PM, MACC, AG and IGP must respond to demands by environmental groups and activists from Malaysia, Europe and Australia for the arrest/criminal prosecution of Sarawak CM and 13 family members for massive graft/plundering of Sarawak’s rich natural resources

The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Agency (MACC), the Attorney-General and the Inspector-General of Police must respond to the public demands by environmental groups and activisits from Malaysia, Europe and Australia for the arrest and criminal prosecution of Sarawak Chief Minister, Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud and his 13 family members for massive graft and plundering of Sarawak’s rich natural resources.

Seventeen non-government organisations and activists, including Greenpeace, the Swiss-based Bruno Manser, Europe-based forest advocate group FERN, the Borneo Resources Institute and the Japan Tropical Forest Action Network, today released a letter to the MACC, the Attorney-General and the Inspector-General of Police urging the immediate arrest of Taib, alleging crimes including illegal appropriation of public funds and land, abuse of office, fraud, money-laundering “and conspiracy to form a criminal organisation”.

The 10-page letter includes 16 exhibits that document the accusations against the Taib and his immediate family members, alleging that they have a stake in 332 Malaysian and 85 foreign companies worth several billion US dollars.

The letter which alleged Taib family stakes in 14 large Malaysian companies alone exceed RM4.6 billion or US$1.46 b illion, said:

“We allege that only the systematic breach of the law and the use of illegal methods has enabled Taib and his family members to acquire such massive corporate assets.”

The NGOs said immediate arrests were needed to prevent the accused destroying evidence.

The signatores reminded the Malaysian authorities that Malaysia, as a signatory to the UN Convention against corruption and the UN Convention against Transnational Organised Crime, has “a strong international obligation to fight corruption and organised crime in an efficient, timely and expedient manner”.

The letter concluded: “We are thus asking you, Gentlemen, to fulfill your duty as leading prosecuting officials of Malaysia and take immediate action against Abdul Taib Mahmud and his 13 co-conspiring family members.

“Malaysia’s international credibility is at stake over the Taib’s case.”

Although the Dewan Rakyat has been adjourned, the Senate is currently in session. The unprecedented international and national joint charges against the Sarawak Chief Minister for being guilty of heinous crimes warrants Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak making a special appearance in the Dewan Negara to give a Prime Ministerial statement on the status of investigations which had been conducted by the various enforcment agencies against Taib to date.

As Chairman of Barisan Nasional, he should also declare whether in view of the very serious allegations made by the battery of prestigious international and national environmental groups and activists, he would ask Taib to step as Sarawak Chief Minister until Taib has fully cleared himself of the allegations.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 13 December 2011 - 3:49 pm

The country is in deep trouble. We now need foreigners to tell us that our ministers are corrupt. When PR is voted into federal power, the first urgent thing it shoud do is to remove all the defunct institutions and replace them with trustworthy ones. This is the only way to restore investors confidence and trust.

2. #2 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 December 2011 - 4:08 pm

Arrest Pek Moh ? Are you kidding me ? He might simply tip the scales by withdrawing from BN and what would Najib do ?

Remember that Pek Moh’s message to Najib would be simple – you don’t squeeze my b@lls and I won’t squeeze yours.

3. #3 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 December 2011 - 4:26 pm

The favourite karaoke duet of Pek Moh and Najib:

So I’d like to know where, you got the notion
    said I’d like to know where, you got the notion

to rock the boat, don’t rock the boat baby
    rock the boat, don’t tip the boat over
    rock the boat, don’t rock the boat baby
    rock the boat-t-t-t-t

4. #4 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 13 December 2011 - 4:47 pm

MACC knows (but does nothing) d most popular year-end PRESENT dat UmnoB/BN kaki2 die2 must hv: A red crocodile Hermès Birkin handbag (Guess who oredi got 1?)

5. #5 by cseng on Tuesday, 13 December 2011 - 5:13 pm

This is not something new, most informed m’sian know he is filthy rich, too way-out a public officer could.

This only can be a news at international level, this news can only circultaed thru internet in M’sia space.

This is the typical example why CPI keep sliding.

