Public building mishaps – once is accident, twice is coincidence, thrice is systemic government collapse

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was angry yesterday. He ordered an immediate inspection of all government buildings for defects.

He said: “I feel angry. I feel ashamed. What the hell is this? It’s so new and such a thing happened.

“Something must have gone wrong somewhere. We need to know. I can’t be jumping all over the place!”

The Prime Minister was referring to a spate of embarrassing defects in new government offices — the collapse of a ceiling due to a leaky sprinkler system at the Entrepreneur and Co-operative Development Ministry in Putrajaya on Saturday, the ceiling collapse in a secretary’s room at the world’s largest court complex at the Jalan Duta court complex yesterday and on April 11, the Immigration Department headquarters in Putrajaya had to be closed after water flooded the seven-floor building following a failure in plumbing, turning and evacuating more than 1.000 people.

On March 22, Abdullah reacted in disbelief when what he never expected happened — a landslide in Putrajaya (Precinct 9) only inches away from three 15-storey government apartments, damaging 25 cars and evacuating more than 1,500 people from Blocks A, B and C in Phase 11 of the government housing complex.

The Prime Minister said he was angry and he “can’t be jumping all over the place”. But there were no signs that he was really either.

The disgraceful episode of the ceiling collapse of the multipurpose hall at the ground floor of the Entrepreneur and Co-operative Development Ministry (MEDC) Building in Putrajaya occurred on Saturday but Abdullah was not angry enough to say anything immediately or for the next 24-36 hours — as he only expressed his anger after the Umno supreme council meeting yesterday. Was Abdullah “advised” by the other Umno leaders to be “angry” over the string of government mishaps?

Yesterday, Abdullah said: “Maintenance is very important. I have said this many times but these people, as long as nothing happens, they don’t care.”

A “third-world culture of maintenance” had been the favourite whipping-boy to explain away government mishaps, but when new buildings costing more than their counterparts in first-world developed countries break down even before being fully operational, like what happened at the largest court complex in the world in Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur, the problem must be fundamental and deep-seated.

What we are seeing is the decay and disintegration of a public service delivery system which had rightly prided itself of being world top-class in the first decade of Independence — another sobre reminder of how far behind the country had gone backwards in public service quality and efficieincy.

Of late, more and more government mishaps which had been quite unthinkable and unbelievable seem to have entered into the realm of the possible during the 42-month premiership of Abdullah.

The tag line that “once is accident, twice is coincidence, thrice is enemy action” for completely different circumstances could appropriately be modified to “once is accident, twice is coincidence, thrice is systemic government collapse” in reference to the spate of government mishaps under the Abdullah premiership.

1. #1 by gianthunk on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 4:52 pm

The government should check with the sub contractors who carried out the works whether they were paid or not. The previous administration used to award contracts to cronies, most of them belong to one only political party and I heard a lot of sub contractors were not paid their due.

At least the present govn has taken step to remedy the situation by splitting the tenders to respective class and payment is guaranteed. Previously most contracts were awarded to people who play politic and may not know what is construction all about except pocketed all the $$$$$.

2. #2 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 4:56 pm

Only when things in his country under his premiership has gone really bad ;

He said: “I feel angry. I feel ashamed. What the hell is this? It’s so new and such a thing happened.

“Something must have gone wrong somewhere. We need to know. I can’t be jumping all over the place!”

3. #3 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 4:59 pm

And it took him 42 months of premiership to utter those words. Thank you Mr Prime Minister. I hope you are one term only or else not only putrajaya is going down, we don’t want to be buried along with you.

4. #4 by awesome on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 6:09 pm

Can we blame him Dawsheng? He was Mr. faithful to Dr. M when Putrajaya was established. Not much of say then, I presume. Now it is his turn. So perhaps we give him a break! And give him more time.

Feel sorry for him as he has to pick up the pieces and steer the country as the ocean liner onto a stormy sea. We pray that he’ll have strength and wisdom to do it accurately.

What else can we do? All the best Mr. Prime Minister.

