Mammoth BERSIH gathering – People have spoken but will Abdullah listen or will he remain deaf, blind and mute?

Malaysians have spoken loud and clear in the peaceful mammoth BERSIH gathering yesterday to support the petition to the Yang di Pertuan Agong for electoral reforms for clean, free and fair elections – but will the Prime Minister, Datuk Abdullah Ahmad Badawi listen and act or will he remain deaf, blind and mute?

When he became Prime Minister four years ago, one of Abdullah’s first public pledges was to listen to the truth however unpleasant.

However, Abdullah had not been listening in the past four years. Last month, the Information Minister, Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin assumed the new roles as Abdullah’s “Truth Gatekeeper” and Press Censor, laying the law to the media that Abdullah’s pledge to hear the truth was limited to Barisan Nasional leaders and top government officials and not to the public or the press.

It is significant that in my parliamentary exchange with Zainuddin on press freedom which is accessible on YouTube, thanks to RTM website, Zainuddin did not specifically deny that he had become the new “Gatekeeper” as to what is the truth to be conveyed to the Prime Minister.

This has resulted in all the printed media today playing down yesterday’s biggest peaceful public gathering during the four-year premiership of Abdullah to petition the Yang di Pertuan Agong on electoral reforms for the simple reason that the Prime Minister had refused to listen to the voice of the people.

No newspaper dared to publish photographs of the mammoth peaceful gathering, which is a tribute to Malaysians for their love of peace and commitment to democracy. This is because of Zainuddin’s directive to the printed media that no such photographs were to be published. All that the newspapers could print were pictures of massive traffic jams!

The mainstream media were not allowed free and independent reporting of yesterday’s gathering, which was completely peaceful except when marred by excessive force by police in firing tear gas and water cannons.

Newspapers dared not give an estimate of the mammoth peaceful gathering, and were forced to use the official figure by the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan putting the gathering at 4,000 people.

If the Inspector-General of Police had not been misquoted, then the country’s top police officer suffer from the grave ailment of innumeracy or difficulty with numbers — as there is at least one zero missing when Musa said only 4,000 people responded at the mammoth Bersih peaceful gathering yesterday.

Like illiteracy, innumeracy will impede the country’s vision to “reach for the stars” and become a science and technology power, especially if this ailment is prevalent among the top leaders in government!

It is a shame that in the era of information technology, there should be such ham-fisted attempt to control the free flow of information where Malaysians can only find out the truth from independent electronic news portals, whether local or foreign, and the foreign press.

Abdullah should honour his pledge when he became Prime Minister four years ago to listen to the truth from the people, however unpleasant, and to introduce institutional reforms for justice and democracy.

He should ensure that the Cabinet meeting on Wednesday give a positive response to the BERSIH petition to the Yang di Pertuan Agong on electoral reforms and support the immediate establishment of a mechanism to ensure that the next general election can be truly clean, free and fair.

One other thing Abdullah should do is to get rid of Zainuddin as the new Press Censor and his “Truth Gatekeeper” to decide what reports and photographs the media should publish for him to see — which will only ensure that Malaysia’s press freedom ranking, which plunged by 32 slots to the worst placing of No. 124 in the 2007 Freedom Without Borders (RSF) worldwide press freedom ranking, will plummet even lower next year!

1. #2 by lakshy on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:40 pm

Read what it says in the star about Zam’s comments……

“Asked why Malaysia did not allow such gatherings, Zainuddin said they were unnecessary because general elections had been held without fail in this country.”

Note that neither he nor Najib denied the fact that the elections were not free and fair!

And the chief of police, who has a higher title of Tan Sri, than our PM, said that, the water cannons and tear gas were deployed as the crowds refused to disperse. Anyone have recordings of the police giving such warnings? Why doesn’t RTM/TV3 show the footage?

Chief of Police, I think you have forgotten who you are employed to protect!

I take my hats off to the 100,000+ who reacted calmly to the water cannons and tear gas and did not retaliate. Now thats something of Gandhian magnitude! I salute you guys!

And the Star article further claims that they let the marchers through instead of admitting that the marchers used back lanes and alleys to get to their destination!

SYABAS!

2. #3 by dawsheng on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:45 pm

I say boycott the next general election.

3. #4 by js on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:45 pm

Some of the local Chinese press reported only 4000 people involved in this gathering.

4. #5 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:48 pm

Anyone listen to ZAM conversation with the AlJareeza TV broadcaster? Click below and listen to how typical a lier trying to rescue himself. He end up contradicting himself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1_GQ-K7P_w

At one stage he said “we allow demonstration”, REALLY? What a joke
    then he said “after they demonstrated, we just want them to disperse”, Another JOKE!

The BERSIH Does not DEMONSTRATED! We are just Rally to hand over the MEMO to our KING. PERIOD!

Another thing he now criticized the Myanmar Government. Sadly he does not look at himself in the mirror lately.

Another thing, i think he need another lecture in Geography, Burma and Myanmar is the same country! My god, what kind of Information Minister do we Malaysian have? I feel ashame for my beloved country!