Winning next election is everything, I think my PM would trade his mother, his father or anything you could think of to win it. Offended pek-mo, means PM no more!, better don’t.

6. #6 by cseng on Tuesday, 13 December 2011 - 5:17 pm

This news would offend many, such as Daim, TDM, etc.. He think he is the richest (non listed) in M’sia , now overtaken by Taib…

7. #7 by mybaru1 on Tuesday, 13 December 2011 - 10:01 pm

**Father of Corruption, Cronyism, Nepotism, & Decadence**…….. …………

Mahathir’s UMNO-BN 22 years of dictatorial, tyrannical & oppressive reign of evil regime was widely known and well-documented as the era of excessive opulence and extravagant decadence.

This era of rampant and endemic corruption resulted in the pervasive-evil system whereby government servants comprising of ministers in the cabinet, top and high-ranking Govt. officials and the evasive UMNO warlords and cronies, in the 2mil. civil service Govt. employees, are simultaneously and covertly holding outright positions in the corporate world as directors, in public-listed companies and other related businesses, when they have NO BLOODY business to be involved in, as per their contract in the government service.

The shocking revelation is that all their family members and relatives are appointed as nominees and directors in the aforementioned businesses.

To complicate matters and permeate the problem more complicitly, is the involvement of the royalty and monarchs and sultans in businesses in the corporate world.

The evil business of largesse and patronage unforgivably breeds nothing but contempt and disgust from the Rakyat.

So the logical and rational thing to do when Pakatan Rakyat takes over the helm of governing the country, the first priority is to nationalize all the criminal acts and illegal wrong-doings by the UMNO-BN elites.

http://mybaru1.blogspot.com/2011/12/is-this-umnos-last-hurray.html

8. #8 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 13 December 2011 - 10:28 pm

Just like PKFZ, Cow-gate, and now 9BIOS, all these are SINKERS for BN, any action will only expose BN especially UMNO. Hence there is noway, thos request even to investigate Peh Moh will take place. If it happens, it will sink BN for a generation to come!

9. #9 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 December 2011 - 1:27 am

Best comment was from Mahathir…that if his good friend…Taib was so corrupted…why our government has not arrested him?

10. #10 by k1980 on Wednesday, 14 December 2011 - 7:57 am

The favourite karaoke duet of Pek Moh and Najib:–

We will, we will SOD you,

(sung to the tune of we will rock you

11. #11 by k1980 on Wednesday, 14 December 2011 - 8:25 am

http://malaysiakini.com/letters/183839

Karpa and Ramasam, stop fighting! TO paraphase the late Premier Deng’s advice– “It doesn’t matter if Godfather or Warlord, as long as they knock out umno rats in the 13GE”

12. #12 by isahbiazhar on Wednesday, 14 December 2011 - 8:47 am

NO action will be taken.To hell with the reports!

13. #13 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 14 December 2011 - 9:29 am

Are you asking chauvinistic & cunning wolves to catch those cunning wolves?

They are all suckers, same band of suckers, man! Never expect actions will be taken upon them.

14. #14 by dagen on Wednesday, 14 December 2011 - 9:48 am

PM ros and husband (reading the letter):

“Blah blah blah .. FRAUD .. blah blah blah .. ILLEGAL APPROPRIATION OF PUBLIC FUNDS .. blah blah blah blah blah blah .. and LAND .. blah blah blah .. ABUSE OF OFFICE .. blah blah blah blah blah blah .. MONEY LAUNDERING .. blah blah blah blah blah blah .. and CONSPIRACY TO FORM CRIMINAL ORGANISATION .. blah blah blah .. BRIBERY .. ELECTION CRIME .. blah blah blah …”

Husband said to PM: “Eh, I tak paham ni semua. So what’s wrong with Taib. Apa kesalahan dia?” “I sama juga tak paham lah.”

15. #15 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 14 December 2011 - 10:52 am

“Fomca: Rising costs forcing people 2 buy harmful cooking oil”
    Roastmah 2 hubby: Y ppl doing such silly thing 1? They can sell their crocodile Hermès Birkin handbags what n use d cash 2 buy fresh cooking oil lor