Let 16th DAP National Congress this weekend be a historic curtain-raiser to the “Hundred Days to Putrajaya” campaign for Malaysians to create history and usher in a new, truly united, democratic, just and prosperous Malaysia under a PR Malaysian government

All eyes are on the 16th DAP National Congress in Penang this weekend not only because it is the last national congress for political parties in Malaysia this year, but also because it heralds the last hundred days before the holding of the long-postponed/awaited 13th General Elections.

Let the 16th DAP National Congress be a historic curtain-raiser to the “Hundred Days to Putrajaya” campaign for Malaysians to create history and usher in a new, truly united, democratic, just and prosperous Malaysia under a Pakatan Rakyat Malaysian Government in the 13th General Elections.

Let the 16th DAP National Congress send out the clear and unequivocal message to all Malaysians throughout the country – that DAP leaders, delegates and members are imbued with a profound sense of vision, commitment, responsibility and discipline to accomplish the historic mission and objectives of the “Hundred Days to Putrajaya” campaign for Malaysians, whether Malays, Chinese, Indians, Orang Asli, Kadazans or Ibans; whether Muslims, Buddhists, Christians, Hindus, Taoists or Sikhs; whether in Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah or Sarawak, to unite as one people to restore Malaysia’s greatness as a model of a harmonious plural society where there is tolerance, freedom, justice, human rights, democracy, sustainable development, prosperity, good governance and a clean and incorruptible government.

In the run-up to the 16th DAP National Congress and during the “Hundred Days to Putrajaya”, UMNO/Barisan Nasional propagandists and spin-masters will go into an overdrive in their politics of lies, hate and fear not only to demonise the DAP and create maximum division and damage inside the party but also in DAP’s relations with our Pakatan Rakyat parties, PKR and PAS.

The reasons are obvious. Despite the façade of confidence after the 66th UMNO General Assembly with the UMNO President, Datuk Seri Najib Razak declaring that UMNO/BN will regain its two-thirds parliamentary majority, it is still a “50-50” situation with the outcome of the 13GE a toss-up between the BN and PR – with the developments during the “Hundred Days to Putrajaya” and in particular the general election campaign having a large bearing on the final results.

In the final analysis, the outcome could be between a restored two-thirds parliamentary majority to UMNO/BN, giving BN a majority of at least 74 seats in the Dewan Rakyat, or PR winning up to 125 seats with a majority of 28 seats over UMNO/BN in Parliament.

In the latter scenario with PR winning Putrajaya with 125 parliamentary seats, a likely distribution of the PR seats would be PKR with 45 seats and DAP and PAS with 40 seats each.

It will be a coalition of equals with no one political party exercising political hegemony as in the Barisan Nasional coalition.

In their politics of lies, hate and fear, UMNO and MCA leaders and propagandists have tried to sow hatred and fear by disseminating irresponsible and conflicting messages to the Malays and the Chinese if PR wins in Putrajaya, with the Malays warned they will be oppressed as DAP would dominate a PR government while Chinese are told that the Chinese would be oppressed as PAS would dominate a PR government.

It is a lie that DAP leaders are afraid of PAS leaders, just as it is a lie that PAS leaders are afraid of DAP leaders. It is also a lie that the Malays or the Chinese will be oppressed under the PR government, for the PR parties of PKR, PAS and DAP are committed to serve the best interests of all Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or region.

Our relationship in PR, together with PKR, is one of equals where we respect each other’s views and differences.

This is diametrically different from the real relationship inside Barisan Nasional, where as a result of UMNO political hegemony, there is only a “one-way street” with MCA, Gerakan, MIC, Sabah and Sarawak BN component parties all afraid and subservient to the UMNO political hegemon!

Whether history would be made in the 13GE with a change of government in Putrajaya will hinge on the ability of Pakatan Rakyat to convince the 13 million Malaysian electorate, particularly the four million middle ground voters comprising the three million new voters and one million swing voters from the 12th general election, whether PR can be trusted to adhere to the PR Common Policy Framework, Buku Jingga and other PR common policy declarations as well as the fundamental agreement that any new policy or changes would require the consensus of all three PR parties.

Let the 16th DAP National Congress sound the final call to arms for the 13GE to fly high the Pakatan Rakyat common policy programme for a new, truly united, democratic, just and prosperous Malaysia under a Pakatan Rakyat Malaysian government.

