No DAP CEC mandate for PAS Menteri Besar in Perak
The decision to appoint a PAS Assemblyman Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar has caused shock and consternation to DAP leaders, members and supporters.
The DAP Central Executive Committee, at its emergency meeting in Penang on Sunday, 9th March 2008, had given approval for the formation of a Perak coalition government comprising 18 DAP Assembly members, seven PKR Assemblymen and six PAS Assemblymen.
DAP is prepared to accept DAP chairman and Assemblyman for Sitiawan Ngeh Koo Ham or PKR Behrang Assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi as Perak Mentri Besar.
As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 28.16
Hello do we really need this now? Supportlah, show the world we can work. And I believe Perak royalty is number in supporting good governance, fair play etc, etc. Takan cakap kosong aje?
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 32.38
YB, I WAS SHOCKED TOO! WHY PAS!? WHY NO OBJECTION! ANY GOO D REASON FOR THAT?
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 37.58
dap - be in the opposition. redeem your integrity.
without dap , pas cannot form the government.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 38.24
Although I do not necessary agree with the appointment of a PAS Menteri Besar, considering the huge DAP win there, I do however advise DAP-PKR-PAS to sort all differences out, and project an image of a strong coalition which can work together. All opposition parties now are under the watch of the Rakyat, to judge if the opposition really have the ability to form and manage a coalition, and next a country.
Please do sort this out and solve it immediately. Also, I don’t think staying away from the swearing-in ceremony helps at all.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 40.34
PAS should PASSED the CM PERAK seat to DAP or PKR.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 41.39
PAS representative has NO qualification to be the CM of PERAK
As much as DAP supporters are disappointed by the selection of the PAS member for the top post in Perak, your actions are potentially very inflamattory.
I think the DAP unfortunately needs to compromise here. Please do not worsen the situation by publicly displaying your disapproval. You can potentially undo all your good work in the elections with this action.
all dap wakil raayat resign n forced another by elections. PLEASE.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 42.12
“The DAP Central Executive Committee, at its emergency meeting in Penang on Sunday, 9th March 2008, had given approval for the formation of a Perak coalition government comprising 18 DAP Assembly members, seven PKR Assemblymen and six PAS Assemblymen.”
Is staying away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow overturn the approval given by DAP CEC for the formation of Perak coalition government on the 9th March 2008?
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 42.59
not a wise choice… i’m chinese btw
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 43.41
all dap wakil raayat resign n forced another by elections. PLEASE.
Not necessary. It will not change anything.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 44.01
If DAP jumps to the opposition in Perak, this will have easily have ramifications to the other DAP-coalition state governments. Need to be cautious.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 45.55
Without PAS, Barisan Rakyat no longer a majority barisan, reduce to a lesser barisan than BN.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 47.44
Here we go again
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 51.19
if pas won six seats and be given the mb post. than lets do not preach democracy in this cyberblog.
than dap shouldnot appeal for funds for this election support.
IF THIS IS CALL BANGSA MALAYSIA. than i suggest that only two parties represent malaysia. umno and pas.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 53.54
HOW TO kick this PAS out of PERAK NOW! SOmeone helps ANWAR where is Dato Seri ANWAR now?
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 54.16
LKS your man said he will accept who ever the sultan chooses.Please walk the talk.This is not the time to sulk and give BN a chance to get a crack at us.Walk the talk please and lead by example.You are wise. please be there at the swearing in with the 18 assembly man.Its the rakyat wish.please honour it
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 54.21
There is nothing to be afraid of a PAS MB. Dont let the ghost of 1999 haunt us. Just explain to the people this is under state constitution and those PKR candidates do not have the proper paper qualifications. And since the sultan of perak refused to defy the state constitution, hence the post had to be given to the PAS representative.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 55.13
Guys, just have to face reality, whatever is it, the MB post will surely be led by a Malay, since Perak is still a Malay majority seat. We are not a country which has totally eliminated race base politics like the USA. So it’s either from PKR or PAS.
Why the Sultan chose Pas instead of PKR is still a question remained to be answered.
BUT Please:
“As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.”
Cmon DAP, aren’t you guys supposedly to be working with each other? SHOW YOUR SUPPORT FOR EACH OTHER! SINCE BA HAS CHOSEN TO LET THE SULTAN DECIDE, THEN RESPECT THE SULTAN’s DECISION.
I would be very happy if the MB is from DAP as I’ve always been a DAP supporter. But life’s like that, it’s never fair! DAP will still rule the Exco state member seats! DON’T LET SUCH THINGS JEAPORDIZE our co-operation with other parties.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 55.29
I’m not a DAP member but I and my family have always supported you and your ideals of a Malaysian Malaysia and voted for DAP whenever possible. I’m wondering if this step is necessary?
Since there’s no formal pact on who should be the MB because this has been an unexpected victory, and you’ve decided to form the state government together, I think it’s only right for your state assemblymen to attend the swearing in ceremony. I think it’s plain stupid if you guys decide not to attend the swearing in ceremony but remain as part of the state government.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 57.19
We really need PAS’ help to abolish the NEP. Pls dont do something that will wreck our main objection.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 57.56
type error : objective
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 57.59
There is inequality in the Perak’s constitution at the first place, many had hoped for the Royal family to be fair and equal, once again, the majority of people’s voice has fallen to deaf ears, it is too late to do anything now for the Royal announcement had been made…We know now what the will of the family is…Non muslims do not have a future in Perak…it is very clear now…sad…
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 58.49
Children Please Behave yourselves……………….
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 58.55
“As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.”
If staying away from swearing-in ceremony in the solution, uncle Kit must be kidding me. What is in store for Perak Uncle Kit? Is DAP showing some muscle now? I think it is too late. Just accept it.
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 59.09
YES I agree with Itshowtime and devilmaster!
There is more at stake. DAP knows they can’t defy the Sultan’s decision, just accept it with an open heart!
I live in Ipoh, I don’t mind who being the MB. I’m sure others can too.
DON’T let BN USE THIS MATTER AGAINST DAP!
March 12th, 2008 at 19: 59.23
Do not resign and force a by election. It might just worsen an already tense situation. DAP MUST fight for top posts in the mayors and exco offices. Go for the major ones. Only that way can we keep PAS at bay.
WE WANT DAP FOR THE MAYORS POST, LAND EXCO, ECONOMICAL EXCO etc. Demand the posts. We gave Perak away but lets gain control in Ipoh. Don’t let PAS have too big a say in Ipoh. MB is enough everything else MUST go to PKR and DAP.
Come on Anwar, YB Lim you promised to listen to us now prove it. Listen to what the people want. We want fairness. Dont give the mayors post to PAS too just on the reason a malay should hold the post.
Lets Be That BANGSA MALAYSIA we all talk about. And dont think ALL the Malays support PAS. They DONT.
Please listen DAP and PKR.
Without PAS we will still be a hung state. Ever thought that maybe PAS won the six seats because there was no PKR or DAP candidate in that particular constituency. And if there was maybe PAS wouldn’t have won???
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 00.07
what is anwar ’s comment on this ?
or like lim keng yaik said ” dap is playing with fire ”
bn and umno is having the last laugh.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 02.00
Quote:
Jackychin Says:
Today at 19: 57.59 (1 minute ago)
There is inequality in the Perak’s constitution at the first place, many had hoped for the Royal family to be fair and equal, once again, the majority of people’s voice has fallen to deaf ears, it is too late to do anything now for the Royal announcement had been made…We know now what the will of the family is…Non muslims do not have a future in Perak…it is very clear now…sad…
Cmon guys, we are the one who is asking people not to be racist and overly religious, now see who is the hypocrite now? THIS IS A GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY TO ALLOW PAS TO SHOW IT’S MORE MODERATE SIDE through PERAK!
PS: I live and grew up in Ipoh, I really don’t mind this!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 02.33
i objection for pas as a MB perak.
after 2012 or next election, perak state will become is islam state.
because 2008 umno state seat (dun) will be win by pas.
now and begin now pas have power and increase pas effect in all state.
sorry.. perak orang… you are 2nd grade citizen
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 03.25
pls be clear on your main objective! your manifesto.! The sultan has the last say, so compromise,work together n not rock the boat that just started sailing. Is post so important then working as a team to achieve our objective?
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 03.30
Ho ho ho
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 04.54
Kit,
This boycott thing is not a wise move. How can the DAP function as a government if it boycotts the swearing in ceremony. How is DAP going to work with the MB after that?
