BN leaders – grow up and accept ups and downs of democratic process

(Media Conference Statement by DAP Parliamentary Candidate for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang at DAP Ipoh Timor Ops Centre on Thursday, 6th March 2008 at 12 noon)

Tomorrow is the last day for campaigning before the country goes to polls for the 12th general election on Saturday, March 8, 2008.
Will March 8, 2008 usher a paradigm shift in the Malaysian political landscape by stripping the Barisan Nasional of its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority and deal a fatal blow to Umno political hegemony?

It is a tall order just to deny the Barisan Nasional two-thirds parliamentary majority on Saturday, for the DAP, PKN and PAS will each have to win at least 25 seats to ensure that the BN is defeated in at least 75 parliamentary seats, the “magic figure” to make BN’s two-third parliamentary majority and Umno political hegemony history in Malaysia.

A strong and powerful wind of change is blowing in the land, as evidenced by the mammoth ceramah crowds, enthusiastic responses and generous donations of Malaysians in the various states – with crowds of several thousands to more than 10,000 in the ceramahs I attended in the past three days, covering Malacca, Negri Sembilan, Kuala Lumpur, Selangor and Perak, with mammoth ceramah crowds also reported in Penang.

The question is whether the wind of change rising up in the land will be strong and powerful enough on March 8 to make it a day of history and a day of destiny for Malaysia.

The Barisan Nasional leadership had launched the general election campaign with a very cocky and arrogant start, with the Selangor, Malacca and Johore Barisan Nasional leaders declaring that they want to make their states “zero-opposition” states to recent panicky signs in certain BN quarters at the strong and powerful wind of change blowing in the land – causing Barisan Nasional propagandists to resort to the dirty politics of fear, intimidation and blackbail as making May 13 threats.

Let me advice all BN leaders and candidates: Grow up and accept the ups and down of the democratic process and stop being spoiled brats when at most the Barisan Nasional is losing two-thirds parliamentary majority and not losing power.

It is not going to be easy to deprive the Barisan Nasional of its two-thirds majority in Parliament by defeating the BN in at least 75 seats, but it is a goal which is definitely possible and achievable on March 8.

Former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir does not see the BN losing its two-thirds majority on 8th March, as he has predicted that the BN would win between 70 to 75 per cent of the parliamentary seats in the 12th general election as compared to BN victory in over 90 per cent of the parliamentary seats in the 2004 general election.

If Mahathir is right, that BN would win 70 to 75 per cent of the parliamentary seats, this would work out to the opposition winning between 55 to 65 seats, which is a sizable increase from the 2004 general election of 21.

Tun Mahathir gave a very pertinent interview with Malaysiakini yesterday, where he said that the country needs an opposition that can hold up a mirror to the government.

Mahathir said: “I believe in an opposition. I have always maintained that this country needs an opposition and they should be critical of the government without which we don’t have a mirror to look at our faces. We think that we are very beautiful but it is the opposition that keeps telling us (that may not be true).

“You know the government member (of parliament), sometimes they are ‘ahli bodek’ (apple polishers). They are always saying ‘you’re right’, and you have no means of assessing whether you are going in the right direction or not.”

Mahathir said that it would be a “disaster” if the country “loses its opposition” as in Singapore.

I am glad that Mahathir, who had been the most controversial Prime Minister of Malaysia for 22 years, leading the country to some of its best achievements and worst crisis in key institutions of state, has fully realized the important and constructive role of the Opposition in the development of a viable and vibrant system of parliamentary democracy.

Is Abdullah prepared to agree with Mahathir and openly acknowledge the important role of the Opposition in the building of a healthy Malaysian democratic system, that it will be a disaster if there is no Opposition in Malaysia, and rein in the Umno “ultras” who have been talking about a zero-opposition in their states, with one Mentri Besar even claiming that he will not listen to the views of any DAP Assemblymen if they are elected!