“I can’t hear you” is what his response to the question “Why did you not break up this protest more peacefully”

I think he cannot under the English here where the question is ask “Why did you not……”, An information Minister who cannot speak a good English? Get a translator to help you next time, don’t shame us Malaysian Internationally.

“What is this protest illegal?”, he just lost his head!
    Please get someone who is cool, compose and smart to response to international interview in the future.

Shame!

5. #6 by ALtPJK on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:49 pm

As usual, local press does not live up to its ‘press’ name. It quoted only 4000 strong crowd and that they caused massive traffic jams. Question is how can only 4000 people cause such massive traffic jams. From information coming from many eye-witnesses, there were already massive traffic jams long before 10am in the morning; in fact even in the wee hours of the morning.

6. #7 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 12:52 pm

Correction:

“Why is this protest illegal?” and he just lost his head! Remember he said “we allow demonstration”

Please get someone who is cool, compose and smart to response to international interview in the future.

7. #8 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:00 pm

A reference to http://www.m2day.org blog posting

Mahad wrote:
    I wish I was there. I can feel solidarity committted by all who participated. Hardship from the weather and the police is a real test for them but they did not stop. My salute to all.
    One Curiousity bothers me. Where is the Agong? where m2confined from communicating the rakyat.? Raja Petra, maybe you have the answer.

Sadly the Agong was participating in some Equestrian Competition somewhere. This was reported by TV3 when i watch the news last night. Very SAD Indeed! Why is he not around to personally come out to received the MEMO! That will send a stronger message to the ruling parties.

8. #9 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:05 pm

Not very important question. I am not very well verse in title in Malaysia, and the only title than mean anything to me is DATUK!

I MEAN GRAND FATHER!

Datuk Seri is higher than Tan Sri?

9. #10 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:05 pm

Zam is a byproduct of NEP. Abdullah is better getting someone who can speak good English and knowledgeable in international affairs to represent his government in international arena.

10. #11 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:07 pm

ShiokGuy Says:

November 11th, 2007 at 13: 00.23
    A reference to http://www.m2day.org blog posting

Mahad wrote:
    I wish I was there. I can feel solidarity committted by all who participated. Hardship from the weather and the police is a real test for them but they did not stop. My salute to all.
    One Curiousity bothers me. Where is the Agong? where m2confined from communicating the rakyat.? Raja Petra, maybe you have the answer.

Sadly the Agong was participating in some Equestrian Competition somewhere. This was reported by TV3 when i watch the news last night. Very SAD Indeed! Why is he not around to personally come out to received the MEMO! That will send a stronger message to the ruling parties.

=============

Royal protocol does not allow Agong to receive memorandum himself.

11. #12 by ALtPJK on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:08 pm

Can someone quote links to sites where we can view pics or videos on the gathering. Given the lack of any official, true & fair reporting, there is a need to spread out more information to the general public in order to maintain and escalate momentum.

[Check:

(i) Malaysiakini reports here and its photo gallery.

(ii) Malaysia-Today reports –

http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/report07.php?itemid=208]

12. #14 by k1980 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:17 pm

The Thai’s boycotted their general elections in April 2006 and 5 months later, Thaksin lost his job as PM. This is why umno is scared stiff that the opposition may boycott the coming polls

13. #15 by k1980 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:19 pm

An information Minister who cannot speak a good English? Talk to him in Tamil lah!

14. #16 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:23 pm

=============

Thank you for the clarification. Appreciate it very much.
    Last night on TV3, I saw our Agong participate in the competition and it was reported that the even finish around 430pm.

I was wondering why our beloved Agong not in the palace and even when the protocol does not allow him to come out to receive the MEMO. However if our Agong break away from the protocol and come out, the impact will be HUGE!

Agreed?

15. #17 by democrate on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:25 pm

Our news media are cowards, they hv guts to publish other countries business like the recent incidence in Myammar and Pakistan. but locally, takut KEDAI TUTUP by Zainudin lah!
    This is what the truth Our PM wants.
    Anyway Malysians are peace lovers and any such gathering will not create chaos unless BN play foul to inject trouble makers into the gathering and end up with the shake up. Then NGO and the opposition are to be blamed. m i right?

16. #18 by bra888 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:33 pm

Get your news here

http://www.youtube.com/user/daulattuanku

CNN
    BBC

They heard us!

17. #19 by ALtPJK on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:34 pm

Thanks for the info on the links. Trying to keep track of this momentous occasion and spread the news to as many Malaysian friends living here in Oz.

18. #20 by bra888 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:36 pm

19. #21 by ALtPJK on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:42 pm

A friend just rang me up and gave this link

http://edition.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/11/10/malaysia.protests/index.html

==========SPREAD THE NEWS==========

20. #22 by Libra2 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:43 pm

Zam and the government should know by now that the people do not rely on the local media for news.
    The whole whole saw/read what happened in KL through Al Jazeera, CNN, BBC, CNA.
    Zam is behaving like the three proverbial moneys.

21. #23 by aurora on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:48 pm

i watch the youtube movie, my comment is, whoever that male commenter was, he sucks. He sounded nervous, keep accusing that the female commenter that she just cant go to other country and said that “You are not democratic”….I think he is too harsh…No one is saying that M’sia is not democrate. She is just asking for his comment. Why is he so nervous and keep shooting her? Unless she hits the bulls-eye “M’sia is no longer democratic”…

Anyway, I’m really disappointed and pissed off with his responses: childish, and not one I would expect from a MINISTER (well, is he??)!!!

