‘We won’t cower to BN’s scare tactics’

by Joseph Tawie| April 15, 2012
Free Malaysia Today

Twelve windscreens of cars belonging to DAP members were smashed in Mas Gading constituency whilst the owners were attending a campaign dinner.

BAU: Sarawak DAP’s launch last night of its campaign to wrest the Mas Gading parliamentary seat, which is a Bidayuh-majority constituency, was marred by a group of motorcyclists who smashed the windscreens of 12 cars while the owners were attending a party dinner at Kampung Sg. Pinang.

Local and national DAP leaders were addressing more than 1,000 people at the dinner when a group of motor cyclists were seen smashing the windscreens of the cars which were parked quite a distance from the venue.

Commenting on the incident, visibly upset Sarawak DAP secretary Chong Chieng Jen said: “Obviously it was a sabotage work by BN members or their supporters.

“Such behaviour only goes to show they are afraid of us. Only cowards do that sort of thing; only someone who is in fear will do a dirty tactic trying to scare the people,” he said.

Chong added that neither the car owners nor the crowd were perturbed by the attacks, as they had come to terms with such ‘scare tactics’ by the ruling regime.

“The people are not scared, and from their response when we made the announcement, no body rushed out to check their cars. This is something like crisis management.

“I was afraid that the people would start to rush out and look at their cars. The response from the people was very calm and the scare tactic of BN does not have any intended effect of what they want,” said Chong, who is the MP for Bandar Kuching and Kota Sentosa assemblyman.

“To us in DAP, it is a form of encouragement as it means that DAP has an impact. Otherwise, if it has no impact, nobody will bother to disturb our function,” Chong added.

Party to subsidise cost

He said that one of DAP supporters, who is in the car accessories business had offered to replace the windscreens of affected owners for a special rate.

Chong said, DAP on its part would meet half of the costs of the smashed windscreens.

Mordi Bimol, who is the potential DAP candidate for Mas Gading, said that he would not be cowed by this dirty tactic.

“I will organise more dinners. In fact there would be another dinner at Kpg Paun, Sematan on Sunday night.

“Every day I visit the various villages in the constituency. The response is good, and it is a good sign.

“The people who smashed the windscreens of the cars are scared of us, and at least they realise our presence here,” Bimol added.

Earlier in his speech, Bimol urged people to vote for change saying the the BN government had failed to look after the people’s interest.

“They were more concerned in looking after their own interests and in enriching themselves by getting timber licences, involving themselves in government contracts and taking away native customary rights land from you.

“They never raised issues that affect the people in the State Assembly; in fact some even slept in the state assembly,” he said.

DAP targets 12 seats

He said that a large number of the about 100 villages in the Mas Gading constituency have no tar-sealed roads, no clean water supply and no electricity.

“How can the BN representatives speak on your behalf when they consider themselves as the ‘towkay’ (boss) and they will not allow you to fight the boss (jangan lawan towkay).

“They have forgotten about you who have voted for them. Before the election, they promised to give the people this and that and they also promised various projects.

“But after the election, they regarded themselves as your masters and treated the voters as their servants.

“Not only that, they took away your land.

“We need to change and I beg all of you to support me, and support DAP. Today I apply for a job from you all. Give me a chance to work for you,” Bimol said.

Mas Gading has about 19,472 voters (according to the 2011 electoral rolls), more than 80% of them are Bidayuh voters.

The incumbent is Tiki Lafe who is now partyless after being expelled from Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party.

It is one of the Dayak seats that DAP is eyeing in the coming election. Another confirmed Dayak seat is Serian.

Other seats like Mambong and Sri Aman are still under discussions with its partner PKR.

DAP is expected to contest between 10 and 12 seats in the coming election.

1. #1 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 8:47 am

Desperate kicks of a dying person, well in this case a dying party called umno.

2. #2 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 9:28 am

What a coward act?

Even you win, you won it ugly with ugly tactics! Hope DAP and PR do not follow this coward act to win…

DAP & PR, you deserve my vote…

3. #3 by yhsiew on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 10:03 am

///Obviously it was a sabotage work by BN members or their supporters….///

Political violence must not be allowed to be institutionalized by the ruling regime.

