last two months on their way to Singapore to be used in reclamation projects.

At first Indonesian officials insisted the sand without a country was held up for environmental reasons. Now, it appears the sand is actually political leverage in an extradition tiff with Singapore over a brace of crooked bankers hiding out in the city state.

What’s really at stake is not sand, which should be the world’s cheapest commodity, but an extradition treaty that Singapore government authorities have been refusing to sign for 34 years. Indonesia wants a bunch of elusive bankers who took part in an astounding heist of more than US$13.5 billion looted from the Indonesian central bank’s recapitalization lifeline to 48 ailing banks during the 1997-1998 Asian financial crisis.

more at :

http://www.asiasentinel.com/index.php?Itemid=31&id=406&option=com_content&task=view

3. #3 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:09 pm

lchk..

Read how “clean” and “efficient” is the Singaporean banking system

Monday November 5, 5:18 PM

U.S. tells Singapore to cut bank ties with Myanmar
    BANGKOK, Nov 5 (Reuters) – The United States told Singapore and its banks on Monday to sever financial links with Myanmar’s junta, widely believed to use the city-state as its main off-shore banking centre.
    “We believe that there are regime officials with accounts in Singapore,” senior State Department official Kristen Silverberg told reporters in Thailand during a regional tour to drum up support for a tougher Asian stance against the former Burma. “We hope that they ensure that their financial institutions are not being used as sanctuary for Burmese officials,” said Silverberg, who is responsible for U.S. liaison with groups such as the Association of South East Asian nations (ASEAN).

4. #4 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:10 pm

more….

Singapore bank secrecy threatens EU trade talks-MEP
    Tue Oct 2, 2007 6:43am EDT

SINGAPORE, Oct 2 (Reuters) – Singapore’s refusal to soften its strict bank secrecy laws could scupper talks with Europe about a trade agreement, a European politician said on Tuesday

The European Union and the 10-member Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) are negotiating partnership and cooperation agreements, which are a prerequisite for a fully fledged free trade deal

“We say that we don’t think there’s money laundering going on here, but clearly people engaged in money laundering are looking for places like Singapore with low levels of transparency to actually engage in money laundering,” Ford said.

“If I was looking for somewhere to do my money laundering, Singapore would be getting towards the top of my list these days,” he added.

5. #5 by cheng on soo on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:37 pm

Killer Says:

Today at 12: 08.22 (26 minutes ago)
    Anyway here you go…

By Bill Guerin

Probably Indonesia is taliking about trillions of Indo. Rupiah, not trillions of US $. Where to find trillions US$ in Indonesia when Indonesia annual GNP is not even 0.6 trillion US$.

6. #6 by cheng on soo on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:50 pm

Dont think Indonesia should blame Spore for fund running away from Indon. to Spore,
    Indon should blame itself for their corrupt officials (previous govt) which collaborated with corrupt businessmen to suck funds out of Indon. If these funds dont hide in Spore (as claimed), the fund will go elsewhere to hide, the fund will also NOT go back to Indon.

7. #7 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 1:43 pm

cheng on soo

Are you lchk in disguise as both of you sound suspiciously alike…

BTW why are you so adamant in protecting the PAP’s government ? Are you an apologist for the PAP regime ?

Earlier you claimed my arguments about the dirty money in Singapore to be lies and now after providing the evidence, now you blame the Indonesia instead.

The reason why crooked Indonesians run to Singapore if because PAP protects the corrupts and criminals as long as they are rich and do their dirty deeds outside Singapore. That’s why a lot of dirty money from Myanmar, Indon, the Phil, Malaysia, India, China and other countries are parked there secure in the knowledge that PAP will protect them.

If SG is innocent why can’t they be transparent with their banking system ? Read the story about EU being critical. The objective of the PAP regime is simple, to attract the money from crooks and dictators.

It wasn’t too long ago that I read in Straits Times that 1/3 of millionaires in SG are actually Indonesians. The high-end property boom that SG is enjoying is partially due to the influx of further dirty money for the purpose of money laundering.

Singapore today is built upon dirty and blood -encrusted money that was stolen from the poorest people of Asia. The prosperity that Singaporean enjoy today was in fact due to this tainted money.

