Thugs at my doorstep

— Ong Kian Ming
Jul 11, 2012

JULY 11 — At approx 4.45pm [yesterday] (July 10), three thugs, in their early to late twenties, tried to break into my house in Petaling Jaya.

Thankfully, they were unsuccessful. Thankfully, I am not hurt. I am immensely grateful at the outpouring of support shown by my friends and family. I am thankful to the police for their quick response in sending three squad cars to my house five minutes after I reported the incident and their follow up on this case.

Many are probably wondering why I think it was politically motivated rather than just a simple attempted break in. I cannot be 100 per cent sure that it was politically motivated but I’m quite sure of it. And here’s why:

The thugs came in a car and they parked directly in front of my house, which is about 200m from the community guard house. It is a simple and spartan double story terrace house. It is not a flashy house. I drive a Toyota Vios.

There are other houses along the same row with Mercedes-Benz and other nicer cars. Some of my neighbours were not at home. It would have been much easier to break into their homes instead of mine (not that I am recommending that they do this). Or a house that is more secluded. Or a house which seems to have more stuff to steal.

My car was in the driveway. The thugs must have considered the possibility that someone was at home. They broke the automatic gates, which create a huge noise, rather than scaling over the gate, which would have been easy to do and much more discreet.

I was in the living room when they broke the automatic gate. I got up immediately and shouted at them, screaming “Police! Police!” They didn’t even break their stride after I got up but kept on coming, which indicated to me that they knew I was at home.

They proceeded to try and kick the door down while I kept on shouting. If it was an opportunistic break in, they would have left knowing that there was someone at home.

They then left even though they could have kicked the door down. On the way out, one of them pointed his finger at me as if to give me a warning. He then used a screwdriver or some metal instrument to make a puncture in the bonnet of my car. If they had really wanted to break in even knowing that there was someone at home, they could have kicked the door down and easily overpowered me.

They were in and out of the place in less than three minutes. Not long enough for the police to come and catch them but long enough to send a message.

I don’t think it is a coincidence this happened a few days before a Bersih event in Malacca on Friday and three Bersih events in Kedah and Penang on Saturday and Sunday, at which I will be speaking. I don’t think it is a coincidence that Ambiga has been targeted as well as Wong Chin Huat.

I am no Ambiga or Chin Huat but I have been publishing a series of highly damaging articles regarding the many problems in the electoral roll that I know that the Election Commission, National Registration Department and even some members of the Cabinet have read and are aware of.

Initially, I said to a Malaysiakini reporter that I thought that this attempted break in could be due to my critique against MCA on the Talam issue, the Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) and other government policies.

After giving it some thought, I think that it is much more likely that it was due to my Bersih-related activities given the record of how thugs have been deployed to harass and intimidate various people related to the Bersih movement.

Regardless, I won’t allow this incident (if it was indeed an intimidation tactic) to cow me into fear or submission. I will continue to publish my findings on the problems with the electoral roll and share these findings with members of the public.

I will continue to write my critiques as a contributor to Refsa on the Economic Transformation Programme (ETP). I will continue to write political commentaries. I will continue to play my own very small part in trying to make this country a better place.

* Ong Kian Ming is an analyst for Research for Social Advancement (Refsa). The note above was originally posted on his Facebook page

1. #1 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 4:11 pm

perkasa!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 4:19 pm

As Ambiga said – Its a War Against the Rakyat..

3. #3 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 4:56 pm

It makes one wonder whether there will be a peaceful transition of federal power if Pakatan wins the 13th GE.

4. #4 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 5:03 pm

“…..whether there will be a peaceful transition of federal power if Pakatan wins the 13th GE.”

This is exactly what they want all of us to think about. The truth is that these people are cowards, and will run for cover once their masters disappear on polling night to their mansions in Canada, UK, France and Australia. The guys who try to intimidate Ong Kian Ming – they don’t bother to cover their faces, because they know that the case will be marked “NFA” by the police.

5. #5 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 5:58 pm

It is clearly intimidation thuggery.

But the real question to be answered is the sheer arrogance of the act and the blatant disregard for the law. These thugs obviously were sent by someone who had the power and authority to assure them that they will not be charged for their criminal act.

