Moratorium call on statements by Pakatan Rakyat leaders on latest hudud controversy to refer issue to Majlis Pimpinan Pakatan Rakyat for decision

(Media Statement in Gelang Patah on Sunday, 27th April 2014)

For the first time in six years after the “political tsunami” of the 12GE in March 2008, the overly-paid strategists, plotters and schemers of UMNO/BN must be feeling on top of the world and rubbing their hands with glee for they have finally vindicated their existence and colossal expenditures.

They believe that they have struck gold and have finally succeeded in putting in place their formula to ensure the end of the political threat posed by Pakatan Rakyat and the return to Putrajaya of UMNO and BN in the 14GE by the perpetuation of the political and power structure of Umno/BN even in the years after 2020.

Three days ago, the Deputy Mentri Besar of Kelantan, Datuk Nik Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah publicly said that DAP and PKR should stay off the hudud bill controversy on the ground that “they have no right to interfere” in the PAS agenda to implement hudud in Kelantan.

He said that in the common policy framework signed among Pakatan Rakyat component parties on September 28, 2011, PAS only agreed to not impose on its long-standing objective for Malaysia to be recognised as an Islamic State.

He said the agreement is limited at the national level but in the context of Kelantan it is different because hudud was enacted way back in 1993, before the opposition pact was realised.

He said he did not understand why DAP and PKR are questioning PAS motives when there is a difference between a federal and state manifesto as PAS is not departing from the agreement by enforcing hudud in the Muslim-majority state of Kelantan.

This led the DAP National Organising Secretary Anthony Loke to riposte the next day that if PAS wanted to act on a unilateral basis on the hudud issue, it should quit Pakatan Rakyat as this would be going against the consensus in Pakatan.

Overnight, Pakatan Rakyat appears to be confronted with the worst crisis since it was first formed after the 2008 general elections, something which the overly-paid UMNO/BN strategists, plotters and schemers had never been able to achieve despite all their plots and provocations in the past six years.

Both Nik Amar and Anthony should have been more restrained in the public arena in view of the many in Umno/BN who seeking to “fish in troubled waters”, creating a situation which, in the Chinese saying, cause “friends to grieve and enemies to rejoice”.

Let all Pakatan Rakyat leaders, whether DAP, PAS or PKR, continue to be guided by the PR common policy framework and consensus so as to give hope to Malaysians for the long-needed changes in the political landscape in the country if Malaysia is to become a united, democratic, competitive and prosperous nation which holds itself out as beacon of light of a successful multi-racial and multi-religious nation to of the rest the world.

The September 28, 201l consensus of the Pakatan Rakyat Leadership Council referred to by Mohamad Amar, reaffirming that hudud is not a Pakatan Rakyat agenda, is as follows:

KENYATAAN BERSAMA MAJLIS PIMPINAN PAKATAN RAKYAT
28 September 2011

Mesyuarat Pakatan Rakyat malam ini memperakui dan mempertahankan dasar-dasar bersama yang telah dipersetujui sebelum ini sepertimana terkandung dalam Perlembagaan Persekutuan, Dasar Bersama dan Buku Jingga.

Pakatan Rakyat terus memperteguhkan iltizam politik bagi mempertingkatkan daya-saing ekonomi, pendapatan rakyat, mutu pendidikan, kesihatan dan menangani kos kehidupan yang semakin menekan.

Mesyuarat juga memperakui dan menghormati perbedaan ideologi setiap parti dalam Pakatan Rakyat sebagai sebuah permuafakatan demokratik, termasuk pendirian PAS berkenaan hukum syariah.

Mesyuarat juga memperakui kewujudan Enakmen Jenayah Syariah II Kelantan 1993 dan enakmen Jenayah Syariah Terengganu 2003 yakni sebelum wujudnya muafakat Pakatan Rakyat. Keadilan dan PAS menghormati perbezaan pendirian oleh DAP dalam perkara ini.

Mesyuarat Pakatan Rakyat juga mempertegaskan bahawa kami tidak akan terheret dengan mainan politik terdesak Umno-Barisan Nasional untuk memecah belahkan kesatuan Pakatan Rakyat. Kita percaya penuh di atas kematangan dan kebijaksanaan rakyat untuk menilai suasana ini.

