“Results of space tests out soon” – Opinion

[Dr. Lee Wei Lim, a a Marie Curie Fellow and Malaysian brain scientist in Maastricht University, the Netherlands, has several queries on today's Star report "Results of space tests out soon" re: Angkasawan Dr. Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor.
[Dr. Lee's comments (in bold) accomapnies the Star report viz:]

Results of space tests out soon

PENANG: The results of experiments carried out in space by Angkasawan Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor will be released next month.

The experiment was carried out at the International Space Station or in the “Space” ?

The results of various experiments with proteins and the effects of micro-gravity and space radiation on cells and microbes would be shared with international researchers soon, the country’s first cosmonaut said during the closing of Brain Awareness Week 2008 at Universiti Sains Malaysia yesterday.

How can an Orthopaedic surgeon carry out protein research in the field of molecular biology? Why do we have to focus on space radiation on cells and microbes since we are living on the earth? How does this contribute to the science?

“I have spoken to the scientists and researchers involved in the project and they said the results will be published soon – in about a month’s time,” he said, when responding to questions by students attending his talk on Brain in Space: Our New Frontier.

The results will be published in which international peer reviewed journal? What is the significant scientific background of it?
His talk on the “Brain in Space”, is he qualified to speak about that? Has he been trainned as a neuroscientist? Does he have strong background on the brain? Please see www.pubmed.com and type in “Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor”, no scientific publication related with the brain!

Asked why the experiments had to be carried out in space, the 35-year-old orthopaedic surgeon said it was because zero gravity allowed the specimens to be studied in their 3D form.

Just because to study the specimens in 3D dimension?? Would it be too costly? First of all, how can an orthopardic surgeon involves in scientific neuroscience research? What is the link between the brain and bone (orthopaedic)? Similarly, would you send a dermatologist to study the brain?
“Zero gravity allows specimens to be studied in 3D form”, why did this study have to be carried out in the “space” or the space station just for the cell 3D form investigation? In fact, on the earth, we have such “vacuum chamber model” to carry out research on the morphology of cells with “confocal microscopy”, “two-photon microscopy” or “electron microscopy” approach, this will give us even a better control view of the cells in terms the cell morphological changes and technical manipulation aspect. And again, how can an orthopaedic surgeon carry out such complicated and high technique on cells manipulation in the “space”? Is he a cellular biologist? Please look at the Harvard University website on Neurobiology.

“If studied on earth under a microscope, the cells would have been flattened slightly because of the effects of gravity. In space, we can view the specimens as if they were in the human body,” he explained, adding that he was keen on returning to medical practice.

And again, the research was carried at the “International Space Station” or in the “Space”, there is a clear distinction between these two!
Cell flattened??? Please see my previous opinion on vacuum chamber model.
What type of cell did he want to study? What is the hypothesis and scientific support for such a huge cost of investment? “In space, we can view the specimens as if they were in the human body,” based on which scientific publication to support this notion of sentence?? If so, how about carry out such experiment in the vacuum chamber (low cost) of zero gravity with better manipulation on the cells and more scientifically grounded?

“I miss seeing my patients and being in the operating theatre. I also hope to one day find the cure for cancer,” he said.

Miss seeing patients? When a person left his medical career for more than 5 years, is he still eligible to perform his clinical works efficiently? May be, he is exemption.
To find cure for cancer? What is the link between his work in space and cancer as well as the brain?

The experiments were conducted while he was on the International Space Station. On Oct 10, Dr Sheikh Muszaphar made history by becoming the first Malaysian to fly to space.

The experiment was conducted at the International Space Station and not in the “Space”? What sort of experiment? Why can’t it be carried out in the scientific laboratory, with lower cost, more reliable internationally-accepted methods for scientific publication? He is an orthopaedic surgeon with no scientific publication in brain and cellular research, how on earth he knew the works of a professional histologist or cell biologist or brain scientist?

Later, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak launched the book Reaching for the Stars, which was written by Sheikh Mustapha, also known as Ajil, the late brother of Dr Sheikh Muszaphar.

No comments.

The book is Ajil’s personal account of Dr Sheikh Muszaphar’s journey from the time he was short-listed, trained, and selected as Malaysia’s first astronaut to his journey into space late last year.

No comments.

But Ajil had a fall and slipped into a coma while his brother was still in space and died days after Dr Sheikh Muszaphar’s safe return to earth.

No comments.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by dapforever on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 10:20 pm

it’s big money wasted for tax payer…
    i don’t see the space mission did any improvements to the country.

i see nothing but only big figure $$$ wasted…

2. #2 by Tim Sng on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 12:15 am

Sdr Lim senior [or junior if you have time to read this.]

[Everyone in Malaysia is a Saudara, if we subscribe in a Malaysian Malaysia]

What do you say about all this? You have been very quiet about so many issues. We want to hear your moderate views too.

Again, I am outnumbered….but hear me…

Question: Should a Malaysia go to outer space, climb Mt Everest, parachute down the Artic, sail around the world etc etc?

