Quantum leap into abyss of media control and censorship – Will Pak Lah end up as “Predator of Press Freedom”?

The Internal Security Ministry ban on mainstream media from reporting the Wee Meng Chee Negarakuku rap controversy marks a quantum jump into the abyss of media control, censorship and blackout completely unthinkable when Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became Prime Minister 45 months ago.

Never before has one civil servant been vested with such powers as the Ministry’s Publications Control and Al-Quran Texts Unit senior officer Che Din Yusof, who had last month banned mainstream media from publishing reports discussing the unilateral, arbitrary and unconstitutional declaration by Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak that Malaysia is an Islamic State driven by Islamic fundamentals and was and had never been a secular state — in total disregard of the Merdeka social contract and Malaysia Agreement publicly reaffirmed by the first three Prime Ministers, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak and Tun Hussein that Malaysia is a secular state with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic state.

Where are the MCA and MCA Youth wavers of the Malaysian Constitution only a few days ago to stand up for the fundamental rights of Malaysians, including freedom of speech and expression to protest at the latest denial of the basic human rights of Malaysians?

Were the MCA and MCA leaders behind the latest media ban to dampen the public anger at the failure of MCA Ministers in Cabinet to defend Wee Meng Chee against an orchestrated campaign by Umno and Umno Youth Ministers/leaders to demonise, criminalize and crush Wee despite a public apology?

It is shocking that as the country gets nearer and nearer to the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations in ten days time, the Barisan Nasional government is shooting itself in the foot by creating one issue after another which make more and more Malaysians question the whole purpose of the official celebrations.

At the rate the government is violating fundamental liberties and press freedoms in the country, it will not be long before Abdullah follows in the footsteps of his predecessor of being branded a “Predator of Press Freedom” by international advocates and defenders of press freedoms.

1. #1 by sabah tun on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 5:49 pm

A drowning man clutches at straw…

Abdullah is doing whatever he can to distort reports and distract from his obvious bad governance of the country.

2. #2 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 6:38 pm

ON the 31st I will be flying a kite. Anyone with me?

3. #3 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 6:40 pm

By the way, mine is a size M from Byford. Most probably made in Msia. Bahhhh.

4. #4 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 6:43 pm

“Predator of Press Freedom”?

Nay, more Napolean of Press Freedom and Stalin of rights, and Hitler of Religion”!

little napoleans running here and there because there’s a bigger Napolean at the Helm,

Joseph Stalin executes millions that dares to oppose him.

Hitler, well, nuff said.!!!!

phark lah, liao liao under this guy!

5. #5 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 6:59 pm

Are we gonna have “press freedom” should the Opposition come into power?

6. #6 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 9:18 pm

When the oppositions comes into power, they should first of all get rid of all the blood sucking croonies.

7. #7 by UFOne on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 9:32 pm

No wonder after 50 years we still have mind dead Malaysians. Malaysians who never exercise their minds and all they do is to follow the leader.

8. #8 by patriotic1994 on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 9:52 pm

This year’s 50th Merdeka shall be a cold year for the government. Very few car put on the flag! The business buildings are forced to put it on. I think if they have choice, there is no flag too.

The more the government do this, the more they make the Malaysians angry. Yet, they continue to ignore.

9. #9 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 11:32 pm

There’s something about leaping in Malaysia, is that it’s never going foward by any definitions, quantum or not, we are taking that faithless leap. Sad when you see freedom is being curb in our country, I felt the BN govt will soon will be the reincarnation of Khemer Rouge, now that’s a quantum leap.

10. #10 by patriotic1994 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 1:01 am

Just a question for DAP: Will DAP announce that it can run the government if elected? I think this can give more confidence to voters when they vote, and realize that it is going to make a BIG different to the country.

Also, when I asked my staff whether he is a registered voter. He said no. He even said, he will not vote. I am angry, of course. He claimed that there is no point to vote. It is going to be the same. And he also scare of bad things happen to him!