I apologise for using such a bad word… But anyway, if that male get offended by my comment, then he has to start thinking about his own manner.

*disappointed, embarrassed, having a home that cant return to, sad*

22. #24 by ALtPJK on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:51 pm

Or perhaps ‘like the ostrich burying its head in the sand’

23. #25 by Godfather on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 1:53 pm

Badawi will remain blind, deaf and mute. The mainstream English and Malay papers reported a gathering of “4,000 opposition supporters”. What is there to worry about ? Carry on sleeping….

24. #27 by k1980 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:35 pm

This is the dire consequence of fools electing uncultivated, boorish hooligans as wakil rakyat

25. #28 by malaysia born on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:37 pm

Great show of solidarity by the people!

But the million dollar question is, ‘ IS it getting through to the kampong ?’ For it to be much more effective, the sights and sound must reach the kampong (grass-roots).

As for that info minister, all i can say is ,’No class at all. Sub-standard material, only from UMNO do we get these type of personalities.’

26. #29 by politicalopinions on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:43 pm

If press freedom were allowed in this country, we would have more than 4 prime ministers because they would have to quit their job for leading a dictatorship.

And for the oppositions, try using more printed medias and electronic medias to spread the truth. I know some oppositions paraphrase the truth to sound as if they are correct all the time. Please don’t do that. Just report the TRUTH! Don’t turn yourself into ppl like our current information minister.

27. #30 by boh-liao on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:46 pm

AAB, Najib, Hisham, SIL, Rafidah, and Umnoputras are only interested in pisang (as reported during the latest Umno GA) – the thick, long, juicy pisang tanduk and pisang Turki – and also about talking to foetuses in mothers’ wombs. Of course, also about making babies – in fact, during the latest Umno GA, our PM was urged to continue his honeymoon with his beloved J to sire their princeling and to set a new record of being the first PM to be a father and a grandfather during office. A highly productive PM, in spite of being accused of the sleepy kind.

Furthermore, Umnoputras are interested in skirts, legs, thighs, arms, and tunnels of air stewardesses!

In addressing Bersih’s petition for electoral reforms for clean, free and fair elections, Umno ministers all have a standard reply: “What changes do they want? Wait for the election!” What a wonderful reply!!

28. #31 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:56 pm

The traffic jams were not caused by any number of marchers, 4000 or 40,000.

Once you put up a road-block in any major city, there will be jams.
    Great show by the People of all races.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/11/moral-victory-for-malaysians.html

29. #32 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 2:57 pm

One on funny note: since the broadcaster is speaking to the “Person” without seeing him. May be the PM will setup another panel to ask people to come forward for the original recording. To proof that ZAM is on the other side of the phone.

Will be funny to see that happen, but then again in bolehland, any kind of SPIN will happen of the people are easily blind by the controlled media which only “Not telling the whole truth”

30. #33 by boh-liao on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 3:06 pm

theStar, 11-11-07: Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan said the police were forced to use teargas and water cannons because the marchers refused to disperse when instructed to do so at 2.30pm. He put their number at 4,000.

The more Musa Hassan and our ministers open their mouths, the more lies spill out from them – confirming our prior feeling that they are liars, despite holding responsible jobs that demand BERSIH.

Putting 2 + 2 = 4, we must be convinced by now that we just CANNOT believe in whatever IGP and our ministers said in public. How sad for Malaysia!

31. #34 by Libra2 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 3:07 pm

If there were only 4,000 opposition supporters then the entire police exercise, with a helicopter to boot, is an overkill and waste of tax payers money.
    Why the panic PM? Why the histrionics and clamp on the media Zam?

32. #36 by Libra2 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 3:35 pm

Kit,
    OK, the people have spoken. What if the PM remains defiant and refuses to listen nor act? To give in to these demands would be seen by UMNO as a sign of weakness of the PM.
    If the king too does not act on the memorandum, will the opposition boycott the elections?
    I think that has to be the last and only resort.
    After such a mammoth protest it would be contradictory and foolish to participate in the elections when the entire electoral system is tainted.
    To participate is to give the electoral system a stamp of approval. Participation will nullify this 50,000 BERSIH gathering.

33. #37 by oknyua on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 3:50 pm

YB Lim, I am thinking of the backlash. I am sure you have discussed this with DSAI, Tok Guru, RPK …

KJ could either asked all component parties to pledge loyalty at the present parliament. But he couldn’t show his face (he is not electd lah), so it is most likely he’d go for the second option: with AAB’s blessing, arrange for another rally in Putra Jaya, with busses arranged (read “taxpayers’ money”)

Directive would be issued to all component parties, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PBB, etc. KJ would make his speech, fiery and accompanied by his loyal youths, (who else if not him) followed by the leaders from coalition parties MCA, MIC,… (When I write MCA, I feel so sad!)

Why would AAB do that? Firstly, he said he ‘pantang dicabar.” Secondly, Al Jazzera quoted him, “They are challenging the patience of the people..” which means those who marched, those stopped by the police, those shot with water canons and arrested, they are NOT people!

