Graft-check for BN candidates

— Jaleel Hameed
Dec 21, 2012

DEC 21 — It must be the end of the world, dear sirs, if the Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman is saying that all coalition candidates for the general election must clear a corruption check.

Datuk Seri Najib Razak said today this vetting and clearing must be done by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).

Excuse me for laughing, sir, but are you cracking a joke? No? You are serious about the MACC?

This agency, where witnesses or perhaps suspects, leap to their death mysteriously?

This agency, which told its Hong Kong counterpart that there is nothing suspicious about millions being sent to Umno’s Sabah chapter?

This agency, which is more interested in clearing its panel members of complicity rather than investigate where a sworn statement from a private investigator repudiating his earlier statutory declaration could mean something’s amiss?

Sir, you want the MACC to do this job? Does it even have any credibility left after three years of twiddling thumbs and fishing for small fry rather than big fishes?

When I read this morning that Datuk Johan Jaafar had proposed this idea, sir, I was wondering what confidence and optimism have possessed this veteran journalist and MACC panel member. Maybe it’s all those years of writing pro-BN material in Utusan Malaysia.

First of all, will the MACC and BN make public their asset declaration to ensure the voting public know these BN candidates are “clean”.

The graft trial of Dr Khir Toyo is a good point, sir. He was made Selangor mentri besar because he was young and “clean”, sir.

The Disneyland trips and Balinese-style residence are proof that a “clean” candidate can turn corrupt, sir.

I hope you’re not pulling our leg, sir. I want to believe that BN has changed and its candidates are “clean”. The MACC’s record is spotty at best for this but I guess they are the best that you have.

All the best in your endeavour, sir. Right now, a clean candidate from BN is as believable as the Mayan “end of the world” prediction.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 7:02 am

Najib must be joking. How can he appoint an organization which has lost trust of the people to vet BN candidates for GE13?

2. #2 by Godfather on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 8:14 am

You guys still don’t get it. Najib wants to take a leaf from the old fox mamakthir. Najib needs to start a filing system of his own. All BN candidates must have a black mark somewhere so that they can be easily made to tow the line. It’s like the police force. If you”re not on the take, they don’t want you.

• #3 by cemerlang on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 10:02 am

No one uses a piece of new cloth to patch up an old coat, because the new patch will shrink and tear off some of the old cloth, making an even bigger hole. Good news. How is money being used ? What is the money used for ? Why do you need the money ? When do you need the money ?
      Who will use the money ? Thumbs up. Like.

3. #4 by Godfather on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 8:17 am

There won’t be any eligible BN candidate if they really mean what they say.

4. #5 by Winston on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 9:19 am

The report will turn out that all UMNO/BN candidates are squeaky clean (just like one advertisement for a dish-washing liquid!).
    And all the PR candidates don’t pass scrutiny!!!!!
    You can bet that when something like this is to be implemented, they will have their backsides covered!!!!!!
    But it won’t fool anyone.
    It only makes a fool of those in UMNO/BN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5. #6 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 10:01 am

Why are we even talking about such a minor thing? The issue really is after 4 years of Najib in power, we can make absolute conclusion of Najib anti-graft action and idea – ITS HOPELESS…

The fact of the matter is corruption is a culture. There are technical definition to it but inherently when it comes to changing corruption – its about changing a culture. The comparison to fighting corruption is no less, perhaps even more, than fighting communism or racketeering (i.e., mafia) or gangsterism..There is no such thing as saying doing it a bit at a time or not applying surgery to it.

Najib’s ideas and mindset was and IS inherently WRONG. He has no clue what it takes, he does not have conviction to its cause, and he unqualified even if he has an inkling.

In this country, the only way to change corruption is by DRAMATIC MEANS – that mean the big fishes first NOT LAST. Why? Because UMNO/BN is a feudal patronage system. You change nothing starting with the serfs. Najib even got that simply basic upside down. What hope really is even paying any attention to what he does or say on this subject?

6. #7 by Cinapek on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 11:06 am

No, it is not a joke. Najib was affected by the winter solstice and the alignment of the sun vis-a-vis the planet earth ala Mayan prediction that the world will end in 2012.

I would love to hear how Najib or MACC explain that MACC will also investigate Najib when they report to Najib.

I will even settle for just MACC’s explanation of the Scorpene investigations and the failed promise to meet Bala in London to investigate the saga of the SD1 and SD2 and how it involves Najib or not.

7. #8 by cseng on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 11:16 am

Why kill an industry with potential of generate hundreds of billions, illicit or not does not matter. Corruption is a big business, it is an industry, you just incapable to kill it, gravy train of hundred billions, imaging how many are riding this?

It deepak demms as the carpeter, only macc fits to be carpet. You never get to see the dirts. It can’t take the carperter to dust off the dirt, but the carpet itself.