5. #5 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:08 pm

There is another one. “Once bitten twice shy Twice bitten go and die”.
    What shame is he talking about? The governmet does not understand the meaning of shame.
    He should be ashamed of his Ijok victory too. There is a long list of government failures going into billions – too many to mention but I can start off with – tin market manupulation, forex loss, building/flyover collapse, Perwaja, crooked bridge etc -.
    I am not sure whom he is angry with. In fact it is HIS government’s gross failure and inefficiency.
    What can one expect when contacts are given to cronies without tender at many times the real cost and they in turn subcontract them at half that.

6. #6 by hkh on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:14 pm

God has spoken.
    1. Immigration dept. collapsed because of the sabah IC and free influx of Indons.
    2. Entreprenuership in this country is dead if NEP not resolved.
    3. Justice my foot, just look at the Ijok buy-election.

Who is next?

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:49 pm

CORRUPTION OF BN = COLLAPSE OF Government buildings.

If 30% that should have gone into the steel, bricks and mortar of the buildings go into crony pockets, how can building stand!

Pak Lah has his eyes closed while the nation sinks.

8. #8 by kelangman88 on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 8:41 pm

Its weird that TV3 is having SMS pool asking whether its due to maintenance (the result is yes). Come on. The question should be structured to:

Is the public building mishap due to NEP that give half past six company the contract to build and maintain those building?

9. #9 by lks on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 9:12 pm

not much kick back in maintenance work, so why bother? let the building rot and that will quicken the pace of rebuilding a new one, so more money can be made.

simple calculation.

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 9:14 pm

“He said: “I feel angry. I feel ashamed. What the hell is this? It’s so new and such a thing happened.

“Something must have gone wrong somewhere. We need to know. I can’t be jumping all over the place!” Abdullah Badawi

No one expects you to, Mr. Prime Minister. Have you not heard of the concept of ‘delegation’? You of course delegate your duties and not your responsibilities.

I believe the country is waiting to see major disasters like a collapse of a major building, of a bridge or fire, a major train derailment, an air crash – all of which would take unprecedented toll in human lives. It is not a matter of “if” but “when”.

So brace yourselves Malaysians.

When that happens the Prime Minister would still be saying “Why was I not told? I didn’t know. Let me look into it.”

11. #11 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 9:47 pm

Abdullah’s idiotic rhetoric that “something must have gone wrong somewhere” is the muttering of an imbecile who knows all along what that “something” is— the awarding of contracts without proper tender to the wrong bidders who in all probability own a ‘company’ with just RM2 paid-up capital and have entirely no experience in construction. He said that he felt angry and ashamed ….yes, of himself who enabled all this nonsense to exist in the first place.

12. #12 by kurakura on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:00 pm

HAHAHHAHHAHHAHAHHAAHAHHAHAHA.

Sorry. But this is too ridiculous. Ask him to ask any adequately educated person in the streets and he will get the answer. CORRUPTION.

He said maintainence is important? HAHA.
    Even maintainence jobs are a source of corruption.

13. #13 by Loh on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:06 pm

Oh don’t blame anybody. It is a result of global warming. Samy vellu would conclude that that is act of God.

14. #14 by cherasusie on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:24 pm

if you do bad things, when you die you go to hell

but before you die, god will occasionally show it’s displeasure…..

don’t tell people you pray five times a day but tell people you do five good things a day….

if you are really god fearing……don’t be a hypocrite!

15. #15 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:32 pm

act of god? he is god what
    god of con jobs.

16. #16 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:38 pm

surprisingly sami the dummy’s house si still standing. how come it didnt come down after so many years? i am sure the same CONtractors did his house with a much lower fee.

17. #17 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:40 pm

Collapse of structures in new buildings are not due to poor maintenance. New structures should not disintegrate so fast. The problems are due to poor construction, simple.

And poor construction are due to poor workmanship. Poor workmanship are due to bad contractors. Bad contractors are due to bad systems of awarding contracts. And bad system of awarding contracts are caused by a bad public delivery system. And bad public delivery system are due to a bad Govt which practises NEP cronyism and corruption which breeds the bad system of contract awards. Matrade Building, MRR2, fungus in new hospitals, the navy complex fiasco, smart lab fiasco, shit, the list is endless. Only an imbecile cannot see what is wrong. Stop jumping and start kicking arse and the problems will disappear. Otherwise, dear PM, you deserve what you sow.

