Challenge to Najib and Mahathir to make public commitment UMNO will peacefully effect transition of federal power after 13GE

I have just read online reports of what Tun Dr. Mahathir said earlier today, warning Malaysians that the country may never see a Barisan Nasional (BN) government again if Pakatan Rakyat (PR) is voted into Putrajaya alleging that PR “would do everything possible to stay in power forever”.

The former Prime Minister who is confirming growing perceptions of Malaysians that he is “back in the saddle” as de facto Prime Minister, especially  with the present premier Datuk Seri Najib Razak proving to be the most vacillating PM in the nation’s history worse than his predecessor Tun Abdullah, is now indulging his favourite past time of fear mongering with both immunity and impunity.

This is not the first time Mahathir has made the wild and reckless allegation that if Pakatan Rakyat wins the federal government in the next 13th General Election, it will signify the end of democracy in Malaysia as PR would never allow any future elections where it would lose power in Putrajaya.

This is utter nonsense.

Firstly, there are substantial numbers of Malaysians who will not regard the prospect of the country never seeing again a Barisan Nasional government as a national catastrophe or disaster, as they regard this as the greatest blessing for the country in view of the rampant corruption, abuses of power, socio-economic injustices,  and the worsening of the politics of hatred and lies resulting in deepening racial and religious polarisation in the county.

But whether a Barisan Nasional government will become history, never again to be entrusted with the responsibility to govern the country, will be a decision to be made by Malaysians through the ballot box and not to be decided by the Pakatan Rakyat.

On behalf of Pakatan Rakyat, I can state and pledge that if PR is voted into Putrajaya in the 13th General Election, PR will respect and accept the verdict of voters if they want to vote UMNO/BN back to power in the 14th General Election in another five years down the road.

I challenge Najib and Mahathir to make a similar public commitment that UMNO will peacefully effect transition of federal power in Putrajaya if this is the electoral verdict of Malaysians in the 13th General Election?

It has not escaped public notice that Najib and Mahathir have been conspicuously silent on this point.

Are both Najib and Mahathir prepared to make  a public pledge to accept the people’s verdict in the 13th GE, i.e. a PR federal government in Putrajaya with Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the seventh Malaysian Prime Minister, or is Najib’s claim of wanting to make Malaysia the  “world best democracy” unable to pass its first elementary test?

(Speech at the Sabah DAP “Janji Ditepati” Public Hearing at Hotel Emas, Tawau on Thursday 6th September 2012 at 8 pm)

1. #1 by bumiborn on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 1:36 pm

Yes! Najib and Mahathir must pledge for peaceful transition. The Rakyat do not want to see “body crushed, life lost” scenario. Accept democracy, and prepare to accept Rakyat’s verdict!

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 2:04 pm

‘Are both Najib and Mahathir prepared to make a public pledge….’

How good are these two people’s pledges? Will they be able to control their people should these people decide to take matters into their own hands?

Something (i.e. the pledges) is better than nothing, you might say, but knowing these two characters, I think it will be just a waste of time. Already they are both on overdrive with their preposterous and nonsensical statements. They know their fates are sealed.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 2:10 pm

///if Pakatan Rakyat (PR) is voted into Putrajaya alleging that PR “would do everything possible to stay in power forever”///

Didn’t our Constitution stipulate that there must be a general election once every five years. Mahathir’s childish claim will not have a profound impact on the electorate, who are now more political mature under the influence of the new media.

4. #4 by Loh on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 2:20 pm

Kit,

Since you asked both Najib and Mamakthir to make public commitment, Najib now believes that he is subordinate to Mamakthir, and Mamakthir chooses elegant silence because he says that he is not the president.

Let us not give Mamakthir the prominence that he does not deserve.

5. #5 by Godfather on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 2:43 pm

Mamakthir is the back-seat driver, but who’s at the steering wheel ? It definitely isn’t Najib…..

6. #6 by Cinapek on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 3:23 pm

“Tun Dr. Mahathir said earlier today, warning Malaysians that the country may never see a Barisan Nasional (BN) government again if Pakatan Rakyat (PR) is voted into Putrajaya alleging that PR “would do everything possible to stay in power forever”.

