Avoiding corruption course for MPs? Nonsense

— Kunjuraman Karuppan
Dec 06, 2012

DEC 6 — You get worried about the old country sometimes. From rather nonsensical statements made by so-called authorities to unquestioning reporters, one gets the feeling that most of Malaysia is mediocre, and stupid.

The latest is a course on avoiding corruption for parliamentarians by the Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission (MACC) and the Attorney-General’s Chambers next year, says PEMANDU director D. Ravindran.

While you are at it, Mr Ravindran, how about a course for those in the august Dewan Rakyat to stop lying or using foul language. Perhaps even potty training?

What, these MPs are kids is it? They are stupid? They don’t know right from wrong? How hard is it to stop corruption? Stop taking money for favours. Stop doing favours that will give advantage to one party over another.

How hard is that, Mr Ravindran, that you are quoted as saying the following by a news portal, “So, for the first time, we are going to teach our parliamentarians what is right to take and what is not right to take.”

I mean, if the MPs don’t know what constitutes corruption, then Malaysia is in a lot of trouble. Then the MACC has been useless, and is that what you are saying, Mr Ravindran?

I am also disturbed that Mr Ravindran quoted an MACC study in 2007 that found that most university students considered it “acceptable” to give or receive bribes and this was why the MACC was also planning to teach students about corruption.

For his information, considering that he is from PEMANDU, the MACC was formed in 2009. I don’t want to split hairs with him but one must know the facts before speaking.

So I wonder if there ever was a study and if this is just another harebrained scheme to show that there are results in the anti-graft fight.

Our MPs should already know what is wrong and what is right. If they don’t, we should make sure they never make it to Parliament again. We don’t need to waste money on such courses for our MPs.

We should just make sure the MACC goes after and makes sure those who are corrupt get punished. Not teach them to avoid corruption. That is absolute nonsense.

1. #1 by cskok8 on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 4:26 pm

Who is going to teach MACC what constitutes corruption?

2. #2 by cseng on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 4:33 pm

That is what PEMANDU did.. packaging.

Other improve thru corruption eradication, we did it thru packaging the perception.

MACC could not handle hard facts of corruptions, now, downgrade themselves for perception management only.

Bring on more soap operas, got to store more pop-cone.

3. #3 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 4:37 pm

Excuse me. I think you forgot something. Umno is corrupt to the core. That is a universally known fact. Macc is an organ of umno. And that too is equally well known. Can we expect umno, through macc, to correct its corruption problem? Come on. To umno, corruption is a right. Not a problem. Now deal with that!

And let me tell you something. Some idiot wanted to organise a course on corruption for MP’s. Guess what. Actually, no guessing is needed. It is obvious. Next thing we can expect, a multi-billion ringgit budget allocation for the course. Possible? No, more like a certainty. And that is not corruption. That is a right. Organising and running the course mah.

4. #4 by omeqiu on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 4:39 pm

He is from PEMANDU, so he must do what his master tells him or resign. Don’t forget our national catch-word : “Cari Makan”.

5. #5 by machiavelli on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 4:47 pm

What utter nonsense! This is another of those “make work, so that we are seen to be working” scheme by a bureacracy that is bloated, unmotivated, directionless and wasting the Rakyat’s money.

Bangun Rakyat Malaysia!

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 4:54 pm

Now we all know the country is in deep, deep syit. Really deep syit.

With dunggus like Ravindran around too. How did he get up there? Must be from MIC or PPP.

7. #7 by Cinapek on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 5:24 pm

After my initial double take and reading Mr D Ravindran’s comments again, my mind went back many years to a conversation I had with a BN MP who was at that time the Chairman of some Parlimentary Committee. When I commented on the idiocy on some of the shennanigans going on in our Parliament, his reply was that being an MP is the only job that does not require a minimum academic qualification. Come to think of it, he was right.

That being the case, maybe there is some truth to Mr Ravindran’s claim that our MPs need to be educated on what is corruption.

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 5:40 pm

On second thoughts we maybe shouldn’t be too harsh on Mr D Ravindran. He might be stating the actual and sad state of affairs about our MPs and politicians.

For too long (55 years+) our politicians have been doing what 5 year old kids might do – swiping all the chocolate and cakes on the table when no one is watching and feeling no guilt, not knowing what is right or wrong such that it has become the norm, the habit and tradition. Like that RM 250 million cow business or helping themselves to cheap, cheap land and so on.

So Mr Ravindran now comes along like a discipline master and wants to put some discipline on these naughty, naughty boys and girls.

It really is OK if he does it nicely and properly but alas! he chooses the wrong teachers, people whose morality is suspect. What a let down, but it is still not too late to correct the errors. So help him somebody.

9. #9 by Winston on Thursday, 6 December 2012 - 7:44 pm

So, for five and a half decades, UMNO/BN has be ruling this country without knowing what corruption is?
    No wonder they have been at it full tilt!!!!
    Because they don’t know??
    Are they saying that since they don’t even know what is corruption, they should be forgiven for all the corrupt practices that they have been involved in?
    It must be very appalling that Malaysians have given a mandate to such politicians!!!!!!

10. #10 by Noble House on Friday, 7 December 2012 - 12:43 am

Why waste the taxpayers’ money? Just sign a MOU with the PRC and have them stationed a garrison of the PLA here, and I guarantee you corruption in Malaysia will be over in one year.

That’s the problem when you have comedians running the country!

11. #11 by monsterball on Friday, 7 December 2012 - 2:52 am

I have lost count over their many nonsensical stuffs.
    Corruptions is encouraged by the Mahathir and Najib.

12. #12 by monsterball on Friday, 7 December 2012 - 4:03 am

Is MACC saying all Umno politicians are idiots…and do not know what are corrupted acts?
    Has MACC check up so many driving Merx BMW living in bangalows with a salary impossible to live that life style.
    Ah yes….many “willing buyers..willing sellers” in tenders…making millions that way…all legal.
    Is that OK??

13. #13 by monsterball on Friday, 7 December 2012 - 4:11 am

Imagine…Police teaching crooks what to steal and what not to steal.
    Course to avoid corruptions?
    How bloody nonsense is that.
    Is teaching crooks how not to be caught.
    The fact that MACC is conducting such a course shows MACC knows Umno b is corrupted to the core.

14. #14 by monsterball on Friday, 7 December 2012 - 4:14 am

The course does not include past and present PMs….famous for stealing.
    Is MACC telling Malaysians PMs can steal….others cannot?

15. #15 by monsterball on Friday, 7 December 2012 - 4:34 am

MACC is not working for the good of the country and people.
    It is not protecting tax payers and Malaysians money… being squandered…stolen…by crooked tricksters…con men from Umno b party.
    It is clear as crystal….MACC protects Umno and PM.
    MACC is a side show……very nice guys to thieves and robbers.

16. #16 by SENGLANG on Friday, 7 December 2012 - 7:04 am

not surprising at all for all those ideal that sound right on the face but after a second thought as what the writer say simply nonsense. but again we have too much nonsense from the top leaders, we have heard many arguments put forward by ministers that really neither cry-able nor laughable. it was painful sometime to been feed with all these non sense suggestions. but again maybe this is another project that may feed the cronies as you know they can always sub contract the courses to a professional firm to conduct the “WHAT TO TAKE AND WHAT NOT TO TAKE-TO AVOID CORRUPTION” or may be ” HOW TO TAKE TO AVOID BE CHARGE UNDER CORRUPTION” may be this kind of courses may be more interested