Mesyuarat sekali lagi mempertegaskan bahawa muafakat dan objektif utama politik parti-parti komponen PR dalam Pilihanraya Umum (PRU) ke-13 ini adalah untuk membina kembali asas-asas kenegaraan yang telah dirosakkan oleh Umno-BN, dengan berpandukan prinsip Keadilan Sejagat (UniversalJustice), Pentadbiran yang Baik (Good Governance), Kebertanggungjawaban (Accountability), Ketelusan (Transparency), Kompetensi (Competency) bagi mencapai Kemaslahatan Umum (Public Good) untuk semua rakyat.

YB DATO SERI ANWAR IBRAHIM

YB TUAN LIM KIT SIANG

YB DATO SERI TUAN GURU HJ ABDUL HADI AWANG

Pakatan Rakyat component parties and leaders must always be aware of the plot of UMNO strategists, plotters and schemers to cause the disintegration of Pakatan Rakyat by magnifying differences where we have “agreed to disagree”, and to adhere strictly to the common policy framework arrived at by the Pakatan Rakyat parties to be the common national agenda for the country.

In these circumstances, I would call for an immediate moratorium on statements by Pakatan Rakyat leaders on latest hudud controversy and to refer the issue to Majlis Pimpinan Pakatan Rakyat for decision.

1. #1 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 4:05 pm

With PAS pushing for Hudud law, it just guarantees UMNO/BN another few terms in office!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 4:36 pm

My problem with this round of Hudud rhetoric is that it began with the initiative by PAS to push a private member bill in Parliament to allow Hudud implementation. Truth be told, PAS, for the forseeble future, will push for any opportunity to implement Hudud. BUT who put the idea it was possible in the first place? – clearly UMNO because no private member bill would be possible without UMNO/BN nod. PAS took the bait and pushed for it.

Is it time to come to an agreement for PR that no implementation of Hudud is possible without constitutional change first? If that agreement had been widely understood in PAS, no one would have taken UMNO’s bait in the first place.

3. #3 by ash007 on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 4:41 pm

A question to some parts of the world where Hudud might be a political manifest, and may not span from honest and sincere aspirations

The 1st question is – do we REALLY know what HUDUD is?

Has the social justice system been implemented before one thinks of implementing it?

Are the people really aware and knowledgeable as well as honest to implement before one starts to propagate it?

Is justice system truly fair and open?

What about the non-Muslims viewpoint and how they think and how far they might support such notions?

What is the percentage of Muslims agreeing to such implementations?

If the government has not addressed the impartiality of the judicial system, how can one be sure that implementing hudud will be a fairer one? And not a doubtful one?

Is the society corruption or crime free?

And is the government just and people friendly?

Prophet never implemented anything until his followers were not taught and practiced, so how can one implement such measures without giving due considerations and thorough and proper investigation?

If one can ensure a just, honest, corruption-free society, and ensure a socially equitable system without giving any name for such a system, like ensuring proper justice but not mentioning ever Hudud and scaring others unnecessarily, would be a better one.

If the police, the immigration, customs, the judiciary are not fair and honest, and not sincere, and at times not pious, how one can implement such laws?

Have we really understood and researched well the inspirations from Hudud laws in true Islamic history?

A south Korean PM wants to resign when just few passengers die due to ferry mishap, is it the case in any Muslim society?

Are we just, truthful, honest and practicing Muslims, and is piety the foremost in our heart or is the bank balance?

We need to answer many more such questions before we can reach that stage and quarrel and debate before we can see the true light.

If anyone is above the law, then how can one implement Hudud in that state?

These questions are just few before any society can subject its citizens, with newer laws, in a multi-racial and multi-religious society, and where the need of the minority must be addressed very well, then that will be a happier implementation.

If the Prophet was alive, I think he would have been opposing any conflicting mechanisms, where dual judicial system may make a mockery to the divine inspirations.

