Challenge to Zam – Update regularly the RTM website on my blog postings

I challenge the Information Minister, Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin to regularly update the RTM website with my blog postings to let the Malaysian public evaluate their quality and veracity.

Yesterday, on the sidelines of the Umno General Assembly, Zainuddin announced the RTM website www.rtm.net.my will publish selected comments from blog.limkitsiang.com to let readers judge for themselves my blog.

He said: “From today, you can expect to see whatever sensationalized, racist and chauvinistic comments in the blog because we will publish them on the RTM and other agencies’ websites.”

Yesterday, the RTM website started a new “Media Baru” section which carried a YouTube video of the parliamentary exchange between Zainuddin and myself on press freedom and two of my blog postings, Zam – Info Minister under coconut shell or bidding to be Mat Rempit “Godfather”? (26th October 2007) and Zam sees red in being called “monkey” in this blog (November 7, 2007).

Let Zainuddin state where I had made “sensationalized, racist and chauvinistic comments” in these two blog postings.

In my Oct. 26 posting, I said that Zainuddin “has provided proof that he runs the Information Ministry like a frog under the coconut shell blissfully unaware that in the era of globalization and international competitiveness Malaysia cannot turn a blind eye to complaints, whether by Malaysians or foreigners, about misgovernance”.

This was in connection with the complaint by a visiting Canadian consultant, Manjit Sokhai, who had complained to the Parliamentary Caucus on Human Rights and Good Governance “about the menace of Mat Remptism, of which he was the most recent victim”.

Manjit , 43, from Montreal visits Malaysia three to four times a year in connection with his work. He was driving his four-wheel drive along Jalan Rasah, Seremban at about 11pm on Oct 20, with three friends from India when he was confronted by some 40 Mat Rempits on motorcycles, who assaulted him and went on to damage his vehicle, smashing the rear lights, wipers and number plate.

At the media conference at the Parliament lobby, where Manjit attended, I cited the recent crimes of Mat Rempitism, including murder, where even police and road transport officials had become victims, and called on the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to give his personal attention to wipe out the Mat Rempit menace subverting law and order, creating fear among Malaysians and visitors about their personal safety, giving the country a bad name internationally and undermining Malaysia’s international competitiveness.

In my November 7 posting, I referred to the parliamentary exchange on 5th November 2007 where Zainuddin started by accusing me of calling him a “monkey” in my blog, but backing down when confronted and admitting it was a comment left on the blog.

Zainuddin had distorted what transpired in the parliamentary exchange by claiming that I had apologized for the comment. I did not apologise. I did express regret at the language used which was brought about by the low level of discourse caused by Zainuddin’s mischievous and irresponsible utterances.

Yes, I had said in my blog that I was surprised that the RTM on 6th November had telecast the parliamentary exchange. Why? This is explained by one email which I received on the parliamentary telecast:

“Dear Mr Lim:

“I hardly watch TV but made it a point to watch last night’s telecast of your debate with Zam.

“Since Zam (I presume) controls RTM, I can only conclude that he had the debate shown as it would (he thought) make him look good.

“This really perplexes me – I would be ashamed, if I were him, to behave like that as a Minister. He demonstrated his stupidity and shallowness of thought to the whole country on national TV, seems to me that calling him a monkey is less an insult to him and more of an insult to the real monkeys in the forest, and you may quote me!

“Richard Teoh”

Zainuddin should stop misleading the Malaysian public. I never called him a monkey in my blog as he had first alleged in the parliamentary exchange, as borne out by the Hansard, viz:

Datuk Seri Zainuddin bin Maidin: Bagaimana kredibiliti, bagaimana kualitinya DAP apa yang ditulis tentang saya dalam DAP. Say baca… .. “Zam is behaving like BN monkey that gone bananas over nuts”… .

[Dewan riuh]

Datuk Seri Zainuddin bin Maidin: Malu! Malu! Seorang anggota Parlimen menulis macam ini di sini, malu!

Tuan Lim Kit Siang [Ipoh Timur]: Siapa tulis itu?

Datuk Seri Zainuddin bin Maidin: You tulis, tapi tak usahlah… you tak usah kata you tak tulis, ini Lim Kit Siang blog.

Tuan Lim Kit Siang [Ipoh Timur]: Itu komen atau saya tulis? Bukan, adakah saya menulis? Itu komen pelawat-pelawat.

[Dewan riuh]

Zainuddin should be educated about blogs, which consist of two parts — my postings and comments from visitors.

I am responsible for every word of my own postings. As for the comments from visitors, I accept responsibility for providing the platform for divergent views expressed but I do not accept responsibility for every view expressed — which will be most ridiculous when diametrically contrary views are aired!

Just as I never called Zainuddin a “monkey”, the Information Minister was very mischievous and irresponsible in alleging that I wanted him and Khairy Jamaluddin to be killed by Mat Rempits.

The comment he referred to was not any incitement to kill Zam and Khairy but an expression of disgust at their irresponsibility in ignoring the menace of Mat Remptism whose depredations are race-blind, causing the poster to give expression to the despair that both of them would only realize the nefarious nature of Mat Rempitism if they themselves suffer the criminal worst in the hands of the Mat Rempits.

Again, it is regrettable that such a comment is posted, but does Zainuddin understand why his indifference to the menace of Mat Rempitism has driven many Malaysians to despair?