Simple answer is a question: “Why not?”

It puts us in the map of human achievement.

Man wants to strive to reach the heights, scale the highest mountain etc. It may be more a Malaysian, Malay, Indian mentality than Chinese…..but even the Chinese Chinese want to have a part of the Space programme.

My point is: Go by all means, fly by all means. Malaysia Boleh, dear patriot bloggers!

But, what do you say about the Auditor General’s Reports…. have we cleaned our backyard. That is my point. We, as a country can afford…..F1, Twin Towers, be part of the space programme….but, how do we fare in our backyard?

It isn’t just criticise, attack, tear down, condemn….but reason, trying to understand, and convincing….

Remember, Sdr Lim senior, you are no longer opposition but the preposition!

I thank you and Yb Karpal for your perseverance, for withstanding all the verbal abuse year after year in parliament, being called names that were unfairly thrown at you….names like….’bodoh’, binatang’ ,”anjing’……
    There is no need to do the same.

Do not answer a fool according to his foolishness, or we will be like them.

March 8th should have eliminated arrogance, abusive language in politics, sheer dominance, injustice…..you the YBs, whether in govt or not must begin a new era of diplomatic engagement for the goodness of this country.

I hope the voters [and bloggers] will do so too. Do not be so fast in condemning, and yet enjoy the benefits of progress eg KLCC or drive a Proton…..rather, be fair and reasonable in your expressions, or you are no different from the one you criticise.

3. #3 by joejoe on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 2:14 am

Great revelation. We needed a queer to test how to bone in 3D till the brain explodes

4. #4 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:19 am

“INTERNET has an unlimited bandwidth. i suppose u mean YOUR bandwidth,which is unlikely unless u r using dial-up.”..allastra

This bandwidth is not the frequency bandwidth that you are thinking about. Ask those with websites hosted by a third party what is meant by bandwidth.
    At least if you keep quiet, people would think you are smart.
    Don’t for a moment think that I am commenting here on space and scientific research without a proper background, and I have taught thousands of kids like you.

5. #5 by pjboy on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:16 am

Russia charged RM 100million for a rocket taxi ride to space. America charges RM 66million (USD 20million) for a space shuttle ride to space. We save RM 34million if go as tourist via USA space shuttle. Would rather opt for space shuttle. The RM 34million saved could have gone to build 2-3 new schools or upgrade schools.

The space programs of USA-EC-Russia go beyond just sending man to space for ego purposes. A lot of inventions – especially in the field of advance electronics, physical chemistry, chemical biology & material science were all part of the package.

Many of the products that has changed the human lifestyle in the past 20-30 years has been the result of creating/deriving from products for the space programs. This has been taken for granted as we can purchase it conveniently. Prior to that (JFK time) it was a simple send a man to moon first objective – that was for ego 1st.

So, anyway, $ spent but also $ gain (also patents for the inventions) from the advance industries that the USA-EC-Russia has forged since. What is our part in this – economically – & for what sort of technological gains will be the result of this space program of ours? How will it benefit the Malaysian people? Until we answer all of these basic questions satisfactorily, only then it can only justify the need to send a Malaysian to space. I am not against nor in favour of it but the $ spent must have some economical return, like any other investment. That’s what the other space programs are about. From where we stand now, it’s just tax-$ spent, & nothing gained – except for political ego to provide cheap thrill to all the rural folks who probably do not understand the purpose in the 1st place. Perhaps, it was accounted for say 5million people; so, RM 100million spent / 5million = RM 20 per person. Eh, murah saja kan?

Even China admitted spending 50 years in developing their own space program due to the “limited” resources when they started off. So, to have a full fledge so called space program, for any country, what are the basic foundations that our gov has laid & how will they plan to realise the space program into something that is just simply sending a man to space for the sake of publicity? It’s “cheap” publicity to send a man to space for RM 100million to impress the developing nations. Will our national budget able to sustain such a program consistently for follow ups? Will only 1-trip to space able to conclude what we want to study? That would be a world record, not just Malaysian record.

Btw, does SMS have nothing else to wear?

6. #6 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:09 am

Dear pjboy wellsaid.

I would said the BN government decision to send man to space is based on political ego. That doesn’t help them to win back 5 states from the opposition and their reputation after been rejected by Perlis Sultan & Terengganu Agong on MB appointment.

The so called coupon to space from Russia is not free, it is merely a “sham” or “cheat”, it cost millionth ringgit from hardworking rakyat. Our parents work so hard to build Malaysia, paying all the taxes and service charges to the govt. but what govt. in return give back? a man to advertise for Proton?

7. #7 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:46 am

“A lot of inventions – especially in the field of advance electronics, physical chemistry, chemical biology & material science were all part of the package.” – pjboy

I agree wholeheartedly that massive research programs such as those carried out by NASA have tremendous economic and scientific benefits. Even when NASA’s contractor made a huge mistake with the primary mirror of the Hubble Space Telescope, and NASA ended up spending hundreds of millions $ fixing it, the technology that NASA developed along the way to correct the blur images, has been used in enhancing medical diagnostic imaging in hospitals.