4. #4 by loo on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 5:03 pm

Time for Anwar Ibrahim to do his job or else, quit just as Karpal Singh said

5. #5 by worldpress on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 5:18 pm

will say laws from god…this and there..can not reason can not question…or against god

may say women should cover neck and hands no cosmetic and jewellery..it is sin forbidden to temptation to men…all women MP may forbidden and should be a good wife at home…female student only allow teach by female teacher..ASTRO, fashion, indecent advertisement…maybe ban..foreign tourist avoid indecent clothing…then later prohibit to spread other religions..etc

• #6 by loo on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 8:13 pm

Righteousness is filthy rags before God. We should ask Raja Petra Kamarruddin what that means

• #7 by cemerlang on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 8:18 pm

cakap tak serupa bikin dan bikin tak serupa cakap

6. #8 by tmc on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 7:58 pm

LKS is correct. Pakatan hold your tongues and your fingers ! If you speak and/or write to offer your personal opinions, you are doing a GREAT DISSERVICE to your party, whether PKR, DAP or PAS. Agree with LKS immediate moratorium on statements by Pakatan Rakyat leaders on latest hudud controversy and to refer the issue to Majlis Pimpinan Pakatan Rakyat for decision. DO NOT GO your way individually, no matter how great the temptation. Be disciplined and organised, that is how you win the ‘war’. Your enemies are just waiting for you to tip over the edge and fall flat on your faces and you will lose our support.

7. #10 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 9:17 pm

How long can DAP keep ducking and shoving the issue under the carpet (eg refer Majlis Pimpinan Pakatan Rakyat or the Pakatan Rakyat’s common policy platform / Buku Jingga, agree to disagree, etc)? As I have said all along, PAS will never change. So won’t Malaysia – for a long time to come- where race and religion will always be the point of political leverage. Obama might say, “Malaysia must ensure non-Muslims in the country also have equal opportunities as its Muslim majority if the Southeast Asian nation wanted to continue prospering”. Sadly there are many who will give a hoot to what he said – they would even publicly protest against that he said this- and whose sentiments are that prospering is meaningless if it benefits those not of their kind.

• #11 by loo on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 11:23 pm

Jeffrey,
      The responsible person is anwar ibrahim

8. #12 by winstony on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 11:03 pm

Well, well, well.
    Looks like the ruling party has found the weakest chink in PR’s armour!
    PR must now work towards the day when reality hits.
    When PAS jump ship.
    The earlier PKR & DAP come to terms with this the better.

• #13 by loo on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 11:22 pm

Winston,
      That depends on whether PKR willing to give non melayu memberships. My guess is Tian Chua’s gang won’t agree

9. #14 by worldpress on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 11:23 pm

Found a comment in youtube.com

Can you clarify follow:

do what u can to get to heaven so u can have s*x with women( if ur a man) if ur a women be a slave till u die to watch ur husband fu*k virgins in heaven. what a belief system !!

10. #15 by worldpress on Sunday, 27 April 2014 - 11:28 pm

Could they treat women fairly? It look like not possible in the written…What kind of country will be to Malaysia if their laws effective?

11. #16 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 28 April 2014 - 12:54 am

hudud does not punish corruptions?

12. #17 by worldpress on Monday, 28 April 2014 - 7:48 am

Tell the TRUE colors

In written, prohibit to spread other religions to free thinkers

MP women may ban advice to be a good wife at home, etc

13. #18 by Bigjoe on Monday, 28 April 2014 - 11:47 am

I personally like Dr. Mahfuz Omar, BUT even he has the wrong frame of mind if even he insist that PAS has a right to present in Parliament just because they follow the Constitution and rule of law, – the converse of the right to present in Parliament – he must also stand up to defend NON-MUSLIM’S RIGHT TO VOICE THEIR OPINION? – will PAS give carte-blanche to DAP MP to fully voice their opinion in Parliament?

14. #19 by worldpress on Monday, 28 April 2014 - 12:19 pm

What situation be faced?

Hudud target criminals first, but when those extremist push you to extent the laws..as a believers you can not deny…or else you be……see ahead few steps

15. #20 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 30 April 2014 - 8:13 am

Now d TRUTH is out
    Is PAS a national party or a provincial party?

Every few years, whenever PAS felt dat it has d support of Muslims n non-Muslims (fr d results of a GE), it bcomes arrogant n pushes its hidden agenda, ignoring d earlier agreement with its partner political parties

Then in the following GE, PAS kena hentam by non-Muslims, many of whom withdraw their support 2 PAS, n Perkosa-UmnoB/BN gain seats

So, is PAS d Trojan horse in PR