Abdullah should educate all national and state leaders on the most rudimentary lessons in democracy. Lesson One – that without an Opposition, there can be no meaningful democracy. Lesson Two – Opposition leaders are even more patriotic than those in government, as they are prepared to risk their personal liberty and comfort to stand up for the rights of the people and the long-term interests of the nation, which could land them in detention.

When Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi took over the reins of government as the fifth Prime Minister, he had promised to be different and better than the Mahathir premiership.

I call on Abdullah to ensure that in the last 36 hours of the general election campaign, he will go out of his way to ensure that the 12th general election will be completely different from the previous nine general elections in being “May 13-free”, where the threat and spectre of May 13 if Opposition candidates are elected is not allowed to rear its ugly head to mar the election campaign.

Is Abdullah prepared to respond to this challenge to demonstrate that in 2008, Malaysian general elections are once-and-forever liberated from the spectre of May 13 threats, which is completely baseless as a denial of BN two-thirds parliamentary majority can only come about if there is strong representation of Malay, Chinese, Indian and even Kadazan-Dusun-Murut Opposition MPs.

A “May 13-free” election campaign will be a redeeming feature of the 12th general election, which has been further stained by the last-minute somersault of the Election Commission over the indelible ink issue – with the indelible ink fiasco becoming the indelible shame of the Election Commission.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by kickbutt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:17 am

Let’s see if that last statement draws out the blog’s only character suffering from personality disorder.

2. #2 by sotong on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:18 am

True democracy is about majority protecting the rights of minority.

3. #3 by ycchai62 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:23 am

It’s only less than 24 hours before we cast our votes for GE12. The BN has started their repeated old tactics by scaring the Chinese community of the potential fear losing our representative voice in government.
    Be sure that you don’t fall into this trap and see that your vote goes to Opposition because there is NO DIFFERENCE whether we have MCA, Gerakan or MIC in the government or not. They will only show their face as the champion of our cause but in actual fact manipulating those issue for political mileage.
    Have you ever heard that a Buddhist Temple can only be built according various restrictions namely : 1. No Buddha statue allowed on the external wall of the Temple. 2. No religious activities allowed to be carried within the premise. and so on…… What an insulting act ! Mind u, OKT, OKC and KSK have claimed to be staunch Buddhist. But where are they all this while as this application first started about 25 years ago and its actual site is in Kluang where Ho Seong Chang, former MCA Youth deputy head and PS of Min of Consumer Affairs is the former MP. It is also very near to Ayer Itam where MCA youth secreatary Wee Ka Seong is the MP.
    I am more furious as there are more and more politicians from MCA , and Gerakan started intruding to various religious and Chinese base organisations forthe sake controlling these organisation for whatever obvious reasons u may guess.
    So, REJECT MCA and GERAKAN to the last drop of our sweat.
    There will NO LOSS on our part whether u have or not those people in the cabinet.

4. #4 by highhand on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:23 am

mak datin gave 24 hrs to find the missing kid- not found

we give her another 24 hrs to deliver that promise

5. #5 by aiD_kamikuP on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:32 am

ycchai62, Not only “OKT, OKC and KSK have claimed to be staunch Buddhist”, actually OKT is the Minister for Buddhist Affairs. He deserves a ‘KNN’.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:41 am

This is BN’s message “You have to decide if you want a louder voice in Parliament or representation in the Cabinet where they can be more effective in representing all communities”.

This is the poser to Non Malay minority communities in general but to Malaysian Chinese in particular they are told that if they voted for the DAP, they would end up not having any representation in the government. It is couched in terms of a dilemma posed, and a veiled threat delivered…. The Chinese in particular are generally practical in approach and such a poser is calculated to have effect on them. (We are further advised that the MCA needed 30 seats to have a strong voice in government).

On the eve of election I ask Non Malay minority voters to search their hearts and find your mettle.

We have had already 50 years experience in “representation” in government and if that had been meaningful, would it have been necessary to present the poser today, the eve of election????