DAP should cooperate with the MB and see how he functions. There is good chance he will go along with DAP demands.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 06.42
lina, I’m utterly dissapointed with your words. WITHOUT PAS, WE CAN’T EVEN HAVE KEDAH, PERAK and SELANGOR UNDER OPPOSITION! If it’s not for those non-bumi who voted for PAS against UMNO, we wouldn’t have gotten so many states.
Now you all are getting suspicious with PAS? Of cmon guys, WHY ARE ALL OF YOU AS HYPOCRITICAL AS UMNO/MCA/MIC etc?
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 07.30
Lim Kit Siang, pls ask your DAP Perak Assemblyman to attend the swearing ceremony . We do not expect such a ‘childish’ action frm you. Let’s respect the appointment from the Sultan. Please do not give ammunition to the BN and the press ’sing’ about the coalition between DAP-PKR-PAS in Perak?
R you willing to forgo Perak then Selangor just bcos of this appointment? All the hard work that your assemblymen have done? If your answer is YES, I think those who had voted for DAP, will be really really really really disappointed.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 07.43
Posted this earlier but it says it’s still awaiting moderation. I’ll repost it but without the s t u p i d word.
I’m not a DAP member but I and my family have always supported you and your ideals of a Malaysian Malaysia and voted for DAP whenever possible. I’m wondering if this step is necessary?
Since there’s no formal pact on who should be the MB because this has been an unexpected victory, and you’ve decided to form the state government together, I think it’s only right for your state assemblymen to attend the swearing in ceremony. I think it’s plain s****d if you guys decide not to attend the swearing in ceremony but remain as part of the state government.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 08.51
YB LIM,
Please don’t do it! please! I am a Chinese and a DAP supporter, please don’t this. It will definitely be targeted by BN that the opposition front can’t work together! Don’t do it! I beg you!
We must be united! WE must! The Rakyat don’t want to see any fraction in the opposition states!!!!
DO THE RIGHT THING, YB LIM!!!!!
PLEASEEEE!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 09.28
???????????????????????????????????????????.
?? chinese ?? indian
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 09.50
Uncle Lim
What a great way to show our Malaysians that we can even work together with a minority PAS man as MB.(Just like a team leader lah). Ultimately whoever the MB has to listen to the Barisan Rakyat directives right?
Whichever the arrangement, make sure you deliver your promises to the people who voted you in - clean & fair society.
Be watchful, I know it has been a tiring journey to get here, so many busy meetings & sleepless nights. It may not be easy to think clearly & wisely.This can become a potential crack for the lurking BN to capitalize and attack.
So, rest up well & think trice & think wisely over the larger picture.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 10.00
—————————————————————-
ncysan Says:
Today at 20: 02.33 (4 minutes ago)
i objection for pas as a MB perak.
after 2012 or next election, perak state will become is islam state.
because 2008 umno state seat (dun) will be win by pas.
now and begin now pas have power and increase pas effect in all state.
sorry.. perak orang… you are 2nd grade citizen
—————————————————————-
Cmon, post some construtive comments. You can’t obeject shit. The decision has been made and please accept it with a mature mentality. I’m from PERAK and I don’t give a damn to who is the MB. DAP will still have the majority exco members.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 10.25
I am not Suspicious with PAS, but in PERAK PAS has no right to be CM since they just TUMPANG kereta with a MINORITY seat at PERAK, other state might be okay.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 10.39
Hi YB Lim, please have the 18 assemblymen go for tomorrow’s swearing in ceremony. We really do not need this from DAP. you guys are suppose to work together. What is this? This will definately show uncertainty and instability in the DAP-PKR-PAS coalition. yes, DAP won the most seats. but the law states that a malay muslim has to be the MB. it doesnt matter.
Please grow up and dont be a child.
Yes you may be unhappy but please do not show to the people in Perak that there is struggle among you guys. If you guys are not cannot agree in one thing - MB - how can you guys agree in many more things especially running of a state????
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 11.38
Now the score is BN 8 — BR 5
Next election BN ? —- BR ?
This is the larger picture.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 14.13
YB, I agree you should be there for the SAKE of RAKYAT, but don’t forget to Demand them. Please Keep your promises!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 14.34
I am disappointed with this post. Where is the solidarity? When the rakyat voted for the opposition, they did it regardless of whether it was DAP, PAS or PKR. As others have posted, DAP may not have that many seats anyways if PAS or PKR supporters did not vote DAP. I had also been reading the Harakah where PAS seems to be doing their best in offering an olive branch to DAP and reassuring non-Muslims that their rights would be protected. Is it just a sham/marriage of convenience to empower DAP? I was disappointed the UMNO reps boycotted Guan Eng’s inauguration as CM but now that the Ruler of Perak has decided, DAP is going to do the same, stooping to their level?
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 14.44
Kit,
Did you give any specific instructions to Mr Ngeh on the appointment of Perak MB.
Ngeh then could have conveyed the parties views to the ruler.
Ngeh had said that all 3 parties will abide by the rulers choice. Then it is wrong to boycott the swearing in ceremony.
The voters have given the 3 parties the green light to work together. Why not this marriage a chance?
The UMNO putras will laugh at the BR and urge Malays to unite against the DAP.
Your magnanimity here will win the hearts of the Malays. Please rethink.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 14.54
This is the last thing we want. Don’t undo what have been acheive in this election. Accept the situation and see how it goes. Otherwise people who have given their votes to you will be disappointed.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 15.40
The only thing DAP will get by voicing this out is the impression that DAP will toiuch on malay sensitivities and risk the stability of the different races. I am Malay who voted for DAP ever since the 1998 Anwar case. But looking at the reaction of DAP once in power in Perak makes me doubt if I would again vote for DAP.
If DAP is any wiser, you’d agree happily with this and not voice any challenge on this issue. But no, DAP has shown impatience. And that is detrimental to the opportunity of having what you have today.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 15.41
Please, Mr Lim, reconsider. Let us show that we can work together. Don’t spoil what we have all achieved. Don’t let the people down.
Work with the new MB. Show the people of Perak that the coalition can work. For the next 4-5 years, serve the people of Perak well and they will surely vote you in again.
Abide by the Perak Constitution and the Sultan’s decision. It’s a wise one to defuse any possible tension.
Show us you are a wise leader. You above many others deserve this victory in the 2008 GE after all the sacrifices you have made throughout the decades. You don’t deserve to see it scuttled.
I too have waited decades for what happened on March 8 and I’m very concerned that we all move on to greater heights. May the Barisan Rakyat show Malaysians that they are united in wanrting to unite the people!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 16.01
Why not?
If PAS as MB and DAP/PKR as deputies, I don’t see any problem with it. I do see PAS as having a more sincere effort in building Perak with the rest of our other ‘Rebelious’ states. You tauted DAP as a WIP Multi-racial party and here we have you staying away from the swearing in ceremony because of technicalities.
I remember witnessing PAS Marshals standing in between the BERSIH supporters and the FRU, they were the first to be hit, in order to shield ordinary men from being hit. PAS is like DAP, in the process of changing its party to a softer & friendlier stance, if PAS can do it, why can’t DAP?
Please accept the decision and prove DAP is sincere in running a state government with people’s mandate with Barisan Rakyat.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 18.48
Please rethink your actions Kit, and the rest of the CEC.
If you let pride get in the way, it will spell disaster.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 20.19
can’t you guys get it? that’s one of their way to EFFECT dap and pas standing in the same line !!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 20.25
IPOH, March 12 (Bernama) — The secretary of the Perak PAS Liaison Body, Ir Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, 51, has been picked for the post of Perak Menteri Besar by the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah.
Mohammad Nizar will lead the coalition government to be formed by PAS, DAP and PKR which together won 31 state seats in the general election on Saturday.
The swearing-in ceremony will be held at Istana Iskandariah, Kuala Kangsar at 4pm tomorrow.
Mohammad Nizar, who is also the State Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang, said the consent from the Sultan of Perak was conveyed to him by the Regent of Perak, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah, who had granted an audience to the leaders of the three political parties at Istana Kinta, here at 5pm today.
PAS, DAP and the PKR yesterday submitted three names — Perak DAP chairman Ngeh Koo Ham, 47, Perak PKR treasurer Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi, 52, and Mohammad Nizar, — for selection by Sultan Azlan to lead the new state government.