That is why, in the Malaysian case, I do not advocate criticising the science, as being done by this article and the comments here. Instead, the issue should be whether the money has been well-spent; whether such venture has been cost-effective, or whether more could have been achieved for such money; as well as whether there are cheaper alternative ways to get involved in space research.
    The problem here is that this space research is only a secondary objective with the primary objective being the prestige of sending a Malaysian into space. That is a public relation exercise that Malaysia can do without considering the cost involved.
    I believe that there is a need to support scientific research in Malaysia but in a more efficient manner.
    There are always economic benefits if you spend the money in the country. For instance, the huge R&D budgets of NASA and the US Defense Dept help support the US economy and provide scientific and technological benefits in the US.
    Unfortunately the money in this Malaysian space venture went to Russia, and therefore not much effect will be felt in Malaysia, other than a boost to the “Malaysia Boleh” spirit.
    Malaysians always criticise the govt for not doing enough for university research. To criticise the scientific efforts in this case is missing the target.
    If Opposition MPs want to “hentam” the Malaysian Angkasawan mission, at least make sure you have the right target and not just criticise everything about the mission, including making fun about the scientific efforts or belittling its significance.

8. #8 by KKK on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 12:44 pm

Who am I to criticize Angkasawan Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor when I am a nobody? He is a doctor and I am not. All I wanted to know is, are there better use of that large sum of money for the benefit of Malaysian? And for the life of me, I couldn’t find any answer to that.

9. #9 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 2:01 pm

If Pak Lah is a good leader who u think is YB LGE or YB LKS or Karpal Singth, becos he’s a perdana menteri and the opposition leaders are nobody or just opposition leader?

All i wanted to tell Sheik Muzaphar, don’t be so action, he should refuse advertisement, becos there’s nothing grand to be a space traveller, he has accomplished just waste the “rakyat money” and stop posing as model for Proton if Proton is a good car, sure ppl will buy it too bad too many cronies company within Proton. Why support local car (cronies car) by posing as advertisement models?

10. #10 by Earshot on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 2:20 pm

Many of the comments in this thread which appear to be belittling the Angkasawan project were made, I believe, more to highlight and the criticize UMNO’s over-zealous pursuit to exploit the publicity generated by the project. Sometimes though the comments went a bit too far and awry as to ‘hit’ the man (angkasawan) himself or even mock Science, which for most parts I believe were not the main intention.

However, it is valid to question the value and priority of such a project relative to the many other pressing needs of the country. Does a success in this endeavour put this country in any better position in terms of delivering better education to its citizens or contributing to advancement of medical facilities? On the other hand, would a non-participation make this country or make it to be perceived as any less developed?

Malaysians have come to appreciate the spotlight the country had earned through the many ego-flating projects like ‘tallest building’, ‘largest flag’ and ‘longest this and that’. But how many did question ‘At what price?’ And when the transient fame had slipped to the dark recesses of the world’s 6.6 billion cerebrum, did the country forge ahead on the back of these credentials?

Hopefully, this thinly veiled boosting of the ego of one man or of one party is something which Malaysians are now beginning to be reasonably skeptical about.

11. #11 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:51 pm

Earshot, that guy “Muzaphar” is a surgeon not a qualified scientist to perform qualified test in the space. Like that even full time butcher can be pilot flying for MAS as long as there is corporate sponsor why not, just need to grant him a license to fly, dream come true. He can also become an astronaut carrying scientific research in space jus by buying “Dummy for Quick Space Scientific” learn it in a week or two. We don’t need genius anymore, jus find some handsome man in a talent search and send him to space carrying out space research.

Like that also can? Malaysia boleh? what’s wrong to criticize? give me 10 reason why we need Angkasawan project, not project to improve flood, project to improve quality of the Indian, project to improve religion praying place, project to lower the fuel prices, project to reduce all the tolls, project for govt to build schools for all races not only Malay.

12. #12 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:56 pm

Before space, go for something relevant in Malaysian life, the money is from Malaysian why Malaysian don’t get a single cents? instead those ppl spending billionth (subs & jet) then millionth (in the form of Malaysian in space). The whole world is laughing Malaysian beat skin face to pretend fat. All educated Malaysian in Malaysia or Overseas will agreed that such an idea is a wastage and it makes them looks faked at the expense of Rakyat. If I’m the prime minister to approve such project, I will give the guy who proposed such deal a smack in the face, ask him go look at the Malaysian living on the street, go look at the Proton car which is so expensive.

13. #13 by bra888 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:39 pm

Tim Sng

I’ll tell you why not:
    1) What did we do to achieve this?
    Answer: Use the peoples’ money (That means your money as well as ours)

2) How much did it cost us?
    Answer: Only around RM90 million plus

3) What requirements have we met in order to achieve this?
    Answer: Enough money to burn and a moron

4) What sacrifice did we make to achieve this?
    Answer: See answer 2. Not to mention that the money can be put to better use.