Frankly I do not give a damn if I do not see a BN Govt again for the rest of my life. 55 years of them and their shennanigens is more than enough and I surely do not want to see the future generations suffer under their yoke.

This comment by Dr Mahathir betrays his innermost thoughts in which he thinks everyone thinks and acts like him i.e grab power and stay there for 22 years.

7. #7 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 3:52 pm

That crazyO’mamak’s statement is a true reflection of umno’s (and his) misdeeds and abuses over the years. The draconian laws and those heavily one-sided policies and measures put in place by umno, crazyO’mamak fears, could be applied by pakatan to bury umno and umnoputras alive.

Well well well, what goes around, comes around. Aint it? You dont hv the courage to face whatever that could come around crazyO’mamak?

8. #8 by monsterball on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 5:56 pm

Mahathir is the sick man of Asia.
    He keep on uttering nonsensical stuffs in recent months.
    For a so call smart man of Asia …why has he become so stupid?
    I guess the desperate needs to stay in power forever for reasons he knows best…is the main reason.
    As usual…when he wants something…he will accused others and make a fool of himself.
    Strangely…he feels Malaysians can be fooled by him on and on.

9. #9 by cskok8 on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 8:01 pm

Actually UMNO and their stooges in BN will make an excellent opposition party/coalition. With their pals in the PRDM, MACC, Judiciary, AG and others they will keep an eagle’s eye on the PR govt’s spending. Any hint of a sweetheart deal; bang goes the full weight of the law.

10. #10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 11:25 pm

If this GE 13 turns ugly, we will have to hold Mahathir & his Perkasa goons, najib and his butt-swinging gangs responsible.

Let’s talk about fair electiobns.
    Let’s talk about what’s good for the nation.
    Let’s talk about whom we can trust.

Mahathir – after 22 years as PM?
    Najib – Minister of Defence & Minister of Scorpene?

I know I can leave my money on the table & Pakatan Rakyat won’t steal it.

With BN, I beleieve nothing is safe – not money in the banks, money in EPF, money in Petronas or money in the government treasury.

It’s not just the party or the coalition.
    It’s who you trust.

I don’t trust mahathir, najib, chua soilek or ng yen yen.
    I don’t trust Mohd nor or Noh Omar.
    I dont trust zambry or rais yatim.
    I dont trust zahid or palanivel or semi value.
    I dont trust Bn or Umno or mca or mic.
    No, not even gerakan.

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 7 September 2012 - 11:30 pm

Oh, let me add.

i trust anwar ibrahim, hadi awang, nik aziz.
    I trust lim guan eng, lim kit siang and karpal singh.
    I trust khalid samad, khalid ibrahim.

I trust tony pua, hannah yeoh, teresa kok.
    i trust gobind singh deo, tan seng giaw,
    oops! i also trust tan chee khoon’s son – oh, yes, Tan kee kwong.

But I don’t trust Tun Razak’s son – najib. Tun Rzak must be turning in his grave to watch his son spin the country into a dark hole in the universe.

12. #12 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 8 September 2012 - 9:40 am

For all Mahathir’s talk that Malays should and can acquire top skills and knowledge, when he speaks like these, he spits at the best minds and knowledge. He seem completely lost that to the fact that IF UMNO/BN govt cannot recover from losing Putrajaya, it only confirms that UMNO/BN really have little legitimacy to hold on to Putrajaya and SHOULD be thrown out.

UMNO/BN has advantages in elections few political parties in the world can only dream of. A Malay electorate that can be bribed with trinkets and sensationalism, institutions all well-oiled in its favours and of course Petronas as the treasure chest to name just a few. Even the ruthless dictators have dreams of having UMNO/BN advantages. Yet Mahathir is oblivious to the fact that with such advantages, if they can’t hold on, the fault really is in the party itself.

Mahathir admitted he is no intellectual. So he can’t see that govt, serious business, don’t last if its not..