If not for the police, the crowd that I saw could easily reach 200,000. (I saw the crowd that they claimed to be 100,000 at his PWTC Raya!). Unfortunately, YB Lim, we are still not people to AAB.

34. #38 by hanuman on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 3:56 pm

The Malaysian people have spoken. Badawi said, “I heard nothing”
    The Malaysian people have rallied. Badawi said, “I saw nothing”

Do you think Badawi is going to heed all we Malaysians have done on 10 November 2007. Here is your asnwer.
    “I saw nothing, I heard nothing, so I did nothing. By the way I was sleeeping.” said Badawi.

See this clip on Khairy and gang demonstrating on You Tube.
    “Umno Youth protest at Asean Ministerial meeting”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QoOgTLatME
    Why was he and his gang arrested ?

I hope and pray that this BERSIH action is not one of those one off thing. So what is your next move BERSIH ?

We should have more of this non-violence and peaceful gathering in every village, town and city. Indira Gandhi did it and it worked.

35. #39 by hanuman on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 3:58 pm

“Why was he and his gang arrested ?” should read as
    Why wasnt he and his gang not arrested ?

36. #40 by dawsheng on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 4:12 pm

“What if the PM remains defiant and refuses to listen nor act? To give in to these demands would be seen by UMNO as a sign of weakness of the PM. If the king too does not act on the memorandum, will the opposition boycott the elections?” Libra2

One will be naive to think that Abudllah will give in to Bersih’s demands, it is not whether or not such action will reflect the weakness of Abdullah in the eyes of his compatriots in UMNO and BN, but to give in to those demands is to commit political suicide. But let say Abdullah is willing to reform the electorate, would the oppositions buy it? I don’t think so. It will takes more than Agong’s consent and his contitutional power and even if the Agong has ball to act and directed the SPR to be overhaul, you need BN to cooperate, and that is wishful thinking. As I have said before, there’s only two ways to deal with this kind of thing, use the ISA or let the march go on as though as it is common occurance in Malaysia. To surpress it with use of force will only gives the oppositions more credibilties to their claim that the election process is not fair, as fair government will not use force on protestors, so to say. And I think the oppositions knew this, if demands were not met, it is justifiable to boycott the general election, what’s next then?

37. #41 by lauwengsan on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 4:17 pm

zam could just shut off his mouth and nobody will say he is a mute if he did not say anything.

i am afraid whenever he burst his mouth with laughable comments, the country’s reputation will suffer another time as how we can out somebody like him to hold a ministerial port-folio.

38. #42 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 4:19 pm

ShiokGuy Says:

November 11th, 2007 at 13: 23.06
    =============

Thank you for the clarification. Appreciate it very much.
    Last night on TV3, I saw our Agong participate in the competition and it was reported that the even finish around 430pm.

I was wondering why our beloved Agong not in the palace and even when the protocol does not allow him to come out to receive the MEMO. However if our Agong break away from the protocol and come out, the impact will be HUGE!

Agreed?

=====================

Thai King did not say a word against Thaksin openly. The difference is Thai King is worshipped like a half-god by Thai ppl while our Agong is not.

Anyway, using Agong to intervene is last resort to clean up undemocratic government won under the unfair and corrupted election system.

39. #43 by raven77 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 4:50 pm

Badawi says ….saya pantang dicabar………Ali Rustam says the PM is a pengecut……now which one are we to believe. UMNO will have to quickly decide if they want to keep Badawi and Najib………or loose everything….

40. #44 by watgoblok on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 4:57 pm

If he pretended to be deaf,i reckon we should give him a peaceful rest at his own home rather than at the official PM residence.

41. #45 by MST on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 5:21 pm

This even made to the news in Oz. It was shown on SBS and ABC evening news. I am proud of the Malaysian public in standing up to the corrupt government!

42. #46 by bystander on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 6:10 pm

Pl correct me if I m wrong but I dont think our Agong will intervene. Our king is not the same as the Thai King. Unlike the Thai, ours is more concerned for equestrian than the people. Bersih must maintain its momentum to have reforms for a fair and just election. Otherwise, it will fizzle out and we, the rakyat, are back to square one.

43. #47 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 6:19 pm

So what is next? How to show BA that the Rakyat mean business?
    How about a Yellow wave campaign? We spread the word that people who support BERSIH wear something yellow every day? A band, a shirt , handbag , a Ribbon …anything yellow so that we can show BA this is for real and not just a flash in the pan….can we spread the word?

44. #49 by Cinapek on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 6:28 pm

IGP did not suffer from a case of innumeracy. He suffers from a case of “bodekism”, big time. It is the same disease afflicting Zam and the non UMNO BN party leaders. IGP knows which side his bread is buttered. Instead of telling “Doozy” what he ought to hear, he choose to tell him what he likes to hear. That way he will get his term extended and Doozy continues with his blissfully ignorant ways.

I received an SMS message in Bahasa Malaysia early yesterday morning warning me that the protest march has been cancelled and that DYMM Agong is not in town. It also warned me those who join the march will be “belasah” by the police. It was written in poor BM. I have no idea how and why they sent the SMS to me. I wonder if anyone else else received such an SMS.

