I don’t know, Noh Omar says of NFC breach of trust

By Shannon Teoh
Feb 14, 2012

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 14 — Datuk Seri Noh Omar insisted today he did not know if the National Feedlot Corporation (NFCorp) breached loan conditions despite de facto law minister Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz pointing out the family of their Cabinet colleague Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil should return the RM250 million federal loan.

The agriculture and agro-based industry minister said he could not comment as he has yet to receive any information from ongoing investigations into the controversial national cattle farming project.

“I don’t know. I don’t know because we have not received any decision. As agriculture minister, I have not received any report. Let them investigate,” he told reporters here.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Nazri said earlier today NFCorp, owned by Wanita Umno chief Shahrizat’s husband and three children, had committed breach of trust by using the government loan meant for cattle farming to fund other purchases.

“The loan was given just for that. If you use the money for something else, you don’t need to be a lawyer to see that there is a breach of trust, it’s so simple,” the Padang Rengas MP had said.

PKR has made several claims of abuse of the federal loan involving over RM62 million in land, property and expenses unrelated to cattle farming.

Shahrizat’s son Wan Shahinur Izmir Salleh has insisted that the company decided it would make better use of the money by investing in property during a break in business operations due to the government’s decision to suspend construction of an abattoir that would have been rented to NFCorp.

The government awarded NFCorp the project in 2006, when Shahrizat was women, family and community development minister.

The senator, who still holds the portfolio applied for three weeks’ leave from her ministerial duties last month after new allegations of bribery surfaced. She has since resumed her duties.

Last Wednesday, she was called in for questioning by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).

The former Lembah Pantai MP has refused to heed calls for her to resign that have come from the opposition and Umno leaders including influential former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin announced last month Putrajaya would appoint an auditor to scrutinise NFCorp’s books in light of accusations made against the company but dismissed calls for a royal commission of inquiry into the NFC.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 7:16 am

http://malaysiakini.com/letters/189091

Curtin U should give out 3 more honorary PhDs to—
    1. Shareechut for rearing 8,000 cows using the rakyat’s money of RM35,000,000

2. Noh Oma for “excellence in the field of bluffology”

3. the macc’s head for complicity in promoting corruption in the country

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 7:26 am

More talent for the KFC restaurants where they can beat up customers. Seriously, how different is Noh Omar, Khir Toyo. Ezam etc. from the restaurant manager?

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 7:36 am

///Datuk Seri Noh Omar insisted today he did not know if the National Feedlot Corporation (NFCorp) breached loan conditions/// Doesn’t Agriculture Minister have a copy of the loan agreement (when the Public Accounts Committee or PAC has one)? Its time – after the Law Minister has himself said that there could be “breach of trust” for the PAC to disclose at least to all MPs the minutes of its meeting on the NFC scandal and how the RM250 million federal soft loan was disbursed. The minister’s statement on “breach of trust” will doubly reinforce MACC’s imperative to investigate / take action.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 7:41 am

///de facto law minister Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz pointing out the family of their Cabinet colleague Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil should return the RM250 million federal loan.///

Everybody knows a loan has to be repaid.

It is shocking to learn of Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz’s statement. His statement implies that Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil’s family need not return the RM250 million federal loan. Since the rakyat is making big noise about the condos, her family should return the loan.

5. #5 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 8:10 am

Don’t ask any current Ministers if they know anything! They don’t! They only know how to count the number of zeroes after the first two or three figures! In all realirt, how would this bloke know any rules or regulations, he only knew how to block waterway for ransom! with such leadership, one can only “cry for this nation”.

6. #6 by Winston on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 8:31 am

When the time comes to put these fellas on trial, make sure
    that they can run but cannot hide.

7. #7 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 8:41 am

So didnt an idiot declare just the other day that the loan contains no specific prohibition against buying properties and cars and paying for holidays and clearing credit card debts?

This idiiot obviously does not know better. It is breach of trust we are talking about. “Trust” is a branch of equity and equity does not require rights and obligations to be recorded in writing.

8. #8 by Godfather on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 9:06 am

I don’t know. I don’t remember. Seriously, the quality of these ministers are so low they are better off doing cattle farming. The old fashioned way.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 9:23 am

Hi, if you guys want to buy a washing machine, TV or a laptop, just get a loan from Datuk Seri Noh Omar as there is no restriction on how the loan will be used!

10. #10 by Godfather on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 9:27 am

This story taken from a writer in another blog:

Shahrizat called Najib one day and said, “Jibby, I have a plan to win back our kampung folk for GE13!”

“Great Shari, but how?” asked Najib.

“We’ll get some plain baju and slippers, like most kampung people wear, then stop at the National Feedlot Centre (NFC) in Gemas and pick up a nice-looking cow.

Then, we’ll go to a nice old country kedai kopi and show them how much admiration and respect we have for the hard working people living there.”

So they did, and found just the place they were looking for in Gemas. With the cow in tow, they walked inside and stepped up to the counter.

The kedai kopi owner took a step back and said, “Hey! Aren’t you Najib and Shahrizat?”

“Yes we are!” said Shahrizat, “And what a lovely town you have here.
    We were visiting the NFC and Jibby here suggested we stop and take in some local colour.”

They ordered a round of teh tarik for the whole shop and started chatting up a storm with anyone who would listen.

A few minutes later, a grizzled old farmer came in, walked up to the cow, lifted up its tail, looked underneath, shrugged his shoulders and walked out.

A few moments later, in came another old farmer.

He walked up to the cow, lifted up its tail, looked underneath, scratched his head and left the shop.

For the next hour, a dozen farmers came in, lifted the cow’s tail, and left shaking their heads.

Finally, Shahrizat asked, “Why did all those old farmers come in and look under the cow’s tail? Is it some sort of custom?”

“No, no,” said the kedai kopi owner. “Someone’s out there running around town, claiming there’s a cow in here with two a$$holes!”

11. #11 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 10:28 am

It was not easy to make an admission of wrong doing more so he has his ministry post at stake. It was easy just by saying not knowing any thing and let them investigate. When you as them who suppose to investigate they will tell you that investigation is on going as the matter is no small it take time lah. Then they will say report submit to AG for his decision and then AG will say they return the report and instruct so and so for more probe. So like the old script they will play football kick here and there.

12. #12 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 10:37 am

As I hv said before, the whole saga brings to light umno’s mentality and inner workings. As far as umno is concerned the nation’s wealth is the same thing as umno’s wealth.

Phaark man!

13. #13 by k1980 on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 10:57 am

#10 by Godfather

The story will be more believable if the farmers, one by one, lifted up Shahree’s sarung and left shaking their heads.

Finally, Shahree asked, “Why did all those old farmers come in and look under my sarung? Is it some sort of custom?”

“No, no,” said the kedai kopi owner. “Someone’s out there running around town, claiming there’s a cow in here with two a$$holes!”

14. #14 by cskok8 on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 11:42 am

Somebody has claimed that the NFC has bought condos in Singapore and registered them under individuals’ names. That is an obvious breach of trust. Using company money to buy something means it has to belong to the company. If this is not true, show us the proof and sue the pants of those “liars”. Otherwise we know who are the real liars.

15. #15 by Sallang on Wednesday, 15 February 2012 - 4:41 pm

In the private sector, if you answer your boss, “I don’t know”,
    Your boss will say, if you do not receive your next month’s salary, I will also say, ‘I don’t know”