Sin Chew Daily today reported that Parliament would be dissolved on the eighth day of the Chinese New Year (i.e. 14th February 2008), with Nomination Day immediately after Chap Goh Mei (21st February) and polling on 2nd or 3rd March, 2008.
The probability of the next general election falling in the first weekend of March is very high, which would mean that a new Parliament could be elected within 40 days!
Earlier, speculation of the next general election focused primarily on March 15 or the weekend before it. However the option of March 15 for the next general election will have to be ruled out if the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is serious about his announcement in Spain last week for the First Alliance of Civilisations Annual Forum that he would be in Senegal in March to hand over the chairmanship of the Organisation of the Islamic Conference (OIC). This is because the OIC Summit is fixed for March 13-14, 2008 for Dakar, Senegal.
With the 12th general election falling right smack during the Chinese New Year, all political parties, leaders and members will have very little time to celebrate Chinese New Year this year, which begins in a fortnight’s time.
I am very disappointed that there had been agonizingly little progress in the DAP-PKR talks for an electoral understanding to ensure a one-to-one contest with the Barisan Nasional, avoiding three-cornered fights which can only benefit the Barisan Nasional in the past two weeks.
Both parties had reached an electoral understanding on January 7, 2008 on the allocation of parliamentary and state assembly seats in Penang, which was announced in a joint media conference by leaders from both parties in Penang on 9th January 2008.
Leaders of both parties had hoped that the Penang agreement would act as a catalyst for the speedy conclusion of seats negotiations for all states in the country so that all energies and resources could be focused single-mindedly in cutting down the Barisan Nasional behemoth with its 91% parliamentary majority down to size in the next general election.
But this has not been the case, as precious little progress had been achieved in the other states in the past two weeks since the Penang agreement apart from Negri Sembilan.
Even for Negri Sembilan, where the state DAP and PKR announced agreement yesterday to take on the Barisan Nasional in straight fights, the announcement was only confined to the state assembly seats although agreement had earlier been reached by both state leaderships for parliamentary and state assembly contests as well. However, as a result of national PKR intervention, the announcement on DAP-PKR pact in Negri Sembilan was only confined to state assembly seats leaving the parliamentary seats unsettled.
I am particularly disappointed at the agonizingly slow progress in DAP-PKR seats negotiations for I had stuck my neck out to break the stalemate to ensure that the DAP-PKR electoral agreement for Penang was reached on January 7, although DAP was subsequently accused of compromising its position and yielding to PKR pressures.
Such accusation from Barisan Nasional parties and personalities are to be expected, but there are also PKR claims of this nature, like SMS which immediately made the rounds after the announcement of the DAP-PKR electoral understanding for Penang that it was achieved after public threats by a certain PKR leader.
Perak was meant to be the next state for an electoral agreement to be reached after Penang but the differences between the two state parties seem to be as wide as ever, with even the PKR National Vice President publicly reiterating PKR interest to contest in Ipoh Timur parliamentary seat.
I find such lack of progress most disappointing. By now, all parties should be making their final plans for the general election battle which will be over in 40 days – and not still bogged down by seats negotiations.
For instance, PKR should be helping the DAP in its plans to wrest another three parliamentary seats from the Barisan Nasional in Perak namely Bruas, Taiping and Teluk Intan instead of publicly laying claim to these and other seats which are the focus of DAP efforts in the coming general election, including Ipoh Timur.
Let me try to resolve the DAP-PKR logjam in the electoral talks in Perak. If Perak PKR leaders are so insistent in wanting to contest in Ipoh Timur, let there be an agreement where a three-cornered fight is allowed for Ipoh Timur involving DAP: and PKR provided full agreement on a one-to-one fight against the Barisan Nasional for all other parliamentary and state assembly seats is immediately reached for Perak.
There is no more time to lose. I will go one step further and call for full conclusion of the DAP-PKR talks on electoral agreement for all states by the end of January, i.e. in a week’s time.
If general election is held by the first weekend of March, there are only some 30 days left to fight the 12th general election.
Let 31st January 2008 be the deadline for the conclusion of the electoral talks between DAP and PKR. I hope both parties can reach an electoral understanding for a one-to-one contest against the Barisan Nasional in the forthcoming general election, but if we cannot reach agreement, then let this be decided and known instead of dragging it out indefinitely, which will not serve the cause of cutting the Barisan Nasional behemoth down to size in the 12th general election.