But the Govt. must be desperate to resort to such measures to lie and intimidate people not to attend the march. It clearly shows
    that they are worried.

Keep up the pressure!!!

45. #50 by mwt on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 6:35 pm

It was most unfortunate a Peaceful Bersih Gathering was denied the Rally at Dataran Merdeka. As matter of fact ACP Junaidi Brickfields CPO confirmed it when he said: “…they dispersed peacefully”
    The participants were orderly and have not rioted or throw any stones. If they could have used a bit of common sense (and not acting out of “unfounded fears and prejudice” the Rally at Dataran Merdeka with the speeches would have gone on smoothly and done with within an hour or two.
    But the police were under strict orders to disperse first and even claimed “proactive action in keeping the illegal assembly under control averted untoward incidents” Now what untoward incidents they were imagining?
    Do you believe they arrested 245 and released all of them? This is because all of them have done “nothing wrong” only being in an illegal assembly which would otherwise be legalized if the permit is granted.
    More details & pics at

http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/11/more-pics-video-bersih-rally-obstructed.html

46. #51 by Rocky on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 6:38 pm

shiok guy

there are many ways to play a game.Our Agong is a smart man and much smarter than most of the HP6 XXXL cabinet.There are many ways to skin a cat. Our Aging must remain above everything and he has powers under the constitution thus no need for him to be there. see how the Thai King managed his role…he is there but not there.

so there must be a strategy. Today Pak Lah said Agong and royals will not get involved. That is his move. But note we are subjects of the King and not Pak Lah. Pah Lah is our servant. The Agong can listen to the views of his subject regardless if they are opposition or not cos he is the King of ALL Malaysians!!! Pak Lah is PM of all Malaysians…yeah yeah. Pak Lah show us which part of the constitution the Agong can’t get involved. Remember article 152 and 40(2) Pak Lah.(hope i got those 2 articles right)

Daulat Tuanku!!!!

wear yellow on fridays my friends!!!

47. #52 by borrring on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 6:38 pm

That’s democratic & freedom of press — Malaysian style

48. #53 by somaris on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 7:27 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN.
    THANK YOU THANK YOU.
    WE STILL NEED ALL OF YOU.BRING THOSES PHOTO,VIDEO ON BERSIH TO ALL THE KAMPONG PEOPLE.LET THEM KNOW.LET THEM SEE. WE NEED THEM.NO ANY MALAYSIA NEWS GO TRU THEM.
    SO LETS ALL OF US DO OUR PART TO OPEN THEIR EYES.
    LONG LIVE BERSIH.
    THANK YOU ALL AGAIN.

49. #54 by boh-liao on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 7:30 pm

People should not be too pleased over what happend on 10-11-07.

Be alert, be very alert. When the incumbent lost face and still in the denial mood, drastic action may be taken in the name of national security.

Just look at what followed after the monks held their public rallies in Myanmar – a series of house arrests. Beware of knocks on your door in the early hours.

The game is still on. Rest be assured that the SIL and his 4th floor strategists/tacticians are not sleeping but plotting a game plan to save Umnoputras’ face/maruah.

When will checkmate be executed? Who will be checkmated? Beware of lalang!

50. #55 by smeagroo on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 8:20 pm

he will neither remain blind, def or mute. Just act dumb and that’s not so hard to do.

51. #56 by smeagroo on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 8:25 pm

when khairy and his rempits did demo in front of US EMbassy that was OK accd to the police. It is ok for them to burn flags. It is ok for them to shout slogans and whatever crap that comes out from their filthy mouths. To the police those are laudable infact.

KUDOS la POLICE!

Everytime I see a police officer i hv the greatest respect for u guys. I TABIK!

52. #57 by whitecoffee on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 8:52 pm

Press freedom in Malaysia? It is as good as dead. I wonder if our news reporters and editors ever get job satisfaction. We are not far from being ruled by dictators.

53. #58 by Sagaladoola on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:05 pm

My pictures and posts on the BIGGEST RALLY IN MALAYSIAN HISTORY:

BERSIH: The Yellow Wave (Pics) Part 1
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2007/11/bersih-yellow-wave-pics-part-1.html

BERSIH: The Yellow Wave (Pics) Part 2
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2007/11/bersih-yellow-wave-pics-part-2.html

BERSIH: The Yellow Wave (Pics) Part 3
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2007/11/bersih-yellow-wave-pics-part-3.html

We have to BERSIH-kan Malaysia
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2007/10/we-have-to-bersih-kan-malaysia.html

54. #59 by cancan on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:20 pm

This gathering has shown that we true Malaysians,can live in peace and harmony.
    It is the Umnoputras that are dividing the people.

So please true Malaysians regardless of our race,lets replace them come election!!!

55. #60 by wits0 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:22 pm

Slowly and selectively apply the boycott the complicit MSM by buying less and less of them noosepapers.

56. #61 by devilmaster on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:26 pm

“Tidak ada kerajaan yang seteruk ini sejak dahulu lagi hinggakan habis semua kekayaan negara dipunggah oleh perasuah dan kroni hingga rakyat terpaksa menanggung bebannya.”