The representation we have had is a representation of matters such as getting approvals for additional Chinese schools, classrooms, some funds for development of Chinese new villages, and a few Public Services Department (JPA) scholarships for Chinese students….I repeat what I said before that these educational concessions are what Malaysians of whatever racial origins are minimally entitled, as of right in the first place for which no special gratitude ought to be demanded from or reciprocated to that facilitator, the MCA!

As regards fundamental issues that matter – issues that makes one feel one still has a place under the Malaysian Sun and issues of fundamental constitutional rights that make one feels one still has a rightful place as equal citizen – these are the issues that truly count, and that which many feel there is under representation or no representation at all by the communal parties that hold claim to the contrary……

To argue that there is such representation just because some privileged members of one’s own community enjoy the patronage of some not so important, critical and powerful ministerial or deputy ministerial posts, and, as a price for that, have to whisper their communities’ case in muted tones behind closed doors, the outcome of which thereafter is entirely dependent on the so called magnanimity of the patron – and not what counts as right or wrong, fair or not fair – that is but a mere “symbolic and token”, some say sham, rather than real representation.

When people get satisfied by something with that which is symbolic weityhout grasp for the real, then they are not clever, destined to be manipulated as slaves….

If you have the intelligence and could find your pride, you will reject such carrot of illusory representation structured around form than substance. You would opt to roar like a hungry lion in Parliament than cringe like a dog just so you could be served some crummy dog’s food!

After all what is parliament for if not to allow one’s voice to be heard in its august chambers loud and clear especially on issues pertaining to national interest?

Aren’t we told, never often enough, that the nation is larger than race, national interest greater than community’s interest ???

If that were the case then we should have a louder voice in parliament to debate about these than still appeal to narrow communal sentiments of communal “representation in government” in exchange for vote that after 50 years we should have transcended.

Let me just say this – meaningful representation of political interest is, for all Malaysians a birthright. It should not be traded like some chip on some political power sharing formula that we could have only if we give our vote and support to some incumbent political party. It is a condition set that no free and right thinking people can honorably accept – this farce of an obselescent BN power sharing formula.

Unless one still accepts and believes in this 50 year old BN power sharing formula – this is realy the crux of the issue – in a dilemma of Representation or Voice, I would cast the vote for Voice!

7. #7 by Godfather on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:46 am

Jeffrey:

There is no dilemma. Between voting for the Mute Chinese Association or the Mute Indian Congress, I would vote for any Opposition any time.

8. #8 by showsomemercy on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:47 am

Have no fear my fellow Malaysians. Don’t let those BN crooks scare you of your rights to vote for the opposition for a better Malaysia.

9. #9 by ZepolBumi on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:51 am

Lets vote for DAP/PKR/PAS, as long it’s not BN. Will be driving back to penang to vote. Was amazed to see the picture of the mammoth ceramah … have a look
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/penang-rally-draws-30000.html

10. #10 by k1980 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:52 am

Anwar Ibrahim predicted today the opposition is poised to deny the ruling coalition an outright two-thirds majority in the March 8 elections.

Anwar said reports from various sources, including independent polling agencies and even the “intelligence” community, show the opposition could win more than one third of the parliamentary seats up for grabs.
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79235

11. #11 by jus legitimum on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:55 am

You can fool some people some of the time.But you cannot fool all the people all the time.Ya,50 years is too long a time for BN to fool some people around.Wake up folks,show that you are fools no more tomorrow.Vote DAP or other opposition parties for better future tomorrow.

12. #12 by highhand on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:04 pm

after 50 years, they still talk on race representative politics, n the so called all representative pm is still crying wolf. sad but true. say no to fear politics

13. #13 by showsomemercy on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:05 pm

Hope what Anwar said is going to be true come 9th March 2008!
    This is important election if we dont deny them 2/3 they will change the constitution as they are allowed to change it every 8 years if they are in power.

Imagine if they change the constitution if they have the 2/3 majority, it will be harder for us to deny them in the future again. So vote wisely as the opposition didn’t ask to rule the country but just denying the 2/3 will do!