1. #1 by Jong on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:04 pm

YB, it’s good they have download your two blog postings in RTM website that was only half of it, why stop at that? Why not also include the response/comments of visitors that followed and let the Malaysian public judge for themselves. The rakyat’s stand is more important.

2. #2 by watgoblok on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:28 pm

Zam should say goblok to himself since he doesn’t know how blogs work

3. #3 by justiciary on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:32 pm

YB Lim.we always believe truth pevails over falsehood;justice beats arrogance and distortion;sincerity and honesty trounce hypocrisy;wisdom and capabablity overrules stupidity and mediocrity and angel defeats devil.Maybe it takes time for the above to happen.But eventually it will materialise.

4. #4 by oedipus on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:33 pm

i guess it is good that YB Zam brings more attention to your blog via free advertisement on the tv and internet. just get ready for a sudden surge in visitors that may overwhelm the server.

its up to readers to discern if comments here are opposition in nature OR racist in nature.

btw i just witnessed 2 mat rempit cum snatch thief over my place last night.

5. #5 by watgoblok on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:38 pm

If it’s about leadership in this country they behave like this–

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4je5SN7Pag

;If it comes to the word–monkey , they are all awaken.
    sighs…

6. #6 by dawsheng on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:41 pm

Free publicity, this blog is getting huge, very very huge. Thanks to Zam, he is not a monkey but he is inhuman.

7. #7 by smeagroo on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:41 pm

Zam is truly living under a coconut shell. ANd he wanted to have a small newsprint some time soon in his own name? DUhhh!

Zam, if u r a man, then do continue to advertise YB LKS’s blog in RTM’s New Media. LEt more ppl see your foolishness and ugliness!

8. #8 by luzzio on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:43 pm

it’s really ironic how the Information Minister knows almost nothing about blogs, which is taking the world’s freedom of speech to a whole new level, leveling (no matter how little) the playing field between corporates media companies obviously controlled by the government, and individuals like YB Lim, rockybru and RPK.

9. #9 by carloz28 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 12:46 pm

It’s good that Zam decided to publish high quality contents and honest comments from this blog to other websites….Let the whole Malaysia know about the truth and the real feelings of the true rakyat…..

Publish this if you want, Zam, if you cannot handle a ‘simple’ critic from a blog, how can you handle government affairs? Take it like a man…Uncle Lim has suffered harsher criticism than you in the Parliment…Ppl called him monkey, racist, traitor..but yet Uncle Lim took it all in his stride and act coolly…Did Uncle complained in the newspaper or make a big huh hah out of it?

RELEK LER…Brader….you cant suppress the freedom of speech among bloggers…welcome to earth

10. #10 by bra888 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 1:00 pm

I believe it is possible, there’s a good outcome from this. Please hear me out.

If all these is broadcasted, it is possible that people will start to question Zam’s capability to function properly as an Information Ministry.

However, if the comments revealed were biased to support his ideas, then that would be a problem.

I suggest Lim Kit Siang to be aware of this issue and make sure all types of comments are revealed. When I say all, I really mean all. We cannot allow only biased comments to go out.

“He said: “From today, you can expect to see whatever sensationalized, racist and chauvinistic comments in the blog because we will publish them on the RTM and other agencies’ websites.””

I believe his tactic is to prove to the people that Lim Kit Siang is interacting with racist people.

We cannot allow the people to view all the racist comments like he claims to have many in this blog. If this happens, Zam may actually brainwash the people into believing him.

In other words, we cannot allow biased people brainwash the people to be biased to support them.

Please take note of this.

11. #11 by bra888 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 1:16 pm

Anyway, personally, I would like to say that I support you Lim Kit Siang for standing up and voice out regarding to this issue.

I believe that many would have chosen to put into reverse gear and escape.

You have proven yourself brave enough to accelerate in 5th gear.

I will always support you as long as you give constructive arguments and have not let your feelings be the denominator of your arguments. I’ll continue to support you as long as you continue to fight for our rights.

You have taken your career as a respected profession. Good luck.

As for Zam however, you’ve failed us all with the freedom of press index results. So do not expect any support for me. Shame on you for shaming this entire country.

12. #12 by alexl on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 1:23 pm

i like how Zam tries to spin the whole issue claiming Mr.Lim called him a monkey BECAUSE he allowed the comment to be there. on a scale of 1 to 10 i’d give him 8 for effort 2 for style and 14 for idiocracy.

also what’s with the kinabatangan dude yelling like an overgrown ape all the time. someone should explain that’s what the mic is for. i thought it was pretty novel in itself that just as he was calling the opposition ‘Hilang Akal’ he blanked out himself trying to look for those words…

13. #13 by 1eyecls on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 2:49 pm

beware mr.lim,by the efforts that you alredy done and sacrificed for the rakyat for the past 20 -odd years,you shud be titled TUN or TUN SERI(so far,nobody has this title yet!),i know you didnt like it,but anyway,come back to the issue of ZAM,again,beware,it’s a trap!

started from now,the Cyper-Putras from UMNO is going to send as many as possible negative comments in your blog and will claim whatever he said was true!

14. #14 by k1980 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 2:53 pm

Take note, umno: When the cost of living passes the limit of the man-in-the-street, all hell will break loose
    http://www.reuters.com/article/homepageCrisis/idUSL09565711._CH_.2400
    Record prices for grains and other crops is making life difficult for millions…and is raising fears of severe food shortages. Unprecedented oil prices have increased transport costs, while the explosion in biofuels, subsidised by some Western countries for being less environmentally damaging than fossil fuels, has also contributed to the rise.