#1 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 6:07 pm
From the PAS supporters within the DAP, they say_ Pt1
“The non-muslims are slowly accepting PAS since Hadi had gone low profile.†Toyolbuster
“What is so wrong with engaging PAS directly ?†Godfather
“now, i think partly most of them have got a clear message regarding PAS. even thought at times PAS have it own way of implementing islamic rules, of which it really scare others away.†Burn
“Dear all, we should reject BN and vote for opposition parties, EVEN PAS. PAS is not the enemy but BN is. BN has betrayed the rakyat. They have raped our constitution rights. They have meddled with our judiciary systems. They have SECRETLY ISLAMISED Malaysia to the disadvantage of the minority non-muslims. They have taken the law into their own hands.†Samson
“Do not be afraid of PAS. At least we know who they are and what they are fighting for.†Samson
“look, even if PAS was to run against BN, dont spoil your vote. you think that if PAS was to win JB, they can change the govt? JB will be a hudud islamic state? come on mate, nothing of that sort will happen, what you can do is to vote PAS, as then YOU have an opposition MP in parliament and to object to BN’s blatant amendment in the constitution! “ Shiver
“I’m quite sure that PAS understand your struggle for Malaysian and yet they never against it. At least tey never ask you to change your mission and your party’s constitution.†azam
“You can see how much they changed since the past few years. You yourselves cannot change in a day. How you expect the other to do so.†azam
“PAS is very transparent. I don’t know any of the goverment in the world make public dialog before table the state’s enacment. PAS make it in Kelantan. “ azam
“You’re not voting for PAS. You’re voting for the Opposition. There’s a world of a difference.†Bodo Singh
“So vote for Pas when necessary.†limkamput
“Those who tell us that PAS is taboo are simply BN agents trying to “split†the Opposition vote to prevent the loss of their two-thirds majority.†Godfather
“Regime Change is not about toppling BN at the next elections. Regime Change is about routing MCA and Gerakan in key states like Penang, Melaka, Perak, Selangor. It is also about PAS winning more seats in Trengganu, Kedah and Perlis.†Godfather
“If PAS-led government behaves as is stated above, it will not last more than one term of office. The opposition parties of the day would stage a come back, and we do not expect them to compete on who could do worse to the citizens.†Loh
“There is NO possibility that PAS will win enough seats to form the next government. EVEN more impossible would be the possibility that they have 2/3 to amend the constitution.†Dranony
“We need to see the reality that PAS and DAP can never win enough seats to form the next government, even if jointly.†Dranony
#2 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 6:09 pm
Pt2,
“Unlike some of you, I don’t see voting for PAS as a sellout of our souls. I see the act of NOT voting for PAS as a sellout to the future of the country and to our future generations as there will be nothing left for them.†Godfather
“It might be true that PAS might remove democratic election within one term in office.“ Loh
“Yes PAS could make our lives worse, but there might be a chance that they would make it better for all Malaysians.†Loh
“It is not realistic to expect that PAS can come into power in the coming election. But we shall welcome it in the unforseen event, and be prepared for the worst while hope for the best; we have no hope under BN.†Loh
“The only hope for the country is change. To change we need to support PAS.†Loh
“Don’t be like the Philippines where the point of no return was reached because the majority did nothing until it was too late.†Godfather
“I won’t be surprised that if this continue on PAS will sooner or later join force with BN and that’s the end of the non-malays.†Samson
“Godfather and Loh are right. PAS may win small battles but they won’t win the war. I dare say between DAP and PAS, DAP will win more battles. There is no way Malaysia will be Islamised if PAS can only win small battles. But if BN wins, Malaysia will be an Islamic state as this is what our PM and DPM would like to portray to the delight of Muslim majority(or even to PAS) in Malaysia. The minority will continue to suffer.†Samson
“What is worrying is that there are some among us who hate PAS more than they support the Opposition.†Colonel
“It is PAS’s manifesto to impose Islamic rules, BUT they are honest about it. They have declared their willingness to talk to non-Muslims about their rights once they are in power.†Oknyua
“Still some of you are very prejudist and suspicious. Respect the other struggle and opinion is part of the civil society. Knowing and understand is very improtant. Thats why you need more dialog and drink tea togather with PAS member.†azam
“When Trengganu was run by PAS, my friends who have businesses there told me that it was easy and predictable to renew licences, or apply for business expansion. Things went by the book. No duit kopi, no free shares. If you run a resort, you can sell as much alcohol as you want.†Godfather
#3 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 6:58 pm
“It is said that if you know your enemies and know yourself, you will not be imperiled in a hundred battles; if you do not know your enemies but do know yourself, you will win one and lose one; if you do not know your enemies nor yourself, you will be imperiled in every single battle.” Sun Tzu
#4 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 7:02 pm
dawsheng – got part 3? :)
“Thats why you need more dialog and drink tea together with PAS member.†– Azam
The last time I needed a dialog and suggested the PAS member drank tea whilst I, beer, he refused to sit down together. So how?