5) How do we benefit from it?
    Answer: Studies done by a moron.

6) What effort did we take to achieve this?
    Answer: Well, we don’t have a spaceship launchpad, a REAL astronaut who pilots the ship, a Malaysian made spaceship, a rocket scientist, an astronaut training facility, all sort of high tech equipment, we still can’t manufacture those high tech equipment, mathematicians, observatory, highly durable electronics, and so on.

7) Is this a good investment for our country?
    Answer: Good investment, yes, but certainly not for OUR country. It’s more like for the US and Russia. The amount of money spent divided to the amount of time in space, you do the math. A good investment would be long lasting and would bring technological advancement that will allow us to launch our own people with our own spaceship.

8) How long will it take to get the same amount of money to do this again?
    Well, you try earning RM90million first then you tell me. At the same time, tell me how ‘easy’ it is to earn that amount of money with your own sweat and blood. Spending that amount of money is so easy when it is NOT the money that you earn so hard. This is apparently what’s happening in this issue.

In conclusion, we haven’t produce a single sweat to achieve such advancement. All we have is money, taken by other country. Don’t dream for a space programme without appreciating the complexity of what NASA has achieve.

One cannot be so naive to think that we can boast for every achievement that can be bought by money. If we boast about this moron (the space tourist), we’re just ‘bodoh sombong’.

14. #14 by pjboy on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:22 am

It takes 2 hands to clap. SMS took the offer made to him by we know who. He knew he would be getting a lot of publicity, etc for this stint. If he doesn’t, man, we sent the wrong guy. If not wrong, a restaurant in Bangsar, which he apparently co-owns, made a big thing out of it. The other party just want to justify buying the sub & super jets. So, are we really going to use the subs to hunt down the pirates over at Malacca Straits? Hope the pirates don’t steal the sub instead :D. Then it will be another excuse to buy more subs to hunt down the subs we bought earlier!!!

If SMS knew consciencely that millions of ringgit will be burnt just like that, instead of going back to the nation or to the poor people who don’t even have proper toilet, he should have stepped-down. That would have made him a bigger hero than just being shot up the ass to space.

Question is…do we have a space science center or course in any of the local uni? For the RM 100million spent, how much can we expect to gain in terms of monetary & technological aspects in the longer term. Can we truly sustain another “boleh” space program?

Btw, doesn’t NASA have anti-gravity technology like that used for simulation training for their astronauts? How different is that to conducting any R&D in the same environment???

I guess what everyone here is trying to say is, what the heck is wrong with our gov? What’s the purpose of sending this guy to space?

15. #15 by allasstra on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 4:16 am

hahaha,geezer……geezer….

“This bandwidth is not the frequency bandwidth that you are thinking about. Ask those with websites hosted by a third party what is meant by bandwidth.”
    —which part did i mention anything about frequency ? and form what premise[s] did u arrive on the conclusion that BANDWIDTH=FREQUENCY.

“Don’t for a moment think that I am commenting here on space and scientific research without a proper background, and I have taught thousands of kids like you.”
    —I hav worked with NASA’s jet propulsion lab for almost 5 years,before that i worked 3 years in us DOD biological arms research…..but,please,dont ask me to prove them….lol!

btw,u still havnt show us any plausible evidence that this “sainstifik” venture is usefull to the sciencetific community,…local or foreign…..that u belived so badly……thereby,u remain just a silly proponent until proven to be otherwise.

i bet u didnt even know what was the actual experiment he carried out onboard iss anyway,otherwise u’wd shove them in my face oredy. go back to sleep old man.

16. #16 by Old Geezer on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 10:31 am

“Sometimes though the comments went a bit too far and awry as to ‘hit’ the man (angkasawan) himself or even mock Science,”..Earshot

I agree with what you and the others said about setting priorities, etc., and cheaper alternative ways.

“I hav worked with NASA’s jet propulsion lab for almost 5 years,before that i worked 3 years in us DOD biological arms research…..but,please,dont ask me to prove them….lol!”..allastra

If you are working at JPL, why didn’t you point out the mistake that this Lee Wei Lim said, associating vacuum chamber and gravity?
    You claim to work in US DoD biological arms research? If I know which DoD agency or lab (DARPA, ARL, NRL, AFRL ?) maybe I should send your comment to the lab director or the Inspector General about somebody boasting to have worked on biological arms (supposedly classified research?) in a public blog.

17. #17 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:28 pm

Don’t forget ppl are angry and called the angkasawan moron. The first Malaysian to deny Malaysian a better Malaysia RM 100 millions.

If i see this angkasawan i will spit on his feet. God will punish his family, already did. A wise leader should use that RM 100 millions ease KL floods & congestions, many ppl. will benefit from it, rather than nothing. It is a sin to steal, in this case “the angkasawan” is a sin therefore need to be punished. To gain fame & power he can also pose for Proton Advertisement & claimed he’s doing a research in space. Malaysia Tipu Boleh.

