Lingam Tape – has Nazri let the cat out of the bag how to end all inquiry?

Has the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, let the cat out of the bag — that there would be no further inquiry into the Lingam Tape if its authenticity could not be fully determined with the maker of the tape showing and owning up?

New Straits Times front-page headline has put it most bluntly: “NO SOURCE, NO CASE — SAYS NAZRI”

If the whole idea is to stymie any full inquiry into the serious allegations of the Lingam Tape about the perversion of the course of justice concerning the fixing of judicial appointments and the fixing of court decisions, this is as good a stratagem as any.

Of course, even if the makers of the Lingam Tape show up, there is no guarantee that it would be followed up with a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam Tape and the rot of the judiciary in the past 19 years since 1988.

I am completely baffled by Nazri’s reference to the Witness Protection Act (Star, Sun) which he said assured protection to the person or persons who took the Lingam Tape. New Straits Times reported him as referring to the Witness Protection Bill, “tabled recently in Parliament” — which is untrue, as no such bill had been tabled in Parliament.

I had been pressing for a Whistleblowers Protection Act to give meaning to a national campaign to expose corruption, misuse of funds, government scandals, criminal breach of trust and all forms of malpractices and abuses of power but the government had been dragging its feet and there are no signs that the government is ready to present a Witness Protection Bill to Parliament.

It is the height of irresponsibility for Nazri to give assurance of protection under a law which does not exist, but it is an even greater height of irresponsibility to envision a scuttling of all investigations into the Lingam Tape, its allegations of perversion of the course of justice and the rot of the judiciary in the past 19 years under a “No Source, No Case” scenario.

If the Prime Minister and Cabinet are serious about restoring national and international confidence in the independence, integrity and meritocracy of the judiciary after the ravages of 19 years, an important element to enhance our international competitiveness, the Lingam Tape should be sufficient ground for the establishment of a Royal Commission of Inquiry unless there is evidence that it is complete fake.

Let the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullahh Ahmad Badawi confirm whether what Nazri disclosed represents his official position — that unless the maker or makers of Lingam Tape show up, further inquiries into the Lingam Tape will ground to a halt. This will indeed be a national shame and tragedy.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Godfather on Monday, 8 October 2007 - 9:53 pm

Yes, being stupid is not only NOT a crime, it is a pre-requisite for all BN MPs. Tell lies is not a crime, but it is actually against one’s religion, particularly if you are expousing the merits of Islam Hadhari.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Monday, 8 October 2007 - 10:15 pm

Godfather,

Well I am sure he is going to try to deflect and do damage control and spin it but how successful could he be in these endeavours to salvage whatever left of credibility?

In what way has the Press misquoted him? Was he speaking of the Child Witness Bill 2007 and if so what has it to do with plastic surgery and a new identity or the video clip on Lingam? Or is he going to say that what he meant was that steps are afoot for the government to introduce the Witness Protection Bill? But even if he says this, it will be committing the government to introduce an Act that it does not intend to introduce so early and besides such an Act will take time to take effect way beyond the stipulated time frame for Haidar Panel to conclude its determination on the authenticity issue.

True, the mainstream press may not pursue this matter but alternative media may for a while…

However, I read the thrust of your three questions as basically questioning what’s the reason we’re making a big fuss here on Nazri’s misstatement misleading of the public as if it were anything so uncommon or as if anything worthwhile will come out of it. Are you suggesting then that we keep mute and let it pass?

Although “the majority of the voters may not really care if Nazri was talking out of his proverbial hole” – this is something that we neither can control nor ought immediately be concerned with – does not change the fact that we can still protest and celebrate at the same time and publicize his gaffes and misstatements if only they could embarrass this government to underscore the points that (i) this is the price the government has to pay and always will pay for awarding ministerial positions based on blind loyalty and ingratiation rather than merits and competence; and (ii) the signal should be sent to the high and mighty amongst UMNOputra that times have changed, that they could not just say anything they wish thinking that we Malaysians are all ignorant or stupid, would not react and would let them get away with everything and all the BS they disseminate……… .

Abraham Lincoln once said, what kills a skunk is the publicity it gives itself and we should always be accessory to this process.

3. #3 by undergrad2 on Monday, 8 October 2007 - 10:56 pm

I must say this bloke is doing a damn good job. He is deflecting criticism and focusing it on himself rather than the issues. The space given by political blogs to this man bears testimony to this.

