End of the rope for Najib

Douglas Tan
Aug 02, 2011

AUG 2 — Over the past few months, we have all seen the steep decline of our Prime Minister. From calling on youth to “defend Putrajaya” as though the nation is expecting an invasion to being unable to back up his own 1 Malaysia policy when asked by a student at a recent Malaysian Student Leader’s Summit.

It truly seems that Najib is unable to do anything right at the moment. First he outright attacks the Opposition parties claiming that they would destroy this nation and that Barisan Nasional is the shining light to guide the nation forward. To ask the youth to help defend Putrajaya against the Opposition is nothing short of pretentious, as though UMNO/BN has the divine right to govern this country infinitum.

This was quickly followed by Bersih 2.0, where he exposed himself as a lame duck leader. Instead of assuming a non-partisan role and showing true leadership, he aligned himself more as Umno president than the Prime Minister of Malaysia by demonising the coalition as an “illegal organisation” and stooping so low to the extent of roping in mosque ceramah’s to spread their propaganda of the so-called “perhimpunan haram”.

His handling of Bersih 2.0 in itself was nothing short of despicable. If he truly recognised the event to be a national crisis, he himself should have been in Kuala Lumpur that day to defuse the situation.

Instead, he found himself in Terengganu, with his tail between his legs, smiling at the co-op event, as though he found the hyped-up illegal rally in Kuala Lumpur to be a mere inconvenience to his schedule.

In the lack of true leadership, he “tai-chied” all of the responsibility onto his cousin’s shoulders. Hishammudin didn’t fair much better, especially with his justification of the clampdown on civil liberties, to the extent that those who knew him declared him as sounding “mentally impaired”!.

As though this was not bad enough, the cover up of Tung Shin Hospital, the police violence and the subsequent spread of lies through the media had caused a self-inflicted international black eye. Ignoring all of this, he proceeded to meet the Queen of England in a stunning yellow dress, just in case he failed to get the message.

Although he had managed to establish ties with the Vatican, his subsequent comments to the Christian community did little to them to endear him, especially when he implied that Christians were intolerant, when that clearly is not the case.

His wife’s extravagance would distance him further from the grassroots as allegations that she purchased a US$24 million ring had sent shock waves through the community, especially at a time that the Rakyat are told to tighten our belts in the midst of reduced subsidies and rising prices. Compound this with the Scorpene scandal and the announcement of the intent to purchase billions of Ringgit worth of fighter planes we do not need hardly resonates with his motto of “Rakyat Didahulukan, Pencapaian Diutamakan” (People First, Performance Now).

The Teoh Beng Hock RCI report, the detention of the EO6 and finally his inability to back up his own 1 Malaysia concept as he does not want to be seen in conflict with his deputy, has earn him the title of “The Lamest Premier” by DAP national publicity secretary Tony Pua. I am inclined to agree with Tony, as I doubt I have ever seen a less decisive head of state, who fails to get even his own cabinet to sing the same tune.

With impending polls ahead, Umno and Najib have good reason to sweat. The blantant inability to handle the affairs of the nation has stirred up the sentiments a generally politically-apathetic population.

As for all the hype with his Economic Transformation Plan and Pemandu, National Key Result Areas and what-not, all the Rakyat know is that the government is spending our hard earned money into the proverbial black hole. Our cost of living is on the rise, civil liberties are being trounced on, and corruption, deceit and lies are rampant in this government.

For those who have driven around Kuala Lumpur at night, you would be able to see the Umno building lit up by billions of LEDs proclaiming the achievements of the Umno-led government. One of them called Najib as “Bapa Transformasi”. As much as this may be a collosal joke to some, there may be a silver lining as he may inadvertently be responsible for the biggest transformation in the history of our beloved nation.

If Najib continues to delude himself that it is the minority that is vocal in their dissent, and that he has the support of a “silent majority”, he is in for a nasty shock come the next polls.

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 6:09 pm

///It truly seems that Najib is unable to do anything right at the moment/// Douglas Tan

This is because everything he does, he cannot carry out with coherence and success because there’s always sombody up them undercutting and thwarting him to assert counter-influence. A leader’s skill is in knowing how to make power dynamics work in the party organization. He has to win the allegiance of party’s warlords; if not, he has to stamp/sideline them out. Party’s stalwarts are already scared that BN is threatened with loss of power. Those who have money transfer their loot out; their cronies sell their equity stake in profitable companies to also take money out.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 6:12 pm

The main thing party rank and file want is strong and effective leadership to prevail over Pakatan rakyat’s rising influence. However if a leader does not evince strength – if he makes compromises on tough challenges, he acquieces with internal challenge to his decision and authority – all because he wants to please everyone within the party and not incur their wrath so as to hold on to his position at all cost, that is precisely the kind of behaviour that will encourage the opposite result : he would erode and lose his leadership position even faster as party warlords and members’ main guiding light is not principles of loyalty per se but to gravitate to and be allied to any challenger who evinces strength to challenge the number 1 and poses best chances of becoming the victor in due course. They gravitate towards the stronger party that demonstrates chances of winning – for he’s the near future, the incumbent, soon, the past history!