LOL. Nice saying by Anwar Ibrahim.

57. #62 by bra888 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:51 pm

The Bersih (Coalition for Free and Fair Elections) secretariat said that between 11:00am and 12.30pm, visitors to the the BERSIH website were greeted by a message (on a yellow background) that read:

!! PENGUMUMAN !!
    Perhimpunan terpaksa di tunda ke tarikh yang belum ditetapkan

BERSIH would like to reiterate that the People’s Gathering has not been postponed.

The problem has been resolved for now. The website may be temporarily offline this evening but will be online again tomorrow, by noon time (Monday, 5 Nov).

LOOKS LIKE SOMEONE IS PLAYING DIRTY!

http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/11/04/bersihs-website-was-hacked/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007_Bersih_Rally

58. #63 by bra888 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:52 pm

http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/11/04/bersihs-website-was-hacked/

“The Bersih (Coalition for Free and Fair Elections) secretariat said that between 11:00am and 12.30pm, visitors to the the BERSIH website were greeted by a message (on a yellow background) that read:

!! PENGUMUMAN !!
    Perhimpunan terpaksa di tunda ke tarikh yang belum ditetapkan

BERSIH would like to reiterate that the People’s Gathering has not been postponed.

The problem has been resolved for now. The website may be temporarily offline this evening but will be online again tomorrow, by noon time (Monday, 5 Nov).

LOOKS LIKE SOMEONE IS PLAYING DIRTY!”

59. #64 by bra888 on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 9:58 pm

“Najib on why police did not permit gathering

PEKAN: A certain group of people will always take advantage of a situation such as the illegal assembly at Jalan Tun Perak in Kuala Lumpur, causing chaos and disturbing the peace, said Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

It was for that very reason that police did not allow the gathering to be held in the first place, he added.

“I was made to understand that a lot of shopkeepers were worried and closed their businesses for the day, fearing the worst if the gathering took place. The gathering also caused problems such as traffic jams.The effect is it mars the general perception others have of our society,” he told reporters after opening the Pusat Anak Permata Negara (Permata) in Felda Chini Timur here yesterday.

Najib also said the group demanded freedom to hold the gathering but the Government had always place importance on peace, stability and public interest.

In Kuala Lumpur, Information Minister Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin has refuted satellite television station Al Jazeera’s claim that police had used force on the hundreds of protesters.

He told the station that police had tried to disperse the protesters by using water cannons, as the gathering was illegal.

“When they refused to disperse, the police allowed them to march to Istana Negara to hand over a memorandum demanding a clean and fair election.

“The police managed to handle the situation as best they could,” he said over the phone in a live interview by Al Jazeera here.

Asked why Malaysia did not allow such gatherings, Zainuddin said they were unnecessary because general election had been held without fail in this country.

The minister also hit out at Al Jazeera for having the wrong perception when posing questions.

Al Jazeera reporters had their own perceptions about Malaysia before coming here, he said, adding that “Malaysia is not Myanmar or Pakistan; it is a democratic country.”– Bernama ”

Taken from
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/11/11/nation/19444042&sec=nation

60. #65 by lhteoh on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 10:11 pm

Bottom line is there is no quality leader in Malaysia. The truth never surface under the present BN administration. Hi you BN we rakyat is not stupid like you.

61. #66 by hanuman on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 10:23 pm

Najib Reaction
    The STAR
    DPM: Don’t incite racial disharmony
    Sunday November 11, 2007
    MYT 8:38:56 PM
    By JANE RITIKOS
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/11/11/nation/20071111203543&sec=nation

KUALA LUMPUR: Do not incite disunity or racial disharmony because once ignited, it will be difficult to douse, said Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

He said unity, mutual understanding and respect among the different races was achieved through the struggles of the country’s forefathers and should be defended by all.

“It is easy to destroy what we have built, but to rebuild will be difficult. When something is destroyed, no one gains,” he said at the national Deepavali celebration organised by the Culture, Arts and Heritage Ministry at the KL Sentral carpark on Sunday.

He was referring to the rally organised by a non-governmental organisation called Bersih which lead to the handing over of a memorandum to a palace official in Istana Negara on Saturday afternoon.

Najib said Barisan Nasional’s way of reaching consensus through discussion had been the Government’s recipe for success.

“The Prime Minister has said that as long as there is an understanding that all races have their sensitivities, there is no problem that cannot be resolved through discussions,” he said.

Mr DPM, you say, “Do not incite disunity or racial disharmony”. I think you must be suffering from amnesia. I would like you, Mr DPM to recap what you said in 1987. You can’t remember, please accept my apologies, it slipped my mind that you are suffering from amnesia.

Here is what you said.
    In 1987, as UMNO Youth Chief, Mr DPM did you not vowed to bathe the keris (Malay dagger) with Chinese blood. Were there not banners carrying phrases such as “revoke the citizenship of those who opposed the Malay rulers”, “May 13 has begun” (referring to the May 13 racial riots in 1969), and “soak it (the keris) with Malaysian Chinese blood” ? Please tell us loyal, patriotic Malaysians who is trying to incite disunity or racial disharmony.
    Source Wikipedia
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Najib_Tun_Razak

Or have you Mr DPM forgotten about Umno Youth Leader Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein’s keris-wielding antics this year and last year.