18. #18 by Not spoon fed on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:41 pm

Our wooden house built in 1955 has never collapsed.

The bumi contractors have blamed the non bumi monopolised material supplies supplying poor quality materials.

19. #19 by cherasusie on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:50 pm

it is no just corruptions, it is also imcompetence…. results of years of mis-governing…

don’t send mediocre students to universities….if you send 700 student in, 100% will graduate but only 7 usable…what for? EGO?
    SURE WIN POLITICS?

693 unusables…….resulting in buildings collapse, patients wrongly treated, business fails etc etc.

MARA….university?

20. #20 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:51 pm

Quick!! Someone check the ceiling of the 4th Floor!!! Or the floor of the 5th Floor!! Then again, maybe don’t.

21. #21 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 11:03 pm

With all these water leakages causing so much havoc, dare anyone use the up to 12km SMART tunnel when it is soon open?

Will the storm water causes the ceiling and walls of the tunnel to break and flood the whole tunnel and causing havoc within it?

Will such a catastrophe ever occur? Normally, no. But given the standard of our technology and our poor workmanship, where highways crack open, overpasses are not safe, ceilings collapsing etc etc, there might be a very good chance the tunnel might not be safe. Will and can Samy Vellu and the government guarantee it?

22. #22 by cherasusie on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 11:04 pm

sherif sir,

the pm building uses only cowford graduates to build….as sturdy as OX.

23. #23 by cherasusie on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 11:21 pm

Libra2 Says:
    There is another one. “Once bitten twice shy Twice bitten go and die”.
    What shame is he talking about? The governmet does not understand the meaning of shame.
    He should be ashamed of his Ijok victory too. There is a long list of government failures going into billions – too many to mention but I can start off with – tin market manupulation, forex loss, building/flyover collapse, Perwaja, crooked bridge etc -.
    I am not sure whom he is angry with. In fact it is HIS government’s gross failure and inefficiency.
    What can one expect when contacts are given to cronies without tender at many times the real cost and they in turn subcontract them at half that.

—————————————————————-

‘well said’ item should be read ‘TWICE’ too….

Datuk Sri is angry but the rakyat is TWICE angry!!!!!!!!!!

there’s a saying that goes, bad things always come in pair….meaning TWICE!!!!!!!!!

BEWARE! BEWARE!

HELP! HELP!

ZZ

24. #24 by peanut king on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 11:36 pm

Come to think of it…if those ceiling dont crash where got new contracts for the cronies and proxies.

Nowadays the trend is to build building that last few years.not 50 yrs. No wonder all our 1955 contractors have gone bankrupt cos no repeat order mah.

Officially reported is 3 collapse.I wonder how many hv gone unreported. Maybe this is only the tip of the ice berg.

Or maybe they are tapping up all the ceiling now to prevent future collapse.Samy V. must be most happy to supply all the tapes for free to prevent his buttocks on fire.

25. #25 by accountability on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 12:06 am

problem with maintenance??
    hello, these collapsing buildings are new, nothing to do with maintenance lah!
    my gosh, this PM is a real dumb-ass…

what to do, our country encourages incompetence and sub-mediocrity without any accountability… that’s NEP for u

26. #26 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 12:26 am

Ijok 36million is a small price to pay. Now they splash rm36mil of rakyat’s money and when they hv a stronghold again they will make sure this rm36mil spent will make them 10 fold in the next plundering project.

27. #27 by naked taliban on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 1:00 am

I fully agreed with cinapek, 10:40 pm .comment. Samy vello as works minister should resign for all these failures ,shameless creatures!!

28. #28 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 1:19 am

Yesterday, Abdullah said: “Maintenance is very important. I have said this many times but these people, as long as nothing happens, they don’t care.”

This shows that Abdullah has lost his power as a prime minister, losing control to these people that is uncontrolable by him, this explains why nothing got done under his premiership so far, but only mishaps, isolation from international communities, and the death of democracy in Malaysia this year 2007. Abdullah’s report card failed tremendously!

No wonder Mahathir have to eat his words and return to politic bashing Abdullah, I thought he missed his PM’s chair and want it back. Looks like it is serious and only Mahathir knew, how things can go wrong because he is the creator of all this problems. And now the old man better pray hard, it is better Anwar than Abdullah. No?