3. #3 by k1980 on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 6:14 pm

End of the rope for Najib, but please leave some of it for him to hang himself.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 6:18 pm

///The blantant inability to handle the affairs of the nation has stirred up the sentiments a generally politically-apathetic population.///

Najib’s premiership skill is questionable.

5. #5 by k1980 on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 6:26 pm

The 13GE will be in late October—get ready for Tsunami 2.0 which will mark the birth of a new nation, a nation without the racist umno, Malaysia 2.0

Jibby the Bapa Transformer, Dark of the Moon, will be kicked out of umno after merely 3 years as its head, compared to Jolly Dolly Badawy who managed to serve 6 years as its chief.

6. #6 by monsterball on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 6:47 pm

He is coward with a big mouth….and tell lies.
    Malaysians….especially the young ones..do not trust or respect him at all.
    His days are numbered.

7. #7 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 7:12 pm

Najis should go back to his political science school and learn more about DEMOCRACY! He thinks he himself is DEMOCRACY!

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 7:25 pm

Najib is such an abject failure and an effing nuisance.

Pak LAk was stupid and sleeping but Najib, of whom much more is expected, turns out to be such an uncouth, untrustworthy, unrepentant, unhonest (oops!) ..ok, unbelievable nincompoop.

9. #9 by Joshua on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 7:59 pm

Najib meaning eyes tears has been the illegal leaders since a long time especially in GE2004 as rigged by EC.

Similarly Najib was not “elected” also rigged in GE2004 as the PM to be.

So he was appointed PM in April, 2009 – a leader by default and deceit through and through.

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 8:00 pm

The end is definitely near for him BUT HOW it will end is still not certain. There is still the possibility he will throw one last Hail Mary and call a GE that will be massively fraudulent which has been in preparation for a long time. That mean that they will be chaos, havoc and make everyone pay very very large price to rid of him.

I would not be too optimistic about the outcome yet..

11. #11 by Joshua on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 8:01 pm

Correction –

Similarly Najib was not “elected” also rigged in GE2008 as the PM to be

12. #12 by DAP man on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 8:28 pm

Yes Najib can win the GE…….by cheating blatantly and with impunity.
    Which public institution will admonish him or disqualify him?
    Najib is a desperate man. He will anything to stay in power as he risks joining the likes of Mubarak, Ben Ali and Assad.

13. #13 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 8:38 pm

Pray that Najis will lead BN’s warlords to GE13 with all the skeletons in the cupboard and coupled with the rope to hang themselves.Lets kiss BN farewell.

14. #14 by tiger88 on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 9:24 pm

Differences between Indonesia & Malaysia from a retired German
    lecturer P. Feisenberg who had worked in Penang during Tunku’s days
    and in Jakarta in Suharto’s time. An interesting account of his
    observations & gloomy prediction of the future of a young nation …

A big divide between the two countries yet they live next to each
    other and both are Muslim countries.

Is this because there is a Mahathir ( and an UMNO ) in one whereas
    there is none in the other ?

I always tell my friend that Indonesia is not the best country in the
    world to work and live but since working in Indonesia for about 5
    years, I don’t have the feeling that I am living in a Muslim country
    despite 93% of Indonesians are Muslim. 99.9% of my colleagues are
    Muslim and we go for lunch and dinner together and sometimes to a
    Chinese restaurant that served pork and there is no fuss about it.
    (For your information – the people who sell pork are Muslim – bosses
    are Chinese and employ Indonesian Muslim to cut and sell pork in the
    wet markets)

All 5-star hotels served pork bacon and ham for breakfast and are
    prepared by Muslim.

Alcohol is sold everywhere in the street… and Indonesia No 1 selling
    beer is “Bintang” and is brewed locally and is consumed by all Muslim
    openly. No issue….

During fasting month the Muslims are free to decide if they want to
    fast or eat as normal… no issue at all and no one catch them..

The president and vice president are elected by the people and so are
    the governors of the city (in Malaysia we call them Mentri Besar). No
    one is appointed by the President or in Malaysia by the PM.