8. #8 by lchk on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 1:47 pm

Killer,

1) “…..proprietary ATM locations to 75″ – this is more than Maybank in Singapore. Also, both Maybank and Citibank are participants in the ATM5 network i.e. this is a network which enables the participant bank customers to withdraw money from each others’ ATM machines without incurring interbank charges. The 140 total is an aggregate amount of all participating bank ATM5 machines. Obviously you know jack about ATMs – I suggest you go back to your keris waving antics like your master Hishammuddin.

2) You stated that trillions of US DOLLARS were parked in Singapore from Indonesia – where does it state that trillions of dollars were moved ashore? LIES!

3) Quality of life in Malaysia = Quality of life in Singapore? Provide proof otherwise you are talking of your rear end again.

I don’t need to defend Singapore as I am not a Singaporean – all I wish to do here is poke holes into your flawed statements and lies and expose you for the UMNO mouthpiece that you are – all hyperbole.

9. #9 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 1:47 pm

cheng on soo:

You said ” Probably Indonesia is taliking about trillions of Indo. Rupiah, not trillions of US $. Where to find trillions US$ in Indonesia when Indonesia annual GNP is not even 0.6 trillion US$”.

Please, do some thinking before saying your piece. This money was stolen and taken out of Indonesia for years. Also obviously you are unfamiliar with the concepts of GDP, as such it is advisable that you steer clear of it.

10. #10 by lchk on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 1:49 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atm5

Check the link above.

Is Maybank the ONLY foreign bank with significant presence in Singapore?

That’s what Killer stated.

The answer is NO.

11. #11 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 1:55 pm

lchk

I still can’t see where it states that Citibank has more than 100 ATMs in Singapore….please provide the link…

12. #12 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 2:03 pm

lchk

Are you saying Maybank is lying ?

Fact 1 : Maybank has the most extensive network among the foreign banks in Singapore (see below)

Fact 2 : Citibank only has 36 ATMs and NOT more than 100…

I am sorry lchk, you lose again.

Corporate Information : About Maybank in Singapore

About Maybank in Singapore

Maybank’s Presence in Singapore
    Maybank started its operations in Singapore in 1960 as a full licensed commercial bank and its first local branch was opened at South Bridge Road in December 1960. Thereafter, within the next few years, the Bank aggressively opened another 21 branches.

Maybank is currently among the top five banks in ASEAN and is a Qualifying Full Bank in Singapore. The Bank has the most extensive network of branches and ATMs amongst the foreign banks in Singapore. All our 22 Branches and 32 ATMs are strategically located in both the business districts and the suburban estates for the convenience of our customers.

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/corporate_info/index.htm

13. #13 by cheng on soo on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 9:34 pm

Mr. Killer, I am surely NOT lchk in disguise.
    In this internet age, one need not say the other don’t know this or that, GDP, & GNP are NOT fantastic economic concepts, any Form 5 ppl, can easily understand. FYI, I had higher than Form 6 for basic education.
    Anyway thanks for your lively exchanges with Mr lchk.
    Dirty funds will go anywhere where their corrupted owners think fit. I maintained that rather the dirty fund owners & govt of the countries (Wherever) where these funds derived shall bear a greater blame !

14. #14 by cheng on soo on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:32 pm

Mr Killer, said US$ 1 trillion was stolen over years.
    Remind that, years ago , say 1968 to 1998 (Year Suharto stepped down), money was even more valuable than today, Indonesia’s GNP was even much smaller then, so US$ 1 trillion (from Indonesia alone?) very unlikely lah!

15. #15 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:45 am

cheng on soo

Why are you so bent on defending the PAP government ? Why arguing over trivial issues and conveniently side step the bigger issue ?

First of all, do not debate about economy, finance or GDP if you are unclear or have no knowledge.

Firstly based on IMF data,the Indonesian GDP for 2007 was $US 0.838 Trillion. Secondly please look up the definition of GDP before you make more silly statements.