Let’s not talk about him but about what ills our judiciary. Let’s hear some facts.

4. #4 by mendela on Monday, 8 October 2007 - 10:58 pm

Looking at the calendar, I think Oct 18th 2007, Thursday at 11 am is an auspicious date and time to have another walk to Bad-Awi’s office at Putrajaya by all the Malaysian lawyers!

5. #5 by Jong on Monday, 8 October 2007 - 11:06 pm

You’re so right undergrad2; we’ve all been had but that sob has lost all credibility and if he has any self-worth left, he should RESIGN before his boss!

6. #6 by waterman on Monday, 8 October 2007 - 11:11 pm

“undergrad2 Says:
    I must say this bloke is doing a damn good job. He is deflecting criticism and focusing it on himself rather than the issues. The space given by political blogs to this man bears testimony to this.”
    ———
    Agreed absolutely. These people are seasoned ‘Tai Chi’ masters. He has full permission from his bosses to say utter silly things just to divert attention and play time until everything cool down & forgotten.

Let’s not lose our focus. May be this time a walk to the Istana?

7. #7 by Old.observer on Monday, 8 October 2007 - 11:25 pm

“I don’t believe that 90 pct of the voters don’t understand the shenanigans of these crooks.” – Godfather

I am sad to inform you that there are far too many places in Malaysia where this happens, as evidenced by previous election results.

Unfortunately, at the end of the day, the only thing that matters – to boot out BN – is the election results. Everything else – including what we say here – simply doesn’t matter. One can argue that this sets the platform for subsequent GE, but Rakyat’s memories are fairly short, and election intervals too long that in another 5 years time, it will be “majority forgotten”, and (a lower quality of) life moves on … sadly …

Old observer.

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 12:06 am

Da man has lost his marbles man. Not sure if he’s “in control” of his senses.

When you say so many stupid things, make untrue and misleading statements, you soon lose track of reality and start to imagine things and behave irrationally. In short, you become a bit “off” your rocker, you definitely become “half-past-six or seven” and a confirmed buffoon. You think you are always right, you have chips on your shoulders and you want to challenge the whole world.

A mental case, definitely.

9. #9 by nonmuslimbumi on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 12:08 am

Barsian National will not be able to pull wool over Malaysians in this scandal, not again. The Judicary is the people’s last hope to stop the rot that is besetting us. Nazri and the BN machinery will not be able to sweep this controversy under the proverbial carpet. The world is watching and if the BN chooses that route it will bury itself in the filth it has concealed. The Bar Council, and people of Malaysia will stand up against this undercurrent of BN sponsored and BN partnered corruption.

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 12:11 am

Aaaah. Another day has begun.

What new stupidity will this day see?

11. #11 by ccjett on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 1:58 am

BBC: Malaysia witness offered surgery!! LMAO

Shame or not? I am!!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7034133.stm

12. #12 by lupus on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 5:12 am

witness protection Malaysia style –
    1xC4 brick + quiet area far far away from general population + 2xspecial protection agent from the VVIP protection department.

It does fit the promise, after all, Nazri can claim that the person has disappear and is safe…how would we all know ? Better to come public, post it on the internet overseas or even better, give it to oversea media. Afterall, this is govt. corruption (or gangster in power).

13. #13 by Godfather on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 5:35 am

Jeffrey:

What good does it do to celebrate Nazri’s gaffe amongst those of us who already know what an idiot and a bigot the guy is ? I am lamenting the fact that the mainstream press doesn’t see it fit to question the minister on his mistatement. The main reason why these people are so arrogant and are so blatant with their lies is that they control the mainstream press. They can look you in the eye and say “so what?”.

Remember that Badawi introduced KPI for GLCs and for cabinet ministers ? The Sleepy Head has forgotten about it, and the ministers all know it – so they say whatever they want and they do whatever they want irregardless of the truth or accuracy of the their statements.

Focus on the Royal Commission.

14. #14 by lakshy on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 6:08 am

“Tell me the truth”……when PM says this and he is handed a memorandum after the walk for justice asking for a Royal Commission, he does not do so. So what does he want to tell him? Lies? Sweet Nothings? That he can hear from his cabinet and wife.

