Select committee for show

Gomen Man
Aug 19, 2011

AUG 19 — I would love to believe that the government is sincere about electoral reform but judging by all the statements of BN politicians, I have major doubts.

I was pleasantly surprised when I read a few days ago that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak had agreed to set up a select committee on electoral reform. Finally, I thought, some common sense was creeping into his thinking and he understood the aspirations of the people who marched on July 9 and the many who were with the Bersih crowd in spirit.

But within a few days all that has unravelled, and now I am unsure if the administration’s intentions to set up select committee are pure. Even Najib seems to have backtracked, agreeing with his deputy that the election system only needs tweaking (I got to ask if Najib or Muhyiddin Yassin is setting agenda for Malaysia).

To make matters worse, he says that he set up of the select committee to satisfy opposition claims. This is very strange comment because it calls into question whether Najib really wants a clean and transparent election system.

I don’t think he does and I think that his announcement on the select committee was just an appeasement to buy his administration some time, to stall until the next elections. Najib knows that his image at home and abroad is quite bad following the crackdown on Bersih and he wants to reclaim his spot as a reformer.

That is why he made announcement on select committee. Judging by comments of Nazri Aziz and other Umno leaders, they too have very little liking for a transparent and clean electoral roll. They are going to stuff the committee with five BN stooges and one “independent” lackey and it will be headed by a minister.

I am sorry to say that there is not one MINISTER who has the integrity to lead any committee on electoral panel. These guys live beyond their means and want to be able to enjoy the poisonous fruits for a long time more. Are they going to do anything to change this corrupt system which has put them in power?

These ministers know about Project M and awarding ICs to illegal immigrants and some of them have been beneficiaries. Are they going to change the system? This select committee is going to be as toothless as the PAC led by Azmi Khalid.

My suggestion to Pakatan Rakyat is set up an independent panel with eminent Malaysians including Ambiga Sreenevasan and some respected international figures. Carry out the process, come up with workable suggestions for the coming elections and take your proposals directly to the people through a road show.

If my doubts prove true, the select committee will be caught in red tape and no meaningful recommendation will be on the table for the next elections.

Messrs Najib and Co have no intention of cleaning up a system which has put them there.

1. #1 by drngsc on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 8:55 am

No Kit,

There is no easy way out. We have to work hard to win all possible votes, against all illegal votes, and win. The PSC on electoral reforms, hahahahaha. Will UMNO turn over a new leaf? They are prepared to burn down opposition HQs? What do you think?
    It is our burden for our country, to win all legal votes, because we will lose on many, many illegal votes. They will never purify, and clean the system. can the dead rise up? If a miracle comes, accept it and thank God. In the meantime, work very, very hard. There is no easy way out.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya, and GE 13 is our best chance. failure is not an option. So work hard.

2. #2 by loongym on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 9:11 am

I had the same thought as the writer. I dont see any sincerity from the govt.We need to the the task ourselves judging that govt will not do anything on reforms. And the most important is that all Malaysian should starts think with sense what is good and bad for the country instead of racial interest.

The main problem is the rural areas which already brainwashed for a long time. CHANGE is something fearful for them.If we could change their mindset which pre-program by BN,we might stand a chance winning even though with phantom voter existence.

3. #3 by Joshua on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 9:12 am

what do you expect from the illegal BN/UMNO government, with great deceit..

4. #4 by asia on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 10:26 am

BN is a cancer of corruption to Malaysia land

Anything they touch their cancer of corruption will spread to it

To save Malaysia we must terminate it as soon as possible before too late

Let’s save MALAYSIA in GE13

5. #5 by Cinapek on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 11:04 am

“…I think that his announcement on the select committee was just an appeasement to buy his administration some time, to stall until the next elections……”

Not only this but also Najib is still in denial mode and under the illusion he can still pull the wool over the eyes of the electorate with cheap stunts such as this.

As I have said in an earlier post the moment I heard of his announcement of the panel, I cautioned that it must be taken with a huge pinch of salt because it is so out of character for him to make that offer. After he and his Cabinet has so vehemently opposed Bersih 2 and in particular his cousin the Home Minister who went to such lengths to try to stop the rally including ridiculous claims of “waging war on the Agong”, reviving communism, massive police roadblocks and brutal suppression of the rally participants and even the absurd ruling that wearing a yellow T shirt is an offence. After all this, even Najib and co are not that stupid to believe that they are able to convince anyone that they have a sudden of heart. So either they must have a sinister motive that overrides any credibility issue or they have a card up their sleeve that they are confident it will offset any negative fallout from this suggestion.

There is no need to guess the intention, or the lack of it. Obviously it has nothing to do with improving the electoral process. If it is why need to hesitate inviting the Bar Council and NGOs to participate? In fact I would caution the PR to be wary of BN’s every move as this whole idea could be a trap for PR as Najib has already let the cat out of the bag when he said “….he set up of the select committee to satisfy opposition claims.” What about satisfying the electorate’s claims? Doesn’t that count? Who is the one voting? I would feel very insulted if the electoral process is rigged such that the candidate that we, the people , want are denied and the one we want to get rid of is put into Parliament to do more damage.

6. #6 by Ray on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 11:34 am

PR Must persistencely Stand Up without Fear for All Malaysia Civil Soc >>let those Umnoputras who hate Democracy Constitution reap fully the consequences of their actionts, not Only to punish them but teach them their race biased NEP Policies,Inhumane ISA detentions,looting rioting church temple burrning,using public funds for Umno Corporate / Political Social media Spinning to coverup their misdeeds bad images >>>>all these Moron Immoral behaviour harms themselves as History has shown and proven it

7. #7 by tak tahan on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 11:48 am

Wow 100k instant citizens have become Canlanders,This is only the tip of the iceberg but the figures could be much much more.Wellcome aboard to join the ketuanan brothers and sisters..Yo man.

http://malaysiansmustknowthetruth.blogspot.com/2011/08/100000-instant-citizenships-can-pakatan.html

8. #8 by cskok8 on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 3:23 pm

Will this ‘independant” be one of those BN-friendly independant MPs??

9. #9 by undertaker888 on Friday, 19 August 2011 - 8:37 pm

It is like asking a thief to set up a security system so that he cannot steal anymore. Or asking a dog not to sniff at another dog’s butt. That won’t happen.

Tunggu lama lama lah for him to have this credibility.