8. #9 by john on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 1:39 pm

It remained me of when Mad’tir became the PM, there were all the slogans flying all over the place one, Leadership By Example, in particular stays evergreen as each time till now it’s proven the kind of (pariah) leadership he had continously handed down by his (pariah) example. He past the baton to ‘Bodohwi’ (this one no bodoh, only very cunning; see, he keeps very quite now and just enjoying life, fullest and no one bothers him ! ) but his ‘bodohway assumption’ was derailed by the smartalec S-I-L, you know the crooked bridge tantrums.
    Then, now we have this Ah Cheap Goh-584 as ‘PM’ who since day one been trying to copy and follow Mad’tir by example with all slogans but ended up tripping all over himself – cos’ the lie, insincerity, bullsh*t,,,,,at the end find it’s way back to him. eg. 1m’sial to be ‘fluid,undefine’ as he intended in the beginning but only now, been exhumed – so, no standard, no class (pariah, cannot fine a better/fitting word !)
    How to have good constructive criticisms when these are all of ‘pariah’ , so incomprehensible coming from the mouths/’brains’ of these so called ‘leaders’ and the one on top (worst) – and, is aptly Leader’fool’ by Example, instead.

9. #10 by tuahpekkong on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 3:28 pm

If the BN think that such a move might endear them to the voters, then they are in for a rude shock. The voters can see through BN’s trickery and their minds are unlikely to be swayed. Both BN and the MACC have little or no credibility as far as fighting corruption is concerned. So when two parties having little or no credibility work together to vet the integrity of BN candidates, the situation becomes a farce.

10. #11 by chengho on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 6:57 pm

any body take a clean cut from DAPSTER?

• #12 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 6:20 am

Welcome back, Change Hole! How is your changing holes business? You must be damn rich now as your business is booming and very demanding by those BN/ UMNO B suckers as a chief source of releasing and easing their strong desires. Change Hole, don’t forget your papa is desperately waiting for your services right in his bedroom!

11. #13 by Godfather on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 8:00 pm

The UMNO admiral chengho is back ! Elections must be near….

12. #14 by drngsc on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 8:40 pm

Hi friends, this MACC thingy is aim at UNMO 2,3. UMNO 1 wants to cancel out UMNO 2,3. ah cheap kor knows that NO UMNO candidates can pass a real MACC check. Even ah cheap kor, mad-hat-tir and moo-moo-din will fail any real anti-corruption test.

It does not matter to us. Ini semua sandiwara.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is coming. Let us all work very very hard. First to 12th Jan PR rally, then to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we will.

13. #15 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 10:41 pm

In the past, meaning just over 30 plus years ago, Gomen servants said to be corrupted with 10% cut for the public projects. The moment the politicians decided to be involved, as Nazri put it ” Politicians are the Masters”, The Negotiated Tenders take over and the costs went up by the FOLDS! Percentage is too difficult to manage. In the process, the politicians agreed to close one-eye do that the crumbs are wiped off the table for those in the upper strata of the service. In such process, the Pagar is also permitted to collect the crumbs hence asking MACC to do the checking on politicians is a farce; unless they report to a Parliamentary Committee! Really, the Gomen has run out of option!

14. #16 by monsterball on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 11:51 pm

Getting near his end to stay unelected and must announce the 13th GE date…..Najib is getting more and more sick in his mind.

15. #17 by monsterball on Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 11:53 pm

I lost count of his stupidity to keep fooling voters.

16. #18 by tak tahan on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 12:14 am

chengho is a nut who yearned for personal attentions and vested interest as well as for his same level of apparent ‘intellectul responses’ thrown back at him,the most ludicrious,the better still for his self-containment .Probably a very good and ‘sound’ friend of Rambutan aka cintiiiunegara type…so sad to have this idiot as Malaysian by birthright and being inclusive in the so-called 1Malaysia by the so-called transformer sifu,Ajib kor..anyway,joke aside ya,and to be frank,had not Ajib kor transformed into the chairlady of woman affair porfolio? If given say and choice,i would rather trust Ajib la than this nutty cheng-bitchyhole..no hard feeling..smile

17. #19 by tak tahan on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 12:22 am

Cheers chengho,your ‘ask’ would be taken of after your this recent statements.Enjoy the F%^% from your sadist masters while you still can!!!! Niamah!

18. #20 by monsterball on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 12:38 am

Chengho boy…you are making tak tahan,..,beh tahan you…and so am I reading your “sai” comment.

19. #21 by Noble House on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 3:10 am

Ever heard of the 3 famous lines from the proverbial 3 monkeys? The MACC added one more to its SOP……Do Nothing!

20. #22 by monsterball on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 4:05 am

hahahahahahahaha
    Graft check on BN candidates…said Najib…which made my hands hair stands….reading that.
    He needs to check Mahathir and himself..first.. before checking others.
    Najib’s mind is poisoned by Mahathir as PMs …that no one can touch or check them.