In any case I am not a representative of the Indonesian government so I am not privy to details on how much and who stole the money and parked it in Singapore. If you are keen to find out, please give a call to the Indonesian embassy at Tel : 603-2116 4054.

16. #16 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:07 am

Full list of Citibank ATM locations in Singapore which are far more than Maybank’s, as per the links below. See for yourself.

Killer, you claim that Maybank is the ONLY foreign bank with significant presence in Singapore. You are LYING thru your teeth.

17. #20 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:34 am

Killer,

Do not talk about comparisons of quality of life between Malaysia and Singapore if you don’t even know what it means.

Also, you stated USD1 TRILLION was moved to Singapore from Indonesia. Where is the proof?

18. #21 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:53 am

Ichk

Welcome back. For a moment i thought you had ran away in shame.

Well, do not confuse the issue by posting irrelevant links. I don’t want to know where the Citibank ATMs are and I don’t care.Where is the data for showing Citibank has more than 100 ATMs ? Your own wiki link stated there are only 36 ATMs.

As for Indonesian money being parked in SG, please do and read the earlier posts or call the Indonesian embassy.

19. #22 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:11 pm

Killer Says:

Today at 10: 45.1Firstly based on IMF data,the Indonesian GDP for 2007 was $US 0.838 Trillion. Secondly please look up the definition of GDP before you make more silly statements.

Mr. Killer, so every body else is making silly statements except U!, well , now this US$0.838 trillion is PPP, or nominal value, U know the diff. between nominal value & PPP value ?, so according to U nobody here can debate economy, finance & things like that with U! OK lah,
    Dr. Economy / GDP / Finance / Foreign Investment Expert, Killer , Happy?

20. #23 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:45 pm

cheng on soo

Please do some research before posting, otherwise you will end up with shooting your own foot like lchk here.

The point is whether it is PPP or nominal, it is still the GDP. The application of nominal or PPP figure would depend on the situation. I can’t recall claiming my data to be nominal GDP.

The issue here is the GDP does not capture the complete output of a nation, especially in a country like Indonesia which has poor administration and widespread corruption. This was worse during Suharto era when corruption was endemic.

21. #24 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:37 pm

Thanks, Mr. Killer,
    I maintained that my figure for GNP or GDP of Indonesia , Year 2007 is less than than US$0.6 trillion, (nominal value). I don’t quote wrong figure, Your figure is PPP value. OK?
    If U can prove me wrong, (nominal value), I can belanja U a dinner in any restaurant in KL !

22. #25 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:12 pm

Killer,

Unlike you, I am not a paid UMNO cybertrooper who earns his RM2,000+ keep by squatting in opposition party blogs and forums 24X7 and can’t afford the time to be here everyday.

The only one who is confused is you.

The issue is plain and simple – you stated that Maybank is the ONLY foreign bank with significant presence.

I pointed out that it is a LIE by stating that Citibank also has a significant presence in Singapore. Care to counter that? The links I have posted showed that Citibank is a siginificant retail foreign bank player in Singapore.

Count the number of Citibank ATM locations in the links and you get at least 70. As several locations have more than one ATM machine per location (such as the branches), it is more than 100 ATM machines.

You don’t comprehend English very well, do you?

My question to you is WHERE IS THE PROOF THAT USD 1 TRILLION was moved to Singapore from Indonesia? Your links did NOT mention USD 1 trillion at all! So you are making it up! Look who is shooting his foot now.

23. #26 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:15 pm

Killer,

You lied about 3 things:

1) Malaysian quality of life almost on par with Singapore’s quality of life

2) Maybank is the ONLY (and I stress that you use the word ONLY) foreign bank with significant presence in Singapore

3) DAP leaders in Penang are angry with LGE for not giving them plump contracts (which you stated so in a previous thread)

A word of advice – if you want to spin fables, I suggest you check your facts and have a good memory. UMNO should hire a better spin doctor than you.

24. #27 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:39 pm

When one move one’s money to another country, which one counts? One’s earning in PPP or nominal value, the answer is obvious!
    Even base on PPP, Msia Std of living cannot match that of Spore, not to mentioned nominal value.
    There is someone who claim to know so much, yet not realizing that there are so many really poor Msian in rural areas. he can’t really explain why we need RM2.28 or so to buy SG$1. & then simply brand others as silly or not familiar or PAP supporter, I am Msian living in Msia, why should I concern or support PAP?

