Public inquiry into several billions of ringgit of Wang Ehsan “black gold” expenditures in Terengganu

The constitutional crisis in Terengganu over the appointment of Datuk Ahmad Said as the new Mentri Besar has come to an end with the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi backing off from his original nominee of the former Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh.

As a result, the front-page article of former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad in The Sun on “Role of rulers in picking mentri besar” has been overtaken by events.

However, Mahathir’s views on two ongoing controversies – Wang Ehsan and the judicial crisis – are very pertinent.

On the Wang Ehsan issue, Mahathir wrote:

Terengganu is blessed with petroleum deposits. It should get 5% of the total earning from oil production. The Federal Government; fearing the previous PAS government might use this money wrongly had withheld payment.

But when the Barisan Nasional (BN) regained Terengganu the money, now called “Wang Ehsan”, was lavishly spent by the Federal Government on Terengganu. It is not a small sum. Over these years “Wang Ehsan” totalled several billion.

We know that since the BN regained Terengganu in 2004, all kinds of projects have been developed in Terengganu. This includes The Monsoon Cup, luxury housing for sale to foreigners, Crystal Mosque and theme park, university, etc. Some of these projects are very good but many are totally unnecessary and wasteful.

But what the Terengganu people are saying is that all these mega projects costing billions of Ringgit have been contracted out to people outside Terengganu. Terengganu contractors got practically nothing.

But additionally, they say the contracts all went to one person and they are suspicious that behind this person are members of the first family.The rumours also say that the previous Mentri Besar was responsible for these things happening and of course, they think that he might have benefited financially.

The rumours went on to say that the Prime Minister might have influenced the Mentri Besar into doing wrong things. These are all rumours. It will be quite impossible to prove anything as the perpetrators are skilled in hiding themselves.

This is not good for a Government keen to abolish corruption and be transparent. To clear its name, an investigation should be made.

With former Prime Minister Mahathir coming round to the view that there should be an investigation into the expenditures of Wang Ehsan, Abdullah should take up the challenge to institute a public inquiry on accountability and integrity of expenditures of several billions of ringgit of “black gold” through Wang Ehsan in Terengganu in the past seven years since 2000.

In his article, Mahathir also denied any fault, culpability or responsibility for the two-decade crisis of confidence in the judiciary, particularly the 1988 “mother” of judicial crisis which saw the arbitrary and unconstitutional sacking of Tun Salleh Abas as Lord President and Datuk George Seah and the late Tan Sri Wan Suleiman Pawanteh as Supreme Court judges, as well as the suspension of three other Supreme Court judges.

This is what Mahathir wrote:

Even other accusations against me, including the dismissal of judges, were not my doing and I do not feel obliged to apologise. Ask the Tribunal to apologise.

The person asking that the Government should apologise for what happened to Tun Salleh Abbas may have forgotten that as President of the Muslim Lawyers Association, he fully supported the action that was taken. He castigated the Bar Council for condemning Tun Hamid Omar over the dismissal of judges. Now he wants to be more correct than correct. I wonder why.

If Mahathir could suggest an inquiry into the investigation into the expenditures of several billions of ringgit on Wang Ehsan in Terengganu, he should also support a public investigation into the two-decade crisis of confidence in the judiciary, starting with the “mother of judicial crisis” in 1988.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Menang atau mati on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 8:02 pm

1. alistaire Says:
    Today at 18: 48.25 (1 hour ago)
    “Malays do come here and read this and other DAP blogs dont they? And so far what they see is not encouraging.”

Dear Alistair,
    What is not so encouraging here when Malays come here to view the blog?

Are there any racist view here expressed by DAP and its leaders?

From what I read here,views expressed here by DAP and its leaders are almost without fail concerning issues that are for the good of all Malaysians and for nation building.

So, even the BN/UMNO propanganda has got on to you?

2. #2 by alistaire on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 9:09 pm

Menang atau mati, you read into my lines deducing things I never even said nor mean to say.

I did not say DAP was racist, only that what they did and continue to do is not encouraging. There is a difference, for those who know how to find it.