15. #15 by smeagroo on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 2:56 pm

aiya take a look at umno’s website and kpmu.net and u will find equal rubbish from the people. so who should be held accountable? Pak Lah kah Zam Zam?

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 2:57 pm

Look, if a member of Abdullah Badawi’s Cabinet deems it fit to treat visitors’ comments to a political blog as being the same as those of the blogger, let all Malaysians judge if he is Minister material. Obviously he is not – and this casts a shadow on his boss who appointed him to the Cabinet.

Enough of this monkey business!

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 3:06 pm

By the way the Information Minister ought to know the difference between the government and the political party that runs it. RTM is not an organ of UMNO nor Barisan and he should cease treating it as such.

Malaysians know the difference but the same cannot be said of their Information Minister. What message are we sending to the rest of the world?

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 3:15 pm

Watgoblok says,

“Zam should say goblok to himself since he doesn’t know how blogs work”

He should start his own blog and we then can quote what visitors to his blog say. That is only fair.

He should go-blok so others could call him by the Indonesian term “goblok” which means someone is worse than stupid – known for its derogatory sense.

19. #19 by Loading... on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 3:38 pm

Zam should look at the definition of “blog” before calling people to look at the dictionary for the “gablok”. Really shame on you…….

20. #20 by echopena on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 4:07 pm

I’m afraid if someone took a step as far as to pay someone to post bad things on the blog and then publish them to prove things that they want to prove. Mr Lim Kit Siang might need to hire someone to filter and approve comments before they are being publish ;)

21. #21 by mendela on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 4:30 pm

Malaysiakini is down. Malaysia-Today too is hard to log on. Next will be this blog?

22. #22 by helpless on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 4:46 pm

Free publicity.

One shall take any constructive opinion positively.

23. #23 by melayukampungbharu on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 4:52 pm

walaupun I melayu..asal dari kampung bharu..tapi kami tetap tak sokong UMNO..jadi buat Zam..kamu Yg Berhormat..mnesti belajar tinggi,kalau kamu jujur dan amanah,takdelah org nak kutuk dan ngumpat kamu,jadi fikir fikir kan lah.

24. #24 by MidClassMsian on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 5:15 pm

Haha, YB Kit Siang, once again we should appreciate the stupidity of gov officials. This is great opportunity to embarass them more…….not that they have not embarassed themselves bad enough.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 5:47 pm

“…///….I challenge the Information Minister, Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin to regularly update the RTM website with my blog postings to let the Malaysian public evaluate their quality and veracity…
    //…” – YB Kit.

Please take note that Zam did not say he would allow the quality and veracity to be evaluated on the balance of all postings : I think he meant that he would only cherry pick selectively such postings and “selected comments” from blog.limkitsiang.com that are sensationalized, racist and chauvinistic comments for publication in RTM and other agencies’ websites…..

26. #26 by wits0 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 5:47 pm

“He should start his own blog”

Indeed. Since journalists are nonsense and very low. See:
    Get high the Malaysian way 101:
    http://bolehland.com/2007/11/09/get-high-the-malaysian-way-101/#comments

27. #27 by watgoblok on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 6:53 pm

are the both malaysiakini and malaysiatoday web banned?

28. #28 by disapointed86 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 6:58 pm

i was amazed by zam’s ability to read blogs and to understand the cointain..one thing disappointed me is that he dont even know who wrote the messages…no doubt its YM LIM blog..but the comment here are written by all of us..now i understand y he is a “MONKEY” who goes crazy when seeing bananas….ZAM..admit your mistake..we dont need monkey like you to be our mp..just resign and go back to your jungle!!you’re not educated at all so stop commenting about ppl’s blog..

29. #29 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 7:31 pm

Zam, for God’s sake, stop monkeying around! Please shut up because I know you better.

If BN were in the opposition (God willing, sooner than you think) and DAP / PKR were the government, would you relish the thought of a muzzled press, slanted reporting, disinformation, misinformation, distortions of every shape and colour and disregard for everyman’s rule on fairness and freedom of the press. WOuld you like to be so clamp’d, cabin’d and coffin’d in your mind and opinion space? The universal golden rule is “Don’t do unto others what you would not others do unto you”. You should know that since you were a journalist of sorts though I never thought too much either of your opinions or your writings.

Such lofty ideals as embodied in the universal golden rule are never understood by monkeys. And if you don’t wish to be so labelled nor prove you share such primate’s DNA, then you should begin to show that you are a homo sapien and behave like a fair and reasonable man.

There will always be opposing political parties and hence, views that clash. The true greatness of democracy and manhood is that we are prepared to talk and listen without drawn kerises and let the people decide who should be their chosen representatives on a level playing field. Nobody will be more offended by a game of football where referees take sides or players take bribes and where the rules are bent to serve only one team. Football, like politics, is meant to be enjoyed by all, according to the rules of fair play and honesty. At the end of the day, there is a glowing sense of happiness that every team has stretched to his limits and contributed to a game well played. Similarly, all political parties contribute to a dynamic society and stretch out every man’s potential. The nation benefits.

My point is that under the present scenario, the Ministry of Information is best regarded as UMNO’s private Information Wing! And that’s simply not right. No taxpayer would agree to that!