#5 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 7:13 pm
Strange so many “PAS supporters within the DAP” but I have not heard from any DAP supporter within PAS say his piece! :)
#6 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 7:33 pm
Pt3.
It was just after the sheep had returned, on a pleasant evening when the animals had finished work and were making their way back to the farm buildings, that the terrified neighing of a horse sounded from the yard. Startled, the animals stopped in their tracks. It was Clover’s voice. She neighed again, and all the animals broke into a gallop and rushed into the yard. Then they saw what Clover had seen.
It was a pig walking on his hind legs.
:)
http://www.gutenberg.net.au/ebooks01/0100011h.html
#7 by dranony on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 7:38 pm
dawsheng,
I don’t see myself as a PAS supporter, even if I may cast my vote for them in an UMNO-PAS fight.
You may say that I consider it the lesser of two evils.
Even if there is a UMNO-PAS-DAP fight, and there is NO realistic means for DAP to win, I’d still cast my vote for PAS *this*time*around*, simply because I’d realise that the DAP candidature would serve to split the votes that might otherwise have gone to Barisan (via MCA and Gerakan campaigning).
If it were a MCA-DAP fight ie BN vs DAP, I’d hope that PAS supporters would vote anti-BN too.
#8 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 8:10 pm
Hope, my friend, is believing that a positive outcome is possible even when there is some evidence to the contrary. And the lesser of two evils is still evil.
#9 by oknyua on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 9:02 pm
dawsheng, good summary saves YB Lim reading all the comments.
In a way “dranony” is stating what I feel right now; the lesser of two evils, unless of course there is a third option. Any suggestion?
#10 by dranony on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 9:32 pm
dawsheng: “And the lesser of two evils is still evil.”
appears to be profound, but simply a cliche.
What is the alternative, dawsheng?
A spoilt vote will also result in a BN win. An abstention will also result in a BN win.
In a UMNO-PAS fight, which would you vote? Be realistic, be honest.
If the result is BN government with >2/3,
would it NOT be a greater evil than a BN with only 1/2 to 2/3?
(with the rest being distributed among DAP, PAS and PKR.)
If only PAS supporters can think logically likewise, and be encouraged to vote DAP in DAP-MCA fights, then that would also be to DAP’s favour.
In other words, PAS supporters should also be encouraged to vote against BN where possible, and DAP supporters should be encouraged to vote against BN where possible.
BN supporters will vote the BN in, but with a lesser majority.
If you hesitate for a moment to ponder over it, you might also see the logic of it.
Don’t be so quick to dismiss it, I implore you.
#11 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 9:47 pm
PKR had agreed on a electoral pact with DAP in Penang, by making the concession in Penang PKR hopes that DAP will be satisfied to lead the opposition in Penang. At the most PKR/DAP electoral pact will be achieved in few more states but it will not be all states. This is because PKR can’t squeeze any seats from PAS in other states, and this is the main reason why PKR is targeting DAP’s strongholds, like the one in Ipoh Timur. Another is what Anwar would like to see should opposition gain control as goverment, DAP will be reduced to the size of Gerakan, so Penang is ideal. That is why Keng Yeik said PKR “ciak” DAP.
On the other side, PKR will not be contesting in JB, where PAS usually field its candidate unless PAS willingly give it up to PKR but this is unlikely. There may be an electoral pact existed between PKR and PAS achieved long ago, it is not hard for Anwar to give in to PAS because more likely he was obliged to, judging by their past relationship, PAS and Anwar has come a long way.
Where PAS go PKR will also go but as partners. Where DAP go PKR and PAS can also go but as contenders.