So let’s stop them from getting 2/3 ! Vote opposition ! For for a better Malaysia !

14. #14 by ALtPJK on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:09 pm

Right on, Jeffrey.

This is the very same message we get election after election for the last 39 years and non-Malay minorities fell for it everytime. And the result is:

There was NO strong Opposition in Parliament to provide the necessary check and balance, to force the government to act justly, to prevent the numerous amendments to the Federal Constitution to take away our fundamental rights and freedom and to ensure that the policies of the government were just and fair.

About the BN’s message “You have to decide if you want a louder voice in Parliament or representation in the Cabinet where they can be more effective in representing all communities”, it is not about effective in representing all communities anymore.

It should now be about us ensuring that the next government does not get too arrogant so as to perpetuate self-serving agendas.

15. #15 by jonath66 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:14 pm

Hi
    Can anyone explain how my brother who has registered and voted in Damansra Utama has his new voting area in KOTA BAHRU for Parliament and KOTA LAMA for state seat? Anyone have such strange shift of voting constituents. Only found out when he got the brochure from BN and PAS
    In an age where Malaysia boasts of MSC, best IT infrastructure and Election Commission using hitech computers to compile electroal rolls how can we have duplicate names, phantom votes blah2 and rely on jurassaic technology to provide free paint jobs on people’s fingers (what a waste it’s not being used now). Can DAP highlight such transfer of names to powers to be-my brother has never been to Kelantan!!! Thank My GOD (I can’t rely on the constitutional GOD) i still voting in my same area.!!!

16. #16 by jus legitimum on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:17 pm

Vote out the liars,the racists,the corrupts,the cheats,the hypocrites,the national wealth plunderers,the keris waver,the religious bigots,the self serving,the title grabbers etc.Kick all these wickedest bastards out tomorrow.

17. #17 by k1980 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:19 pm

Vote MCA and you get:
    Ling Liong Sik’s son worth $1bil in 1997; Chua Jui Mei had a 18-year-old son driving S320 Merc; Chan Kong Choy had the PKFZ retirement funded; Chua Soi Lek has generously-endowed personal friends in hotel rooms

18. #18 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

Well said Jeffrey. For too long the non-Malays communities have been trading short term expediency for long term misery. That so-called representation in the cabinet and government is meaningless now. I would prefer more voices in the Parliament highlighting issues across racial line, providing checks and balances, reducing abuse of power and bring greater accountability in public service. We have one day left to decide.

19. #19 by AhPek on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:22 pm

Jeffrey,
    Sure,what you say perfectly makes sense amongst most if not all commenters here.These are the converted and most likely it is not going to make any difference to the outcome tomorrow.The ordinary run-of-the-mill Chinese is probably not aware of your type of ‘meaningful’ representation and big noise (if more opposition comes in) in Parliment probably also means trouble in the streets (trouble created by police) which is no good for business.
    This is Malaysia a country which is so mired in race politics that we find ourselves in shit street without a shovel today.The BN has become an expert in exploiting this issue which is exactly why Pak Lah is issuing this subtle threat about non representation for the Chinese in government is MCA is booted out by the Chinese community.He has even chosen to forgot that he did say that he is PM for all MALAYSIANS.
    How to counter that mindset? To me this is the crux of the problem and countering this is not chicken feed at all.Perhaps we can all help DAP in our own little ways by trying to influence those around us and make tomorrow a good day out for DAP.

20. #20 by lakshy on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:40 pm

AAB looks like he is bankrupt of ideas. What a wimp! What does he mean by threatening Malaysians? You threaten your own rakyat this way? Are you a sincere Malaysian then? Look Dato’ Seri AAB, didn’t you just recently say that you are not a PM for Malays only, but a PM for all Malaysians? Were you sleeping when you said that?

And by the way the MIC and MCA have not done much for Indians and Chinese. The MIC and MCA have got scraps that umno has thrown at them like they would throw to the dogs. And these cheapskates have greedily lapped up these scraps. So no, its no loss to us if we vote them out.