Usually, I do not have the luxury of time to write lengthy opinion pieces. Hence, when I see cheeky fries like you hogging the limelight and headlines as if you ‘own’ the Ministry’s media, I get very annoyed and just summarise all those pent-up frustrations and disgust in short lines like I did : ” “Zam is behaving like BN monkey that has gone bananas over nuts”. Many others have done the same and that’s what blogs are for: to allow the people to air their thoughts, mostly, ‘briefly’. One merely gauges the measure of disgust and dissatisfaction from the ink that flowed rather than condemn the ionization energy from the electrons that flew off.

If you want a good debate, then do it with substance with MPs like the YBs LKS, Karpal, Dr. TAn Seng Giaw etc. And that means show your face in Parliament more frequently for meaningful exchanges. Right now, what we see is your feeble attempts at ephemeral fame on the back of racist inclinations and support. I pity you. It’s an abject spectacle and you are such a poor thing.

At the expense of saving a few words, let me put it succinctly: ZAm, I honestly don’t think you deserve another term! Think I should have a word with Lingam?

30. #30 by extim on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 7:32 pm

They are so childish!!!RTM and ZAM really got nothing to do…

31. #31 by humanly on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 8:43 pm

Endangered Hornbill compared politics as football. May I add good footballers play the ball and not the opponent.

YB Kit, be prepared of agent provacateurs spamming your blog with racist diatribes to prove DAP supporters are Malay haters. They might be Umno goons disguised as Chinese chauvinists spewing hatred.

I urge everyone not to fall into the trap and stoop to their level.

32. #32 by messy on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 8:45 pm

haha…this is so funny…
    a minister who can’t even differentiate a comment and a post…
    kit siang u really got to give him an english dictionary…
    or maybe introduce him to some english course….
    no…no…he should have a course on blogs…haha
    dun worry let it be shown on RTM…
    this will let the whole rakyat know how “intelligent” this minister is…
    let the ppl be the judge

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 8:54 pm

“Endangered Hornbill compared politics as football. May I add good footballers play the ball and not the opponent.”

Thanks to ENGENDERED HORNBILL, the joke about the Information Minister, the monkey and your nuts and your bananas are now making its round throught all the watering holes in KL.

As for playing the ball instead of the player, I’d rather see our Information Minister go for your bananas rather than your nuts.

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 9:54 pm

The difference??? One is nice, the other could be painful.

35. #35 by dawsheng on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 10:10 pm

A very well written comment picked up from Malaysia Today;

Rohani Hitam wrote:
    Saya rasa amat malu dengan temuramah yang di-jalankan olih Al-Jazeerah dengan Menteri Penerangan kita.

Bahasa Inggeris yang di-tuturkan tidak dapat mencerminkan kawalan bahasa yang betul dan isi kata Zam hanya menunjukkan pengetahuan dan pendededahan tipis tentang informasi antarabangsa dan etika dalam temuramah.

Dakwaan Zam yang polis telah mengawal baik keadaan sunnguh menggelikan hati masyarakat kerana ini bercanggah dengan keadaan di-mana polis telah menggunakan gas pemedih mata dan ayer semburan.

Para peserta perhimpunan sa-benar-nya yang telah berkelakuan dengan baik dan mengikut rancangan yang telah di-tentukan untuk berjalan terus ka-istana tanpa melakukan rusuhan atau jenayah melanggar keamanan negara. Pihak polis yang telah melakukan reaksi melebehi dari yang perlu dengan melakukan keganasan menggunakan gas pemedih mata serta water cannon terhadap peserta yang tak berdosa.

Bukan masyarakat Malaysia yang mentertawakan Al-Jazeerah tapi masyarakat dunia yang mentertawakan Zam dengan bahasa pincang-nya dan kebodohan-nya tidak menhiraukan bukti yang pihak polis ada menggunakan kekerasan yang tidak perlu dan lagi melebehi kadar kawalan yang di-perlukan.

Sa-kurang2-nya Malaysia harus melantik Menetri Penerangan yang lebih berwibawa dan pintar berfikir sa-cara professional dan mempunyai kawalan bahasa Inggeris yang bolih di-banggakan. Sungguh malu.
    10/11 20:27:22

More…

http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/report07.php?itemid=208

36. #36 by raven77 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 10:35 pm

Zam….your days as of today…..are numbered……

37. #37 by voice on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 10:41 pm

Wow! we are on RTM! TEMAN SETIA ANDA! but how the SETIA mean? is it viewer to broadcaster or the other way round?

38. #38 by Short-sleeve on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 10:55 pm

Dear Zam,

Why dont you give it a rest and watch Al Jazeera news instead?

39. #39 by disapointed86 on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 11:05 pm

i think we should let the world know wat kind of “DEMOCRACY” we are having now..TV1,TV2,TV3 all useless…control by the government..they dont provide news which our so call “Minister” dont like…peaceful gathering is against the law is it? what the hell..go to hell all the BN guys..

40. #40 by borrring on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 11:17 pm

The joke is on Zam…he can’t even differentiate between the contents by the blogger & comments left by readers….sheesh….and he ‘s the “information” minister?

41. #41 by yellowkingdom on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 11:34 pm

The Law Of The Garbage Trucks
    by David J. Pollay

How often do you let other people’s nonsense change your mood? Do you let a bad driver, rude waiter, curt boss, or an insensitive
    employee ruin your day? Unless you’re the Terminator, for an instant you’re probably set back on your heels. However, the mark of a successful person is how quickly he/she can get back her focus on what’s important.