The three names were submitted after the three political parties had received the Sultan’s consent to form the coalition government.
Speaking to reporters outside Istana Kinta, Mohammad Nizar said Ngeh would be appointed Deputy Menteri Besar I.
Ngeh won the Sitiawan state seat as well as the Beruas parliamentary seat in the recently-concluded general election.
He said the post of Deputy Menteri Besar II, who would represent the Indian community in Perak, would be announced later.
Mohammad Nizar said both the Deputy Menteri Besar posts were being created taking into consideration the interests of the multi-racial communities in the state, particularly the Chinese and Indian communities.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 21.08
No matter what, i think Ngeh Koo Ham has the responsibility to come into this blog and explain his side of story. We really want to know what transpired during his meetings with Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin & Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 21.30
Kit, If only you realize how many Chinese voted for PAS. I think this community can accept PAS as long as it does not go overboard with its Islamic stance.
You also have to realize that without PAS assemblyman, you would not be able to form the government. Or do you want BN to take is back by default.
I am sure most readers will disagree with you on this.
You are giving BN ammunitions. Look at the larger agenda.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 22.30
Utopia, DAP has only one seat in kedah and is NOT EVEN an EXCO. DAP won Penang without much help from PAS. SAme as in Selangor PKR won BIG not PAS. And for you info YOU CAN HAVE OPPOSITION led states without PAS.
BE more positive. DAP and PKR have evolved to a better party thats why they won not because of PAS.
I too have lived in Ipoh all my life and I am married to someone who supports PAS, so I know what they think of PAS people and Non-PAS people.
Me, I support fair and just treatment for all Races and religions. Not just one.
DAP and PKR should work for the people, Listen to the People.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 22.54
Looks like I wasted my vote for the DAP!Thought LKS has mallowed and now this pettiness to boycott the swearing in of the MB by DAP.Might as well give back Selangor to the BN.f!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 23.14
I totally agree with littlebird,BlueBear and many others.LKS and DAP should take it in good spirit and trust the judgement of the sultan.Please dont show disrespect to the sultan.Your dap man appeared on tv and made a pledge he will agree whoever the sultan chooses.Please honour it.Thats a request by the rakyat.The ones who put you guys up there.Please serve the rakyat not your own agenda
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 23.39
starting to b-r-e-a-k a-pa-r-t now? i guess the three parties will accept whatever the decision made by the sultan
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 23.43
Yeah, Uncle Kit, I strongly urge DAP or CEC to reconsider this decision. I’m glad there’s so many readers here who are mature enough to understand the matter. And I really hope DAP will too.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 24.23
Staying away from the swearing in ceremony will only benefit BN. If PKR is not objecting, why is DAP doing it, you all are suppose to work together and this is the reason why we are vote for the opposition for a Change. Firstly you are insulting the Sultan as he was given the choice to choose. Be realistic, if DAP was given the MB post, he will only hold it for a couple of months, maybe not even swear in because some Malay from PKR or PAS would cross over to BN and they will run the state and DAP will be in the opposition. Not only that, there will be a domino effect and will happen to Selangor. Therefore, better think twice before you decide not to attend the swearing in ceremony and will be the beginning of the end for BR.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 24.29
I think it is only good who will be the Menteri Besar when the Sultan said so, we now know PAS candidate has not received the mandate from DAP CEC but what is DAP CEC as compare to the power of the Sultan? At least we know DAP upheld its political principle of multi-racial Malaysia by nominating both DAP chairman and Assemblyman for Sitiawan Ngeh Koo Ham or PKR Behrang Assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi as Perak Mentri Besar.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 24.39
agreed with Libra2, Utopia, BlueBear …etc
Uncle Kit, as a Perakian and Malaysian, DAP gestures here in Perak will NOT be forgotten and will be remembered for forever.
I hope to see a capable Chinese or Indian as MB of Perak and eventually PM of Malaysia!
Please consider your stand wisely
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 25.40
i not is malaysian, i am 2nd grade malaysian.
very sad for know perak state MB is pas
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 26.24
Something doesn’t add up between Malaysiakini’s account and Kit’s blog.
————————————————-
Malaysiakini —> “Ngeh told reporters that all three parties have in principle agreed that the DAP would be holding the majority of exco positions as they hold the most number of state seats. “In a normal democratic process, we would be invited to head the state. But in the special circumstances of Perak and to be sensitive to Malay Muslims, Mohamad Nizar was appointed menteri besar,” he said. ”
Kit’s blog —-> “As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.”
————————————————-
Sounds very much like two different views to me. What’s going on? Can DAP-PAS even cooperate in a Perak-lead state government if did they even get along in the swearing-in ceremony??? The official work hasn’t even started!!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 26.37
Why do we have to return to the same old spot after the big leap on 8 of March? Isn’t it we have seen the rakyat looked beyond the racial lines and managed to get rid of the corrupted theives?
I am sure the selection of the MB is not an easy task for the Sultan, if the intention has been racist and bias, the result would have been declared way before this. Thus, I believe this choice was made based on many solid reasons to maintain a stable society. Yes, I know DAP won 18 seats while PAS only has 1…which is why we do not have to be worried about major changes because for those are afraid of the Islam elements, we have 18 chinese angels from DAP looking after our back always, right?
It was pointed out by someone last night that we did not win the battle on 8th March. Yes, it is true…we are still far away from the great victory of throwing out those corrupted thugs totally from the government. But we did reach a great milestone in history as the poeple has voted beyond the racial lines. However, by reacting so negatively to the appointment of the PAS MB has thrown us back to the old spot which has therefore deny the hardship the poeple has gone through in reaching this milestone. So YES, I have to admit that we have gained nothing, the milestone on 8th of March is just a fantasy, a dream too good to be true because we would never be able to look beyond the racial lines.
Once again, it has proven that the people would rather being bullied by the the keris-weaving [deleted] other than to work out peacefully with other races…beyond the racial and religious lines. So, dun sob about the same old junk anymore when BN comes in again next time, because we are simply too politically shallow to recognize the importance of racial harmony.
I would like to quote a few statements of a great chinese blogger:
“Did any PAS members or supporters ever threaten to harm other races? The last time I checked, Hishamudin waved his keris every year, Najib publicly said “Keris ini mahu minum darah orang Cina” while waving showing his keris in 1987 before Ops Lalang commenced. Where are these people from? Not PAS.”
“That isn’t all. Did you see any temples and churches in Kelantan being torn down by the state government? I bet if there’s any, the BN government will publish it front page on major newspapers. But it happens under the BN rule, but not informed to public at all.”
“Guess what PAS president Hadi Awang said after winning Kedah? It will be a welfare state which caters for all races. They would only implement hudud laws only after consulting PKR and DAP. Now, ain’t it funny when Indian temples get demolished or some whackjob waved a keris live on television before consulting MIC or MCA beforehand?”
So you are still not awakened, you should really get prepared to go back to China or India. I do not see the Malays or PAS as enemies. The real enemy is the ultimate BN machinery which has malays, chinese and indians. OKT is a chinese…but what has he done for the chinese society? He cant even do a thing to save Bai-Siow in Selangor, he did not even make a sound when others threatened us with a damn keris. So what does it matter with the skin colour of our MB? As long as he is an honest and noble man and willing to give his best to the PEOPLE, we should accept him as our own…for he is a Malaysian, Bangsa Malaysia.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 27.11
DAP don’t want to make Sultan of Perak lose face right?
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 28.47
SungaiSiput is right.
Disrespecting the SULTAN will potentially LOSE ALL THE GOODWILL YOU’VE GENERATED AMONG THE MALAY COMMUNITY.