I remember them getting together to issue some memo to you, to voice concerns about Islamisation, but they chickened out after being chewed out by some junior umno minister. And you call these representatives of Indians and Chinese? Holy cow, these clown jesters seem to have forgotten that they are descendents of peoples with greater cultural and educational and historical lineage.

What can your Semi Value do when the temples are being broken in his presence under the instructions of littel napoleons? And some of these temples are plder than our constitution and only because your napoleons refuse to grant them titles, they are being demolished. And that is in direct violation of what is stated in the Constitution. You cannot take away what is already there for the Indians and Chinese.

So no, those clowns from MIC, Gerakan and MCA in your cabinet, are just that, clowns. They dont represent us.

And if you say you wont look after us, then we dont have any respect for you. For a start, I wont vote for you or any of your clowns. Kapish DS AAB?

Oh by the way, lets see how long you can last when all of us for whom you have declared you are not the leader, do not pay taxes!

Makkal Sakti!

21. #21 by lakshy on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:45 pm

In fact the thing to do would be to deny bn a simple majority and place them in opposition with DS AAB as the opposition leader. Since you threaten us all, we will show you what we the rakyat want. We want bn in opposition. Cheers!

We dont want to just deny you a 2/3rds majority. We want you to spend time as the opposition. That will give you more maturity, and learn to respect the opposition and the rakyat. You seem to have forgotten who your boss is. Its the rakyat la you dumbo!

Go back to school and learn.

22. #22 by VoteDAP on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:45 pm

Dear all Anti BN, Anti UMNOs,

I wonder if BN/UMNO dare to cancel indelible ink implementation at this critical last minute, they must be very sure they able to find ways to offset the votes they expect to lose from the frustrated and angry rakyat. We all must fight till last minutes! LAWAN TETAP LAWAN! AI PIA JIA EH IAAAA!!!!!

23. #23 by ktteokt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:49 pm

After half a century of independence, BN is still in its infancy stage, refusing to grow up and face the real world. It is trying to hide itself in its nutshell and “enjoy” itself, acting in the most childish ways.

What MCA is claiming this GE is even more ridiculous! It is telling the Chinese that it would be advisable to have MCA “fight” for rights in the government. What is there to “fight” for? Isn’t MCA part of the government? So why should it be fighting for anything? This is of course true only if MCA is not at par with UMNO in BN. If at all there is a need to “fight”, MCA should leave BN and become part of the opposition as it is “opposing” the policies of UMNO!!!!

24. #24 by galaxy on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:50 pm

Has MCA represented the interest of the Chinese? Has MIC represented the interest of the Indians? Has UMNO treated them as equal partners in the BN coalition? If no, then, what is the difference whether they are in BN or not?

25. #25 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 1:09 pm

I went to Singapore about 2 weeks ago and as i was passing thru the immigration that day, I told the officer who was stamping my passport that they’re very lucky to be Singaporean.
    The two malay officer smiled and said, “Yes! we are Singaporean”.
    They didn’t even mention that they were Singaporean malays.
    A small island like that could manage the population of its own, fair and equally.
    Even the president is an indian.
    What else have we got to compare to others?

26. #26 by KanNinNeh on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 1:10 pm

Vote for DAP, PKR or PAS tomorrow if you want BN to work harder !

MCA, Gerakan & MIC can always join DAP, PKR or PAS to form a Stonger Opposition in case they lose all their seats !

27. #27 by Jamesy on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 1:12 pm

What is meaning of representation in the government when even the non-Malay BN parties leaders can’t even do anything in Parliament and Cabinet that represent their respective minority communities interests’ voices, after they were given a clear mandate in 2004?

All the non-Malay BN parties leaders, if they wanted to do something for their communities, if at all they do it, had to resorted to begging from their master, UMNO. Representation in govenment is one thing, DOING something for the communities without fear or favour is another thing. Their representation in Parliament and government after 2004 is like they have not represent their respective communities at all. They have all being silence when UMNO had done something that is adverse to minority communities, minority communities rights have been taken away and all they do are sitting in Parliament and Cabinet keeping quiet that you can hear a pint drop waiting for the DAP and other oppositions to do or say something.

