Former foes hold no grudges against Chin Peng, they want to move on

by Eileen Ng and Diyana Ibrahim
September 16, 2013

Two former policemen who fought Chin Peng and his communist troops have called on the public to move on, with one saying that he was sad over the death of a “friend”.

Former Special Branch deputy director Tan Sri Yuen Yuet Leng who led the fight against the communists, said he has come to terms with the Malayan Emergency and considers Communist Party of Malaya (CPM) leader Chin Peng a friend.

“I lost a friend, an enemy who became a friend. Rest in peace my friend,” said Yuen.

After the signing of the 1989 Peace Accord in Haadyai, Thailand, between CPM leaders and government officials representing Malaysia and Thailand, both Yuen and Chin Peng were seen talking and joking with each other, surprising those who were present.

One of them asked Yuen, “Don’t you have resentment against this man?” – referring to the feared Communist leader.

“I turned to Chin Peng and asked him whether he wanted to answer the question. He said no and asked me to answer instead.

“I said: we tried to kill each other (previously) but today, we are alive and in Haadyai, so where’s the resentment?” he told The Malaysian Insider in a telephone interview today.

Yuen said there were no hard feelings between them as each was working for the people in their own way.

As they grew older, he said, they were respectful and less antagonistic towards each other.

“When we were both young, we fought against each other very hard because of differences in ideologies. But after the peace accord was signed, we understood each other better,” he said.

Three years ago, Yuen sent a book, “The First Emergency Revisited” to Chin Peng for the latter’s birthday.

Yuen described Chin Peng as an intellectual and not a hardcore killer as he was portrayed to be.

“Unlike some of his comrades, he still had his humanity,” he said.

Deputy Home Minister Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, who fought the communists as a police officer, described Chin Peng as a “professional”.

Wan Junaidi said he and Chin Peng were “professionals” who believed in different political ideologies.

“I was doing my job and he was doing his,” said Wan Junaidi, who is president of the Sarawak Ex-Policemen Association.

Asked to comment on his death, Wan Junaidi said, “I felt nothing. There was no sentiment. It (the death) meant nothing to me personally,” he said.

“Yes, I was sad when my men got killed. But I was also trained by a commander who taught me to be a professional. I was just a policeman doing my duty against people who broke the law. There was no sentiment.

“I never tortured those communists we captured nor hurt any of them, unless he stood armed before me and I had no choice but to shoot.

“I guess it was the same with Chin Peng,” he added.

Wan Junaidi, however, agreed that Chin Peng’s death would be the passing of another chapter in the history of Malaysia. – September 16, 2013.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Monday, 16 September 2013 - 7:36 pm

The war is over long, long time ago. Time to move on.

Let Chin Peng come home. That is the least the government can do to honour their Treaty. If killed Sulu invaders can be buried in our home soil, why can’t Chin Peng come home ?

I suggest a Private Member’s Bill in next week’s Parliament session to discuss his homecoming.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Monday, 16 September 2013 - 8:20 pm

“Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

3. #3 by good coolie on Monday, 16 September 2013 - 9:16 pm

Communism is a great ideology. Many well meaning people live in communes, holding property in common and working for the benefit of their community. The monastic communities are good examples of this. The Communists tried to do this nationally, nay, globally, believing that they can resort to any means to achieve the destruction of the oppressive capitalistic system. Their ungodliness and cruelty is legendary. I am glad we saw the back of those (expletives deleted).

As for Chin Pen, he lived to see the downfall of Communism in Malaya and in the homeland of Communism as well. He realised that he had worshiped a chimera.

As a person, however, I feel loss at the death of another of my kind. May he rest in peace.

4. #4 by rockdaboat on Monday, 16 September 2013 - 11:07 pm

I think Chin Peng had done 100 times more useful things than that the Big Mouth Mother Clown from Pasir Mas who is only capable of shouting here and shouting there, without having a clue as to what he is shouting about!

5. #5 by Godfather on Monday, 16 September 2013 - 11:38 pm

Just take the ashes back to Malaysia. Who is to stop you, especially if you tell customs that you are taking back a dead relative’s remains ? They will shoo you out of the airport terminal as quickly as they can.

Then scatter the ashes into one of the Putrajaya lakes, take a video of the event and post it on Facebook. What will UMNO do ?