Sixteen years ago I learned this lesson. I learned itin the back of a New York City taxi cab. Here’s what happened.I hopped in a taxi, and we took off for Grand Central Station. We were driving in
    the right lane when, allof a sudden, a black car
    jumped out of a parking spaceright in front of us.
    My taxi driver slammed on his breaks, skidded, and
    missed the other car’s back end by just inches!The
    driver of the other car, the guy who almost caused a big accident, whipped his head around and he
    startedyelling bad words at us. My taxi driver just
    smiled and waved at the guy. And I mean, he was
    friendly. So, I said, ‘Why did you justdo that? This
    guy almost ruined your car and sent usto the
    hospital!’And this is when my taxi driver told me
    what I now call, ‘The Law of the Garbage Truck.’
    Many people are like garbage trucks. They run
    around full of garbage, full of frustration, full of
    anger,and full of disappointment. As their garbage
    piles up, they need a place to dump it. And if you
    let them, they’ll dump it on you. When someone wants to dump onyou, don’t take it personally.You just smile, wave, wish them well, and move on. You’ll be happy you did. So this was it: The ‘Law of the Garbage Truck.’ I started thinking, how often do I let Garbage Trucksrun right over me? And how often do I take theirgarbage and spread it to other
    people: at work, at home, on the streets? It was
    that day I said, ‘I’m not going to do it anymore.’ I
    began to see garbagetrucks. I see the load they’re
    carrying. I see them coming to drop it off. And like
    my Taxi Driver, I don’t make it a personal thing; I
    just smile, wave, wish them well, and I move on.One of my favorite football players of all time, Walter Payton, did this every day on the football field. He would jump up as quickly as he hit the ground after being tackled. He never dwelled on a hit. Payton was ready to make the next play his best.
    Good leaders know they have to be ready for their next meeting.
    Good parents know that they have to welcome their
    children home from school with hugs and kisses.
    Teachers and parents know that they have to be fully present, and at their best for the people they care about.
    The bottom line is that successful people do not let Garbage Trucks take over their day. What about you?What would happen in your life, starting today, if you let more garbage trucks pass you by? So.. Love the people who treat you right.Forget about the ones who don’t. Believe that everything happens for a reason.If you get a chance , TAKE IT!If it changes your life , LET IT! Nobody said it would be easy…

Hope you’ve enjoyed it!

Cheers

42. #42 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 11:35 pm

Hello ZAm, “Democracy is dead when the media is deaf and dumb.”

43. #43 by yellowkingdom on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 11:49 pm

Bravo! Endangered Hornbill, a well-written piece. I enjoyed the razor-sharp wit and play of words. Keep it up. Too bad, the poor chap just doesn’t cut it as a journalist what more a minister….

44. #44 by Tss_osiris on Saturday, 10 November 2007 - 11:53 pm

well, there is no blog service in the jungle so tak hairanlah our dear Zam can’t differentiate posts and comments. Sometimes i’m just very ashamed of our politicians that are able to voice out their shallow and embarassing remarks that wil not only “entertain” people from overseas but also the locals themselves.Good stress reliever… i guess no one actually bother to ask as this is not the first time msia politicians do some ridiculous funny stuff.If only “selected” parts were published on rtm, isn’t that make rtm a biased platform?

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:43 am

Anybody who goes by the name of Maiddeen or Maydin or Mydin has an identity problem – because they are half breeds, a cross between a Malay and an Indian. The problem with them is that they try too hard to be Malay and in doing so they become Malay ultras or extremists in order to hide their real ethnicity ; and by involving themselves in politics and as UMNO leaders they are able to convince themselves that indeed they are Malays.

We have many examples of that within UMNO. Mahathir is one.

46. #46 by Short-sleeve on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:55 am

“Saya pantang dicabar” – AAB

Hello Perdana Menteri,

Kami rakyat PANTANG SANGAT ditipu!

47. #47 by wits0 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:06 am

Undergrad2: “Anybody who goes by the name of Maiddeen or Maydin or Mydin has an identity problem..”

Hahaha, don’t we already know that, but usually we’re disinclined to say that out openly, yet it’s no laughing matter when their personal complexes invariably creates detriments for others whenever they’re enabled with some mundane powers. Pakistan, e.g., is in turmoil and can we guess why? When people keeps trying to prove something based on vanity, the problem never ends.

48. #48 by Rocky on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:06 am

let him shows the comments and this site.good exposure and more people will come here.

Thanks Zam.

49. #49 by wits0 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:54 am

“Malaysian Information Minister Zainuddin Maidin refuted satellite television station Al Jazeera’s claim that Malaysian police used force on hundreds of protesters here on Saturday.”
    http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/2007-11/10/content_7047887.htm

Haha!

50. #50 by rasinblood on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:14 am

Hey Mr Lim,

Dun worry, we are behind you. Just call for a grand meeting we be there, Is time for malaysian and chinese / indian / malay who beliv in real democracy in malaysia to stand up for our generation to come, You are history maker and dun stop what you are doing. You look out from the old side, but inside you are young as a 20 yo soul, Keep Pushing forward as the people will stand behind you the leader. Someone need to move forward to let millions to follow behind.

We see it in all around the world and we could do it, Monkey will remains as monkeys will never change no matters wat happen no matter wat changes, monkey see monkey do. Wise people like us will not care much of foolishness monkey do in the tree swining from tree to tree eating banana’s with their monkey fren’s

Seen yesterday 10 sept the day that will remember for Malaysia is a non democracy country, as all most my dubai fren say ” Malaysia cakap cakap sahaja ”

We DAP dont just talk we do with actions, We have the right if Malaysia is a democracy country. Never look at our country to compare, look at our country and should think what more we could improve and to be done and the action to do.