25. #28 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:25 pm

lchk

Your bull-headed, ill-advised passion in defending the PAP regime amazes me. I guess Singapore pays you very well for being an apologist, or your could be a Singaporean agent in disguise.

Rm2k+ per month for squatting Opps sites ? That sounds a good way of making easy $$, can you give the contact of the UMNO persons so I could work on a deal ??

How many times I had to tell you that I am not interested in the location of Citibank ATMs ? The link yourself provided clearly stated that Citibank only has 36 branches.

Why I say Maybank is the only foreign bank with significant presence ? This is because they have the most extensive presence in Singapore, it is as simple as that. Ciitbank meanwhile has most of its branches in the Central /South region, defeating the purpose of retail banking. Also as you know Citibank’s business so varied that their core business in SG is not retail at all.

And to answer your second question, here you go…

Page 1 of 2
    By Bill Guerin

JAKARTA – Indonesia and Singapore last Friday sealed a bilateral extradition pact, opening the way for Jakarta to apprehend and try the many wayward business people and bankers who allegedly stole untold billions of dollars’ worth of assets from the country and parked them in Singapore in the wake of the 1997-98 Asian financial crisis.

26. #29 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:36 pm

cheng on soo

I think you completely lost your way here….I didn’t claim that GDP (whether PPP or nominal) would have any direct bearing on the money that was stolen. It was you who brought the issue of GDP in the first place and claimed that Indonesian GDP was less than US $0.5 T.

Nominal GDP is poor measure of a nation’s wealth especially Indonesia which is 3rd world country vs Singapore (which is a First World nation). That’s why I pointed out the PPP-adjusted GDP but knowing that you are poorly-educated in economics, I did not bring up the complexities of PPP/nominal GDP.

However, for some reason you tried to be smart and ended up confusing your own self. I guess probably you had asked someone who knew econs but without telling the context to that person.

As I had lectured the other day, the exchange rate does not tell the whole story. SGD might need Rm 2.2/2.3 but how about the Japanese Yen, HKD, Taiwan dollar,etc ? Does this mean our economy is stronger than Japan, HK and Taiwan ? I am sorry your argument is silly and betrays a lack of knowledge of finance. I suggest you stick to selling char koay teow.

27. #30 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:54 pm

Ok, now let’s talk about the other issue.

1. Quality of life of an average Malaysian & Singaporean

It is rather simple to prove this isn’t it ? It is very different when you are a student, production operator, char koay teow seller/etc who lives in a cramped flat or stay in JB (but earns SGD).

Let’s say for argument sake, both take the same take home pay in their own currency. Here we are talking about the average Malaysian who stays in an urban area. It can be an executive or a technician, but it has to be an apple to apple comparison.

If you campare both of them, there will be almost nothing to separate them in terms of living standards.

The thing that the average Malaysian lags is in the quality of infrastructure, government delivery system and public health care.

However, on the other hand the Singaporean loses on personal space and freedom, car ownership, mother tongue education,etc.

But when you compare with other countries like Indonesia, Thailand, India, the Phil, it is a very different story.

OK, now lchk want to debate ?

28. #31 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:58 pm

lchk

You said “DAP leaders in Penang are angry with LGE for not giving them plump contracts ” as a lie. Well, you don’t expect me to provide a written and sworn admission from these power-hungry guys don’t you ?

As I had mentioned in anothe thread, I do have my sources. This issue is not in public domain yet but just wait and see how long before these leaders start to openly challenge LGE.