What has BERSIH rally got to do with racial disharmony or inciting racial disharmony ? So I read betwen the lines, “Do not incite disunity or racial disharmony”. You are not suffering from amnesia after all. You have metamorphized so have your press releases and speeches. Thank God, I saw through it all. In betweens the lines are threats .

We, Bangsa Malaysia (not Bangsa Melayu, Bangsa India, Bangsa Cina, Bangsa Kadazan and Bangsa lain-lain) tapi BANGSA MALAYSIA wants a clean and fair election that is all.

BERSIH, DAP, PAS, NGO’s be ready for government cleansing machine.

62. #67 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 11 November 2007 - 10:49 pm

Sleeping Dopey said ‘I have left it to the police, and they have done a very good job…’

That is a joke…but we can’t laugh. We can only stare in disbelief at the SELF-DENIAL and DELUSION that Sleeping Dopey is suffering from. It was Sleeping Dopey who said, ‘do not defy me…’ and he warned the entire nation NOT to attend the BERSIH PEACE RALLY. The warning was again made in the morning of the day of the rally.

FACT : MORE THAN 100,000 brave Malaysians of ALL RACES DEFIED SLEEPING DOPEY!

FACT: The police COULDN’T even do the job they were instructed to do because the more than 100,000 people OUTWITTED the police. So many of of the marchers used the backlanes, sidestreets, waited at a hundred different points along the route to just join up with the marching column or simply circumvented the police checkpoints.

FACT : The people who marched were absolutely 100% disciplined. There were marshalls controlling the marching column, directing traffic, ensuring safety of the marchers when crossing roads, and ensuring that no marchers got into the path of on-coming cars. The leaders of the rally themselves were actively reminding the people to follow instructions and that the rally was a peacful rally.The phalanx of people themselves parted to allow cars to move but with more than 100,000 strong marching 7 to 10 abreast in one solid column stretching for more than 2km, it was unfortunate that traffic snarled at a FEW points and a few cars were stranded for a while in the huge, huge waves of people where marching columns merging into the main column crossed their paths.

FACT : The REAL and MASSIVE traffic jams on all roads leading into KL were caused by the POLICE ROADBLOCKS. The traffic on Jalan Syed Putra and many other main arteries HEADING INTO KL came to a grinding halt as early as 10am and cars were INCHING along. The traffic in the opposite direction OUT OF KL TOWARDS PJ was as smooth as the lies being fed to the public about the RALLY causing the gridlock.

FACT : There was a wall of police FRU trucks lined-up diagonally opposite from the Palace, creating a blockade preventing the marchers from reaching the Palace. The RAKYAT who went to present the MEMORANDUM to HIS MAJESTY conducted themselves with the highest degree of discipline and ALL races in the column acted as ONE UNITED body in responding to calls from the leaders.

FACT : There were 2 police helicopters hovering about 150 – 200 ft above the RAKYAT causing a tremendous downdraft of noise from their whirling blades to drown out the speeches of the rally leaders. Yet, the cries for a ‘free and fair election’, DAULAT TUANKU and HIDUP RAKYAT rippled from the front right through to the furthest end of the column as each wave of cry was carried and passed on despite the deafening noise from the helicopters.

FACT : The roar from the people could be heard by the people at work that morning even at higher floors inside the buildings at the Public Bank area. Such a roar could not have come from a mere 4,000 people.

FACT : After the Memorandum was handed over, the more than 100,000 people then marched to Masjid Negara. It was a PEACEFUL RALLY that was such a sight to behold. At the Masjid, a number of Muslim marchers went in to pray, while the others dispersed on being instructed to do so.

It would have needed quite a massive amout of C4 to create enough noise to drown out the people that day. Needless to say, because the RAKYAT were so absolutley disciplined, there was NOT a single incident provoked by the people, and so, by sheer coincidence, no body parts needed to be retrieved for DNA identification.

‘perhimpunan 1 juta’ was the DPM’s boast heard earlier this evening over the news in response to the mere 4,000 reported by the police. Is it really necessary to use such a massive figure in comparison to a mere 4,000? The truth – MORE THAN 100,000 UNITED IN ONE VOICE marched at the BERSIH RALLY. That’s why ’10 times as many’ is needed for emphasis.

I now witness for myself the ENGINEERED LIES carried in the ‘unoffficial organs of UMNO and MCA’ that I had been warned about earlier. I was skeptical, half-believing but just couldn’t quite grasp the extent. Now, man, am I like a blind-man who can now see, and a deaf-mute who can now hear!

DAULAT TUANKU!
    HIDUP RAKYAT!

63. #68 by Filibuster on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 12:07 am

Mr Zainuddin shouldn’t be allowed to complain now, because he was given the chance to explain his side’s (the Government) argument over the Bersih rally, during the interview with Al-Jazeera, which is broadcasted internationally. This is the same as having Jeff Ooi on the show. True, they had Jeff Ooi before Mr Zainuddin, but what not only he did not refute any of the comments put before by the “so called opposition representative” (in his interview I felt he laid the points out in a impartial manner, as opposed to something twisted towards the political gain for the opposition), and instead resorted to a beat around the bush argument.