#12 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 10:35 pm
But to assume that PAS is under Anwar’s control is kinda naive. Once PAS won more seats with the help of non-muslims voters, it will have more bargaining power, as to what it bargains for you can rest assure its priority will not be in non-muslims’ interest and benefits. A vote for PAS may eventually weaken the oppositions, in particular DAP, if not careful, stand a chance of being eliminate once and for all.
#13 by Samson on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 11:06 pm
“Are you saying the non-Malays are presently in fear of being made Muslims and have syariah law applied to them??”-Colonel
Isn’t the above happening now? A dead non-muslim being made a Muslim and a Civil Law giving way to Syariah Law in matters relating to Death Marriage and Divorce. Proof of Islamisation of BN government. Where is the JUSTICE?
“Crying wolf like what you’re doing here fortunately will not mislead those moderates among Malays and Chinese who still make up the majority of voters”-Colonel.
It is not meant to mislead but more of A WAKE UP CALL-To be aware of the happenings and to prevent futher violation of the poor minority’s rights.
#14 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 11:11 pm
“A vote for PAS may eventually weaken the oppositions, in particular DAP, if not careful, stand a chance of being eliminate once and for all.”
Care to elaborate??
#15 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 11:42 pm
Anwar have two friends, one is Guan Eng and the other one is Husam Musa but Anwar no need Guan Eng but he needs Husam Musa.
#16 by alaneth on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 12:00 am
Chinese people around the world would like a peaceful environment to make money, doing business & making more money. A peaceful=stable govt that do not restrict the environment to make money. With this respect, many will vote for stability = BN.
However, many are also upset over the ’stable’ govt but not providing the best environment for making money.
For sure, a vote for DAP, even if DAP wins as many seats that one can ever dream of, BN will also rule, 99% likely with 2/3 majority, 100% with majority.
So business-wise = Either BN or DAP is OK.
But looking into the other issues happening like the non-muslim corpse snatching, banning lion dance in SMBU4, lock-down on beer ads, Islam Hadhari which indirectly affects non-muslims, Chinese schools, etc etc…… if MCA/Gerakan wins big = allys of UMNO = situation getting worse.
So this time round I expect votes for DAP will increase tremendously.
I predict this time round in GE 2008, this may happen :
1. Uncle Lim will retain Ipoh Timur with bigger majority.
2. Same for Karpal Singh
3. More Parlimentary Seats for DAp – possibly 15-20.
4. Penangnites will still chose Gerakan for State & DAP for Parliment, with an increase of the latter.
5. Big change for Melaka – much more state & parlimentary seats will go to DAP due to Chinese fed-up with Ali Rustam’s closing down pig farms, ban beer ads & too Islamic in all his ways.
6. BN may still lose Kelantan. The people there have deeply rooted into mini-Afghanistan’s taliban rule. Those who oppose have mostly migrated out to KL, JB or elsewhere.
7. Johor may see a breakthru – a first DAP state or parlimentary seat to DAP.
8. Selangor & NS will see more new seats going to DAP.
All these I predict from the support of Malaysian Chinese from:
a) The Sanggang By-Election effect. Higher majority.
b) The Sarawak state elections – DAP won big there. A little known secret why DAP won unexpectedly big there… it is not only about land issues. Remember the Sarawak Tribune which was BANNED by the Federal govt just before the elections? Well, that is a widely read newspaper by the Chinese in Sarawak.!
#17 by alaneth on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 12:22 am
But for a Tribute to Dr.Chua Soi Lek, I feel DAP should NOT contest in his area Labis.
DAP supporters or not, Dr.Chua is a very good man who’s kind deeds lived in the hearts of many Chinese.
It is most gentlemanly that I propose DAP not to contest in his ex-seat as a goodwill gesture to him. This gentleman move by DAP in just the Labis seat will capture the hearts of the people of Johor and will cause an overwhelming support for DAP elsewhere in Johor, whereby MCA supporters will salute DAP & may even switch to vote DAP. Do it & announce it. Not only Johor, the whole of Malaysia will salute you & give better support.
Take my advice DAP & show the nation that politics is not dirty & greedy but be the first party to go down into history that is a gentleman.
