Time starting to run out for BN

― Fikry Osman
March 28, 2013

MARCH 28 ― The Negri Sembilan state assembly ran out of time and all the mentri besar could do is say that his is now the caretaker state government.

What kind of leadership is this? As the state’s chief executive, Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan should have had the scrotal gumption to dissolve the legislature and notify the Election Commission (EC).

It would be up to them to decide the timing for polls, whether to hold it first or wait for the other assemblies and Parliament to also be dissolved.

Instead, he waited until time ran out and reportedly said, “There has to be a caretaker government because we will have to pay wages and look into other matters during the period… without a caretaker government, there will be anarchy.”

That is stating the obvious. Of course there is a caretaker government until the polls are held, whether he dissolves it or it is done automatically.

He should have just gone ahead and done it himself instead of looking like a clueless politician waiting for further orders from Putrajaya.

It reflects his lack of leadership and confirms what Negri Sembilan Umno leaders have been complaining about. That he is useless and allows his family to run the state Umno and government.

If Barisan Nasional (BN) is serious about keeping the state, or any other state and even Putrajaya, it can start with a better slate of leaders. It can start with those who won’t wait for Putrajaya to tell them what to do.

Maybe the prime minister has his reasons for delaying the polls as reported today, but that does not mean the Negri Sembilan assembly should be allowed to lapse just like that. It is a historic first but not a good one.

It shows how lacklustre this state government is that its leaders can just watch the assembly expires, without doing anything.

If this is BN’s strategy, it will backfire and they will lose the state.

We want a dynamic leadership in Seremban to take care of Negri Sembilan. Not the current crop of politicians who don’t have the guts to dissolve the state assembly.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 7:10 am

Wonder if Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan had the guts to tell Putrajaya what to do? I believe he was instructed by Putrajaya to allow the state assembly dissolve automatically.

2. #2 by KeenWatcher_01 on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 7:15 am

Why is it there is a “headless chook” running around in The Negri Sembilan state assembly?

3. #3 by monsterball on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 7:25 am

Not one has the guts to do the right thing.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 8:02 am

For someone who is so enamoured with PR, Najib does not look like someone who knows the basics at all. Its within his power to call a GE within 2 months of that. After 4 years in power, he don’t know how to plan a GE within 2 months and need to stretch it out for a few more days or a week or two at best?

It just look like he is someone who is lost in his job. He just look really really clueless and weak. When you put together the inane handouts and all the bad PR that is still coming out about UMNO/BN, he just simply looks pathetic at his job.

5. #5 by bruno on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 8:26 am

Clueless leaders need to be led by the nose to the waterhole for a drink.No wonder the Dr is still calling the shots.

6. #6 by bruno on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 8:30 am

Sometimes we have to wonder if the people elected kids(fools) to do a man’s(moron’s) job.What these fools know is to rob he country’s coffers.

7. #7 by yhsiew on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 9:58 am

I bet the chief executive was ordered by Putrajaya to allow automatic dissolution of the state assembly.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 10:58 am

Another simple case to prove Najib is clueless..

Why at his late hour, is he selling a message of FEAR, when he is also trumpeting his “unprecedented GNI gain of 41%/49%”? Fear mongering at time when people are not in desperation? Its simply psychoticly confused.

9. #9 by SENGLANG on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 12:27 pm

BN takes a high rick venture by experience to let the states go into voluntarily dissolution. Though care taker government is part and parcel of the democracy but one should always avoid it. The people is getting disgusted as when the term has expired that mean the rights given them the power to rule has expired and care taker is just the passage to a newly elected assembly. Care taken government technically is an illegal government and should by all mean no to prolong for too long.

10. #10 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 3:19 pm

Pssssst jib.

Take a quick look behind you.

If you dont know what that is let me tell you.

Its a CORNER you twit!!

11. #11 by cseng on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 6:03 pm

Look at what have Najib done today, have you ever wonder, how can people like Najib, rise up to be the PM for the country? how and why?

Come on, election only mah! really need to be so ‘kiasu’?

My old man always say: “never spoon fed your kids, overly protecting and arrange everything for them, or they grown up into weak, indecisive, useless man”

Today, when I look at Najib, I think my old man is definitely right.

12. #12 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 6:39 pm

Yup. Ur right cseng.

And now what we are seeing are overgrown monkeys holding their hands and waiting for handouts.

13. #13 by Shadowss on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 9:51 pm

Najib must be scratching his head of what had to be done next . He is totally out of idea on how to regain support from the rakyat . On the other hand , he misguide and misinform us that our country`s GNI , GDI and GDP has increased which in the fact as shown by reports and statistics , it does not . The NTP present by BN was simply a joke .

Dragging parliament dissolved date will not save u, jibby . Just be quick with it , and maybe u might get lucky not to lose it all.

14. #14 by chengho on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 11:56 pm

brilliant strategy from BN , not normal but that the leadership all about

15. #15 by monsterball on Saturday, 30 March 2013 - 3:39 am

“not normal” it is….hashahahahahaha