Looks like it is about time everyhing came crashing down, but Abdullah has one chance to save it. Only if he agreed to step down.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 1:24 am

What Cinapek posted above (May 1st, 2007 at 10:40 pm) is spot on and the right answer to the PM.

30. #30 by Disgruntled on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 2:19 am

Sociology and Politics 101 Quiz:

This guy is either:

a. incompetent — He cares for the people but lacks the intellect to run the place.

b. powerless — He has power in name only. Others of his kind have the power and control his destiny.

c. hypocrite — He says one thing but means another.

d. cunning — He knows what is happening but pleads ignorance to escape accountability.

e. manipulated — He lives in a “Forbidden City” insulated from reality and controlled by officials who have been alleged to be corrupt, inept, or just plain sycophants.

f. frivolous — He worries more about falling ceilings and leaky pipes while the country is falling apart.

g. autocratic — He only needs to say “No good lah” and MCA quickly withdraws the memorandum signed by nine ministers. Helpful Hints: Imagine a group of Chinese ministers looking contrite and stupid.

h. rude — Doesn’t read or reply to letters or faxes.

h. all of the above — No good lah

31. #31 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 3:06 am

This guy here is really talking cock for he dare not speak the truth as illustrated by Cinapek. The question of poor maintenance is the least probability that had caused all these collapses, especially all the buildings affected are reasonably new or even brand new like the courthouse in Jalan Duta. It is not even utilized yet. Imagine a brand new car after traveling a few miles and breaks down; can you blame it on poor maintenance?

Please Pak Blah be brave and own up and tell the rakyat that it is cronyism that contributed to this. Citing poor maintenance is a cheap excuse and will give more opportunities for your cronies to siphon more money from the rakyat as billions will now have to be spent to maintain all the govt buildings. As the saying goes “whenever there is a crises there is an opportunity” and this has captured their heart and that is why they are not interested to solve the problem at source and you and me know why. To those with some intelligence they will definitely be able to look through all this.

All the dirty plays in Machap and Ijok by-elections is no pride for you after winning. I am sure it will be a different kettle of fish if there is a by-election in an urban seat. Here again they play dirty (as the urban folks are more educated and exposed and not easily influenced by whatever they say or do), by having three to four times the number of voter in an urban seat as compared to a rural seat. Why are the urban voters’ votes having lower premium than those in the rural areas; in other words the urban folks voting rights are less than those in the rural areas and all these are gerrymandered by the election Commission who is UMNO’s running dog.
    This act is another discrimination and these tactics will be applied where ever and when ever it deems fit, whether it is racial, religion, gender or voters equal rights as just mentioned.Why is the exercising power of some voters carry more weight than other voters? Can YB Kit please ask them this.

32. #32 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 3:50 am

They are looking at the wrong end of the problem.

It all starts when you award a turnkey project without open tenders to a crony who does nothing except sell it off at a reduced price so that instant rewards are attained.

Now it is a major situation as there is little you can do about substandard foundations and pipe fittings and substandard equipment.

Expect more disasters.
    http://malaysiawatch2.blogspot.com/2007/04/another-day-in-putrajaya.html

33. #33 by WFH on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 3:51 am

NEW Government constructed buildings with so many problems…….

Reminds me of our famous power window failures too….., and drooping signal lights at front, of BAD service center treatment of customers, hey, what’s the word….? “Proton cars, ahh, all like that, one”…

Can it be now said – “Govt buildings, ah, all like that one..??”

Unbelievable….!!!!!!!

34. #34 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 5:01 am

Whenever there is an action there is always a related reaction. In this case there is bad action and as a result you get a bad reaction. Now it is only the ceilings that are collapsing but soon you will hear of the roof felling and maybe even the whole building sinking.

This is the end result of cronyism but you can be sure that they will not do away with it even if all the Putra Jaya’s govt. buildings collapse. They will just find some other excuses and will not want to know where the real weaknesses are as it has served them well.

35. #35 by firstMalaysian on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 7:24 am

It is a shame to have such adverse reports on poor quality of work done in government buildings. If such things happen in the private sector, there will be rolling of heads.

