Why are sex video trio not charged?

By Kee Thuan Chye

So, those who surmised that the sex video revealed by ‘Datuk T’ was a political ploy have been proven right. The people behind it – three of them – have confessed to it.

They were forced to reveal themselves because PKR’s MP Johari Abdul had earlier spilled the beans on them. It all unravelled like a cheap soap opera.

Former Malacca chief minister Rahim Thamby Chik, businessman Shazryl Eskay Abdullah and Shuib Lazim, treasurer-general of Perkasa, have come out to say they are ‘Datuk T’. And they have the cheek to call for a royal commission of inquiry into the sex video.

In the first place, they have transgressed Section 292 of the Penal Code for possessing and distributing pornographic material. Regardless of who the person in the video is, the trio are culpable. Exposing a politician’s sexual activity does not protect them from the law.

After their intended target, Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim, had lodged a police report, the inspector-general of police, Ismail Omar, announced that the case would be investigated under Section 292.

That being so, the police should now logically arrest all three for possession and distribution of pornographic material and have them charged in court. They should have moved in right after the trio gave their press conference to reveal themselves.

If the trio were the authors of the statement given out to the media calling on the politician (said to be in the video) and his wife to quit politics, they should also be charged for blackmail.

So what’s holding the police back? Are they awaiting further instructions from Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein?

If so, Hishammuddin should observe the rule of law. He should not protect these people because they are Umno members or pro-Umno. This is where the public can judge how sincere the government really is.

If the trio go scot-free, it will be a sure sign that the government practises double standards.

The trio’s call for a royal commission of inquiry (RCI) into the sex video is unwarrantable. Why should there be one? In the case of VK Lingam in 2007, there was ample cause for an RCI – the issue of the fixing of judges was of immense public concern as it affected one of our country’s institutions.

Where is the public concern for a case involving a man, even though he may be a public figure, visiting a prostitute? How does that affect the public? It’s his own private concern, and the public is no worse for it.

In calling for an RCI, the trio appear to be trying to distract us from the offence they have actually committed. In fact, if they were also the ones who masterminded the videotaping, it would mean they are far more immoral than anyone who merely visits a prostitute. They would have no moral right to cast stones at others.

Their actions would have to be seen to be nothing less than repulsive. Even inhuman. For what kind of human being would do something as despicable as this to destroy another human being?

A larger force at work?

But for now, they have not said they were behind the videotaping. They maintain that Shazryl discovered the four cameras and recorder in the hotel room where the sexual liaison took place when he was asked by the politician to go back there and retrieve his Omega watch.

If that is so, who set up the cameras and recorder? Who wanted to catch the politician in the act? And why? There might be a larger force at work here. Finding out who or what it is would be finding the key to the mystery that surrounds the whole drama.

Another key question is why, after discovering the video, Shazryl hooked up with Rahim and Shuib to expose the politician. Why did Shazryl not ascertain the source of the videotaping before deciding to go public with the video?

He admits he was also in the tape but refuses to say why he was at the hotel where the sexual liaison took place. Does this mean he was caught on tape unknowingly or was he in on the taping as well? From his saying that he had felt “used by Anwar for far too long”, could it imply that he wanted to get back at the man by setting the whole thing up?

The association with Rahim is most intriguing. He was the Malacca chief minister who had to resign in 1994 over allegations of his sexual relations with an underaged girl.

At yesterday’s press conference, he indicated he had a score to settle with Anwar by accusing the latter of lying to him. He urged Anwar to take responsibility for his actions by stepping down, like he himself did in 1994.

Did Shazryl go to Rahim after discovering the video, or was Rahim also in it from the beginning? Is all this part of a plot to exact revenge?

Onus now is on the police

Is the sex video also aimed at luring PKR MPs to defect? As PKR’s Johari Abdul (far right in photo) has revealed to the media, he was invited to privately view the sex video on Monday by the trio, after which they made him offers of financial incentives, suggesting that he defect.

He says they also offered to take him to meet Prime Minister and Umno president Najib Razak, and asked him to bring more Pakatan Rakyat MPs to see the video. He inferred that the trio wanted to also turn them against Anwar.