And now we will wait and see whether the authorities will act against these thugs. If nothing happens, it confirms their act has the blessings of those who walk in the corridors of power. There is now a dangerous pattern emerging. The attacks on Ambiga, Wong Chin Huat and the recent mob charge at Lim Guan Eng are clearly acts of intimidation. They are emboldened by the lack of actions of the authorities in finding and apprehending these culprits. Or maybe they were encouraged to do so. Or maybe they were even ordered to do so.

6. #6 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 6:02 pm

NYY will run away to Australia on that night with all the loot stolen under ‘curi curi Malaysia’.The new government will then extradite her and dump her into Sg.Buluh to join others like the racist extyrant.

7. #7 by limkamput on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 6:32 pm

Fascism has arrived. Whether we like it or not, the reality is Ong will be intimidated to some extent. I am sure he will be very cautious and find his movement restricted. I am sure at night it may be difficult for him to rest. I think PR and all right minded supporters must provide him with 24 hours security. Whoever who are doing this knows the strategy very well. They know galvanising public opinion and disseminating information hinge on a few leaders and researchers like Ong and Ambiga. If they are able to cow them, they succeed. We must not let this happen.

8. #8 by mauriyaII on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 6:36 pm

Bravo brother! Don’t ever be cowed into giving up. That is what these good for nothing lowlifes want. Their brazen show of force is not to harm you physically but to break your spirit. Don’t let them!

These are the stormtroopers like the cyber troopers that they have engaged to undermine and intimidate all people who have the best interest of the nation at heart. They hate BERSIH because it stands for everything that is against their interest and continued well being.

They are only interested in the present status quo. They want the present climate of racism and fear mongering to go on as the smoke screen while they can continue looting the coffers. All the mega projects under the ETP are nothing but to award multi-billion ringgit projects to their cronies to amass more millions/billions into their bank accounts. All those proposed mega projects will not economically uplift the poor. The rent seekers are the only ones who would rake in millions while their stormtroopers and servile minions would slurp up the leftovers.

Write brother! Write about everything about the filth that is slowly smothering our country. Expose the vermin and all their wrongdoings, especially the mega scandals where billions of ringgit that could have been used to uplift the poor has been unscrupulously pilfered selfishly.

I can understand the trauma that was inflicted on you but do be cowed into submission. Fight on until we Malaysians irrespective of race or creed are freed from the shackles of the corrupted, racist and arrogant UMNOputras and their lackeys.

9. #9 by mauriyaII on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 6:40 pm

error in the last paragraph: I can understand the trauma that was inflicted on you but DO NOT be cowed …… ( The words in bold were inadvertently left out.

10. #10 by negarawan on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 7:49 pm

These are obviously thugs paid by none other than UMNO/PERKASA. May Allah punish them in hell! Shame on UMNO/PERKASA for their cowardly and criminal acts!

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 8:07 pm

OKM, you have to do what you have to do.

But be as wise as a serpent and take all necessary precautions. You probably can’t afford a bodyguard but you would have friends, lots of them.

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 8:19 pm

Hmmmmmm. It looks like the pen is indeed mighty, maybe even mightier than a sword or a screwdriver, that it can cause a lot of fear and panic among those who might have a lot to answer for.

So go on. Use your pen. Put more fear into these people. Give them nightmares. And hemorrhoids.

13. #13 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 10:57 pm

BRAVO ….Mr.Ong Kian Ming.
    When you think of country and people, nothing will frighten you.
    We need to be brave, stand tall and cast our votes for change.
    Najib should speak up but he dare not for these are people that supports his party.
    I salute you….Mr. Ong.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 11:23 pm

Polis chief just gloated dat crime rate has gone down; peace, bradar
    In recent weeks, rakyat could readily C a systemic pattern of planned rough actions against certain outspoken individuals – 2 intimidate them n 2 physically harm them
    Some ppl r desperate n resorting 2 violence 2 shut up outspoken rakyat
    Do b CAREFUL, watch out – God bless U n your family

15. #15 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 1:26 am

The police action is very fast. Are they around the vicinity? Hmmmm. 5 minutes. Wow.

16. #16 by raven77 on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 2:27 am

For those who have been on Mars….the war started some 20 years ago…..only problem….the victims never had the gall to fight back. Period.