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 12:41 am

“The hatred so lingers that…it is impossible for veteran cops and military men to accept his body or even his ashes to be buried in Malaysia” our Home Minister said though his Deputy Home Minister Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar and Tan Sri Yuen Yuet Leng who were veterans fighting the Communist did not in this article appear to harbour any lingering resentment or hatred. The Japanese invaded Malaya and during their occupation were infamous for their barbarities and atrocities – beheading and putting the decapitated heads on poles for deterrence; pumping water down the prisoner’s throat using a bucket and hose and jumping up and down on his swelled stomach as if it were a trampoline; scoured for women to abduct and rape – but thereafter in the 1980s we were exhorted to “Look East” to Japan for inspiration to develop including assemble the prototype national car! There’s no hatred for Communism per se. Even now Malaysia has current cordial diplomatic relations and commercial dealings with Communist China Russia and Vietnam with freedom of movement of citizens between the countries. Chin Peng was not treated the same as prominent CPM leaders like Abu Samah Mohamad and Abdullah CD who were allowed to come into Malaysia.

7. #7 by Noble House on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 12:52 am

“An enemy of my enemy is my friend”

To quote Abraham Lincoln: “Do I not destroy my enemies when I make them my friends?”

When you begin to see that your enemy is suffering, that is the beginning of insight!

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 8:05 am

Lets take a step back and ask why are we fighting over a former communist leader? The open debate is Chin Peng was a patriot and freedom fighter Vs. he was a communist and terrorist. But if the debate really is about these things, why is it the debate is really between the right-wing Malay groups and the liberal mostly non-Malay left?

So the fact of the matter is this is about race – the very deepest fault lines in our country..The fact its about that just proves UMNO/BN failure that burdens us all, not just Chin Peng and his family last wishes.

9. #9 by Di Shi Jiu on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 9:33 am

All over the world, Communism is a spent force and nobody worries too much about it – not even in “Communist” Russia or “Communist” China.

From the amount of attention paid to Chin Peng’s death, it seems that the only people left who believe in Communism are those in UMNO/BN.

10. #10 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 10:24 am

A vindictive and small-minded government that does not abide by the peace agreement and deny home-coming for a dying man.

11. #11 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 10:39 am

Armed sulu invaders who beheaded one of our men (could it be more than one?) were treated more kindly.

12. #12 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 10:52 am

The authorities have been put on full alert to ensure that the remains of Chin Peng are not brought into the country. Hooray, instead of catching thieves, smugglers, and armed intruders, we are now trying to catch someone carrying an urn containing ashes.

So Zahid Hamidi is going to search all ships, boats, planes, cars, trucks, anyone carrying something resembling an urn. Oh, he should also search all cargo too, just in case the ashes are disguised as pepper powder. Or rempah. Or…….

Stupidity knows no bounds.

13. #13 by Abba Mama on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 12:32 pm

Of coz to Kit Siang and his gang Chin Peng was his mentor and a hero. Every single human being were “pure and clean” when their were born and this included Chin Peng and Kit Siang but they choose to be monsters in the later stage and continue to do so till the end of their life without any sense of remorse for their cruelties (of coz Kit Siang is yet to follow Chin Peng to the grave).
    The Malays especially will never forget what Chin Peng has done to their beloved family members during communist era and like wise the Malays will never forget how Kit Siang has provoked and triggered the May 13th that has caused many innocent life (of coz he always deny of his wrong doing but he can only do so to the fools).
    As usual I dont expect my comment to be published.
    Thank you and may Good Lord have mercy on your soul

• #14 by Di Shi Jiu on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 1:28 pm

Abba Mama,

“…like wise the Malays will never forget how Kit Siang has provoked and triggered the May 13th…”

Ah, it is easy to tell you’ve been watching “Tandas Putera” :)

Did you pay or did you go for free?

14. #15 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 12:34 pm

May All@h have mercy on Abba Mama. Fitnah will be judged in his/her afterlife.

15. #16 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 12:36 pm

Abba Mama must be the Tanda Putera director in disguise. Trying to shore up support for the failed movie. A remarkable product of history which no one believes in.

16. #17 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 12:46 pm

If you read Haniff’s comments, he said that the USSR was really behind the CPM and was using the CPM for their political aims. Why then did no one condemn the Russians ? Why did Bolehland buy so much defence equipment from the Russians ? To UMNO, making money from “collaboration” with former foes like the Russians and the Communist China regime is halal. “Pure and clean” when it comes to making money.

17. #18 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 1:43 pm

The many, many British and Commonwealth soldiers (from Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Tonga Gurkhas etc etc) who fought (and were killed or wounded) have no grudge against Chin Peng and his men I think. Neither do the professionals like Tan Sri Yuen and Wan Junaidy. Also the many hundreds of thousands Chinese who now live in the many, many New Villages. They have all moved on.