Another question that comes out of the interview is whether our Information Minister media-trained? This is what I’d like to find out from him. Even if he is given the best possible scenario, that is, ‘Al-Jazeera tried to make the country look bad’, he could have put up a better explanation, no? I think he reflects badly on the nation, and I agree with YB Kit that he should be removed.

With all due respect to Prime Minister Badawi, you, according to your Information Minister, may only want to hear the truth from the “BN leaders” etc (or whatever it is, since the message gets twisted every time it’s mentioned over and over again). Honestly, at the end of the day the people deserve to know the truth – then it’s a matter of whether they choose to accept it, or reject it. It is not your choice. Please respect that, and spare the rhetorics.

64. #69 by hanuman on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 1:14 am

Malaysians of different races and religions have one vision, we have to walk “The Walk” on 10 November 2007. Many have come from far North and South, East and West and from across the sea. Malaysian of different races and religions have walked The Walk because we believe our destinites are all intertwined. Never have we been so united for one cause. We have walked The Walk with dignity and discipline. The November 10 Walk might have just finished. But there will be many more walks. There is no turning back but only forward.

Those of you who have come afar please go back and tell them of our one vision.

65. #70 by limkamput on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 1:30 am

In between gatherings, I think opposition and NGOs should organise and direct all Malaysians to wear yellow shirts or t-shirt during certain date of the month. It is a way to show our displeasure and defiance. Over time it is also a way to galvanise and gauge support for reform.

66. #71 by Roe Jin on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 2:11 am

I saw the ntv7 news report in this gathering, and pak lah was saying that it upsetted a lot of people. i think the only people this gathering upset was BN. he said the police had to come and do this work la, blablabla. they didn’t have to mobilise THAT many police in the first place. and he said they did a good job. i’m assuming by “good job” it meant the people were tear-gassed.

Conclusion: Bedol Napoleon is blind, mute, deaf, and handicapped mentally when it comes to the TRUTH.

67. #72 by Bigjoe on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 8:14 am

I don’t know about deaf, blind and mute. But he will do very little because HE DOES NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO!!!. He has no good answers to the ills and he has no capability to make the tough choices.

The most striking thing that I heard AAB said on Saturday was that the police did a good job and he is right. They did not overeact, overeach. They did not do the unacceptable.

And that is what AAB is all about – not doing the worst things, he is not about doing the right thing, just don’t do the wrong thing. The problem is that the system we have inherently do the wrong thing, with limited excesses but they do the wrong thing and they all add up eventually.

Take the soon energy increase. He was told to lift controls on prices long time ago when things were good a few years ago. Did he listen? No, now he want to raise prices when things are slowing down.

Make no mistake, the energy price increase is no different than a tax increase especially in this country. You may get more revenue to spend but given his commitement to all those corridors most of which are bad ideas except marginally better Iskandar, does it do much good to who? Again, mediocre ideas and action from a mediocre leader….

68. #73 by HJ Angus on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:28 am

Of course if the authorities wanted to, they too can muster a crowd of 100,000 PLUS a Police Permit.

Maybe they too should not be given a permit just to see how the police handles them.

Did you read the news before the march that the EC would now allow observers for the postal votes?

They seem to be granting concessions on a step by step basis not based on a comprehensive study but based on how much pressure is applied..
    Maybe SUHAKAM or that tape panel should be asked to look into the EC management or mismanagement.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/10/naked-ladies-and-transparent-boxes.html

69. #74 by HJ Angus on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:33 am

IDR can be a major success if Singapore is allowed a prominent role.
    But the politicians must not be too greedy and kill the goose that lays the golden eggs.

I mean policies must be transparent and remain in force for at least 30 years and we can’t have flip-flops like before.

Remember the On-Off-On(?) levy for foreign property buyers? That practically killed the Johor property market.

70. #75 by raverus on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 11:07 am

The mainstream media have made ridiculous reports, lets educate our friends around us for the truth behind 10Nov!

71. #76 by smeagroo on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 11:16 am

HOw can one be a Minister of INfo if he cant even talk properly like a normal human being? And i really mean NORMAL!

72. #77 by wits0 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 1:09 pm

What gibberish he was uttering was quite incoherent over the Al Jazeera TV.

The transcript here:
    http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/

confirms his irrelevant fudge.

Very towering indeed….like the Highland Towers.

73. #78 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 1:37 pm

limkamput Says:

November 12th, 2007 at 01: 30.41
    In between gatherings, I think opposition and NGOs should organise and direct all Malaysians to wear yellow shirts or t-shirt during certain date of the month. It is a way to show our displeasure and defiance. Over time it is also a way to galvanise and gauge support for reform.

limkamput – Brilliant idea. It’d be a nice encouragement to see towns and cities bathed in yellow from time to time. Hello YB, is this feasible? Can someone pick up the ball and keep it rolling?

74. #79 by ktteokt on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:04 pm

We have a bunch of liars in our Cabinet!!!!

75. #80 by ktteokt on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 8:59 am

AAB is blind, deaf, mute and totally disabled!!!!