Look, who’s unhappy with our education system!

— Ravinder Singh
The Malay Mail Online
September 11, 2013

SEPT 11 — Well, well, thank you Education Minister II Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh for confirming what many Malaysians have long known.

He has spilled the beans, not realising that when you point a finger at someone, you have three pointing back at yourself.

Please tell us dear minister, how many children of how many elites in the country are attending Sekolah Rendah/Menengah Kebangsaan in Malaysia?

Do us a favour please. Besides having leaders of the country declare their assets, get them to also declare the schools their children are attending.

When the rakyat could see that the children of the leaders are also attending the local schools, you will not need any other promotional campaigns to tell Malaysians that our local schools are “setanding” (i.e. of equal standing) with schools in advanced countries such as Germany and the US.

So why tell parents who are not happy with the proposed changes that if they are not happy with the education system here, they should send their children overseas when the elites in the country, including some if not all of the top politicians, have already been doing so for donkey years?

Your call should therefore be to these elites and politicians to bring back their children to Malaysia and enrol them in the local schools for they are wasting money sending their children away from home when schools at home are just as good, if not better.

Actions speak louder than words. When the elite and political leaders all enrol their children in Sekolah Rendah/Menengah Kebangsaan, then you can ethically chide those who have no faith in the local schools. Until then, you do not have the ethical credentials to claim that the local education system and schools are among the best in the world.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 11 September 2013 - 11:58 pm

In this country we have two or more people to do poor jobs of everything – two Finance Ministers, two Education Ministers, etc and Deputy I and Deputy II for just about everything.

No wonder we are in such a big, big mess. Too many cooks who can’t cook.

2. #2 by Noble House on Thursday, 12 September 2013 - 4:13 am

Why waste so much of the taxpayers’ money on Talent Corp then? Might as well done with it since UMNO is so fond of telling those who disagreed with their views to leave the country?

3. #3 by Better Malaysia on Thursday, 12 September 2013 - 9:32 am

Beside the big, big mess we are in. Malaysia is wasting too much money by having all the double Minister doing little “brain work” All having buta gaji.

4. #4 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 12 September 2013 - 9:36 am

This is typical Mahathir logic and argument. Such altitude has been seen when you are not happy with the government they ask you to migrate, now when people ask for better education they ask you to send your children overseas. Who does not want so if I was as rich as the scorpian guys who earn billion in commission that can effort to send ten or hundred generation of my child educated oversea may be in Cambridge or Oxford? Boarding school while they are still 6 years old? Many politician minister and top corporate magnate all send their children overseas when they start specking.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Thursday, 12 September 2013 - 11:00 am

Very soon, we will have Minister I, II, and III for mayb each portfolio, so that almost all minority-elected n even FAILed 2 be elected UmnoB/BN MPs will b minister dis or dat (some selected fortunate few, even with otak kosong n dubious/falsified degrees, will hold more than one ministerial post) 2 enjoy more perks n salaries, in addition 2 their MP gaji + perks
    No wonder, M’sia quickly down d slippery slope 2 bankruptcy n low values of RM

6. #6 by tuahpekkong on Thursday, 12 September 2013 - 3:45 pm

I don’t think the Second Education Minister is able to empathize with the hardship that a typical Malaysian is facing. To send a child for a quality tertiary education in Australia, UK or US would require a total outlay of at least RM400,000/-. So if you have three children it would cost you a whopping RM1.2 million at least. How many middle class Malaysians can afford such luxury? Of course RM1.2 million is only peanuts to a Cabinet Minister. Our Ministers won’t send their children to study in local schools and tertiary institutions because they know the academic staffs are mostly mediocre. If our local schools and universities are really of equal standard with schools and universities in advanced countries, ask the teachers, lecturers and professors if they are confident enough to seek employment in the small country just south of us. I wonder how many will qualify.