Is there anything we could do to make young people, especially young Chinese, to feel confident and safe, that voting is their responsibility and not something to be afraid of? Oh, his state of mind is also partly due to his father told him NOT to involve in such activities! Bad parenting, imaging this is a KL kid, supposed to be more open minded!

I just want to find something that is well written to cater for these type of people. May be FAQ or sort. Or any society that these people should go for and NOT being labeled or associated with any particular party.

Sound like a job that SPR should do but NOT done…

Thanks in advance for listening and answers.

11. #11 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 4:49 am

“When the oppositions comes into power, they should first of all get rid of all the blood sucking croonies.” – ihavesomethingtosay

Will there be “new blood sucking croonies”?

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 7:12 am

On the eve our 50th Merdeka celebrations and in months approaching general elections, the government and UMNO are facing extreme pressure from the alternative media led principally by Raja Petra Kamarudin : http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/

They are trying to devise ways to fight the Cyber Challenge posed by alternative media via likes of RPK, Bakri Musa, Meng Chee etc and prevent it from spilling over to mainstream media. :)

13. #13 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 7:21 am

to Realworld the liverpool fan

Freedom of speech..you know very well, 100% freedom of speech cant achieve even in US but could be done staggered but not till the extend fabricated on every cases especially in Malaysia. Singapore is doing very well but very strict when come to freedom of speech but with cyberworld and citizens getting more and more educated it is a matter of time Singapore have to change that too.

For new croonies, you dont know and I, too dont know but we always stuck with the current one, one thing I know is that 50 years is too long for one same government to perform and we are going backward instead of forward..these are proven. SO I am willing to change the situation any opposition cos BN is too complacent and contended plus damn arrogant! I am very malu to have Kerismuddin as our Education Ministry which should be changed to martial art Ministry and wannabes like KJ.

You have your reason to vote BN and I have mines..that simple..How;s your Liverpool doing?

14. #14 by Godfather on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 7:34 am

Insinuating that there COULD be lack of press freedom and that there COULD be new blood sucking cronies when the Opposition comes to power is only used as an excuse by BN to continue its thieving ways.

It is also a blatant admission by BN that, yes, there is a lack of press freedom and, yes, there is blood-sucking cronyism under the current corrupt and bankrupt regime.

15. #15 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 7:42 am

who ever said that the 50th merdeka celebration will be based on the pride of the nation being 50 years old? it is all about spending for the celebrations (read as chance for grabbing $). to other people, it only means one day for holiday or a chance to berpesta for free. nothing to do with malaysia at all.

16. #16 by Toyol on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 8:41 am

There will always be restricted freedom of the press and birth of ‘cronies’. Thats why we need the Opposition…ALWAYS!

Why do we even bother to celebrate Merdeka under the present regime? Merdeka is a celebration of life, success and freedom as well as an opportunity to go forward. We are going backward at an extremely fast pace! Do we feel free? Do we think we have achieved success? I think not…

17. #17 by k1980 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 9:07 am

Is poverty really defined by race? Then what about Malay millionaires?
    http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=19060
    “The problem now is that the government itself is caught in this racial interpretation and politicians cannot seem to get out of this shackle,” …He added that developed countries do not recognise race as a factor when they are planning their economic development. “This mentality is prevalent among Malays who feel under siege and religion is often used as an excuse or escapism and this has to change.”

18. #18 by Jimm on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 9:28 am

We stopped the progression of Malaysia future since the last 50 years to create a special platform to assist our ‘brothers and sisters’ to enjoy equal wealth status.
    We stopped the progression of the right Malaysian to drive this country to the next level of competition with the world advancement as we are different in color and named.
    We stopped everything that moving forward faster then the pace that they are comfortable of, just to make things bearable.
    We stopped the exercise to upgrade our education system inline with the world standard since 50 years ago because we were make to believe that our ‘brothers and sisters’ requires special attention to make up the number in educated level.
    All those and many more lies that we were lead through in the entire 50 years that all Malaysian aren’t aware of.
    We were silently taught to ‘be careful’ about our ‘brothers and sisters’ and their culture and the same reverse idealogy were inplant to them about us.
    What a big lies ?
    At the end of everthing that we were brought up with and in believe of, we all have be victimised by their planning.
    In making everything seems real to us in believe, we are sore loser.
    We just lost the ultimate chance to make Malaysia -the beautiful country of the world by being a believer in the system.
    We actually losing in a grand way that we were make believe of winning the race.
    Malaysia …

19. #19 by justiciary on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 10:07 am

If not because of the decades old irrational public policies implemented by the stupid BN,Malaysia today with its abundant natural resources and if only if its talented people had been retained and utilized would have become a country easily on par with Singapore,Taiwan and South Korea.What a pity.

