A letter to the PM

Jacob Sinnathamby
Dec 07, 2011

DEC 7 — We tell our children that more important than whether they win at football or netball is how they play the game. They must play it with sportsmanship, empathy and fairness.

Our parents used to implore us to study and excel at examinations, but also to do it the correct way; not by cheating but by hard work.

All the major religions tell us to stay on the right path always; to do the right thing, not to take short cuts, not to justify the ends by the means.

I raise all these points because as Prime Minister Najib Razak embarks on the final stretch of his first election as the PM, I cannot shake off the feeling that every method — kosher or not — is being used to achieve victory. It greatly troubled me that he spoke the fighting language of a Malay chauvinist at the Pekida gathering a couple of days ago.

Telling Pekida — a group well-known in police circles for strong arm tactics and for breaking up PAS ceramahs — that no inch will be yielded is as good as giving them the green light to do everything and anything to ensure that Umno wins.

The PM’s mere attendance at the Pekida function will be viewed by law enforcement agencies as an endorsement of the group and will surely deter the cops from acting against them.

This zero-sum mentality in winning the elections has thrown up questionable tactics like blaming Christians and Chinese, and stuffing the electoral rolls with names like Balai Polis Kerinchi.

I get the whole story: You have to win the elections because you have wanted this job for a very long time. But really are you willing to win at any cost?

Malaysia is crying out for statesmen, not political animals. I believe that people justify their actions by saying that after they have achieved their “goal”, they will turn over a new leaf.

I do it all the time too. Oh, I will focus on God and the afterlife after I have built up on worldly treasures. Or that I will watch my diet and weight and spend more time with the family after retirement and building up a big bank balance.

Governing politicians justify their racist chants and sneak tactics by saying that, once the “goal” of power has been achieved, they will have the mandate to rule the country well.

How can they, after a lifetime of compromising on principles and turning one race against another? If our children are taught to cheat at home, in school, on the playfield and in the exam hall and to live without God, can we expect them to wake up one day and become stellar citizens?

It simply cannot be done. So, Mr PM, the ends can never justify the means, especially when governing a country.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 7 December 2011 - 3:37 pm

Sinnathamby, just take a look at the person who stood in jib’s way. Sodded and going to be jailed soon.

http://www.asiasentinel.com/images/resized//images/stories/anwar-ibrahim-taman-melati2_290_200.jpg

2. #2 by Loh on Wednesday, 7 December 2011 - 3:50 pm

///I get the whole story: You have to win the elections because you have wanted this job for a very long time. But really are you willing to win at any cost?///–Jacob S.

Well that is not the whole story. If a person wants a job, he might have the aspirations to fulfill the purpose why the job was established in the first place; for PM, it is to serve the nation. But do you believe that Najib has been doing the job expected of a PM? He has not. He wants to continue in the position to do so many things: He wants to be Malay hero even though he is not sure who Malays are. He wants to have fun playing with money in billions ringgit unit. He might have too much in his own account now but he wishes to use government funds to win friendship and allegiance. He might even be sadistic enjoying the thought that generations of human beings not of Islamic faith suffer at the policy which he father established, and which any honest person having said that he is moderate would not have perpetuated it. Yet instead of being apologetic that the discrimination had a time frame as his late father told non-Malay Malaysians, Najib said that non-Malays did not suffer at NEP after his Deputy said that non-Malays should be happy and are happy with the crumbs dropped off the tables, as spillovers.

We know that many ex-leaders and ex-heads of government went to jail. South Koreans sent their president to jail when Korea is not well known as a corrupted nation. Here in Malaysia, some politicians need the official position to keep them out of jail. Whether Najib falls in here only he can tell.

3. #3 by monsterball on Wednesday, 7 December 2011 - 4:08 pm

Mahathir showed to Malaysians ..how to fool others…rob without being caught..for 22 years.
    Dollah showed to Malaysians how to talk and never deliver and sleep at the job…for 5 years.
    Najib hope Malaysians not only take sides…but fight each other…at streets..to defend a race and religion.
    Irony is…Najib is actually pipping Malays against Malays …more than anything else.
    Enjoy all his foolishness with a pinch of salt…and ignore.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 7 December 2011 - 4:14 pm

I have said it before. The simple biggest reason to vote against UMNO/BN is because otherwise you lose your right to tell your children to behave. UMNO/BN are publicly JERKS and if you as a parent let them get away with it, you lose the right to tell them to be good and that include being filial to you.

UMNO/BN practises, Najib’s own word ‘whatever means’ to win – its basically being a jerk. Rules don’t matter, fair play don’t matter and in fact very civilization and human decency don’t matter.

You fear for your children’ material future – worry more about their souls if UMNO/BN continue in power..

5. #5 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 7 December 2011 - 6:01 pm

Umno is teaching our kids to be thieves, cheats, no need hardwork. Just stick out your hands for Rasuah. If you are not any of the above, you are anti Malay, anti agung, anti sultan, communist, ungrateful, prostitutes, beggars, anti Islam, Melayu lupa kulit, traitors.

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 8 December 2011 - 2:28 am

Winning is everything. Losing means kaput.
    Examples are former South Korean President Roh Taewoo who was hounded to his death by the new govt, and Chen Hsieu Bian who is now rotting in jail for corruption.

If BN loses, Jibbi would have to stand trial for that Mongol gal’s murder