Spending your money to lie to you

— Abdul Samad Sulaiman
Mar 09, 2013

MARCH 9 — How would you react if someone used your money to put together a plan to deceive you? I repeat used your money.

Well, that is what the Najib administration did when it paid millions of ringgit in taxpayers’ money to right-wing bloggers in the United States to write articles damaging to Anwar Ibrahim on sites such as Huffington Post, etc. Essentially, the government used OUR money to plant fictitious reports about the opposition leader.

There is something very disturbing when leaders who swear to respect law and order and whom we hope would have the moral spine to navigate this country on the path of what is right would agree to promoting falsehood and slander. And use government funds at that!

But for me even more upsetting is the fact that this tactic of funding the factory of lies and deceit is happening on our shores and now targetted at the Malaysian audience — you and me.

What government would stoop so low and use taxpayers’ funds to pay bloggers, cybertroopers, set up websites such as The Choice and Malaysian Review and lie to its own people? Can we trust a government, which has embraced lies and deceit, with governing with integrity?

Many of us have been receiving “articles” directly through our emails, written by “eunice the, etc”. A couple of days ago, a “Steve Roads” wrote an “article”, quoting Philippine intelligence sources, alleging that Anwar Ibrahim was behind the Sultan of Sulu’s invaders.

For good measure, the article was accompanied by a Philippine Inquirer logo, giving the impression this was an Inquirer article.

It appears that the government believes that controlling the Internet means dumping fake articles written by fake writers. Isn’t it enough that we have to put up with the fiction written by the mainstream media (Utusan Malaysia’s 100 per cent record of losing all defamation suits shows that I am not overstating the claim) that we have to be sent fictional reports on the Internet.

But that this government chooses this approach to propaganda speaks volumes of the morality of the people at the top. How can we trust these people when they don’t trust us to make a good choice on who should govern Malaysia based on facts?

And really grating is that my money and yours is being given to intellectually-challenged and morally-bankrupt cybertroopers to spin.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 8:49 am

/// if someone used your money to put together a plan to deceive you?///

BN has lost the moral right to govern.

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 8:59 am

It was Mahathir who amended Laws and Constitution with by-laws…to protect his party…stole hundreds of billions…with no fear and uses our money…bought Judges..Police ..cronies…..encouraging corruptions for 22 years ..keep fooling Muslims…and mock the Islamic religion for his own brand of dirty …filthy politics…that started it all.
    During his 22 years….Muslims are being brainwashed Umno b is their protector successfully….and the stealing went on and on…while millions of Muslims have been brainwashed…to feel…Umno b is their
    “protector”….their savior.
    Outwardly…look so humble..honest…but those are hypocrites of the highest order…con men…..rouges and thieves.
    The stealing …becomes a habit….and the art to do that…with no fear…in so many forms….so many ways…so call legally……all established by Mahathir…the Dictator.
    It will never end….until Umno B is defeated in an election.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 9:22 am

My personal view is that what was done was THEFT and CORRUPTION. I could not care for the lies, it does nothing to me or anyone I would respect.

But what to me is more telling is that Najib’s administration simply don’t get it – in a time of war of content, of substance, of character, of core competencies, all they do is fight a war of means with little substance, just superficiality. depravity and perversion. After 50 years of over-entitlement, having means and resources that few govt can even dream of having, they cannot find the substance, the character, the stock in them to fight in an advantageous playing field and have to sink lower..

4. #4 by cseng on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 9:27 am

Mahathir said najib will bring m’sia to great height, and it does.

Now there are movie exclusive for malay only and FAMA event exclusively for muslim reporter only. Those are real great height of 1 malaysia.

What najib need to do is keep mum on scandals, politic hooligan, institutional supported racist doing, or others that he could never answer, then, everything is in order in 1 malaysia.

5. #5 by monsterball on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 9:30 am

Look at a bigger picture and understand that the lies told for decades have done so many things wrong to the country and people.
    The lies do involve everyone…who love the country and people.
    Do not be selfish.

6. #6 by cseng on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 9:35 am

The way ‘racism’ and ‘religious division’ of najib, by that standard, we can acheive great height satus of apartheid by 2020, should the MRT seats need to have racial colours to mark his 1 malaysia.

7. #7 by monsterball on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 9:39 am

Mahathir is a liar and Najib is a greater liar.
    Both are hypocrites…..but Mahathir is a greater hypocrite…while Najib is not too sure of himself…….what he is.
    Najib looks mild and meek…gentle…most cultured small Prince…but deep inside…vicious…malicious..and dares to blast anyone ..who talk too much….all protected by Mahathir.
    Payback day is coming.

8. #8 by cseng on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 9:44 am

Better the devils you know than the angels you don’t. – mahathir

This statement valid if these people live in hell, only valid if ppls are kept stupid, if ppls are kept in fears, in hates and in division of race and religions extremes.

Are these boundaries conditions for 1 malaysia?

9. #9 by PRmaju on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 10:40 am

You have to thank MAmakthir who started this culture of deception , fooling and manipulation of the people and religions, stealing big time. Mamakthir thought he had great political skill, perfecting his art of the impossible !

The rest of the the umno goons just look up to this grand deception master and thief and trying to emulate and do better than him !

10. #10 by john on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 11:00 am

It had been this way since MMKutty regime days. AH-C-4 is just a celup MMKutty, the latter had refined it into an art form and patented Under HOODWINK by MaMak Kutty !. Worst, a traitor of the Nation and Rakyat (despicable act of giving citizenships to illegal immigrants of his chosen ones -so, he won’t feel the ONE Mamak standing out glaringly .) Another, they take you to HOLAN each time comes GE espicially.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 11:12 am

Spending OUR money 2 lie 2 US – aiyoo yooh, WHAT’s so revealing abt dis!?
    UmnoB/BN not only spending our $$$ 2 lie 2 us, but also 2 SODOMISE us 4 god knows how many years oredi 1
    Also, don’t forget, CHANNELING our $$$ in2 their bottomless pockets (we r No. 1 in per capita capital flight)
    http://dapmalaysia.org/english/2012/dec12/lks/lks6512.php
    Funny thingy is there r still lots of rakyat WILLING n DYING 2 support UmnoB/BN 2 continue 2 sodomise, cheat, exploit rakyat
    PHD – permanent head damage – lor

12. #12 by chengho on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 11:47 am

OPDaulat ; no place for your comment eh , looking for patriot
    ABCD ; support MCA

13. #13 by cseng on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 1:00 pm

No place for racist comment oh, looking for parrot ABCD (Anything But Chengho Dumb-boy) ; support your dignity.

Turn on your mind and make sure it is functional before supporting anything else.

14. #14 by chengho on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 1:07 pm

MCA for middle way , prudent geopolitic; ABCD

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 1:32 pm

It is of course wrong and deceitful to spend your money – but isn’t it often said that politics is an art of deception? Level of success on the sophistication maturity and educational level of majority voters who put the politicians there and re-elect them. If the people/voters by majority are easily deceived or distracted or persuaded by lies and propaganda, what can be done, who can be blamed?

• #16 by cemerlang on Sunday, 10 March 2013 - 10:37 pm

money talks…politics is making things go for you especially if you are in power and intend to keep the power…and even for the good people, how sure can you be that money will make them lose whatever goodness they have inside…temptation…how strong are you until and unless you are tempted… when you don’t have the power, you will never know…