The people responsible should be held accountable and the government should punish those responsible and review the overall tender system. This is clearly a result of mediocratic policy and a practice of patronage which have caused wastages, danger to lives, bad image to the country and worse…the rakyat suffers as their tax money is being used to pay for such sloppy work instead of generating for more productive use.

Never have we heard of such long string of ceiling collapse, bursting of pipes (happen to the Parliament House also) etc. There is lack of accountability and PAC must perform their functions without fear or favour.

If the government is not doing anything to punish those responsible severely, these things will continue and eventually, all government buildings at Putrajaya will collapse and the government will also collapse.

36. #36 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 8:10 am

“The best actor , suportin actor ,director, producer for this year academy award goes ….to…. abdullah badawi the PM and his gangs from M’sia…..”

sources by me!

37. #37 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 8:11 am

“The sleeping beauty award goes..to…abdullah badawi the PM from M’sia”

sources also by me!

38. #38 by K S Ong on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 8:34 am

Under normal circumstances, taller and bigger structures require higher maintenance. Eg. cleaning and painting.

If there were rent-seekers involved and the final sub-sub-sub contractor actually involved in building had to cut corners to make some profits, premature collapse of structures are to be expected.

To prevent further embarrassment, extra careful inspection of all buildings are instructed and this only means extra costs.

A transparent tender procedure based on past tract record and best terms would have avoided all these problems.

Meanwhile, we will have to pay for our past mistakes. Any hope for learning from them?

39. #39 by kelangman88 on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 8:50 am

Someone just hit the right note:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/5/2/nation/17605824&sec=nation

Shoddy work could be tip of iceberg, says Navaratnam

KUALA LUMPUR: The recent collapse at three new government buildings is symptomatic of the state of deterioration in standards, quality, productivity and efficiency in the country, said Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam.

40. #40 by THL on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 8:52 am

It’s spectacular that the PM talks about maintenance problem when anybody with some cow sense even if he’s not structural engineer will tell u it’s got nothing to do with maintenance. Not this, nor the water pipes, nor the earth slope failure. Lack of maintenance only becomes a factor for civil structures many many many years after completion. They are supposed to be designed to last with little maintenance.
    Agreed with cinapek except that it’s not only contractors who could be responsible, what about the designers – the consulting engineers? It might have been underdesign or the drawings under-detailed. That was the reason for that elevated highway cracking that the british consulting firm that investigated the event concluded – lack of detailing. How is the contractor going to construct adequately without proper design instructions?
    That begs the question – is the responsible party (contractor or consultant or whoever that created the events that led to this design/construction failure) going to be identified and penaltised or will all lessons be forgotten?

41. #41 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 8:56 am

Abdullah said: “Maintenance is very important. I have said this many times but these people, as long as nothing happens, they don’t care.”

Something amiss here. If the building is so new, surely maintenance, or the lack thereof, cannot be blamed….

牛 头 不 对 马 脚

42. #42 by madmix on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 9:39 am

Time to really take a good look at this “negotiated tender” business. There are thousands of buildings in Malaysia that are decades old and these things do not happen. Elsewhere building that are hundreds of years old are still strong.
    This “negotiated tender” thing has resulted in shoddy workmanship. Also the tenders awarded for building manitenence have to be looked into.
    Then there is this culture where no crony is culpable and no one made to pay to make good defects. In fact they may be awarded new tenders to make good defects and make more money! Like the fly over repairs.

43. #43 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 10:10 am

“once is accident, twice is coincidence, thrice is enemy action” – or “once is accident, twice is coincidence, thrice is NEP in action”?

44. #44 by Unladen Swallow on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 10:26 am

“What the hell is this?”

That’s actually pretty funny. Maybe they’ll blame terrorists next.

45. #45 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 10:46 am

“Something must have gone wrong somewhere. We need to know…” And the Best Actor Oscar 2008 award goes to Pak Pandir for pretending not to know what he has known for the past 50 years.

46. #46 by thguan on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 10:52 am

I am reading all these valuable & constructive feedback in YB’s blog, but is our PM & his clonies reading ? I guess damages have started the moment the contract is awarded to the sub-standard contactors ……. long way to go Wawasan 2020 is our leaders are still slepping !!!!

47. #47 by kurakura on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 11:06 am

Quoted from Unlade Swallow
    ———————————————————–
    “What the hell is this?”