No doubt what YB LKS and ors from the DAP say what are good for nation, but then the approach used is different. Issues can be approached from different angles or POVs. The way DAP leaders look at things is not shared by the vast majority of Malays. This is fact, not merely an opinion. DAP has to realise this and adjust themselves accordingly if they want to attract more Malay support. They can start with less “No Islamic State” slogans for one.

And just because one expresses views not in keeping with DAP’s, does not mean one is a supporter of BN. Surely we should be rid of this with-me-or-against-me mentality by now?

The vast majority of voters are not die hard supporters of either BN or BR, but just want to see what both have on offer. It is true that the EXCO wranglings in the Opposition states do not argur well for the view that we are past race-based politics.

At this rate, perhaps it would be better to support the newly emerging parties, such as Parti Mahasiswa Negara (PMN, http://www.partimahasiswa.com). At least they seem committed to the New Politics.

3. #3 by cucu adam on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 10:26 pm

It is sickening for Dr. Mathair who had the power to do what he is of accusing Ahmad Badawi on this wealth generated from the black gold in Trengganu, which according to him explained why Idris was preferred to be the Menteri Besar of Trengganu. Now that Ahmad Said had now been accepted to be MB, it will take until the next election and only if the lose coalition of PAS-PKR-DAP win most of the state seats to form the next Trengganu goverment.

Until such a time the revenue derives from the black gold in Trengganu will never be known, as the accounts are not tabled in Parliament. Trengganu which is still under UMNO/BN will continue to benefit under Wang Ehsan as the distribution will be the perrogative of the Federal Government.

Mathair should take the blame for this, as converting the 5% Royalty to Wang Ehsan took place during his time. Is he saying that during his rule he was more transparent. We all know the sick and stupid jokes he expect us to believe. This is the problem with people like Mathair who feels that he made no mistakes, but will go at length to highlight other people mistakes, in this respect Ahmad Badawi, who was handpicked by him. It is of no purpose to say at this juncture that he regretted picking up Ahmad as his successor as the damages are taking place. The only favour that Mathair had made is his contribution in picking up a wrong person in the name of Ahmad Badawi, that the resulted in the recent election results favouring the Opposition.

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 10:49 pm

This being a unique political blog and one led by a senior politician known to all as the leader of the opposition in the country’s highest legislative body, readers would agree that comments should as far as possible be limited to issues which are affecting our country presently in the throes of political socio-economic change the scale of which we have never seen before – humor and friendly banter included and less than friendly but relevant exchanges excepted.

It may at times be visited and read by readers of different political leanings, strains and beliefs who are just as passionate in their views, and sparks may fly in the face of the exchange. Occasionally, we have visitors who visit this blog solely to provoke and mock regular readers of this blog with their personal views. However, obnoxious these characters may appear to be, it is important that we understand that while we look forward to reading comments made by those who share our views, we would be making a mockery of the freedom of speech if we limit the same to those who do not.

Then we may get a regular contributor who behaves like the typical school headmaster taking to task or chiding his students who to him have the audacity to challenge him and his views on the issues as if he alone has the monopoly to the truth. Should we fault readers who choose to show their annoyance? That too is freedom of speech.

When such exchanges get out control and the parties resort to ‘un-civil’ behavior to solve civil issues, the moderator is placed in the unenviable position of having to do what he or she is supposed to do i.e. moderate. But you can only moderate views and not behavior.

Factor into the equation the fact that there are serving politicians who would not hesitate to quote postings by his supporters made on this blog in order to ridicule the leader of the opposition, then the challenges represented by the use of unfettered free speech unrestrained by the norms of civil behavior, take on a certain urgency which can only be resolved by the administrator having to resort to blocking the IP address of those who persist in this less than civil behavior to preserve the integrity of this blog.

My 2-cents.

5. #5 by Menang atau mati on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 1:42 am

alistaire Says:

Yesterday at 21: 09.49
    Menang atau mati, you read into my lines deducing things I never even said nor mean to say.

I did not say DAP was racist, only that what they did and continue to do is not encouraging. There is a difference, for those who know how to find it.

Dear Alistaire,

I did not accuse you of alleging that DAP is/was racist.

I only asked what is not so encouraging when Malays come to this blog and read its contents and articles posted here by DAP and its leaders – a statement contained in your post.