29. #32 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:59 pm

So, every body here is poorly educated in economic except Mr. killer, I am not talking abt absolute exchange rate, but rather, exchange rate over a period of time,
    Yes JP Yen, NT $ , HK$ are smaller if compare RM 1: 1, but how about compare over a period of time, say, 1996 Vs 2008, JP Yen, NT$, HK$, SG$, Renminbi, had all appreciated over this period of time! I thought U know what I means, but U didn’t!
    Let me tell u, absolute value do not mean much, Govt of a country can always re-denominate a currency, it already happen in many countries, New Ghana Cedi is more value than RM (at least at April,2008), but I would say Msia economy is stronger than Ghana’s.
    U are very arrogant, U think every body else here can only sell char koey teow. It is empy vessel like U makes the most noise!
    I never say US$0.5 trillion, but US$0.6 trillion, anyway, prove me wrong,(nominal value of Indonesia GNP or GDP for 2007 is less than US$0.6 trillion)

30. #33 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:02 pm

Killer,

I don’t need to defend the PAP as I am not a Singaporean. My purpose in this thread is to poke holes into your lies and mock you for the UMNO cybertrooper that you are.

You however need to defend UMNO at all costs or rather the cost of a RM2,000+ monthly salary as a cybertrooper. No point denying it because that’s what you are judging by the amout of time you spend here taking potshots at LKS and the rest of the posters here.

Regarding Citibank Singapore, I have already posted FOUR links specifying North, Central/South, East and West areas showing all ATM machine locations. The previous link I provided is an old wikipedia link with dated information. The latest four links clearly shows that Citibank Singapore has FAR more ATM locations than Maybank’s if you bothered to count.

Retail banking is dependent on products offered e.g. credit cards, housing loans, ATMs for easy cash withdrawal, etc. Another indiciation of your idiocy and zero knowledge of retail banking when Citibank is big time into retail banking in Singapore. Stop trying to impress us with your knowledge of banking because are no banker and you know jack!

There is no mention of TRILLIONS of US DOLLARs as you claimed – it only states trillions. Trillions of what?

No evidence forthcoming from you regarding Malaysia quality of life being almost as good as Singapre’s? Or Penang DAP leaders demanding for spoils from LGE? Be thankful that LGE or LKS doesn’t take up a court case against you for defamation and slander.

31. #34 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:09 pm

Killer wrote:

Since you are so fond of GDP figures, look at the per capita figures for Malaysia and Singapore and see who has more money and a better life.

You mentioned the average Malaysian – are you stating only KL and Penang or thr entire Malaysia?

There are plenty of Malaysians who don’t even have enough to eat let alone come close to an average Singaporean lifestyle.

http://www.apwld.org/independenceday_malaysia.htm

A quote lifeted from the article as per the link – “In Malaysia, 20 percent of children under the age of 5 are malnourished.”

I think the char keuy teow seller has better brains and knowledge than you as evidenced by your statement about comparing quality of life between Malaysians and Singaporeans.

32. #35 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:11 pm

Killer wrote:

“As I had mentioned in anothe thread, I do have my sources. This issue is not in public domain yet but just wait and see how long before these leaders start to openly challenge LGE.”

Sources from your char keuy teow seller? LOL!

If it’s not public domain, then kindly refrain from posting such slanderous remarks otherwise you might end up in the dock if LGE or LKS decides to cleanse slanderers like you from his blog.

33. #36 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:27 pm

Aliran pubished an excellent article regarding the poverty problem plaguing Malaysia

http://www.aliran.com/oldsite/monthly/2004a/2j.html

34. #37 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:32 pm

Malaysian poor couple live in toilet

http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/2008-04/04/content_7918232.htm

As far as I know, I haven’t come across anyone in Singapore squatting at toilets except when they are there to answer the call of nature.

35. #38 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:32 pm

Guys

I think both of you have completely and utterly gone bonkers. Chill bros, this just a debate no need to get so worked up and get an hernia.

Ok, let me give you guys another series of lectures, one by one.

cheng on soo :

You said ” I am not talking abt absolute exchange rate, but rather, exchange rate over a period of time,
    Yes JP Yen, NT $ , HK$ are smaller if compare RM 1: 1, but how about compare over a period of time, say, 1996 Vs 2008, JP Yen, NT$, HK$, SG$, Renminbi, had all appreciated over this period of time! I thought U know what I means, but U didn’t! ”

But you actually had said earlier ” he can’t really explain why we need RM2.28 or so to buy SG$1.”