17. #17 by Sallang on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 8:34 am

In the police force, there are also personnel who disagree with this inaction by their department.
    Lets invite them to resign and organise a security company.
    Why them? Because they have been trained, and can do the job better.
    Their job is not to move money in transit. Their job is to protect the public.
    Set traps to bring down the culprits, like that snatch thieves in Penang, who caused the death of the woman.
    If the above story is intimidation, then we have to protect ourselves, but without taking the law into our own hands.
    We do public arrests. We investigate the cause. Get to know, who is behind all these many incidences.
    Pakatan rakyat to start the ball rolling. Public donation of RM1.00 a person a month should be a good start, to pay the team.

18. #18 by Winston on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 10:23 am

I am thankful to the police for their quick response in sending three squad cars to my house five minutes after I reported the incident and their follow up on this case. – End of quote

Wah, sending three squad cars?
    Isn’t that rather overdoing it?
    Now, the whole rigmarole is a scare tactic to any critics of the federal government.
    They can do what they want and any criticisms are anathema to them.
    They will try to stay in power by hook and by crook.
    Because of the gravy train.
    Take whatever precautions you can.
    And since your house is quite close to the guard house, why not make some arrangements for them to be keeping a lookout for visitors to your house.
    There should also be a panic button whereby you can be connected to the guard house.
    Or perhaps you can move to a condo with its own guards.
    When on the move, try to move in a group.
    It may act as a deterrent as you have some witnesses to whatever incident these thugs want to create.
    All in all, take all precautions possible.

19. #19 by Winston on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 10:32 am

Mr Ong, one more thing, why not install cctv in front of your house and in your car as well?
    Have good quality ones.
    That should go some way to help.

20. #20 by Winston on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 10:46 am

Sallang, snatch thefts is the bane of many Malaysians, especially women.
    They have resulted in many victims being very seriously hurt, paralysed and even died.
    It must be treated as a serious crime with equally serious punishment, including whipping.
    Instead of being a minor offence as it is now.
    Anyone who committed this offence must be very severely dealt with, even if no injury is caused to the victims.
    This will act as a warning and deterrent to like minded criminals.

21. #21 by Loh on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 11:01 am

///The police are on the trail of two snatch thieves who caused the death of a widow while committing the crime near the Rifle Range flats here yesterday In the incident Tan Kim Chuan 60 was walking alone along a road near Block J of the flats when her handbag was snatched causing her to be dragged for several metres.///–MalaysianInsider

They should be charged for murder.

22. #22 by Loh on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 11:58 am

///Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak today announced the repeal of the Sedition Act in what he said was part of the government’s continued effort to improve civil liberties.///–Malaysiakini

If Najib is sincere, just drop the Sedition Act. After all the Act is toothless against Mamakthir, but it stopped others from discussing the issues which would desensitize the society.

23. #23 by Winston on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 12:02 pm

Well, well, well.
    Recently, a spate of robberies and snatch thefts were reported by the Star.
    It used to be very reticent about such things.
    What with the federal government telling the whole world that this country is safe and crimes have been going down.
    Perhaps, the reporters are now in open rebellion against any further pulling of the proverbial wool over the eyes of the public!
    It’s very dangerous to lull the public into a sense of false security.

24. #24 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 5:19 pm

Ong, truth hurts. Obvious you had hit it right on the nail head. Generally , do we expect fair and equitable reaction from a bunch whose only skill is to dry up the national coffer. When the majority of the Malays begin to see the light at the end of the tunnel, their gravy train gonna stop! And they can’t take it!

25. #25 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Thursday, 12 July 2012 - 9:09 pm

Quick action by the police? Listen to this. In india the police take half aday to respond to an emergency call. U S police takes a hour. Pdrm is the best by far. They show up instantly. In fact they can be right in front of crime victims!

26. #26 by ringthetill on Friday, 13 July 2012 - 5:50 am

Dear Dr Ong, I feel sorry for what you. It is matters like what you have experienced that we MUST see change for the better. Please be strong and carry on for the sake of decent Malaysians. My best regards and appreciation for your effort!

27. #27 by boh-liao on Friday, 13 July 2012 - 10:10 am

Some bardy sent U a CLEAR mesej: VAMOOSE, we NO WANT U here, kacau saja, DRAIN urself n ur family OUT of dis country
    If not, WATCH OUT