JUST CALL OUT AND MOVE FORWARD, MILLIONS WILL FOLLOW.

Cheers

51. #51 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:34 am

After I watched Zam’s interview by Al Jazeera in RTM, I feel shame with Zam’s performance as an Information Minister

He was not responding like a mature man and also spoke broken English.

=========

Zam Refutes Al Jazeera’s Claim Police Used Force On Protesters

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 10 (Bernama) — Information Minister Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin has refuted satellite television station Al Jazeera’s claim that police had used force on hundreds of protesters here today.

He told the station that police had tried to disperse the protesters by using water cannons as the gathering was illegal. “When they refused to disperse, the police allowed them to march to Istana Negara to hand over a memorandum demanding for a clean and fair election.

“The police managed to handle the situation as best they could,” he said over the phone in a live interview by Al Jazeera here.

He was responding to the illegal assembly organised by the Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections or “Bersih” comprising 26 non-governmental organisations and which also involved opposition parties, to hand over the memorandum containing their demands, to Istana Negara.

Asked why Malaysia did not allow such gatherings, Zainuddin said they were unnecessary because general elections had been held without fail in this country and according to the scheduled dates.

The minister also hit out at Al Jazeera for having the wrong perception when posing questions.

Al Jazeera reporters had their own perceptions about Malaysia before coming here, he said, adding that “Malaysia is not Myanmar or Pakistan; it is a democratic country”.

Zainuddin said many television viewers in Malaysia were laughing at the antics of the Al Jazeera reporter who seemed to be trying to portray the situation as ugly.

“The reporter was seen shouting, so much so the situation seemed unreal to the viewers.”

He also criticised Al Jazeera for only interviewing journalists known to be pro-opposition but not getting the government’s views.

— BERNAMA http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/news.php?id=295412

52. #52 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:40 am

Malaysia mainstream newspapers is deteriorating to “piece mouth” standard in the communist countries.

53. #53 by wits0 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:45 am

I’m not sure it’s possible to take a Banana, er…Bernama report on the weather seriously.

54. #54 by Programmer on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 3:02 am

Zam Zam ala Kazam….
    Truly a man without intelligent aka stupid …..blogging oso dunno ….

55. #55 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 7:04 am

Sounds like the Iraqi Info Minister who became famous for his remarks about the US troops in Baghdad!

56. #56 by Godfather on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 7:43 am

We never disallowed postings from cybertroopers loyal to BN. They send UMNO apologists from time to time like RealWorld to distract and to provoke, but even they could not sustain their arguments against the lies, the cheating and the stealing. They end up asking: Are you sure you can do better when you come to power ? That’s all they can do – justifying their stealing on the basis that it is normal behaviour and anybody in power would do it.

57. #57 by k1980 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 7:57 am

New York-based Human Rights Watch slammed the government’s stance on the mass rally, which Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had vowed to suppress, and police had threatened to arrest protesters. “If Malaysia wants to count itself a democracy, it can begin by upholding constitutional guarantees of free speech and assembly. The way the system works now, only the ruling coalition can get its messages out,” it said. Human Rights Watch said Malaysian elections have been sullied by vote-buying, the use of public resources by the ruling parties and accusations of bias against the Election Commission.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/310787/1/.html

58. #58 by AhPek on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 8:16 am

Come on lah, Zam, of all people you, calling yourself Minister of Information not knowing the difference between a blogger and a commenter of a blog.One is expressing his opinion and the other a response to that opinion.
    The thing about you Umnoputra people is that over the years of shameless cheating you people have evolve a skin no longer sensitive to such a thing call shame,I wouldn’t expect you to resign.After all they are people amongst you who commit heinous crime and getting away from it scotch free.

59. #59 by Godfather on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 8:54 am

Zam’s English in the Al Jazeera interview was terrible. Reminds me of Syed Hamid’s interview with BBC Hardtalk. Can UMNO please send ministers who can speak proper English ? Don’t send people like Mat Taib, who has confirmed he doesn’t understand English. Don’t send Azeez Rahman who hasn’t gotten rid of his Indian accent.

60. #60 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 8:59 am

Posting on the RTM website? That mean lying. Zam is the head of those people that can’t stand the truth especially about themselves. Of course they see they convince themselves that its really their point of view, but you know deluded people can’t be helped.

Today they report that the Bersih rally was a failure because no 100,000 people showed up. 40,000 people is a failure for the opposition but they get a few of people to shout about something and its a national agenda. to them…Its a lie by almost any measure except the real sicko….

61. #61 by Bill Gates on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:18 am

What do you expect from a man who didn’t even understand the word democracy to understand what a weblog is ….

Memang tepat si mamak ni ibarat katak di bawah tempurung lapok.

62. #62 by justice88 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:35 am

This is a very good example on how the Malaysian education system has failed. Just like how our beloved PM reacted to the BERSIH demonstrations. Suggesting the people to vote whereas we want electoral reform. How can we vote when we have no confidence in the government? That is why Malaysia is tumbling down in every ranking. Zam, if you’re reading this, I want you to know that you do not deserve your post. Your response to Mr. Lim has exhibited your true level of education. Please kindly relinquish it.

63. #63 by mendela on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:47 am

Similar to the extreme popular website weloveiraqiinformationminister.com, can someone out there start Malaysian version of welovemalaysianinformationminister.com?