That’s actually pretty funny. Maybe they’ll blame terrorists next.

———————————————————–

Wrong…they are blaming the chinese for already.

48. #48 by kurakura on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 11:06 am

delete *for

49. #50 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 11:56 am

Let us not forget there are many colonial buildings which are still standing strong. That was using technology of the last century.
    Take a look at the churhes in Melaka and the mission schools.

50. #51 by Loh on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 12:09 pm

A reader commented that AAB has to pretend not to know or else he has to offer explanations. That is right and cute!

The problems of failed construction projects are loadings. The budget meant for the project is loaded with enormous profit meant for the project owners who have to share the profits with the teams of negotiators, and political masters that includes UMNO sinking fund. The parties that approved the project would have included UMNO’s lion share of profit, but what is eventually left for the real contractors depended on the project owners who might have his own team of half-past-six architects and engineers that could develop a new set of ‘bill of quantities’, the specifications for the project on the ground. When building is done based on the final specifications provided by the project owners, which would differ from the original tender documents, they would be very little margin for errors, and worst, the specifications cannot allow the buildings to remain standing. That was why half the science labs collapsed.

The government was trying to have the cake and eat it; to have the buildings made and to have the cronies made easy money. Over the years, the TDM government were more practical. They provided sufficient money for the project, and they increased the budget four folds for their crony contract owners. Maybe at that time the project owners realised their inability and were willing to serve purely as middlemen, or as parasites, if you wish. But, then the government has exhorted them to do real work, and to learn the trade. They have now learned the trade to come out with new specifications. Unfortunately, they are no experts.

Maintenance of a building cannot involve checking whether plumbing has been done professionally, or the material used meet the required specifications. Prevention is better than cure, but just like NEP polarises the country but the government chooses national service to ameliorate the situation, the government now is finding an excuse to spend more money on government projects.

Since AAB is innocent, and he does not know the problem, let me say it here: the problem is NEP, stupid!

51. #52 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 12:35 pm

Loh, not only ceilings collapsed because of NEP, soon the economy will collapse as well. Since the petrol subsidy cut last year, cost of doing business has shot up tremendously. The moves has taken its toll on small enterprises particularly small retailers, bulk of disposable income has gone straight into govt’s coffers, and next went into their own oversize pockets.

Absolutely none of Abdullah’s plans has been carried out succesfully, even projects from RMK8 still cannot be completed. Facts and figures of economy had been manipulated to cover up their own asses so they can continue to be out govt. Bumiputras themselves are finding it hard to get employment, even after you minus the lazy ones.

And now that he had uttered those words, now we know what are the answers for all the questions that have been asked since he became prime minister, none!

52. #53 by cherasusie on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 2:11 pm

Under Misfits No Order….

Don’t do things your level best but leave them to the best!

Don’t understand, go stay under a building which is declared unsafe…and get the hang of it.

No Cheers!

53. #54 by awesome on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 2:58 pm

Most of the buildings in our country of late is not that safe after all. Putrajaya buildings is just one of them. Remember the’High Land towers’ some years ago, then more landslides and collapse structures within the same vicinity.

I doubt any of the building in KL can withstand strong temors. Reason : we assume our land will not be shaken. We assume we are in a volcanic safe area, safe from earthquake. Can anyone guarantee that? Is there any preventive measures on our building foundation and structure as a whole?

Japan and Taiwan has many earthquakes hardly much damages as the buildings are made earthquake safe.

If at all a strong tremor strikes, God forbid….I can imagine the destruction. We are not ready.

We always assumed our country is safe from catastrophes. But is it true now? How about the twister in Malacca? Are we prepared for violent storms? Hurricanes? Cyclones?

You know we go through extreme tempretatures of late. Hot and cold, low and high pressures…any idea what that does to aircurrents? Can our weather forecasters be trusted? They cry drought soon and then we see heavy downpours.

Do we know for sure that our apartments, condo will not collapse as well?

Our buildings are not safe, our forecasters are inaccurate, our weather and future so unpredictable so you know….mestilah buat tak tahu!!

It is time we start thinking and working towards a better tomorrow.