1. #1 by drngsc on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 1:39 pm

WE ALL WISH YOU IN DAP A VERY FRUITFUIL AND SUCCESSFUL 16th CONGRESS.
    May your objective be :-
    1. Please help us to change the tenant at Putrajaya.
    2. Please provide us with a good alternative to this corrupt and arrogant UMNO / BN

Malaysia needs a change so that the arrogant and corrupt UMNO / BN can take a break, learn that the rakyat is important. So that we have a check and balance on all the excesses of the last 55 years.

DAP, please help us to save Malaysia.

We must change the tenat at Putrajaya. GE 13 is coming soon. Let us all work very very hard. Speak to one person a day, about the need for change. The more the better. One to one. First to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.

Change we must. Change we can, Change we will.

Have a great congress DAP.

2. #2 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 2:06 pm

Hundred Days to Putrajaya???? I believe many of us know Malay proverb Angan-Angan Mat Jenin….It’s a short statement that describes a truth

• #3 by cemerlang on Thursday, 13 December 2012 - 8:10 am

Martin Luther King Jr had a dream. Everyone has dreams. That’s part and puzzle of being a human being. Man proposes. God disposes. Like you say you want to have rows of neatly constructed houses. Today some new houses are here. Some there. When will you realize your dream ? You dream of transport flying all about; no more cars. You dream of skyscrapers. Castles in the sky. When will this be realized ? For without money, nothing works. So you can dream of a money tree. Even that remains a dream. Then when you stop daydreaming or nightdreaming, you come back to reality and you realize there is more hardwork to be done. Some will end with their hardwork gone into drains without seeing any accomplishments.

3. #4 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 2:52 pm

I sincerely wish DAP …their 16th National Congress a huge success in Penang.
    To me…when the party..leaders and speakers are all truthful…the hall will be filled with vibrations to communicate with Malaysian voters..to think and not simply believe.
    I particularly want to express my good wishes to Mr. Lim Kit Siang ….whom I know personally.

4. #5 by Dipoh Bous on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 8:42 pm

I simply fail to understand why this (tak)cintanegara doesn’t want to change with the rest of the rakyat. Even Najib once said umno (bn) has to change or the rakyat would change it..It’s time is almost over but it has yet to change. Hence the rakyat has no choice but to change it..

Come GE13, lets hope all those who cinta akan negara (cintanegara included) will vote for change.

Lets CHANGE the tenants of Putrajaya!!

5. #6 by rjbeee on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 9:02 pm

Cintanegara can go and fly his kite under the mango tree.. this are the pest we have in this country

6. #7 by Winston on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 9:07 pm

Well said!
    Very well said, LKS!!!
    After fifty-years or five and a half decades of utter, relentless corruption, unmitigated scams and scandals, we, the Malaysian electorate absolutely, irrevocably detest UMNO/BN!!!!
    In fact, all their lies are not working at all!!!
    All are backfiring on them!!!!
    All their frenzied attacks against the PR and its personalities have come to naught!
    Not only that, they served as a constant reminder of the deploring behaviour of these blackguards!!!!
    And with the next GE so close, it’s a death warranty to them!!!!
    MALAYSIANS NOW REMEMBER THEIR ATROCITIES VERY WELL!!!!!!!!
    Only their cronies, those that are masochistic and mentally unsound as well as rip-off artists like themselves will like them.
    In fact, the ratio for PR winning the next GE should be revised to 70:30 with 70% favouring the PR.

7. #8 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 10:13 pm

Whenever Cintanegara appears ..he becomes the punching bag we missed so much.
    His comments are idiotic and asking for trouble.

8. #9 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 10:15 pm

12th December 2012 …OR
    12-12-12 a good good day to be calm and nice…very rare…very special.
    As such, I sent my love to Cintanegara today and F him tomorrow.

9. #10 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 10:25 pm

All eyes are on the 16th DAP National Congress in Penang to bring true transformation to the country through winning the 13th GE.

