Reforming MACC: Tickled by PM’s two-thirds poser

— Aliran
Feb 29, 2012

FEB 29 — Aliran is tickled by the prime minister’s so-called pledge that he would give more bite to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) if voters hand the Barisan Nasional (BN) its coveted two-thirds parliamentary majority in the coming general election.

We are bemused because the federal government does not need a two-thirds majority to give teeth to the MACC as it does not require a constitutional amendment. What it does need, though, is political will and commitment from the federal government to ensure that the MACC is fully and fiercely independent.

A truly independent anti-corruption watchdog would not only catch “ikan bilis” but also the elusive “sharks”, many of whom have connections with people in high places. This also means that the MACC would be empowered to catch people at, for instance, ministerial level, if need be, without fear or favour.

Additionally, the “pledge” appears to be a thinly-veiled threat to voters, thereby making it sound more like a bargaining chip.

Anyway, even if the BN proposal to make the MACC truly independent requires that the existing law pertaining to the MACC be amended, we are confident that Pakatan Rakyat parliamentarians, who have been clamouring for an independent watchdog all along, would fully support the amendment.

Indeed, the rakyat as a whole would give their wholehearted support to this noble endeavour to put a stop to taxpayers’ money being abused by certain individuals for their narrow interests.

We therefore call upon the prime minister to take immediate steps to unleash the MACC before the next general election. — aliran.com

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 8:53 am

///The pledge” appears to be a thinly-veiled threat to voters, thereby making it sound more like a bargaining chip.///- Aliran. That is where the supreme irony is. It is the mindset “I help you, you help me” (said by PM from Sibu to Batu Caves) that is the mother of all corrupt attitudes. Consider this: when an errant driver intends to bribe a cop for traffic infraction; when a developer wants some district officer in land office to approve some subdivision plans fast; when some businessman wants to get some politician’s help in getting a license or a project – what do they all say, to start the ball rolling??? They all say “I help you, you help me lah! And how did they learn this? They say they get the inspiration from the PM! The principle of “I help you, you help me!” places emphasis on only reciprocity/bargain to mutual benefit without computing into the equation of exchange the propriety and etyhics of that exchange – which is what is the crux of the problem of corruption that the PM unwittingly seems to promote by his “I help you, you help me” turning into a national mantra with disastrous consequences!

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 9:01 am

Its the same with improving the MACC’s powers to grapple with corruption. If its for national interest one just do it. It is not made conditional upon getting 2/3 based on “I help you, you help me lah! If you require that 2/3 for constitutional changes the Opposition (LKS & LGE) has already offered to cross the floor, so to speak, to vote with BN, so there’s no need for mention you give me 2/3 first, then I give you something in return – a proposal that is based 100% on reciprocity/bargain in an exchange that does not consider at all whether the exchange or horse trading is required in the first instance when all parties collaborate and cooperate in unified effort to do the right and ethical thing good for all. Anyone who does not believe people will naturally cooperate and do the right thing for common interest appears to be jaded and have a very dim view of human nature – that on its own, it cannot rise up above horse trading and reciprocal exchange of selfish motives to do anything right!

3. #3 by k1980 on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 9:09 am

He would also cebuk his back side more thoroughly if voters hand the Barisan Nasional (BN) its coveted two-thirds parliamentary majority in the coming general election.

4. #4 by negarawan on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 9:23 am

This is bribery. Najip, why don’t you admit that the “bite” that you meant is for MACC and PDRM to persecute Pakatan politicians with trumped up charges. Do you need two-thirds to take action against the blatant corruption in UMNO? BS

5. #5 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 10:28 am

Now you see who is a liar? BN is rotten beyond its mean to make changes. All their promises are simply lies and what they are interested is 2/3 majority so that they can pass what ever fancy laws as they wish in parliament.

They keep telling lies and they keep promising. They will allocate the fund just to please the people when they need their support. How true as what he has said it with crystal clear that “you help and I help you”.

