Not surprising that Bersih 3.0 is allowed to go on

— Pak Man
Apr 10, 2012

APRIL 10 — Are you surprised that the Najib government has agreed to allow the Bersih 3.0 sit-in to go on? I am not. You shouldn’t either.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his aides have learnt their lesson from Bersih 2.0. They have also instructed their pro-government newspaper editors in the mainstream media to treat Bersih 3.0 differently from Bersih 2.0. That it is not a security threat that Bersih 2.0 was deemed by the security agencies.

Bersih 2.0 on July 9 was a seen as a security threat at the same level as Tahrir Square. That explains why Kuala Lumpur was locked down with phalanxes of policemen ringing the city. Police said only 5,000 turned up but they held nearly 1,700 people. How’s that for efficiency and effectiveness?

Despite all that, the Najib government’s handling of Bersih 2.0 was seen as a failure. He flip-flopped on giving them a stadium. He allowed his security advisors to get the upper hand but not this time. Najib cannot afford the fallout that Bersih 2.0 generated back then.

The repercussions even went as far as England where Najib visited a week after Bersih 2.0. The Anglophile prime minister was the first ever Malaysian leader to be boo-ed by Malaysians abroad. In a twist of events, this week British prime minister David Cameron visits Kuala Lumpur. I hope he will reinforce the need for Najib to ease off on Bersih 3.0.

Because he can’t have advisers like Jalil Hamid, who is now the NST chief editor, to demonise the Bersih participants and activists.

Do you remember what he said in the leaked letter? Let me refresh you in the note titled “GUIDANCE ON KEY ISSUES No 8/2011”.

“By most accounts, the Bersih 2.0 protest on July 9 could turn out to be massive and will certainly go beyond issues of fair and free elections. With over 100 political, NGO and right groups could be joining the “March for Democracy”, we expect them to champion a slew of issues ranging from inflation to Teoh Beng Hock and Lynas. The protest, if not countered, could undermine the government, the economy and national security. This note sets out the policy guidance and the do’s and don’ts in managing the issue,” he wrote.

Jalil then recommended the following as “the process of mind-conditioning will continue in the run-up to July 9”.

The process included, among others, to “discredit the organisation and itts key leaders. Bersih is neither registered with ROS nor ROC. It is NOT an election watchdog but a group of politicians and politically inclined individuals who lack credibility.”

He also said the government should “label the rally as “perhimpunan haram” or “illegal assembly”, and that the people behind Bersih are trouble shooters and going against the Constitution and the law to gain political mileage” and “that they are just a front for the opposition.”

There are also references to Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim who was allegedly using Bersih 2.0 to shift attention from his “legal and moral woes” and to remind people about his “Sept 16 bluff”.

Jalil also said the process was also to “create anxiety that Bersih is working for the interests of foreign elements, who are out to destabilise the country” and “that Bersih is not bersih (clean) after all as it is an illegal group out to create havoc”.

You don’t see this today, do you? Those advisors are gone and Najib has learnt his lesson. He set up a parliamentary select committee (PSC) after that and they have submitted 22 recommendations with four more left behind.

Najib is allowing Bersih 3.0 because the elections are near. He wants to be seen as a democratic leader.Who can allow dissent that even Pak Lah or Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad wouldn’t dream of doing.

Because he needs to win the general elections and remain as prime minister and Umno president. If that wasn’t the case, Bersih 3.0 will end up like Bersih 2.0. Call Najib’s bluff. Sit in on April 28 to show you want a better Malaysia free from electoral fraud. Don’t sit in and allow Malaysia to rot.

1. #1 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 April 2012 - 5:51 pm

They learn a bitter lesson from Bersih 2.
    Defy and arrests….more votes gone.
    Support Bersih 3…is not what Najib wants.
    He has no choice..

2. #2 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 April 2012 - 6:03 pm

Walk for clean ..uncorrupted government…right timing.
    Shaaribuu …father of Altantuya said her late daughter showed her a photo taken at a Paris cafe…with her ..Baginda and Najib together….where 2 other persons saw that too.
    This is big problem for Najib….and he has to support Bersih 3
    How many problems can he handle?