If all this is true, we are seeing yet another instance of gutter politics being practised. The sort that is as dirty as that perpetrated in the Perak coup of 2008.

As it has turned out, the soap opera has apparently not unfolded as it was scripted, and this whole ugly and sordid drama could actually hurt Umno and BN. Even if Rahim and gang were acting on their own, we have now managed to see further evidence of what Umno (and Perkasa) people can resort to.

Besides, we still don’t know who actually masterminded the videotaping. There could be deeper and more sinister implications. There could even be a larger conspiracy. This is a mystery the police must solve.

But first, the police must also do what’s right. Already, the public has lost much faith in them. If they don’t act against the trio in accordance with the law now, they will be seen to be mere puppets of the BN.

1. #1 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 11:47 am

If the police does not act on the idiotic trio,the public will definitely endorse the view that they are truly the puppet of umno.Anyway just look at the double standard they have practised so far it is a forgone conclusion that they are biased and not impartial.Most people have lost faith on another bunch of suckers.

2. #2 by suara on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 12:15 pm

It now means that anyone of the public can screen a porno clip at Carcosa, invite your selected friends and the police will not arrest you! You will even have the endorsement of the Home Minister because he said there is nothing wrong with it.

I am not a BN or a Pakatan supporter. But I am a supporter of Justice.

Legally, 3 parties have to be charged:
    1.Datuk Trio for possessing, organizing and screening pornography ;
    2. Carcosa for knowingly hosting an unlawful act ;
    3. Journalists for watching a porno clip in public and knowingly participating in an unlawful act.

Why is the police so slow to act? Why the double standards? Why does the Home Minister sees nothing wrong in this? Because it is a political advantage to them? Have we got clear thinking, judicious people running the government? Why are the 3 Datuk still not arrested? When are they going to be stripped of their Datukship for committing an unlawful act so as to uphold the integrity of the title? isn’t the secret filming an invasion of human rights?

3. #3 by Counterpoint on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 12:30 pm

Why? Why?
    And why is Chua Soiled Leg so damn blardy silent over this issue?
    Wasn’t he the one who said a whole lot about the people who got him with his pants down previously?
    Now he is tongue tied.
    Why? Why?

4. #4 by drngsc on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 12:35 pm

Have anyone been charged yet?
    It is obvious, there is one set of laws fro UMNOPUTRAs and another set for non-UMNOPUTRAS. What these well connected criminals fail to see is that, the foreign investors are watching the whole charade. How to invest here when laws are unequal? Or maybe the UMNOPUTRAs just do not care. It is the country and the rakyat who suffers.

Malaysia Boleh.

5. #5 by dagen on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 12:36 pm

Umno is so so so sooooooooo sickening.

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 12:42 pm

igp: Boss, nak tangkap tak itu tambi kecik dan konco-konconya?

jib: Bey sai! Lu tunggu arahan saya untuk tangkap penjahat dalam video tu.

igp: Tapi boss, mana boleh macam ini. Dulu penjahat dalam video mca kita tak tangkap.

jib: Itu lain. Itu mata sepet dalam kem BN. Sekarang penjahat ini dari pkr.

7. #7 by k1980 on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 12:48 pm

jib: Sekarang saya sudah buat pindaan dalam undang-undang.

igp: Pindaan mana satu? Sekyen mana dalam acta mana?

jib: Pindaan itu memberi izin kepada polis untuk memotong “pokok rambutan” penjahat dalam video itu. Berkuatkuasa 21 Feb, 2011.

igp: Aduh, sakitnya tu! Nasib baik gua tak masuk pkr….

8. #8 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 1:06 pm

Director: mamak kutty of Kerala
    Producer: moron thamby chik
    Photography: perkosa retards enterprise sdn bhd.
    Cameraman: risda in-breeding sdn bhd.
    Main Actor: Ahmad Jualdiri as Anwar
    Lim Siao Looi as prostitute

Another belakang depan movie by mamak kutty perkosa enterprise.

Caption: you have seen sodomy1. Sodomy2. Now sodomyassanddepan.