18. #18 by cskok8 on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 11:25 am

Lets be very clear about something, he is NOT an orthopaedic surgeon. He is still a trainee at HUKM.

19. #19 by allasstra on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 1:46 pm

quote : old man geezer:

“I hav worked with NASA’s jet propulsion lab for almost 5 years,before that i worked 3 years in us DOD biological arms research…..but,please,dont ask me to prove them….lol!”..allastra

then u said:
    If you are working at JPL, why didn’t you point out the mistake that this Lee Wei Lim said, associating vacuum chamber and gravity?
    You claim to work in US DoD biological arms research? If I know which DoD agency or lab (DARPA, ARL, NRL, AFRL ?) maybe I should send your comment to the lab director or the Inspector General about somebody boasting to have worked on biological arms (supposedly classified research?) in a public blog.”

—LMAO;…thank you for participating….
    i hav design this question to trick u into saying/asking these thing just to prove my point to all…….

normally a person who possess an :
    [a] intact reasoning skills,
    [b] a good and sensible thinking,and
    [c] moderate critical thinking

would ask these questions when confronted with this kind of extrodinary claims;
    [1] laugh out loud.
    [2] challenge the claim and ask for prof
    [3] saying that unless prof is attached,it’s just full b.s.
    [4] followed by ridicule,and sarcastic comments

however instead of that,u did the followings :
    [i] make belive my extravagant claim
    [ii] asked me to elaborate on my *obviously* fake story;i.e asking which dept i’m with darpa,arl,nfl etc…etc
    [iii] wanted to take action based on my fake story;i.e imforming my lab director,hahaha

therefor it is imperative upon me to arrive at this conclusions based upon these premises;
    —u’ud belive anything that is displayed on your blinking screen(assuming that u r still using c.r.t. monitor)
    —belive anyone’s claim,nomatter how ridiculous it may sound,b’cos of your “ooohh,i saw it on the web/tv,it must be true” philosophy.
    —still churning empty b.s even tho u dont know what there are,especially when u said “maybe I should send your comment to the lab director or the Inspector General about somebody boasting to have worked on biological arms” question: do u kno who they are,and how to contact them,these so called lab director/inspector general[lol],
    are u even sure who’s in charge of these agencies ? bwhahahahahahah !

there….there…i rest my case………

p/s: assuming i’m an idiot like u,so i tagged along with ur silly claims.so i ask:

“how can u report to someone about someone boasting being apart of something that’s not suppose to have existed ?

sleep well tonite,old man,

20. #20 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 April 2008 - 3:46 pm

The so-called astronaut Dr SMS will never be able to do this, despite paying RM120 million
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/mni/images/space/space_start.jpg

21. #21 by lakilompat on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:03 am

Dr. SMS is jus a space tourist at expense of Rakyat.

22. #22 by Old Geezer on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 2:55 pm

“sleep well tonite,old man,”..allasstra

allasstra, you don’t even know who I am and yet, without any provocation, you have the guts to tell me rudely in your previous postings “go to sleep oldman” or “sleep well tonite, old man”.

allasstra, I don’t understand why you were so against my postings clarifying that this Dr. Lee Wei Lim has made comments based on wrong scientific principles.
    For instance, anybody with basic physics knowledge would have known that vacuum has nothing to do with gravity. I have to rebut her comments, otherwise the misconceptions will fester in the minds of readers here and make a mockery of all of us in the eyes of the world.

You claimed to have worked at JPL and DoD biological arms research. Normally, I do not question comments by others because forum like this is supposed to be where people exchanged useful information and to give constructive opinions and criticisms politely. I took your comments at face value because I did not realise there are kids like you who enjoyed posting “fake” claims.

I had a feeling those were fake claims because your previous comments (which I will analyse in detail in my next comment, if necessary) show that you have no technical background.

You need to be a US citizen to do classified work in the US. If you had indeed worked on classified biological arms research, by boasting on a public blog, you stand to lose your security clearance, once they know who you are.

Doing classified work is lucrative and the disadvantage is that you cannot publish or even mention it. But that is a sacrifice that many people would make because of the job security. When you claimed that you moved to JPL, it did not make sense because why would you need to move since JPL doesn’t do biological arms research?

From your previous posting, I guess you are a Chinese who can speak Hokkien or Teochiew. When you first came to this blog after the recent election in Malaysia, in your first posting, you complained about having to register in order to comment, and then you complained about all the fuss about the recent election. That lack of interest and not understanding the historic significance of the outcome of the recent election indicate that probably you are a Singaporean. That may explain why you are so against the Malaysian Angakasawan program.

So, how many naturalised US citizens of either Malaysia or Singaporean Chinese descent would be working in the DoD classified biological arms program? It wouldn’t take them long to find you out and their job would be easier if they know which lab or agency.