Even if some brave non-Malay leaders did said something that publicly incrimninate the wrongdoings of their political master, they all either been shot down, disciplined and threatened by words and actions by their political master.

There are tons of examples to this.

Is this what they meant by representation in Cabinet and Parliament? It should be representation of a bunch dogs and cowards in Parliament and Cabinet waiting instructions from their political master with the KERISes in their hands.

28. #28 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 1:24 pm

Leaders of MCA,Gerakan,MIC or others component parties have to support the present ruling party even if they were to betray their forefathers.
    Just because of the benefits they get.
    Gerakan was an opposition before and I’m sure they knew that very well.
    What I don’t get is…, why are there still many others who do not get anything, running around supporting someone who is not doing things right.
    Maybe, these are the whole lot who needs to suffer in order to learn.

29. #29 by boh-liao on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 1:31 pm

What’s the point of having MCA, MIC, and Gerakan politicans elected into the BN government?

Mahathir told us all: S Samy Vellu stifled Indian voices. Samy Vellu did not ask for assistance for Indians. The problem is that SV is preventing other Indians from having a say. SV never said that the Malays were committing genocide and ethnic cleansing. SV never said that. Why didn’t Samy Vellu say that?

We are sure Mahathir could have told us the same thing about MCA and Gerakan politicians, who are only interested in looking after their own interests rather than the interests of all Malaysians.

Make sure NONE of MCA, Gerakan, and MIC politicians get elected into our parliament and the various state legislative assemblies!!

Take a new broom to the polling station tomorrow (8.3.08): SWEEP, SWEEP, SWEEP!

Sweep out BN candidates and VOTE FOR DAP/PKR/PAS candidates at both federal and state levels!

30. #30 by chanjoe on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 1:35 pm

Just as I have suspected…AAB is going to speak from his home in Kepala Batas ans you can bet he will turn to tears just as Dr M had done previously and he will plead with all esp Malays to vote and stay with BN.
    I wish to call upon all Malaysians to ignore this kaki tidur and vote as per your inner heart’s conscience for a better tomorrow and a change in Malaysia which has been rotten esp at the head (remember the rotten fish head saga by Ling LS).
    Lets get a real new tough and sturdy fish in BR…
    Cast your votes in Opposition tomorrow.
    I am flying back from overseas just to cast my vote for Opposition and will be in KLIA tonite. My blood is racing with excitement to assist DAP as a polling/counting agent on 8/3/08.
    VICTORY FOR CHANGE.

31. #31 by boh-liao on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 1:35 pm

Going home, going home, we are going home to VOTE!!

To vote for DAP, PKR, and PAS!

To people who are travelling home to vote, have a safe and pleasant journey.

Vote and wait for the good news!

Godspeed!

32. #32 by Jimm on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 2:11 pm

BN have cheated before and will do so again this round.
    When you do not practice your right to vote when you are eligible to do so, BN will do it for you …….
    Is this what you want for your own future ?
    Go and vote for yourself tomorrow …. at least for your own justice.
    We knew that BR will lose again, however, your personal vote stands by them this round. That’s matter most.

33. #33 by bystander on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 2:22 pm

Yes. vote for change. vote DAP IN & BN OUT

34. #34 by benny on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 2:44 pm

YB kit,
    Everybody must go to the ground and create awareness to the public the importance of oppositions.We a group of 15 voluntered ourself every evening in serdang to go to every house in serdang to explained to the community the role of oppositions by disrtibuting flyers,cds and some reading material.We even organise the MP candidate of serdang to join us during the house to house campaign.MY WISH IS THE OPPOSITIONS TO DENY 2/3 MAJORITY OF THE RULING PARTY.GOOD LUCK UNCLE KIT

35. #35 by jetaime.f on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 4:47 pm

I do apologize for my lack of knowledge on international law but can we not contest the law allowing armies to vote by post at the international court? THis is a form of “discrimination” given malaysians who are overseas are not allowed such privileged. Everyone can only hope for tomorrow’s results unless everyone does not think with their emotions but think for our future generations and vote for the oppositions. Give the oppositions a chance to run the country. It won’t harm the country for a 4 years’ term. As it is, the country’s condition has not seen significant improvement over the past 50 years.