9. #9 by cemerlang on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 1:08 pm

Sick. It goes to show that the people doing that is also doing that and that is how they know what to do. If you never know, then you would not do it. But it is because you know, that is why you do it. Sex scandals are plentiful. From the VVIP to the NVIP ( not very important person). If you are worth it, then you will be targetted. If you are worthless, you can do as many times as you wish to and nobody will care about it. Just like the real prostitudes. They did so many times. But how many times are their videos taken ?

10. #10 by setu on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 1:24 pm

the best analytical piece ever to appear in history.
    all the big big top guns can’t think, can’t question, can’t investigate and can’t answer these simple simple queries. . . .. .. .. (?)
    what a big laughing stork.
    in the media conference, did someone say …. ” . . .dtk . . .3 stooges . .” . .. .
    malaysia semua boleh land .

11. #11 by limkamput on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 1:35 pm

If only we Malaysians could look away from sodomy and visiting prostitutes and concentrate on the larger issues at hand. Whether we like it or not, we have become a holier than thou nation, perhaps through years of emphasis on religiosity and ill-conceived pious indoctrination. We pride ourselves on what we can eat, how our prayers are seen and heard in public, what we should wear, how close we can sit beside an opposite sex and how we should behave even privately. But right in our hearts, we are hapless and depraved people – we live in total oblivion of immense injustice, double standards, abuse of power, corruption, greed, and arrogance of power right in our midst. Seriously, I would hesitate to condemn a person visiting a prostitute given the baloney that is going on and perpetuated by our ruling elites.

12. #12 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 1:42 pm

Why are we even asking this question? Why are we so afraid to punch through the veneer of pretence that our police and our judiciary IS a tool of UMNO/BN – it is by definition part of UMNO/BN hegemonist ideology and modus operandi. Its no different than any party tool like said by the chief of Utusan ‘duty-bound to support UMNO/BN’.

Malaysia is systematically no different than Egypt with the exception of larger foreign investment and a productive minority population, that taken it around a larger arc heading towards the point.

13. #13 by Winston on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 1:48 pm

The Feds are very desperate to win back all the states they lost in the last GE. As well as the two-thirds majority!
    The latter would be a definite disaster!
    Worse then the nuclear disaster affecting Japan now!
    This is just the start of the game.
    There’ll be more to come!
    Much more!
    So, all of you must be more resolved than ever before to vote for the PR!
    The PR and nothing but the PR!!!
    Also, spread the word!!!!

14. #14 by yhsiew on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 2:03 pm

///Why are sex video trio not charged?///

Yeah, keep asking this question until UMNO comes up with an answer. This is the way to find out what is in UMNO’s mind and what it is plotting to do.

Also, don’t forget to ask the Home Minister whether he has tacitly given “green light” to Internet cafe operators to have porn-surfing facilities for their clients since the trio are not charged.

15. #15 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 2:06 pm

Kalau polis nak tangkap, tiga-tiga mereka harus ditangkap barulah adil. Tetapi polis sekarang pening kepala kerana Tambik terlibat dalam hal ini juga. Dialah yang pada suatu ketika merogol anak perempuan yang belum berbulu lagi !!! Mahathir pun terpaksa mengarahkan polis menutup kes, menunjukkan betapa kuat Tambik ini.

Jadi, kes sekarang IGP baru sudah tentu tidak berani buat apa-apa. Siasat…. OK. Heret mereka ke Makamah seperti dengan cari mati.

Akhirnya, penamatan perkara sex paling baru ini rakyat sudah tahukan???????

16. #16 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 2:13 pm

If sex is what is all about to retire from politics…you can say ALL UMNO B ministers should retire first before asking Anwar to show example.
    I guess they cannot differentiate a rapist from having sex paid to a prostitute.
    I have seen MCA pimps in Malacca gathered a bunch of sexy girls waiting at the hotel coffee house…where UMNO B guys were having a meeting at Conference Hall.
    It is a standard agenda….FOC sex after meetings from generous one or what?
    So sick to read UMNO B stop so low to keep using sex to bring down Anwar.
    Can anyone imagine Najib is an All Saint man?

17. #18 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 2:15 pm

Everyone should press the ugly umno to answer the question why the 3 idiotic title bearers are still not arrested and charged for possessing and screening publicly a sex video.Meanwhile spread the message to everybody to vote out BN in the coming state and general elections.