20. #20 by megaman on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 10:23 am

hi pamelaoda,

Your comments on Singapore
    “Singapore is doing very well but very strict when come to freedom of speech but with cyberworld and citizens getting more and more educated it is a matter of time Singapore have to change that too.”

is only half-right … I am no political or communications specialist but I have been living and working in spore for years and I am astute enough to notice how things are done here …

The Singapore government is successful so far because it don’t confront the issue of freedom of speech head-on with regulations and legal threats. Instead, it joins in and play the “game” better than anyone else.

Before any changes or new policies are introduced, it is always preceded by a subtle media blitz thus conditioning the mind of the people. For example, before they recently introduced the changes to the CPF system and increased the retirement age to 65, the mainstream media have already been reporting on issues of aging populations, comparisons and comments on Japan (which has a similar problem), critiques on the social schemes in Europe and USA etc etc. And they pre-empt all critics but launching and introducing so-called measures for all concerns that may be raised by the critics.
    This are all done meticulously and well-executed, almost like producing a movie.

NOBODY is happy but NOBODY can find any fault at all …
    It is a well-planned and executed operation.

Unlike Msia, these “monkeys” grab and steal and bicker in broad daylight as if the rakyat are dumb uneducated village bums.
    It was so obvious that it is painful to look at but I guess this method works as well because when I see apathy and the “apa boleh buat” attitude in my fellow Msians.
    *Shake head*

21. #21 by Jonny on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 11:01 am

Realworld, don’t worry about it.

Once the Opposition becomes Government of the day. And the current government becomes Opposition, there will always be a strong check and balance on both side to make sure there shall not be greedy cronies.

A stronger check and balance and a very strictly demarcated roles of judiciary, execution and legislation is what we want.

And on top of it, a Polis Di Raja Malaysia whose supreme leader is the DYMM YDP Agong and not Chinese Mafia.

And of course, a 100% free ACA which reports to the Parliament. And not to the PM.

Tun Mahathir has done too many mistakes amassing all power concentration to his posts and happily pass them over to his annointed one. He could have manage all the greedy monkeys.

The current administration couldn’t manage all the monkey business. Hence, we have to resort to allow for the exportation of these monkeys overseas. Someone reportedly worked out a tune of RM20million profit for exporting these monkeys.

Good monkey business eh?

LOL.

22. #22 by Godfather on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 11:24 am

While RealWorld was enjoying himself in the UK, the monkeys here were running riot….

Media control is the only way the thieves can cling on to power. They believe that the less the people know, the better. That’s why they are at a loss as to how to control the alternative media. Rants and threats and police reports merely show that they don’t know what to do against a public that is increasingly skeptical about the controlled mainstream press.

23. #23 by sotong on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 12:03 pm

There are many talented, hard working and capable Malaysians who could assist to clean up the mess…..many have knowledge and experience working in successful developed countries with protection of basic human rights.

But it could take 10 – 20 years to implement workable policies and programs and lots of pain through necessary reform and restructuring to ensure its success.

BN had 50 years and got nothing to show except rampant corruption, gross abuse of power, worsening racial and religious relationship, high crime rate, grossly ineffective and inefficient administration, widening gap between rich and poor and etc..

How could anyone do worse than this?

24. #24 by strupper2003 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 12:46 pm

Dear YB Lim,
    I think most Chinese voters nowadays have deserted MCA/BN. The majority of Malay and Indian voters however still believed BN (Umno/MIC).

Perhaps the DAP, along with other opposition parties, should spend more of its resources to woo non-Chinese voters to the cause of the opposition.