6. #6 by pjboy on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 1:51 am

Quite simple lah. AAB & co know they won’t be in power too long. Since Wang Ehsan got few Billion RM in their control, how else to spend & makan as fast as possible other than into ridiculously marked-up mega-projects. AAB & co took advantage of the limited powers of the Royalty & HRH. It was obvious that the Wang Ehsan did not benefit the huge majority of the people in Terengganu. AAB & co took for granted that HRH will just sit & watch. How wrong they were & the recent denial for the appointed MB (IJ) was a big slap in the face & backside.

7. #7 by kickbutt on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 1:54 am

It is time that the DAP shed off its image as a Chinese party. Comments like what we are reading now is proof of the image of the DAP as such.

In fact it is the reason why a certain commentator on this blog feels it expedient and necessary to seek comfort behind his handle.

8. #8 by pjboy on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 2:08 am

Is there any postings of all Malaysia BN X-Files out there?

What happened to the RM27M police case? Many more I believe. Reported by MSM but for what? Publicity? ACA is relevant?

9. #9 by lakilompat on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 2:18 am

Dear cucu adam, Tun Dr. Mahathir if he make good use of Wang Ehsan during his name do u think, he will get 2/3 majority? The think is, he’s smart in a way to shut the ppl. but the problem is he lost Kelantan and Terengganu during his last campaign as prime minister. Anyhow this man is old now, he’s just saying to u all, he made a big mistakes during his time or recently for choosing Pak Lah, he thought Pak Lah can amend his past failures in UMNO. The problem is Pak Lah done even worst than him. Unable to be strong and wise, this make all corrupted UMNO members to choose Pak Lah becos he has been lenient to all. Who don’t want to choose a weak leader, if you choose a strong leader then u will be in trouble. Today press, Tun Dr. Mahathir oso tell all the ppl that, the way UMNO select member to represent the division to elect in UMNO General Assembly is also bias, becos Tun Dr. Mahathir knew previously he also use dirty tactic before as it was set by him, Tengku Razaleigh lost by 46 against Tun Dr. mahathir, after losing Tengku Razaleigh formed Semangat 46. This is to tell all Malay that it is hopeful for these 46 ppl.

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 8:01 am

Tun Mahathir is lucky he got Badawi to beat around with his crap. Frankly, I think if he had chosen Najib to be PM, Najib will sent him to jail by now to hold on to power.

The man is just not that smart and have too many people telling him is a world-class leader when he is little more better than Mugabe and other tin-pot megalomanic despot who are not so lucky to have strong institutions and others to check his abuses.

11. #11 by alistaire on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 12:23 am

Check out this bit of news

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/3/30/nation/20080330183441&sec=nation

A whole MIC branch dissolved and its members joining PAS. Wow. See what PAS is doing that DAP is not?

12. #12 by walao on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 1:44 am

Our country politicians had been abusing their power to do wonders for the benefit of their wallets. Can the oppositon help us check whether they also had their Midas touch on our banking system, taking full loans without any collateral pledge of their own assets? Can opposition also help us check how loan allocations were done in our banks? Is it mainly to their “family” ? Cos I found our banks had been too conservative in giving out loan during the past 4 years.

13. #13 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 2:58 am

DAP needs to be more proactive to attract more talented untainted non-Chinese members.

14. #14 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 8:24 am

It is good that we’re able to enjoy a pollution-free environment.

15. #15 by pjboy on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 8:46 am

Well, if not wrong, the MIC branch are not yet PAS-members…just a “fan club”. The Star reported as “PAS supporter club”. Unless The Star still like to practise creative writing, then it could well be new PAS members. Another first in Malaysia history?

Anyway, the Oil-$ in Terengganu is probably the next biggest BN-$-Scandal after PKFZ RM 4.6B scandal. Someone with the right experience in BR should make a historical profile/chronology of all the $-scandals/events of BN since 1970.

16. #16 by Godfather on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 10:16 am

Once you start “moderating” – which is clearly your right to do so – you will be opening yourself to criticisms of bias, which has already started. You will be criticised for taking sides, irrespective of your stated claim that you do not intend to take sides. People will cry wolf, and will claim that you did not support them in the past, and that you should not be supporting others now.