54. #55 by awesome on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 3:37 pm

Are any of the recent buildings in Malaysia safe? The old colonial buildings are solid. But so sorry for those who live in high rise now. Hope it won’t come crushing down as well.

Remember High land towers, then more collapses and landslides in the same vicinity?

Are we ready for a strong tremor? Are our buildings earthquake safe? Are we ready for natural calamities?

Remember the twister in Malacca? Are we ready to brace a more violent storm…cyclones, hurricanes or tornados. Excuse me ..this is Malaysia! We are untouched , safe from diaster!! Really?

We are not in the earthquake zone! Oh really? Can we be absolutely sure that our land will not be shaken? How prepared are we if it does. Would the structures and buildings fall like ‘dominio effect’ ? You know Japan and Taiwan have so many tremors but their buildings are earthquake safe. Yes it is not about maintenance. It is more!

Can our weather forecasters be trusted? They cry ‘drought is coming soon’ and then we see downpours!

So it is time we start putting on our thinking caps and plan well ahead in future. We face uncertain tomorrows.

It is not just Putrajaya building you know, it could be the building you are in now. :) All the best!!

55. #56 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 5:40 pm

Bodoh is bodoh, no two way about it.

Let me pen one of my experience.

I bought a new proton iswara and being busy I miss the first maintenace.
    After two months the proton iswara had to be towed to proton workshop due to a breakdown. The problem is each time I start the engine and turn the steering, the engine stop.

The supervisor there check the guaranttee booklet and without getting any info from the workshop exactly what is the fault, he insisted that I missed the first maintenace. In a way he was trying to push the blame of the dead car to me and of course I fought back hard.

I asked him, it is really because that I miss the first maintenace that causes the car’s problem? He keep on saying that I miss the first maintenace but do not dare to commit that the failure of the car is not because of the miss maintenace.

If he were to insist that the car failure is due to my miss first maintenace, then he would have had it from me -Headlines all over, but he relent and just make good the car without any further fuss. After the repair I sold the car, as the danger may still be lurking.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

56. #57 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 10:44 pm

“. The problem is each time I start the engine and turn the steering, the engine stop.”

You should thank your lucky stars you were able to start your car at all and your steering wheel is there for you to steer in the first place. Blame Mitsubishi for their faulty transfer of technology.

57. #58 by cherasusie on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 11:16 pm

kawan a-malaysian & diaperhead,

both of you really hit me on the head, more painful than collapsing ceilling or ijok lost..

talking about my five year-old sotong saga, ayoyo, not only leaking, i have power window problems so often that i lost count.

i have another toyota, no service nothing, mana ada power window problem….

if can’t get foreign partners for sotong, try selling to anada krishnan or lim goh thong…

58. #59 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 3 May 2007 - 12:40 am

“…you know Japan and Taiwan have so many tremors but their buildings are earthquake safe.”

The only tremor I experienced in all my years living in Malaysia is when the fat lady Rafidah Aziz sits down. It measures 6.7 on the Richer Scale every time she takes a sit.

59. #60 by pwcheng on Thursday, 3 May 2007 - 5:12 am

Wait a minute, can we safely say that at best this fiasco was brought about because of racism, croynism and corruption but at worst it could have been done for it waiting to happen as somebody had mentioned earlier.

Anybody who thinks that heads will roll is having wild imagination but more money rolling into their pockets is more like it. MRR2 and Matrade building are clear testimony to this. Period

60. #61 by greenacre on Thursday, 3 May 2007 - 9:49 am

Ha! Ha now we know where we have seen this. deja vu…..
    poking the memory reveals the movie ‘towering inferno’ in the seventies. steve macqueen and another blue eyed actor paul newman.
    Shoddy building, cut cost, pay offs to officials who can pass anything.
    during Ling Liong Sik time many learner drivers were passed off .wasn’t it a 100,000 . Buried under the carpet.
    Gonna see more burials.

61. #62 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 3 May 2007 - 5:12 pm

hehehehe, ever wonder why the BN apologist is not commenting here? because he is most probably one of those “F” class contrators who built these junks.

62. #63 by DiaperHead on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 10:04 pm

“Bodoh is bodoh, no two way about it. I bought a new proton iswara …After two months the proton iswara had to be towed to proton workshop ..” a-malaysian

So what does that make you – if not a worse bodoh!