National holidays – Hari Raya Idul Fitri is 2 days and Chinese New
    Year is 1 day but Christian enjoy 3 days – Christmas, Ascension of
    Christ and Good Friday. The Hindu in Bali has 1 day for Hari Raya
    Nyepi celebrated only in Bali. Wesak day is also a public holiday.

A Muslim can convert to a Christian tomorrow and then to a Buddhist
    the next day…and back to a Muslim. ….no issue at all.

In supermarket pork is sold side by side with chicken and beef….no
    issue at all…..

I can go on and on…….in short Indonesia is a very liberal Muslim
    country.. definitely not Malaysia. FYI our Malaysian senior government
    officer “suka Indonesia ”…you know why!!!

Subject: Another Report: Why I left for our ‘poorer’ neighbour — Indonesia

This writer is absolutely correct and gave a very fair view of
    Indonesia. I have been in and out of Indonesia for the past 10 years.
    Sometimes, my stay is up to one month per visit. I have worked with
    senior Indonesia managers as well as low level staff. I have also
    interacted with lots of direct sellers from all sorts of background. I
    have dealt with the Indonesian civil servants.

They don’t talk about race. The mass media do not propagate racial or
    religious divides. They don’t spin story of Christian fighting the
    Muslim or Muslim fighting the Christian. Husband and wife can have
    different religious belief. There is not such fuss as Halal
    restaurant. Tony Roma in Indonesia serves the best pork rib. In all
    the Tony Roma restaurants Muslim and non Muslim sit and eat together
    on one table. I ate pork rib, my Muslim colleagues ate beef and lamb.
    There is no such thing as a Halal and non Halal section.

Comparing the environment and the working culture in Indonesia between
    pre 1998 (Suharto’s era) and the year 2008, you can see the vast
    improvement in Indonesia civil services.

During Suharto era, my visit to Tax office (Kantor Pajak) cannot be
    done without carrying cash for coffee money. The tax
    officer will always start with ” Pak dari Malaysia mahu chak kopi
    dulu”. And this small favor money must be given and openly counted on
    his desk before any discussion.

My last visit in 2008 to the government office (Departmen Pentadbiran,
    you cannot use Jabatan Kerajaan. They hated the Raja), you cannot even
    mention anything about “Kopi”. See the vast difference. SYB sent his
    own brother-in-law to jail. Suharto’s youngest son, Tommy Suharto was
    jailed. Do you see this in Malaysia ?

Malaysia is rotting. And the writer is absolutely correct. If the
    situation is not changed, Malaysia will be the biggest exporter of
    maids to Indonesia, 10 years down the road. Padam muka orang orang
    kampong.

Muslims in Indonesia have no problem with patronizing outlets that
    sell alcohol or non-halal food, even if they choose not to have any.
    In Malaysia, the Muslims make a big fuss over small things which they
    claim are not halal. You may argue that there are fanatics here in
    Indonesia, but the number is small relative to the population. Just
    look around Malaysia. Everywhere you look, you get fanatics.

15. #15 by hallo on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 10:32 pm

Everyone please be informed that BN giving foreigners citizenship whoever vote for them

They are guilty of treason

They are giving citizenship to foreigners whoever vote for them

They must STEP DOWN to save MALAYSIA

16. #16 by negarawan on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 10:33 pm

“With impending polls ahead, Umno and Najib have good reason to sweat.”

Let’s not be overconfident. When Najip said that UMNO will defend Putrajaya at all cost, it means that UMNO is willing to commit all kinds of electoral fraud and immorality to win the next GE. PR has to be constantly on guard to catch and expose any electoral fraud attempt and mobilize preventive actions as early as possible. UMNO is looking at having the GE before any electoral reforms can be done. We can already see many evidence of fraud attempts such as permanent resident on the electoral roll and quickly converted to citizen as soon as the matter was highlighted. This matter has to be investigated and exposed to the international community.

17. #17 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 11:22 pm

That’s why this questionable biometric, i.e. issuance of multiple mycards to one individual.And also what if the biometric reader can’t read the data on the faulty chip(by reason of scratch) or unclear finger print due to hard manual job of the individual?To the worst extent of this consequent(mycard’faulty chip and unclear finger print) this will add another phantom voters substituted by some sort of stupid card(smartcard in the case of Institute memandu) with JPN compliant staffs at the polling station.That’s the possibility and it’s only my opinion..though

18. #18 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 11:40 pm

When leaders have nothing to offer their people in future expectations, they will turn their focus on imagination of the never, never FUTURE, their after life. This is what we have created and in the process, they have to live on RENT; rent from any sources; fair or not fair, haram or non-haram; so long if it is cash, it is okay. thus where we spend all our time on; talking about the future that flies in the sky! we are good at that,that is why we created MALAYISA BOLEH!