64. #64 by hansoh on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 10:30 am

http://www.rtm.net.my/forum/viewforum.php?f=10

Check the link about, you can see some sex content in RTM forum. How can these kind of forum appear in RTM web site? Those people are sleeping? What kind of management quality is this?

65. #65 by Jong on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 11:29 am

Bigjoe,

You know who this Goblok Zam reminds me of? – the last Iraqi Information Minister in Saddam Hussein’s government, Muhammed Saeed al-Sahaf aka MSS. That gig was always in denial syndrome. Even after the first US coalition bomb was dropped over Bagdad, he still denied it and braved cameras to aske foreign reporters, “Are their troops in Bagdad yet?” Joke of the century!

66. #66 by Jong on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 11:31 am

Even the Iraqi military was fooled by this gig!

67. #67 by Jong on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 11:32 am

macam macam dalam dunia ini!

68. #68 by k1980 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:13 pm

The confrontation between the country’s nine sultans and the government appears to be deepening as well, with Mizan Zainal Abidin, the Sultan of Terengganu, who currently holds the rotating kingship and is Malaysia’s constitutional head of state, ordering his royal guards to stand aside so that the marchers could deliver the petition despite the fact that police had refused to grant a permit for the rally.
    http://www.asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=863&Itemid=31

Human Rights Watch,the US-based human rights advocacy organization, issued a press release Friday evening condemning the Malaysian police for refusing to grant the permit, saying that “If Malaysia wants to count itself a democracy, it can begin by upholding constitutional guarantees of free speech and assembly.”…The rally is to some extent an outgrowth of a previous one on Sept. 26 when an estimated 2,000 lawyers marched on Putrajaya, the country’s administrative capital, to demand that the judiciary be cleaned up in the wake of allegations that a well-connected lawyer connived in 2002 with Ahmad Fairuz Sheikh Abdul Halim, who was then the chief judge of the Federal Court, to select pliant members of the bar as judges.
    http://www.asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=862&Itemid=31

69. #69 by lakshy on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:24 pm

Read what it says in the star about Zam’s comments……

“Asked why Malaysia did not allow such gatherings, Zainuddin said they were unnecessary because general elections had been held without fail in this country.”

Note that neither he nor Najib denied the fact that the elections were not free and fair!

And the chief of police, who has a higher title of Tan Sri, than our PM, said that, the water cannons and tear gas were deployed as the crowds refused to disperse. Anyone have recordings of the police giving such warnings? Why doesn’t RTM/TV3 show the footage?

Chief of Police, I think you have forgotten who you are employed to protect!

I take my hats off to the 100,000+ who reacted calmly to the water cannons and tear gas and did not retaliate. Now thats something of Gandhian magnitude! I salute you guys!

And the Star article further claims that they let the marchers through instead of admitting that the marchers used back lanes and alleys to get to their destination!

SYABAS!

70. #70 by aurora on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:40 pm

Quote:
    Datuk Seri Zainuddin bin Maidin: Bagaimana kredibiliti, bagaimana kualitinya DAP apa yang ditulis tentang saya dalam DAP. Say baca….. “Zam is behaving like BN monkey that gone bananas over nuts”….

[Dewan riuh]

Datuk Seri Zainuddin bin Maidin: Malu! Malu! Seorang anggota Parlimen menulis macam ini di sini, malu!

Tuan Lim Kit Siang [Ipoh Timur]: Siapa tulis itu?

Datuk Seri Zainuddin bin Maidin: You tulis, tapi tak usahlah…you tak usah kata you tak tulis, ini Lim Kit Siang blog.

Tuan Lim Kit Siang [Ipoh Timur]: Itu komen atau saya tulis? Bukan, adakah saya menulis? Itu komen pelawat-pelawat.

[Dewan riuh]

end quote.

Sorry…one trivial question..did the above conversation took place in parliament? If it is, I’m very, very disappointed. “You” repeated 3 times. That’s not Malay! And I remember long time ago, the gov intended to use Malay in all official matters. Well, there’s goes one of the gov “policy”….*sigh*…hangat-hangat tahi ayam….

Secondly,

“Datuk Seri Zainuddin bin Maidin: You tulis, tapi tak usahlah…you tak usah kata you tak tulis, ini Lim Kit Siang blog.”

I assume that this is not how a Minister should behave. That’s a harsh remark and i dont see any proof to that claim. If there is any, plz present.

*sigh*…

71. #71 by June07 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 4:04 pm

Please do not go to the site http://www.rtm.net.my/forum/viewforum.php f?=10 above as I just got the trojan virus when attempted to click to latest thread.

72. #72 by justice_fighter on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 5:44 pm

Zam’s interview at Al-Jazeera is a total disaster!! A standard 1 student can speak better English than him. What a big Shame to be our Information Minister!! Better call himself MIS-Information Minister!!

73. #73 by sj on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 8:46 pm

So it proved to us beyond a shadow of a doubt, Zam deserves to be fired. He is not minister material. This dude does even have a common sense for goodness sake. Listen to the way he speaks and you know his mind is full of garbage and warped mentality. Mind you he is but one UMNO member, group together all the UMNO members and voila you have yourself a few millions of moron trying to run the country to the ground. Enough is enough, get rid of these stupid incompetent morons. Everyone does not want people like them to run the country.

74. #74 by Sagaladoola on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:15 pm

As an Information Minister, one has to be savvy on Information Technology.

