Draw the line in the sand clearly and unequivocally that the Pakatan Harapan Government is committed to the objective to wipe out the kleptocracy of the Najib government which was ousted by Malaysians in the 14th General Election on May 9, 2018

Let us not be squeamish but draw the line in the sand, clearly and unequivocally, that the Pakatan Harapan government is committed to the objective to wipe out the kleptocracy of the Najib government which was ousted by Malaysians in the 14th General Election on May 9, 2018.

MCA has stood out as the only political party so far to openly object to the internal memo by the Solicitor General III Mohamad Hanafiah Zakaria using the term “kleptocracy” to refer to the former administration of Najib Razak, ahead of his corruption trial tomorrow.

I am not aware that any MCA Minister or leader had expressed any objection or outrage when the US Attorney-General Loretta Lynch described the US Department of Justice’s kleptocratic litigation to forfeit 1MDB-linked assets, where the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak was singled out although only referred to as “Malaysian Official 1” (MO1), in July 2016 as the “largest single action ever brought by the department’s Kleptocracy Asset Recovery Initiative” or when in December 2017, after a change of United States administration, the then Attorney-General Jeff Sessions described the 1MDB case as “kleptocracy at its worst” at the global forum on asset recovery in Washington and pledged that the US
Department of Justice was “working to provide justice to the victims” of the 1MDB scandal.

Why is MCA expressing outrage only now?

Is it to hide the untold story of the national betrayal by MCA Ministers and leaders in their aiding and abetting of Najib in the cover-up of the monstrous 1MDB corruption and money-laundering scandal as well as other corruption scandals in Felda, Felcra, MARA and Tabung Haji?

Malaysians are very disappointed that after nine months of the historic decision of May 9, 2018, the trial of Najib and his top lieutenants who had brought Malaysia the infamy and ignominy of a global kleptocracy had not even started, allowing Najib to strut all over the country in his new “Boss Aku Malu Apa” persona, which is as good as impertinently asking what is shameful about making Malaysia a global kleptocracy!

Whether Najib’s trial will begin tomorrow will depend on the outcome of Najib’s defence lawyers to postpone the start of the trial tomorrow.

But those who continue to defend and champion Najib’s kleptocratic government that was ousted on May 9, 2018 like the MCA need to justify their stand before and after the 14th General Election.

(Media Statement by DAP MP for Iskandar Puteri Lim Kit Siang in Kuala Lumpur on Monday 11th February 2019)

1. #1 by drngsc on Monday, 11 February 2019 - 12:29 pm

Oooooooh. I am being “moderated”?

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Monday, 11 February 2019 - 1:14 pm

Pakatan has stumbled a little bit, Najib and UMNO-PAS has taken advantage and gained some political milleage with it and without a blink of an eye, they can’t help themselve but JUMP at the remote chance completely wipe out their disgrace and fall..

You have to ask how much Najib’s corruption, weakness and failure is in all of us. Deep down secretly are most, if not many of us only WISH to be like Najib – mediocre, corrupt, weak and abusive of power and privileges – is that what defines Malaysian, many of us? If that is the case, then its hopeless for most of us, we will never be a great and respected country and people. We would be a shameful or rather a shameless one..

3. #3 by good coolie on Wednesday, 13 February 2019 - 12:22 pm

Kalau kaki UMNO (Lama, Baru, dan Terbaru) makan suap, itu suatu perkara yang baik. Malu apa?

Government Servants are not servants, they are the bosses of the lousy Rakyat who come crawling to the gomen departments, cap in hand. Tahulah siapa boss, siapa coolie! New gomen pun samakah? DNAnya sama juga, especially kerana Pakatan pandai terima kaki UMNO masuk Pakatan!

Fellows, are you serious about this corruption thing? If not, masuklah parti Jib yang tak malu itu. Boleh jadi kaya, boss!

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 14 February 2019 - 5:48 am

Taking ex-UMNO is not drawing the line. Sdr. Lim words ring hollow.

Its not just the taking on ex-UMNO that is the problem but now too many problems within PH are bucked to Mahathir even LGE doing it.