Very very poor form, and I JUST CAN’T BELIEVE Kit has suggested to boycott the ceremony.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 29.09
I really hated the TV evening news today. I think that sleepy guy is trying to create racial issue. If he has the goodwill, he will not advise publicly but privately. Other then creating racial conflict, I guess he has nothing better to do. Loser.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 29.20
ayya dap give some face la for the king. he has made his choice. dont be sellfish la. if you stay away like that malay people will never trust dap anymore.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 29.50
Kit Siang, don’t worry that there will be a backlash from the voters. This situation is different from the 1999 elections. PAS is more accepting to Chinese now compared to UMNO. Although their goal is to set up an Islamic State, they can only do with 2/3 majority. Don’t just think about Penang. We now have Selangor and Perak under the PKR-DAP-PAS coalition. No need to get so upset. Draw up an accetable arrangement rather than making it looks like the coalition will crumble. I think the Chinese voters will understand. In the coalition if PAS is to implement any values not acceptable to the Chinese, then we take action. For now….lets just follow the mandate given by the electorates…not just voters of DAP. Infact many Malays voted for DAP this round just as PAS who got many votes from the Chinese. Lets not get emotional and look at the bigger picture.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 32.32
I assume not attending the ceremony is just a symbolic act, so DAP won’t appear to be in approval of a PAS-led state govt. Otherwise, non-Muslims who voted for DAP in Perak will feel cheated. Let’s hope the new MB won’t emulate the state govt in Kelantan.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 32.57
Any disrespect to the sultan is not acceptable.DAp and all the assemblyman must be at the swearing in ceremony thats a request by the rakyat.Dont let us down.With tact we can over come all obstracles.Be brave.A new dawn has drawn and we must all learn to live together.Dont see him as a pas man see him as a partner in our new coliation.please dont let us down.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 33.25
YB, I am strongly agree with your statement. To those chinese that are well educated, maybe they will pursue DAP to for the swearing ceremony that will be held on tomorrow. Pls bear in mind, “1 vote for DAP = 1 vote for PAS” will be the slogan in next general election. And yet, 18 state seats will be the best record for DAP in perak state FOREVER……..So, have to think carefully before you act. I do remember the word spell out by Ong ka woi during his ceramah in Ipoh timur, the ultimate goal for PAS and Umno is to form an islamic country by all meant.
If DAP still can tolerate with the deputy CM post and step behind PAS, we all as a voters WILL NOT BELIEVE DAP ANYMORE!!!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 33.45
I agree with the Sultan of Perak ’s decision. He sees far. Further then anyone of us. For the stability of not only the state but the country.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 34.19
Shock!!!No words can describe what I am feeling now.Never thought this would happen.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 34.50
Non muslims and non bumis in Perak have hit the ceiling, this is the the furthest we can go…The constitute clearly says, not only “Muslims” but there’s another requirement in it thats “Bumi”…its a special group and a special Race…Very much in contradiction with the believe of “Bangsa Malaysia” we like to belief in…Bangsa Malaysia is unachieveble in Perak!
YB Lim,
We are unhappy with the decision, not with PAS or Nizar its not their fault, we cannot do much at this point, but to go by it and hope for the best…We still believe in the coalition…
Sincerely
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 35.25
When PAS Marshals were hit, do you think they get to choose which PAS, DAP or PKR supporters to protect?
DAP and the rest of Barisan Rakyat worked so hard to get where we are, you as DAP stalwart are suppose to be exemplarary to others. What message are you sending to the rakyat when DAP stays away from the ceremony tomorrow?
Would you stay away from swearing in if let’s say PAS have a bigger win and picked DAP as MB?
If DAP starts this internal bickering 3 days after election then I beg you, please let DAP gulung tikar ‘coz it will prove DAP never meant to work with others.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 35.32
I believe the non-muslim electorate base of DAP is more important than the Sultan of Perak.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 36.05
Can people stop whinning that Perak is under PAS? Beofer this, you have UMNO. So now you prefer UMNO over PAS? :S
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 36.05
oh god … !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It’s not gentleman and will CAUSE BIG PROBLEM if DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.
PLEASE RECONSIDER YOUR DECISION, UNCLE LIM
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 36.06
But why PAS? not PKR
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 36.53
i didn’t expect this reaction from you, reflect and think about your decision again…
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 37.06
This should not be happening.
Ultimately we all should preach what we practice and the way i see it, i believe that the message was that we are all ONE BANGSA MALAYSIA.
This is defintely not good for DAP and this is playing right into the hands of BN. Stay united. After all there are 7 others states remaining and another 5 years to go.
If this type of thing is going to go on, the people will start to ask themselves, ‘Would it had been better to stick with the devil we know?’. Doubts will creep ino the minds of the people and feeling of regrets over eclecting the opposition will start to overcome us and before you can say, ‘Stay united!’, the people will start to swing back to the devil they know.
Your days of opposing for the sake of opposing (in Perak anyway) are gone. Start acting like admnistrators!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 37.21
Having read the statements here, I am beginnning to think that some of the reporting in the mainstream papers on DAP’s stand is right. Maybe the papers are right in that agreeing with DAP would be like sleeping with the enemy. I didn’t believe it then, now I am beginning to believe so…
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 37.46
I think the best way to do this is to take a vote of the people here. I am not from Perak myself, but I do not oppose to the idea of having a PAS MB.
Do not mind PAS MB - 1
Do mind PAS MB -
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 37.55
Shame on you DAP. You can’t even keep a promise that was made 24 hours ago. Shame on you!!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 38.17
liewkk80 , you are wrong there.
I dont agree 1 vote for DAP = 1 vote for PAS.
But i agree on 1 vote for MCA/MIC/Gerakan = 1 vote for UMNO.
First of all, DAP has no business to do with PAS. We do not take any order from PAS. But MCA/MIC/Gerakan do take order from UMNO. And each time an order be given by UMNO to them, they will just obey. No question asked.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 39.22
Another thing, if this scenerio is in Malacca, I am sure PAS and PKR will agree that the Chief Minister would come from DAP because there is no Sultan and you must realise that religion may be also involved and is always sensitive.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 39.30
Disrespecting the Sultan is the among the worst possible things DAP can possibly do. Yes, I do mean THE WORST. All goodwill generated with the Malays, will be potentially LOST.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 39.31
In the spirit of meritocracy, I think the best candidate should get the job regardless of race and religion.
The credentials (or CVs) of all 3 candidates should be published for rakyat to judge for themselves if the appointment is fair and transparent.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 39.53
# songsong Says:
Today at 20: 36.06 (2 minutes ago)
But why PAS? not PKR
coz the PKR candidates do not have the proper paper qualifications.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 40.43
We have 5 states and yet 3 have gone to pas 1 each for pkr and dap.That is not in proportion at all.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 40.53
Uncle Lim! I don’t understand you DAP guys. You won not because of Chinese votes only. Without support of Malay votes, you think DAP could have won? Bloody hell we give you chance now you want to pull this off. Are you any better than MCA!!
Watch out now. You do anything that endangers the Barisan Rakyat, you will pay dearly in the next election. Suppress those hooligans in your own party! (You guys complain about the goons in UMNO now same thing is happening in your party)
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 40.58
Now,before everyone lambast Uncle Lim for choosing to stay away from the swearing in ceremony of the Perak MB tomorrow let’s choose to view this from his shoes.
If DAP were to support the decision to have a member of PAS as the Perak MB,it may not go down too well with some quarters of Chinese.Do you still recall that the last GE, DAP lost their support from the Chinese community because they were lump together with PAS and some of their extremist policies?While some Chinese voted for PAS during the recent election,there are still some who are wary of PAS and their true intentions as PAS can be very extreme with their policies.
However, if DAP chooses to attend the ceremony tomorrow the media will have a field day by taking it as a sign that DAP endorses PAS and it’s extremist policy.Already the major media players are starting to angle their story to paint a negative picture of the opposition by nit picking on their weaknesses.If DAP is not careful,they may just slip and fall.
Either way,it’s a catch 22 situation here.
I just hope Uncle Lim will think it through and make the best decision for the people of Malaysia,the very people who have put them where they are today.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 41.08
Uncle Lim,
Does it really matters who is the MB? We just want the state and municipal council to function correctly and efficiently, “WITHOUT FEAR OR FAVOUR”? We have enough of racial and religious problems in the last 50 years and I don’t think anyone in Perak want to repeat what the BN had done.
Moving forward and serve. And I think it would be suicidal for PAS to jump wagon after the swearing in. And Malays will never forgive them.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 41.32
songsong Says:
Today at 20: 36.06 (1 minute ago)
But why PAS? not PKR
—————————————————————
Because PAS candidate has better qualifications than PKR’s. Succesful busianessman, holds a couple of master degrees. I thought Barisan Rakyat’s agenda was to promote “Promotion based on merit and not based on connection, creed or other belongings.”
—————————————————————
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 43.18
[b]We really don’t need this at this time![/b]
Reconsider your action Mr. Lim, or you might not see another tsunami for BR in the next coming election. Don’t throw this opportunity to the drain.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 43.23
Mr. Lim, after 50 years of struggle DAP finally won the goodwill of the people and you want to squander it after 3 days?