#18 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 1:02 am
Anwar/PKR weakest amongst opposition parties (with only 1 Parliamentary seat held by Dr. Wan Azizah Ismail from 9% of total votes based on last election) compared to PAS (15.2% of votes under represented due to gerrymandering with 7 seats in parliament) and DAP, presently the largest Opposition Party, also under represented due to gerrymandering with 12 parliamentary seats and 21 state seats.
Anwar’s & PAS’s respective gameplans –
1. for time being from position of weakness, Anwar has to basically tap on PAS Malay support & DAP’s Chinese support holding balance between them.
2. Way to do with DAP is to convince DAP that it needs PKR because of reality of Malay political dominance so that DAP has to declare collaboration with PKR by electoral pact if and since it cannot do so with PAS and if and even Anwar does a back to back pact with PAS on the other side.
3. Pursuant to Anwar/DAP pact, let DAP make its bid in Penang (long time ambition of DAP)for control of state govt and as trade off, make a bid for sharing of some DAP’s seats in Perak and elsewhere to gain on its own more seats at DAP’s expense. Here DAP is taking risk in Penang for their Voters may give DAP Parliamentary seats but not necessarily state seats to control state govt. In exchange for something not certain in Penang (wrestling over control of state govt) DAP sacrifices a few seats to Anwar/PKR elsewhere, in process strengthening him/it.
4. Anwar however plays the card of telling non-Malays to win their confidence that he’s against extremist race based NEP and religious extremism. In spite of being against religious extremism theocracy, he inconsistently collaborates with the other side with PAS because he needs them to get top post when new govt formed.
5. Meanwhile PAS for the time being assumes a less fanatical face to ameliorate non Malay concerns. Using Kelantan as show case, it tries to show its religious tolerance. Chinese are a small minority in Malay rural heartland controlled by PAS that it can temporarily afford to give equal treatment to both Muslims and non-Muslims and show greater tolerance. (This is but a small price, temporary at that, to pay to gain the support of the more numerous Chinese in other states who are unhappy with the BN’s racial policies and corruption). It also tries to use Anwar to garner Malay voters antithetical against UMNO but are too moderate to support PAS directly.
6. The pact (Anwar/PAS) is if Opposition wins, PAS will dominate and run the new govt with Anwar as the nominal head. Anwar here rides on a tiger (of Islamofacist party like PAS) just like Lee Kuan Yew initially did on back of Communist/Socialist support to come to power and later see how it could tame it but PAS calculates that it will tame Anwar instead. PAS, once ensconced in seat of power, can discard its liberal pretensions and assert its more Islamic face/agenda to complete the Islamisation of Malaysia from point where UMNO last left off. To buttress its strength it will offer the UMNOputras sharing the dream of an Islamic State to cross over and join the PAS dominated government subject to their toeing PAS’s politics. Anwar will be given the olive branch that he/PKR too would shed some liberal pretension to compromise with PAS’s Islamic agenda in exchange for top seat, a nominal one controlled from behind by PAS, something not a great deal to Anwar since he shared same ideological pinning with Islamic Cause since his ABIM days. This is what Dawsheng probably meant when he commented “Where PAS go PKR will also go but as partners. Where DAP go PKR and PAS can also go but as contenders” unless I may add that DAP relent to play the parallel subordinate second fiddle role as MCA/MIC/Gerakan play in relation to dominat UMNO, beholden to dominant malay/muslim party PAS (for the crumbs of some positions in government) ostensibly to represent non muslims interest in a full fledged Islamic theocratic state. This is provided that DAP shed or tone down its pluralistic agenda and offers no resistance to PAS’s Islamic state and its agenda. It is a condition precedent to DAP to share crumbs of power in a PAS dominated government dedicated to Islam, nominally led by Anwar. With power, PAS could then execute its agenda to change the Federal Constitution presently based on sovereignty of man made laws to one based on God made divine laws (of course with certain concessions to Non Muslim minorities).
This is the likely scenario if for some fortuitous events lead to a PAS led Opposition winning the elections and in position to form government ie if the win and transfer of power by BN were not disrupted and thwarted by any untowward incident parallel to 5/13 to justify why the results of election not being carried out in the name of national interests…..
#19 by dawsheng on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 1:30 am
Politics is an art of deception.
#20 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 1:51 am
In an opposition led victory, how can DAP still assert its pluralistic/secular agenda – and yet remain and share power and have a part to play in the new government – when the politically Malay dominant senior partner main raison de etre is to form the Islamic state/government and change the Constitution to a Sharia based one, and Anwar/PKR for the sake of Anwar’s position as nominal head, does not back the DAP’s agenda and instead go along with PAS?