Where did you actually state that RM had depreciated over a period of time over SG $ ? Perhaps you could point that out. It is very obvious that you know nothing about econs and finance and when kena whack by me you run to someone who do know these topics for advice. And then you post a completely different argument. Bro, I can see through you like a glass. Stop wasting my time and go back to your char koay teow…

lchk

You said ” Regarding Citibank Singapore, I have already posted FOUR links specifying North, Central/South, East and West areas showing all ATM machine locations. The previous link I provided is an old wikipedia link with dated information. The latest four links clearly shows that Citibank Singapore has FAR more ATM locations than Maybank’s if you bothered to count”.

My question to you is very simple, please give me a source that Citibank has more than 100 ATMs (not shared one) and I will concede that I was wrong to claim that Maybank has the most extensive network. I did count in the link and it was now where near 100….

You said “There is no mention of TRILLIONS of US DOLLARs as you claimed – it only states trillions. Trillions of what?”

Ok, let me re-post the article. Obviously you either have eyesight or mental issues or both…

Page 1 of 2
    By Bill Guerin

And I never did claim that Malaysia’s GDP/capita is equal to Singapore so don’t waste you and my time arguing about it. I had always stated that we are 3rd world and SG is First. But for an average Malaysian in an urban area, the std of living is not much different from a Singaporean. Go ahead, prove me wrong !

36. #39 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:07 pm

Mr.Killer, thanks, for yr secondary school “lecture”. NVM, U dont hv thank me for my “lecture”
    Mr. lchk is correct lah, that article never said trillion of US$, likely trillions of Indo. Rp lah! (Inside the article said billions of dollars)
    I had mentioned earlier, that, 2008, SG$1 = RM 2.28, 1984, SG$1 = RM1.09, 1975, SG$1 = RM0.99 Isn’t this appreciation over a period of time.
    I may hv to run to ppl who know econ/finance when kena whacked by someone on econ/finance knowledge, but that someone is definitely NOT U!
    If U like to count in trillions or billions, U can go to Zimbabwe now, U can become a trillionaire! U can hv trillions (10 to the power of 12, US definition) of Zim $. Come back only when they re-denominate their currency. HAPPY COUNTING YR TRILLIONS!

37. #40 by lchk on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:09 pm

Killer,

You haven’t gone bonkers, you are just plain idiotic. I have never seen soneone who realizes he has made a mistake in babbling faster than his brain can work and is now squirming so much out of his own moronic comments.

Let’s not forget you stated that Maybank is the ONLY foreign bank with significant presence in Singapore, don’t twist your own words and shift your statement to be the foreign bank with the most extensive network. Citibank is a foreign bank with SIGNIFICANT PRESENCE in Singapore.

Here’s why:

Comparison of Citibank Singapre and Maybank Singapore

Citibank has the following ATM locations:
    16 north
    16 central/south
    14 west
    13 east

Total 59

Also the following Cash Deposit locations:

3 north
    6 central/south
    3 west
    1 east

Total 13

Total self-service terminal locations = 72

Total of 18 branches

Logically, if you deduce that 18 of those ATM locations are bank branches, there would be at least 2-3 ATM machines at each branch so a figure of 100 is about right.

Which even with just location number alone far exceeds Maybank Singapore.

You stated TRILLIONS of US DOLLARS.

The article headline stated TRILLIONS.

Tell where does it state TRILLIONS of DOLLARS.

You must be dyslexic – go for treatment, seriously.

Per capita income already shows Singaporeans earn far more than Malaysians.

You also stated average malaysian, now you are twisting your own words with “average malaysian in an urban area”.

Don’t BS your way through in a publicly accessible blog, everyone’s watching – this isn’t your typical UMNO mouthpiece where it’s all one way traffic.

38. #41 by Killer on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:43 am

lchk

Please do not evade my question and show me an indpendent source that shows Citibank has more than 100 ATMs. And don’t use your “logical deductions” for what is logical for a noodle seller might not be logical for the average person. BTW I see even your counting is wrong, perhaps you didn’t even complete your primary school. Not only that you trying to mislead people but you also claim wiki to be outdated which you had earlier given as evidence to support your claim. Once you realised you had shot yourself in the foot, you switch tactics and trying another trick.