Why is there a need for the person who video-taped the phone conversation? Get going and investigate the case based on what evidence is already present to avoid crucial bits of evidence being destroyed.

Justice delayed is justice denied too!

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 6:40 am

Nazri’s pussy is out of the bag?? Didn’t know he had one.

16. #16 by johneye on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 6:59 am

There’s the audio and video, clearly showing what’s happening. What the heck do you still need a source? Man, what the hell is happening to Malaysia?

If you remain silent, perfectly silent, I assure you’ll hear the whole world laughing at us.

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 7:03 am

“Focus on the Royal Commission” – Godfather.

Although what Undergrad2 says is true – that the main issue is judicial rot of which, according to him, the “bloke” has so far been competent to distract the public from by his incompetence – don’t forget that: -

1. the way to address judicial rot is 2 steps, first and most important is to ensure that the video clip proves and is acceptable as irrefutable evidence of the rot, which upon such proof being accepted, will, in turn, pave the way to justify the establishment of Judicial Commission for appointment of judges in the near future;

2. the Minister of Law, with his legal credentials, is specifically put there by powers to be (bent on preserving the rot) as a guard dog to use whatever means necessary to prevent the first step being taken and second step stated above to follow –

which suggest, to me at least, that the man and the bigger issue are inextricably tied up as one integral rather than two separate and distinct problems, and that one can never make meaningful progress to the real issue of the judicial rot if the necessary has not been done to neutralize and discredit the obstacle of the guard dog positioned at the front gate barring entry.

18. #18 by observer on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 7:44 am

This is democracy at its lowest point. every four or five years, the majority of the voters log in to this BN and you got these zoological animal becoming our ministers.They will happily squeezed the rakyat money and live happily after.. with this happening in our bolehland, one wonder there is justice ?

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 8:16 am

“..//…I am lamenting the fact that the mainstream press doesn’t see it fit to question the minister on his misstatement. The main reason why these people are so arrogant and are so blatant with their lies is that they control the mainstream press. They can look you in the eye and say “so what?”..//..” – Godfather.

Now we too can equally say “so what?” to mainstream press. We all know its role. It is not a new revelation. Can one blame the editors when the papers themselves are either owned directly or indirectly by ruling parties and their friends, manacled as they are, by 1984 Printing Presses and Publications Act requiring annual renewal of licence?

Predictably NST which carried in front page Nazri’s non existent Witness Protection Bill yesterday is resoundingly silent today.

The Sun carries a very small column on page 4 under caption/byline “ What I meant : Nazri”. (What he meant was “the govt is looking to enact a law to protect whistleblowers, there is a need for such an Act” (that the Star on its page N6 added) in “the stage of drafting” which is immediately somewhat at odds with what was reportedly said next that when he spoke to reporters on Sunday “he was referring to all available Acts in the country that offered some protection to witnesses like the Anti-Corruption Act, Criminal Procedure Code, Evidence of Child Witness Act and Anti Trafficking in Persons Act”, (The Star used the words “other mechanisms”) which he had asked his press secretary to request the press to make clarification, though it was not done).

Come on, we all know that all available Acts in the country have nothing to do with plastic surgery and new identity and that if they were good enough to protect whistleblower, there would not be a need for a Witness Protection Act lobbied for by Civil Society.

The reportage in The Star today is even better – it reported that Nazri would push for the Witness Protection Act. He said he planned to raise the matter with the cabinet meeting tomorrow. He said he was in favour of govt giving assurance of protection to whistleblower relating to video clip.

There are three immediate positive outcomes for Civil Society in the widespread exposing of his gaffe are:

1. the red herring of his challenge to Anwar/PKR to bring out the Whistleblower now or else they are lying has been exposed, brushed aside and discredited;

2. the necessity for a Witness Protection Act that Civil Society has been lobbying for some time has suddenly been acknowledged and a public commitment made that it is on the way…

3. the overzealousness of his misstatement “misleading the public” to deflect the cry for the Royal Commission in fact weakens the government’s objection to and works the reverse to underline the need more than ever for the Royal Commission.

20. #20 by assamlaksa on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 8:19 am

There is no Witness / Whistleblower Protection Act? Never mind, Nazri is the Law of Bolehland.