Who then are left who feel so much against Chin Peng all these peaceful years and cannot left go and move on? Are they confined mainly to the UMNO Baru and Lama types? Are they out there to ensure that no one else, except for UMNO members, are the only ones who fought for our country’s independence and should be glorified? What about the many other Malay and non-Malay parties and individuals ? The British did award Chin Peng with an OBE title to recognise his role against the Japanese.

Why does UMNO Baru and Lama have no hard feelings for the many thousands of Indonesians who attacked and invaded us during the ‘Konfrontasi’ years in the 1960s? Many were killed and remain buried in our country. Many of our troops were also killed or wounded. More recently, we were invaded by armed Muslim Sulus from the Philippines who hacked and killed our soldiers. Yet they were given religious burials in our country. So what gives in Chin Peng’s case? Why so vindictive towards him alone ? Is it his race ? His outdated ideology? His religion? What ?

Many wars have come and gone and enemies have become friends. What about ‘1Malaysia’?

If we continue to hold grudges all these years when peace have reigned, then we have not matured or mellowed, we will continue to remain retarded, frustrated and handicapped and cannot progress.

18. #19 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 4:50 pm

They spew racism using the ashes of an old wrong-headed patriot but what do they do about former political secretary poverty-stolen-car of cow-stealing-condo minister?

Instead cow-stealing-condo-minister still in lead-contention for the top job, likely being targeted…

These people expect people to take them seriously? Only tragically..

19. #20 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 5:00 pm

What can IGP do if Chin Peng’s ashes are taken in a helicopter and strewn all over Peninsular Malaysia?

I believe Chin Peng loves Malaysia intensely enough to want his ashes in Malaysia.

20. #21 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 5:55 pm

Talk big, pandai.
    Tapi rambutan tada.
    Tu dia umno yg sebenar.
    Orang tu dah mati.
    Apa lagi nak takut?

Endless Possibilities.
    Unlimited Stupidity.

21. #22 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 6:00 pm

Najib is scared of losing support in next month’s Umno party-election if he allows Chin Peng’s ashes to be brought back to Malaysia.

22. #23 by best4rakyat on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 9:09 pm

Agreed if any man like him were to hold on until his last breathe but willing to be home then he really love this nation more than anyone else.
    Many could be merely political leader smart to sabotage & talk lots but he is a man in action and fight with his way for people.
    Why forgiving seems so hard?Let his soul rest in peace alright will you?

23. #24 by PoliticoKat on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 9:48 pm

What is being fought for is history, UMNO/BN is probably worried that Chin Peng might have become a spokesmen and started retelling old Malayan history and got the public interested. This was a man who did receive an (Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire ) OBE.

And once people are interested they will uncover how much untruths there are in our buku Sejarah and how much was left out.

24. #25 by tuahpekkong on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 10:48 pm

Once a peace accord is signed, all forms of hostilities should cease. UMNO wants the spectre of the May 13 and the Communist Insurgency to continue to haunt the Malays so that they can gain some political mileage. The Japanese Imperial Army had committed much worse atrocities in Malaysia during World War II but I don’t think we have enacted any law to prevent those perpetrators from entering Malaysia after the War.

25. #26 by worldpress on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 12:31 am

One simple answer

They try whatever can to hide pre-INDEPEDENT stories of MALAYA

26. #27 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 5:48 am

Dis entire episode proved 2 every1 n d world dat UmnoB kaki hv NO principle n CANNOT b trusted
    They failed 2 honor what they signed 2 do
    Silly MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc in BN, still clinging 2 n trusting UmnoB

27. #28 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 8:47 am

What do you expect?

After all didnt kerismuddin bin lembuddin once said that the umno gobermen does not underestimate the power of salt and water bottles?

Now chin peng may be dead. But hey, bones. Damned bones of chin peng could pose greater danger than salt and plastic water bottles.

Umno.
    Endless Possibilities.
    Unlimited Stupidity.

28. #29 by good coolie on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 4:59 pm

“I will show you fear in a handful of dust” says T.S.Elliot in his haunting poem, “The Waste Land”.

This government fellows are stupid fellows, afraid of the shadows of their politicking selves. They remind me of the great Americans who would not offer the family of a dead man a body to bury, preferring to feed the fishes of the sea with it. Fear of Martyrs? You Bloody Cowards!