BTW, for the Indonesian money the article clearly states that some crook “stole untold billions of dollars’ worth of assets”. Any average person understands that dollars means US$. But that’s OK, noodle seller like you are not considered as an average person in IQ, so your confusion is understood.

39. #42 by Killer on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:57 am

cheng on soo

So you admit that you were wrong and had consulted someone else to advise on econ ?

That’s OK, I understand. No harm in asking someone who knows better. It is always good to learn something new.

But I do see some merit when you (or your friend) bring up the point of depreciation of RM vis-a-vis SGD. This is of course is true. But I guess I had explained this before but just for your benefit I will explain one more time.

The exchange theory has all kind of parameters for determining the rate between two currencies but the real rate on the market is often depending on many other factors (market related and also due to govt intervention).

The current exchange rate between SGD and RM certainly reflects the level of development between MY and SG but this are not the only factor. Another key factor is that MY has been long artifically kept undervalued by the govt for various reasons. Other factors likely to be SG’s role as the financial and trade center, their location as the HQ for many MNCs and the usage of SG port by MY firms for exports.

Anyway it was a good debate and as long as we keep emotion is check, I have no problem with that.

40. #43 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 10:12 am

Mr. Killer, U dont read English well, I said, “I may hv “, but FYI, believe it or not, I hv never consulted any econ/finance friend yet for all previous postings.
    Thanks for yr explanation for the exchange rate, but sorry to say, nothing special abt yr expalnation that I didnt know before.

41. #44 by localgrad on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:15 am

KUDOS uncle kit,

read from malaysiakini that u KENA that KeraJantan kau-kau.

lets teach this arrogant tin kosing some lessons.

I like the “oxford grad” part the most. wahahaa

hm… hope tat oxford can revoke his cert judging by his Kera type of IQ and comments in parliament.

Uncle Kit, u r my IDOL!!!

42. #45 by lchk on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:16 am

Killer,

Don’t attempt to change things. You are beneath the intelligence and dignity of a noodle seller so don’t insult them.

Here is what you originally stated:

1) You stated that Maybank is the only FOREIGN bank with significant presence in Singapore. I proved you WRONG by stating that Citibank also has significant presence in Singapore with more ATMs than Maybank. So what you said was a LIE!

2) An average person understands the difference between BILLIONS of dollars and TRILLIONS of dollars. You originally stated TRILLIONS of dollars. You obviously are not an average person and not a noodle seller as they certainly have more brain matter than what little resides in your cranium. LIE again.

3) Malaysia quality of life = Singapore quality of life? LIE thrice!

43. #46 by Killer on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:45 am

cheng on soo,

You are a good spin doctor…keep it up and continue to live under the coconut shell.

Ichk : i am still awaiting the details on “more than 100 ATMs”….

44. #47 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 1:49 pm

Mr. Killer, so, are U saying I lied, ok, which one?
    SG exchange rate? Indonesia 2007 nominal GNP or GDP? Jef Ooi is an MP represent a constituency in Penang? U be a trillionaire in Zimbabwe? (Pity yrself if U are not one!), proof me wrong. & I lost u a bet of $150 million (Zimbabwe $ of 6 May,2008, or equivalent in RM, using parallel market rate, otherwise U lost me a bet of RM9) iGive me yr bank account nos. if U win.
    I nvr say U or I live under a coconut shell! ok?

45. #48 by lchk on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:14 pm

Killer,

Told you about the 100 ATMs already. With 72 ATM locations, not difficult to realize there are at least 100 ATM machines at these locations as many ATM locations have more than one ATM per location.

So do you still think Maybank is the ONLY foreign bank with significant presence in Singapore?

and Citibank is just a small time bank in Singapore?

ROTFL!

46. #49 by lchk on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:17 pm

Killer,

Learn to comprehend English and the difference between BILLIONS and TRILLIONS.

No wonder you try to disparage chao keuy teow sellers – they can count better than you and hence exhibit much more intelligence than you. That’s why you are so envious of them….

1 3 4 5

Comments are closed.