The DAP needs to attract more non-Chinese supporters to dispell the undeserved notions that it “chauvanistic.”

25. #25 by St0rmFury on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 1:01 pm

To all who are doubting DAP’s capabilities should they win the general election, I would rather take a chance than remain trapped like this. BN has been given enough chances. If they can’t manage the country, then please make way for someone who is willing to try. A top figure in a company usually resigns if the company suffers loss after loss to give someone else a chance to turn the mess around, this is what BN should do (many years ago).

26. #26 by sotong on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 1:20 pm

When the big Napolean lost control, respect and direction, you have little Napoleans doing whatever they like to the country.

This’s what happened to our country – bad leadership of the past and inherited by the present!

27. #27 by nukie on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 1:32 pm

Megaman quoted:
    “Before any changes or new policies are introduced, it is always preceded by a subtle media blitz thus conditioning the mind of the people. For example, before they recently introduced the changes to the CPF system and increased the retirement age to 65, the mainstream media have already been reporting on issues of aging populations, comparisons and comments on Japan (which has a similar problem), critiques on the social schemes in Europe and USA etc etc. And they pre-empt all critics but launching and introducing so-called measures for all concerns that may be raised by the critics.
    This are all done meticulously and well-executed, almost like producing a movie.”

Singapore probably has a bunch of scholars/ministers sitting in the parliament doing nothing but to think and come out with all these strategies on this… They have gone through enough brainstormings, market surveys before such policies is implemented.

Do you think our government gone through enough brainstorming sessions before they carry out a new policy? I leave to you to decide…

For a country to get into the next stage, you definitely need at least 10 years of effort to condition the people in the country to implant enough good ideas and policies before the country can start going into another quantum leap. If we start now, ain’t we too far behind to comparing to other countries? But if you start now, is better than not starting at all.

Just my 2cents.

28. #28 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 3:33 pm

Constitution?
    What is the value of Constitution in Malaysia? It has no value at all.
    They will amend it at any time to suit their purpose.
    They already suggested that the Constitution be amended AGAIN so that the legal system be Malaysianised (or Islamised or Talibanised).
    It is really sad that Malaysia has degenerated into the current state.

29. #29 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 6:59 pm

Not all Singapore plans are good and there may not be free speech

But I do admire their management styles everything does click into place.
    The government is run like a corporate where fleecing is not tolerated unlike the bodowi government where almost if not all BN honchos have their fingers in the pie.

those caught in SG will get prosecuted heavily. Those caught in Malaysia will just need bodowi to say “tak apa lah saya tak tau” tanya ACA or AG or PDRM which are all reputably known to be dysfunctional and/or not so clean at all.

30. #30 by ihavesomethingtosay on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 9:23 pm

Thanks Jonny, I couldn’t have reply “it” better myself.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 9:33 pm

The only leap that this sleepy Prime Minister is capable of making is a leap into bed with his new wife.

32. #32 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 10:05 pm

picture this present government…analyse those who hv been talking rubbish and making a big fuss over small issues and trying to seek a lot of attention.these are the ministers thats good for nothing.and these are the people who clearly dont work for the people except their own pockets.if they really feel the heat abt what others are saying abt them…then by no fault thats their own guilty conscious.dont hv to jump and leap like a monkey trying to be a hero and pretending to be patriotic and a loyal bunch.patriotic my foot….but yes…loyal to corruption.see how many of these idiots got off smiling as if they own the country with their laws in their own hands.we knw who they are but sadly we hv none capable leader who dares to punish them for their greediness.maybe its been their custom to accept as much bribes as possible during their time in the government.sigh….wat a bunch of goonies…

33. #33 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 10:15 pm

TO megaman

you are definitely right on the points on Singapore and that I really salute them. Singapore goverment are very transparent when it’s concern the issues like improving the situation, government related issues and stuffs like that. I am refering to few cases like issues on public speaking and the procedures on getting a permit…

However, that is not important as Singaporeans are well taken care off..but look at us..we still have to compete and fight amongst ourselves to get the same pie since 50 yrs ago..