If Anwar/PKR did not back DAP years back when it split from BA over PAS’s theocratic policy why would Anwar/PKR back DAP when power is finally attained by and within grasp of PAS led Opposition?
Not backed what do you expect DAP to do? If it sticks to its guns, it will have again to leave to bark as a lone opposition against an Islamofacist government like the way it did in the past against UMNO led BN.
What will happen to UMNO by then in the opposition have to do to win back power principally from Maly votes?
If they are not already incarcerated by PAS govt in the name of the Almighty (since no ISA by then) and if they are afforded democratic leeway to contest the New Opposition PAS led govt, UMNO will probably have to come out with further programs to further compete and outislamise PAS’s theocratic state – which DAP cannot even join or collaborate if that were the reason it was kicked out or had left the new BA PAS led government!
Well the DAP would revert to its previous role as a “barking” opposition except that it is alone barking this time around since UMNO opposition is dedicated to further compete in Islamisation with PAS led/Anwar Govt.
#21 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 9:31 am
But in the other scenario of PAS led Opposition failing to win sufficient seats to form govt but make sufficient inroads to deprive BN 2/3, would the UMNO led BN, in an attempt to rectify loss of support become more democratic and acountable as people wish here or the other way, to islamise further the administration in a bid to win back Malay ground lost by competing more with PAS’s winning formula?
#22 by Godfather on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 10:48 am
Jeffrey:
An Opposition led victory is a myth. The other scenario of the Opposition denying the thieves the two-thirds majority is what we should aim for. UMNO may compete with PAS to be even more Islamic in order to win back the Malay votes, but what can they do without the 2/3rds majority ? It will be the death knell for the non-Muslim parties in the BN coalition.
As Limkamput pointed out in one of his comments earlier, the non-Muslims could become the “swing” votes between PAS and UMNO, and that it is equally possible that either party may become more liberal in order to secure their positions.
Lastly, why the comment regarding a PAS-led Opposition ? Can’t it be a DAP led Opposition or a equal partners Opposition ?
#23 by dawsheng on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 11:11 am
“UMNO may compete with PAS to be even more Islamic in order to win back the Malay votes, but what can they do without the 2/3rds majority ? It will be the death knell for the non-Muslim parties in the BN coalition.”
Once the competition between UMNO and PAS intensifies it will be the death knell for any non-muslims party in any coalition. In current situation, MCA, Gerakan, MIC are losing non-muslims supports in the BN coalition because UMNO’s religious bigotry, trying to outdo PAS to maintain Malay-muslims supporters base.
To expect UMNO and PAS to become more liberal after receiving swing votes from the non-muslims will be naive, as history has shown that it will be the contrary. Has UMNO become more liberal after 50 years? PAS’s current soft approach is just a tactic to fish for non-muslims votes.
Can MCA/Gerakan/MIC/PPP led the BN coalition? A DAP led or equal partners opposition is not possible this general election but depending on the result DAP may lead the opposition in 2011 or 2012, provided non-muslims did not vote for PAS.
#24 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 11:29 am
//why the comment regarding a PAS-led Opposition ? Can’t it be a DAP led Opposition or a equal partners Opposition ?// – Godfather
The reason: in this country with current 60% population and growing at a faster rate than others, I assume rightly or wrongly, the reality that a Malay/Muslim based political party, whether UMNO or Pas, will lead the show, with Malay political dominance being the main political leitmotif, it being extremely hard for me to conceive DAP led Opposition or a equal partners Opposition will be allowed to come to power and run the country.
In the other situation, I don’t really subscribe to Lim Kam Put’s suggestion that non-Muslims could become the “swing†votes between PAS and UMNO, and that it is equally possible that either party may become more liberal in order to secure their positions because that presupposes that non Malay votes/constitutencies are significant in number and critical factor especially over time whereas it is my expectation that over time with the comparative higher Malay birth rates (not to mention influx of Indonesians) and migration of Non Malays plus the gerrymandering that is going on, non Malay votes/constitutencies will get less and less significant in overall political equation. (Even now how many non Malay seats in Parliament can they get if they all vote for one party instead of being fragmented – maybe 30%? If I were right, then the Malay votes/constitutencies will get more and more important in proportion to the Islamisation theme competed for by the 2 Malay based parties. I don’t think principles of liberal democratic government count that much for the majority group because otherwise PKR would have done much better than with just 1 Federal seat and to have to depend on PAS competing with UMNO for the Malay ground. This would be the same reason making it not a big issue to either UMNO nor PAS in response to the other point you made – ie that “UMNO may compete with PAS to be even more Islamic in order to win back the Malay votes, but what can they do without the 2/3rd majority ? It will be the death knell for the non-Muslim parties in the BN coalition (meaning it will implode).