2/3 or other wise is not a must. Even this is the condition there is absolutely what 2/3 support can not be achieved as the revamp of MACC is also a promise by PR. So the question of 2/3 support to BN is another lie by BN

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 10:29 am

I thought he just gave up even just trying to be good at lying. Seriously, its just so twisted, it can only come from a brain that has just lost it.

And I think that is just it. He has completely lost the plot of what he is doing. Now he is chosing election candidates that should have been removed even in the last election. How is it ‘transformation’ to keep dead wood around?

Clearly Najib and UMNO-Perkasa/BN is desperate and worry to no ends. Its basically a battle of wills in the next election. Throw out principles and ideas as far as UMNO-Perkasa/BN – Its their way or nothing.

The next GE is going to be EPIC – the gloves will be off and no rules. They will take no prisoner – shoot/kill first, ask question later..

7. #7 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 10:32 am

Together with his infamous “lu tolong gua, gua tolong lu” offer to voters in Sibu, this latest MACC “offer” serves to further reinforce the observation that the PM does everything with strings attached. MACC reports to him and it is his primary duty to make sure MACC is doing the right thing. Instead he is using the MACC’s directed shortcomings as a bargaining chip. Despite all his lofty declarations, he is not sincere in what he does and whatever he does, it is for his own benefit ( “whats in it for me?”)and not the rakyat’s.

Can you further trust a man like that? Iwouldn’t even give him the time of day.

8. #8 by k1980 on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 10:38 am

http://www.news.com.au/technology/sci-tech/study-finds-rich-upper-class-more-likely-to-cheat/story-fn5fsgyc-1226283577177

PEOPLE from the wealthy upper classes are more likely than poorer folks to break laws …It really shows the extreme lengths to which wealth and upper rank status in society can shape patterns of self-interest and unethicality.

So know you know why Ah jib likes to cheat

9. #9 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 11:01 am

It isn’t going to happen with Najib. He makes promises, and says all the right things, then he won’t (or can’t) implement what he has promised. We are looking at a useless head of government. I thought Bodohwi was the worst as BN head, but the current guy really takes the cake.

10. #10 by cseng on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 11:32 am

As conclusion, MACC is a problem, the problem, however is BN.

The statement “give me 2/3, revamp MACC” prove this;
    1) is not really MACC need revamp,
    2) it is not 2/3 is the road-block,
    It is the gov of the day that needed to be changed……..

11. #11 by negarawan on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 11:33 am

Najip Razak, you can’t even reform your own wife Rosmah, how to reform the nation?? Podah!

12. #12 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 11:56 am

Hey jib, since you are in the mood for jokes let me suggest another good one for you to crack during your next meet the ppl ceremah.

“Lynas would be stopped if the ppl gave umno 2/3 majority in GE13.”

Hows dat huh? Good?

13. #13 by sotong on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 12:16 pm

They need to win this GE for time, another 5 years…..after that, with depleting oil reserve, someone else can clean up the mess for decades to come.

14. #14 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 12:19 pm

Najib, put mahatahi, badawi, ling liong sik, daim, Taib, musa in jail for more than 15 years first then we talk about 2/3 majority.

If u cannot do this now then shut the f@$$((; up.

15. #15 by k1980 on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 12:42 pm

This is what he does in order to get his coverted 2/3 majority — by state-sponsored intimidation and violence.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/sideviews/article/standing-up-against-political-gangsterism-othman-wahab/

16. #16 by k1980 on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 1:04 pm

Kerala should make mamaktiu its chief minister

http://malaysiakini.com/news/190625

17. #17 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 2:46 pm

When you want to have a good laugh…just listen to Najib speaking.

18. #18 by mm08 on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 8:49 pm

I suppose more and more people will not believe what our PM said. What he had delivered so far? One malaysia? does it serve the purpose or just another projects to help the cronies make money with the purchase of the posters, banners, t shirts etc? We need a leader which can lead the country with substance and not merely slogan.