May I suggest that you allow the invectives, the name-calling, the insults, to continue on your blog. The only thing that you should censor is inflammatory comments on religion. Protect yourself with respect to the law, and not against the typical animalistic behaviour of some of your readers. The latter will eventually peter out as more and more readers stop responding to those irrelevant (and irreverent) comments.

17. #17 by helpless on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 2:20 pm

Go all way out to call for another RCI otherwise the denial game is definitely continued. Probably there will be some support from the grassroot including Bodowi amidst the called by M for his resignation.

The hypocrite will claim memory loss when hequestion of his mulpractices. The truth will be reveal only when the hatred corrupted people start to accuse each other.

Only with RCI, all untold eveidence could surface even we could not have high hope for a justice.

Let the untold story be revealed and remain in the history.

18. #18 by alistaire on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 11:29 pm

I agree with Godfather.

Why are comments being moderated again might I ask? Were they not allowed freely yesterday?

19. #19 by Justhis on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 12:02 am

There is rumor saying the sultan was unhappy about distribution of Wang Ehsan.

This had resulted delay forming of Trengganu State Government. But what ever it takes only those awarded with Datuk-ship by Sultans can make decision how Wang Ehsan should be spent and or distributed.
    Why awarding so many unqualified people if they do not contribution to enrich the Nation but instead go against the will of Sultans; so contradicting?
    How this “orang berjasa” come into effect?

20. #20 by kickbutt on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:34 pm

Let the weasel go, Godfather!

21. #21 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:56 pm

Most paradoxical and most ironical! Those who label others for being invective, weasel and know all are themselves guilty of all these. Tell me, who is humble here. What I see here is the seas of self indulged know all personalities who think whatever they said are beyond reproach and criticism. And when criticised, one just has to see the venom in their attack on others. Yet, they are here talking like saint – so paradoxical and so ironical.

22. #22 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:18 pm

If one of the blogger here can be labelled as a headmaster, then I would like to label one of the frequent visitor here as the Supreme Court judge. At least I think the headmaster was doing his/her job if he/she was able to point out views that are factually wrong or illogical.
    What about this Supreme Court judge? To him, he must have the final say in everything. Take for example his perverted view on ISA. To him, there is nothing wrong with the ISA; it is the abuse and arbitrary use of ISA. He just can’t see his own illogic. How can he say there is nothing wrong with the ISA when the act itself has provided for abuse and arbitrary use of power by the executive branch? This is particularly so in developing countries where democratic institutions and practices are so fragile. Because of 9/11 and because of US Patriot Act, he sees nothing wrong with ISA as it stands.

23. #23 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:20 pm

The world is not only getting more polluted. We have too many wasters of oxygen also. If only we have less of them, the world will be a better place.

24. #24 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:31 pm

a commentator says: “In fact it is the reason why a certain commentator on this blog feels it expedient and necessary to seek comfort behind his handle.”

No one really knows who is hiding behind which handle. One thing is quite sure though – we know quite easily one particular blogger is using different handles for reasons best know to himself although sometimes he prefer to call himself “herself”.

25. #25 by Godfather on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 6:46 am

Kickbutt:

We should give the headmaster a chance at his cranky old age. He needs to take his medication.

26. #26 by limkamput on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 8:44 am

Please have more creativity, although i know someone needs to take medication everyday to control his mental disorder.

27. #27 by kickbutt on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 9:56 am

LadyG was right! Can’t you smell the stench in the room, Godfather? It is the stench of a rotting rabid dog!

28. #28 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 5:44 pm

Well, now that the moderator has spoken we can all look forward to the odor-free and rat free environment.

29. #29 by catharsis on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 7:07 pm

Odd…………..I am pretty sure it is that bad breath from a kettle or it is that potty smell that we have been so familiar with

30. #31 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 2:45 pm

If Wang Ehsan go back to the royal family due to mismanagement of the BN coalition govt. Well, things will be the same, the Rakyat will continue to be marginalized might be even worst as there’s no transparency how Royal Family use those. Probably deposit in Swiss account, buy some yacht, buy some horses, buy some bungalow or castle overseas, buy some isolated island, etc. The rakyat will still be the same struggling to make ends meet.

Comments are closed.