29. #30 by Loh on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 5:36 pm

The government would not allow Chin Peng’s ashes back to Malaysia because the government hates him as a communist. Why then would the government allow communists from China to come in under the silver hair programme. The current Ambassador of China is a communist, else he can’t be a government official. Mr Chai, the Chinese ambassador announced that he wanted to retire in Malaysia, and he is saying that plane-loads of Chinese silver-hair group, the rich ones will be taking up residence in Malaysia. If these communists can come in why can’t Chin Peng’s ashes come back?

Chinese industrialists are keen to invest in Malaysia. Don’t they know that their capital only add to the denominator of the total equity capital of corporations, and that makes the 30% target of NEP that much more difficult to achieve? Besides having rich Chinese from china moving around in Malaysia, silver or gray may be their hair, wouldn’t that give the impression that Chinese in Malaysia are well off and that would incur jealousy like it did which was said to cause May 13?

30. #31 by Loh on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 5:44 pm

///The Malay Chamber of Commerce is urging the gov’t to set up a bank specifically for bumiputeras with an initial fund of RM2bil.///–Malaysiakini

And then bankrupt it a few time like Bank Bumi with billion ringgit bail out subsequently.

31. #32 by Loh on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 5:46 pm

///The culture and tourism minister defends the government’s stand and recalls how the Al-Qaeda leader’s remains were buried at sea.///—Malaysiankini

The difference most significantly is that Osama had not have made any agreement with USA, but Chin Peng has signed on a document with the government of Malaysia which is still valid.

32. #33 by rockdaboat on Thursday, 19 September 2013 - 3:35 pm

In a war, you do what you need to do.

The actions of our so-called leaders speaks volumes about their character and capacity.

33. #34 by Fort on Friday, 20 September 2013 - 2:20 am

My sympathy and condolences to Mr Chin Peng’s loved ones.

How I wish that he could have his wish of returning granted when he was alive; and now he is dead, his last wish to have his ashes be returned to his beloved land is still being denied.

This is injustice!

Chin Peng was honoured by the returning British Government for fighting the Japanese.

Chin Peng signed the Peace Accord with Malaysia, after that many of his comrades including Malays had been allowed to return home to their Malaysian homes. I cannot understand why Chin Peng was denied.

34. #35 by Fort on Friday, 20 September 2013 - 2:51 am

When Chin Peng was alive, they denied him coming back, I can still understand their fear of him.

Now that he is dead, what is it that they are fearful of?
    His ash? Surely nothing to fear.

35. #36 by Loh on Friday, 20 September 2013 - 12:49 pm

Does Malaysian government still recognize the agreement it entered into with the Thai government and Mr Chin Peng in December 1989? If it does not, then that is the type of government we cannot respect. If it does, the government has to acknowledge that the signatories are respectable body and persons, and that includes the representative of Malaysia. Chin Peng signed the agreement on behalf of the Malayan Communist party.

If the Malaysian considered Chin Peng a Satan, then his counterpart must be of the same. Surely the Malaysian government cannot deal with undesirable persons and yet would accept their words and ink the agreement.

Najib has just said that Chin Peng has not followed through the agreement to apply within the stipulated time. But Chin Peng was the signatory, and should he not be treated with exception, since he had agreed to the timing for other members, out of due respect to persons who contributed to having the agreement inked?

Granted that Malaysian government is strict with words in law and in agreement, such as those who committed murder will be charged in court, and that Chin Peng has to respect the high standard of governance, as if it ever exists here, and to accept that he could not return into Malaysia, alive. Surely, there cannot be agreement for Chin Peng to apply after his death. Why then cannot his ashes be brought back? Obviously the deceased has no means to apply, and the government has no need to refuse the ashes of a person who could not follow through the provision of the agreement, as the agreement was for him to return to live.

All told, because Chin Peng is Chinese, and Najib is facing party election, and a coward like him could not afford to offend the few ex-service men, and hence even his ashes are dangerous to the security of the nation. Or was Najib strict in observing law. By the way how was it lawful that murders could be solved without motives being ascertained?

36. #37 by on cheng on Sunday, 22 September 2013 - 4:28 pm

Since Chin Peng is so very dangerous, maybe the current govt, should go ahead and enact a law to
    a). Ban the use of name Chin Peng in all Chinese baby in Malaysia, fine up to RM2,000 may be imposed
    b). Anyone who print, publish or use this name may also be fined up to RM900
    c). Set up 24 hour (day) 365 days (year), minimum of 250 fully armed soldiers at all times at any one of these places, full alert at all Malaysia-Thai land border checks, KLIA, Langkawi Port, Penang airport etc. Post large posters at all these places warning agianst the smuggle in of C.P. ashes !
    May be fined RM2,000, or jailed for 2 months etc
    Any other precautions deemed necessary