On Jackie Chan and boycotting racism

Dyana Sofya
Malay Mail Online
February 6, 2015

FEBRUARY 6 — Displaying form befitting a philistine Perkasa member rather than a Cabinet Minister, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob’s recent open call for Malays to band together to boycott Chinese businesses in order to punish them for causing price hikes is ridiculous, to say the least.

It is also apparent that the Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister is detached from everyday Malaysian reality, because the last I checked, the rising prices at the local mamak I frequent for my curry fix on cheat days prove that inflation is not coincidental with race.

Racism starts from the top

However, Ismail Sabri’s comments comes as no surprise as it is the modus operandi of Umno leaders to resort to race-baiting and scapegoating rather than confront the truth. In fact, he has since been unapologetic about it.

After all, what reason is there for him to apologise when even the prime minister is content to shrug it off without so much as a reprimand? Taking the cue from their leader, other Umno members and even a former minister have actually come out in support of the statement, proclaiming that “we (they) are all Ismail Sabri”. If by that they mean they are all unintelligent racists, then I fully agree.

The writer says the only placard that Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob deserves is the infamous Jackie Chan ‘What the eff’ meme.The writer says the only placard that Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob deserves is the infamous Jackie Chan ‘What the eff’ meme.In fact, I would add that the only placard that Ismail Sabri deserves is the infamous Jackie Chan “What the eff” meme. Or is it Datuk Jackie now?

A minister should find solutions, not cause problems

Surprisingly, even former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has been more level-headed on this issue, stating that instead of playing the race card, Ismail Sabri should find out the real cause of the problem and solve it. This statement was echoed by a group of young Malay activists from the DAP.

The irony is not lost on Malaysians, who are very well aware that this very minister who is attempting to lay the blame for inflation on the Chinese is himself in a position to actually affect government policies that could impact the livelihood of ordinary Malaysians.

If anything, he should be taking the blame for our economic woes as it is the BN’s policies that have created the situation of high debts and low disposable income amongst Malaysians.

Is it the fault of the Chinese that the median wage of Malay workers is RM1,600 a month? How can it be, when even the median wage of Chinese workers does not exceed RM2,000 a month? The sad fact is that more than half of all Malaysian workers of all races are stuck in a low-income trap. And there is no hope to escape as long as cost of living continues to escalate without a corresponding rise in productivity and wages.

But why try to fix real problems when you can simply put the blame on others? Perhaps Ismail Sabri will also find a scapegoat for the GST when its implementation meets with public backlash.

Malaysians stand up for Malaysians

The truth is that there is nothing racial about our economy. We no longer live in 1969 when economic functions are exclusive to racial domains. Today, our economic and social relationships are so intertwined with each other that the boycott of any group would lead to great negative consequences.

According to the writer, good deeds go beyond racial boundaries, as do profiteering and rent-seeking which could be seen in the way Malaysians responded to give out aid during the recent floods. — Picture by Choo Choy MayAccording to the writer, good deeds go beyond racial boundaries, as do profiteering and rent-seeking which could be seen in the way Malaysians responded to give out aid during the recent floods. — Picture by Choo Choy MayHowever, I take solace in the fact that the reality on the ground is nothing like what is depicted by Ismail Sabri. Here I would like to share my experience during the recent flood relief efforts.

In the first few days of the flood crisis, there was a great need to provide essential supplies for the victims in the East Coast. While going from store to store to purchase goods and supplies, we came across many Chinese shop owners who, upon discovering that we were collecting aid for the flood victims, gave us very generous discounts.

Many of them even sold us goods at cost price, simply because they wanted to contribute to fellow Malaysians in distress, even if the majority of them were Malays.

In fact, many Chinese-based NGOs were not only amongst the first to arrive at the scene with aid, but also the most efficient in assisting the victims on the ground. Thankfully, most Malaysians do not share Ismail Sabri’s point of view. Just imagine, what if these Chinese businesses and volunteers decided to boycott the Malays who were in need?

Good deeds go beyond racial boundaries, as do profiteering and rent-seeking. Hence, it is unwise and even impossible to compartmentalise the economy the way Umno tries to. In this regard, if there is a need to boycott anything, we should boycott racism.

#Boycottracism

1. #1 by boh-liao on Friday, 6 February 2015 - 3:28 pm

It’s NOT what U C is what U get, it’s a case of sublime usage of BM, not seditious 1
    Don’t just look at d face value of a word, which actually has a deeper meaning, like “Cina” means “SEMUA kaum” mah
    Dis is POWER usage of BM lah by our minister

Raykat must b smart 2 read n fully understand d minister’s writing lah, like peeM n d Cabinet – all very smart 1
    Unlike many others, including MMK – NOT smart at all, only know how 2 read d posting in one dimension, its face value

2 test d intelligence of our school kids, teachers should ask them 2 interpret d following:
    majoriti pengguna adalah melayu…cina adalah minoriti. kalau melayu boikot perniagaan mrk, mrk tentu tiada pilihan utk turunkan harga

selagi melayu tdk berubah, selagi itu lah cina ambil kesempatan utk tindas melayu

Dis is a democratic nation
    Rakyat who disagree with or did not understand what d minister wrote must practise: “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it”

• #2 by cemerlang on Friday, 6 February 2015 - 10:10 pm

But bukan semua Cina buat business. How can you blame 0 Cina for 1Cina? Why you keep talking Melayu ditindas ? What if Cina ditindas ? Why not Malaysian ditindas ? This Melayu, Cina, India, Iban, Kadazan thingy belong to the past. We have to move on as Malaysians in Malaysia.
      IM4U, Malaysians. That is why you have Datuk Jackie Chan from HongKong. You have Datuk Shah Ruhk Khan from India. You have foreign Datuks. That is the way of saying peace.

2. #3 by boh-liao on Friday, 6 February 2015 - 7:16 pm

“Najib defended Ismail’s Facebook comment, saying the Umno minister was not targeting any specific race.”

AhChetaKor’s understanding of BM must b very deep, better than MMK’s understanding of BM

“majoriti pengguna adalah melayu…cina adalah minoriti. kalau melayu boikot perniagaan mrk, mrk tentu tiada pilihan utk turunkan harga”

“selagi melayu tdk berubah, selagi itu lah cina ambil kesempatan utk tindas melayu”

“lebih2 lagi ownernya dikatakan ngeh family dap perak yg terkenal anti Islam”

• #4 by cemerlang on Friday, 6 February 2015 - 10:11 pm

If the thing is causing so much problem, remove it.

3. #5 by worldpress on Saturday, 7 February 2015 - 6:38 pm

They are delivering Malaysia to extremist by encouraging more religious practice and so called their laws. By the time they done it only they know too late (their minds can not see two steps ahead)