I talked to my in-laws for days to get them to swing to PAS so that opposition can win and now you are going to scare them off in tomorrow’s paper. Think again.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 43.33
Kit,
You have two choices.
1) Reject PAS outright loudly, cause great disharmony in Perak state goverment, potential defections, Malay goodwill lost, lose power & seats in the next elections?? Fight, fight, fight?
2) Disgrutingly accept PAS, but work quietly from the inside. Experience slight unrest in the Chinese community but still an effective government.
Which of these are the lesser of the two “evils”?
Please decide wisely KIT.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 43.49
Look at what publicity DAP has created:
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79733
Good luck guys!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 44.10
haha… i thought that we all want a change and effiecient government… today we Barisan Rakyat has made it a historical moment…. so now… because…just who become MB…everyone complaining…. ….
pls remember that isn’t that we want a malaysia with malaysian people….so
if malay/chinese/indian/indian/chiense/malay/malay/indian/chinese/etc as long as they are citizen of Malaysia and there are called Malaysian….. why so care about who is who….
we want Malaysia Malaysian…. so…. don;t trap into racist/religions agains….stay as one bangsa that is Malaysian that has a new dawn …………
or
we will be breaks like a vase…hit into ground…., and next GE…everyone back to square one…..
Whoever take up any position be it MB/CM/Exco etc…., please execute your tasks….. well…
Menjalankan tugas yang diberi dengan jujur/ikhlas demi kepentingan rakyat jelata Malaysia……. untuk semua lapisan… bukan untuk segelintir, sekumpulan, atau satu ethnic..saje…..
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 45.40
The BN-controlled press will have a field day tomorrow. Watch!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 46.01
What has paper qualifications got to do with it. Bill gates never finished Uni and he still is a one of a kind leader. Paper qualifications should not be the deciding factor.
the ability to work with all races should be the one. For me personally PKR would have been a safe choice. It stands in the middle.
But with all said and done basically its the man on the streets opinion that is what really counts. We can agree and disagree. We can love PAS or Hate PAS, but the man on the street will get what he wants.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 46.20
DAP mess up !!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 46.44
Look at what publicity DAP has created:
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79733
Not even mainstream media. DAP has been so stupid over this. I’m saddened.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 46.54
This is crap YB! Sia sia I go vote for DAP….you guys didn’t walk the talk.
Please end this boycott…..this is very very bad image for DAP. I’m sure many will remember this day comes next election if the boycott goes on. BN is already capitalizing on this squabble.
Just bad…you guys are nothing more than another BN…support PAS = PKR = DAP!!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 47.02
What happen to the ‘Malaysia’ as your blog title suggested?
PAS is also Malaysia.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 47.02
Sorry but i beg to be different. i dont think all our royalities are colour blind. colour/race is thicker than water in this case.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 47.37
i heard over the news that the selangor deputy menteri besar have to be a malay too.
BANGSA MALAYSIA IS DEAD.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 47.47
paper qualification and portfolio always the first measure when both are equal
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 47.51
It’s just ONE POST.
One STINKY POST.
This is not even worth the squabbles!!!!!
PLease end it!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 47.53
So this the reality of Malaysia politics.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 48.07
You have mess up uncle!!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 48.09
We don’t wnat this kind of news any more. They think they are heros. They should go to hiding quietly!
Samy says no to cabinet post
Chan Kok Leong | Mar 12, 08 1:53pm
updated 7.25pm The MIC president also said that he would not be seeking a senatorship as a back-door entrance into the cabinet.
Ka Ting to reject cabinet post
Mar 11, 08 7:56pm
The embattled MCA president said he was doing so to take responsibility for the party’s poor showing in the general election.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 48.55
I believe there is a third way forward to salvage the situation, and you will need all the party leaders to resolve this.
If indeed DAP Perak has acted without the instruction of DAP CEC, then the decision is ultra vires. But what can happen now is for PAS rep to carry on first, and perhaps within a few months, say that PAS is stepping down for PKR candidate.
Whatever it is, it would be best to work this out quietly instead of blowing up for BN to criticise the coalition.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 50.04
Do not give up ; DAP should be the MB .
We said MCA is hiding the UMNO sarong now DAP is hiding under the PAS sarong; the whole party of DAP has lost its integrity, the people will laugh at us- coward.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 50.08
Mr. Lim,
If PAS is notin DAP’s list as MB, its name should notbe submitted its the first case.
Actually HRH is in a difficult position too I suppose. Om one hand the Malay subjects have to be appeased too. The urban Malays may accept a Non-Malay but definitely not the rural ones.
Thus the choice of a Malay is the most logical. But for appointment of PAS as MB? Why not settle for PKR? This would make most of us happy.
In coalition there would be plenty of give and take to make it work. Otherwise it is as good an over!!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 50.15
The first mistake was made when 3 names were submitted instead of 2.
Boycotting the ceremony will be a bigger mistake as it will be considered an insult by the Ruler as you need all the goodwill to consolidate the party’s position in the state.
Also may cause a state crisis even before DUNs take the oath.
Suggest the DAP should compromise.
My 2 sen worth.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 50.40
Kit… pls laa… after so much effort that we have spent .. a sentence from your mouth will destroy what we have built… a New Malaysia.
Dont force us to take the step of sacrifice you for the sake of Malaysia… if we need to…. I start to understand why there was KOKS campaign long time ago
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 50.41
Is there a conspiracy among the royalities as a result of the loss by UMNO/Bn?
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 51.26
Greedy!!!!!! PAS should turn down the offer as MB.The people have the say in this.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 51.29
This evening I was waiting at the newstand fervently wanting to know Sultan’s choice. Yes, I heard rumours saying that Ngeh Khoo Ham will be Perak Menteri Besar. I was sooo happy. But, mana tahu the owner of the newstand complaint that newspapers under Sin Chew Media Corporation (Sin Chew Daily and Nanyang Siang Pau) has been misinformed. So they withdrawn the newspapers printed in the evening and reprinted them all over again. Everybody waiting for their night edition of both newspapers ended up getting their copies late. I am wondering how the journalists can get misinformed.
Let’s face the reality, YB Lim. Sultan is a politically neutral entity. He is the Sultan of all. Please, ask your men to attend the swearing-in ceremony. Be rest assured that Menteri Besar is not an absolutely autocratic person. He/she will still need majority votes to implement any policy. But let us make sure that the new Menteri Besar will not sell our common interests out, OK?
Please, the Sultan have sovereignity.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 53.04
As I’ve written in this blog prior to the election.
Vote for any opposition except PAS. If got PAS vs BN(UMNO), then make undi rosak. But it was disregarded & see what happened…
1. Kedah PAS Govt did not nominate Kota Setar DAP Candidate into Exco.
2. Sultan of Perak got a PAS member as MB.
3. In PAS election manifesto says not going for Islamic state. But Hadi already said in public to ban ‘UnIslamic Entertainment etc’ in a nice way ‘thru the consent of everyone’ (but by majority of PAS).
4. Even Sultan of Selangor confidential secretary announced today that the Deputy MB shall be a Malay.
See what happens when we vote PAS???
They are wolfs in sheep clothing (dropping Islamic state etc)
Now have no choice but to boycott PAS in Perak & send memorandum of protest to Sultan Azlan & Raja Nazrin.
Another way to work is as DAP has majority, we just don’t listen to the MB at all!!! We assume & take Ngeh as MB & disregard everything Nizar says or do. He cannot act alone. We have majority - just ignore Nizar & pretend he is not there & go along with our own policies.
If any state policies need Nizar to approve, DAP just ignore & go ahead & don’t bother.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 53.18
Kit Siang, i am so disappointed with you decision. i just coulnt believe you’ve said that. Pls reconsider. If DAP boycott the swearing ceremony, how do the perak pple would have confidence in the new gov? I m from Perak and I m worried not because member of PAS is becoming the MB but the statement you have made here. The coalition is falling apart in less than a week time, how could we have confidence for the next few years?