34. #34 by witoutprejudice on Thursday, 23 August 2007 - 11:14 am

what can you expect from a man graduated from Bachelor of Arts in Islamic Studies to govern a country comparing to a man graduated with First Class Honour in Mathematics from Cambridge and Master in Public Administration from Harvard. Ours failed statistics paper and probably do not understand what is KPI?

Okay some might said not all genius and entrepreneurs finish their schools and don’t judge from their qualification. It is not fair. If he can performed well, i won’t judge his qualification. but he didn’t manage to show result, didn’t he?

Rakyat probably forgotten that AAB is also a Chinese by blood. He shouldn’t be in UMNO. A disgrace to Chinese.

35. #35 by RealWorld on Friday, 24 August 2007 - 11:14 am

To pamelaoda:

I support Chelsea. :)
    How is Liverpool doing? I think Rafa made a few good buys. And Anfield is a shrine for football. It was my 2nd visit there and the place, especially the Kop’s end is mind boggling on match day.
    But Chelsea will win the EPL this season.

I respect your choice for the Opposition. At the end of the day, we are the same. We are Malaysians no matter who we support BN or Opposition or even Liverpool!!!

I think we in Msia are blessed. I grew up with food on the table, peace and have the opportunity for education. I am thankful because I was able to find the job of my dreams and later on moved on to own my own business. For that all, I am thankful for the government and country. I travelled widely around the world, and I must say that I am glad in Msia we have peace and development.

Singapore, yes the country is clean and efficient. But it is not free from cronism nor nepotism.

I guess at the end of the day, there is no perfect system, country or leaders.

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 25 August 2007 - 7:11 am

RealWorld,

I think you’re honest and you spoke from your personal experiences. But many others are less fortunate than yourself and they want change. It is time you see the plight of the less fortunate. Maybe you should give back something to the Malaysian community who made the sacrifices so you could have your dream? Mentoring perhaps? A scholarship trust fund perhaps?

37. #37 by mateRealWorld on Sunday, 26 August 2007 - 9:23 pm

RealWorld,
    Are we gonna have “press freedom” should the Opposition come into power?
    Answer: You don’t know about that, neither do I. But currently, we both know there’s none.

Will there be “new blood sucking croonies”?
    Answer: You don’t know about that, neither do I. But currently, we both know there are plenty.

You grow up having food on your table, you even have the opportunity to travel the world. I must say you belong to the top 5% of the population, financially.

I don’t expect you to understand the plight of a normal Malaysian, ’cause in my opinion, you never will, no offense meant.

Really, I have some friends who are pretty well off financially, and they don’t really care much about what’s going on with the current administration. Fuel hike, toll hike, drop in EPF interest, etc., don’t affect them much. In fact, these things don’t affect them at all. It’s really sad that they’re already 30 plus, and they have yet to register as a voter!

You feel that you’re blessed, simply because You aren’t yet affected by the government. It doesn’t mean that you’ll never be affected.

We are still strong economically, simply because we still have lots of natural resources, mainly petroleum, to sustain ourselves. What happens when all these run out one day? We’ll become a net importer for petroleum by 2011, can you imagine how we’ll fare then?

Racial divide is widening, corruption is becoming worse, FDI is dropping like shit, our natural resources are becoming scarce… All these will culminate in chaos one day. And when you feel that you’re affected by then, it’d already be too late.

38. #38 by pamelaoda on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 7:08 am

Hi Realworld

Sorry for the late reply. That’s exactly what I am trying to point out. You have your opportunity but many dont and deprived at.

And no one system is perfect but if the current one has shown many flaw, unfairness, and arrogant for not listening the voice of rakyat and corrupted like the Zakaria’s case plus etc etc.

It is always not easy to change infact anything not only politic party especially ppl in Malaysia are so contended and thought the current is good enough n good enough and if the mentality is always the same, it will never change and improved! The first step is always the most difficult.

You won’t know maybe the “other party” would be much better ?
    I am not expecting major win but at least more oppostion to seat in and represent rakyat for a start! Let the BN swallow their pride and start to behave better!