36. #36 by ktteokt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 6:08 pm

BN should leave its milk bottle and baby walker aside and try to grow up. After being established for half a century, which is a long time, it is still unable to stand on its two feet. This is a total disgrace and they are claiming to be more superior than the others? Can this be true? If at all BN is matured enough, stand up and fight like a gentleman!!! Face your opponents and take your opponents as they are.

37. #37 by Godfather on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 7:55 pm

“Fight like a gentleman”? When so much of money is at stake ? When the right to steal may be taken away from them ? No, they won’t fight like gentlemen; they will slander, cheat, lie and try to steal the election. They can’t be everywhere – especially if the wind of change is strong.

GO OPPOSITION, GO !!!

38. #38 by sheriff singh on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:22 pm

Do we need “running dogs” in the Cabinet?

They only know how to play “fetch”, “sit”, “roll over”, “shut up”, “beg” and “play dead”.

So it does not matter whether they are there or not. They have been castrated and their teeth pulled out.

So go ahead, vote AGAINST them. Get rid of them. Better they are not there to embarass us.

Let 8th of March 2008 be our NEW Independence Day.

Merdeka!!!

39. #39 by limkamput on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:19 am

that is a good one, our new merdeka day, 8 March 2008.
    shall we call Lim Kit Siang to shout three times:
    Merdeka
    Merdeka
    Merdeka

40. #40 by Hurricane on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:03 am

today is the day. DAP will get our votes. for change. for a better malaysia.

41. #41 by alaneth on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:25 am

For those traveling out of Singapore back to our home country to vote for righteousness, just a word of advice – beware of bad traffic jams at both the Woodlands & Tuas checkpoint due to the Mas Selamat manhunt. Getting back to S’pore is also like that – heard the ICA are now fingerprinting visitors.

Depart late at night (>11pm), reach early morning, vote & sleep. Get-up at 5pm & get ready for celebration of a national history of a BIG opposition & DAP win.

42. #42 by ktteokt on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:19 am

LONG LIVE DEMOCRACY! LONG LIVE JUSTICE! May darkness be over and light be casted upon MALAYSIA!!!!!!!

43. #43 by devilonpois on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:23 am

Let’s the wind of change continue…. even after the election…as we need more representative of rakyat to stand out and continue role model as good leadership….and serve all lapisan rakyat…and use the public tax money more efficient more meaningful…. not just build something to show off….help the poor, help the children that need educations, make theam proud to be malaysian…..and not tie to any races…as we are all malaysian…and malaysia are for everone….. so build the nation, strengthen the economy, create more harmony places, ease the people who need help to survive….and be fair to every one…. we want to see…all malaysian welfare are treated fairly……and no bias………thus, we need MP who can talk, can debate, can understand the need of rakyat…care for them…………………..

today is the judgement day…let’s excercise our voting right….

hidup Malaysia… hidup DAP hidup PKR and hidup juga PAS….semoga berjuang dengan semangat..yang hangat-hangat…..untuk mempertahankan hak rakyat…dan hak semua lapisan rakyat……..

44. #44 by cardinal on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:32 pm

BN deserved the thrashing they got. It is high time we sent those liars, cheat and bodohs away.

Congratulations to DAP for a stirling performance.

But now let us be humble and start working for a just nation full of security, freedom and equal oportunities for ALL MALAYSIANS>

45. #45 by 130679 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:39 pm

BEAUTIFUL I LOVE IT PLS MAINTAIN THE UNITY

Comments are closed.