19. #19 by monsterball on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 11:56 pm

Ambiga and the Oppositions are against the biometic system …because no matter how good system and as long..all things be controlled by the crooked government will end up with the same results.
    Hanky panky can be done.
    The good old stamping system…very cheap and effective is rejected by the Govt…because it is OPENLY DONE and stay on for days….more difficult for them to cheat.
    EC is never truthful. They did buy the ink for 12th GE…and last moment…did not use that system.
    As for the write up by Douglas Tan…I only hope Najib spent some time to read it.
    What was aid by Tony Pua was brilliant.
    First time I hear someone call Najib a lame duck…which is exactly what Najib is.

20. #20 by raven77 on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 11:58 pm

Before Najib is kicked out…there must be a Bersih 3.0….otherwise the EC will sell Malaysia wholesale….

Please organise Bersih 3.0 now ! The security and very existence of this nation is at stake !!!!!

August 30th is a good date…

21. #21 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 12:08 am

If BN is giving citizenship for votes, then BN deserves to be buried for their treason!

Real cow dung.

22. #22 by monsterball on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 12:22 am

Suddenly…I recalled the movie “Ten Commandments” where Moses hand over leadership for the Jews to Joshua.
    Let no man spoil the name of “Joshua” with stupidities and spoil the good name.
    Similarly…all Germans are banned from having the name….Judas.
    I hope our “Joshua” in this blog learn something from an old man.

23. #23 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 12:22 am

‘….I doubt I have ever seen a less decisive head of state, who fails to get even his own cabinet to sing the same tune.’

I don’t get this. You mean he is decisive and you can’t find someone ‘less decisive’?

‘head of state’? I know Rosmah wants to be called ‘First Lady’ but surely Najib is not the Head of State. The Agong is. Najib is the Head of Government. Perhaps he wants to be the King…someday. Maybe Rosmah has something up her sleeves.

But really what is the alternative if Najib goes? Do we have somebody better or will be have somebody worse that this dunggu. We are on a downtrend fellas and it is gaining momentum.

We need a ‘blue ocean’ strategy here and find something and someone better.

PR? Hahahaha!

24. #24 by monsterball on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 2:21 am

sheriff singh should stop playing two games and give constructive comment.
    He is now laughing at PR…laughing at DAP..keDAILan and PAS …to be exact.
    Next day he will laugh at BN and Najib.
    It is not games he is playing.
    It is after drinking whiskey…it depends where his brain move to…left or right.
    Sometimes it stays at center point and then the rare Sheriff Singh brilliance comes into action.
    Right now…we can say he is a cracko.
    Last count..two of them.

25. #25 by monsterball on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 2:30 am

“We need a “blue ocean” strategy here and find something and someone better.
    PR? Hahahaha!”…so said Sheriff Singh.
    Sheriff…Marshal…Lone Ranger..Law Man…. whatever…give us…the “someone better” and stop talking nonsense.

26. #26 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 3:46 am

One rejected reporter from civil servant trying his self-promoting publicity here to get to the next full minister after Palanivel.But keep trying harder as you can while ensure cleareance on your rear for true intimacy with blue ocean-‘oint’ ‘oint’ the Piggy Jib.

27. #27 by monsterball on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 5:24 am

Hint hint hint…. like a lame duck.
    What kind of a Sheriff …are you?
    Sheriff shot straight and talk straight…no hinting.
    Change your irritating name to Awtar Singh la.
    Don’t disgrace the Western law men.
    Now I wait for the other cracko to make one false move.

28. #28 by Comrade on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 10:11 am

With more cases of BN scoring own goal
    Rural folks must wise up and take stock
    To free themselves from BN’s control
    Come GE13 to give BN a nasty shock

29. #29 by Ray on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 11:03 am

PR better forewarn /Beware of the signing of amnesty treaty with Aussie government registering few million illegal workers But useful dummy foreigners .>>Najib preparing for more fathom BN voters trap thro this process illegally likewise filipinos/filipinas in sabah

30. #30 by Joshua on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 4:38 pm

Monsterball wrote “I hope our “Joshua” in this blog learn something from an old man.”

I don’t understand what you wrote..

Who is the old man here?

I am ready to helm the IGGG anytime now – the earlier the better for the nation.

31. #31 by monsterball on Wednesday, 3 August 2011 - 6:47 pm

Bless you Joshua.
    The old man..gone fishing!!
    Forget about him.