3. #3 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Tuesday, 10 April 2012 - 6:12 pm

///Are you surprised that the Najib government has agreed to allow the Bersih 3.0 sit-in to go on? I am not. You shouldn’t either. ///

Hold your tongue Pak Man. Just wait a little longer before you pass any comments and the real situation will surely emerge. You see, once a flip flop, forever a flip flopper. Thats jib for you.

Come nearer the time he will order city-wide shut down. He will. Believe me.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 10 April 2012 - 6:13 pm

Another flip flop from Najib – he condemned Bersih 2.0 but now approved Bersih 3.0! It seems that the ruling party does not know how to govern a country.

5. #5 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 April 2012 - 6:27 pm

He wants all to focus how nice he is now and more to come…if he is elected as PM coming 13th GE.
    He wants ALL Malaysians ignore Altantuya case…and think of each personal benefit from his nice guy image he is putting out now.
    He tells Malaysian Chinese don’t sit on the fence….come out and vote for BN.
    That to me…reveals how hypocritical or unrealistic man.. he is.
    Do you trust a liar with an unstable mind to be your PM?

6. #6 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 April 2012 - 6:40 pm

Najib is approving BERSIH 3…hoping walkers feel the battle is won…so no need to come out to walk?
    The approval will make the BERSIH 3 much much more successful than before….shaming Najib..more.
    But he must have a thick face to play dirty politics.
    He has used up his bags of tricks.
    It will be more bad news for him….if he delays 13th GE any longer.
    Only being elected can he save himself from going to courts for so many charges…all push aside…because his party controls everything.
    That’s how democratic out country is …right now.

7. #7 by Phua Tai Woei on Tuesday, 10 April 2012 - 9:52 pm

Just another PR work to make BN look good and talk big on BN main media. Then the Police will ban it base on whatever creative ground they could think off….!!

8. #8 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 April 2012 - 3:13 am

Now Home Minister ….Hishamuddin said no streets demonstrations allowed.
    Good good good….lets all walk and see what happen.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 11 April 2012 - 6:55 am

WHAT CHOICE does ahCHEATkor hv?
    In Myanmar, rakyat held peaceful assembly on a scale larger than dat in M’sia, no problemo
    HOW can M’sia b NOT on PAR with Myanmar?!
    R A K Y A T’S P O W E R! B E R S I H, B E R S I H! ABU ABU ABU

If you’re going 2 Kuala Lumpur …………….
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bch1_Ep5M1s

10. #10 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 11 April 2012 - 7:13 am

CAN rakyat TRUST ahCHEATkor? Janji Ditepati?
    “I asked her what was her purpose of traveling to Malaysia. She showed me a PICTURE taken in Paris. Three people were in it — ARB, ahCHEATkor, and Altantuya. She said ‘I have to meet important people’, and pointed to ahCHEATkor,” said Setev
    ahCHEATkor told d whole world I NO KNOW her, trust me, REALLY?
    NO WONDER her immigration record was ERASED – Can Bag inda order it? NO! Can ahCHEATkor order it? U BET!
    Find d smoking gun! Where r d investigative reporters fr our msm? Useless meh?

11. #11 by Winston on Wednesday, 11 April 2012 - 9:38 am

Only the insane, brain dead, cronies and masochistic will be happy to have the corrupted, cheating, lying and scam ridden UMNO/BN for their government!

12. #12 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 April 2012 - 1:42 pm

The twist has started again.
    Now Nazri said…all approval must come from Police…and not streets walking allowed…..certainly not the venue picked by BERSIH 3 organizers.
    I guess….all need to sit at streets too…and in stadiums.

13. #13 by Jong on Wednesday, 11 April 2012 - 2:29 pm

Now those cowards talk-3, talk-4!
    You can’t sit in the padang whichever padang because they’ll suddenly be fenced up and come under ‘construction’; you can’t sit in streets – that will be obstructing traffic, definitely not along five-footway – that’s meant for pedestrian use!
    So where else? …occupy Parliament and roads leading to it will be also blocked!

This corrupt Umno-led government leaves us no choice. How about a nation-wide strike? Name a weekday and everyone stays at home, no one works and paralyze the whole nation!