21. #21 by taikohtai on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 8:21 am

Much as I would like to be proven wrong, wrong and wrong, it’s looking like the Sultans are impotent. The Lingamgate has dragged on a while now and more sh*t has spewed from BN and frontman Nazri. Now the rakyat is feeling even more powerless although great manipulation of the system goes on right in their very eyes.
    Ampun Tuanku but if the rights of the rakyat is being eroded daily, the Emperor (read Agong) wears no clothes.

22. #22 by bystander on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 8:45 am

The sultans got to look after their nasi bowls as well la. Therefore they got to play balls with the politicians. Assumption that the sultans are heroes and knights coming to the rescue of the citizenry is a myth. On the contrary, they can be pretty timid and prefer to maintain status quo.

23. #23 by Jimm on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 9:37 am

Have we ever wonder that one day NA will become the next PM replacing AAB instead of NTR ?
    With so many plots and internal power struggling in UMNO, NA are given a upper hand to ‘seasoned’ himself with higher level of stresses and public addresses. So far, only the two “N”s are equally profound with their proud public addresses each day. AAB have been given a rest from all these due to the advantages he have in controlling the pack.
    We all knew that NTR have lose out all because of his own ‘shortsighted’ and greed doings and far more, he is never a born leader as what his father have preferred. He is such a loser in the political world and was given a lifeline because of his father influences that still can hold certain unity among the pack. In general, he have nothing to offer to this country from his owm pockets.
    As for NA, coming from behind and having to worked hard with PMs in their plans, this guy is such a multitasking and thick skin to handle public objections. Moreover, he have gained a big grassroot supports during his years of service the previous PM and now the current PM trusted this guy more. This leads to the fact that PM will consider putting NA as his replacement to ease off public concern over his families activities.
    As for NTR, he knew of these threat from NA, however, he are far from defending his rights to become the next PM due to his activities and life style.

24. #24 by Jong on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 9:54 am

” 2. the Minister of Law, with his legal credentials, is specifically put there by powers to be (bent on preserving the rot) as a guard dog to use whatever means necessary to prevent …. ” – Jeffrey

yeah, rottweiler NA down with rabies!

25. #25 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 10:03 am

theStar (9.10.07): Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz will push for the Witness Protection Bill to be tabled in Parliament as soon as possible and for it to be made retrospective.

This ‘bohong, bohong, bohong’ creature is truly ‘bodoh, bodoh, bodoh’. He is also dangerous in that he will shoot first and then amend the laws to suit his purpose.

26. #26 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 11:01 am

“The main reason why these people are so arrogant and are so blatant with their lies is that they control the mainstream press. They can look you in the eye and say “so what?”. ” – Godfather

Godfather, my buddy, you sound like you are mad or something.
    Dude, take a chill pill, man.

27. #27 by Godfather on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 12:36 pm

Take a reality pill, dude. I’m not mad, just very sad. Sad that a government with a 91 pct mandate chooses to do wrong instead of good. Sad that the vast majority of UMNOputras still cannot differentiate between right and wrong, between truth and hypocrisy.

Sad that the Chinese and the Indians still think that there is a future within the ruling coalition, and still seek to compromise despite having their rights eroded from 1957.

Sad that the public does not see that the systemic rot within our protective institutions – the Judiciary, the ACA, the AG’s Chambers – mean that justice can be bought, and that in the future justice is only for the rich.

RealWorld, I sincerely hope that the day will never come where you or your relatives have to fight for your rights against an even-better-connected UMNOputra. I sincerely hope that you or your relatives never have to test the theory of whether “right is might” or whether “wealth is right”.

28. #28 by rokian on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 1:06 pm

The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down
    by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds.
    Think big anyway.

People favor underdogs but follow only top dogs.
    Fight for a few underdogs anyway.

People really need help but may attack you if you do help them.
    Help people anyway.

Give the world the best you have and you’ll get kicked in the teeth.
    Give the world the best you have anyway.

29. #29 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 1:30 pm

I simply cannot suffer fools for Ministers; Nazri is first on the list. All the other BN Ministers come close behind.

30. #30 by Godfather on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 - 2:28 pm

Society is finished if Justice is available for sale or is only restricted to the well-connected and the wealthy. Once the poor and unconnected cannot get justice, then we are doomed, and will forever be in the same category as Philippines, Ghana, Zimbabwe…

I don’t think that people like Nazri is unaware of this danger to future generations, but I guess short-term gains override everything for UMNO.

Comments are closed.