10. #11 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - 10:41 pm

If Najib dare not announce GE13 much earlier,what make your hare-brained to work out that ‘Hundred Days’ to Putrajaya by PR would not be possible? Why not ask your so-admired and so-called nyanyuk( by his own admission) statesman from Kerala if there is a ‘possibility’ or not.Any wonder why recently he is seemed so eager and fired-up even at his very old age,mind you,cinta forver saifulass,to fully spread and effect his venomous 3 Rs(Race,Religion,Ruler) all over the nationwide? Instead you again…do console him that everything would be alright,go slow and not let his weak heart to over-drive his whims and fancies and not to worry even if PR wins cause there would be better tommorow for everyone,included you and him! It’s BECAUSE PR is a much lesser evil than Umno/BN,after all!!

11. #12 by Noble House on Thursday, 13 December 2012 - 4:20 am

Kit ~ You have all along been steadfast throughout your political journey and remained true to your cause of realizing a Malaysia for all Malaysians. This GE13 is not only important to the DAP and PR, but also the people at large who cherish the hopes for a better Malaysia for the future generation in particular. It is, therefore, necessary that all efforts must be taken to win this crucial battle that will be the turning point for our country.

Please ensure there will be no 3 cornered contests against BN caused by the inability of parties to collectively offer a common stand in their choice of candidates. In times of war, it is the objective that matters. So help us to help you to the way of Putrajaya!

May the force be with you!

12. #13 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 13 December 2012 - 8:17 am

cintanegara! where have you been? We do need tin-kosong to brighten up the rather dull rational discussion on this blog. Did you read the report on TIMMS education competitiveness? In spite of kilwatt of A’es created by the lab at MOE, our students proved to be D graders in the international scene. What is your comment? TIMMS cheated on Malaysia? Yes, someone did ask why MOE took Finland as a model to emulate? Though the Mamak will curse the West, they love to LICK their bottoms! When the top 5 are all in the Asian region. This is the mentality that is sombong bodoh!
    Of course, they just wanted to do away with public standard examinations based on Finland’s formula, for getting to ask if the nation with third class foundation in basic education, can afford such experiment! Indeed based on the kilowatts of A’es created, they thought they could! They refuse to accept the truth that the so-called Chinese independent schools are attracting the good students because of their fear of the quality of maths and science taught in the national schools! According to the TIMMS 2011 report we are just 10% ABOVE D category! 440/400; C grade is 475 points. So Cintanegara, this is your best shot in international competitiveness in education in spite of the fact that Malaysia’s education budget is among the higher group in the region! Just like our national projects, all Negotiated with some one pocketing the higher cost and churn out rubbish which is published as progress in international education quality. I know, like your Mamak, you hated the little Dot down south, but they are in the TOP in all subjects measured! Eat your heart out! Maybe you can churn out some excuses for this dismal failure!

13. #14 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 13 December 2012 - 8:39 am

There should be no doubt that this GE is about Mahathir and HIS UMNO/BN, its not about Najib, its not about Anwar, its not even about who is better at policies and governance which is already clear.

Its not even about the fact Mahathir and Mahathirist are DAP’s nemesis. It not about whether Anwar deserve to be PM or not because he has already proven he does. Its not about PAS and their Islamic state agenda which constantly possible to undermine the priority of reform.

This GE is about long-overdue putting Mahathir’s legacy behind us in its proper place instead of dragging us ALL and even potentially into a quaqmire which will take Herculean effort to recover. If its not done, then it may take decades and collosus cost to pay before it eventually also must be done.

Its really about a choice to be part of history or not. To be watcher not a player, to be complainer, not a doer, to be weak not strong..Everyone and especially in each political party has to make that decision..

14. #15 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 13 December 2012 - 9:40 am

Cintanegara – what a typical stupid umno idiot. Always barking in the wrong direction and doing the wrong things. He should be on his way to jib with two of his precious rambutans. Instead he decided to expressed his most idiotic views here.

15. #16 by Cinapek on Thursday, 13 December 2012 - 10:35 am

If PR wants to capture the 3m new voters and the 1m swing votes, it really has to work harder. I do not know what is happening in other states but in Johor, most of these new voters I spoke to is usually unaware of the several ceramahs that PR has conducted recently.

While the alternative media has helped, PR needs to go to the ground more agressively to deliver its messages. The ceramahs were great but PR needs to get these voters to these ceramahs. There is a scarcity of publicity and strategy to motivate these group of voters to attend the ceramahs. Getting 30,000 people to attend is good but could have been better if we have more of the targetted new voters to show up as well.