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 53.26
In the first place why submit 3 names for the Sultan when DAP is not agreeable to PAS candidate. When your strategy failed, you cry foul. Ngeh has agreed publicly that DAP will “sokong dengan sepadunya” to whoever is being chosen by the Sultan. Now you are singing different tune. Shame,shame,shame on you LKS!!!!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 54.03
Well, now I understand why BN can remain in power indefinitely.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 54.23
hello …
don’t loss ur cool
if u boycott them this time ,then i am sure ba will loss next election
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 54.33
[…] Oh yes - the real source is from here - No DAP CEC mandate for PAS Menteri Besar in Perak […]
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 54.42
VERY VERY SILLY STATEMENT. When so much has been won on non-racial, intelligent platform, to now THROW IT ALL AWAY on a stupid quarrel over the PAS MB in Perak.
Please show strong leadership and tell all short sighted narrowminded people in DAP, look at calibre of man, not at his skin or religion. If you behave like this, how do you expect MALAYS to accept Lim Guan Eng as CM ??
You are putting at risk all you won on 8th march. Only UMNO is happy. Is this the work of UMNO spies in your party ???
I am Chinese and Non-Muslim, and a DAP supporter! But if DAP is truely so bigoted and narrow minded, then you really deserve all the problems and chaos you will inherit by this very very stupid statement. No more politiking - get to work to improve people’s lives.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 54.48
[…] will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow. [No DAP CEC mandate for PAS Menteri Besar in Perak. Lim Kit Siang. March 12 […]
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 55.18
Dear Uncle Kit,
I am sorry to hear about this DAP decision. DAP’s choice will not only isolate itself from the Malaysian Malays, instead all Malaysians come the 13th general election will shun DAP.
I made a conscious choice to vote for PAS eventhough I have don’t agree with its Islamic state agenda. Why? Because the greater good necessitate the need for an alternative government.
Yes, PAS is imperfect but at least they are evolving. Why can’t DAP understand that in ensuring the rakyat interests are upheld and defended, a united and cooperative team is needed?
You must understand that in the first place, the rakyat place their hope in Barisan Rakyat / Barisan Alternatif for winds of change. If DAP want to create infights so early in this coalition, the real loser ultimately is DAP, PAS and PKR.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 55.23
DAP should have made their MB selection clear from the start that they support a candidate from PKR. From the beginnning I do not favor a DAP candidate. The decision to nominate a DAP candidate for the MB position is a wrong one. The MB from Perak needs to be a bumiputera muslim, a DAP MB is too drastic a change and also against the MB tradition. Though PAS is the minority opposition in Perak, DAP-PKR still needs their seat to form a simple majority in Perak, hence they have the bargaining power.
I suggest that DAP made their decision fast and clear that they are prepared to accept a PKR candidate as MB but not from PAS.
Please guys, it’s not whether we(here) are prepared to accept a PAS MB, it’s about the majority of Perakian Chinese. Most of them do not have the same thinking as us. They will live in fear under a PAS MB. I am from Perak, I am ok with a PAS MB but most of my friends back in my hometown doesnt think the same way. The DAP CEC is making the correct decision now.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 56.07
perak people won’t be afraid of pas mb,but afraid of u,lks
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 56.21
Kit, as much as the average chinese person on the streets who voted for DAP would slightly begrudge a PAS MB, I can guarantee that he would find the DAP CEC action to boycott even more disturbing.
Act FAST Act NOW.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 56.39
This whole charade is a joke.
- for those who keep arguing about Bangsa Malaysia and not wanting DAP to associate themselves with PAS be ****ing realistic. The goal for Bangsa Malaysia cannot be achieved overnight and do not forget significant Malay votes that have gone to Barisan Rakyat coalition.
- why submit three names of Perak MP to Sultan INCLUDING PAS nominee? I thought you folks of all got agreement already? Don’t make BR a laughing joke for BN!
- disrespecting Sultan’s wishes is political suicide, period. Uncle Kit, you better convince DAP CEC and show up at the ceremony tomorrow.
- finally it is obvious between PAS and UMNO the former is the lesser of two evils. While PAS may not have abandoned their Islamic state manifesto they’re not as fascist as UMNO. So for good of the nation work with them for the time being.
Please remember the rakyat can vote you out as fast as they voted for you in!
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 57.45
u,lks only know how to boycott people…
but do u know the consequence?
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 58.05
Can a period of one year be given for each party to be MB? A trial period of sorts to let the people decide. After 3 years, Let the people decide MB post for the remaining duration. That way all parties get a chance and for those of us who dont want a PAS, wont worry to much and for those who dont care who is MB, well still wont care, but at least it will be fair and transparent. And PAS wont be able too many restrictions and PKR and DAP can counter any negative effects during their terms. Since the people decide the MB for the last few years all the reps will have to work really hard for us.
My opinion only…. Still doesn’t mean I approve of PAS (mostly due to Hadi Awang and his comments and the fact he thinks only he is right) but it would be a compromise..
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 58.49
Uncle Lim…we should be UNITED…without PKR & PAS…..
u think DAP CAN destroy BN 2/3??
WE WANT PEOPLE Menteri Besar!!!! No Matter PAS , PKR OR DAP
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 58.51
DYMM SULTAN is the sultan for all Malaysians.
simple language enough.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 58.55
Uncle Kit…You have just lost a vote from me for the next election to come
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 59.24
I’m 20 years old chinese and i noe i dun have that much experience than anyone here to speak up about politic. I feel proud to be malaysian after BA won 5 states, many of my frens also feel the same way. They want new government. History prove that a federal government can be change but not in one election, but through a few election. This time BA won almost half, so i can say that if they keep their work done and gain respect from 3 party(PKR, PAS, DAP) supporter, i believe BA might won the next election due to the young supporter that they will have in the next 5 year election. However, Perak which should be the example of Malaysia on the next 5 year have give a bad impression to WE, the future voter, how do you want us to vote for BA next time? It is true that DAP won much seat but it is in the constitution that only malay can be MB. They should accept it. Most malaysian have been expecting the result and they can accept it, why cant DAP, our role model cant accept. If they accept, this give confident that it would be no problem for the BA to form the next federal government. Try to look at LOWYAT FORUM, this time election have unite lots of young voter from different races, there are malay who happy for penang DAP win, chinese and indian who happy for kedah PAS win. They dont mind who be the next MB as long as they treat all races equal. But this blog has leave a bad impression to BA(Barisan Alternatif) and DAP. Anyway, who are me to give so many suggestion. I just wish BA good luck and can deal with this matter. Perak represent the next 5 years Malaysia, show good example. Do remember BN is laughing in Perak matter now.
March 12th, 2008 at 20: 59.45
Terlajak perahu boleh diundur,
Terlajak kata badan binasa
True colours showing, eh?
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 00.06
It doesn’t matter with which race to become the MB. What the Malaysian want is unity among all races. Please do not break the unity because of this and let BN have chance to oppose..
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 00.35
I suggest you go read in Chinese forum what people are saying there: http://chinese4.cari.com.my/myforum/forumdisplay.php?fid=74&page=1
Except a few idiots who insist on DAP supremacy, most are Malaysians wise enough to know that a disaster awaits if you fail to control the situation in Perak.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 01.10
islam is good…
just that everyone has religion freedom…..
but since pas won’t make perak islamic state,why u boycott them?
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 01.11
“In the first place why submit 3 names for the Sultan when DAP is not agreeable to PAS candidate. When your strategy failed, you cry foul. Ngeh has agreed publicly that DAP will “sokong dengan sepadunya” to whoever is being chosen by the Sultan. Now you are singing different tune. Shame,shame,shame on you LKS!!!!” Pac
I think that is not the case. The case here is the DAP CEC’s mandate, only 2 candidates received the mandate from DAP CEC. PAS has also submitted their candidate of course knowing they have only six ADUN. Hence, the three nominees. Remember that PAS has no electoral pact with DAP.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 01.16
Are you crazy? My family supporting Sultan decision. We voted PAS also. Why you still want to created a topic for BN? It will hurt Malay people as you didnt respect Sultan decision even DAP had promised before.
http://chinese.cari.com.my/myforum/redirect.php?goto=findpost&pid=39539312
http://chinese4.cari.com.my/myforum/viewthread.php?tid=1142073
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 01.17
Think of the greater good. We are all in this together for a better Malaysia. To achieve our goal, there will be successes, there will be disappointments and there will be sacrifices to be made. Do not let this setback get in the way. Any impulsive actions will play straight into the hands of BN.