We are living in the Information Age. If an Information Minister cannot understand the concepts of the Information Age tools and differentiate between posting of the website owner and other visitors, I sincerely do not know how this fella here is going to do his work.

Sometimes, Uncle Kit, it is hard for us to argue with a person who is of low intelligence.

Furthermore, there is an issue of ethics. Can a Minister use a mainstream public media, which is supposed to be independent of political affiliation to further one’s political ambitions….

I feel ashamed, not only for Zam, but for myself.. How am I supposed to tell my foreign friends that he is the Information Minister of my land when they ask?

I think I’d rather get scarce and find a hole to hide my face.. Malu !

Regards,
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com

75. #75 by Bigfoot on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 1:53 am

Somebody, please send our Minister for Public Enlightenment and Propaganda to some charm school on social etiquette. While you are at it, please send him for a course on the how to speak the English language, without sounding like a scratched record playing backwards!

Zam’s handling of the Al-Jazeera interview was a complete embarrassment…even to staunch BN supporters!

Zam may as well have taken a line from Mohammed Saeed al-Sahaf’s (former Iraqi Minister for Information) treasury of deathless quotes, “I blame Al-Jazeera – they are marketing for the Americans!” http://www.welovetheiraqiinformationminister.com/

At least Mohammed Saeed al-Sahaf was entertaining. Zam is a complete embarrassment. Even Goebbels would be rolling in his grave!

76. #76 by wits0 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:23 am

Certainly Mohammed Saeed al-Sahaf aka Bagdad Bob was far more entertaining.

Zam’s denial resembles the floor tantrum of a spoilt 5 year old.
    He’s totally unable to rebut the matter.

BTW,

To rebut means: 1. Overthrow by argument, evidence, or proof
    2. Prove to be false or incorrect.

To deny means: 1. Declare untrue; contradict
    2. Refuse to accept or believe

77. #77 by k1980 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 1:18 pm

That’s why uncle Zam is so against the teaching of Mathematics and Science in the English Language. He’s scared kampung school kids would be so proficient in English that they would laugh at his pitiful English

78. #78 by lupus on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 9:57 pm

All I can say about Zam is that he is a MORON. We should disown this MORON as this is the voice of MALAYSIA and he is a moron compared to Jeff Ooi in the interview. If you are reading this ZAM – you are nothing but a moron, foolish idiot that is the product of NEP – someone whom did not work to get to where you are today. I wish I could say that to your face but I will have to settle that you might read this on the DAP website. Afterall, you are not a man, just a monkey boy like those in the village with a long leash to gather fruits and the other end, the PM holding your leash.

79. #79 by watgoblok on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:24 pm

[deleted] take Uncle Kit’s challenge if you have one or two.

80. #80 by bra888 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:51 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SHC1ogF4ai8

I noticed a few things.
    Zam only reveals the ‘negative’ part of the blog.
    He exposed things like:
    “Zam should be killed by Mat Rempit”
    “Zam behaves like a monkey”

I also noticed that there was a long pause (like 7 seconds), then he claims that there are more bad things in this blog.

He claims that Lim Kit Siang apologize for the first time.

Lots of repeats of the same words and phrase (waste of the reporters time if you ask me)
    “Be responsible”
    “Lim Kit Siang is the greatest politician in Malaysia”
    “This is Lim Kit Siang’s Blog”
    Repeats English sentence in BM.

That’s clearly biased already. I don’t think he’s fit to be an Information Minister.

Even students need to recognize what is bias and what is not to get good marks. I wonder how much marks would a lecturer evaluate him. Jeffrey, I heard you are a lecturer, how much marks would you give him XD.

81. #81 by Man_of_Honour on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:56 pm

Slap on the face Zam! Haha, what a shameful “Minister of Infrogmation”… This is how BN ministers behave in the Dewan Rakyat… Aiks… It’s known to the entire world… and now, BN call this glamour!

Duh! Cut the crap and continue with your “teh tarek” oops, I mean “work (singular)”.

Don’t BN ministers know that in the eyes of the RAKYAT and International societies, they are being laughed at and some even think that they are clowns?

And those BN ministers still felt glamour and happy! Pening!

For goodness sake, please stop saying Zam or other BN ministers are behaving like monkeys!

This is an insult to the monkeys and will spoil the monkeys’ reputation! We have to be fair to the monkeys!

82. #82 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 10:21 am

They always say, “Tell the truth and nothing but the truth” but they left out an important part at the end for this is not the complete sentence. This should be followed by “But for God’s sake, tell only that much of the truth that will do you the most good!!”

83. #83 by josephswn on Thursday, 15 November 2007 - 2:40 pm

hey Zam
    thank you for giving mileage to Kit Siang to publish his blogs. pls, publish more… you should publish everything and create hyperlink as well.
    is good that you finally use RTM for unbias show of ppl’s opinion. you behave like a small kid buddy. ppl are free to voice their opinions via blog and at least Kit Siang is stopping others from voicing their voices. unlike your stupid mercenary RTM and the rest of The STAR and NST, everybody know that it is BIG FAT LIEING media for you and BN. wake up buddy, please google the meaning of BLOG and BLOGGING. if you are still katak bawah tempurung, pls don’t act like a smart donkey aka IDIOT.
    why not create debate session between BN and Opposition party and live telecast it. bring your best speakers from UMNO since the rest of the parties are useless anyway and challenge the speakers from Opposition or maybe the common citizen. beat you flat on your face