Star and MCA’s total distortion of my tribute to the eight policemen who died as national heroes in Lahad Datu and Semporna in shoot-outs with Sulu gunmen

My attention has been drawn to today’s Sunday Star report “MCA defends RM2,000 aid to families of slain cops”, which is a total distortion of my tribute to the eight policemen who died as national heroes in Lahad Datu and Semporna in the shoot-outs with Sulu gunmen.

Star quoted the MCA national organising secretary Datuk Tee Siew Kong accusing me of “a ploy to politicise the fatalities” and that I was “out to discredit the services and responsibilities of the uniformed personnel killed while protecting our nation”.

This is utter nonsense.

I stand by my unqualified tribute to the eight police commandos for their highest act of patriotic duty in giving their lives in the defence of national sovereignty and security of the people.

I also stand by my conviction that these eight police commandoes should not have died if the security forces had been given a free hand to professionally handle the Sabah Sulu crisis, but I do not want at this stage to get into an argument about the role of irresponsible politicians whether for their treason in creating grave security problems in Sabah or for their inept leadership which posed grave threat to life and limb of security forces personnel.

When the Sabah security situation has settled down, can Malaysians expect MCA leaders to support action against political leaders who are “wolves in sheep’s clothing” pretending to be the people’s leaders but committed treason to create a grave security situation in Sabah or through their inefficient leadership exposed security forces personnel to unnecessary danger?

I had in Senai on Wednesday referred to the announcement by the MCA President Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek that MCA would donate RM16,000 to the families of the eight security personnel killed in the Sulu attacks and the MCA pledge to donate RM2,000 for every security personnel killed in the Sabah crisis.

I did not criticise the RM16,000 donation to the eight bereaved families, but I felt offended at the talk of RM2,000 for every security personnel killed, as if expecting more security personnel to be killed in Sabah as well as the deplorable attitude as if money could solve all problems.

The correct attitude would be to ensure that there should not be any more loss of lives among our security personnel in Sabah.

This was why the Pakatan Rakyat Leadership Council had called for a special meeting of Parliament to achieve a situation where there would not be any further loss of lives among our security personnel in Sabah but this is a proposal none of the four MCA Ministers had supported in the Cabinet that morning.

That was why I criticised the MCA leadership. Was I wrong?

1. #1 by monsterball on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 6:38 pm

MCA is nothing to voters….especially to Malaysian Chinese which MCA is supposedly…to be the protector of that race.
    MCA politicians accept to be second class citizens..and guiding Malaysian Chinese to accept Umno b rouges and thieves as their Lords.
    MCA was voted out….and Chua Soi Lek is a running dog….for Najib..while Najib is a show dog for Mahathir and his party.
    Yes….dogs are performing…enjoy and ignore.

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 6:40 pm

Show dog and running dog are performing.
    Enjoy and ignore.

3. #3 by Cinapek on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 6:49 pm

“…..Datuk Tee Siew Kong accusing me of “a ploy to politicise the fatalities” …

I am absolutely disgusted with these MCA sychophants who has no other better arguments except to overuse this “politicising” word. By his very twist in his attack on YB Kit’s comments, the MCA IS politicising the tragic death of the policemen to try to score political points. If you want to help just help and ignore what others say.

Having said this, while some form of monetary compensation to the family of the slain policemen will help to alleviate the financial concerns in the short term, a longer term solution for the families’ plight must be worked out. It will be the gravest form of hypocrisy and injustice to the families if the aid will stop after just making these payments.

Having lost their sole breadwinner in most cases, the families will be hard put to have a roof over their heads, feed the family and educate them. The authorities must make arrangements to provide each and every bereaved family a decent home, and a steady income sufficient to sustain the family. Each and every child in these bereaved families must be given educational scholarships until the highest level they can attain. Only in this way can the nation repay these brave men who made the supreme sacrifice for the nation.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 8:21 pm

Now they are just making stuff up without even much thought how ridiculous the lie sounds to the biggest idiots!!

5. #5 by Noble House on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 10:31 pm

MCA is but one of the many concubines serving UMNO at its pleasure. What can a bunch of castrated eunuchs do when they can’t even make a decision in the cabinet?

6. #6 by tak tahan on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 10:57 pm

offer b.sides…

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Monday, 11 March 2013 - 12:36 am

Don’t be nice. Just sue them if you think you have a case.

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Monday, 11 March 2013 - 12:53 am

We have sent in our Army.

We have sent in our Navy.

We have sent in our Air Force.

We have sent in our Police.

Yet we cannot defeat 100 plus rag-tag intruders for a month now ?

Who else can we send? Our Boy Scouts? Girl Guides? MIC ? MCA ? Gelakan ? Bung Mokhtar ? Saiful ?

The BN government is kidding right ?

9. #9 by chengho on Monday, 11 March 2013 - 8:43 am

Malaysian for Mother Malaysia ; Malaysia tanah tumpah darah ku , di mana langit di junjung disitu bumi di pijak ; uncle Sam want you , Uncle Najib want your vote; ABCD

10. #10 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 11 March 2013 - 9:56 am

This what the ball-carrier suckers do to Chinese community. They have been doing these over decades. Selling the community to the UMNO suckers for their own benefits…