Foreigners working in the US are always upset when foreign-born scientists/engineers are accused of espionage because they betrayed the trusts of the employers and give foreign-born scientists and engineers in the US govt service a bad name. That is why I was upset when you claimed that you worked in biological arms research. Maybe to you that is funny, but to those people who have to depend on those government jobs to provide for their families, it is not funny.

You even rudely grade a comment from one poster here as “B” when there was nothing wrong with his/her comment.

You don’t even know who I am and yet, without any provocation, you have the guts to tell me rudely “go to sleep oldman” or “sleep well tonite, old man”.

Well, young man/girl, if you are not a kid, then I think it is time you grow up.

23. #23 by Old Geezer on Sunday, 13 April 2008 - 10:50 am

Need to clarify some scientific points here:

“INTERNET has an unlimited bandwidth.” – allasstra March 31st, 2008 at 15: 55.43

That is wrong. Internet has a limited bandwidth.
    As far as I know the fastest data transmission speed is 3.2 terabits per second (trillion bits per second) over a 1000 km optical fiber demonstrated by Agere. That would be the current upper limit to the internet bandwidth even if you have a dedicated fiber optic line all to yourself. Since data transmission is through light modulation using switching of solid-state lasers and LEDs, there is always a physical limitation. I cannot think of a physical mechanism that can give infinite switching rate, which means there is always a finite bandwidth.

“and form what premise[s] did u arrive on the conclusion that BANDWIDTH=FREQUENCY. ‘ – allasstra April 2nd, 2008 at 04: 16.00

Another definition of bandwidth is a range, or band, of frequencies. Any 1st year student in science or engineering who have gone through a course in basic electronics would have known that.

“—u’ud belive anything that is displayed on your blinking screen(assuming that u r still using c.r.t. monitor)” – allasstra April 3rd, 2008 at 13: 46.28

Obviously does not understand how display monitor works. That blinking effect is due to refreshing cycle and all display monitors use refreshing cycles whether they are flat screen LCD monitors or CRT monitors.

“sleep well tonite,old man,” – allasstra April 3rd, 2008 at 13: 46.28
    “go back to sleep old man.” – allasstra April 2nd, 2008 at 04: 16.00

Probably this young person did not realise that this blog, that gave him/her the chance to spew his/her nonsense and rudeness to an old man, was provided for by an old man.

24. #24 by allasstra on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:47 am

ohhh,….wow,….you are still here,….i’ve start to miss u aredy….good to hear u alive[having in mind that u are old] and well again.

==============================

old geezer, i know who u are alright,…yes sir..i kno…

and due to the fact that i’m very free to-day, i will try to answer your question point by point,and by the grace of God,you might understand them this time and use them for your self reflection…for your own good.

it appears to me that,you had a very limited comprehension capability,so, i will try to make this as clear and as simple as i could,

here it goes…..PART 1- PERCEIVED OFFENCE.
    ——————————————————-
    DIALOGUE BEGINS…[in Dolby(TM) surround on selected PCs]

GEEZER : allasstra, you don’t even know who I am and yet, without any provocation, you have the guts to tell me rudely in your previous postings “go to sleep oldman” or “sleep well tonite, old man”.

ME : i sincerely dont know in what ways does the phrase “go to sleep/sleep well tonite old man” constitute impoliteness. u call urself “OLD GEEZER”

OLD———u called yourself that.
    GEEZER—–the term “geezer” (pronounced as guy-zer) is a british slang for MAN, as confirmed by wikipedia and merriam-webster dictionary for viewers who didnt know already. and assuming that u didnt know what the term GEEZER means when u choose your user name,the use of letter “G” & “Z” denotes masculinity,implying that u are a MAN.

based on these two premises alone,it is YOU,..who wanted yourself to be known as an OLD MAN. and in fact,u begged to be known as an old man. i am merely following your wish to be recognised as an old man….and calling u that.

SLEEP WELL/GO TO SLEEP—in all society around the world,these phrases denotes caring and affection, and i really did not understand why you would be offended by such a phrase….they are not even obscenities !

can you say doctors insult thier clients by suggesting them to get some sleep ?
    or children telling thier parents to sleep well is an insult ? HA AH HA

——————————————————-
    part II—YOUR TRESSPASS !

YOU ASKED :
    “allasstra, you don’t even know who I am and yet, without any provocation, you have the guts to tell me rudely…”

YOU provocked me alright, and i will list them here,in reversed order…(begining with most severe to the lease)

you said on March 31st, 2008 :

“Wow, what intelligent comments from allasstra”
    —exclaimation + compliment = sarcasm !

yes! it is YOU who had provocked me in the 1st place,and mocking an extremely intelligent being with an IQ of 170 such as myself(i have anecdotal evidence to support that) constitute a very grave tresspass on the land of BLOG !
    therefore,i am compelled to respond in kind….with a tenacity and viciousness never seen before in the blogsphere [now it starts to sound funny when i put it in that way-lol]

=============================
    your claim on March 30th, 2008 :

“The first issue is whether the scientific experiments have merit. As a scientist, I believe that the scientific experiments, as reported by the media, appear to have merit.”