Think of the people that had voted for DAP. The people … not Chinese, not Indians and not Malays. We all voted across racial lines to put you guys where you guys are today in KL, Selangor, Perak, Penang, Kedah and Kelantan. The political tsunami would have happened if only the Chinese had voted for DAP. We turned our back on UMNO/BN because we trust you. Do not betray our trust and sacrifice ….
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 02.09
This is how opposition working together?
Why DAP agreed to submit three candidates to Sultan? Now Perak Sultan choose PAS candudate, then accept the decision.
No yet forming new government, you people already fo into dog fighting.
Be prepared to be opposition in next election.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 02.09
this action is breathing life into BN, why are you allowing it? don’t be a FOOL!
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 02.52
DY is right. In the interest of all 3 parties, PAS should not submit. It is not right and morally ethical as PAS has the least number of seats.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 03.26
I am a staunch DAP supporter.
But all went wrong in Perak.
I feel the only most gentlemanly solution for this is for DAP to admit its mistake & to allow 2-3 DAP ADUNs to resign and seek by-elections again to see whether the Chinese community supports this PAS MB.
If DAP is voted again - then OK, the Chinese community says yes. If MCA is voted, we know what the Chinese community want.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 03.56
Tomorrow DAP have to show up,if not seriously, we loss confident on you.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 04.07
Even I as a malay minority living in penang, looking forward to the BA government leading by DAP. Now I am dissapointed with DAP for deciding to boycott 2morrow.
Before this, all agreed form coalition, to submit names to the Reagent and accept whoever being chosen as MB. Perak is not owned by DAP or PKR or PAS or BN. They are only elected leaders on behalf of the people. The state is owned by Perak’s people.
Then, it really show DAP true colours. I’m dissapointed. BN will have the last laugh. Not even a week after the election.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 04.15
alaneth Says:
Today at 20: 53.04 (52 seconds ago)
As I’ve written in this blog prior to the election.
Vote for any opposition except PAS. If got PAS vs BN(UMNO), then make undi rosak. But it was disregarded & see what happened…
1. Kedah PAS Govt did not nominate Kota Setar DAP Candidate into Exco.
—> This was due to objection by PKR ADUNs. Not PAS’s fault although you can say they could have had 2.
2. Sultan of Perak got a PAS member as MB.
—> Everyone said they would accept the decision. If DAP did not want this to happen, then they should have said that they would not form the state government with PAS and PKR, and BN would form the minority government in the state, I suppose.
3. In PAS election manifesto says not going for Islamic state. But Hadi already said in public to ban ‘UnIslamic Entertainment etc’ in a nice way ‘thru the consent of everyone’ (but by majority of PAS).
—> And do they have a majority in Perak?
4. Even Sultan of Selangor confidential secretary announced today that the Deputy MB shall be a Malay.
—> He said that they prefer it to be a Malay but it won’t be.
Not sure what’s the whole story but since the Perak DAP leader has made the statement that everyone would accept the decision, I don’t see why this is happening now.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 04.35
Please don’t underestimate the wisdom of Perak Sultan. Among all the Rulers, I only have faith in him. I think there must be a good reason behind this.
The Perak Sultan wants to show that the state can be better managed by PAS than BN, and that PAS is not an extreme as BN. Once this becomes reality, then more Chinese will support PAS rather than BN in the next GE.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 05.24
well well well , i should have voted for BN instead if i know the BA is so fragile ..
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 05.52
There’s no reason to boycott:
You’ll lose more votes than you can keep DAP. Think bout that!
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 06.32
hey…
dap is no longer opposition in perak…
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 06.43
Kelantan Chinese will tell you how well they’re being treated. I don’t see any problem for this coalition. Need to show be end our vote is not a waste. Most importantly there is development for all….shud b better then be end
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 07.56
i think it would be a test for the opposition, sultan might be testing the unity of the oppositions. it was not important who becomes the mb, the most important thing is that will br make any changes to all the citizen in perak.
to me now, the unity is not there. to me, it is not who becomes to mb, it is who can make the changes that matters. or else, br is nothing different than the bn
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 08.06
‘Ngeh had said that all 3 parties will abide by the ruler’s choice.’.Libra 2.
The ruler have spoken and how on earth can one find any excuse not to honour the pledge.Ngeh,by the above press statement has check mate himself for which there is no way out.The decent thing to do is to be there for the swearing-in ceremony.You haven’t got a choice,have you?
Being in the driver seat is no easy undertaking.Your problems are just beginning and rest assured,there will be bigger ones coming your way.You have made a few stumbles early in the game.Quickly pick yourself up,brush off the dust and bounce back.The rakyat is also watching closely every move you make and believe you me they will throw you out the same way BN is thrown out this GE.
Take heart.Be strong,be fair,be honest and just keep at it.You will be ok I am sure.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 08.58
YB Lim, let tune down your cock fighting attitude.
I am Chinese, and I am very sick with you and Junior Lim’s arrongant attitide.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 09.05
I, part of Chinese Malaysia, who voted DAP in General Election-12, is deeply disappointed with the action taken by DAP!!! The reason why we VOTE for DAP, PKR and PAS because we want to have a better future, against corruptions, and most important thing is we are MALAYSIANS. We are the RAKYAT, we THOUGHT we have VOTED the right PARTY, but today, your statement here made me think TWICE whether I have voted the WRONG PARTY!! Uncle Kit, you are selfish, you only think of your own PARTY DAP, you did not think of us, RAKYAT, you have forgotten what the promises, you have forgotten WHY WE VOTE the BARISAN RAKYAT, you have FORGOTTEN why in the first place, Barisan RAKYAT won 5 states in GE12 for the first time. And if you think only yourself and DAP, the next General Election, our vote will go back to BN. And you can be proud today, but only 4-5 years left. THINK TWICE, and be SMART!
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 10.07
I suggest all BA YBs in perak resign and hand over the state government back to BN. Hope by now BN will learn their mistakes. Better than BA who cannot follow BN’s coalition.
This is just Perak, not Malaysia.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 10.08
I do not disagree with Uncle Kit’s decision to stay away from the ceremony, I only think it is a bit too late for such a drastic action. We saw it coming didn’t we but we all cannot do anything about it? Do be careful when expressing yourself in this blog as it belong to the person who fought for you even before some of you were born.
But even though the drastic action is too late, and if all DAP leaders find it necessary to stay away from the ceremony, I will still support DAP no matter what happen, because DAP is the only party who upheld their political principles for a multiracial democracy in Malaysia.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 10.36
I do not see this as wise move by our respected YB Lim. If at all there was a denial it should have been before the announcement. As all 3 parties were instrumental directly and indirectly in opposition victories .
I’m sure PKR too would have preferred their candidate to be appointed as MB. But since the palace have chosen, please show our willingness to abide and I’m sure DAP being the major player would ensure rights of all Malaysians protected. Please all leaders this is the time to perform base on clear understanding as all we Malaysians wanted is the right person who work for all Malaysians. Please do not break the solidarity that we have just found. It also goes to Hadi, president of PAS.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 11.27
THE Ultimate question is, you guys want UMNO(With Cronies and MCA lapdogs in the Exco or PAS MB(With DAP majority in the Exco)? Cause if things go at it is now. UMNO will take Perak back in next GE! *Sigh*
Is it that hard to choose?
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 11.56
Be sporting la. Show to Malaysian that BA can administered too. Jangan jadikan BA bahan lawak pulak.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 12.17
Dear Kit Siang,
The issue about who becomes Menteri Besar does not arise if the opposition coalition did not work together in this election. It is the voice of the citizen that brought about this change in Perak, not DAP alone. It does not matter who is MB, does it? Think about it, what exactly are DAP comprising now by having PAS as MB? We have more than what we bargain for in this election due to the people power, now we have more chinese in the executive committee. So please show your leadership and quash all these unnecessary uncertainties circling around the coalition. Remember that the coalition is what appeals to the people, not any party alone.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 12.35
If im the perak MB, i will give the post to PKR, if DAP still want to boycott the swearing ceremony, for the sake of Barisan Rakyat and for future support in the next election. Btw, im a malay and im a PAS supporter. Im very sad because of this.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 12.49
alaneth Says:
Today at 21: 03.26 (6 minutes ago)
I am a staunch DAP supporter.
But all went wrong in Perak.
I feel the only most gentlemanly solution for this is for DAP to admit its mistake & to allow 2-3 DAP ADUNs to resign and seek by-elections again to see whether the Chinese community supports this PAS MB.