Rustam Ali of Malaca – and one poster here Shamsul Anuar – made this point that UMNO can run the show without any of the non Malay component parties if push comes to shove and bottom line. Presently it still maintains the facade of ‘ power sharing’ just to give the world the impression that its group is representative of plural Malaysia which is small price, as long as everyone knows who’s boss. They are not worried about implosion as in sense of BN component parties ceasing to be relevant or leaving BN fold due to intense Islamisation. They are only woried of implosion, if it occurs, within UMNO.
, even as I that
#25 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 11:39 am
Godfather, my response to you comments is “awaiting moderation”. :)
#26 by alaneth on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 1:45 pm
We are debating too deep here into the technicalities of coalition, fear of Islamisation, etc etc…
But the non-Muslim mindset is simple which will show in the elections. Whatever parties contest, they will vote the more pro-Liberal, pro-Secular, anti-Fanatism, anti-Extremism regardless of whatever party contests.
Of course Khir Toyo & Ali Rustam’s extremist policies will not go down well with non-Muslims. Tajol Rosli, Adnan Yaakob, Mohd Hassan will fare better……
If no good choice then spoilt votes will increase or they may not even bother to vote.
#27 by Loh on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 4:09 pm
///Umno needs a fresh mandate from the people in the soon-to-be-held general election to provide continuity to the Malay agenda struggle, party information chief Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib said.
With the new mandate, he said, the Barisan Nasional (BN) government helmed by Umno could pursue programmes to upgrade the socio-economic well-being of the Malays///
He spoke as though Malaysia belongs only to Malays.
#28 by Loh on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 6:28 pm
The above news item was copied from Malaysia Today.
#29 by Godfather on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 7:43 pm
I guess it is a case of some of us looking at the bottle as half empty, and some looking at it as half full. Let’s move on to other threads.
#30 by dawsheng on Sunday, 27 January 2008 - 10:56 pm
It may also be a case of illusion, where some people see the bottle as full when in fact the bottle is empty. :)
#31 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 28 January 2008 - 1:10 am
What bottle??
#32 by azam on Monday, 28 January 2008 - 1:50 pm
Dawsheng;
Very unfair for u take Islam word from SIS or anti-hadith group. Same thing very unfair for me to jugde Chritianity from the eye of Yehovah Withnesses. Very unfair for me to judge Hindu from Saif Baba perspective.
You keep on talking about differences. What is your objectives? Why don’t you talk about similarities. I’m quite sure that the similarities are plenty to discuss. I’m quite sure that if we can understand each other, that better for future generation.
As I state previously, PAS never ask you and DAP to change your vision, mission and struggle. PAS respect the differences.
Taking Kelantan as example. The operating procedure introduce by the state goverment never devided based on religion. Skim Kifalah insurans give the benifit to everybody died more than 60 years old. Every chinese got problem such as house burn or flood will be help sama as malay. Even the scholarship give by this poor state to all the Kelantanese including the chinese. You can ask YB Ng Yen Yen Deputy of Miniter from MCA. She was the one who recieved the scholarship from Kelantan State during medical study.
The land act also implement fair for Kelantan people without see the race. The malay or chinese from out site Kelantan, if they want to buy land in Kelantan, it should be through State Exco. That’s why the hindu very much agree that Kelantan state gave the primier land in the middle of Kota Bharu for them to built tample. The issues of land, my dear brother, can not hide the picture of PAS if PAS truly anti other religion.
What do you say?
#33 by sotong on Tuesday, 29 January 2008 - 8:18 am
Most non bumi are very independent and resourceful. They do not rely on the government for their success…..irrespective of who is in government, they will not benefit much from the handouts.
The country needs an urgent radical reform of the government administration to ensure its stability, integrity and prosperity in the long term.
To vote for real change, one needs to vote Opposition.