—your gullibility and your appearent lack of critical thinking and your naive belief that this “experiment” has value based on media alone without scientific papers/reports agonizes me. much more so when u claimed to be a “scientist”,
    and at the same you didnt even kno what the experiment are !!! arghhhhhrghhhhhh…..

============================
    and then u said:

“I do feel uneasy reading Lee Wei Lim’s comments because they reveal the person’s lack of understanding on space research. That is not surprising because that person is just a research assistant according to the Univ of Maastricht’s Department of Psychiatry & Neuropsychology website (as of Jan 2008).”

—if he’s not qualified to comment based on that premise alone, then you too,sir, are not qualified to comment anything based on your *appearent* lack of understanding of science in general,…not to mention your TOTAL lack of credentials[who on the blue earth are u anyway], and on top of that, your fatally flawed sense of logic,reasoning and critical thinking. it amazed me that you could survive this long despite living with these fatal and critical shortcomings….

you also had said:

“To put it in another way, if the govt spent RM10 billions to import exquisite materials from all corners of the world to build a landmark building or an architectural marvel to house a hospital, you don’t criticise the benefits of the hospital providing much needed medical services because those benefits are indisputable.”

—and due to your obviously flawed logic engine,you had came up with the lamest and the most incorherent,ir-reconcilable analogy, and it causes me such a great pain just by reading it…and it makes me hate you even more…

============================
    as if there hasnt been enough of tardness already out here,you proceed to tell me on April 13th, 2008 :

“Need to clarify some scientific points here:

“INTERNET has an unlimited bandwidth.” – allasstra March 31st, 2008 at 15: 55.43

That is wrong. Internet has a limited bandwidth.
    As far as I know the fastest data transmission speed is 3.2 terabits per second (trillion bits per second) over a 1000 km optical fiber demonstrated by Agere. That would be the current upper limit to the internet bandwidth even if you have a dedicated fiber optic line all to yourself. Since data transmission is through light modulation using switching of solid-state lasers and LEDs, there is always a physical limitation. I cannot think of a physical mechanism that can give infinite switching rate, which means there is always a finite bandwidth.”

—omg,…omg…i didnt even know how to put this,rofl,…look,…when we talk about internet,and sending and receiving blog comments such as this,bandwidth normally refers to TRANSFER RATE, which are normally expressed in kilo-bit-per-second or for those who have big pipe,mega-bit-per-second. and when you said [INTERNET BANDWIDTH],it refers to the line bandwidth of all users in the whole wide world,why ? becos INTERNET is made up of millions upon millions computers linked by a network called “the internet”.

and as u had said,the fastest line available today is 3.2tbps between ONE single computer to the isp,then when there are 10 users with 3.2tbps line connected together,there will be 32tpbs of potential data flowing around already….

considering an average of 10kbps per computer that has internet connection,and multiply them by a zillion,the total bandwidth for INTERNET is infinitly huge….beyond the ablity of human to comprehend…far less than being able to count…
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    SECOND FLAW: as you said,you had based your assumption that the internet bandwidth is limited due to the fact that the fastest line exist TODAY is 3.2tpbs. however,you had failed to take into consideration of one very important factor…TOMMOROW. due to the seemingly infinite numbers of tommorow,and the infinite numbers of possible innovation, the 3.2tbps limit achieved today will continue to be breached tommorow,and the struggle for an even faster and bigger pipe will continue till the end of humanity. so,in a sense, the INTERNET BANDWIDTH is unlimited. no matter how u want to cut it,it’s an inalienable truth that internet bandwidth is unlimited…

u then proclaimed:

“Another definition of bandwidth is a range, or band, of frequencies. Any 1st year student in science or engineering who have gone through a course in basic electronics would have known that.”

but before that u said:

“I am not going to waste internet bandwidth by giving point by point responses.”

—to put both your comment side by side it’s very obvious that your counter arguement were very much out of context,wouldnt it ? are u in anyway;senile ??

and most funny of all,u react by saying:

“You even rudely grade a comment from one poster here as “B” when there was nothing wrong with his/her comment.”

—when i tell bringit6:

“and bringit6,the link u provided,

http://science.nasa.gov/msl1/pcg_why.htm

is great,owesome[sic],but it was “last updated on 1997-gave u a ‘B’ for effort tho….;-)”

—had u read carefully what i’ad said, you will notice that I GAVE HIM A [B] FOR HIS EFFORT,and *not* for what he had commented. yeah,sure there’s nothing wrong with his comment,cos he didnt comment at all,he just provided a outdated link,and for that,…i gave him a [B]….

us surgeon generals advice: old man should get at lease 8 hours of sleep per day. :D
    ——————————————————
    p/s: there’s more to come,but i’m tired already….stay tuned…

i wish u well,old man…

25. #25 by allasstra on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:14 pm

edit : the link above should have been:

http://www.generalcadd.com/pdf/Eyestrain-LCDvsCRT.pdf

my bad.