If DAP is voted again - then OK, the Chinese community says yes. If MCA is voted, we know what the Chinese community want.
===
Only monkeys will vote you again.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 13.15
Then why did DAP form a coalition with PAS in Penang and Selangor?
I presume you are gauging the ground feeling here. Now that you heard it, I suggest you get all DAP members elected to attend the swearing in.
The majority of your readers here are against your decision to boycott the swearing in.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 13.21
When DAP said they will accept whoever candidate the sultan name is a mistake. If DAP is not prepare to accept a PAS candidate, it should be made clear.
Only one way to solve this dilemma. Each party will nominate a candidate for MB other than his own party.
Sure DAP will choose PKR.
PKR will choose PAS.
PAS will choose PKR.
Isnt the situation clear enough that PKR should be the MB which is most acceptable to majority of the parties and also the Perakians.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 14.07
Aiyohhhhhhh uncle kit what the hell is happening? Look at the big picture man, big picture.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 14.37
Then why did DAP form a coalition with PAS in Penang and Selangor?
I presume you are gauging the ground feeling here. Now that you have heard it, I suggest you get all DAP elected members to attend the swearing in.
The majority of your readers here are against your decision to boycott the swearing in.
Unless you want to return the state to BN.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 15.25
Uncle kit…dun fall for it !!!! That’s what they want DAP to disrespect the Sultan.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 15.39
BA should show confident to us, the young voters. You need our vote five years later. BN and all their press are going to say and write lots lots thing about BA to make people lose confident on them. Only LOWYAT FORUM show us that many malaysian is supporting BA. Last few day, BA gain respect from all malaysian, dont let down us. Continue the government in Perak. Tomorrow is actually a history day to show us what will happe in malysia next 5 years. IF BN won Perak, who will be MB? A chinese? Still it will be Malay but may be corrupted, this new malay PAS MB will be clean than BN MB. So, why dont we accept them. Dont let us down tomorrow. You may only gain few non-muslim suporter in Perak but lose the support of chinese toward the whole nation.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 15.47
“THE Ultimate question is, you guys want UMNO(With Cronies and MCA lapdogs in the Exco or PAS MB(With DAP majority in the Exco)? Cause if things go at it is now. UMNO will take Perak back in next GE! *Sigh*
Is it that hard to choose?”
This is like one question in George Orwell’s Animal Farm.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 17.01
Yup… When DAP said they will accept whoever candidate the sultan name is a mistake. If DAP is not prepare to accept a PAS candidate, it should be made clear.
We don’t want a flip-flop party like BN. We don’t practise double standards like BN!
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 17.08
The 12th general elections gave the rakyat new hope, please don’t kill it now!
Chill!
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 17.09
CORRECTION on earlier posting …
Think of the greater good. We are all in this together for a better Malaysia. To achieve our goal, there will be successes, there will be disappointments and there will be sacrifices to be made. Do not let this setback get in the way. Any impulsive actions will play straight into the hands of BN.
Think of the people that had voted for DAP. The people … not Chinese, not Indians and not Malays. We all voted across racial lines to put you guys where you guys are today in KL, Selangor, Perak, Penang, Kedah and Kelantan. The political tsunami would NOT have happened if only the Chinese had voted for DAP. We turned our back on UMNO/BN because we trust you. Do not betray our trust and sacrifice ….
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 17.28
if u wanna boycott,then don’t form a coalition with pas,then it is 31 seats minus 6 seats and it is 25 seats …. then u will loss to bn ….
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 17.37
If ……IN GOOD FAITH …..PAS, DAP and the PKR submitted three names — Perak DAP chairman Ngeh Koo Ham, 47, Perak PKR treasurer Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi, 52, and Mohammad Nizar, — for selection by Sultan Azlan to lead the new state government…..
AND IN GOOD FAITH…..SULTAN AZLAN USES HIS HIGHNESS’S SOUND AND LEARNED JUDGEMENT TO DECIDE IN FAVOUR OF MOHAMMAD NIZAR- DON’T YOU THINK IT IS LUDICROUS FOR DAP NOT TO SUPPORT MOHAMMAD’S APPOINTMENT. VIS-A-VIS DOUBTING SULTAN ALZAN ‘S LEARNED JUDGEMENT. AND………..
This MOTHER of all MOCKERY
The “rolled-up sleeves”culture should be discarded in the name of political maturity
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 18.08
I’m starting dissapointed with BA/DAP. These politicians just ‘GILA KUASA’. My suggestion, Perak people just throw these BA leaders in perak into the selat melaka and let them govern the fish.
This is the part that I envy BN. They can really form the coalition.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 18.10
Uncle Kit,
Please call up anwar and nik aziz and get a consensus on this. Quick action needed. clearly PKR is the best MB candidate. Do not try to snatch this post because youu have the majority of the seats.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 18.39
DAWSHENG: “UMNO will take Perak back in next GE! *Sigh*”
UMNO may even take it NOW!
If the fighting continues, the Sultan may have no choice but to hand a minority government to UMNO.
This is the most disturbing news I have read in this blog.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 19.30
It’s a NO! NO! NO!
Don’t Fight!
You’re going to fall in the BN’s trap.
Accept it DAP,It’s a fact of life,
You cannot be so emotional.
Don’t destroy everything because of a small matter.
What important now is moving ahead and planning for the
next general election.
March 12th, 2008 at 21: 20.42
Uncle Lim,
It’s really unfortunate that we have a scenario in Perak unlike other states such as Selangor, Kedah, Penang and Kelantan which is quite straightforward. On one hand, DAP won the majority state seats, more than PAS and PKR combined, which by politcal convention, should have ruled the state and an MB. However, we have a state constitution which provided that only Malay Muslim can be an MB unless Sultan of Perak waived it. On the other hand, DAP has no other choice but to let a Malay candidate from either PKR or PAS to be an MB.
The 3 political parties have made a wise decision by nominating each potential MB from their respective parties and let the Sultan of Perak exercise his royal prerogative. However, as far as the non-Malays in Perak are concerned, especially in those 18 areas where DAP wins, they might feel uncomfortable if the Sultan of Perak choose a PAS candidate to be an MB, which is now the case. As far as I am concerned, I think the non-malays in Perak should respect the decision made by their Sultan. Afterall, the Sultan cares for the people of Perak, whether they are Malays, Chinese Indians and others, right? So whatever decision the Sultan made, the people of Perak, whether Malays, Chinese, Indians and others should abide by the decision, because it’s the decision made by the Sultan, not by any political parties, whether it’s DAP, PAS or PKR.
However, the people are confused here. On one hand, Ngeh Koo Ham, the DAP chairman has stated the other day that all the 3 parties will abide by the decision of the Sultan for the MB candidate on whoever the Sultan chosen. On the other hand, now this blog stated, “The decision to appoint a PAS Assemblyman Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar has caused shock and consternation to DAP leaders, members and supporters” and “As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.” The question now is, which is which? What are DAP real stand on this matter? This has the potential to be exploited by the BN.
We now have an interesting situation here. The argument of some people here is that now the rakyat is colour-bind. That’s why they now vote for the opposition, no matter which race he/she is from. The “race” thing is outdated and irrelevant after 50 years of independence. The rakyat are mature. They knows what is right and wrong and will not easily by fooled by the media or any empty promises of BN politicians. They don’t mind which race the MB come from as long as he is fair, transparent and does the work well to serve the people of Perak. However, the issue here is not so much on race, but religion and it’s impact on social structure? Why religion, you might ask? Because PAS still habour the ambition to make Malaysia an Islamic State which really scare of the non-Malays voters. Remember, Najib has declared Malaysia is already an Islamic State? This is where BN will exploit DAP here. With Perak MB now in the hands of PAS, some people have said that DAP has “sold-out” to PAS. Even it’s not, some people have said that DAP can save all the troubles explaining to the non-malays in the 18 constituencies and providing “check and balance” on PAS in the Perak State Assembly IF the MB is from DAP or PKR.
On the other side of the argument, some people have said the rakyat is mature enough and will not be taken in by all these craps. Just look at the General Election results. With all the might of BN machineries under their belt such as TV1, TV2, TV3, NTV7, 8TV, Utusan, NST, STAR, national radios for their campaigns, the rakyat is not foolish, and instead vote for change. So this means that with all the exploitation by BN on the issue of Perak MB to the detriment of DAP, the people of Perak will not be fooled this time around. They have matured a