18. #19 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 2:22 pm

And ALL teachers in Malacca knew who those girls are for.
    And one who opened a Night Club at Taiping…had to gather 12 lovely girls from K.L. to entertain police officers FOC.
    Many Health Centres..need to close shop early ..at least ..once a week …to do same thing….and most are Muslim police officers.
    Sex with prostitutes and pay for it…is not a crime nor show one with not qualified to be a leader.
    Imagine that logic applies to all huge Corperates in the world.
    Cooking up an idea to hope Muslims will hate Anwar Ibrahim..or force him to retire from politics?
    What about corruptions..all OK?

19. #21 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 2:44 pm

SORRY, Mr Monstrerball, a mistake! Please refer to
    #16 above…

20. #22 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 2:55 pm

Religious people are ever forgiving to any sins..that did not harm anyone…especially having sex with a prostitiute and pay for it.
    So many cases all over the world…all forgiven.
    Are UMNO B hypocrites and crooks much better religious souls than the rest of the world holy ones?

21. #23 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 3:13 pm

What sins have Anwar Ibrahim commited that is so great that may hurt the whole Nation…and warrants him to resign from politics?
    If that is so…almost all Presidents…PMs..Dictators from the Muslim world must all resign too.
    Did Anwar hurt anyone?
    Did he kill anyone?
    Did he steal hundreds of millions to enjoy himself?
    And what kind of religion that do not forgive anyone that have sex with a prostitute and pay for it?

22. #24 by Sallang on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 3:17 pm

“If all this is true, we are seeing yet another instance of gutter politics being practised.”

Looks like PR MPs need to sleep alone, to be safe, from now until the next general election is over.

23. #25 by Thor on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 3:32 pm

Why…? Why…..???
    We wanna “play” with you!
    We wanna “goon” you!
    We wanna “phark” you, so what you blardy people can do to us?
    We are the police and we are the armies!
    We’re the judges and we’re the macc!
    We can phark whoever we like, so what!!!
    That’s what hisapputin is trying to tell us.

24. #26 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 3:42 pm

Regardless true or not true…great to note Anwar denying it and report to police.
    They want to have another kangaroo court case…why not.
    In case some Malaysians cannot understand why corrupted crooks dare not reveal how corrupted they are…and who are they acting for to steal billions and have small commisions…just know that is entirely different senario and circumstances.
    You cannot get a crook betray another crook in the gangster world.

25. #27 by DAP man on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 3:53 pm

Tourism deputy director drunk and arrested in China.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9AnHPn4dR8&feature=player_embedded

26. #28 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 3:54 pm

The gang of devils camouflaged as BN is showing their flagrant display of a big bully to PR.Their refusal to take action against the rascal ‘trio’ for possessing and public screening of a sex video is tantamount to the behaviour of a secret society ‘taiko’.Enough is enough.Vote PR for better future.

27. #29 by AhPek on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 5:24 pm

The Datuk Ts should not only be charged and jailed for possessing and screening pornography but also politically blackmailing Anwar and wife to leave politics.To ask the question why they are not is just as good as
    asking why the child molester Rahim Thambi Chick is running about scotch free while Lim Guan Eng is languishing behind bars!

28. #30 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 March 2011 - 10:52 pm

Now few UMNO B members viewed the tape..and confirmed it is not Anwar.
    Go to Malaysiakini and read all.
    First and foremost ..when the Datuk Ts were revealed…go and check up all the three characters…who they are and what they are.
    I repeat..even if it is Anwar…Malaysians want him to be PM…one way or another.
    Najib can go and play with his marbels.

29. #31 by monsterball on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 4:31 am

And now…the Judge of the Sodomy case changed his mind and allow the three items to be submitted as evidences.
    Anwar is put in bad shape again by an obvious kangaroo court.
    What kind of Judges do we have in Malaysia?
    The whole world are laughing and Govt. does not care to correct things.

30. #32 by habis on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 10:23 pm

Corect correct correct Two sets of law in our country . One for the rich and powerful Umnoputras and BN component parties and the other for the downtrodden opposion parties.So Fellas wake up come 13GE we all send the rotten cancerous BN to where they belong in Timbaktu.