4. #4 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 10:06 am

Indeed, they are scare! SCARE of losing their RENTAL COLLECTIONS! Malaysians should be aware of such behaviour and tactics, they have in-bulit into them to seek easy life at the expense of the rest of Hard working Malaysians and this is the SUM TOTAL of their contribution to the nation! They have make the choices available to Malaysians so much easier to choose and differentiate!

5. #5 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 10:28 am

Jib issued “lost lives” and “broken limbs” threats sometime ago. Now umno people are following jib’s threats up with actual acts of violence.

Stupid fools. Dont they ever realise? Threats, oppressions, violence, bullets and bombs do not work. The americans drew up the great plan of bombing the vietnamese into submission. And what happened? America flattened (wot? some) 70% of the vietnamese forest and instead of submitting to the american the vietnamese resistence hardened and they became a lot more determined to fight on.

So bring it on umno! And NO, do not be afraid. We will not counter you with similar threats and acts. We are not that foolish like you. Instead we will resort to the constitutional process of voting you out in GE13. But be aware. Thereafter all of the draconian laws you, umno, have passed would be applied to you.

6. #6 by monsterball on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 11:29 am

Smashing cars, and other tactics.. paid to hooligans and gangsters to scare people are from desperate people …applying desperate means and ways.
    We have seen Najib personally did that with his speeches and encouraging the police force to protect UMNO at all cost…..all fizzled out…scared no one and have actually done harm to his reputation and his party more.
    There is no doubt the smashing of cars windscreen at Sarawak are the works of BN.
    No one dares to do that without encouragements and it seems there is no policemen to be around the event too.
    It’s nice to note DAP guys are calm and composed in Sarawak…not allowing the smashing of windscreens get them angry.
    All this will stop ..when date of 13th GE is announced.
    After the results..you can be sure…no more patience and tolerance.

7. #7 by Winston on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 12:18 pm

Agree completely with Mr Chong!
    Those rascals are feeling the heat!!!
    The DAP, and for that matter the PR will have another weapon in their armoury to be used against the dastardly UMNO/BN.
    Take videos and still pictures of the mayhem and let it go viral on the Internet!!!
    In addition, the PR should go all out to publicise all these misdeeds, especially in the rural areas of both East & West Malaysia.
    Time to give such events the widest airing possible!
    Pull all stops to kick these rascals out of Putrajaya!!!!

8. #8 by Winston on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 12:24 pm

What they are doing is nothing short of extortion!
    In this case they are extorting the Malaysian public to give them their votes!
    In fact, as their demise drew closer and closer, they are acting more and more desperate!!!
    Should we give in to such governmental extortion?
    THE ANSWER IS: KICK THEM OUT OF PUTRAJAYA AND PUT AND END TO ALL SUCH NONSENSE!!!!!!!!!

9. #9 by k1980 on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 2:06 pm

Now that the 13 GE is approaching, there is every likelihood that successful candidates from PR would again be lured over to the Bn camp by $,$$$,$$$.

So why not make it compulsory now for ALL PR candidates to declare their personal assets PLUS those assets of their immediate families?

In this way, the rakyat will know at once the increase in financial status and assets of those frogs and toads who hop over to Bn after winning in the elections.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 2:30 pm

Wonder what the police were doing with the unprovoked aggression.

11. #11 by Godfather on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 4:22 pm

You fellow really make me laugh. In this era, you could post someone with a videocamera by the parking lot, or have someone wear a BN t-shirt and go around on a bike with a hidden videocam. Instead you left your vehicles unattended some distance from your ceramah ? How stupid is that, Pakatan Rakyat ?

12. #12 by Godfather on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 4:24 pm

This is not a game for the faint-hearted or a game that calls for sporting behavior. With these clowns in UMNO, you have to play their game. Have BN stickers on your car windscreen, and see if the paid goons have the guts to damage it. Wear BN t-shirts and mingle around with them, and listen to what they say. Record what they do. This is the 21st century.

13. #13 by undertaker888 on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 6:14 pm

Smashed screens, cow heads, burnt churches, tear gas, lge heckled, Lynas protest hooliganism. What else is new from this regime.

14. #14 by Kampong Orang on Monday, 16 April 2012 - 8:10 pm

Useless and bias Polis Malaysia. They don’t enforce laws like wearing helmet. We could see nationwide many don’t wear helmet.

Useless and bias and corrupted Polis Malaysia: they don’t instill a fear among citizens, then how could citizens obey laws?