Hamid cannot be more wrong, Hishammuddin should apologise for irrational, illogical and inconsistent ban of Bersih

Former Home Minister Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar cannot be more wrong when he said his successor, Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Hussein need not apologise when the latter’s ban on Bersih as an “unlawful organisation” was quashed by Kuala Lumpur High Court as Hishammuddin was just exercising his powers as Home Minister. (TMI)

Hamid is not the most qualified to tender such an advice as he still owes a public apology for his gross abuse of powers in September 2008 when he was Home Minister and senior Sin Chew reporter Tan Hoon Cheng was arbitrarily arrested under the Internal Security Act “for her own personal safety” together with DAP National Organising Secretary and Selangor Senior Exco for Investment, Trade and Industry, Teresa Kok.

There can be no doubt that in the present case, right-thinking and rational Malaysians agree that with the judgment of the Kuala Lumpur High Court judge, Justice Rohana Yusof yesterday, the time has come for the Barisan Nasional government to end its petty, vindictive and vengeful attitude to Bersih, with Hishammuddin setting the example by extending a public apology for his irrational, illogical and inconsistent ban of Bersih on the baseless and ridiculous ground of being “prejudicial to public order and security”.

Hishammuddin and the Barisan Nasional should end their irrational attack of Bersih xanthophobia (fear of yellow), with the ridiculous standing instruction to the police at one stage that anyone wearing yellow, and not just the yellow Bersih T-shirt, as anti-national elements to be arrested on sight!

Instead, Hishammuddin and the BN government should start acting in a more rational, level-headed and democratic manner and engage constructively with Bersih with the common goal to ensure that Malaysia has a clean, free and fair electoral system to usher a new era where Malaysia can mature to become a normal democracy.

The police must stop being the pawns of the ruling coalition helping to keep the present regime in power but instead, should be completely non-partisan in the electoral outcome of the 13 General Election, mindful its top priority must be its three core functions to keep crime low, eradicate corruption in the police force and uphold human rights (as recommended by the Dzaiddin Royal Commission of Inquiry 2005).

Is Hishammuddin capable of changing tack and represent the Barisan Nasional in a constructive engagement with Bersih?

If not, then the country needs a new Home Minister who can engage with Bersih instead of fighting imaginary demons like banning Bersih as an unlawlful organization –guilty of the 3is of being “irrational, illogical and inconsistent”.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 25 July 2012 - 1:37 pm

Najib is unlikely to get back his two third majority vote in the 13th GE (even if BN wins) because of the many mistakes Hishammuddin made.

2. #2 by monsterball on Wednesday, 25 July 2012 - 1:59 pm

It is one hypocritical liar protecting another.
    Nothing to be surprised about.
    It is united we stand, divided we fall for gangsters and crooks.
    And so unity it is….for or against in every matters and events….till 13th GE.

3. #3 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Wednesday, 25 July 2012 - 2:11 pm

1what 1stupid 1attempt 1to 1cover 1up 1stupid 1act 1by 1the 1former 1home 1minister.

1Aiyah. 1Lampar. 1Nah!!!

4. #4 by k1980 on Wednesday, 25 July 2012 - 2:49 pm

When BN falls in the 13GE, Hshamudin and Hamid will be among the thousands of unmo “lamparistas” scrambling to get out of the country.

5. #5 by machiavelli on Wednesday, 25 July 2012 - 3:31 pm

Rakyat of Malaysia, it’s time to stand up and be counted.

We do not need handouts.

We need not be seduced by mere sloganeering and empty promises.

We need no fear mongering by leaders who claimed that there will be chaos if another party wins or a community will lose out if this or that party does not win. We need leaders who are above racial politics.

We need only to see the true state our fair country is in benchmarked against our former peers like S. Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Singapore.

We need leaders who are not for themselves and their families and cronies.

Bangun Rakyat Malaysia!

6. #7 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 25 July 2012 - 6:18 pm

O hamid albar
    How can you arrest innocent people to protect their safety thus far?
    Do you think a fool is what we are?
    No wonder we lost that tiny rock Pedra Branca
    Because you all are not using your kepala
    Satu batu pun tak boleh jaga
    We don’t know how to describe you so far
    Except the only thing we can think of is FUBAR

7. #8 by Taikohtai on Wednesday, 25 July 2012 - 7:38 pm

I think the entire UMNO fabric will soon come apart now that Hisap is the loose string found wanting. Unlike MCA and other component party’s shenanigans, Hisap is one of their pillars of strengths. The House of Putrajaya shall quickly come undone once Hisap is dislodged and depicted as an ulcer he is.