21. #23 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 6:33 am

Apparently, this sucker wants to show to rakyat that he is perfectly clean as to win their hearts and votes! It is one form to make him distinctively from the bunch of UMNOB/ BN suckers! It is one of his dirty ways, a damn new way, to cheat… By all means, the foxy sucker always have new ways to cheat and fox/ suck around…

22. #24 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 6:51 am

Seems that you all miss cintanegara? with chengho coming back and the end of the rambutan season, cintanegara will be coming on board soon. We seem to want to be reminded of the great result of our education policy after being changed by the Mamak over a generation ago! Well both chengho and Cintanegara are the samples you got! Their minds had been trained to smell out HOLES of opportunity that is all they need to learn in UMNO/BN! Their reason is simple; if they don’t steal or grab it, others will do! Can you hear the silence from the MOE on the recent TIMMS results? Not a word even from chengho/cintanegara; maybe both of you will give the reasons why Malaysia was “cheated” through unfair grading since NEP factor was deliberately removed?? We all know the stupidity of such reasoning, as the world does not owe anyone a living, but we do need to hear from you! As the tenet that everyone owes you a living is the only reason you have? And on that, you felt that you can STAND TALL??????

23. #25 by SENGLANG on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 8:36 am

MACC IS A TOOL FOR BN TO JUSTIFY AND CLEAR THE NAME OF THE CORRUPTS. WHO WILL BELIEVE IN THEM???

24. #26 by cseng on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 11:12 am

So said a malaysiakini reader “it takes a carpet trader to reveal the dirt swept under”, we know who is the carpet trader, but who is the carpet… MACC.

25. #27 by SENGLANG on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 2:16 pm

Serdang MP Teo Nie Ching has fell into the MACC vetting trap by asking PM to vet Taib. They are most willingly to ask MACC to vet him and MACC will have only one answer.

No proof of corruption and no case against him. All claims in the newspapers and web reports have no basis what so ever. We will investigate if there is a report lodged with us. As of now we have not receive any report against him. He can contest in what ever way he wants. He is clear as far as we are concern.

26. #28 by yhsiew on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 5:00 pm

Datuk Seri Najib Razak should take the lead and set an example by allowing the MACC do the vetting on him.

27. #30 by Loh on Monday, 24 December 2012 - 8:50 pm

MACC is now made to serve Najib rather than to fight corruption. That action itself is corruption.

28. #31 by chengho on Tuesday, 25 December 2012 - 3:55 am

any comment for Nga/Ngeh and Tgna /Ngok agroland

29. #32 by monsterball on Tuesday, 25 December 2012 - 4:18 am

chengho is visiting every post…..making a fool of himself.

30. #33 by chengho on Tuesday, 25 December 2012 - 4:28 am

waiting for Dapter to announce RCI to investigate their candidates, but karpal can invite Macc also

31. #34 by monsterball on Tuesday, 25 December 2012 - 5:01 am

Soon all will wake up and F chengho.
    His rear is real itchy.

32. #35 by monsterball on Tuesday, 25 December 2012 - 5:28 am

I like the comment made by a Malaysiakini member….saying if Najib vet himself …Talip…and all…there maybe no candidates left for BN to stand for election.

33. #36 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 25 December 2012 - 8:48 am

The rakyat are not easily fooled because vetting the BN candidates will give MACC the opportunity to declare the corrupt “not corrupt”.

34. #37 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 25 December 2012 - 10:14 am

it is like asking the Madam to confirm her prostitutes are clean

35. #38 by chengho on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 6:31 am

wondering how Pakatan funding their political campaign , Pas will say from member donation eh . MACC need to audit eh

36. #39 by monsterball on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 6:55 am

Chengho reminds me of my naughty dog….who keeps barking for no reasons..and I need to grab him and give a good wagging.
    So stubborn and idiotic.

37. #40 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 9:41 am

Graft check umno?

Oh ho ho ho ho.

You probably would not find more than a handfull winnable candidate on that score.

38. #41 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 10:24 am

chengho is definitely barking for obvious reason which is $$$.chengho,now,go running to your respective masters and lay bare your AS@# for good f^% and claim your spoils for being loyalty as a running dog…and do come back and bark as your next required mission

39. #42 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 10:25 am

D cleanest BN’s cadidate, blessed by MACC, is Loh Si Mah

40. #43 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 10:57 am

Yeah..chengho,go hug and kiss Loh Si Mah.Maybe can also help carry her birkin bags around the election?

41. #44 by chengho on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 3:23 pm

tak tahan , look at Nga/Ngeh agroland from Nick Aziz for the moron Nizar /Ngok

42. #45 by monsterball on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 5:40 pm

chengho….look into the mirror and see who you are….first…before trying to be too smart.
    tak tahan has said it clearly…you are a running dog…barking at the wrong tree.

43. #46 by good coolie on Saturday, 29 December 2012 - 11:01 pm

How can dirty fellows chose clean candidates? What vetting? 90% of those chosen will be corrupt fellows. That is Barisan nature.