26. #26 by allasstra on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:29 pm

the missing part that was deleted by admin….:

ALLASSTRA—THE SECOND MOCKING
    PART 3—the POWER,the GLORY,and the ELDERY
    and u mocked me by saying:

“Obviously does not understand how display monitor works. That blinking effect is due to refreshing cycle and all display monitors use refreshing cycles whether they are flat screen LCD monitors or CRT monitors. ”

—assuming that i do not know how they works,i do,however have some far more sensitive eyesight and hearing to commensurate with my extremely hi intelligence level. and these qualities makes me an exellent observer.

and i will be generous here,and tell u the obvious difference between a crt and a lcd display panels.

first,switch on your tv. now stand directly infront of it approximately 5ft away. then,look 45 degree away from it till u are seeing the tv in the corner of your eyes. if you have an average eyesight,you will now notice that the tv’s kind of flickering in the corner of your eyes.

step 2,…repeat this on crt. you will also notice the flickering effect.

step 3,…repeat 1st step on lcd,now what do u see ? come-on,be honest with your self….yessss…
    no flickering.

however if u had a poor eyesight, those steps could also be repeated with a normal digital camera….just look thru the digital camera and you will see that there’s absolutely
    no flickering on the lcd….while black lines appears on the crts…
    ok,lets get technical:

a crt maintains it’s brightness by beaming a electron ray(cathod ray i assume) on the inner side of the crt tube. the phosphor coating on the inner tube of the crt will gives off light when struck by the the electron beam,much like a florocent light tube,just much more colorful. the electron beam will travel from one end, lets say the upper left end corner to the other end conner,the lower right corner,and by the time the beam hits the lower right corner, the light at the upper left corner begins to fade already,and this gives the flickering effect…..

lcd,on the other hand…is backlighted by a bunch of leds that never turns off (unless u turn them off), and only change color by switching the amount of certain light that pass thru each individual pixel….and that’s why lcd panels are measured in gray-to-gray respons times rather than refresh rate(hertzs). they does *not* flickers.

technical details available at:

http://www.generalcadd.com/pdf/Eyestrain-LCDvsCRT.pdf
    conclusions:

[1] u are still using a crt monitor.
    [2] u are still talking about stuff u didnt know
    [3] u still thinks all u thinks *is the truth*
    [4] your wisdom grows in reverse propotion in
    relation to your age.
    [5] u really need alot of sleeps.
    [6] if u are a “scientist”, then you must be
    involved in the branch of “science” where
    cause and effect doesnt apply…
    [7] u still try to impose an impending aura of
    wisdom by making it clear to every one
    that you are old, in hope of getting a higher
    respect by default,maybe to compensate
    the lack of respect/wisdom in your real life,
    however,it didnt worked out as u’ud hoped.
    [8] u likes to keep me entertained…
    every thing aside, i must say i respect u,i really
    do, and we can really be very good friends and
    hanging out in the cafes and chat away all day,..
    but u made some horrible mistake,and it’s my
    responsibility to mock u to fullest extent as
    best as i can,….that’s just the way it is….

to be continued…

27. #27 by Keinsafan Rakyat on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 2:11 pm

http://mmc.gov.my/v1/searchmmc/main_search.php?action=detail&id=3898

As seen in the above URL, Dr SHEIKH MUSZAPHAR SHUKOR’s Annual Practicing Certificate lapsed in 2003. But since he hasn’t seen any patients since 2002, so it is not an issue.

He is not an orthopaedic surgeon, instead he is just a trainee in the masters programme for orthopaedics.

He hasn’t return to continue the masters programme upon the end of the Angkasawan programme. Hopefully he will return next semester.

The studies conducted at the International Space Station by him was planned by molecular biologists and scientists from UMBI UKM and UiTM. He was briefed on what to do while at the space station and he performed the experiments as expected of him. He may not fully understand what he did, but those who prepared the studies for him understand them very well indeed. Ask the scientists instead. Whether such researchs are beneficial to our country or not, judge them later once the papers are published.

We should not mock Sheikh Muszafar. He is just somebody who was selected to represent our country for the space programme. If not him, who else should’ve gone? Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad? Lim Kit Siang? Lim Guan Eng? Whoever was chosen, there would always be someone who disagrees with the selection.

Personally I believe that we shouldn’t have paid the Russian millions just to send a Malaysian into space. The money would’ve been better spent elsewhere in our own country.

We don’t even have enough secondary schools even in Subang, let alone Sabah and Sarawak. My own children have to travel 20km since the nearest secondary school is overloaded with students. The land nearby, where the secondary school is supposed to be built is going to be a shopping mall!

BN seems to have their priority wrong. But we also seem to have our priority wrong. Instead of attacking Sheikh Muszafar for the studies that he did (or did not) at the space station, we should be attacking Najib & Co. for wasting OUR MONEY!

28. #28 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 2:36 pm

Today is already April 21st, I don’t think they can manage to cook something from lies.