Clearly line is being blurred by PH leaders themselves, some of it because it real difficult problem but frankly much self-inflicted, worst increasingly the latter

5. #5 by quigonbond on Thursday, 14 February 2019 - 4:08 pm

Dear Uncle Kit, 9 months after elections, the euphoria has died down, DAP has lost a by-election that should have been won, our reforms are either going at snail’s pace or not going anywhere at all, and Bersatu ministers have performed abysmally. Keeping together Harapan may be hard work, but clearly what is much needed is now is honesty of intentions and clear lines in the sand. Some questions need to be answered clearly and unequivocally. How long more before ineffective ministers are replaced? Is there a clear transition plan for Anwar to become the next PM? How many more crossovers will Harapan tolerate? What is the ultimate purpose of the cross overs when the reform agenda that requires 2/3 majority are not clearly set out yet? Without political clarity, no national economic council is going to help. It’s probably good news to M&A bankers that Khazanah wants to divest some of its commercial holdings. But why would ASEAN and Japan investors want to invest when they don’t know what’s clearly in store for Malaysia in the mid and long term? Will there be actual reforms? Will the economy open up and be more progressive? Will our education system be fixed and start producing highly sought after talent? Will we have strong institutions that are independent, professional and effective? Those questions remain questions after 9 months. Malaysians cannot be blamed for being impatient and highly critical. After almost 40-50 years of continued rot, these are all pent up expectations. Malaysians also realise that if we miss this boat, we are perpetually done for because it’ll be many more generations before a third force can emerge to challenge both BN and what’s increasingly seen as BN2.0. As an elder statesman who has shown the way of selfless national service, it may be an opportune time for you to press for answers through Harapan Presidential Council.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 14 February 2019 - 4:08 pm

Top leaders of DAP and Amanah has to get together and deal with the problems of Pakatan Harapan. Face it there is problem in PKR, there is problem between Bersatu and PKR and the rest of Pakatan Harapan.

The real fundamental power of Pakatan Harapan is DAP and Amanah – that is why its crucial for them to step up and take charge. Both PKR and Bersatu may be the marginal winning power in PH but they ride on the base of DAP and Amanah. THAT is the moral and political ground that must rise and take charge.

7. #7 by winstony on Thursday, 14 February 2019 - 4:13 pm

Mr Lim, I think that you may have noticed that there is growing discontent with the PH, even now, when it is in its infancy.
    And also, many of those who visited your blog have expressed their concern.
    But with your moderators being so overzealous, many good comments/ideas are not given an airing in your blog!
    I suggest that you appoint as moderators only those who can differentiate chaff from oats so that good ideas/comments are not wasted!!
    Better still, do away with your blog and instead replace it with a discussion board where there is two-way communications between you and your commentators.

8. #8 by drngsc on Friday, 15 February 2019 - 4:45 pm

DAP is now at a cross road. Their principled stand is one by one being negated by that old man without scruples. Who is openly defying the DAP stand on so many issues. UEC, policies based on needs and not race, an end to corruption, and the latest, no more frogs ( just to mention a few obvious ones ). Each time that old man deviates, he awaits PKR/DAP response. None or so muted. He does the next, again, none and so muted, he does it again. Soon, Harapan will be filled with ex-DUMNOs, corruption continues as usual, but on smaller scale. UEC is in limbo land and Bersatu ( through admission of kataks ) become the strongest party in Harapan. DAP become MCA like, Harapan becomes BN like and Bersatu becomes DUMNO 2.0, and old man is happy. The non Malays flee in droves and GE 15 sees the return of BN 2.0 either as Bersatu/Harapan or the original. Is that what you all want, DAP? We are so very disappointed. We fought so hard, and now we are trapped. Kit and DAP CC, please make a strong, clear stand. Stick to our original struggle and our principles. We cannot trust this old man. Either he goes, or we go. In a crisis, leaders have to make tough decisions. This is now the time.

9. #9 by sadmalaysian on Saturday, 16 February 2019 - 8:03 am

DAP needs to draw a line in the sand clearly to Mahathir that he should stop reneging on the reform agenda.

10. #10 by winstony on Saturday, 16 February 2019 - 9:49 pm

Points raised by #8 drngsc are good and valid and I believe that any thinking Malaysian will agree to them.
    But pleading your case here is a waste of time as it is highly doubtful that Kit will be reading what you/we are saying, only his moderators do.